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Memorandum 2002-9R

TO: ALL MOTOR VEHICLE INSURERS, SELF INSURERS AND CAPTIVES
AUTHORIZED IN THE STATE OF HAWAII

FROM: Wayne Metcalf
Insurance Commissioner

SUBJECT: DRIVERS EDUCATION FUND UNDERWRITERS’ FEE

This memorandum supersedes Memorandum 1998-25R, dated October 27, 1998.

Act 242, 2002 Legislative Session, effective July 1, 2002, amends §431:10C-115(a), Hawaii Revised
Statutes, as follows:

“(a) The commissioner shall assess and levy upon each insurer, and self-insurer, a drivers education
fund underwriters fee of [$2] $3 a year on each motor vehicle insured by each insurer or self-insurer.  This fee
is due and payable on an annual basis by means and at a time to be determined by the commissioner.”

Beginning with the calendar year ending December 31, 2002, payment shall be computed on the basis
of $3.00 multiplied by the number of insured vehicles reported on the December 31, insured vehicle census
report, MVID 14-2(1).  The fee shall be remitted annually on or before February 15 of the subsequent year.

Be advised that pursuant to §431:10G-107, Hawaii Revised Statutes, the fee for motorcycles and
motor scooters remains at $2 a year on each motorcycle or motor scooter insured by each insurer or self-
insurer.  The fee shall be remitted annually with the December 31st census report on or before February 15th of
the subsequent year.

Make checks payable to:

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
P. O. Box 3614
Honolulu, HI  96811

Please annotate Drivers Ed Fee DEF.

(A dishonored check returned by the bank will be assessed a service charge of $15.00.  An interest
charge of an additional $0.10 per month will be incurred for each month the service charge is not
paid.)

***RETAIN THIS MEMORANDUM IN YOUR FILES FOR ANNUAL PAYMENT***


