Table 8.09-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR BY COUNTY: GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1994 TO 2022

|  |  | Winner  |  | Runner-up  |  |                                     |
|--|--|---|--|--|--|-------------------------------------|
| County and election year   | Total<br>votes<br>cast 1/  | Candidate 2/  | Votes  | Candidate 2/   | Votes  | Other candidates: votes             |
| HONOLULU   |  |   |  |  |  |                                     |
| 1994 3/<br>1996 4/<br>2000 5/  | 254,780  | Harris, J.  | 146,034  | Morgado, A.  | 108,746  | -                                   |
| 2004 4/<br>2008 4/<br>2010 6/  | 294,544<br>298,795   | Hannemann, M.<br>Hannemann, M.  | 147,949<br>172,997   | Bainum, D.<br>Kobayashi, A.  | 146,595<br>125,798   | -                                   |
| 2010 0/<br>2012 4/<br>2016 4/<br>2020 4/                                 | 292,454<br>283,651<br>374,209  | Caldwell, K.<br>Caldwell, K.<br>Blangiardi, R.  | 157,714<br>147,941<br>224,474  | Cayetano, B.<br>Djou, C. K.<br>Amemiya, K.   | 134,740<br>135,710<br>149,735  | -<br>-<br>-                         |
| HAWAII   |  |   |  |  |  |                                     |
| 1996<br>2000<br>2004 7/  | 48,974<br>50,282   | Yamashiro, S.(D)<br>Kim, H. (R)   | 19,807<br>25,289   | Bonk, K. (G)<br>Holschuh, F.(D)  | 16,659<br>14,989   | 12,508<br>10,004                    |
| 2008 4/<br>2012 4/<br>2016 8/  | 64,878<br>62,174   | Kenoi, B.<br>Kenoi, B.  | 37,368<br>31,806   | Pilago, K. A.<br>Kim, H.   | 27,510<br>30,368   | -                                   |
| 2020 4/  | 86,354   | Roth, M.  | 50,421   | Marzo, I.  | 35,933   | -                                   |
| MAUI   |  |   |  |  |  |                                     |
| 1994<br>1998<br>2002<br>2006<br>2010 4/<br>2014 4/<br>2018 4/<br>2022 4/ | 35,373<br>42,451<br>40,671<br>38,179<br>41,139<br>43,597<br>49,302<br>51,105 | Lingle, L. (R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A. (R) Tavares, C. Arakawa, A. Arakawa, A. Victorino, M. Bissen, R. | 18,188<br>22,350<br>20,887<br>19,964<br>24,195<br>25,435<br>27,112<br>31,381 | Hokama, G.(D) Arakawa, A.(R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A.(R) Tavares, C. Paltin, T. Cochran, E. Victorino, M. | 15,304<br>20,101<br>19,784<br>18,215<br>16,944<br>18,162<br>22,190<br>19,724 | 1,881<br>-<br>-<br>-<br>-<br>-<br>- |

Continued on next page.

Table 8.09-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR BY COUNTY: GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1994 TO 2022 -- Con.

|  |  | Winner  |  | Runner-up  |   |                         |
|--|--|---|--|--|---|-------------------------|
| County and election year   | Total<br>votes<br>cast 1/  | Candidate 2/  | Votes  | Candidate 2/   | Votes   | Other candidates: votes |
| KAUAI  |  |   |  |  |   |                         |
| 1994<br>1998<br>2002 4/<br>2006 9/<br>2008 4/<br>2010 4/<br>2014 4/<br>2018 4/ | 21,309<br>23,679<br>22,691<br>26,556<br>21,422<br>22,883<br>24,771 | Kusaka, M. (R) Kusaka, M. (R) Baptiste, B.  Carvalho, B. Carvalho, B. Carvalho, B. Kawakami, D. | 11,321<br>14,115<br>12,174<br>15,861<br>17,744<br>14,688<br>16,801 | Tehada, J. (D) Thronas, M. (D) Kouchi, R.  Yukimura, J LaBedz, D. Barca, D. Rapozo, M. | 9,988<br>9,564<br>10,517<br>10,695<br>3,678<br>8,195<br>7,970 | -<br>-<br>-<br>-<br>-   |
|  |  | · ·   | •  | Barca, D.<br>Rapozo, M.<br>Poai, M. R.   | -   |                         |

<sup>1/</sup> Excludes over votes and blank votes.

- 7/ Contest was decided in the primary election. Harry Kim won with 20,521 votes.
- 8/ Contest was decided in the primary election. Harry Kim won with 20,636 votes.
- 9/ Contest was decided in the primary election. Bryan Baptiste won with 8,173 votes.

Source: State of Hawaii, Office of Elections, records and <a href="https://elections.hawaii.gov/election-results/">https://elections.hawaii.gov/election-results/</a> accessed March 28, 2023 and calculations by Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism.

<sup>2/</sup> D, Democrat; G, Green; R, Republican.

<sup>3/</sup> In 1994, Mayor Fasi resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 1994 primary election, with all 14 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. J. Harris, A. Morgado and other candidates received 67,670, 58,018 and 87,928 votes, respectively.

<sup>4/</sup> Nonpartisan election.

<sup>5/</sup> In the nonpartisan primary election, Jeremy Harris won with over 50 percent of the votes, therefore, a runoff in the general election was not necessary. J. Harris, M. Hannemann and F. Fasi received 94,067, 65,652 and 23,293 votes, respectively.

<sup>6/</sup> In 2010, Mayor Hannemann resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 2010 primary election, with all 8 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. P. Carlisle, K. Caldwell and other candidates received 80,553, 71,815 and 43,851 votes, respectively.