Table 8.10-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR: GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1994 TO 2014

		Winner		Runner-up		
Election year	Total votes cast 1/	Candidate 2/	Votes	Candidate 2/	Votes	Other candidates: votes
CITY & COUNTY OF HONOLULU						
1994 3/ 1996 4/ 2000 5/	254,780	Harris, J.	146,034	Morgado, A.	108,746	-
2004 4/ 2008 4/ 2010 6/	294,544 298,795	Hannemann, M. Hannemann, M.	147,949 172,997	Bainum, D. Kobayashi, A.	146,595 125,798	-
2012 4/ COUNTY OF HAWAII	292,454	Caldwell, K.	157,714	Cayetano, B.	134,740	-
1996 2000 2004 7/	48,974 50,282	Yamashiro, S.(D) Kim, H. (R)	19,807 25,289	Bonk, K. (G) Holschuh, F.(D)	16,659 14,989	12,508 10,004
2004 // 2008 4/ 2012 4/	64,878 62,174	Kenoi, B. Kenoi, B.	37,368 31,806	Pilago, K. A. Kim, H.	27,510 30,368	-
COUNTY OF MAUI						
1994 1998 2002 2006 2010 4/ 2014 4/	35,373 42,451 40,671 38,179 41,139 43,597	Lingle, L. (R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A. (R) Tavares, C. Arakawa, A. Arakawa, A.	18,188 22,350 20,887 19,964 24,195 25,435	Hokama, G.(D) Arakawa, A.(R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A.(R) Tavares, C. Paltin, T.	15,304 20,101 19,784 18,215 16,944 18,162	1,881 - - - - -

Continued on next page.

Table 8.10-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR: GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1994 TO 2014 -- Con.

		Winner		Runner-up		
Election year	Total votes cast 1/	Candidate 2/	Votes	Candidate 2/	Votes	Other candidates: votes
COUNTY OF KAUAI						
1994 1998 2002 4/ 2006 8/ 2008 4/	21,309 23,679 22,691 26,556	Kusaka, M. (R) Kusaka, M. (R) Baptiste, B. Carvalho, B.	11,321 14,115 12,174 15,861	Tehada, J. (D) Thronas, M. (D) Kouchi, R. Yukimura, J	9,988 9,564 10,517	- - -
2010 4/ 2014 4/	21,422 22,883	Carvalho, B. Carvalho, B.	17,744 14,688	LaBedz, D. Barca, D.	3,678 8,195	-

- 1/ Excludes over votes and blank votes.
- 2/ D, Democrat; G, Green; R, Republican.
- 3/ In 1994, Mayor Fasi resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 1994 primary election, with all 14 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. J. Harris, A. Morgado and other candidates received 67,670, 58,018 and 87,928 votes, respectively.
 - 4/ Nonpartisan election.
- 5/ In the nonpartisan primary election, Jeremy Harris won with over 50% of the votes, therefore, a runoff in the general election was not necessary. J. Harris, M. Hannemann and F. Fasi received 94,067, 65,652 and 23,293 votes, respectively.
- 6/ In 2010, Mayor Hannemann resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 2010 primary election, with all 8 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. P. Carlisle, K. Caldwell and other candidates received 80,553, 71,815 and 43,851 votes, respectively.
 - 7/ Contest was decided in the Primary Election, Harry Kim won with 20,521 votes.
 - 8/ Contest was decided in the Primary Election, Bryan Baptiste won with 8,173 votes.

Source: State of Hawaii, Office of Elections, records and http://hawaii.gov/elections/results accessed July 14, 2015.