Table 12.43-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND TERRITORY: JANUARY 1, 2016

[Dollars per hour and hours. Where Federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. See source for additional state provisions]

Area	Minimum wage	Premium (hours) 1/	Area	Minimum wage	Premium (hours) 1/
	wago	(110410) 17	Alcu	wago	(nours) ii
Alabama	None	(X)	New Hampshire	7.25	40
Alaska 2/	9.75	40	New Jersey	8.38	40
Arizona	8.05	(X)	New Mexico	7.50	40
Arkansas 3/	8.00	40	New York	9.00	40
California	10.00	40	North Carolina	7.25	40
Colorado	8.31	40	North Dakota	7.25	40
Connecticut	9.60	40	Ohio 8/	8.10	40
Delaware	8.25	(X)	Oklahoma 9/	7.25	(X)
Florida	8.05	(X)	Oregon	9.25	40
Georgia	5.15	(X)	Pennsylvania	7.25	40
Hawaii	8.50	40	Rhode Island	9.60	40
Idaho	7.25	(X)	South Carolina	None	(X)
Illinois 3/	8.25	40	South Dakota	8.55	(X)
Indiana 4/	7.25	40	Tennessee	None	(X)
lowa	7.25	(X)	Texas	7.25	(X)
Kansas	7.25	46	Utah	7.25	(X)
Kentucky	7.25	40	Vermont 4/	9.60	40
Louisiana	None	(X)	Virginia 3/	7.25	(X)
Maine	7.50	40	Washington	9.47	40
Maryland	8.25	40	West Virginia 10/	8.75	40
Massachusetts	10.00	40	Wisconsin	7.25	40
Michigan 4/	8.50	40	Wyoming	5.15	(X)
Minnesota 5/	9.00	48			
Mississippi	None	(X)	Dist. of Columbia	10.50	40
Missouri	7.65	40	American Samoa	(11/)	(11/)
Montana 6/	8.05	40	Guam	8.25	40
Nebraska	9.00	(X)	Puerto Rico 12/	7.25	40
Nevada 7/	8.25	(X)	Virgin Islands 13/	7.25	40

Continued on next page.

## Table 12.43-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND TERRITORY: JANUARY 1, 2016 -- Con.

- X Not applicable.
- 1/ The overtime premium rate is 1.5 the employee's regular rate, unless otherwise specified.
- 2/ If a voluntary 40-hour, 4-day workweek in place, premium pay may start after a 10-, not 8-hour day.
- 3/ Applicable to employers of four or more employees, In Illinois, is 4, excluding family members.
- 4/ Applicable to employers of two or more employees.
- 5/ \$7.25 applies to a small employer, an enterprise with annual receipts of less than \$500,000.
- 6/ \$4.00 applies to businesses with gross annual sales of \$110,000 or less.
- 7/ \$8.25 (with no health insurance benefits provided by employer) if 8 hours daily, 40 weekly; and \$7.25 (applies if health insurance benefits provided by employer and received by employee).
  - 8/ \$7.25 will apply to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of less than \$297,000 per year.
- 9/ Employers of ten or more full time employees at any one location and employers with annual gross sales over \$100,000 irrespective of number of full time employees. \$2.00 applies to all other employers.
  - 10/ Applicable to employers of six or more employees at one location.
- 11/ The Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007 sets provisions to provide for increases to bring the minimum wage applicable in the U.S. As of September 30, 2015 the industry-specific wage ranged upward from \$4.58.
  - 12/ \$7.25 for employees covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act. \$5.08 for employees not covered.
  - 13/ Applies except for businesses with gross annual receipts of less than \$150,000 then \$4.30 applies.
- Source: U. S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD), "Minimum Wage Laws in the States January 1, 2016" <a href="http://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm">http://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm</a> accessed January 4, 2016.