LAND USE COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

September 10, 2014- 10:30 a.m.

Sheraton Maui Resort Spa 2605 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Kent Hiranaga

Jonathan Scheuer Arnold Wong Chad McDonald Edmund Aczon Aaron Mahi

COMMISSIONERS EXCUSED: Brandon Ahakuelo

STAFF PRESENT: Daniel Orodenker, Executive Officer

Diane Erickson, Deputy Attorney General

Bert Saruwatari, Staff Planner Scott Derrickson, Staff Planner

Riley Hakoda, Staff Planner/Chief Clerk

CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chair McDonald called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Vice Chair McDonald asked if there were any corrections or additions to the May 16, 2014 minutes. There were none. Commissioner Wong moved to approve the minutes. Commissioner Mahi seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved by a voice vote (6-0).

TENTATIVE MEETING SCHEDULE

Executive Officer Orodenker provided the following:

- The regular tentative meeting schedule has been distributed in the handout material for the Commissioners.
- Next meeting is September 24, 2014 and will include Commissioner training. It may be necessary to have a "working lunch" to complete all the planned activity and the Commission will make provisions for meals if necessary.
- October 8, 2014 is planned for SP77-271/HC&D.
- October 22-23, 2014 is planned for A87-610/Tom Gentry and Gentry –Pacific Ltd.
- November 12-13, 2014 is planned for A92-683/Halekua Development.
- Above dates represent the tentative calendar of meetings and are subject to change.
- Any questions or conflicts, please contact LUC staff.

There were no questions and comments regarding the tentative meeting schedule.

INTRODUCTION OF NEW COMMISSIONERS

Vice Chair McDonald noted that there were several newly appointed Commissioners and had the Commissioners introduce themselves. Executive Officer Orodenker clarified that Commissioner Mahi was appointed the Commission's Hawaiian Specialist and that Commissioner Aczon was the Oahu Commissioner; and also introduced OP's Deputy General, Bryan Yee, LUC's Deputy Attorney General, Diane Erickson, and the LUC planners.

Mr. Yee welcomed the Commissioners and thanked them for their willingness to serve on the LUC.

ACTION

1

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Vice Chair McDonald stated that the election of officers was the next order of business and asked if there were any public witnesses that would like to testify. There were none.

Commissioner Mahi stated that he recognized that the Commission was not fully constituted at present, and moved that Vice Chair Chad McDonald be elected Chair and Arnold Wong be elected First Vice Chair at this meeting, and that the election of a Second Vice Chair be deferred until all Commission vacancies have been filled and the Commission fully constituted. Commissioner Aczon seconded the motion.

There was no discussion. Vice Chair McDonald had Mr. Orodenker poll the Commission.

The Commission voted as follows. Commissioners Mahi, Aczon, Wong, Scheuer, Hiranaga, and Chair McDonald voted Aye. The motion passed unanimously 6-0, with 1 excused.

There were no further questions or comments.

There being no further action or other business, Chair McDonald declared the meeting adjourned at 10:38 a.m.