Table 8.09-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR BY COUNTY: GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1994 TO 2022

		Winner		Runner-up		
County and election year	Total votes cast 1/	Candidate 2/	Votes	Candidate 2/	Votes	Other candidates: votes
HONOLULU						
1994 3/ 1996 4/ 2000 5/	254,780	Harris, J.	146,034	Morgado, A.	108,746	-
2004 4/ 2008 4/ 2010 6/	294,544 298,795	Hannemann, M. Hannemann, M.	147,949 172,997	Bainum, D. Kobayashi, A.	146,595 125,798	-
2010 0/ 2012 4/ 2016 4/ 2020 4/	292,454 283,651 374,209	Caldwell, K. Caldwell, K. Blangiardi, R.	157,714 147,941 224,474	Cayetano, B. Djou, C. K. Amemiya, K.	134,740 135,710 149,735	- - -
HAWAII						
1996 2000 2004 7/	48,974 50,282	Yamashiro, S.(D) Kim, H. (R)	19,807 25,289	Bonk, K. (G) Holschuh, F.(D)	16,659 14,989	12,508 10,004
2008 4/ 2012 4/ 2016 8/	64,878 62,174	Kenoi, B. Kenoi, B.	37,368 31,806	Pilago, K. A. Kim, H.	27,510 30,368	-
2020 4/	86,354	Roth, M.	50,421	Marzo, I.	35,933	-
MAUI						
1994 1998 2002 2006 2010 4/ 2014 4/ 2018 4/ 2022 4/	35,373 42,451 40,671 38,179 41,139 43,597 49,302 51,105	Lingle, L. (R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A. (R) Tavares, C. Arakawa, A. Arakawa, A. Victorino, M. Bissen, R.	18,188 22,350 20,887 19,964 24,195 25,435 27,112 31,381	Hokama, G.(D) Arakawa, A.(R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A.(R) Tavares, C. Paltin, T. Cochran, E. Victorino, M.	15,304 20,101 19,784 18,215 16,944 18,162 22,190 19,724	1,881 - - - - - -

Continued on next page.

Table 8.09-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR BY COUNTY: GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1994 TO 2022 -- Con.

		Winner		Runner-up		
County and election year	Total votes cast 1/	Candidate 2/	Votes	Candidate 2/	Votes	Other candidates: votes
KAUAI						
1994 1998 2002 4/ 2006 9/ 2008 4/ 2010 4/ 2014 4/ 2018 4/ 2022 4/	21,309 23,679 22,691 26,556 21,422 22,883 24,771 23,516	Kusaka, M. (R) Kusaka, M. (R) Baptiste, B. Carvalho, B. Carvalho, B. Carvalho, B. Kawakami, D. Kawakami, D.	11,321 14,115 12,174 15,861 17,744 14,688 16,801 18,249	Tehada, J. (D) Thronas, M. (D) Kouchi, R. Yukimura, J LaBedz, D. Barca, D. Rapozo, M. Poai, M. R.	9,988 9,564 10,517 10,695 3,678 8,195 7,970 5,267	- - - - -

^{1/} Excludes over votes and blank votes.

- 7/ Contest was decided in the primary election. Harry Kim won with 20,521 votes.
- 8/ Contest was decided in the primary election. Harry Kim won with 20,636 votes.
- 9/ Contest was decided in the primary election. Bryan Baptiste won with 8,173 votes.

Source: State of Hawaii, Office of Elections, records and https://elections.hawaii.gov/election-results/ accessed March 28, 2023 and calculations by Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism.

^{2/} D, Democrat; G, Green; R, Republican.

^{3/} In 1994, Mayor Fasi resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 1994 primary election, with all 14 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. J. Harris, A. Morgado and other candidates received 67,670, 58,018 and 87,928 votes, respectively.

^{4/} Nonpartisan election.

^{5/} In the nonpartisan primary election, Jeremy Harris won with over 50 percent of the votes, therefore, a runoff in the general election was not necessary. J. Harris, M. Hannemann and F. Fasi received 94,067, 65,652 and 23,293 votes, respectively.

^{6/} In 2010, Mayor Hannemann resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 2010 primary election, with all 8 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. P. Carlisle, K. Caldwell and other candidates received 80,553, 71,815 and 43,851 votes, respectively.