


For more information regarding landlord-tenant issues,

Call:
Consumer Dial 587-1234 for automated informational messages.

Office of Consumer Protection

Honolulu: 586-2634

Kauai: 274-3141 ext. 62634
Maui: 984-2400 ext. 62634
Big Island: 974-4000 ext. 62634

Molokai/Lanai: 1-800-468-4644 ext. 62634

Go to:

Landlord-Tenant Handbook

http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/ocp/It/ltbook/index.html

Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 521- Landlord-Tenant Code
http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/ocp/It/ltcode/index.html

Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 467- Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons
http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/pdffhrs_pvl 467.pdf

Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 515- Discrimination in Real Property Transactions
http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/pdffhrs_pvl 515.pdf

Hawaii Small Claims Court; Landlord-Tenant Claims
http://www.courts.state.hi.us/page_server/SelfHelp/Landlord/15D1E7022F7F7822EA
70F222AB.html

Lawyer Referral and Information Service: Civil
http://www.courts.state.hi.us/page_server/Attorneys/Find/4884DF9EB84C8B55EBAF
22AE22.html

Overview

This pamphlet is intended to act as a guide for landlords or their agents when
dealing with time-sensitive issues relating to residential property management.
It is also intended to provide information to tenants regarding the time-frame
which should be expected in specific situations when renting. Rental contracts
should reflect the requirements defined in Hawaii’s Landlord-Tenant Code, but
even if a contract contains terms that are contrary, the Code may still apply. If
you have questions or need advice on a specific issue, please call the
Landlord-Tenant Line (see last page for contact information) Monday through
Friday from 8:00 a.m. to noon, or contact an attorney.

Tenants and landlords should be aware that the landlord can act on his or her
own behalf as a property manager when the landlord resides on the same
island as the rental property. An absentee owner (one that does not reside on
the same island as the rental property) must have an agent that resides on the
same island to act on behalf of the landlord. The agent may or may not be a real
estate licensee as defined under Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 467, as long
as the agent has the authority to act on behalf of the landlord in regard to the
rental property and tenant(s) and holds the capacity described in HRS 467.

By statute, landlord-tenant disputes over deposits that cannot be settled
between the landlord and the tenant must be referred to small claims court. See
the website link on the back page for more information about filing claims in
small claims courts in Hawaii.

No matter who is acting as the rental property manager, the State of Hawaii has
laws which act to protect both the property owner and the consumer. A list of
websites is provided at the end of this pamphlet that can help you to know and
understand the Statutes that govern residential rental transactions.

This pamphlet is intended to provide a basic structure of the appropriate deadlines as
defined in Hawaii's Landlord-Tenant Code, Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 521.
The pamphlet is for informational use only, and does not provide legal advice.



Landlord-Tenant Code Deadlines

Types of Tenancy

Week-to-week

Month-to-month

Lease

Security Deposit return

Postmarked within 14 days after
termination of rental agreement.

Postmarked within 14 days after
termination of rental agreement.

Postmarked within 14 days after
termination of rental agreement.

_‘

enants have one year to bring action for return.

Rent Increase

15 days written notice.

45 days written notice.

Rental Termination

10 days notice from either landlord or

tenant.

28 days notice from tenant. Tenant is
responsible for the full 28-days rent,
regardless of when they move out.

45 days notice from landlord. Tenant is
responsible for pro-rated rent from date of
landlord’s notice until they move out and
notify the landlord of vacancy.

A notice of intent should be given prior to
the lease expiration by either the landlord
or the tenant.

Voluntary Demolition

120 days written notice.

Condominium Conversion

120 days written notice. Tenant is
responsible for pro-rated rent from date of
landlord’s notice until they move out and
notify the landlord of vacancy.

Vacation Rental Conversion

120 days written notice.

General Repair Schedule

12 business days.

12 business days.

12 business days.

Repairs must be started within this period, or an explanation provided.

Emergency Repairs

3 business days.

| 3 business days.

| 3 business days.

“Emergency repairs” are those necessary to provide sanitary and habitable conditions. Steps must be taken towards repairs within
this time or the tenant may have the repairs made and deducted from the rent.

Intent to Enter 2 days. 2 days. 2 days.
Wrongfully Quit 20 days. 20 days. 20 days.

If the tenant has not paid rent and is absent without notice for 20 days, he has “wrongfully quit” the premises.
Improper Use 10 days to remedy. 10 days to remedy. 10 days to remedy.

Failure to Pay Rent

5 business days.

5 business days.

5 business days.

After written

notice, rent must be paid or landlord may sue for eviction.

Failure to Disclose 10 days. | 10 days. | 10 days.
If requested by tenant, landlord must disclose names of owners or agents.
Security Deposit Transfer Statement 20 days. 20 days. | 20 days.

If owner sells or transfers an interest, the tenant must be given a statement of security deposit amount by new owner.




