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New Legislation Will Affect Real Estate Licensees
 
The following legislation passed by the 2009 Hawaii State 

Legislature will impact the practice of every real estate licensee. 
Act 4 - HB 520 (HD1) (SD1) on Buildings 
This bill repeals the amendments made by Act 228, Session 

Laws of Hawaii 2008, which required the taking of archival 
photographs before conducting any demolition, construction, 
or alteration of any building over 50 years old or any building 
listed, or eligible for listing, on the Hawaii or National Register 
of Historic Places. 

Act 228 was enacted in 2008 to help chronicle and preserve 
historic sites. However, it was later found to be overly broad 
and an obstacle to timely alterations, repairs, and demolition. 
The Act was repealed because: 
●	 In many cases, the 50-year-old buildings have no historic 

value. 
●	 Obtaining archival quality photos was very difficult and 

expensive. 
●	 It created another processing barrier. 
●	 The Historic Preservation Office was not staffed to handle 

the added workload imposed by Act 228. 
Act 10 - SB 298 (SD1) on Condominiums 

This bill doubles the maximum amount of delinquent 
maintenance fees that condominium associations may recover 
from a condominium unit foreclosure purchaser, from $1,800 to 
$3,600, subject to a limit of no more than six months of 
delinquencies. 

The original bill proposed an increase of up to $2,400, but 
the figure was raised to $3,600 because maintenance fees have 
been increasing sharply, association fees and foreclosures have 
been rising, and associations are often not able to recover 
what is due them even with this levy on foreclosure purchasers. 

The increase should enable the associations to recover a 
higher percentage of maintenance fee delinquencies attributable 
to foreclosed units and relieve other condominium unit owners 
of such burden. 
Act 59 - HB 1741 (HD1) (SD1) (CD1) on Conveyance Tax 

This bill temporarily reduces the distribution portions of 
the Conveyance Tax transferred to the Rental Housing Trust 
Fund and the Natural Area Reserve Fund. It increases the 
conveyance tax rate for certain sales. The tax on non-owner 

occupant single family and condo sales of $1 million or more 
will rise to a maximum of $1.25 per $100. Other conveyances of 
$2 million or more will be taxed at a higher rate of up to $1.00 per 
$100. Rates are based on a sliding scale. 

This bill also reduces by 5%, through June 2012, the 
amount of conveyance tax that will be transferred to the Rental 
Housing Trust Fund and the Natural Area Reserve Fund. The 
two funds currently receive 55% of all conveyance taxes. 

The increase and reductions will be shifted to the general 
fund to help balance the budget. The expected gain over the 
next two years is $8 million. 

Act 61 - SB 1111 (SD1) (HD1) (CD1) on Taxation 
This bill increases the rate of transient accommodations tax 

(TAT) on operators of transient rental facilities by one percentage 
point (to 8.25%) on July 1, 2009, and by two percentage points (to 
9.25%) on July 1, 2010. 

The additional revenues collected from the increases will be 
deposited into the general fund. The expected gain over two years 
is $89 million. The TAT was created in 1987 and was 5%. It was 
increased to 6% in 1994 and to 7.25% in 1999. Currently, of the 
TAT revenue: 
●	 45% goes to the counties. 
●	 34% supports tourism. 
●	 17% goes to the convention center. 
●	 4% goes to the state general fund. 

The entire increase provided by SB 1111 will go to the 
general fund, none to tourism. 

Act 66 - SB 34 (SD1) (HD1) on Mortgage Rescue Fraud 
Prevention 

This bill excludes licensed real estate brokers and 
salespersons from the definition of distressed property 
consultants in the Mortgage Foreclosure Rescue Fraud 
Prevention Act (Act 137, 2008 session) under specified 
conditions. However, it prohibits certain conduct relating to 
the acquisition of an ownership interest in distressed property 
by licensed real estate brokers and salespersons (e.g., licensees 
must wait at least one year from the date their listing expires or 
is terminated before they can acquire such an interest). 

Continued on page 2 
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New Legislation Will Affect Real Estate Licensees
 
Continued from page 1 

Act 137 was passed in 2008 to protect homeowners from 
equity skimming and foreclosure rescue scams. However, it 
created a disservice to homeowners facing possible foreclosure 
by severely restricting assistance on the part of real estate 
licensees. Once deemed a “distressed property consultant,” 
the licensee became subject to onerous requirements and 
penalties under the law. 

The following are some of the pending bills that are 
awaiting the Governor’s signature. These bills may have an 
indirect impact on licensee’s daily practices. 
HB 271 (SD2) (CD1) on Real Property 

This bill would permit the registrar of the Bureau of 
Conveyances to: 

1. Accept electronic documents with electronic 
signatures for recording. 

2. Provide electronic documents in response to a request. 
3. Convert existing records to electronic format. 

Note: that the proposed Uniform Real Property Electronic 
Recording Act does not apply to land court documents. 
HB 1071 (11D3) (SD2) (CD1) on Mortgage Servicers 

This bill would provide for the licensing and regulation of 
mortgage servicers that service residential mortgage loans 
secured by real property located in the State of Hawaii, and 
specify prohibited mortgage servicer practices. The 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions would administer the 
statute. Note that “mortgage servicers” are to be distinguished 
from “mortgage loan originators” (See SB 1218). This bill is 
aimed at controlling the activities of those who assist mortgage 
lenders in collecting payments from borrowers and remit them to 
loan owners, not those who make or originate mortgage loans. 

More specifically, HB 1071 defines a mortgage servicer as 
“the person responsible for receiving any scheduled periodic 
payments from a borrower pursuant to the terms of any 
residential mortgage loan, including amounts for escrow 
accounts . . ., and/or making the payments to the owner of the 
loan or other third parties of principal and interest and such 
other payments with respect to the amounts received from the 
borrower as may be required pursuant to the terms of mortgage 
servicing loan documents or servicing contracts. In the case 
of a home equity conversion mortgage or reverse mortgage as 
referenced in this chapter, servicing includes making payments 
to the borrower.” 
SB 521 (SD2) (HD1) on Real Property 

This bill would require the Registrar of the Bureau of 
Conveyances to provide within 10 days after each week and 
free of charge, an image and index of all documents and 
instruments that have been recorded in the Registrar’s office 
that week relating to regular system land in all the counties, to 
the county designated in a memorandum of understanding 
agreed upon by the counties to act as a separate clearinghouse. 
The bill would formalize an arrangement that has already been 
worked out between the Bureau and counties and should result 
in faster and more convenient public access to information on 
recent transactions and documents filed at the Bureau. 

SB 1218 (SD2) (HD2) (CD1) on Mortgage Loan Originators 
This bill would allow the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions to regulate, license, examine, and enforce laws 
regulating mortgage loan originators. It would exempt mortgage 
loan originators from Chapter 454, HRS, relating to mortgage 
brokers and solicitors. 

SB 1218 would bring Hawaii into compliance with federal 
law by implementing the Secure and Fair Enforcement for 
Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing 
Act of 2008). The purpose of the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing 
Act of 2008 is to “increase uniformity, reduce regulatory burden, 
enhance consumer protection, and reduce fraud” by 
encouraging the states to regulate the mortgage industry. 

This measure is based on a model act prepared by the 
Conference of State Bank Supervisors and American 
Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators that the 
United States Department of Housing and Urban Development 
(HUD) has approved as compliant with the federal law. 

Under the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008, failure 
of a state to implement conforming legislation would result in 
abdication of that state’s right to regulate the mortgage industry 
and assignment of that right to HUD. 
SB 1352 (SD2) (HD2) (CD2) on Bureau of Conveyances. 

The main purpose of this bill is to reduce the backlog in 
land court recordations and registrations and promote 
departmental efficiencies. It would transfer fee timeshare 
interests from the land court system to the regular system, 
allow an owner to “opt out” of land court and deregister land 
to the regular system. The Bureau of Conveyances would be 
authorized to charge a fee for deregistration of a fee timeshare 
interest. The bill would also: 

● Allow electronic filing of land court and regular system 
documents and instruments. 

● Establish a working group to resolve implementation 
issues and a 2-1/2 year pilot program to implement electronic 
recording of fee timeshare interests 
SB 1461 (SD2) (HD1) (CD1) on Taxation 

This bill would: 
1. Advance the date of filing of monthly, quarterly, and 

semi-annual general excise tax returns from the last day of the 
calendar, quarterly, or semi-annual month to the 20th day. 

2. Require any person required to electronically file or 
remit a federal return or taxes to also electronically file and remit a 
state return of all state taxes to the Department of Taxation. 

3. Require any employer required to remit any withheld 
taxes to the federal government on a semi-weekly schedule to 
also remit the complete amount of tax withheld to the 
Department of Taxation on a semi-weekly schedule. 

In effect, this bill would advance the date of filing of 
general excise monthly tax return from the last day of the 
calendar month following the month in which the taxes accrue 
to the 20th day of that month in order to generate a one-time 
windfall in revenue due to earlier collection of taxes within the 
fiscal year. 
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The Chair’s Message
 
Aloha! 

Another legislative session is behind us with some 
noteworthy bills emerging that impact the real estate industry. 
Several bills of special interest include: Act 66, referred to as 
the Mortgage Rescue Fraud Prevention act, exempts real estate 
licensees from the definition 
of distressed property con-
sultant. Act 228 (2008 legis-
lative session), relating to 
historical sites, was repealed, 
and, in its place, Act 4, 2009 
legislature, was signed into 
law on April 14, 2009.   Act 4, 
2009 legislature, did away with 
the requirement of archival 
quality photos for structures 
50 years or older, and if the 
structure was undergoing any 
type of alteration. A con-
veyance tax increase for non-
owner occupant dwellings 
was enacted via Act 59. 

The above Acts and other 2009 legislation are part of the 
2009-2010 Commission core course, “Real Estate Law Update 
and Personal Transactions,” Part A, for 2 credit hours.  To 
learn more about the new laws, licensees may register for the 
core course NOW.  Part A of the 2000-2010 core course must 
be taken in 2009 if you prefer a live-classroom format. Part 
B 2010 Real Estate Law Update and Fair Housing and 
Discrimination course must be taken in 2010 to equal the 4 

hour mandatory requirement. 
If you miss Part A in 2009, it 
will ONLY be available online 
in 2010. All licensees must 
complete Part A and B by the 
end of the biennium or 
December 31, 2010, to receive 
the total credit of 4 hours. The 
Commission’s 2010 Program of 
Work commences July 1, 2009. 
Commissioner Stanley 
Kuriyama, Broker, was re-
appointed for a second four-
year term, and will continue 

Kuriyama to serve as the Commission’s 
Vice Chair.  He is a broker, Oahu, and serves as the President of 
Alexander & Baldwin, Inc. 

Newly appointed Commissioner, Walter Harvey, Broker, 
Oahu, will begin his tenure on July 1, 2009. Mr. Harvey is a 
broker associated with East Oahu Realty, and is originally from 
California, where he was a real estate licensee since 1981. He 
became a Hawaii real estate broker in 2003. 

The Laws and Rules Review Committee, headed by Chair 
Louis Abrams, Broker, Kauai, and Vice Chair Frances Gendrano, 

Nishihara 

Broker, Honolulu, will be busy researching the possibility of 
fingerprinting and background checks for new licensees. 
The Hawaii Association of 
Realtors will work together 
with the Commission on this 
issue. Hawaii Revised 
Statutes, Chapter 467, and 
Hawaii Administrative Rules, 
Chapter 99, which apply to the 
duties and conduct of real 
estate brokers and sales-
persons, will be reviewed for 
updates and revisions. 

The Education Review 
Committee, chaired by Carol 
Ball, Broker, Maui, with the 
assistance of Vice Chair, 
Annette Aiona, Broker, Big 
Island, will work with the 
Education Evaluation Task 
Force (EETF) in developing CE core courses, post-license 
requirements for brokers, and review instructor and school 
evaluations. Hawaii falls in the bottom 10%, nationally, for CE 
requirements. There are many in our industry who believe an 
increase in the mandatory CE for real estate licensees is long 
overdue. The committee will also be working with the Hawaii 
Association of Realtors to create legislation towards this end. 

Harvey 

The Condominium Review Committee, chaired by Michelle 
Loudermilk, Public Member, and Vice Chair, Mark Suiso, Public 
Member, will start drafting the Hawaii Administrative Rules for 
the new condominium law, Chapter 514B, with the help of 
interested parties. Since electronic filing for condominium 
developers may be required in the future, the Committee will be 
working closely with the Commission staff in developing an 
electronic processing system, a major undertaking. 

As you can see, the Commissioners are charged with 
tremendous responsibility to maintain and update industry 
regulations and standards. The 2010 Program of Work with 
emphasis on legislation will be an important and challenging 
undertaking for the Commission’s standing committees. 

We thank the members on the Educational Evaluation Task 
Force (EETF), the Consumer Brokerage Relationship Ad Hoc 
Committee (CBRAHC), the Ad  Hoc Committee on 
Condominium Education and Research, and the Condominium 
Consultants for their volunteer service and dedication to uphold 
the integrity of the industry and its professional standards. 
Much Mahalo! Should you have any questions, please contact 
the Real Estate Branch at 808-586-2643 or visit the Commission’s 
website at www.hawaii.gov/hirec. 
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Administrative Actions
 

Alii Ohana Property Management, Inc., a real estate broker, 
Gwyn Fowler-Butchka, a real estate broker, and Brenda L. 
Ceria, a real estate salesperson—REC 2007-409-L 

In August 2008, RICO filed a First Amended Petition for 
disciplinary action against Respondents alleging that the 
principal broker was absent from Alii Ohana’s principal place 
of business for more than three years and left a salesperson to 
handle property management during that time. 

RICO further asserted it received a complaint that the 
absence of a principal broker to oversee the salesperson’s 
work resulted in poor management advice to one company’s 
board of directors. 

Alii Ohana was licensed on December 13, 1989. At all 
relevant times, Fowler-Butchka was designated as the principal 
broker of Alii Ohana and Ceria was licensed as a real estate 
salesperson. 

Her license had an expiration date of December 31, 2008, 
but was upgraded by the Commission to a broker license on 
May 27, 2008. Ceria has been serving as the principal broker of 
Alii Ohana since July 21, 2008. 

RICO asserted that Respondents’ conduct, if proven at a 
hearing, might constitute violation of these laws: HRS §§467-
1.6(a) (Principal broker shall have direct management and 
supervision of the brokerage firm); 467-14(8) (Conduct 
constituting dishonest dealings); 14(10) (Permitting an 
employee who does not hold a broker’s license to have direct 
management of the brokerage business); 14(14) (Violating the 
chapter); 14-20 (Failure to maintain a reputation for or record of 
honesty); HAR §§16-99-3(m) (There shall be a principal broker 
or one or more brokers in charge, or both, at the principal place 
of business); (o) (Requirement of advance notice to the 
Commission of the broker’s absence from the principal place of 
business and designation of a temporary broker by the 
Commission); 16-99-5.1(a)(6) (An individual’s license shall be 
placed on involuntary inactive status when the principal broker 
is absent for more than 30 days and no Commission-approved 
temporary broker has been designated.) 

On July 25, 2008, the Office of Administrative Hearings 
issued a Notice of Pre-Hearing Conference for September 8, 
2008 and a Hearing for October 28, 2008. 

Prior to the hearing date, the parties reached a Settlement 
Agreement after Filing of Petition for Disciplinary Action in 
which Respondents asserted they have cooperated with RICO 
since this matter began and offered the following explanation 
in defense of their actions: 

In November 2004, Fowler-Butchka left Hawaii on what 
was to be a brief mainland trip to visit family. 

It was expected that Ceria would take the broker’s 
examination the following month and qualify to become 
licensed as a real estate broker. 

But Fowler-Butchka’s husband and son experienced 
serious illnesses, causing her to extend her mainland visit for 
months and eventually years. During that time she learned 

that Ceria did not pass the broker’s examination and that there 
was no resident principal broker on site for Alii Ohana. 

During Fowler-Butchka’s absence, she was in telephonic 
and electronic contact with Ceria at all times and participated 
in business decisions. 

Respondents further asserted that the interests of their 
current clients would be impacted by the suspension of either 
the brokerage firm or Ceria’s license. 

Respondents did not admit violating any law or rule and 
entered into the Settlement Agreement as a voluntary 
compromise of the matter, to avoid the risk of further litigation, 
and to conserve on the expense of proceeding with an 
administrative hearing. 

Under terms of the Settlement Agreement, Fowler-Butchka 
agreed to suspension of her license for three years. Ceria 
agreed to pay a $10,000 fine, and Alii Ohana was fined $5,000. 
Both Respondents agreed to take education courses to be 
determined by the Commission. 

The Commission accepted the Settlement Agreement on 
December 19, 2008. 

Mark R. Vansidener—REC 2008-71-L 
Respondent was licensed as a real estate salesperson on 

January 5, 2005. In October 1992, a Texas court placed 
Respondent on probation for six years after he pleaded guilty 
to possessing marijuana. In June 1998, a judgment adjudicating 
guilt was entered against Respondent because he failed to 
report to the probation office. Upon applying for a real estate 
salesperson’s license, Respondent answered “no” to the 
question, “During the past 20 years have you ever been 
convicted of a crime where there has not been an order 
annulling or expunging the conviction?” A police report signed 
by a Lahaina, Maui, detective reported that a search in California 
and Texas Respondent did not show a felony conviction. The 
report was generated because Respondent’s residence had 
been the subject of an illegal search that turned up shotguns 
and bullets that Respondent denied owning. On February 15, 
2008, Respondent pleaded no contest to a misdemeanor count 
of possessing a firearm without a permit and was sentenced to 
one year probation. Respondent testified he believed the Texas 
conviction on possession of marijuana was no longer on his 
record because he had been “honorably discharged” when he 
completed his probation. 

The Hearings Office recommended that Respondent be 
charged with violating HRS §§467-14(20) (Failure to maintain a 
reputation or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, 
financial integrity and fair dealing); 467-20 (Filing a document 
that contained a material misstatement of fact), 436B-19(5) 
(Procuring a license through misrepresentation); and 19(12) 
(Failure to comply with any law in such a manner that the 
licensing authority deems the applicant to be an unfit or 
improper person to hold a license.) The Hearings Officer 
recommended that other charges be dismissed, that 
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Administrative Actions
 

Respondent’s real estate salesperson’s license be suspended 
for 10 days, that he pay a $500 fine, and that he be required to 
disclose all convictions during the last 20 years that have not 
been annulled or expunged. 

The Commission approved the Hearings Officer’s 
recommended decision on December 19, 2008. 

Sharon A. Seykota—REC 2006-36-L 
On November 14, 2007, RICO filed a petition for disciplinary 

action against Respondent. 
A hearing in the matter was held on October 28, 2008. 
Respondent was licensed as a real estate broker in May 

2004. RICO alleged that in late 2003, Respondent offered to 
lease her home on Maui for $1,800 a month and promised to 
provide the lessee with possession of the premises by late 
November 2003. 

Respondent prepared a lease agreement but did not provide 
the lessee with a copy nor keep a copy in her records. 
Respondent received a payment of $3,600 from the lessee. 

The amount represented the first month’s rent and the 
security deposit. Respondent deposited the money into her 
personal account and did not inform her broker, Landmark Maui 
Properties, Inc., of the transaction. 

When the lessee arrived in late November 2003, 
Respondent was still living in the home but promised that the 
home would be available to him in January 2004. 

However, in December 2003, Respondent informed the 
lessee that the home was no longer available for him to rent. 

As a result, he was forced to look for another place to live. 
He eventually located another rental for $2,000 per month, or 
$200 per month more than he rent he had agreed to pay 
Respondent. 

Respondent provided the lessee with a refund check of 
$3,600, but the check failed to clear the bank due to insufficient 
funds. 

Landmark’s principal broker had discovered in late 2003 
that Respondent had entered into an agreement to lease her 
home without his consent. 

As a result, the broker released Respondent’s license on 
January 2, 2004. Since the $3,600 check had failed to clear the 
bank, Respondent returned $1,800 to the lessee and promised 
to return the balance later. 

On June 7, 2004, the lessee filed an ethics complaint with 
the Realtors Association of Maui, Inc. (RAMI) in an effort to 
recover the $1,800 balance owed him. 

On July 26, Respondent paid the lessee the $1,800 balance 
owed him, and the lessee informed RAMI by letter that he was 
willing to withdraw his complaint. However, RAMI decided to 
proceed with the case. 

The case came before an ethics hearing panel of the 
professional standards committee for hearing on March 15, 
2006. The panel concluded that Respondent (1) failed to protect 

the lessee’s interests when she did not provide occupancy in 
the home as agreed upon; (2) was dishonest when she spent 
the lessee’s $3,600, resulting in her being unable to make 
restitution in a timely manner when she failed to provide 
occupancy; (3) failed to deposit the $3,600 in her broker’s client 
trust account; (4) should have returned his $3,600 to him 
immediately but instead diverted the money for her 
unauthorized personal use; and (5) failed to mail a copy of the 
rental agreement to the client despite having acknowledged 
that she intended to do so. 

The panel found that Respondent had violated Articles 1, 
8, and 9 of the National Association of Realtors Code of Ethics 
and recommended disciplinary action that included a letter of 
reprimand, attendance at an educational course, placement of 
Respondent’s Association membership on probation status 
for one year, and payment of a $250 administrative processing 
fee. 

RICO charged Respondent with violating the following 
provisions of law: HRS §§467-14 (7) (Failing within a reasonable 
time to account for any moneys belonging to others); 14(8) 
(Any other conduct constituting fraudulent or dishonest 
dealings); 14(16) (Converting other people’s moneys to the 
licensee’s own use;) 14(20) (Failure to maintain a reputation for 
competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair 
dealing); 436B-16 (Notice of judgments, penalties); 436B-19 (9) 
(Revocation of license for conduct contrary to recognized 
standards of ethics); HAR 16-99-3 (b) (Licensee shall protect 
the public against fraud, misrepresentation, or unethical 
practices); (g) (When offering licensee’s property for rental, 
licensee shall reveal the interest in writing); (v) (Licensee shall 
not convert other people’s moneys to licensee’s own use); 16-
99-4 (g) (A depositor’s money is to be held in trust for his 
benefit); (i) (A broker-salesperson is not to handle trust 
properties in any way without the express written authorization 
of the principal broker); and (l) (Records for real estate 
transactions shall be retained for at least three years). 

The Hearings Officer recommended that the Commission 
find that Respondent violated the foregoing provisions of law, 
that Respondent’s broker’s license be revoked, and that 
Respondent be ordered to pay a $5,000 fine and $1,400 in 
restitution. 

Respondent’s attorney filed written exceptions to the 
Hearings Officer’s findings of fact on January 21, 2009, and 
Respondent’s attorney presented oral argument on the filed 
exceptions. RICO filed a statement in support of the Hearings 
Officer’s recommended finding. 

A hearing was held at which witnesses presented oral 
testimony and at which RICO requested that the Commission 
reject or disregard Respondent’s exceptions to the Hearings 
Officer’s findings of fact and recommended order. 

The Commission unanimously approved the Hearings 
Officer’s recommendations on March 27, 2009. 
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2009-2010 Core Course—Part A. Take It in 2009!
 

Part A, 2009-2010 Commission Core Course, “Personal 
Transactions” and the 2009 Legislative Update will be available 
about mid-June 2009. All licensees are strongly encouraged to 
take Part A in 2009!  Come January 1, 2010, Part A of the 2009-
2010 core course will ONLY be available in an ONLINE format. 
It will NOT be offered in a live-classroom format. 

Based on statistics for the 2007-2008 Commission Core 
Course, when Part A became available in June 2007, only 372 
licensees took Part A in 2007!  Between June 2008, when Part B 
of the core course became available, and September 2008, 10,893 
licensees took both Part A and Part B.  Of the 10,893 licensees 
taking the two parts of the core course, 872 took the courses 
online, and 10,021 took the courses in a live classroom format. 

Between October and November 30, 2008 (the licensing 
renewal deadline), 5,418 licensees took both parts of the core 
course. Of this total, 1,552 licensees went the online route, and 
3,866 took the courses in a live classroom format. 

Obviously, licensees still prefer a live classroom format 
for education purposes. 

For the 2009-2010 Commission Core Course, the topic of 

“Personal Transactions” will generate a lot of discussion. 
Why? What are your answers to the following questions? 
Are you a licensee who regularly buys, sells, rents, or leases 
on your own behalf? Do you buy, sell, rent or lease for family 
members? In these situations, is your principal broker aware 
of what you are doing? Do you run these real estate 
transactions through your broker? You should be running all 
of these transactions through your broker.  Your principal 
broker cannot turn his back on what you are doing. 

Based on reactions so far to this topic, there appears to 
be a consensus of opinion that most licensees do not follow 
the real estate licensing laws and rules when it comes to 
engaging in personal transactions. 

Also, most principal brokers and brokers-in-charge fail 
to abide by the real estate licensing laws and rules when it 
comes to overseeing and having direct management over their 
licensees’ personal transactions.  Violations of the licensing 
laws and rules are subject to review by the Regulated 
Industries Complaints Office (RICO), which may result in harsh 
penalties; i.e., license revocation. 

2009 Real Estate Commission Meeting Schedule 
Laws & Rules Review Committee Real Estate Commission, 9 a.m.
 
Condominium Review Committee
 
Education Review Committee
 
(These committees meet one after another,
 
beginning at 9 a.m.)
 

Wednesday,  July 8, 2009 (Kauai) Friday,  July 31, 2009 
Wednesday,  August 12, 2009 Friday,  August 28, 2009 
Wednesday,  September 9, 2009 Friday, September 25, 2009 

All meetings will be held in the Queen Liliuokalani Conference Room of the King Kalakaua Building, 335 
Merchant Street, First Floor, except the July 8, 2009 Committee meetings, which will be held at Conference 
Rooms A, B, and C of the State Office  Building, 3060 Eiwa St., Lihue Kauai. 

Meeting dates, locations, and times are subject to change without notice. Please visit the Commission’s 
website at www.hawaii.gov/hirec or call the Real Estate Commission Office at 586-2643 to confirm 
the dates, times, and locations of the meetings. This material can be made available to individuals 
with special needs. Please contact the Executive Officer at (808) 586-2643 to submit your request. 

Meeting dates are subject to change pending a decision on proposed furloughs for State employees. 
Updated information is available on the Commission’s website, www.hawaii.gov/hirec. 
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Transient Accommodations Taxes Increased 
By Department of Taxation 

Transient Accomodations taxes will incease from 7.25% 
to 8.25% on July 1, 2009, and to 9.25% on July 1, 2010. 

Act 61, SLH 2009, passed on May 8, 2009, specifies the 
increases. 

All monthly filers and calendar year quarterly or 
semiannual filers who received pre-printed TAT booklets should 
continue to use those forms for the rest of the year when filing 
the TA-1 (Periodic Transient Accommodations Tax Return). 
Under the “Rate” column, instead of multiplying by .0725, 
multiply by .0825. 

Fiscal year quarterly and semiannual filers must use the 
revised TA-1 that will be available on our website in the summer 
of 2009. The website address is www.hawaii.gov/tax. 

TAT tax return and payment due dates remain the same. 
All calendar year and fiscal year filers must use the revised 

TA-2 (Transient Accommodations Tax Annual Return and 
Reconciliation) that will be available on our website in the 
summer of 2009. The website address is www.hawaii.gov/ 
tax. 

Those taxpayers who requested to continue receiving a 
TAT booklet in the mail will not receive a new booklet until 
2010. Additionally, any TAT taxpayer who cancelled his/her 
General Excise Tax license and no longer has a need to possess 
a TAT license, should complete Form GEWTARV-1, 
Notification of Cancellation of General Excise/Use, 
Withholding, Transient Accommodations, Rental Motor 
Vehicle and Tour Vehicle Accounts, so that his/her TAT license 
may be cancelled. Form GEWTARV-1 is available on our 
website at the address listed above. 

Taxpayers who have questions may call our Customer 
Call Center at 587-4242 or toll free at 1-800-222-3229. 

Commission Signs with New Test Administrator
 
After more than 21 years with the same test administrator, 

the Real Estate Commission has approved a contract with PSI 
Services, LLC (PSI) to be its new test administrator, effective 
July 1, 2009. 

PSI is headquartered in Burbank, CA. 
The Commission’s test administrator is responsible for 

administering the real estate licensing examinations for real 
estate salesperson and real estate broker candidates. 

An instructor’s exam for prelicense instructors is also 
administered by the test administrator. 

PSI will charge a $63 examination fee, as compared to the 
$68 examination fee assessed by the current test administrator, 
Pearson VUE. 

The transition is already taking place. 
During the transition period, salesperson and broker 

candidates will be tracked and all required information transferred 
to PSI’s database. 

Hawaii’s test candidates are allowed to retake the portion 
of the exam they did not pass as many times as necessary to 
pass the exam. However, they must pass both portions of the 
exam within two years of passing the first part of the examination. 

Hawaii provides three equivalencies to test candidates: 
the Prelicense Education Equivalency, the Equivalency to the 
Uniform Section of the Hawaii Real Estate Licensing Exam, and 
the Broker Experience Certificate. 

All of these equivalencies are good for a two-year period. 
If test candidates receive a Hawaii School Completion Certificate, 
the certificate is also good for two years. 

PSI will establish new test sites on O’ahu, Kauai, Maui, 
and the Big Island, and out-of-state candidates will still be able 
to test at PSI test centers located on the mainland. 

For 2008, the pass-fail rate for Hawaii first-time test takers 

was 30.62% pass and 69.38% fail for broker candidates, and 
66.92% pass and 33.08% fail for salesperson candidates. 

For retakers, brokers had a 29.50% pass and 70.50% fail 
rate, and salespersons had a 54.79% pass and 45.21% fail rate. 

© Copyright Hawaii Real Estate Commission 2009. All 
rights reserved. Funded by the Real Estate Education 
Fund and provided as an educational service to Hawaii 
real estate licensees. This publication is designed to 
provide general information on the subject matter covered 
and is not a substitute for professional services to 
address specific situations. If legal advice or other expert 
assistance is required, please seek the services of a 
competent professional. 

This material can be made available to individuals with 
special needs. Please call the Senior Real Estate Specialist 
at 586-2643 to submit your request. 
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Are Broker Price Opinions Legal?
 

Some licensees may be illegally charSome licensees may be illegally charSome licensees may be illegally charSome licensees may be illegally charSome licensees may be illegally charginggingginggingging 
a fee for the BPOs they ra fee for the BPOs they ra fee for the BPOs they ra fee for the BPOs they ra fee for the BPOs they renderenderenderenderender 

Recently, the Real Estate Branch has received 
numerous inquiries about Broker Price Opinions (BPOs) 
as to whether they are “legal” in Hawaii. While it appears 
that many Hawaii licensed real estate brokers provide 
BPOs in the course of their real estate practice, BPOs are 
not addressed in the real estate licensing laws and rules. 
BPOs are addressed in HRS Chapter 466K and HAR Chapter 
114, the laws and rules for Real Estate Appraisers. 

In some instances, Hawaii real estate licensees may be 
illegally charging a fee for the BPOs they render. These licensees 
are not licensed as real estate appraisers. 

A real estate licensee must comply with the meaning of 
HAR section 16-114-74, which does not apply to a broker or 
salesperson “who, in the ordinary course of business, gives 
an opinion as to the recommended listing price of real estate or 
an opinion to a potential purchaser as to the recommended 
purchase price of real estate, provided: 

(1) The opinion shall not be referred to as an appraisal. 
(2) No compensation is charged for such opinion other 

than the normal brokerage fee rendered in connection with the 
sale of the property; or 

(3) No representation is made that the real estate broker or 
salesperson is a certified or licensed real estate appraiser. 

Licensed brokers and salespersons may not receive 
compensation or assess a fee “other than the normal brokerage 
fee rendered in connection with the sale of the property.” 

Therefore, if additional fees are being charged for the BPOs, 
this would constitute an illegal practice, and the licensee may 
be disciplined for this possible violation. 

Other rules that may be cited as possible violations are 
HAR Section 1-99-3(a) and (b), which read: “To fully protect 
the general public in its real estate transactions, every licensee 
shall conduct business, including the licensees own personal 
real estate transactions, in accordance with this section,” and 
“The licensee shall protect the public against fraud, mis-
representation or unethical practices in the real estate field. 
The licensee shall endeavor to eliminate any practices in the 
community which could be damaging to the public or to the 
dignity and integrity of the real estate profession. The licensee 
shall assist the Commission in its efforts to regulate the 
practices of brokers and salespersons in this State.” 

Finally, the licensee may be found in violation of HRS 467-
14(8), which states that the Commission may revoke, suspend, 
or discipline a licensee for any conduct constituting fraudulent 
or dishonest dealings. 

Hawaii licensees may be engaging in unlicensed real estate 
appraiser activity if they receive compensation other than the 
normal brokerage fee charged for the sale of a property. 

The Real Estate Branch staff may be contacted via email 
at hirec@dcca.hawaii.gov, or telephone 808-586-2643. 

The Real Estate Appraisers program may be contacted 
at 808-586-2701. 
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