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DUAL RATE FORM RV-3 
INSTRUCTIONS 
(REV. 2013)

HOW TO COMPLETE YOUR ANNUAL 
RENTAL MOTOR VEHICLE AND TOUR VEHICLE  

SURCHARGE TAX RETURN (DUAL RATE FORM RV-3)
CHANGES TO NOTE

Act 104, Session Laws of Hawaii 2011, increased the motor 
vehicle surcharge tax rate to $7.50 per day effective July 1, 
2011.  After June 30, 2012, the rate reverted back to $3 per 
day.

INTRODUCTION

The rental motor vehicle and tour vehicle surcharge tax (RV 
tax) contains two separate taxes with different tax rates.  
The rental motor vehicle surcharge tax is levied at the rate 
of $3 per day or a portion of a day on the lessor of any rental 
motor vehicle.  The tour vehicle surcharge tax is imposed 
on tour vehicle operators for use of a vehicle on a monthly 
basis, or a portion of a month at the following rates:

•	 $65 - Over 25 passenger tour vehicle; and

•	 $15 - 8 to 25 passenger tour vehicle.

RV tax returns (Form RV-2) are filed monthly, quarterly, or 
semiannual basis depending on the amount of a person’s 
tax liability.  An annual return and reconciliation (Dual Rate 
Form RV-3) summarizing activity for the past year also must 
be filed.  Dual Rate Form RV-3 is due on or before the 
twentieth day of the fourth month following the close of 
the taxable year.
Taxpayers whose liability for the RV tax exceeds $100,000 
per year are required to pay the tax by Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT).
These instructions will assist you in filling out your Annual 
Rental Motor Vehicle and Tour Vehicle Surcharge Tax Return 
(Dual Rate Form RV-3) correctly.
The RV tax annual return and reconciliation (Dual Rate 
Form RV-3), is used to summarize your rental motor vehicle 
and tour vehicle surcharge tax activities for the taxable year.  

It may also be used to correct errors on the periodic tax 
returns (Form RV-2).  If the total number of rental vehicles 
days, number of months for tour vehicles, taxes due, penalty 
and interest are accurately reported and paid in full on your 
periodic returns, no additional tax will be due on the annual 
return.  Dual Rate Form RV-3 must be filed in addition to 
(not in lieu of) the periodic rental motor vehicle and tour 
vehicle surcharge tax returns.  To correct a previously filed 
Dual Rate Form RV-3, file an amended return on Dual Rate 
Form RV-3.
If you had no activity for the entire year, enter “0.00” on 
line 8.  Please note that this return must be filed.
The annual tax return must be filed on or before the 20th 
day of the 4th month following the close of the taxable year.  
For example, if you are a calendar-year taxpayer (i.e., your 
tax year ends on December 31), then your annual tax return 
must be filed on or before April 20 of the following year.
To properly enter the necessary information into our 
computer system, the annual tax return must be filled in 
completely and accurately.
If a payment is being made with Dual Rate Form RV-3, make 
your check or money order payable to “Hawaii State Tax 
Collector.”  Write “RV”, the filing period, your Hawaii Tax I.D. 
No., and your daytime phone number on the check.  Attach 
your check or money order where indicated on the front of 
Dual Rate Form RV-3.
If you are unable to file the annual return by the due date, 
you may request an extension to file Dual Rate Form RV-3 by 
filing Form GEW-TA-RV-6, Application for Extension of Time 
to File the GE/Use Tax Annual Return & Reconciliation (Form 
G-49), the TA Tax Annual Return & Reconciliation (Form TA-
2), or the RVST Annual Return & Reconciliation (Dual Rate 
Form RV-3).  For more information, see Form GEW-TA-RV-6.

FILLING IN YOUR DUAL RATE FORM RV-3  (ANNUAL RETURN AND RECONCILIATION)

Follow the example presented in italics for a sample of how to fill out the form.  The circled numbers on the 
sample form correspond to the steps in the instructions.

Example:  A taxpayer, BTK Rentals and Tour Vehicles (BTK), with Hawaii Tax I.D. No. W12345678-01, files its annual return 
for the taxable year ending December 31, 2014.  BTK has twenty rental cars, two tour vehicles (8-25 passengers), and one 
tour vehicle (40 passengers) on Oahu.  BTK also has ten rental cars on Maui.  The twenty cars on Oahu were rented for 6,900 
net rental days (i.e., a total of 7,100 rental days of which 200 rental days were to lessees whose vehicles were being repaired).  
The ten cars on Maui were rented for a total of 3,240 rental days.  Of the two tour vehicles (8-25 passengers) on Oahu, one 
was out of service for two months, otherwise both tour vehicles were in service for at least a portion of each month, giving 
BTK a total of 22 “tour vehicle-months.”  The tour vehicle (40 passengers) was in service for all 12 months, for a total of 12 
“tour vehicle-months.”

fig. 3.0
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COMPUTING THE TAXES  (fig. 3.1)
STEP 5 — Complete lines 1 through 4, Column A1, for the 
net rental days during the taxable year ending December 
31, 2014.

For the taxable year ending December 31, 2014, BTK 
had 6,900 net rental days for Oahu and has entered that 
figure in Column A1, line 1.  BTK also had 3,240 rental 
days on Maui, and has entered that figure in Column 
A1, line 2.

STEP 6 — Complete lines 1 through 4, Columns B and C, 
just as you did on your periodic tax returns.  The difference 
between the periodic and annual tax returns is that the num-
bers reported on the annual tax return represent the total  
tour vehicle (8-25 passengers)-months and tour vehicle (26 
or more passengers)-months in the applicable districts for 
the entire year.

BTK had 22 tour vehicle (8-25 passengers)-months on 
Oahu, and has entered that figure in Column B, line 
1.  In Column C, line 1, BTK had 12 tour vehicle (40 
passengers)-months on Oahu, and has entered that 
figure in Column C, line 1.

STEP 7 — Enter the totals for lines 1 through 4 of Columns 
A1, B, and C in these spaces.

In Column A1, line 5, BTK has entered 10,140, the total 
number of net rental motor vehicle-days for the taxable 
year ending December 31, 2014.  In Column B, line 5, 
BTK has entered 22, the total number of tour vehicle 
(8-25 passengers)-months.  In Column C, line 5, BTK 
has entered 12, the total number of tour vehicle (40 
passengers)-months.

STEP 8a — In Column A1, multiply the number entered on 
line 5 by the tax rate of $3 (line 6) and enter the result on 
Column A1, line 7.

BTK has multiplied 10,140 (the number of vehicle-
days) entered on line 5 by $3 (the tax rate listed on line 
6) to get $30,420, which is entered in Column A1, line 7 
(10,140 x $3 = $30,420).

STEP 8b — In Column B, multiply the number entered on line 
5 by the tax rate of $15 (line 6), and enter the result on  line 7.

BTK has multiplied 22 (the number of tour vehicle (8-
25 passengers)-months) entered on line 5 by $15 (the 
tax rate listed on line 6) to get $330, which is entered in 
Column B, line 7 (22 x $15 = $330).

STEP 8c — In Column C, multiply the number entered on 
line 5 by the tax rate of $65 (line 6), and enter the result on 
line 7.

BTK has multiplied 12 (the number of tour vehicle (40 
passengers)-months) entered on line 5 by $65 (the tax 
rate listed on line 6) to get $780, which is entered in 
Column C, line 7 (12 x $65 = $780).

FINISHING THE TAX RETURN  (fig. 3.2)
STEP 9 — Add Columns A1, B, and C, line 7, and enter the 
total on line 8.  This is the total tax due.  CAUTION:  LINE 8 
MUST BE FILLED IN.  If you do not have any rental motor 
vehicle or tour vehicle activity and therefore have no tax due, 
enter “0.00” on line 8. 

BTK has added $30,420, $330, and $780 for a total of 
$31,530 which is entered on line 8.

STEP 10 — Add all the penalties and interest which have been 
assessed on taxes owed on the periodic tax returns for the tax-
able year, enter the results to the right of “PENALTY” and “IN-
TEREST”, and enter the total of the two amounts on line 9.
STEP 11 — Add lines 8 and 9, and enter the total on line 10, 
“TOTAL AMOUNT”.

fig. 3.1

THE TOP OF THE TAX RETURN   (fig. 3.0)
STEP 1 — Enter the numeric (two digit) month, day, and 
year your tax year ends in the area provided.

STEP 2 — Write your name in the area provided.
STEP 3 — Enter your Hawaii Tax I.D. No. in the area provided.
STEP 4 — Enter the last 4 digits of your FEIN or SSN in 
the area provided.
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STEP 12 — Add the total amount of rental motor vehicle and 
tour vehicle surcharge taxes paid with your periodic tax re-
turns and any delinquency notices for the taxable year, less 
any refunds received for the taxable year.  Enter this amount 
on line 11, “TOTAL TAXES PAID ON MONTHLY, QUARTER-
LY, OR SEMIANNUAL RETURNS FOR THE PERIOD (and 
the Annual Return if this is an Amended Return) LESS ANY 
REFUNDS RECEIVED FOR THE TAX YEAR”.
STEP 13 — Enter the amount of tax paid with any assess-
ment notices for the taxable year, if included on line 8, on 
line 12.
STEP 14 — Enter the amount of any penalty paid with your 
periodic tax returns, delinquency notices, or assessment no-
tices for the taxable year on line 13 in the space provided to 
the right of “PENALTIES $.”
STEP 15 — Enter the amount of any interest paid with your 
periodic tax returns, delinquency notices, or assessment no-
tices for the taxable year on line 13 in the space provided to 
the right of “INTEREST $.”
STEP 16 — Add the amount of penalty and interest paid, 
and enter the total on line 13.
STEP 17 — Add the amounts on lines 11, 12, and 13, and 
enter the total on line 14, “TOTAL PAYMENTS MADE FOR 
THE TAX YEAR”.
STEP 18 — Leave line 15 blank (to be used for Amended 
Returns ONLY).

STEP 19 — Subtract line 15 from line 14 and enter the “NET 
PAYMENTS MADE” on line 16.
STEP 20 — Compare the amounts on lines 10 and 16.  If 
the amount on line 10 is THE SAME AS line 16, go on to 
Step 24.
If the amount on line 10 is LESS THAN  line 16, subtract line 
10 from line 16, and enter the result on line 17, “CREDIT TO 
BE REFUNDED”.  Go to Step 24.
STEP 21 — If the amount on line 10 is MORE THAN line 
16, subtract line 16 from line 10 and enter the “ADDITIONAL 
TAXES DUE” on line 18.  This is your taxes now due and 
payable.  Calculate penalty and interest on this amount if the 
annual return is filed after the due date.
STEP 22 — Late Filing of Return—The penalty for failure to 
file a return on time is assessed on the tax due at a rate of 
5% per month, or part of a month, from the due date to the 
filing date, to a maximum of 25%.
Interest—Interest at the rate of 2/3 of 1% per month, or part 
of a month, shall be assessed on the unpaid taxes and pen-
alties beginning with the first calendar day after the date pre-
scribed for payment, whether or not that first calendar day 
falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
After computing the penalty and interest amounts, enter the 
results to the right of “PENALTY” and “INTEREST” and enter 
the total of the two amounts on line 19.

fig. 3.2
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If you have questions, please contact a customer service representative at:

Voice:  808-587-4242 
1-800-222-3229 (Toll-Free) 

Fax: (808) 587-1488

Mail:  Taxpayer Services Branch 
P.O. Box 259 

Honolulu, HI  96809-0259 
 

E-mail: Taxpayer.Services@hawaii.gov

Telephone for the Hearing Impaired: 
808-587-1418 

1-800-887-8974 (Toll-Free)

If you are unable to compute the penalty and interest, leave  
these lines blank.  The Department will compute the charges 
for you and send you a bill.
STEP 23 — If you have taxes due now, add the amounts on 
lines 18 and 19 and enter the “TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND 
PAYABLE” on line 20.
STEP 24 — NOTE: If you are NOT submitting a check with 
your return, enter “0.00” on line 21.
Write the “AMOUNT OF YOUR PAYMENT”, including any 
penalty and interest, on line 21.  Attach your check or money 
order for this amount payable to “Hawaii State Tax Collec-
tor” in U.S. dollars drawn on any U.S. bank where indicated 
on the front of the return.  Write “RV”, the filing period, your 

Hawaii Tax I.D. No., and your daytime phone number on your 
check or money order.  DO NOT SEND CASH.
Send your check or money order and the return to:
	 Hawaii Department of Taxation
	 P.O. Box 2430
	 Honolulu, HI  96804-2430

SIGNING THE RETURN (fig. 3.2)
STEP 25 — Sign your tax return.  The sole proprietor, a 
partner or member, corporate officer, or an authorized agent 
must sign the return, state his/her title, write the date the 
return is signed, and write a daytime contact phone.

If you file your Dual Rate Form RV-3 and later become aware 
of any changes you must make to the reported number of 
rental motor vehicle days and/or the number of tour vehicle-
months, you may file an amended return on Dual Rate Form 
RV-3 to change the Dual Rate Form RV-3 you already filed.
Complete your amended Dual Rate Form RV-3 as follows:

1.	 Check the box at the top of the front page of the Dual 
Rate Form RV-3 to designate that this is an amended 
return (see fig. 3.0).

2.	 Enter the correct number of rental motor vehicle days 
and/or the number of tour vehicle-months, and amounts 
of taxes due which should have been reported on the 
original Dual Rate Form RV-3.  Follow Steps 1 through 9 
above used to complete your original return.  (Note:  En-
tries which were correctly reported on the original Dual 
Rate Form RV-3 also must be entered on the appropriate 
line(s).  Failure to do so will result in a change from 
the amount to -0-.)

3.	 Enter on line 9 the amounts of any penalty and/or interest 
assessed as of the date the amended return is filed.  Pen-
alty and interest are generally assessed because the origi-
nal returns were filed after the filing deadline or because 
the taxes due were not paid in full by the filing deadline.

4.	 Enter on line 11 the total amount of taxes, additional as-
sessments, and penalty and/or interest paid less any re-
funds received for the tax year.  Include payments made 
with the original periodic and annual returns, as well as 
any supplemental payments made after they were filed.  
REMINDER: Payments are applied first to recover costs 
incurred by the Department, then to any interest due, 
then to penalties, and finally, to taxes.

5.	 Enter on line 15 the amount of credit claimed on your 
original Dual Rate Form RV-3.

6.	 Subtract line 15 from line 14 and enter the “NET PAY-
MENTS MADE” on line 16.

7.	 If line 10 is LESS THAN line 16, subtract line 10 from 
line 16 and enter the result on line 17, “CREDIT TO BE 
REFUNDED”.

8.	 If line 10 is MORE THAN line 16, subtract line 16 from 
line 10 and enter the result on line 18, “ADDITIONAL 
TAXES DUE”.

9.	 If the amended Dual Rate Form RV-3 is being filed after 
the due date of the original Dual Rate Form RV-3, and if 
there is an amount entered on line 18, enter on line 19 
the amount of any penalty and/or interest now due.  On 
a timely filed original Dual Rate Form RV-3, a penalty of 
20% of the tax due will be assessed if any tax remains 
unpaid after 60 days from the prescribed due date of the 
original Dual Rate Form RV-3.  The 60-day period is cal-
culated beginning with the prescribed due date, even if 
the prescribed due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or 
legal holiday.  This penalty is applicable to amended Dual 
Rate Form RV-3s for timely filed original Dual Rate Form 
RV-3s.  Interest at the rate of 2/3 of 1% per month or part 
of a month shall be assessed on unpaid taxes and penal-
ties assessed beginning with the first calendar day after 
the date prescribed for payment, whether or not that first 
calendar day falls on Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

10.	 Add lines 18 and 19 and enter the total on line 20, “TO-
TAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE”.

11.	 Enter on line 21 the amount of any payment being made 
with the amended Dual Rate Form RV-3.  If the amended 
Dual Rate Form RV-3 is being filed after the due date of 
the original Dual Rate Form RV-3, include any additional 
penalty and interest in your payment.  Attach your check 
or money order for this amount payable to “Hawaii State 
Tax Collector” in U.S. dollars drawn on any U.S. bank 
where indicated on the front of the amended Dual Rate 
Form RV-3.  Write “RV”, the filing period, your Hawaii Tax 
I.D. No., and your daytime phone number on your check 
or money order.  DO NOT SEND CASH

	 Send your check or money order and the amended Dual 
Rate Form RV-3 to:

		  Hawaii Department of Taxation
		  P.O. Box 2430
		  Honolulu, HI  96804-2430

12.	 Sign your name and write your title, the date, and a daytime 
contact phone number in the spaces provided at the bot-
tom of the amended Dual Rate Form RV-3 (see fig. 3.2).

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING AN AMENDED DUAL RATE FORM RV-3


