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(NOTE: References to “married”, “unmarried”, and “spouse” also means “in a civil union”, “not in a civil union”, and “civil union partner”, respectively.)

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
Purpose of Form

Use Form N-210 to see if you owe a penalty for 
underpaying your estimated tax and, if you do, to 
figure the amount of the penalty. This form is used 
by individuals and fiduciaries of estates and trusts.

Other Methods

We realize that there are many different ways to 
figure the correct penalty. You do not have to use 
the method prescribed by Form N-210 as long 
as you enter the correct penalty amount on the 
penalty line of your return.

However, if you are required to file Form N-210 
because one or more of the boxes in Part I 
applies to you, you must complete certain lines.  
You must complete lines 1-17 and enter the 
penalty on line 21.

Who Must Pay the Underpayment 
Penalty

You may be charged a penalty if you did not pay 
enough estimated tax by any of the due dates 
or if you did not have enough Hawaii income tax 
withheld. This is true even if you are due a refund 
when you file your tax return. The penalty is 
figured separately for each due date. Therefore, 
you may owe the penalty for any earlier payment 
due date, even if you paid enough tax later to 
make up the underpayment.

In general, you may owe the penalty for 2012 if 
you did not pay at least the smaller of:

1.	60% of your 2012 tax liability; or

2.	100% of the tax shown on your 2011 tax 
return.

Exceptions to the Penalty

You will not have to pay the penalty if either 1 or 
2 applies:

1.	You had no tax liability for 2011, you were 
a U.S. citizen or resident of Hawaii for the entire 
year, and your 2011 Hawaii income tax return 
was (or would have been had you been required 
to file) for a full 12 months. You had no tax liability 
for 2011 if your total tax was zero or you did not 
need to file an income tax return.

2.	The total tax shown on your 2012 return 
minus the amount of tax you paid through 
withholding and applicable tax credits is less than 
$500.  To determine whether the total tax is less 
than $500, complete lines 1-5.

If you meet the exception under number 1, attach 
a statement that under the penalties set forth in 
section 231-36, HRS, you were not required to 
file a Hawaii income tax return for 2011 because 
your 2011 gross income was less than your filing 
threshold and the Hawaii income tax return would 
have been for a full twelve months had you been 
required to file a 2011 income tax return. Attach 
this statement directly behind Form N-11, N-13, 
N-15, or N-40. If you filed Schedule CR, attach 
the statement directly behind Schedule CR.

Estates and trusts. No penalty applies to either 
of the following:

•	 A decedent’s estate for any tax year ending 
before the date that is 2 years after the 
decedent’s death.

•	 A trust that was treated as owned by the 
decedent if the trust will receive the residue 
of the decedent’s estate under the will (or 
if no will is admitted to probate, the trust 
primarily responsible for paying debts, 
taxes, and expenses of administration) for 
any tax year ending before the date that is 2 
years after the decedent’s death.

Special Rules for Farmers and 
Fishermen

If you meet both tests 1 and 2 below, you do not 
owe a penalty for underpaying your estimated 
tax.

1.	Your gross income from farming and fishing 
is at least two-thirds of your annual gross income 
from all sources for 2011 or 2012.

2.	You filed your Hawaii return and paid the 
entire tax due by March 1, 2013.

Note: If you receive a penalty notice, do not 
ignore it, even if you think it is in error. You may get 
a penalty notice even though you filed your return 
on time, attached Form N-210, and met the gross 
income from farming or fishing requirement. 
If you receive a penalty notice for underpaying 
estimated tax and you think it is in error, write to 
the address on the notice and explain why you 
think the notice is in error. Include a computation 
showing that you met the gross income from 
farming or fishing requirement.

Get federal Publication 505, Tax Withholding and 
Estimated Tax, for the definition of gross income 
from farming and fishing.

Waiver of Penalty

If you have an underpayment on line 16, all or 
part of the penalty for that underpayment will be 
waived if the Department determines that:

1.	The underpayment is due to a casualty, 
disaster, or other unusual circumstance and it 
would be inequitable to impose the penalty, or

2.	In 2011 or 2012, you retired after age 62 or 
become disabled, and your underpayment was 
due to reasonable cause.

To request either of the above waivers, do the 
following:

a.	Check the box in Part I, line a.

b.	Complete Form N-210 through line 20 
without regard to the waiver.  Write the amount 
you want waived in parentheses on the dotted 
line next to line 21.  Subtract this amount from 
the total penalty you figured without regard to the 
waiver, and enter the result on line 21.

c.	Attach Form N-210 and a statement to your 
return explaining the reasons you were unable 
to meet the estimated tax requirements and the 
time period for which you are requesting the 
waiver.

d.	If you are requesting a penalty waiver 
due to a casualty, disaster, or other unusual 
circumstance, attach documentation such as 
police and insurance company reports.

e.	If you are requesting a penalty waiver due to 
retirement or disability, attach documentation that 
shows your retirement date (and your age on that 
date) or the date you became disabled.

The Department will review the information you 
provide and decide whether or not to grant your 
request for a waiver.

Attach this form to your return.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
Part II

All filers must complete lines 1-8.

Line 1 — Enter your tax liability before credits.  
Enter the amount from Form N-11, line 27; Form 
N-13, line 16; Form N-15, line 43; or Form N-40, 
Schedule G, line 1; whichever applies.

Line 2 — Enter the total amounts of all the tax 
credits, nonrefundable and refundable, claimed 
on your tax return.

Do not include on this line, payments made for:

•	 Hawaii income tax withheld

•	 Tax withheld on IHA distributions

•	 Estimated taxes paid

•	 Amount of estimated tax payments applied 
from the 2011 return to the 2012 return

•	 Amounts paid with extensions

•	 Credit for taxes withheld on the sale of 
Hawaii real property

•	 Amount withheld by an S corporation for a 
nonresident shareholder

Line 4 — Include on this line Hawaii income tax 
withheld from wages, IHA distributions, and sales 
of real property by nonresidents; and amounts 
withheld by an S corporation for a nonresident 
shareholder.

Line 5 — If this line is less than $500, you do not 
have to complete the rest of this form.

Line 7—Tax Amount from your 2011 Income 
Tax Return.—Enter 100% of your 2011 tax. 
Figure your 2011 tax using the taxes and credits 
shown on your 2011 tax return.  Use the same 
type of taxes and credits shown on lines 1 and 2 
of Form N-210.

If you did not file a return for 2011, or if your 
2011 tax year was less than 12 months, do not 
complete line 7. Instead, enter the amount from 
line 6 on line 8. However, see the Exceptions to 
the Penalty on this page.

Filing Status Change.—If you are filing a joint 
return for 2012, but you did not file a joint return 
for 2011, add the tax shown on your 2011 return 
to the tax shown on your spouse’s 2011 return 
and enter the total on line 7. If you filed a joint 
return for 2011 but you are not filing a joint return 
for 2012, see federal Publication 505 to figure 
your share of the 2011 tax to enter on line 7.

Line 8 — Compare the amounts on lines 6 and 7.  
Enter the smaller of the two amounts on line 8.

If the amount on line 4 is equal to or more than the 
amount on line 8, you will not have to complete 
or attach Form N-210 unless the Caution below 
applies to you.

Caution:  If the amount you enter on line 8 is 
your prior year tax (from line 7), and you filed or 
are filing a joint return for either 2011 or 2012 but 
not for both years, you must check Box d in Part 
I, and complete and attach Form N-210 to your 
return, even if you do not owe a penalty. 
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Part III - Figure Your Underpayment

Nonresident Alien

If you are a “Nonresident Alien” (see definition 
in Form N-15 Instructions) and did not receive 
wages as an employee subject to Hawaii income 
tax withholding, the instructions for figuring your 
underpayment are modified as follows:

1.	Skip column (a) in Part III.

2.	In column (b) of line 9 in Part III, enter one-
half of the amount on line 8 (unless you are using 
the annualized income installment method).

3.	In column (b) of line 10 in Part III, enter the 
total tax payments made through June 20, 2012, 
for the 2012 tax year.

4.	Skip all lines in column (b) that are shaded 
in column (a) in Part III.

Farmers and Fishermen

The instructions for figuring your underpayment 
are modified as follows:

1.	Skip columns (a), (b), and (c) in Part III.

2.	In column (d) of line 9 in Part III, enter the 
full amount on line 8.

3.	In column (d) of line 10 in Part III, enter the 
total tax payments made through January 20, 
2013, for the 2012 tax year.

4.	Skip all lines in column (d) that are shaded 
in column (a) in Part III.

Figuring Your Underpayment 

Line 9 — Enter on line 9, columns (a)-(d), the 
amount of your required installment for the due 
date shown in each column heading.  For most 
taxpayers, this is the amount shown on line 8 of 
Part II, divided by four (4).  However, it may be to 
your benefit to figure your required installments 
by using the annualized income installment 
method. For more details, see the instructions for 
Schedule A on this page.

Line 10 — Enter the taxes withheld on wages, 
Individual Housing Account distributions, or on the 
disposition of Hawaii real property; estimated tax 
payments; and amounts paid by an S corporation 
on behalf of a nonresident shareholder if the 
corporation’s payment is made within your tax 
year in the column for the period during which 
the payment is made.

In column (a), enter the tax payment(s) you 
made by April 20, 2012, for the 2012 tax year; in 
column (b), enter the payments you made after 
April 20 through June 20, 2012; in column (c), 
enter payments you made after June 20 through 
September 20, 2012; and in column (d), enter 
payments you made after September 20, 2012, 
through January 20, 2013.

When figuring your payment dates and the 
amounts to enter on line 10 of each column, 
apply the following rules:

1.	Include in your estimated tax payments any 
overpayment of tax from your 2011 return that 
you elected to apply to your 2012 estimated tax.  
If you file your return by the due date, treat the 
overpayment as a payment made on April 20, 
2012. Payments made after the due date (not 
including extensions) are treated as made on the 
date of payment.

2.	If you file your return and pay the tax due by 
January 31, 2013, include on line 10, column (d), 
the amount of tax you pay with your tax return.  
In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the 
payment due by January 20, 2013.

3.	Reduce the amount of withholding on the 
disposition of Hawaii real property included 
on this line by any amount for which you have 
requested a refund on Form N-288C.

4.	Any payments made on the next working 
day after the payment due date because of a 
Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, will be considered 
paid on the payment due date.

If line 10 is equal to or more than line 9 for all 
payment periods, stop here. You do not have to 
complete the rest of the form.

Line 16 — If line 16 is zero for all payment 
periods, you do not owe a penalty.  But if you 
check Box b, c, or d, in Part I, you must file Form 
N-210 with your return.

If line 16 shows an underpayment for any 
payment period, see Waiver of Penalty on page 
1. In certain circumstances, the Department will 
waive all or part of the penalty.

Part IV — Figuring the Penalty

The underestimation penalty is computed on a 
monthly basis. This means the penalty is imposed 
on the amount of the underpayment of estimated 
tax at the rate of 2/3% (.00667) a month or 
fraction of a month.

Use this part to figure the penalty for any 
underpayment to which none of the exceptions 
apply. If you made more than one payment 
for any payment period, attach your penalty 
computation for each payment. The penalty is 
applied to the number of months, or fraction of 
a month, that the installment was not paid. You 
figure the period of underpayment by counting 
the number of months after the due date of the 
installment to and including the date of payment 
or April 20, 2013, whichever is earlier. If you are 
a fiscal year taxpayer, use the 20th day of the 
4th month following the close of your fiscal year 
instead of April 20, 2013.

Line 19 — Count the number of months from 
the due date of the payment shown above the 
column to the date on line 18. A month, for the 
purposes of computing the penalty, is the period 
from the 21st day of the current calendar month 
through the 20th day of the following calendar 
month. Enter the number of months, rounding up 
any fractions of a month. A fraction of a month is 
counted as one month.

For example, Mr. Aloha has an underpayment 
for the April 20th installment of $1,000.  The June 
20th installment requires a payment of $2,500.  
On June 10th, Mr. Aloha pays $2,500 to cover 
the June 20th installment. However, $1,000 of 
this payment will be considered to be for the April 
20th installment.  The penalty for the April 20th 
installment is figured to June 10th (2 months).  
The amount of the payment to be applied to 
the June 20th installment will be the remaining 
$1,500.  Please note, that if Mr. Aloha does not 
make an additional payment by June 20th to 
cover the remaining $1,000 due for the June 20th 
installment, the underpayment penalty will be 
applied when it is subsequently paid.

Payment of your entire 2012 estimated tax liability, 
or any balance due, by January 20, 2013, or filing 
of your 2012 income tax return and payment 
of the tax shown on the return by January 20, 
2013, will not relieve you of the penalty if you 
did not pay the estimated income tax due earlier 
in your tax year.  If you file your return and pay 
the tax due by January 31, 2013, you will have 
no penalty for the January installment, and the 
periods of underpayment for earlier installments 
will end on January 20, 2013.

Reminder for farmers and fishermen:  If your 
gross income from farming or fishing is at least 
two-thirds of your annual gross income from all 
sources for 2011 or 2012, and you file your return 
and pay the tax due by March 1, 2013, you will  
not have to pay the penalty or file this form.

Schedule A—Required Installments 
Using the Annualized Income 
Installment Method

If your income varied during the year because, 
for example, you operated your business on 
a seasonal basis, you may be able to lower or 
eliminate the amount of one or more required 
installments by using the annualized income 
installment method.  Use Schedule A to figure the 
amounts to enter on Form N-210, Part III, line 9.

If you use Schedule A for any payment due date, 
you must use it for all payment due dates.  To 
figure the amount of each required installment, 
Schedule A automatically selects the smaller of 
the annualized income installment or the regular 
installment (increased by the amount saved by 
using the annualized income installment method 
in figuring earlier installments).

To use the annualized income installment method, 
you must do all of the following:

1.	Complete Schedule A. Enter the amount 
from Schedule A, line 24, in each column of Form 
N-210, Part III, line 9.

2.	Complete Part IV to figure the penalty.

3.	Check Box b in Part I.

4.	Attach Form N-210 to your return.

Nonresident Alien

If you did not receive wages as an employee 
subject to Hawaii income tax withholding, the 
instructions for Schedule A are modified as 
follows:

1.	Skip column (a).

2.	Enter on line 1 your income for the period 
that is effectively connected with a Hawaii trade 
or business.

3.	Increase the amount on line 16 by the 
amount determined by multiplying your income 
for the period that is not effectively connected 
with a Hawaii trade or business by the following:

•	 In column (b), 72%.

•	 In column (c), 45%.

•	 In column (d), 30%.

4.	Enter in column (b) of line 21, one-half of 
the amount from Form N-210, Part II, line 8.  In 
columns (c) and (d), enter one-fourth of that 
amount.

5.	Skip column (b), lines 19 and 22.

Annualized Income Installment 
Method

Line 1 — Figure your total income for the period, 
minus your adjustments to income for the period.  
Include your share of partnership or S corporation 
income or loss items for the period.

If you are self-employed, be sure to take into 
account the deduction for part of your self-
employment tax. For more information on how to 
figure this amount for each period, see federal 
Publication 505, chapter 4.

Line 2 — Estates and trusts, do not use amounts 
shown in columns (a)-(d). Instead, use 6, 3, 
1.71429, and 1.09091, respectively, as the 
annualization amounts.
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Line 6 — Multiply line 4 by line 5 and enter 
the result on line 6. However, you must use the 
following worksheet to figure the amount to enter 
on line 6 if:

•	 Line 3 is more than $166,800 ($83,400 if 
married filing separately), or

•	 Your federal annualized income is $100,000 
or more and you are single or married filing 
separately; or $150,000 or more and you 
are a head of household; or $200,000 or 
more and you are married filing jointly or a 
qualifying widow(er).

1.	 Enter the amount from  
Sch. A, line 4...................... 	 	

2.	 Enter the amount included  
on line 1 for medical and  
dental expenses, investment  
interest, casualty or theft  
losses, and gambling losses 	

3.	 Line 1 minus line 2............. 	 	

4.	 Enter the number from  
Sch. A, line 5...................... 	 	

5.	 Multiply the amount on  
line 1 by line 4.................... 	 	

	 Note: If the amount on line  
3 is zero or less, skip lines  
6 – 12 and enter the amount  
from line 5 on line 13 below.

6.	 Multiply the amount on line  
3 by the number on line 4... 	 	

7.	 Multiply the amount on  
line 6 by .80........................ 	 	

8.	 Enter the amount from  
Sch. A, line 3...................... 	 	

9.	 Enter $166,800 ($83,400 if  
married filing separately).... 	 	

10.	Line 8 minus line 9............. 	 	

	 Note: If line 10 is zero or  
less, skip lines 11 – 12   
and enter the amount   
from line 5 on line 13 below.

11.	Multiply the amount on  
line 10 by .03...................... 	 	

12.	Enter the smaller of line 7  
or line 11............................ 	 	

13.	Line 5 minus line 12........... 	 	

14.	Is your federal annualized  
income $100,000 or more and  
you are single or married filing  
separately; or $150,000 or more  
and you are a head of household;  
or $200,000 or more and you are  
married filing jointly or a qualifying 
widow(er)?  

.No. Enter the amount from line 13 above on 
Sch. A, line 6. 
.Yes. Enter the amount shown below for your 
filing status. 
.  Single or married filing separately — $25,000 
.  Head of household — $37,500 
  Married filing jointly or qualifying  
    widow(er) — $50,000............	 	

15.	Enter the smaller of line 13  
or line 14 here and on Sch.  
A, line 6.............................. 	 	

Line 7 — Nonresidents and part-year residents, 
enter the amount of your standard deduction 
multiplied by the ratio of your Hawaii adjusted 
gross income to total adjusted gross income from 
all sources.

Line 10 — For each column, multiply $1,040 by 
the number of exemptions you claimed on Form 
N-11, line 6e, or Form N-15, line 6e. If you claimed 
the disability exemption, enter that amount. 
Nonresidents and part-year residents, enter the 
amount of your personal exemptions multiplied 
by the ratio of your Hawaii adjusted gross income 
to total adjusted gross income from all sources. 
However, if line 3 is more than $119,963 if single; 
$179,963 if married filing jointly or qualifying 
widow(er); $89,981 if married filing separately; or 
$149,963 if head of household, use the following 
worksheet to figure the amount to enter on line 
10. Complete the worksheet for each period, as 
necessary.

1.	 Multiply $1,040 by the  
number of exemptions  
you claimed on Form  
N-11, line 6e, or Form  
N-15, line 6e. If you  
claimed the disability  
exemption, enter that  
amount............................... 	 	

2.	 Enter line 3 of Sch. A.......... 	 	

3.	 Enter the amount shown  
below for your filing status.  
Single—$119,963 
Married filing jointly or qualifying 
widow(er)—$179,963 
Married filing separately—$89,981 
Head of household—$149,963....	 	

4.	 Line 2 minus line 3............. 	 	

5.	 Is line 4 more than $122,500  
(more than $61,250 if married  
filing separately)? 
Yes. Enter zero here and  
on Sch. A, line 10. Do not  
complete the rest of this  
worksheet. 
No. Divide line 4 by $2,500  
($1,250 if married filing  
separately). If the result  

is not a whole number,  
increase it to the next  
whole number (for example,  
increase 0.0004 to 1).......... 	 	

6.	 Multiply line 5 by 2% (.02).  
Enter the result as a  
decimal............................... 	 	

7.	 Multiply line 1 by line 6....... 	 	

8.	 .Line 1 minus line 7. Enter the  
result here. N-11 filers, also  
enter the result on Sch. A, line  
10, and stop here. N-15 filers,  
continue on to line 9........... 	 	

9.	 Multiply line 8 by the ratio of  
your Hawaii adjusted gross  
income to total adjusted gross  
income from all sources.  
Enter the result here and  
on Sch. A, line 10............... 	 	

Line 12 — To compute the tax, use the Tax 
Table, Tax Rate Schedules, Capital Gains Tax 
Worksheet in the  Form N-11 Instructions or in 
the Form N-15 Instructions, Form N-168, or Form 
N-615.

Line 13 — Enter all of the additional taxes you 
owed because of events that occurred during the 
months shown in the column headings. Include 
the following:

•	 Form N-2, Individual Housing Account

•	 Form N-103, Sale of Your Home

•	 Form N-152, Tax on Lump Sum Distributions

•	 Form N-312, Capital Goods Excise Tax 
Credit Recapture

•	 Form N-318, High Technology Business 
Investment Tax Credit Recapture

•	 Form N-338, Tax Credit for Flood Victims 
Recapture

•	 Form N-344, Important Agricultural Land 
Qualified Agricultural Cost Tax Credit 
Recapture

•	 Form N-405, Tax on Accumulation 
Distribution of Trusts

•	 Form N-586, Credit for Low Income Housing 
Recapture

•	 Form N-814, Parent’s Election to Report 
Child’s Interest and Dividends

Line 15 — Enter the credits you are entitled 
to because of events that occurred during the 
months shown in the column headings. Do not 
annualize any credit.  However, when figuring 
your credits, you must annualize any item of 
income or deduction used to figure the credit. 
See the example in federal Publication 505.


	P1: 
	P2: 
	P3: 
	ResetForm: 
	P4: 
	P5: 
	P6: 
	P7: 
	P8: 
	P10: 
	P11: 
	P12: 
	P14: [ ]
	P15: 
	P16: 
	P17: 
	P13: 
	P9: [ ]
	P18: [ ]
	P19: 
	P20: 
	P21: 
	P22: 
	P23: 
	P24: 


