Table 12.40-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND TERRITORY: JANUARY 1, 2014

[Dollars per hour. Where Federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. Source revised December, 2013. See source for additional state provisions]

Area	Minimum wage	Premium (hours) 1/	Area	Minimum wage	Premium (hours) 1/
7.00	90	(1104110) 17	7	90	(110 0110) 17
Alabama	None	(X)	New Hampshire	7.25	40
Alaska	7.75	40	New Jersey	8.25	40
Arizona	7.90	(X)	New Mexico	7.50	40
Arkansas 2/	6.25	40	New York	8.00	40
California	8.00	40	North Carolina	7.25	40
Colorado	8.00	40	North Dakota	7.25	40
Connecticut	8.70	40	Ohio 6/	7.95	40
Delaware	7.25	(X)	Oklahoma 7/	7.25	(X)
Florida	7.93	(X)	Oregon	9.10	40
Georgia	5.15	(X)	Pennsylvania	7.25	40
Hawaii	7.25	40	Rhode Island	8.00	40
Idaho	7.25	(X)	South Carolina	None	(X)
Illinois	8.25	40	South Dakota	7.25	(X)
Indiana	7.25	40	Tennessee	None	(X)
Iowa	7.25	(X)	Texas	7.25	(X)
Kansas	7.25	46	Utah	7.25	(X)
Kentucky	7.25	40	Vermont 8/	8.73	40
Louisiana	None	(X)	Virginia 2/	7.25	(X)
Maine	7.50	40	Washington	9.32	40
Maryland	7.25	40	West Virginia 9/	7.25	40
Massachusetts	8.00	40	Wisconsin	7.25	40
Michigan	7.40	40	Wyoming	5.15	(X)
Minnesota 3/	6.15	48			
Mississippi	None	(X)	Dist. of Columbia	8.25	40
Missouri	7.50	40	American Samoa	(10/)	(10/)
Montana 4/	7.90	40	Guam	7.25	40
Nebraska	7.25	(X)	Puerto Rico 11/	7.25	40
Nevada 5/	8.25	(X)	Virgin Islands 12/	7.25	40

X Not applicable.

^{1/} The overtime premium rate is one and one-half times the employee's regular rate, unless otherwise specified.

^{2/} Applicable to employers of four or more employees.

^{3/\$5.25} applies to a small employer, an enterprise with annual receipts of less than \$625,000.

^{4/ \$4.00} applies to businesses with gross annual sales of \$110,000 or less.

^{5/ \$8.25 (}with no health insurance benefits provided by employer) if 8 hours daily, 40 weekly; and \$7.25 (applies if health insurance benefits provided by employer and received by employee).

^{6/} The higher minimum wage will apply to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of more than \$292,000 per year.

^{7/} Employers of ten or more full time employees at any one location and employers with annual gross sales over \$100,000 irrespective of number of full time employees. \$2.00 applies to all other employers.

^{8/} Applicable to employers of two or more employees.

^{9/} Applicable to employers of six or more employees at one location.

^{10/} The Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007 sets provisions to provide for increases to bring the minimum wage applicable in the U.S. As of May 25, 2009 the industry-specific wage ranged upward from \$4.18.

^{11/ \$7.25} for employees covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act. \$5.08 for employees not covered.

^{12/} Applies except for businesses with gross annual receipts of less than \$150,000 then \$4.30 applies.

Source: U. S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD), "Minimum Wage Laws in the States - January 1, 2014" http://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm accessed January 21, 2014.