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STATE OF HAWAIl — DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
Hawaii Resident Income Tax Forms and Instructions

For use by taxpayers who have less than $100,000 taxable income,
DO NOT itemize their deductions, and DO NOT claim adjustments to income

THIS PACKAGE CONTAINS: Form N-13 Hawaii Individual Income Tax Return — Resident; Schedule X Tax Credits for Hawaii
Residents; Form N-101A Application For Automatic Extension of Time To File Hawaii Individual Income Tax Return; Form N-200V
Individual Income Tax Payment Voucher; and Hawaii Taxpayer Bill of Rights

E-file Form N-13
via the Internet!

Form N-13 filers have the option of
filing their 2013 individual income tax
return electronically via the State’s
Internet portal at www.ehawaii.gov/efile

For taxpayers receiving a refund,
e-filing is free!

For more information on the electronic
filing of Form N-13, and for other e-file
opportunities, visit the Department’s
website at tax.hawaii.gov

[BIE@»DEPOSIT

Simple. Safe. Secure.

For more information, see page 15
of the Instructions.

DUE DATE: APRIL 20, 2014

For tax information, call 808-587-4242
(or toll-free 1-800-222-3229)

Make your check payable to the
“Hawaii State Tax Collector”

MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR
OUR MISSION is to administer the tax laws of the State of Hawaii in a
consistent, uniform, and fair manner.

I.  Department of Taxation Welcomes your Feedback

At the Department of Taxation, we are committed to our mission. We welcome your input in our strive
to continuously improve our services and making voluntary compliance as easy as possible. Please
address your written suggestions to the Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 259, Honolulu, HI, 96809-
0259 or e-mail them to Tax.Directors.Office @ hawaii.gov.

1. Electronic Filing Advances Are Being Made

Electronic filing is advancing rapidly. You can e-file by doing it yourself or through your tax practitioner
using the State’s Internet Portal. For up to date information, visit our website at tax.hawaii.gov.

I1l. We are here to Assist You

Form N-13 Individual Income Tax Return (Resident Short Form) is due on or before April 20, 2014.
For information and guidance in its preparation, we have helpful publications and other instructions
on our website at tax.hawaii.gov. Need more assistance? Do not hesitate to telephone, write, or visit
any of our four offices below:

Oahu 830 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu, HI 96813-5094 Phone: 808-587-4242
Maui 54 S. High Street, #208, Wailuku, HI 96793-2198 Phone: 808-984-8500
Hawaii 75 Aupuni Street, #101, Hilo, HI 96720-4245 Phone: 808-974-6321
Kauai 3060 Eiwa Street, #105, Lihue, HI 96766-1889 Phone: 808-274-3456

To help us in better assisting you, be sure to always keep a copy of your return, worksheets, and
supporting documents; if a question should arise it will help you understand and resolve the problems
with us more quickly if you have your tax return information in front of you. Keeping a copy will also
help you in the preparation of the following year’s return. Finally, you can obtain a copy at any district
tax office, or by calling 808-587-4242 or toll-free from the neighbor islands and from the continental
United States at 1-800-222-3229.

Thank you for helping us to make assistance more efficient.

Pk DY
FREDERICK D. PABLO
Director of Taxation
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Changes for 2013

Adopts the federal provision that extends (1) the $250 deduction for educator expenses through 2013, (2) the election to deduct state and local
general sales taxes instead of state and local income taxes through 2013, (3) the deduction for mortgage insurance premiums through 2013, (4) the
tax-free distributions from individual retirement plans for charitable purposes through 2013, and (5) the exclusion from gross income of discharge
from qualified principal residence indebtedness through 2013. (Act 43, SLH 2013)

Amends the motion picture, digital media, and film production income tax credit for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2012 by (1) changing
the repeal date from January 1, 2016, to January 1, 2019; (2) increasing the credit ceiling from $8,000,000 per qualified production to $15,000,000
per qualified production; and (3) increasing the credit amount from 15 percent of qualified production costs to 20 percent in a county with a
population of over 700,000, and from 20 percent of qualified production costs to 25 percent in a county with a population of 700,000 or less. (Act 89,
SLH 2013)

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2012, exempts charitable contributions from the itemized deduction caps that were placed on
taxpayers with federal adjusted gross income above a certain amount. (Act 256, SLH 2013)

Re-enacts the tax credit for qualified research activities to apply to taxable years from 2013 to 2019; amends the definitions of “qualified high
technology business” and “qualified research”; and requires that in order to claim the credit, taxpayers must also claim the federal credit for
increasing research activities. (Act 270, SLH 2013)

Adopts the federal provision that increases the threshold for the itemized deduction for medical expenses to 10 percent of adjusted gross income for
taxable years beginning after December 31, 2012. However, for 2013 to 20186, if either the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s spouse is age 65 or older at the
end of the tax year, the threshold will remain at 7.5 percent of adjusted gross income. (Act 91, SLH 2011)

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2012, increases the standard deduction amount to $2,200 for single or married filing separately
filers; $3,212 for head of household filers; and $4,400 for married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) filers. (Act 60, SLH 2009, Act 97, SLH 2011)

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2012, increases the personal exemption amount to $1,144 (Act 60, SLH 2009, Act 97, SLH 2011)

Increases the amount of the military reserve or Hawaii national guard duty pay exclusion to $6,076 for taxable years beginning after December 31,
2012. (Act 197, SLH 2004)

The Department of Taxation has issued temporary administrative rules that focus on the calculation of the renewable energy technologies income
tax credit for “other solar energy systems”, including photovoltaic systems, installed and placed in service on or after January 1, 2013. “Total output
capacity” is now the key factor in what determines a system on which a credit can be claimed.

Important Reminders for 2013

If you are unable to file by April 20, 2014, you are granted an automatic 6-month extension of time to file Form N-11, Form N-13, and Form N-15
without filing Form N-101A (or any other form) unless an additional tax payment must be made. The extension of time to file is NOT an extension of
time for payment of tax. You must file Form N-101A if you are making a payment. You may not use federal Form 4868 instead of Form N-101A.

Please complete all required entries on your tax return and make sure all required forms and statements are attached. Failure to do so may result in
a notice of adjustment being sent to you and you may be required to file an amended tax return to correct missing entries or provide missing forms or
statements.

The following lines MUST be filled in: Form N-11, line 24; Form N-13, line 13; and Form N-15, line 41. Failure to do so could cause delays in
processing your return.

Please be sure to check the appropriate filing status box.
Please check all arithmetic on the return. A correct return will help us process your return efficiently and issue refunds quickly.
If you are married and filing separate returns, the refund from your spouse’s return cannot be applied to your liability.

Include your spouse’s social security number if you are married whether a joint or separate return is filed. If your spouse is an alien and was issued
an ITIN by the IRS, enter your spouse’s ITIN. If your spouse has applied for an ITIN but the IRS has not yet issued the ITIN, write “Applied For”.

Attach your employee earning statements (HW-2’s or federal W-2’s) to the front of your return.

If someone prepares your tax return and charges you a fee, the preparer must sign and complete the Paid Preparer’s Information box.
Please file your return on or before April 20, 2014. Mail your return to the appropriate mailing address as stated in “Where to File”.
Enclose only one return per envelope.

Please place proper postage on the envelope before mailing. If there is insufficient postage on the envelope, it will be returned to you by the U.S.
Postal Service.

Keep a copy of your return for your records.

Items To Note

The Hawaii Taxpayer Bill of Rights is reprinted inside the back cover.

The Department of Taxation is a proud partner with the Missing Child Center - Hawaii, Department of the Attorney General (MCCH). Photographs
of missing children selected by the Center may appear in this instruction booklet on pages that would otherwise be blank. You can help bring these
children home by looking at the photographs and calling MCCH at 1-808-586-1449 if you recognize a child.

Federal Income Tax Law changes enacted during the 2013 calendar year (after January 2, 2013) have not been adopted for Hawaii income tax
purposes at the present time. A conformity bill will be introduced to the 2014 Hawaii State Legislature which may adopt certain of the federal
provisions. You cannot claim any of the federal provisions on your Hawaii income tax return until the Hawaii State Legislature adopts the federal
provisions for Hawaii income tax purposes.
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STATE OF HAWAIl — DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
RELATED FEDERAL/HAWAII TAX FORMS

Copy of
Fed. Form
Federal Comparable May Be
Form Number _ Title or Description of Federal Form Hawaii Form Submitted+
W-2 e Wage and Tax STAtEMENT ........oouiiiiiiie e ettt sttt nns HW-2.. Yes
W-4 e Employee’s Withholding Allowance CertifiCate ............couiiiiiiiiiiiiiieccee e No
W-10 e Dependent Care Provider’s Identification and Certification .............c.ccooeiiieeiiienienieeeeee e No
1040 U.S. Individual INCOME TaX RETUMN ... ..ottt ettt et e n No
1040 Sch A ...Itemized Deductions............c.cccc.... ...No

...No

SchB... ...Interest and Ordinary Dividends.... .

SchC...... ...Profit or Loss from Business ...... . ...Not Required
Sch C-EZ............. NEt Profit FrOM BUSINESS. ......eiiiiiieieiiiese ettt b e sttt eb e aeeenns Not Required
Sch Do Capital GAINS ANG LOSSES ......oiiuiiiiiiiiieitee ettt ettt ettt et e e nns No
SchE....cooiiien. Supplemental INCOME AN LOSS ......cocuiiiiiiiiiiii ettt Not Required
SchF i Profit or LOSS From FarmMiNg.......cc.ooiiiiiiiiii e e Not Required
Schdoiiiiin. Income Averaging for Farmers and FiIShErmen ...........cooiiiiiiiiii e No
SchR...cocoii Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled............ccoiiiiiiiiii e No

1040A ..o U.S. Individual Income Tax Return (Short fOrm) ..o No
1040ES................ Estimated Tax for INAIVIAUAIS ...........ceoiiiie e e No

1040EZ... ...Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents. ...No

....No
....No
...No

1040NR ..
1040-V....

...U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return ...
...Payment Voucher..............ccocoiiiininniinnne
...Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return....

...Application for Tentative Refund.............ccccoeevievennnnen. . ...No
Application To Adopt, Change, or Retain @ TaX Year...........ccooviiiiiiiiiiiieieeeese e Yes
Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased TaXpayer ...........ccocverereerreaeenieneeneesieeneseeeas No
EMPployee BUSINESS EXPENSES ......ciiiiiiiiiiiieeiee ettt e e e e e e s nnn e e nnneas None......cccoceeeee Yes
Unreimbursed Employee BuSINESS EXPENSES.......c..uiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieiee ettt None......ccooevvnene Yes
Multiple SUPPOIt DECIATAtION ..........oiiiiiiiieii ettt None ......ccccevveene Yes
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts .............ccccoociiiiiiiiiiiiiinieee N-210...coiiiiie No
Child and Dependent Care EXPENSES .......ccuuiiiiiiieiie ettt Sch X .o No
Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative.............cccooeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie e, N-848......ccccvvine Yes
...MoVING EXPENSES .....ooviiiiiiiiiiiiiecieee e ....No
...Depreciation and Amortization... ... Yes
...Casualties and Thefts................. ...Yes
Sales Of BUSINESS PrOPEITY ....cc..iiiuiiiiieeiiei ettt ettt ettt ans No
Farm Rental Income and EXPENSES ........cocuiiiiiiiiiiiii et None......cccoveeene Yes
Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions From
Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, efc............. L-15 e No
4868.......coccveeen Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return.............c......... N-101A.....coie No
4952 Investment Interest EXpense DedUCHION............ccuiiiiiiiiiiiii e N-158...ccoiiiiie No
4970.....cccciiin Tax on Accumulation Distribution Of TrUSES ..........cciiiiiiiicie e N-405.......ccccceee No
4972, Tax on Lump-Sum DiStriDULIONS ........ooiuiiiiiiiieiie ettt N-152..iiiiiine No
5213 Election to Postpone Determination as to Whether the Presumption Applies That an
Activity is Engaged in for Profit..........o e ... Yes

....No
...No
...Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
No
No
No
... Yes
...Yes
No

Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts...
... WWork Opportunity Credit..........oooeiiiieiiee e
...At-Risk Limitations............
INStallMeENt SAIE INCOME .......eiiiiiiee ettt b et e nae et eesnee s
Gains and Losses From Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles...........ccccveriiiiieiiiiiiciece e
Noncash Charitable ContribUtIONS. .........co it
Release/Revocation of Release of Claim to Exemption for Child by Custodial Parent..........................
Passive Activity LOSS LIMItAtiONS .........ccoiiiiiiiiiic s
LOW-INCOME HOUSING Credit ... .c. ittt
8615 Tax for Certain Children Who Have Investment Income of More Than $1,900..........cccccevveverveeerennen.
Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and DiVIdeNdS ..........ceeiiereeeiireieie e
...Like-Kind EXchanges..........ccccoceiiiiiiiiiiiiicce e

...Expenses for Business Use of Your Home.............c.cccceeee.

Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care INSurance CONLraCES ..........couierieeiiieiiieiieesiie et

+If “Yes” is indicated and there is no Hawaii equivalent form, the federal form must be used.
To request tax forms by mail, you may call 808-587-4242 or toll-free 1-800-222-3229.
You may also obtain tax forms through the Department of Taxation’s Internet address at tax.hawaii.gov.
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Instructions for Hawaii Resident Income Tax Return — Form N-13

Form N-13
General
Instructions

Special Instructions for
Civil Unions

Effective January 1, 2012, civil unions are rec-
ognized in Hawaii. Civil unions entered into in a
jurisdiction other than Hawaii are also recog-
nized, provided that the relationship meets Ha-
waii’'s eligibility requirements, has been entered
into in accordance with the laws of the other juris-
diction, and can be documented.

The Internal Revenue Code provisions referred
to in Hawaii’s Income Tax Law that apply to a hus-
band and wife, spouses, or person in a legal
marital relationship shall be deemed to apply to
partners in a civil union with the same force and
effect as if they were “husband and wife”, “spous-
es”, or other terms that describe persons in a le-
gal marital relationship. Accordingly, references
to “married”, “unmarried”, and “spouse” also

means “in a civil union”, “not in a civil union”, and
“civil union partner”, respectively.

For Hawaii income tax purposes, civil union
couples have the same tax filing status options
as married couples. Also, if an employee benefit
is tax-exempt when extended to the opposite sex
spouse of an employee, or to the children of the
spouse, the benefit is tax-exempt when extended
to a civil union partner of an employee, or to the
children of the civil union partner.

Note: The U.S. Department of the Treasury and
the Internal Revenue Service has ruled that
same-sex couples, legally married in jurisdictions
that recognize their marriages, will be treated as
married for federal tax purposes. However, indi-
viduals who are in registered domestic partner-
ships, civil unions, or other similar formal relation-
ships that are not marriages under state law are
not considered married for federal tax purposes.
Since the federal government does not recognize
civil unions as married individuals for federal in-
come tax purposes, civil unions will continue to
file as unmarried individuals on their federal in-
come tax returns. Also, the income reported for
federal and for Hawaii income tax purposes may
differ, depending on the situation. For example,
certain employee benefits that are tax-exempt
when provided to opposite sex spouses and the
children of opposite sex spouses may be taxable
federally when they are provided for civil union
partners and their children, unless the civil union
partner or their children qualify as dependents
under IRC section 152.

Who Must File

1. Every individual doing business in Hawaii
during the taxable year must file a return, wheth-
er or not the individual derives any taxable in-
come from that business. “Doing business” in-
cludes all activities engaged in or caused to be
engaged in with the object of gain or economic
benefit, direct or indirect, except personal ser-
vices performed as an employee under the direc-
tion and control of an employer. For example,
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every person receiving rents from property
owned in Hawaii is “doing business” and must file
a return whether or not the person’s expenses
exceed the gross rental income.

2. Every individual receiving more than the fol-
lowing amounts of gross income subject to taxa-
tion under Hawaii Income Tax Law, including
amounts received as salaries or wages for ser-
vices rendered by an employee to an employer,
must file a return:

For Individuals Under Age 65

Filing Status Gross Income of
Married filing separately $3,344
Single or legally separated $3,344
Single, head of household $4,356
Qualifying widow(er) with a $5,544
dependent child
Married couple filing jointly $6,688

For Individuals Age 65 or older

Filing Status Gross Income of
Married filing separately $4,488
Single or legally separated $4,488
Single, head of household $5,500
Qualifying widow(er) with a $6,688
dependent child
Married couple filing jointly $7,832
one is 65 or older
Married couple filing jointly $8,976

both are 65 or older

These threshold amounts will be higher for per-
sons who are blind, deaf, or totally disabled, and
who have completed and filed a certification with
the Department of their disability on Form N-172
before filing their income tax return.

For individuals who can be claimed as depen-
dents on the tax return of another taxpayer, the
threshold amount is the amount of the depen-
dents’ standard deduction.

For nonresident aliens, the threshold amount is
$1,144 for individuals under 65, and $2,288 for
individuals 65 or older.

For nonresident individuals, the threshold
amounts stated above must be multiplied by the
ratio of Hawaii adjusted gross income to total ad-
justed gross income from all sources to deter-
mine whether the individual must file a return.

3. Individuals who took up residence in Hawaii
after attaining the age of 65 years and before July
1, 1976, may elect to be taxed only on Hawaii
source income. See Election Under Act 60,
SLH 1976, on page 5.

4. Children who receive unearned income dur-
ing the taxable year and have not attained the
age of 14 years before the end of the taxable year
must file their own returns to report their income
unless their parent or parents report that income.
However, the Department of Taxation will, admin-
istratively, not require the filing of a State income
tax return if the child’s total earned and/or un-
earned income for the taxable year is $500 or

less and the application of the standard deduc-
tion amount results in no taxable income for the
child. Children who must file a return may need
to file Form N-615, Computation of Tax for Chil-
dren Under Age 14 Who Have Investment In-
come of More than $1,000. Parents may report
income of their children by filing Form N-814,
Parent’s Election to Report Child’s Interest and
Dividends.

5. If you need to report additional tax from Form
N-2, Distribution from an Individual Housing Ac-
count; Form N-103, Sale of Your Home; Form
N-152, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; Form
N-312, Recapture of Capital Goods Excise Tax
Credit; Form N-318, Recapture of High Technolo-
gy Business Investment Tax Credit; Form N-338,
Recapture of Tax Credit for Flood Victims; Form
N-344, Recapture of Important Agricultural Land
Qualified Agricultural Cost Tax Credit; Form N-405,
Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts; Form
N-586, Recapture of Low-Income Housing Tax
Credit; or Form N-814, Parent’s Election to Report
Child’s Interest and Dividends, then you must file a
return regardless of income level.

Who Should File

Even if you do not have to file, you should file to
get a refund if too much income tax was withheld
from your pay. Also, if you are eligible for refund-
able credits, you need to file a return to claim the
credits.

Residents and
Nonresidents

Resident

A resident is taxed on income from all sources.

A resident must file an Individual Income Tax
Return—Resident (Form N-11 or N-13), if re-
quired to do so.

A Hawaii resident is (1) Every individual domi-
ciled in Hawaii, and (2) Every other individual
whether domiciled in Hawaii or not, who resides
in Hawaii for other than a temporary or transitory
purpose. An individual domiciled outside Hawaii
is presumed to be a resident if he or she spends
more than 200 days in Hawaii during the taxable
year. This presumption may be overcome by evi-
dence satisfactory to the Department of Taxation
that the individual maintained a permanent place
of abode outside the State and was in the State
for a temporary or transitory purpose. No person
shall be deemed to have gained or lost a resi-
dence simply because of his or her presence or
absence in compliance with military or naval or-
ders of the United States, while engaged in avia-
tion or navigation, or while a student at any insti-
tution of learning. See Tax Information Release
No. 97-1, “Determination of Residence Status”.

Nonresident

A Hawaii nonresident is an individual who is in
Hawaii for a temporary or transient purpose, and
whose permanent domicile is not Hawaii.

A nonresident must file an Individual Income
Tax Return—Nonresident and Part-Year Resi-
dent (Form N-15), if required to do so. A non-



resident will be taxed on income from Hawaii
sources only.

A nonresident married to a Hawaii resident may
choose to file a joint return with the resident
spouse on Form N-11 or N-13; however, the
nonresident will then be taxed on all income
from all sources. For more information, see
Married Filing a Joint Return on page 8.

Election Under Act 60, SLH 1976

Individuals who took up residence in Hawaii af-
ter attaining the age of 65 years and before July
1, 1976, may elect to be taxed only on Hawaii
source income. To make the election, attach a
signed statement to Form N-11 setting forth the
date that the individual established residence in
Hawaii and the individual’s date of birth (which
must be before July 1, 1911). Individuals making
this election must file a return regardless of the
amount of income earned, and may not use
Form N-13.

Part-Year Resident

A part-year resident is an individual who was a
Hawaii resident for part of the year, and who was
a nonresident during the other part of the year.
This includes those who moved to Hawaii during
the year and those who moved away from Hawaii
during the year.

A part-year resident must file an Individual In-
come Tax Return—Nonresident and Part-Year
Resident (Form N-15), if required to do so. A part-
year resident will be taxed on all income from all
sources during the period of residency, and on
income from Hawaii sources only during the pe-
riod of nonresidency.

Domicile Defined

The term “domicile” means the place where an
individual has a true, fixed, permanent home and
principal establishment, and to which place the
individual has, whenever absent, the intention of
returning. It is the place in which an individual
has voluntarily fixed the habitation of himself or
herself and family, not for a mere special or
temporary purpose, but with the present in-
tention of making a permanent home. Three
things are necessary to create a new domicile:
first, abandonment of the old domicile; second,
the intent to establish a new domicile; and third,
actual physical presence in the new domicile.
Once a domicile is established, the intent to
abandon it is not itself sufficient to create a new
domicile; a new domicile must be shown.

Reminder: If you are in Hawaii because of mili-
tary orders and do not intend to make Hawaii
your permanent home, you are not considered a
Hawaii resident for income tax purposes, even
though you have been in Hawaii for more than
200 days in 2013. File a resident return with your
home state, and file a Hawaii nonresident and
part-year resident return (Form N-15) to report
your Hawaii income.

Resident and Nonresident
Examples

Note: For more information, see Tax Information
Release No. 90-3, “Income Taxation and Eligibili-
ty for Credits of an Individual Taxpayer Whose
Status Changes from Resident to Nonresident or
from Nonresident to Resident”, Tax Information
Release No. 90-10, “Clarification of Taxation and

the Eligibility for Personal Exemptions and Cred-
its of Residents and Nonresidents in the Military
and Spouses and Dependents of Persons in the
Military”, and Tax Information Release No. 97-1,
“Determination of Residence Status”.

Example 1—A Hawaii resident who enlists in
the military normally will remain a Hawaii resident
regardless of the length of absence from Hawaii
while stationed outside of Hawaii.

Example 2—A Hawaii resident working in a for-
eign country will remain a Hawaii resident unless
permanent resident status is granted by the for-
eign country.

Example 3—Foreign students who are granted
entry into the United States on an “F” visa are
nonresidents for Hawaii tax purposes. Research-
ers and faculty members who are granted entry
into the United States on “H”, “J”, or “Q” visas,
and who have been in Hawaii for more than 200
days during the taxable year may be considered
Hawaii residents.

Example 4—Spouses of those in the military
service do not become Hawaii residents if their
principal reason for moving to Hawaii was the
transfer of the service member spouse to Hawaii,
and if it is their intention to leave Hawaii when the
service member spouse either is transferred to
another military station or leaves the service.

Example 5—A Hawaii resident who marries a
nonresident will remain a Hawaii resident unless
the three requirements for changing his or her
domicile are also met. (Refer to “Domicile De-
fined” on this page.) This situation applies in
reverse to a nonresident who marries a resident.
A person’s residence status will not change just
because of marriage.

Which Form to File

You May Be Able to Use Form
N-13 if:
* You had only wages, salaries, tips, interest, or-

dinary dividends, and unemployment compen-
sation.

Note: If you had more than $1,500 in interest
income or more than $1,500 in dividends, you
may still file Form N-13, provided you are not
required to file Form N-11 or N-15 for any of the
reasons listed on this page and page 6.

Your taxable income (adjusted gross income
less standard deduction and personal exemp-
tions) is less than $100,000.

¢ You do not itemize your deductions.

¢ You do not claim adjustments to income.
You may WANT TO use Form N-11
and you may pay less tax if you
can:

e |temize your deductions.

¢ Claim adjustments to income.

¢ Claim credits you can’t claim on Form N-13.
You may HAVE TO use Form N-11
because of:

¢ The amount or kind of income you receive.

¢ Forms or schedules you file, or other taxes
that can be reported only on Form N-11.

You Must Use
Form N-11 if:

Amount of Income
¢ Your taxable income is $100,000 or more.
* Your adjusted gross income is more than

$89,981 and you are Married Filing a Separate
Return.

Kinds of Income

You had income other than wages, salaries,
tips, interest, ordinary dividends, and unemploy-
ment compensation, such as:

* Bartering income (fair market value of goods or
services you received in return for your goods
or services).

Income from self-employment.

Gain from the sale of your home or other prop-
erty, or capital gain distributions.

Gain from the sale or exchange (including bar-
ter) of coins, gold, silver, gems, etc.

Annuities, including lump-sum distributions.
Alimony.

Scholarships (except scholarships under the
Nursing Scholars Program) and Fellowships.

Itemized Deductions

Either husband or wife itemizes deductions. Ex-
amples are:
¢ Payments for medical insurance and medical
and dental care that are more than 10% (7.5%
if you or your spouse has attained age 65 be-
fore the end of the taxable year) of your ad-
justed gross income.
Interest on mortgages.

State and local income and real estate taxes.
This includes state and local income taxes
withheld on your Form W-2.

Gifts to churches, charities (such as the Cancer
Society, Red Cross, United Way), and similar
organizations.

Union dues and safety helmets, tools, profes-
sional journals, or other materials used in your
job.

Net personal casualty or theft loss that is more
than $100 and 10% of adjusted gross income.
Your spouse files a separate return and itemiz-
es deductions. Exception: You can still use
Form N-13 if you have a dependent child and
can meet the tests on page 9 under Married
Persons Who Live Apart.

Here is a Test to Help You Decide
Whether to ltemize

You should itemize if your deductions are more
than:

¢ $4,400 and you are Married Filing a Joint Re-
turn or a Qualifying Widow(er) with a Depen-
dent Child.

¢ $3,212 and you are a Head of Household.
¢ $2,200 and you are Single or you are Married
Filing a Separate Return.

Other Forms

You file any of these forms:

e Form N-1, Declaration of Estimated Tax for In-
dividuals, for 2013.

¢ Form N-103, Sale of Your Home.
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Other Conditions

You meet any one of these conditions:

You applied any part of your 2012 overpayment
to estimated tax for 2013, or if you want to ap-
ply any part of your 2013 overpayment to esti-
mated tax for 2014.

You received interest or dividends as a nomi-
nee (that is, in your name) for someone else.

You received or paid accrued interest on secu-
rities transferred between interest payment
dates.

You are claiming the benefit of persons taking
up residence in Hawaii after attaining the age
of 65 years and before July 1, 1976.

You are a resident husband or wife making a
joint return if the other spouse is claiming the
benefit of persons residing in Hawaii after at-
taining age 65 and before July 1, 1976.

You make your return on the fiscal year basis
which began in 2013.

You make your return using an accounting
method other than the cash receipts and dis-
bursements method.

At the end of 2013 you were married to a non-
resident alien or dual status alien who had U.S.
source income, and you do not file a joint re-
turn. Exception: You can still use Form N-13 if
you meet the tests on page 9 under Married
Persons Who Live Apart.

Adjustments to Income

You claim adjustments to income. Examples are:

* Certain business expenses of reservists, perform-
ing artists, and fee-basis government officials.

* |IRA deduction.

 Student loan interest deduction.

Health savings account deduction.

* Moving expenses (See Form N-139).
Deductible part of self-employment tax.
Self-employed health insurance deduction.
Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans.
* Penalty on early withdrawal of savings.
Alimony paid.

* Payments to an individual housing account.

Exclusion of first $6,076 of military reserve or
Hawaii national guard duty pay.

Exceptional trees deduction.

Contributions by an individual development ac-
count (IDA) holder to their IDA.

Archer MSA deduction.

Attorney fees and court costs involving certain
unlawful discrimination claims.

Attorneys’ fees and costs relating to whistle-
blower rewards paid for providing information
regarding violations of the tax laws.

Jury duty pay you are required to give to your
employer because your employer continues to
pay your salary while you serve on the jury.

e Educator expenses.

Tax Credits

You claim any of these tax credits:

¢ Credit for income tax paid to another state or to
a foreign country.

* Credit from a regulated investment company
(no form; see Form N-11 instructions).
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e Carryover of the Energy Conservation Tax
Credit (Form N-323)

¢ Fuel Tax Credit for Commercial Fishers (Form

N-163)

Capital Goods Excise Tax Credit (Form N-312)

Carryover of the Hotel Construction and Re-

modeling Tax Credit (Form N-323)

High Technology Business Investment Tax
Credit (Form N-318)

Carryover of the Individual Development Ac-
count Contribution Tax Credit (Form N-323)

Ethanol Facility Tax Credit (Form N-324)

Carryover of the Technology Infrastructure
Renovation Tax Credit (Form N-323)

Credit for School Repair and Maintenance
(Form N-330)

Carryover of the Residential Construction and
Remodeling Tax Credit (Form N-323)

Motion Picture, Digital Media, and Film Produc-
tion Income Tax Credit (Form N-340)

* Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (Form N-586)
Enterprise Zone Tax Credit (Form N-756)
Credit for Employment of Vocational Rehabilita-
tion Referrals (Form N-884)

Important Agricultural Land Qualified Agricul-
tural Cost Tax Credit (Form N-344)

* Tax Credit for Research Activities (Form N-346)

You Must Use Form
N-15 if:

* You were a nonresident for the full year, or, if
married filing jointly, both spouses were non-
residents for the full year

* You are taking up residence in Hawaii during
the tax year. (Part-year resident)

e You are giving up residence in Hawaii during
the tax year. (Part-year resident)

When to File

You should file as soon as you can after Janu-
ary 1, but not later than April 20, 2014. If the due
date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday,
file by the next regular workday. If you file late,
you may have to pay penalties and interest.
Please see the instructions for Penalties and In-
terest on page 17. If you cannot meet the dead-
line, you are automatically granted a 6-month
extension without the need to file anything with
the Department unless an additional tax payment
must be made. As long as the following condi-
tions are met, you are deemed to have made an
application for the 6-month extension to file an
income tax return on the prescribed due date:

1. On or before April 20, 2014, 100 percent of the
properly estimated tax liability is paid;

2.The tax return is filed on or before the expiration
of the 6-month extension period;

3. The tax return is accompanied by full payment
of any tax not already paid; and

4.You are not bound by a court order to file a tax
return on or before the prescribed due date.

If you must make an additional payment of tax
on or before April 20, 2014 in order to meet the
condition requiring payment of 100 percent of the
properly estimated tax liability, you must file Form
N-101A with your payment. The extension of time

to file is not an extension of time for payment of
tax.

Form N-101A can be filed and payment made
electronically through the State’s Internet portal.
For more information, go to www.ehawaii.gov/
efile. Federal Form 4868, Application for Auto-
matic Extension of Time To File U.S. Individual
Income Tax Return, may not be used in lieu of
Form N-101A.

Note: Under Hawaii Income Tax Law, certain tax
credits must be claimed within 12 months from
the close of the tax year.

The official U.S. Post Office cancellation mark
will be considered primary evidence of the date
of filing of tax documents and payments. If you
want to keep evidence that you mailed your re-
turn on time, ask your Post Office for a Certificate
of Mailing. It is NOT necessary to get a certified
or registered mail return receipt.

Hawaii has adopted the Internal Revenue Code
provision to allow documents and payments de-
livered by a designated private delivery service to
qualify for the “timely mailing treated as timely fil-
ing/paying rule.” The Department of Taxation will
conform to the Internal Revenue Service listing of
designated private delivery service and type of
delivery services qualifying under this provision.
Timely filing of mail which does not bear the U.S.
Post Office cancellation mark or the date record-
ed or marked by the designated delivery service
will be determined by reference to other compe-
tent evidence. The private delivery service can tell
you how to get written proof of the mailing date.

Where to File

If you are enclosing a check or money order
with your tax return, mail your return with pay-
ment to:

Hawaii Department of Taxation
Attn: Payment Section

P. O. Box 1530

Honolulu, Hawaii 96806-1530

If you are NOT enclosing a check or money or-

der with your tax return, mail your return to:
Hawaii Department of Taxation
P. O. Box 3559
Honolulu, Hawaii 96811-3559

If two pre-addressed envelopes were received
with your forms, please use the appropriate enve-
lope as stated above.

Where to Get Forms and
Information

Taxpayer Services Branch
Website: tax.hawaii.gov
E-mail: Taxpayer.Services @ hawaii.gov

Telephone:

808-587-4242

Toll-Free: 1-800-222-3229
Telephone for the hearing impaired:
808-587-1418

Toll-Free: 1-800-887-8974




Other Information
Death of Taxpayer

Did the taxpayer die before filing a return for
20137 If so, the taxpayer’s spouse or personal
representative may have to file a return and sign it
for the person who died (decedent) if the decedent
was required to file a return. A personal represen-
tative can be an executor, administrator, or anyone
who is in charge of the taxpayer’s property.

If the decedent did not have to file a return but
either had State income tax withheld, made esti-
mated tax payments, or is eligible for various tax
credits, a return must be filed to get a refund.

If your spouse died in 2013 and you did not re-
marry in 2013, or if your spouse died in 2014 be-
fore filing a return for 2013, you may still file a
joint return for the 2013 tax year.

A return filed for a deceased taxpayer, includ-
ing a joint return with a surviving spouse, must
have the word “DECEASED” written on the top
middle of the return. The word “DECEASED” and
the date of death also must be written after the
deceased taxpayer’s first name and middle initial
in the name and address area of the tax return.

Generally, the personal representative or other
responsible individual must sign the return on be-
half of the decedent. If a refund is due, Form
N-110, Statement of Person Claiming Refund
Due a Deceased Taxpayer, must be completed
and attached to the return to ensure that the re-
fund check will be issued in the name of the sur-
viving spouse, personal representative, or other
responsible individual instead of the decedent’s
name. A personal representative or other indi-
vidual may be required to attach other docu-
ments; see Form N-110 for further information.

Exception for joint returns filed by surviv-
ing spouse. If a joint return is being filed by the
decedent and the decedent’s spouse, the spouse
should write, “Filing as surviving spouse”, on the
signature line which the decedent would have
signed, and then the surviving spouse should
sign his or her name on the other signature line.
If a refund is being claimed on the return, Form
N-110 is not required. The refund check will be
issued to the surviving spouse.

Declaration of Estimated Tax

Basic rules. Individuals who must pay more
tax than is withheld, or who have no withholding,
may have to file a declaration of estimated tax
and pay that tax in a lump sum or installments.
Income tax obligations might not be satisfied
through withholding when an individual has in-
come not subject to withholding, such as from
self-employment, rent, gains from sales of prop-
erty, interest and dividend income, unemploy-
ment compensation, or distributions from de-
ferred compensation plans.

Who Must File a Declaration on Form N-1.
An individual subject to Hawaii net income tax
generally must file Form N-1, Declaration of Esti-
mated Tax for Individuals, unless: (a) his or her
estimated tax liability for the taxable year, after
taking into account all taxes withheld or collected
at the source, is less than $500, or (b) the tax-
payer did not have any tax liability for the preced-
ing taxable year. See Form N-1 for details.

Date and Payment of Estimated Tax. Your
declaration for 2014 must be filed on or before
April 20, 2014. The tax may be paid in full with
the declaration, or in equal installments on or be-
fore April 20, 2014, June 20, 2014, September
20, 2014, and January 20, 2015. Each install-
ment payment must be submitted with a payment
voucher. Make checks or money orders payable
to the “Hawaii State Tax Collector”. Form N-1 can
be filed and payment made electronically through
the State’s Internet portal. For more information,
go to www.ehawaii.gov/efile.

Penalties. If you are required to file a declara-
tion but you fail to do so, you may be subject to
penalties. See Penalties and Interest on page
17.

Note: If you file a declaration for 2014, you must
use Form N-11 to claim the payments you made.

Special Instructions for
Nonresident Aliens

In certain situations, a taxpayer may be consid-
ered a nonresident alien for federal income tax
purposes and a resident for Hawaii income tax
purposes. In these situations, the special rules
applicable to individuals who are considered non-
resident aliens for federal income tax purposes will
apply when the individual files a Hawaii resident
income tax return. See Tax Information Release
No. 97-1, “Determination of Residence Status”.

Here's How to Fill in
Form N-13

(The circled numbers in the following in-
structions correspond to the circled numbers
on the sample form on pages 23 and 24.)

Name Address,
Social Securlty
Number, and
Occupatlon

Note: Please check the appropriate box above
the name and address area of the tax return if
you are filing a tax return for the first time or if
your address or name has changed.

If you requested a forms booklet, take the mail-
ing label from the booklet we sent to you and
make sure the information is correct. If any infor-
mation is incorrect, do not use the mailing label.
Instead, print the entries in this section.

After you have completed and checked all en-
tries, attach your label (if the information is cor-
rect) to the return. Use of the label helps us iden-
tify your account, saves processing time, and
speeds refunds.

Do not attach your label to the envelope. It may
get separated from your return.

If you did not receive a label, print or type the
entries in this section.

Do not use the IRS mailing label.

Note: Your social security number is no longer
printed on the mailing label. You must write your
social security number in the space provided on
your tax return.

Name

You must use your legal name. Nicknames are
not permitted. If you have changed your name
because of marriage, divorce, etc., make sure
you immediately notify the Social Security Ad-
ministration so that the name on your tax return is
the same as the name on the Social Security re-
cords. If these names do not match, your refund
may be delayed.

If you file joint returns, write the names in the
same order every year. There is a separate line
for the spouse’s name.

Write any descriptions (e.g., Jr.,
your last name.

Address

Write your current mailing address in the space
provided. If you receive your mail “in care of”
someone else (i.e., your mail is sent to an ad-
dress belonging to someone other than yourself),
fill in that person’s name in the space provided for
the mailing address. Be sure to write “c/0” before
the person’s name.

If your address is outside the United States or
its possessions or territories, enter the informa-
tion on the line for “City, town or post office, State
and Postal/ZIP code” in the following order: city,
province and/or state, postal code, and the name
of the country. Do not abbreviate the country
name.

IIl, etc.) after

Important: If your address should change
after you file your return, you must notify the
Department in writing of your new address.
Please include your social security number
and your signature. Any refund checks due to
you will not be forwarded to your new address
by the U.S. Postal Service, and you might not
receive your income tax forms and instructions
next year.

Social Security Number

Write your social security number in the space
provided. If you are married, you must also write
your spouse’s social security number in the space
provided whether joint or separate returns are
filed. Your social security numbers must be writ-
ten in the same order as your names are written
on your return.

If you are an alien and was issued an individual
taxpayer identification number (ITIN) by the IRS,
enter your ITIN. If you have applied for an ITIN
but the IRS has not yet issued the ITIN, write “Ap-
plied For”.

Occupation

Write your occupation in the space provided. If
married and filing a joint return, also write your
spouse’s occupation in the space provided.

Hawaii Election
Campaign Fund

This fund helps to provide accountability, trans-
parency, integrity and a level playing field for
State and County candidates in Hawaii elections.
If you have a tax liability of at least $3 ($6 if mar-
ried and filing a joint return), you can choose to
contribute to the Hawaii Election Campaign Fund.

If you want $3 to go to the fund, check the “Yes”
box. If you are filing a joint return, and your
spouse wants $3 to go to the fund, check the
“Yes” box.
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If you check the “Yes” box, your tax liability or
refund due will not change.

Once made, the designation cannot be revoked.
Boxes 1 through 5
Filing Status

Check either box 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 as appropriate.
Do not put a check in more than 1 box.

Note: Civil union couples have the same tax filing
status options as married couples.

Note: More than one filing status may apply to
you. Choose the one that will give you the lowest
tax. Your Hawaii filing status may or may not be
the same as your federal filing status.

Filing Status Box 1
Single

Note: Civil union couples may not choose “sin-
gle” as their filing status.

Select box 1, Single, if on December 31, 2013,
you were unmarried, divorced, or separated from
your spouse under a separate maintenance de-
cree. State law governs whether you are married,
divorced, or legally separated.

If you are married on December 31, 2013, con-
sider yourself married for the whole year.

Note: /f you are in a civil union on December 31,
2013, consider yourself married for the whole
year.

If your spouse died during 2013, consider your-
self married to that spouse for the whole year,
unless you remarried before the end of 2013.

If you are unmarried and provide a home for
certain other persons, you may be able to file as
Head of Household.

If you were married in 2013, had a child living
with you, and lived apart from your spouse during
the last 6 months of 2013, you may be able to file
as Head of Household. See Married persons
who live apart on page 9.

Filing Status Box 2

Married Filing a Joint Return
(even if only one of you had
income)

In most cases, married couples will pay less tax
if they file a joint return. You must report all in-
come, exemptions, deductions, and credits for
you and your spouse. Both of you must sign the
return, even if only one of you had income.

You and your spouse can file a joint return even
if you did not live together for the whole year. Both
of you are responsible for any tax due on a joint
return, so if one of you does not pay, the other
may have to.

Note: If you filed a joint return, and you and your
spouse decide to file separate returns for the
year, both of you MUST file amended returns on
or before the due date of the original return (April
20). You may not change your filing status
from married filing jointly to married filing
separately after that date.

If your spouse died in 2013 or in 2014 before
filing a return for 2013, see Death of Taxpayer,
on page 7.
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Tax Savings.—If you decide not to file a joint
return and plan to file a separate return, see if
you can lower your tax by meeting the tests de-
scribed under Married persons who live apart
on page 9. If you qualify, check Box 4 for Head of
Household.

Special Rule for Nonresidents of Hawaii Who
File a Joint Return With a Hawaii Resident.—If at
the end of the taxable year you were a nonresi-
dent of Hawaii (i.e., a U.S. resident who is not a
resident of Hawaii) who is married to a resident of
Hawaii, you may choose to file a joint return with
the resident spouse on Form N-11 or N-13. How-
ever, if a joint return is filed, you and your spouse
must agree to be taxed on your combined world-
wide income.

Special Rule for Nonresident and Dual-Status
Aliens.—Generally, you cannot file a joint return if
either spouse was a nonresident alien at any time
during the tax year. However, nonresident aliens
married to U.S. citizens or residents can elect to
be taxed as a U.S. resident and file joint returns.
If a joint return is filed, you and your spouse must
agree to be taxed on your combined worldwide
income.

Note: For purposes of filing a joint return, com-
mon law marriages are not recognized under Ha-
waii law unless they began in a state which per-
mits common law marriages.

Filing Status Box 3

Married Filing a Separate
Return

You may file separate returns whether both you
and your spouse had income, only one of you
had income, or neither of you had income.

If you choose to file separate returns, both you
and your spouse must figure your tax the same
way. This means that if one of you itemizes your
deductions, the other must also itemize their de-
ductions. (If you itemize your deductions, both of
you must file Form N-11 or N-15). You each report
only your own income, exemptions, deductions,
and credits, and you are responsible only for the
tax due on your own return.

If you file a separate return, write your spouse’s
full name in the space after Box 3 and your
spouse’s social security number in the block pro-
vided for that number.

If your spouse does not file a Hawaii tax return,
you may be able to claim the exemptions for your
spouse. See instructions for lines 6a and 6b on
page 9.

Special Rule for Nonresident and Dual-Status
Aliens.—Married nonresident aliens must file
separate returns. However, nonresident aliens
who are married to U.S. citizens or residents and
who elect to be taxed as a U.S. resident may file
joint returns. However, see Married persons
who live apart on page 9.

Filing Status Box 4
Head of Household

Note: Since this filing status is for unmarried indi-
viduals who provide a home for certain other per-
sons, a person in a civil union may not choose
“head of household” as their filing status. Howev-
er, a person in a civil union may file as “head of
household” if the person is considered unmarried
because they lived apart from their civil union

partner for the last 6 months of 2013 and they
meet the other rules under Married persons
who live apart on page 9.

This filing status is for unmarried individuals
who provide a home for certain other persons.
(Some married persons who live apart are con-
sidered unmarried. See Married persons who
live apart on page 9.) You can check box 4 only
if you were unmarried or legally separated (ac-
cording to State law) under a decree of divorce or
separate maintenance at the end of 2013 and
either 1 or 2 below applies.

1. You paid over half the cost of keeping up a
home that was the main home for all of 2013 of
your parent whom you can claim as a
dependent, except under a multiple support
agreement (see page 10). Your parent did not
have to live with you.

2. You paid over half the cost of keeping up a
home in which you lived and in which one of
the following also lived for more than half of
the year (if half or less, see Exception to time
lived with you below).
a.Any person whom you can claim as a

dependent. But do not include:

i. Your qualifying child (as defined in Step
1 on page 9) whom you claim as your
dependent based on the rules for Children
of divorced or separated parents on
page 10,

ii. Any person who is your dependent only
because he or she lived with you for all of
2013, or

iii.Any person you claimed as a dependent
under a multiple support agreement. See
page 10.

b. Your unmarried qualifying child who is not
your dependent.

c. Your married qualifying child who is not your
dependent only because you can be claimed
as a dependent on someone else’s 2013
return.

d. Your child who is neither your dependent nor
your qualifying child because of the rules
for Children of divorced or separated
parents on page 10.

If the child is not your dependent, enter the

child’s name on line 4.

Dependent. To find out if someone is your de-
pendent, see the instructions for line 6¢ that be-
gin on page 9.

Exception to time lived with you. Temporary
absences for special circumstances, such as for
school, vacation, medical care, military service,
and detention in a juvenile facility, count as time
lived in the home. If the person for whom you kept
up a home was born or died in 2013, you can still
file as head of household as long as the home
was that person’s main home for the part of the
year he or she was alive. Also see Kidnapped
child on page 10, if applicable.

Keeping up a home. To find out what is includ-
ed in the cost of keeping up a home, see federal
Publication 501.

Note: If you received payments under the Aid
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) pro-
gram and used them to pay part of the cost of
keeping up this home, you may not count these
amounts as furnished by you.

Special Rule for Nonresident and Dual-Status
Aliens. — If you were a nonresident or dual-sta-
tus alien during the tax year, you cannot file as
Head of Household.



Married persons who live apart. Even if you
were not divorced or legally separated at the end
of 2013, you are considered unmarried if all of
the following apply.

You lived apart from your spouse for the last 6
months of 2013. Temporary absences for spe-
cial circumstances, such as for business, medi-
cal care, school, or military service, count as
time lived in the home.

You file a separate return from your spouse.

You paid over half the cost of keeping up your
home for 2013.

Your home was the main home of your child,
stepchild, or foster child for more than half of
2013 (if half or less, see Exception to time
lived with you on page 10).

You claim this child as your dependent or the
child’s other parent claims him or her under the
rules for Children of divorced or separated
parents on page 10.

Adopted child. An adopted child is always
treated as your own child. An adopted child in-
cludes a child lawfully placed with you for legal
adoption.

Foster child. A foster child is any child placed
with you by an authorized placement agency or
by judgment, decree, or other order of any court
of competent jurisdiction.

Special Rule for Nonresident and Dual-Status
Aliens.- If you were a nonresident or dual-status
alien during the tax year, the special rules for
Married persons who live apart will not apply to
you unless you meet all of the tests previously
stated, and you are a resident of Canada or Mex-
ico. If you are considered unmarried under these
rules, you may file as a single individual rather
than married filing separately. You cannot file as
Head of Household.

Filing Status Box 5
Qualifying Widow(er) with
Dependent Child

You can check box 5 and use joint return tax
rates for 2013 if all of the following apply.

Your spouse died in 2011 or 2012 and you did
not remarry in 2013.

You have a child or stepchild whom you claim
as a dependent. This does not include a foster
child.

This child lived in your home for all of 2013. If
the child did not live with you for the required
time, see Exception to time lived with you on
page 10.

You paid over half the cost of keeping up your
home.

You could have filed a joint return with your
spouse the year he or she died, even if you did
not actually do so.

If your spouse died in 2013, you cannot file as
qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. In-
stead, see the instructions for Married Filing a
Joint Return on page 8.

Adopted child. An adopted child is always
treated as your own child. An adopted child in-
cludes a child lawfully placed with you for legal
adoption.

Dependent. To find out if someone is your de-
pendent, see the instructions for line 6¢ that be-
gin on this page.

Exception to time lived with you. Temporary
absences for special circumstances, such as for
school, vacation, medical care, military service,
and detention in a juvenile facility, count as time
lived in the home. A child is considered to have
lived with you for all of 2013 if the child was born
or died in 2013 and your home was the child’s
home for the entire time he or she was alive. Also
see Kidnapped child on page 10, if applicable.

Keeping up a home. To find out what is includ-
ed in the cost of keeping up a home, see federal
Publication 501.

Note: See Death of Taxpayer on page 7 for
more information.

Special Rule for Nonresident and Dual-Status
Aliens—The special rules for Qualifying
Widow(er) With Dependent Child will not apply
unless the surviving spouse meets all of the tests
previously stated, and was a resident alien or
U.S. citizen the year their spouse died. The resi-
dency status refers to the surviving spouse’s ac-
tual status, and not the election that some non-
resident aliens make to be taxed as U.S.
residents.

Lines 6a through 6e

Exemptions
Lines 6a and 6b Boxes

REGULAR — FOR YOURSELF AND
SPOUSE

Take one exemption for yourself unless you can
be claimed as a dependent on another person’s
tax return. (See Children and Other Dependents
on this page). If you are married, you can take an
exemption for your spouse if you file a joint return.

If you file a separate return, you can take your
spouse’s exemption only if your spouse is not fil-
ing a return, had no income, and was not the de-
pendent of someone else. If your spouse meets
these qualifications, check the box under line 6b.

If, at the end of 2013 you were divorced or le-
gally separated, you cannot take an exemption
for your former spouse. If you were separated by
a divorce that is not final (interlocutory decree),
you may still take an exemption for your spouse if
you file a joint return.

If your spouse died during 2013, and you did
not remarry before the end of 2013, check the
boxes for the exemptions you could have taken
for your spouse on the date of death. Please see
the instructions for Death of Taxpayer on page 7.

AGE 65 OR OVER — FOR
YOURSELF AND SPOUSE

Take another exemption if you or your spouse
were age 65 or over. You MAY NOT take this ad-
ditional exemption for dependents. If you or your
spouse’s 65th birthday is on January 1, 2014, you
can take the extra exemption for age for 2013.

If you file married filing separately, you may
NOT claim the extra exemption for age 65 or over
for your spouse.

Lines 6¢ and 6d Boxes
Children and Other Dependents

Enter on lines 6¢ and 6d the full names, social
security numbers, and other information for your
dependent children and other dependents. Each

dependent must have a social security number. If
you have more than six dependents, attach a state-
ment with the required information. Enter the num-
ber of dependent children listed in box 6¢. Enter the
number of other dependents listed in box 6d.

Follow the steps below to find out if a person
qualifies as your dependent.

m Do You Have a Qualifying
Child?
A qualifying child is a child who is your:
Son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother,
sister, stepbrother, stepsister, or a descendant
of any of them (for example, your grandchild,
niece, or nephew), and
Was younger than you, and under age 19 at the
end of 2013, or under age 24 at the end of
2013 and a student, or any age and perma-
nently and totally disabled, and
Who did not provide over half of his or her own
support for 2013, and
Who lived with you for more than half of 2013. If
the child did not live with you for the required
time, see Exception to time lived with you on
page 10, and
Who has not filed a joint return, unless the re-
turn was filed only as a claim for refund.
1. Do you have a child who meets the conditions

to be your qualifying child?

Yes. Go to Step 2.

No. Go to Step 3.

m Is Your Qualifying Child
Your Dependent?

1. Was the child a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, or a
resident of the United States, Canada, or
Mexico? If the child was adopted, see
Exception to citizen test on page 10.

Yes. Go to Question 2.
No. Stop. Go to Form N-13, line 7.
2. Was the child married?
Yes. See Married person on page 10.
No. Go to Question 3.

3. Could you, or your spouse if filing jointly, be
claimed as a dependent on someone else’s
2013 tax return?

Yes. You cannot claim any dependents.

No. You can claim this child as a dependent.
m Is Your Qualifying Relative
Your Dependent?

A qualifying relative is a person who is
your:
* Son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, or a de-
scendant of any of them (for example, your
grandchild), or

Brother, sister, or a son or daughter of either of
them (for example, your niece or nephew), or

Father, mother, or an ancestor or sibling of
either of them (for example, your grandmother,
grandfather, aunt, or uncle), or

Stepbrother, stepsister, stepfather, stepmother,
son-in-law,  daughter-in-law,  father-in-law,
mother-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law,
or

Any other person (other than your spouse) who
lived with you all year as a member of your
household if your relationship does not violate
local law. If the person did not live with you for
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the required time, see Exception to time lived
with you on this page, and

* Who was not a qualifying child of any person
for 2013, and

¢ Who had gross income of less than $3,900 in
2013. If the person was permanently and totally
disabled, see Exception to gross income
test on this page, and

* For whom you provided over half of his or her
support in 2013. But see the exceptions for
Children of divorced or separated parents,
Multiple support agreements, and Kid-
napped child on this page.

1. Does any person meet the conditions to be
your qualifying relative?

Yes. Go to Question 2.
No. Stop. Go to Form N-13, line 7.

2. Was your qualifying relative a U.S. citizen, U.S.
national, or a resident of the United States,
Canada, or Mexico? If your qualifying relative
was adopted, see Exception to the citizen
test on this page.

Yes. Go to Question 3.
No. Stop. Go to Form N-13, line 7.

3. Was your qualifying relative married?
Yes. See Married person on this page.
No. Go to Question 4.

4. Could you, or your spouse if filing jointly, be
claimed as a dependent on someone else’s
2013 tax return?

Yes. Stop. You cannot claim any dependents.
No. You can claim this person as a dependent.
Definitions and Special Rules.

Adopted child. An adopted child is always
treated as your own child. An adopted child in-
cludes a child lawfully placed with you for legal
adoption.

Children of divorced or separated parents.
A child will be treated as being the qualifying
child or qualifying relative of his or her noncusto-
dial parent (the parent who had custody of the
child for the lesser part of 2013 or did not have
custody at all) if all of the following apply.

1. The parents are divorced, legally separated,
separated under a written separation
agreement, or lived apart at all times during
the last 6 months of 2013.

2. The child received over half of his or her
support for 2013 from the parents (without
regard to the rules on Multiple support
agreements on this page).

3. The child is in custody of one or both of the
parents for more than half of 2013.

4. Either of the following applies.

a.The custodial parent signs federal Form
8332 or a substantially similar statement
that he or she will not claim the child as
a dependent for 2013. The noncustodial
parent must attach federal Form 8332 or a
similar statement to his or her tax return to
claim the child as a dependent.

b. A decree of divorce or separate maintenance
or written separation agreement between
the parents that applies to 2013 provides
that the noncustodial parent can claim the
child as a dependent. If your decree or
agreement went into effect before 1985, the
noncustodial parent must provide at least
$600 for support of the child during 2013.
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If the rules above apply and this child would
otherwise be the qualifying child of more than
one person:

¢ Only the noncustodial parent can claim the
child for purposes of the dependency exemp-
tion.

Only one person can file as head of household.
No other person can file as head of household
unless he or she has a different qualifying child.
If you and any other person claim the child as a
qualifying child, the rules shown under Qualify-
ing child of more than one person on this
page will apply.

See federal Publication 501 for more details.
Exception to citizen test. If you are a U.S.
citizen or U.S. national and your adopted child
lived with you all year as a member of your
household, that child meets the citizen test.

Exception to gross income test. If your rela-
tive (including a person who lived with you all
year as a member of your household) is perma-
nently and totally disabled (defined on this page),
certain income for services performed at a shel-
tered workshop may be excluded for this test. For
details, see federal Publication 501.

Exception to time lived with you. A person is
considered to have lived with you for all of 2013 if
the person was born or died in 2013 and your
home was this person’s home for the entire time
he or she was alive. Temporary absences for spe-
cial circumstances, such as for school, vacation,
medical care, military service, or detention in a
juvenile facility, count as time lived with you. Also
see Children of divorced or separated parents
or Kidnapped child on this page.

Foster child. A foster child is any child placed
with you by an authorized placement agency or
by judgment, decree, or other order of any court
of competent jurisdiction.

Kidnapped child. If your child is presumed by
law enforcement authorities to have been kid-
napped by someone who is not a family member,
you may be able to take the child into account in
determining your eligibility for head of household
or qualifying widow(er) filing status, and the deduc-
tion for dependents. See federal Publication 501.

Married person. If the person is married, you
cannot claim that person as your dependent if he
or she files a joint return. But this rule does not
apply if the return is filed only as a claim for re-
fund and no tax liability would exist for either
spouse if they had filed separate returns. If the
person meets this exception, go to Step 2, Ques-
tion 3, on page 9 (for a qualifying child) or Step 3,
Question 4, on this page (for a qualifying rela-
tive). If the person does not meet this exception,
go to Form N-13, line 7.

Multiple support agreements. If no one per-
son contributed over half of the support of your
relative (including a person who lived with you all
year as a member of your household) but you and
another person(s) provided more than half of your
relative’s support, special rules may apply that
would treat you as having provided over half of the
support. For details, see federal Publication 501.

Permanently and totally disabled. A person
who, at any time in 2013, cannot engage in any
substantial gainful activity because of a physical
or mental condition and a doctor has determined
that this condition (a) has lasted or can be ex-

pected to last continuously for at least a year, or
(b) can be expected to lead to death.

Qualifying child of more than one person. If
the child is the qualifying child of more than one
person, only one person can claim the child as a
qualifying child for (1) the dependency exemp-
tion, and (2) head of household filing status, un-
less the rules for Children of divorced or sepa-
rated parents on this page apply.

No other person can take any of the two tax
benefits listed above unless he or she has a dif-
ferent qualifying child. If you and any other per-
son claim the child as a qualifying child, the fol-
lowing rules will apply.

* |If only one of the persons is the child’s parent,
the child will be treated as the qualifying child of
the parent.

If two of the persons are the child’s parents, the
child will be treated as the qualifying child of the
parent with whom the child lived for the longer
period of time in 2013. If the child lived with
each parent for the same amount of time, the
child will be treated as the qualifying child of the
parent who had the higher adjusted gross in-
come (AGlI) for 2013.

If none of the persons is the child’s parent, the
child will be treated as the qualifying child of the
person who had the highest AGI for 2013.

If the parents of a child can claim the child as a
qualifying child but no parent so claims the
child, no one else can claim the child as a qual-
ifying child unless that person’s AGI is higher
than the highest AGI of any parent of the child.

Example. Your daughter meets the conditions
to be a qualifying child for both you and your
mother. If you and your mother both claim tax
benefits based on the child, the rules above ap-
ply. Under these rules, you are entitled to treat
your daughter as a qualifying child for any of the
two tax benefits listed above for which you other-
wise qualify. Your mother would not be entitled to
take any of the two tax benefits listed above un-
less she has a different qualifying child.

If you will be claiming the child as a qualifying
child, go to Step 2 on page 9. Otherwise, stop; you
cannot claim any benefits based on this child.

Student. A child who during any part of 5 cal-
endar months of 2013 was enrolled as a full-time
student at a school, or took a full-time, on-farm
training course given by a school or a state, coun-
ty, or local government agency. A school includes
a technical, trade, or mechanical school. It does
not include an on-the-job training course, corre-
spondence school, or Internet school.

Birth or Death of Dependent

You can take an exemption for a dependent
who was born or who died during 2013 if he or
she met the tests for a dependent while alive.
This means that a baby who lived only a few min-
utes can be claimed as a dependent.

Income

A Hawaii resident is subject to income tax on
his or her entire income earned worldwide.

Examples of Income You Must
Report

* Wages, including salaries, bonuses, commis-
sions, fees, and tips.



U.S. Cost of Living Allowance.

Living Quarter Allowance.

Dividends (Part Il).

Interest (Part I) on:

— tax refunds;

— bank deposits, bonds, notes;

— bonds issued by other states and local
governments; and

— accounts with savings and loan associations,
mutual savings banks, credit unions, etc.

Unemployment compensation benefits.

Temporary Disability Insurance Benefits to the

extent that such amounts:

— are attributable to contributions by your
employer which were not includible in your
gross income, or

— are paid by your employer.

Examples of Income You Do
Not Report

Distributions from a private employer pension
plan received upon retirement (including early
retirement and disability retirement) if the em-
ployee did not contribute to the pension plan.
Pension or annuity distributions from a public
(i.e., government) retirement system (e.g., fed-
eral civil service annuity, military pension, state
or county retirement system).

All Government payments and benefits made
to veterans and their families.

Dividends on Veteran’s Government Insurance.
Workers’ compensation, insurance, damages,
etc., for bodily injury or sickness.

Interest on Federal, Hawaii State and County
municipal bonds. Also, U.S. Savings Bonds.
Interest on bonds issued by the Governments
of Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and
American Samoa.

Life insurance proceeds upon death.

Social Security benefits.

Railroad Retirement Act benefits.

Gifts, inheritances, bequests.

Compensation by Hawaii or the U.S. to a pa-
tient affected with leprosy.

Child support.
Welfare benefits.

Amounts you received from an insurance com-
pany because you lost the use of your home
due to fire or other casualty to the extent the
amounts were more than the cost of your nor-
mal expenses while living in your home. (You
must report reimbursements for normal living
expenses as income.)

Contributions to an annuity purchased by qual-
ified nonprofit organization or public school or
deferred compensation plans with respect to
service for State or local government.

Amounts you received as combat duty pay
while deployed to an area designated as a com-
bat zone by the President of the United States.
Royalties and other income derived from patents,
copyrights, and trade secrets developed and aris-
ing out of a qualified high technology business.

All income earned and proceeds derived from
stock options or stock, including stock issued
through the exercise of stock options or war-
rants, from a qualified high technology busi-

ness or from a holding company of a qualified
high technology business by an employee, of-
ficer, or director of the qualified high technology
business, or investor who qualifies for the high
technology business investment tax credit.

Amounts paid after 1999 as restitution pay-
ments made to Holocaust victims (or their heirs
or estate).

Amount of payment stipend waived by Depart-
ment of Education coaches and dispensed to
the school for the benefit of the coach’s team.

Scholarship grants received by a student under
the Nursing Scholars Program.

All of the gain realized by a fee simple owner
from the sale of a leased fee interest in units
within a condominium project, cooperative proj-
ect, or planned unit development, to the asso-
ciation of apartment owners or the residential
cooperative corporation of the leasehold units.

Rounding Off to Whole
Dollars

The Department of Taxation is requiring indi-
vidual taxpayers to round off cents to the nearest
whole dollar for all dollar entries on the tax return
and schedules. To do so, drop amounts under 50
cents and increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents
to the next dollar. For example: $1.39 becomes
$1 and $2.69 becomes $3. If you have to add two
or more amounts to figure the amount to enter on
a line, schedule, or worksheet, you may choose
to use one of two methods. Once a method of
rounding is established, you must use the same
method throughout the return. The first method is
to include the cents when adding and round off
only the total. The other method is to round off
each entry. For example: You received two W-2
forms, one showing Hawaii withholding of $50.55
and one showing Hawaii withholding of $185.73.
For rounding method 1, show your total Hawaii
withholding as $236, ($50.55 + $185.73 =
$236.28 rounded to $236). For rounding method
2, show your total Hawaii withholding as $237,
($50.55 rounded to $51.00 + $185.73 rounded to
$186.00 = $51 + $186 = $237).

Line 7

Wages, Salaries, Tips,
etc.

Enter the total of all the wages shown on your
HW-2 forms. If you received federal Form W-2,
report the amount in box 16, State wages, tips,
etc. For a joint return, add the totals for you and
your spouse. Report all wages you received even
if you don’t have a HW-2 form. If all your tips are
not shown on your HW-2 forms, add these
amounts in, too. Include amounts received under
an employer-paid dependent care benefit plan
from Schedule X, Part Ill. If you have received
any benefits from such a plan for the taxable
year, you must complete Schedule X and file it
with your Form N-13. Also, include on this line
amounts received as cost of living allowance, liv-
ing quarter allowance, and temporary disability
insurance benefits.

If you lose a HW-2 form, ask your employer for
a new one. If your employer does not give you a
HW-2 form by January 31, or if the one you have
is not correct, contact your employer as soon as

possible. Only your employer can issue or correct
your HW-2 form. If you can’t get a HW-2 form
from your employer by February 15, contact our
Taxpayer Services staff.

Lines 8 and 9

Interest and Dividend
Income

Line 8

Interest Income

Enter your total interest income from banks,
savings and loan associations, credit unions,
notes and loans, and others on line 8. Include any
interest you received or that was credited to your
account so you could withdraw it even if it wasn’t
entered in your passbook. Be sure to include in-
terest on tax refunds.

If your total interest income is more than
$1,500, you must list the name of the payer and
the amount of interest on page 2 of Form N-13.

Note: If you received interest as a nominee for
someone else, or you received or paid accrued
interest on securities transferred between inter-
est payment dates, you may NOT file Form N-13.
You MUST file Form N-11 instead.

Line 9
Ordinary Dividends

Note: Dividends from stock, including stock is-
sued through the exercise of stock options or
warrants, from a qualified high technology busi-
ness or from a holding company of a qualified
high technology business by an employee, offi-
cer, or director of the qualified high technology
business, or investor who qualifies for the high
technology business investment tax credit are ex-
cluded from Hawaii income taxes.

Enter your total ordinary dividends on line 9.
Ordinary dividends are dividends paid out of
earnings and profits. Assume that any dividend
you receive is an ordinary dividend unless the
paying corporation tells you otherwise. Dividends
that are reinvested in stock purchase plans are
taxable and should also be entered on line 9.

Do not include nontaxable distributions on line
9. In general, distributions that are NOT made out
of earnings and profits are a return of your invest-
ment and will not be taxed until you get back your
cost. You must reduce your cost (or other basis)
by the amount of nontaxable distributions re-
ceived. After you get back all of your costs (or
other basis), you must report these distributions
as capital gains on Form N-11.

If the total of your ordinary dividends is more
than $1,500, you must list the name of the payer
and the amount of dividends on page 2 of Form
N-13.

Note: If you received any capital gain distribu-
tions, or you received dividends as a nominee for
someone else, you may NOT file Form N-13. You
MUST file Form N-11 instead.
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Line 10

Unemployment
Compensation

Unemployment compensation (insurance) you
received is taxable.

You should get a statement, on federal Form
1099-G, showing the total unemployment com-
pensation paid to you during the year. For pay-
ments in 2013, you should receive this statement
by January 31, 2014.

Enter on line 10 the amount from federal Form
1099-G.

Do not include on line 10 any supplemental un-
employment benefits you received from a compa-
ny-financed supplemental unemployment benefit
fund. Instead, report these benefits as wages on
Form N-13, line 7.

Line 11

Adjusted Gross Income
Add the amounts on lines 7, 8, 9 and 10.

Note: If you can be claimed as a dependent on
another person’s return, check the box under line
11.

Line 12

Standard Deduction

Note: The standard deduction amounts are in-
creased for taxable years beginning after Decem-
ber 31, 2012.

Taxpayers who do not itemize their deductions
may reduce their adjusted gross income by the
amount of the standard deduction appropriate to
their filing status. The amount of the standard de-
duction for each filing status is listed below:

Filing Standard

Status Deduction
Single $2,200
Married filing jointly $4,400
Married filing separately $2,200
Head of Household $3,212
Qualifying Widow(er) $4,400

Standard deduction for dependents. Your
standard deduction is limited to the greater of
$500 or your earned income (up to the full stan-
dard deduction for your filing status). Enter the
appropriate amount on line 12. The standard de-
duction for an individual who can be claimed as a
dependent on the tax return of another taxpayer
is computed using the worksheet below.
A. Enter the amount from

Form N-13, line 7.......ccccceeeeee. A
B. Minimum amount...........cccco.... B.
C. Compare the amounts on

lines A and B. Enter

the LARGER of the

two amounts here. .........c.ccoc... C.
D. Maximum amount. Enter the

full standard deduction for

your filing status, shown in

the chart above, here............... D.
E. Compare the amounts on

lines C and D above. Enter

the SMALLER of the two

amounts here and on Form

N-13,line 12 ..o E.
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Line 13

Subtract line 12 from line 11 and show the dif-
ference on line 13.

REMINDER: This line MUST be filled in.

Line 14

Exemptions

Note: You may not be able to deduct all of your
personal exemptions if your adjusted gross in-
come is above a certain amount. If your adjusted
gross income is more than $89,981 and you are
married filing a separate return, you cannot file
Form N-13. You must file Form N-11.

Caution: If you can be claimed as a dependent
on another person’s tax return, you may not
claim an exemption for yourself.

Regular Exemptions

Note: The personal exemption amount is in-
creased for taxable years beginning after Decem-
ber 31, 2012.

You are allowed $1,144 for each exemption you
can claim. Multiply $1,144 by the number of ex-
emptions shown on line 6e. Enter the amount on
line 14.

Blind, Deaf, or Totally Disabled —
Definition, Certification and
Exemptions.

Check the appropriate box(es) on line 14 if you
are blind, deaf or disabled and your impairment
has been certified. The disability exemption will
be disallowed and your return processed without
the exemption(s) claimed if you have not qualified
for this special exemption by completing Form
N-172 prior to filing your return and you will be
required to file an amended return AFTER sub-
mitting Form N-172 in order to claim this exemp-
tion.

“Blind” means a person whose central visual
acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye
with correcting lenses, or whose visual acuity is
greater than 20/200 but is accompanied by a
limitation in the field of vision such that the widest
diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no
greater than 20 degrees.

“Deaf” means a person whose average loss in
the speech frequencies (500-2000 Hertz) in the
better ear is 82 decibels, A.S.A., or worse.

“Person totally disabled” means a person who
is totally and permanently disabled either physi-
cally or mentally, which results in the person’s in-
ability to engage in any substantial gainful busi-
ness or occupation. It is presumed that a person
whose earned income, before deductions and
exemptions, exceeds $30,000 per year is en-
gaged in a substantial, gainful business or occu-
pation.

The impairment of sight, deafness or disability
shall be certified to on the basis of a written re-
port on an examination performed by a qualified
ophthalmologist, qualified optometrist or a quali-
fied otolaryngologist, licensed audiologist, or a
qualified physician, as the case may be.

A blind, deaf, or totally disabled person who
qualifies and elects the special exemption shall
be allowed the following exemptions:

One individual (any filing status)—  $7,000

Husband and Wife (non-disabled

spouse under 65)— $8,144
Husband and Wife (non-disabled
spouse age 65 or over)— $9,288

Husband and Wife (both disabled)— $14,000

For more information, see Tax Information Re-
lease No. 89-3, “State Tax Benefits Available to
Persons with Impaired Sight, Impaired Hearing,
or Who are Totally Disabled’ and Tax Information
Release No. 94-2, “State Tax Benefits Available
to Persons Totally Disabled’.

Note: /f you claim this special exemption, you will
not be able to claim the additional exemptions for
your children or other dependents, or for being 65
or older.

Enter the appropriate amount on line 14.
Line 15

Taxable Income

Subtract line 14 from line 13. This is your tax-
able income. Your tax is figured on this amount. If
line 15 is less than $100,000, please continue.

If line 15 is $100,000 or more, you CANNOT
use Form N-13. You MUST file Form N-11.

If You Qualify, the Hawaii
Department of Taxation Will
Figure Your Tax

If you want us to, we will figure your tax for you.

If you paid too much we will send you a refund.

If you did not pay enough, we will bill you for

the balance. We will not charge you interest or

penalties if the bill for tax due is paid within 30

days of the notice date, or by the due date for

your return, whichever is later. We can do this

ONLY if:

a. You fill in the parts of your return through lines
15, 17 through 21, 24, 25 (if you qualify and
wish to claim the applicable tax credits), 28,
29, and 32a through 32c (if you wish to make
a contribution). The Department of Taxation
will NOT fill in these lines for you.

b. You attach a copy of all your HW-2 forms to
your Form N-13.

c. You complete Parts | and Il on page 2 of Form
N-13 if required.

d.You (and your spouse if filing a joint return) sign
and date your return.

Note: The Department of Taxation will complete
lines 16, 22, 23, 26, 27, 30, 31, 33, 34a, 35, or 36
if left blank.

Line 16

Figuring Your
Income Tax

If line 15 is less than $100,000, find your tax in
the Hawaii Tax Table on pages 25-37. If line 15 is
$100,000 or more you CANNOT file Form N-13.
Instead, you must file Form N-11 and use the Tax
Rate Schedules to figure your tax.

Be sure you use the correct column in the Ha-
waii Tax Table. After you have found the correct
tax, enter that amount on line 16.

IMPORTANT!! The amount of any credit claimed
on lines 17 through 21 which total more than your
tax liability will be refunded to you. It is very im-
portant that you carefully read the following in-



structions for each of these credits to ensure that
you properly claim all the credits for which you
are entitled.

Line 17

Refundable Renewable
Energy Technologies
Income Tax Credit

See the instructions for Nonrefundable Renew-
able Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit. A
taxpayer may elect to treat the tax credit as non-
refundable or refundable. A taxpayer may elect to
treat the tax credit as refundable under the fol-
lowing circumstances:

For solar energy systems, a taxpayer may elect
to reduce the eligible credit amount by 30%. If
this reduced amount exceeds the amount of in-
come tax payment due from the taxpayer, the
excess of the credit amount over payments due
will be refunded to the taxpayer.

For any renewable energy technology system,
a taxpayer may elect to have any excess of the
credit over payments due refunded to the tax-
payer if (1) all of the taxpayer’s income is exempt
from taxation under section 235-7(a)(2), Hawaii
Revised Statues (HRS), i.e., distributions from a
public retirement plan or system, or section 235-
7(a)(3), HRS, i.e., any compensation received in
the form of a pension for past services; or (2) the
taxpayer has Hawaii adjusted gross income of
$20,000 or less (or $40,000 or less if filing a tax
return as married filing jointly).

A husband and wife who do not file a joint tax
return shall only be entitled to make this election
to the extent that they would have been entitled to
make the election had they filed a joint tax return.

Once an election is made to treat the tax credit
as nonrefundable or refundable, the election can-
not be revoked. An amended return cannot be
filed to change the tax credit from nonrefundable
to refundable or from refundable to nonrefund-
able.

To determine this tax credit, use Form N-342
and attach the form to the income tax return Form
N-13, and enter on page 2, line 17, the amount of
the credit. Also, check the appropriate box to indi-
cate the type of energy system.

For more information, see Form N-342.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for
this credit, including any amended claims, must
be filed on or before December 31, 2014.

Line 18

Refundable
Food/Excise Tax Credit

If your federal adjusted gross income was less
than $50,000, you may qualify for this credit. See
the instructions for Schedule X, Part |, on page
18. Figure the credit on Schedule X, Part |, and
enter the amount of the credit here.

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are being
claimed or eligible to be claimed as a dependent
by any taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax
purposes.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for
this credit, including any amended claims, must
be filed on or before December 31, 2014.

Line 19

Credit for Low-Income
Household Renters

If you occupy and pay rent for real property
within the State as your residence, your Hawaii
adjusted gross income was less than $30,000,
and the rent you paid during 2013 was more than
$1,000, you may qualify for this credit. To see if
you qualify, see the instructions for Schedule X,
Part Il, on page 18. If you qualify, figure the cred-
it on Schedule X, Part I, and enter the amount of
the credit here.

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are being
claimed or eligible to be claimed as a dependent
by any taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax
purposes.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for
this credit, including any amended claims, must
be filed on or before December 31, 2014.

Line 20

Credit for Child and
Dependent Care
Expenses

Certain payments made for child and depen-
dent care (including payments made to the State
of Hawaii A+ Program) may be claimed as a
credit against your tax due. To see if you qualify,
see the instructions for Schedule X, Part Ill, on
page 19. If you qualify, figure the credit on Sched-
ule X, Part lll, and enter the amount of the credit
here.

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are being
claimed or eligible to be claimed as a dependent
by any taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax
purposes.

Line 21

Credit for Child
Passenger Restraint
System

Each taxpayer who files an individual income
tax return for the taxable year may claim a tax
credit for 2013 for the purchase of one or more
new child passenger restraint systems which can
be shown to be in substantial conformity with
specifications for such restraint systems set forth
by the federal motor vehicle safety standards
which were in effect at the time of such purchase.

Note: This credit is $25 per return regardless of
the cost or the number of restraint systems pur-
chased.

To Claim this Credit. Enter $25 in line 21, and
attach a copy of the sales invoice, which states
the type of child restraint system purchased, to
your return.

1) If the invoice doesn’t have your name on it, you
must attach a statement saying that you and
nobody else is claiming the credit for the
purchase described in the invoice.

2) If the invoice has somebody else’s name on it,
you must attach an explanation.

Your claim for this credit may be rejected if
the invoice is not attached, or if 1) or 2) applies
but no statement or explanation is attached.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for
this credit, including any amended claims, must
be filed on or before December 31, 2014.

Line 23

Line 16 minus line 22. If line 23 is less than zero,
enter a minus sign (-) to the left of the number.

If line 23 is zero or less, the nonrefundable
credits on lines 24 and 25 may not be used. Even
if you are not able to use the nonrefundable cred-
its, complete the forms for any credits you qualify
for, and attach the forms to your Form N-13. If the
forms are not attached, no claim for the credit has
been made, and you will lose the carryover of
your unused credits.

Line 24

Carryover of the
Nonrefundable
Renewable Energy
Technologies

Income Tax Credit
(For Systems Installed
and Placed in Service
Before July 1, 2009)

Note: This credit may be claimed only if the indi-
vidual has a carryover of the nonrefundable re-
newable energy technologies income tax credit
for systems installed and placed in service before
July 1, 2009.

Each taxpayer who files an individual income
tax return and who has unused renewable energy
technologies income tax credits for systems in-
stalled and placed in service before July 1, 2009,
may claim a tax credit against its individual in-
come tax liability. A tax credit which exceeds the
taxpayer’s income tax liability may be used as a
credit against the taxpayer’s income tax liability in
subsequent years until exhausted.

Complete Form N-323 and attach the form to
the income tax return Form N-13, and enter on
page 2, line 24, the amount of the credit.

Note: If line 23 is zero or less, no tax credit may
be used. Enter zero on line 24.

For more information, see Form N-323, Carry-
over of Tax Credits.

See the discussion for the Renewable Energy
Technologies Income Tax Credit for the credit
available for current system installations.

Line 25

Nonrefundable
Renewable Energy
Technologies Income
Tax Credit

Each taxpayer who files an individual income
tax return for 2013 may claim a tax credit against
his or her individual income tax liability for an eli-
gible renewable energy technology system in-
stalled and placed in service in Hawaii. The tax
credit shall apply only to the actual cost of the
solar or wind-powered energy system, including
accessories and installation, and shall not include
the cost of consumer incentive premiums unre-
lated to the operation of the system or offered
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with the sale of the system (such as “free gifts”,
offers to pay electricity bills, or rebates) and costs
for which another credit is claimed. The dollar
amount of any utility rebate shall be deducted
from the cost of the qualifying system and its in-
stallation before determining the State credit.

A taxpayer may elect to treat the tax credit as
nonrefundable or refundable. If a taxpayer elects
to treat the tax credit as nonrefundable, the tax
credit allowed shall be claimed against net income
tax liability for the taxable year. A tax credit which
exceeds the taxpayer’s income tax liability may be
used as a credit against the taxpayer’s income tax
liability in subsequent years until exhausted. For
information on electing to treat the credit as re-
fundable, see the instructions for Refundable Re-
newable Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit.

Once an election is made to treat the tax credit
as nonrefundable or refundable, the election can-
not be revoked.

The tax credit may be claimed for the following
renewable energy technology systems installed and
placed in service in Hawaii on or after July 1, 2009:

Type of Renewable

Energy Technology
System Tax Credit Rate

1. Solar energy systems - Primary purpose is
to use energy from the sun to heat water for

household use
a. Single-family residential
property.

The lesser of
35% of the
actual cost of the
system or $2,250.
Per unit: The
lesser of 35%
of each unit’s
actual cost of the
system or $350.
The lesser of
35% of the
actual cost of
the system or
$250,000.
Solar energy systems - All other solar energy
systems

a. Single-family residential

property.

b. Multi-family residential
property.

c. Commercial property.

The lesser of
35% of the
actual cost of the
system or $5,000.
Per unit: The
lesser of 35%

of each unit’s
actual cost of the
system or $350.
The lesser of
35% of the
actual cost of
the system or
$500,000.

2. Wind-powered energy systems

a. Single-family residential The lesser of
property. 20% of the
actual cost of the
system or $1,500.
Per unit: The
lesser of 20%
of each unit’s
actual cost of the
system or $200.
The lesser of
20% of the
actual cost of
the system or
$500,000.

b. Multi-family residential
property.

c. Commercial property.

b. Multi-family residential
property.

c. Commercial property.
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The Department of Taxation has issued tempo-
rary administrative rules that focus on the calcula-
tion of the renewable energy technologies income
tax credit for “other solar energy systems”, includ-
ing photovoltaic systems, installed and placed in
service on or after January 1, 2013. “Total output
capacity” is now the key factor in what determines
a system on which a credit can be claimed.

To determine this tax credit, complete Form
N-342 and attach the form to the income tax re-
turn Form N-13, and enter on page 2, line 25, the
amount of the credit. Also, check the appropriate
box to indicate the type of energy system.

Note: If line 23 is zero or less, no tax credit may
be used. Enter zero on line 25.

For more information, see Form N-342, and
Tax Information Release No. 2007-02, Relating to
the Renewable Energy Technologies Income Tax
Credit, Tax Information Release No. 2010-10,
Common Income Tax & General Excise Tax Is-
sues Associated with the Renewable Energy
Technologies Income Tax Credit, HRS §235-
12.5, and Tax Information Release No. 2012-01,
Temporary Administrative Rules Relating to the
Renewable Energy Technologies Income Tax
Credit.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for
this credit, including any amended claims, must
be filed on or before December 31, 2014.

Line 27

Line 23 minus line 26. If line 27 is less than
zero, enter a minus sign (=) to the left of the num-
ber.

Line 28

Total Hawaii Income
Tax Withheld

Enter the amount of Hawaii income tax with-
held as shown on your W-2 or HW-2 form. If you
have more than one W-2 or HW-2 form, add the
amounts of Hawaii income tax withheld. If you are
filing a joint return, add the amounts of Hawaii
income tax withheld for you and your spouse.

Also include on this line, Hawaii income tax
withheld on unemployment compensation as
shown on your federal Form 1099-G.

Attach a copy of federal Form(s) W-2 and
1099-G, and Form HW-2 showing the withholding.
If not attached, the withholding may be disallowed.

@ Line 29

Amount Paid With
Extension

If you made a payment with Form N-101A, en-
ter the amount you paid on this line.

Line 31

Amount Overpaid

If line 30 is larger than line 27, and line 27 is
zero or more, subtract line 27 from line 30 and
show the difference on line 31. This is the amount
overpaid.

However, if line 27 is less than zero, complete
the following worksheet:

1. Amount from line 27 (enter as
a positive number).................

2. Amount from line 30...............

3.Add line 1 and line 2. .............

Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet
on line 31. This is the amount overpaid.

The Hawaii School-Level Minor Repairs and
Maintenance Special Fund provides moneys for
school-level minor repairs and maintenance. If
you have an overpayment of at least $2 ($4 if mar-
ried and filing a joint return), you can choose to
contribute to the Hawaii School-Level Minor Re-
pairs and Maintenance Special Fund (line 32a).

The Hawaii Public Libraries Special Fund pro-
vides moneys to support the operations of the li-
brary system. If you have an overpayment of at
least $2 ($4 if married and filing a joint return),
you can choose to contribute to the Hawaii Public
Libraries Special Fund (line 32b).

The Hawaii Children’s Trust Fund provides
moneys for the award of grants for primary and
secondary prevention activities to prevent child
abuse and neglect. The Domestic Violence and
Sexual Assault Special Fund provides moneys
for programs and grants or purchases of service
that support or provide domestic violence and
sexual assault intervention or prevention. The
Spouse and Child Abuse Special Accounts pro-
vide moneys for staff programs, and grants or
purchases of service that support or provide
spouse or child abuse intervention or prevention.
If you have an overpayment of at least $5 ($10 if
married and filing a joint return), you can choose
to contribute to these funds (line 32c).

Line 32a

Contribution to the
Hawaii Schools Repairs
and Maintenance Fund

If you want to contribute $2 to the Hawaii
School-Level Minor Repairs and Maintenance
Special Fund (or $4 if your spouse also wants to
contribute and you are filing jointly), check the ap-
propriate box(es). No other amounts can be ac-
cepted. Your contribution will reduce your refund.
Once made, the contribution cannot be revoked.

Line 32b

Contribution to the

Hawaii Public Libraries

Fund

If you want to contribute $2 to the Hawaii Public

Libraries Special Fund (or $4 if your spouse also
wants to contribute and you are filing jointly),
check the appropriate box(es). No other amounts
can be accepted. Your contribution will reduce
your refund. Once made, the contribution cannot
be revoked.

Line 32¢c

Contribution to the
Domestic and Sexual
Violence / Child Abuse
and Neglect Funds

If you want to contribute $5 to the Hawaii Chil-
dren’s Trust Fund, the Domestic Violence and



Sexual Assault Special Fund, and the Spouse
and Child Abuse Special Accounts (or $10 if your
spouse also wants to contribute and you are filing
jointly), check the appropriate box(es). No other
amounts can be accepted. Your contribution will
reduce your refund. Once made, the contribution
cannot be revoked.

Line 34a

Amount Refunded to
You

Line 31 minus line 33. This is the amount that
will be refunded to you. This line must be com-
pleted for you to receive a refund.

If the refund is large, you should see your pay-
roll office about reducing the amount of tax that is
withheld from your wages.

Note: Check the box under line 34a if the ultimate
destination of your refund is to a foreign (non-U.S.)
bank account. Do not complete lines 34b through
34d. Due to new rules for international ACH trans-
actions that went into effect on September 18,
2009, the direct deposit of your refund into a for-
eign (non-U.S.) bank account will not be available.
A check will be sent to you instead.

Note: If you are filing a Hawaii income tax return
for the first time, you will not be allowed to have
your refund directly deposited into your checking
or savings account. Do not complete lines 34b
through 34d. A check will be sent to you instead.

Note: If you are filing your return after the pre-
scribed due date, the refund shown may be lim-
ited or disallowed due to the statute of limitations.
In general, a claim for refund or credit for over-
paid income taxes must be filed within three
years after the return is filed for the taxable year,
within three years of the due date for filing the
return, or within two years from when the tax is
paid, whichever is later. For purposes of deter-
mining whether a refund or credit is allowed, tax-
es paid on or before the due date of the return
(e.g. taxes withheld from an employee’s pay, or
estimated tax payments) are considered paid on
the due date of the return, without considering an
extension of time to file the return.
@ Lilzles 34b Through

34

Direct Deposit of

Refund

Complete lines 34b through 34d if you want the

Department of Taxation to directly deposit the
amount shown on line 34a into your checking or
savings account at a bank or other financial insti-
tution (such as a mutual fund, brokerage firm, or
credit union) instead of sending you a check.
Note: If the ultimate destination of your refund is
to a foreign (non-U.S.) bank account, do not com-

plete lines 34b through 34d. See the instructions
for line 34a.

Note: If you are filing a Hawaii income tax return
for the first time, do not complete lines 34b
through 34d. See the instructions for line 34a.

Note: If you owe certain past-due debt, such as
child support, and all or part of the overpayment on
line 31 is used (offset) to pay the past-due amount,

you will not be allowed to have your refund directly
deposited into your checking or savings account. A
check will be sent to you instead.

Why Use Direct Deposit?

* You get your refund fast — even faster if
you e-file via the State’s Internet portal at
www.ehawaii.gov/efile!

* Payment is more secure — there is no check to
get lost.

* More convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit
your check.

* Saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit
costs less than a check.

You can check with your financial institution to
make sure your deposit will be accepted and to
get the correct routing and account numbers. The
Department is not responsible for a lost refund if
you enter the wrong account information.

If you file a joint return and fill in lines 34b
through 34d, you are appointing your spouse as
an agent to receive the refund. This appointment
cannot be changed later.

Some financial institutions will not allow a joint
refund to be deposited into an individual account.
If the direct deposit is rejected, a check will be
sent instead. The Department is not responsible
if a financial institution rejects a direct deposit.

Routing Number

The routing number must be nine digits. The
first two digits must be 01 through 12 or 21
through 32. Otherwise, the direct deposit will be
rejected and a check sent instead.

Your check may state that it is payable through
a financial institution different from the one at
which you have your checking account. If so, do
not use the routing number on that check. In-
stead, contact your financial institution for the
correct routing number to enter on line 34b.

Type of Account

On line 34c, check the applicable box to indi-
cate whether you want your refund deposited into
your checking or savings account.

Account Number

Contact your financial institution for the correct
account number to enter on line 34d. The account
number can be up to 17 characters (both num-
bers and letters). Omit spaces, hyphens, and
special symbols. Enter the number from left to
right and leave any unused boxes blank. Be sure
not to include the check number.

Line 35

Amount You Owe

If line 27 is larger than line 30, subtract line 30
from line 27 and show the difference on line 35.
This is the balance you still owe. Use Form
N-200V, Individual Income Tax Payment Voucher,
to send your payment to the Department of Taxa-
tion. Attach your check or money order and Form
N-200V to the front of Form N-13. Write your so-
cial security number, phone number, and “2013
Form N-13” on your check or money order.

Note: If you include penalty and/or interest for
the late filing of your return with your payment,
identify and enter these amounts on a separate
sheet of paper and attach to Form N-13. Do not

include the penalty and/or interest amounts for
the late filing of your return in the Amount You
Owe on line 35 of Form N-13.

Note: /f you cannot pay the full amount you owe,
you can enter a payment agreement by request-
ing for a payment agreement after you receive
the billing notice. Please be aware that penalty
and interest continue to accrue on the unpaid tax
amount even though you have not received the
billing notice. Payments will be accepted and ap-
plied to your tax liability; however, to ensure your
payments are applied correctly, your check or
money order must have: (1) your name clearly
printed on the check as it is printed on the tax
return (if filing a joint return, also print your
spouse’s name), (2) your social security number
(if filing a joint return, also write your spouse’s
social security number), (3) your daytime phone
number, and (4) the tax year and form number
you filed (e.g., 2013 N-13).

Line 36
Estimated Tax Penalty

See the instructions for Penalties and Interest
on page 17 and Form N-210 to see if you owe a
penalty for the underpayment of estimated taxes.

If you owe a penalty, enter the penalty amount
on Form N-13, line 36. Do not include the penalty
amount on line 31 or line 35. If you have any
taxes due, include the amount of the penalty on
Form N-200V. If you have an overpayment, your
overpayment will be reduced automatically by the
amount of the penalty.

Check the box at line 36 if Form N-210 is at-
tached.

Note: If you are a farmer or fisherman and re-
ceive a penalty notice, do not ignore it, even if
you think it is in error. You may get a penalty no-
tice even though you filed your return on time,
attached Form N-210, and met the gross income
from farming or fishing requirement. If you receive
a penalty notice for underpaying estimated tax
and you think it is in error, write to the address on
the notice and explain why you think the notice is
in error. Include a computation showing that you
met the gross income from farming or fishing re-
quirement.

Amended Returns

If you are filing an amended return, check the
amended return box at the top of Form N-13.
Complete your amended return using corrected
amounts through line 36. Attach Schedule AMD,
Explanation of Changes on Amended Return, to
the income tax return Form N-13. Also attach all
schedules, forms, and attachments required to
file a complete return. Also, see page 17 of the
instructions.

If you contributed to the Hawaii Schools Re-
pairs and Maintenance Fund, Hawaii Public Li-
braries Fund, and/or Domestic and Sexual Vio-
lence / Child Abuse and Neglect Funds on your
original return, your contribution(s) cannot be re-
voked, and you must make the same
designation(s) on your amended return.

If you did not contribute to the Hawaii Schools
Repairs and Maintenance Fund, Hawaii Public
Libraries Fund, and/or Domestic and Sexual Vio-
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lence / Child Abuse and Neglect Funds on your
original return, you may contribute to these funds
on an amended return filed within twenty months
and ten days after the due date for the original
return for such taxable year. Once made, the con-
tribution cannot be revoked.

Line 37

Amount Paid (Overpaid)
on Original Return

Enter on line 37 the amount paid on your origi-
nal 2013 Form N-13, line 35 (plus the amount of
estimated tax penalty on line 36, if any); or the
amount overpaid on your original 2013 Form
N-13, line 31 (less the amount of estimated tax
penalty on line 36, if any). If you have an overpay-
ment, enter a minus sign (-) to the left of the over-
payment amount.

Attach Schedule AMD, Explanation of Changes
on Amended Return. Also attach all schedules,
forms, and attachments required to file a com-
plete return.

Line 38

Balance Due (Refund)
With Amended Return

If no amount was entered on line 37, enter on
line 38 the amount, if any, from line 34a (less the
amount of estimated tax penalty on line 36, if
any) or line 35 (plus the amount of estimated tax
penalty on line 36, if any) of the amended return.
If you have an overpayment, enter a minus sign
(-) to the left of the overpayment amount.

If there is an amount on line 37, complete one of
the worksheets below. When completing the work-
sheet, enter all amounts as positive numbers.

If there is an amount on line 37 and that amount
is:

a. A payment and there is an amount on line 31,
complete the following worksheet:

1. Amount from line 31 (less

the amount of estimated tax
penalty on line 36, if any).......

2. Amount from line 37 ..............

3.Add line 1 and line 2............... .

Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet
on line 38. This is the amount of your overpay-
ment on your amended return. Enter a minus
sign (-) to the left of the overpayment amount.
b. A payment and there is an amount on line 35,

complete the following worksheet:

1. Amount from line 35 (plus

the amount of estimated tax
penalty on line 36, if any).......

2. Amount from line 37 ..............

3. Line 1 minus line 2.................

Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet
on line 38.

If the amount on line 1 of the worksheet is larg-
er than the amount on line 2 of the worksheet, this
is the amount you owe on your amended return.

If the amount on line 2 of the worksheet is larg-
er than the amount on line 1 of the worksheet,
this is the amount of your overpayment on your
amended return. Enter a minus sign (-) to the left
of the overpayment amount.
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c. An overpayment and there is an amount on
line 31, complete the following worksheet:
1. Amount from line 31 (less
the amount of estimated tax
penalty on line 36, if any).......
2. Amount from line 37 ..............
3.Line 1 minus line 2.................
Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet
on line 38.

If the amount on line 1 of the worksheet is larg-
er than the amount on line 2 of the worksheet,
this is the amount of your overpayment on your
amended return. Enter a minus sign (-) to the left
of the overpayment amount.

If the amount on line 2 of the worksheet is larg-
er than the amount on line 1 of the worksheet, this
is the amount you owe on your amended return.
d. An overpayment and there is an amount on

line 35, complete the following worksheet:

1. Amount from line 35 (plus

the amount of estimated tax
penalty on line 36, if any).......

2. Amount from line 37 ..............

3.Add line 1 andline 2..............

Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet
on line 38. This is the amount you owe on your
amended return.

If you have an overpayment on your amended
return, you may contribute to the (1) Hawaii
Schools Repairs and Maintenance Fund (line
32a) if line 32a on your original return was blank,
(2) Hawaii Public Libraries Fund (line 32b) if line
32b on your original return was blank, and/or (3)
Domestic and Sexual Violence / Child Abuse and
Neglect Funds (line 32c) if line 32c on your origi-
nal return was blank.

Subtract the amount contributed to the above
funds from the amount of overpayment available
and enter the difference on line 38. Enter a minus
sign (-) to the left of the overpayment amount. Be
sure that the sum of the amounts entered on
lines 32a, 32b, 32c, and 38 is not more than the
overpayment available.

If you have an amount due on your amended
return, use Form N-200V, Individual Income Tax
Payment Voucher, to send your payment to the
Department of Taxation. Attach your check or
money order and Form N-200V to the front of
Form N-13. Write your social security humber,
daytime phone number, and “2013 Amended
Form N-13” on your check or money order.

Attach Schedule AMD, Explanation of Changes
on Amended Return. Also attach all schedules,
forms, and attachments required to file a com-
plete return.

Third Party
Designee
If you want to authorize the Department of Tax-
ation to discuss your tax return with a person that
you designate, enter the name of your third party
designee, telephone number, and identification
number. You are authorizing the Department to
call your third party designee to answer any

questions that may arise during the processing of
your tax return.

Note: This designation is not a full power of at-
torney and does not replace Form N-848.

Completing Your Return
Sign and Date Your
Return

Form N-13 is not considered a valid return un-
less you sign it. If you are unable to sign the re-
turn (due to disease or injury, etc.), you can ap-
point an agent to sign your return. A return signed
by an agent must have a power of attorney at-
tached that authorizes the agent to sign for you.
You can use Form N-848, Power of Attorney.

Be sure to date your return. If you have some-
one prepare your return, you are still responsible
for the correctness of the return.

Attach a copy of your HW-2 or federal Forms
W-2 and 1099-G (unemployment compensation)
to your return. Also, attach your check or money
order and Form N-200V to the front of Form N-13.

Joint Return. Your spouse must also sign if it is a
joint return. If your spouse cannot sign because
of disease or injury and tells you to sign, you can
sign your spouse’s hame in the proper space on
the return followed by the words “By (your name),
Husband (or Wife).” Be sure to also sign in the
space provided for your signature. Attach a dated
statement, signed by you, to the return. The
statement should include the form number of the
return you are filing, the tax year, and the reason
your spouse cannot sign, and that your spouse
has agreed to your signing for him or her.

If you are the guardian of your spouse who is
mentally incompetent, you can sign the return for
your spouse as guardian.

If your spouse is unable to sign the return be-
cause he or she is serving in a combat zone, and
you do not have a power of attorney or other
statement, you can sign for your spouse. Attach a
signed statement to your return that explains that
your spouse is serving in a combat zone.

If your spouse cannot sign the joint return for
any other reason, you can sign for your spouse
only if you are given a valid power of attorney.
Attach the power of attorney to your tax return.

If you are filing a joint return as a surviving
spouse, see Death of Taxpayer on page 7.

Child’s return. If your child cannot sign the re-
turn, sign your child’s name in the space provid-
ed. Then, add “By (your signature), parent for
minor child.”

Did You Have Someone Else Prepare Your Re-
turn?

If you fill in your own return, the Paid Preparer’s
Information space under your signature should
remain blank. If someone prepares your return
and does not charge you, that person should
not sign your return.

Generally, anyone who is paid to prepare your
tax return must sign it and fill in the other blanks
in the Paid Preparer’'s Information area of your
return. The preparer may furnish his or her alter-
native identifying number for income tax return
preparers (PTIN) instead of his or her social se-
curity number.

If you have questions about whether a preparer
is required to sign your return, please contact our
Taxpayer Services staff.

The preparer required to sign your return MUST
complete the required preparer information and:



* Sign it in the space provided for the preparer’s
signature.

* Give you a copy of your return in addition to the
copy to be filed with the Department of Taxation.

Hawaii conforms to Internal Revenue Service
Notice 2004-54 which authorizes paid tax return
preparers to sign tax returns by means other than
by hand. For more information, see Department
of Taxation Announcement No. 2009-33, Confor-
mity to Internal Revenue Service Notice 2004-54,
Relating to Alternative Methods of Signatures for
Paid Tax Return Preparers.

Reminders

Processing of Your Tax Return

In general, refunds due to you are issued within
8 weeks from the date your return is filed with the
Department of Taxation. However, it may take ad-
ditional time if you filed your return close to the
April 20 filing deadline, if errors were made in
completing your return, or you moved and did not
change your address in writing with the Depart-
ment of Taxation.

You may call our Taxpayer Services Branch to
obtain automated information about your individ-
ual income tax refunds 24 hours a day, 7 days a
week. Automated refund information should be
available 4 to 6 weeks after your return is filed
with the Department of Taxation. You may also
check your refund status through the Department
of Taxation’s website. See page 6 for the Depart-
ment’s telephone numbers and website address.

Penalties and Interest

a. Late Filing of Return. The penalty for failure
to file a return on time is assessed on the tax
due at a rate of 5% per month, or part of a
month, up to a maximum of 25%.

b. Extensions. If you are unable to file your
Hawaii tax return by April 20, 2014, you are
automatically granted a 6-month extension
without the need to file anything with the
Department unless an additional tax payment
must be made. As long as the following
conditions are met, you are deemed to have
made an application for the 6-month extension
to file an income tax return on the prescribed
due date:

1.0n or before April 20, 2014, 100% of the
properly estimated tax liability is paid;

2.The tax return is filed on or before the
expiration of the 6-month extension period;

3.The tax return is accompanied by full
payment of any tax not already paid; and

4.You are not bound by a court order to file a
tax return on or before the prescribed due
date.

If you must make an additional payment of tax
on or before April 20, 2014 in order to meet
the condition requiring payment of 100% of the
properly estimated tax liability, you must file
Form N-101A with your payment. Federal Form
4868, Application for Automatic Extension of

Time To File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return,

may not be used in lieu of Form N-101A.

. Interest. Interest at the rate of 2/3 of 1% per
month or part of a month shall be assessed on
unpaid taxes and penalties beginning with the
first calendar day after the date prescribed for
payment, whether or not that first calendar day
falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

(2]

d. Failure to pay tax after filing timely return.
The penalty for failure to pay the tax after filing
a timely return is 20% of the tax unpaid within
60 days of the prescribed due date. The 60-
day period is calculated beginning with the
prescribed due date even if the prescribed due
date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
holiday.

e. Underpayment of estimated taxes. You may
be subject to a penalty for not paying enough
estimated tax if your tax payments, including
withholding, do not total the smallest of:

1) 60% of the 2013 tax liability; or

2) 100% of the tax shown on the 2012 return.

There are special rules for farmers and

fishermen.

For more information, see Form N-210, Under-
payment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fi-
duciaries.

Change of Address

If your mailing address changes after you file
your return, you must notify the Department in writ-
ing of the change in addition to notifying the post
office serving your former address. Failure to do so
may prevent any refund due to you from being de-
livered (the postal service is not permitted to for-
ward your State refund check), and delay impor-
tant notices or correspondence to you regarding
your return. Be sure to include your name(s) and
social security number(s) as printed on your return
in any correspondence with the Department.

How Long Should Records Be
Kept?

Keep records of income and credits appearing
on your tax return until the statute of limitations
runs out for that return. Usually this is 3 years
from the date the return was due or filed, which-
ever is later. Also keep copies of your filed tax
returns as part of your records. You should keep
some records longer. For example, keep property
records (including those on your own home) as
long as they are needed to figure the basis of the
original or replacement property.

Amended Return

If you file your income tax return and later be-
come aware of any changes you must make to
income, deductions, or credits, file an amended
return on Form N-13 to change the Form N-13 you
already filed. Use the Form N-13 for the year you
are amending. (You cannot file a 2012 amended
return on a 2013 Form N-13.) Check the amend-
ed return box at the top of Form N-13, and fill in
the return with all of the correct information. Attach
Schedule AMD, Explanation of Changes on
Amended Return, to the income tax return Form
N-13. Also attach all schedules, forms, and attach-
ments required to file a complete return. See the
instructions for lines 37 and 38.

For information on the statute of limitation peri-
ods within which you may file an amended return
to claim a refund or credit of overpaid taxes, see
the instructions for line 34a (Amount Refunded to
You) on page 15.

You can get prior year forms from our website,
by calling our Taxpayer Services Branch, and at
any district tax office. See page 6 for the Depart-
ment’s telephone numbers and website address

If your amended return is a different form from
your original return filed, file an amended return
on that different form. (If you filed an original re-

turn on Form N-13 and should have filed Form
N-11, file an amended return on Form N-11.)

Change In Federal Taxable
Income

In general, a change to your federal return,
whether it is made by you or by the Internal Rev-
enue Service, must be reported to the State of
Hawaii.

1) Section 235-101(b), HRS, requires a report
(an amended return) to the Director of Taxation
if the amount of IRC taxable income is
changed, corrected, adjusted or recomputed
as stated in (3).

2) This report must be made:

a) Within 90 days after a change, correction,
adjustment or recomputation is finally
determined.

b) Within 90 days after an amended return is
filed.

3) A report within the time set out in (2) is required
if:

a) The amount of taxable income as returned
to the United States is changed, corrected or
adjusted by an officer of the United States or
other competent authority.

b) A change in taxable income results from a
renegotiation of a contract with the United
States or a subcontract thereunder.

c) A recomputation of the income tax imposed
by the United States under the Internal
Revenue Code results from any cause.

d) An amended income tax return is made to
the United States.

4) The statutory period for the assessment of any
deficiency or the determination of any refund
attributable to the report shall not expire before
the expiration of one year from the date the
Department is notified by the taxpayer or the
Internal Revenue Service, whichever is earlier,
of such a report in writing. Before the expiration
of this one-year period, the Department and the
taxpayer may agree in writing to the extension
of this period. The period so agreed upon may
be further extended by subsequent agreements
in writing made before the expiration of the
period previously agreed upon.

Instructions for
Schedule X—Tax Credits

Purpose

Use Schedule X to claim the refundable food/
excise tax credit, credit for low-income household
renters, and the credit for child and dependent
care expenses. You may qualify to claim these
credits, and receive a refund, even if you have
no taxable income. If you claim any of the tax
credits, both pages of Schedule X must be at-
tached to your Form N-13.

Warning: The refundable food/excise tax
credit and credit for low-income household
renters MUST be claimed on or before the end
of the twelfth month following the end of the
taxable year. If you do not claim these credits
within that period, the credits are waived and
cannot be claimed later, even on an amended
return.

Page 17



Part |

Refundable Food/Excise
Tax Credit

Each resident taxpayer who files an individual
income tax return for the taxable year, including
those who have no income or no income taxable
under chapter 235, HRS, may claim this credit
provided that the taxpayer is not eligible to be
claimed as a dependent for federal or State in-
come tax purposes by another taxpayer.

Qualified Exemptions

The refundable food/excise tax credit may be
claimed for each resident individual who:

* Was a resident of Hawaii and was physically
present in Hawaii for more than nine months
during the taxable year;

* |s not claimed and is not eligible to be claimed
as a dependent by any taxpayer for federal or
Hawaii individual income tax purposes; and

* Was not confined in jail, prison, or a youth cor-
rectional facility for the full taxable year.

For Whom the Credit May Be
Claimed

A resident taxpayer filing Form N-11 or N-13, or
a part-year resident taxpayer filing Form N-15
may claim the credit for any of the following peo-
ple who are “qualified exemptions” as defined on
this page:
* The taxpayer’s self;
* The taxpayer’s spouse if the taxpayer is married
and filing a joint return or married and filing sep-
arately where the spouse is not filing a Hawaii
return, had no income, and was not the depen-
dent of someone else;
The taxpayer’s dependents; and
The taxpayer’s minor children receiving sup-
port from the Department of Human Services
of the State, social security survivor benefits,
and the like.

Birth or Death of a Qualified
Exemption

* A person who dies during the year may be a
qualified exemption so long as the person was
alive and physically present within the State for
nine months. If a person who was continuously
living in Hawaii died after September 30, 2013,
that person could still be a qualified exemption.
A child who is born during 2013 could be a
qualified exemption if the mother was physically
present in the State while pregnant with the
child and the total days of gestation and life af-
ter birth total more than nine months during the
taxable year.

Line 1

Federal Adjusted Gross
Income

Since the tax credit is based on federal adjust-
ed gross income, you must complete your federal
return first. If you are not required to file a federal
income tax return, use federal Form 1040 as a
worksheet to determine your federal adjusted
gross income. If your federal adjusted gross in-
come is $50,000 or more, stop here; you cannot
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take this credit. However, you may claim the cred-
it for a minor child receiving support from the De-
partment of Human Services, etc. In this situa-
tion, only complete lines 3, 9, and 10.

Married filing separately. If you are married fil-
ing separately, you must add your spouse’s feder-
al adjusted gross income to your own. If the total
is $50,000 or more, you cannot claim this credit.

Line 2

Qualified Exemptions

On line 2, enter the names of the qualified ex-
emptions. Start with yourself. Enter your spouse’s
name if you are married and filing a joint return or
married and filing separately where your spouse is
not filing a Hawaii return, had no income, and was
not the dependent of someone else. Then list your
dependents and enter the dependent’s relation-
ship to you. However, do not list minor children
receiving more than half of their support from pub-
lic agencies even though you may claim them as
a dependent. List these minor children on line 3.

If married filing separately, only one spouse
may claim the dependents.

Enter the number of qualified persons on line 2.

Line 3

Minor Children Receiving
Public Support

On line 3, list your minor children who are also
qualified exemptions, and who receive more than
half of their support from the Department of Hu-
man Services, Social Security benefits, and other
government payments. If you are married filing
separately, only one spouse may claim each
child. Enter the number of children here, and on
the space provided beside Form N-13, line 18.

Line 6

Add lines 4 and 5. Enter this amount on the
space provided beside line 18. If your federal ad-
justed gross income is zero or less, you must en-
ter zero.

Line 7

Enter on line 7 the amount of the tax credit
shown below that applies to the amount on line 6.
Tax credit per qualified

If line 6 is: exemption is:
Under $5,000.......cooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeens $85
$5,000 under $10,000.......c.ccceveverererennne. 75
$10,000 under $15,000..........ccceveevevernnne. 65
$15,000 under $20,000..........ccceveeveerrnnne. 55
$20,000 under $30,000..........ccceerereernrnnne. 45
$30,000 under $40,000 ..........ccceeevevrrnnne. 35
$40,000 under $50,000..........ccceevererrrnnne. 25
$50,000 aNA OVET ... 0

Line 10

Amount of the Credit

Add lines 8 and 9. Enter this amount on Form
N-13, line 18.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for
this credit, including any amended claims, must

be filed on or before the end of the twelfth month
after the close of your taxable year.

Part I

Credit for Low-Income
Household Renters

Each resident taxpayer who occupies and pays
rent for real property within the State as his or her
residence and who files an individual income tax
return for the taxable year, including those who
have no income or no income taxable under
chapter 235, HRS, may claim a tax credit of $50
per qualified exemption, including the additional
exemption for taxpayers age 65 or over, provided
the following four conditions are met:

¢ The taxpayer is not eligible to be claimed as a
dependent for federal or State income tax pur-
poses by another taxpayer;

The taxpayer has adjusted gross income of
less than $30,000;

The taxpayer has paid more than $1,000 in rent
during the taxable year; and

The rented property is NOT exempt from real
property tax. Rent paid for property which is
partially or fully exempt from real property tax
will not qualify for the credit. For example, coun-
ty or State low-income housing projects, mili-
tary housing, dormitories in schools, residential
real property owned by a nonprofit organiza-
tion, and homes in which the owner occupies a
portion of the property, may have been granted
real property tax exemptions by the county. If
such exemptions, whether partial or full exemp-
tions, have been granted, the rent paid for such
properties will not qualify for the credit. To verify
if real property tax exemptions have been
granted on the rented property, please inquire
with either the landlord, rental agent, or the
Real Property Tax Office in the county in which
the property is located.

Note: Minor children receiving more than half of
their support from the State Department of Hu-
man Services, Social Security benefits, and the
like, which you can claim as dependents, are
considered qualified exemptions for purposes of
claiming this credit. This means that the exemp-
tion for a child listed in line 3 of Part | does count
toward this credit if you can claim them as a de-
pendent.

A “residence” is defined as the dwelling place
that constitutes the principal residence of the tax-
payer or his or her immediate family in this State.

“Rent” means the amount paid in cash in any
taxable year for the occupancy of a residence.
Rent does not include:

* Charges for utilities, parking stalls, storage of
goods, yard services, furniture, furnishings,
and the like;

Rental claimed as a deduction from gross in-
come or adjusted gross income for income tax
purposes;

¢ Ground rental paid for use of land only; and

* Rental allowances or rental subsidies received
(i.e. housing allowance received from the
armed forces or the Hawaii Housing Authority).



Line 1

Adjusted Gross Income

If the adjusted gross income shown on your re-
turn (Form N-13, line 11) is $30,000 or more,
stop here; you cannot take this credit.

Married filing separately. If you are married
filing separately, you must add your spouse’s ad-
justed gross income to your own. If you are mar-
ried filing separately and your spouse is a non-
resident, you need to determine your spouse’s
adjusted gross income from all sources, within
and outside of Hawaii and add that amount to
your own adjusted gross income. If the total is
$30,000 or more, you cannot claim this credit.

Line 2

Resident for More Than Nine
Months
If you are a part-year resident who has been in

Hawaii for 9 months or less in 2013, stop here;
you cannot take this credit.

Line 3

Dependent of Another
Taxpayer

If you can be claimed as a dependent on an-
other person’s return, whether or not that per-
son claims you, stop here; you cannot take this
credit.

Line 4

Your Addresses

List your most recent address. Fill in all of the
required information. If you lived in more than
one location during 2013, attach a separate
sheet listing the same information for the other
locations.

Do not list any location that was partly or whol-
ly exempt from real property tax, such as:

¢ County or State low-income housing projects;

* Military housing;

* Dormitories in schools;

* Residential real property owned by a nonprofit
organization; or

* Homes in which the owner occupies a portion
of the property.

Line 5
Rent You Paid

Enter the total amount of rent you paid during
2013 to all of the locations listed on line 4. If you
are sharing or were sharing the rent with some-
body else, list only your share of the rent here.

Line 6

Exclusions
Enter that portion of the amount on line 5

which:

e |s for ground rent (for example, lease rent that
the landlord has to pay), utilities, goods, or ser-
vices;

¢ You claimed as a deduction anywhere on your
tax return; or

* You were reimbursed, through a rental allow-
ance or rental subsidy from any source.

Line 7

Line 5 minus line 6. If this amount is $1,000 or
less, stop here; you cannot take this credit.

Line 8

Qualified Exemptions

Enter the number from the following work-
sheet.

a Enter the number from Schedule X,
Part I, line 2. If you did not claim the
refundable food/excise tax credit,
complete Part |, line 2, and enter
amount here........cccccceeiviieeenns

b Enter the number of persons who
would have been listed in Part I,
line 2 as qualified exemptions
except that: (1) they were minor
children receiving more than half
of their support from public
agencies, or (2) they were in prison,
a youth correctional facility, or jail
for the entire taxable year. .......

¢ If you are a qualified exemption
and you are age 65 or over,
enter 1. Otherwise, enter 0. .....

d If you are married and filing a joint
return or married and filing
separately where your spouse
is not filing a Hawaii return, had
no income, and was not the
dependent of someone else;
and your spouse is a qualified
exemption; and your spouse is
age 65 or over; enter 1.

Otherwise, enter 0. ..................

e Add lines a through d. Enter the
result here and on line 8 of
Schedule X, Part Il...................

Line 9
Amount of the Credit

Line 8 times $50. Enter this amount on Form
N-13, line 19.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for
this credit, including any amended claims, must
be filed on or before the end of the twelfth month
after the close of your taxable year.

Part Il

Credit for Child and
Dependent Care
Expenses

If you maintain a household that included a
child under age 13 or a dependent or spouse in-
capable of self-care, you may be allowed this
credit for expenses you paid during the taxable
year to care for your dependent so you could
work.

Who May Claim the Credit

If you are a resident taxpayer who files an indi-
vidual income tax return for a taxable year, you

are not claimed or eligible to be claimed as a de-
pendent on another taxpayer’s federal or Hawaii
income tax return, and you maintain a household
which includes one or more qualifying persons
(defined below), you may be allowed a credit
against your income tax. The credit ranges from
15% to 25% of employment-related expenses
(up to certain limitations) PAID during the taxable
year in order to enable you to work either full or
part time for an employer or as a self-employed
individual.

Maintaining a Household

You will be treated as maintaining a household
for any period only if you furnish over half the cost
of maintaining the household for that period. If
you are married during that time, you and your
spouse must provide over half the maintenance
cost for the period.

The expenses of maintaining a household in-
clude property taxes, mortgage interest, rent, util-
ity charges, upkeep and repairs, property insur-
ance, and food consumed on the premises. They
do not include the cost of clothing, education,
medical treatment, vacations, life insurance, and
transportation.

Qualifying Person

A qualifying person is any one of the following
persons:

a. Any person under age 13 whom you claim as a
dependent (but see Special Rule (4) on page
20, Children of Divorced or Separated
Parents).

b. Your disabled spouse who is mentally or
physically unable to care for himself or
herself.

c. Any disabled person who is mentally or
physically unable to care for himself or herself
and whom you claim as a dependent, or could
claim as a dependent (as a qualifying relative)
except that he or she had income of $3,900 or
more.

Employment-related Expenses

Employment-related expenses are those paid
for the following, but only if paid to enable you to
be gainfully employed:

(1) Expenses for Household Services. Expens-
es will be considered for household services in
your home if they are for the ordinary and usual
services necessary for the operation of the home,
and bear some relationship to the qualifying per-
son. For example, payment for services of a do-
mestic maid or cook ordinarily will be considered
expenses for household services if performed at
least partially for the benefit of the qualifying per-
son.

(2) Expenses for the Care of a Qualifying Per-
son. Expenses will be considered for the care of
one or more qualifying persons if their main pur-
pose was to assure that individual’s well-being
and protection. You can include amounts paid for
items other than the care of your child (such as
food and schooling) only if the items are inciden-
tal to the care of the child and cannot be sepa-
rated from the total cost.

You may NOT include any amount paid for ser-
vices outside your household at a camp where
the qualifying person stays overnight.

Do not include services outside your household
as employment-related expenses for your spouse
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or a dependent age 13 or older. However, ser-
vices outside your household are employment-
related expenses for a dependent who has not
reached his or her 13th birthday or for an indi-
vidual who regularly spends at least eight hours
each day in your household.

You may include expenses incurred for quali-
fied dependent care centers as employment-re-
lated expenses. The dependent care center must
comply with all applicable laws, rules, and regula-
tions of Hawaii if the center is located within Ha-
waii. If the center is located outside Hawaii, the
center must comply with all applicable laws, rules,
and regulations of the state or country in which
the center is located. Furthermore, these centers
must provide care for more than six individuals
(other than individuals who reside at the center),
and must receive a fee, payment, or grant provid-
ing services for any of the individuals (regardless
of whether such center is operated for profit).

Note: Payments made to the State of Hawaii A+
Program qualify for the credit.

Medical Expenses

Some dependent care expenses may qualify
as medical expenses. If you cannot use all the
medical expenses to qualify for this credit be-
cause of the dollar limit or earned income limit
(explained later), you can take the rest of these
expenses as an itemized deduction for medical
expenses. But if you deduct the medical expens-
es first as an itemized deduction, you cannot use
any part of these expenses on Schedule X.

Special Rules

(1) Married Couples Must File Joint Returns. |f
you are married at the end of the taxable year,
the credit for employment-related expenses is al-
lowable only if you and your spouse file a joint
return for the taxable year.

(2) Marital Status. If you are legally separated
from your spouse under a decree of divorce or
separate maintenance, you are not considered
married.

(8) Certain Married Individuals Living Apart
and Filing Separate Returns. If during the last 6
months of the taxable year your spouse was not
a member of your household and you (a) main-
tained a household which was for more than one-
half of the taxable year the principal place of
abode of a qualifying person, and (b) furnished
over half of the cost of maintaining such house-
hold during the taxable year, then you are not
considered married for purposes of the credit or
the exclusion.

(4) Children of Divorced or Separated Parents.
If you were divorced, legally separated, or lived
apart from your spouse during the last 6 months
of 2013, you may be able to claim the credit even
if your child is not your dependent. If your child is
not your dependent, he or she is a qualifying per-
son if all five of the following apply:
1. You had custody of the child for the longer
period during the year;
2. The child received over half of his or her
support from one or both of the parents;
3. The child was in the custody of one or both of
the parents over half of the year;
4. The child was under age 13, or was physically
or mentally unable to care for himself or herself;
and
5. The child is not your dependent because:
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a. As the custodial parent, you signed federal
Form 8332, Release of Claim to Exemption
for Child of Divorced or Separated Parents,
or a similar statement, agreeing not to claim
the child’s exemption for 2013; or

b. You were divorced or separated before
1985 and your divorce decree or written
agreement states that the other parent can
claim the child’s exemption, and the other
parent provides at least $600 in child support
during the year. Note: This rule does not
apply if your decree or agreement was
changed after 1984 to specify that the other
parent cannot claim the child’s exemption.

(5) Payments to a Related Individual. You can

count work-related expenses you pay to relatives
who are not your dependents, even if they live in
your home. However, do not count any amounts
you pay to:

1. A dependent for whom you (or your spouse if
you are married) can claim an exemption, or
2.Your child who is under age 19 at the end of the

year, even if he or she is not your dependent.

Line 1

Care Providers

Complete columns (a) through (e) for each per-
son or organization that provided the care. If you
do not give the information asked for in each col-
umn, or if the information you give is not correct,
your credit and, if applicable, the exclusion of
employer-provided dependent care benefits may
be disallowed.

You can use Form HW-16, “Dependent Care
Provider’s Identification and Certification”, to get
the correct information from the care provider.
(This form is available at our website, by calling
our Taxpayer Services Branch, and at any district
tax office.) If the provider does not comply with
your request to certify the information, complete
the entries you can, such as the provider's name
and address. Write “See attached” in the col-
umns for which you do not have the provider's
certification of information. Attach a statement
that you requested the information from the care
provider, but the provider did not comply with
your request. You must keep records to show that
you exercised due diligence in attempting to pro-
vide the required information. For more details,
including what is considered “due diligence,” see
federal Publication 503.

Columns (a) and (b). Enter the care provider’s
name and address. If you were covered by your
employer's dependent care plan and your em-
ployer furnished the care (either at your work-
place or by hiring a care provider), enter your
employer’s name in column (a), write “See W-2”
in column (b), and leave columns (c) through (e)
blank. But if your employer paid a third party (not
hired by your employer) on your behalf to provide
the care, you must give information on the third
party in columns (a) through (e).

Column (c). If the care provider is an individu-
al, enter his or her social security number (SSN).
If the individual is an alien and was issued an in-
dividual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) by
the IRS, enter the ITIN. If the individual has ap-
plied for an ITIN but the IRS has not yet issued
the ITIN, write “Applied For”. For other than an
individual, enter provider’s federal employer iden-
tification number (FEIN). If the provider is a tax-

exempt organization, write “Tax-Exempt” in col-
umn (c).

Column (d). Enter the care provider's Hawaii
Tax I.D. Number. If the provider is a tax-exempt
charitable organization (IRC section 501(c)(3)),
enter “Tax-Exempt”.

Column (e). Enter the total amount you actu-
ally paid during the taxable year to the care pro-
vider. Also include amounts your employer paid
on your behalf to a third party. It does not matter
when the expenses were incurred. Do not reduce
this amount by any reimbursement you received.

Line 2

Dependent Care Benefits

If you received dependent care benefits from
an employer (you have a federal or Hawaii W-2
form that has an amount in Box 10), enter the
amount shown in Box 10 of your W-2 form(s).

If you were self-employed or a partner, include
amounts you received under a dependent care
assistance program from your sole proprietorship
or partnership.

Line 4

Amount Forfeited or Carried
Forward to 2014

If you participated in an employee plan in which
the amount you contributed to an employer-paid
dependent care benefit plan was deducted from
your income, and you did not receive the full ben-
efit from this plan, you may be entitled to deduct
the amount forfeited on this line. See your em-
ployer for the forfeited amount you are allowed to
deduct.

Also include on this line any amount you did not
receive but are permitted by your employer to
carry forward and use in the following year during
a grace period.

Line 8

Your Earned Income

In general, earned income is wages, salaries,
tips, and other employee compensation. It also
includes net earnings from self-employment. For
more information, see the instructions to lines 18
and 19 on page 21.

Line 9

Spouse’s Earned Income

If your filing status is Married Filing Jointly, en-
ter your spouse’s earned income on this line.

If your filing status is Married Filing Separately,
see Certain Married Individuals Living Apart and
Filing Separate Returns earlier. If you are con-
sidered unmarried under that rule, enter your
earned income (from line 8) on this line. If you
are not considered unmarried under that rule,
enter your spouse’s earned income on line 9.

If your spouse was a student or disabled in
2013, see Spouse Who Is a Full-time Student or
Is Disabled on page 21.

All other taxpayers should enter the amount on
line 8.



Line 11

Taxable Benefits

Enter the amount from the following work-
sheet.

a Enter the amount from Schedule
X, Part Ill, line 2 that you received
from your sole proprietorship or
partnership. If you did not receive
any such amounts, enter -0-....

b Enter the amount from Schedule
X, Partlll,line 5....ccceevvininnnns

¢ Line b minusline a.......c...c.......

d Enter $5,000 ($2,500 if married
filing separately and you were
required to enter your spouse’s
earned income on Schedule X,
Part IIl, line 9). ..cccoeveeriiiiies

e Enter the amount from Schedule
X, Partlll, line 10........ccccuvnneen.

f Deductible benefits. Enter the
smallest of line a, line d, or line e.
Also, include this amount on the
appropriate line(s) of your return.
If there is an amount on line f,
you cannot use Form N-13. You
must file Form N-11................

g Enter the smaller of line d or
liN€ €. eveeeeeeeee e

h Enter the amount from line f.....

i Excluded benefits. Line g
minus line h. If zero or less,
enter -0-. ..oovveviiieeee e

j Taxable benefits. Line ¢ minus
line i. If zero or less, enter -0-.
Enter the result here and on line
11 of Schedule X, Part Ill. Also,
include this amount on line 7 of
Form N-13. On the corresponding
dotted line write “DCB".............

Line 16
Qualifying Person(s)

Complete columns (a) through (d) for each
qualifying person. If you have more than three
qualifying persons, attach a statement to your re-
turn with the required information. Be sure to put
your name and social security number on the
statement. Also, write “See attached” on the dot-
ted line next to line 17.

Column (a). Enter each qualifying person’s
name.

Column (b). Enter the qualifying person’s rela-
tionship to you.

Column (c). Enter the qualifying person’s so-
cial security number.

Column (d). Enter the qualified expenses you
incurred and paid in 2013 for the person listed in
column (a). Do not include in column (d) qualified
expenses:
¢ You incurred in 2013 but did not pay until 2014.

You may be able to use these expenses to in-

crease your 2014 credit.
¢ You incurred in 2012 but did not pay until 2013.

Instead, see the instructions for line 23 on this

page.

* You prepaid in 2013 for care to be provided in

2014. These expenses may only be used to

figure your 2014 credit.

Lines 18 and 19

Earned Income Limit

The amount of your qualified expenses cannot
be more than your earned income or, if married
filing a joint return, the smaller of your earned in-
come or your spouse’s earned income.

In general, earned income is wages, salaries,
tips, and other employee compensation. It also
includes net earnings from self-employment.

Unmarried taxpayers. If you are unmarried at
the end of 2013 or are treated as being unmar-
ried at the end of the year, enter your earned in-
come on line 18.

Married Taxpayers. If you are married filing a
joint return, figure each spouse’s earned income
separately and disregard community property
laws. Enter your earned income on line 18 and
your spouse’s earned income on line 19.

Spouse Who Is a Full-time Student or Is Dis-
abled. If your spouse was a full-time student or
was mentally or physically unable to care for him-
self or herself, figure your spouse’s earned in-
come on a monthly basis to determine your
spouse’s earned income for the year. For each
month that your spouse was disabled or a full-time
student, your spouse is considered to have earned
income of not less than $200 a month ($400 a
month if more than one qualifying person was
cared for in 2013). But if your spouse also worked
during any month and earned more than that
amount, use his or her actual earned income.

For any month that your spouse was not dis-
abled or a full-time student, use your spouse’s
actual earned income if your spouse worked dur-
ing the month.

If, in the same month, both you and your
spouse were full-time students and did not work,
you cannot use any amount paid that month to
figure the credit. The same applies to a couple
who did not work because neither was capable of
self-care.

A full-time student is one who was enrolled in
a school for the number of hours or classes that
is considered full time. The student must have
been enrolled at least 5 months during 2013.

Self-employment Income. You must reduce
your earned income by any loss from self-em-
ployment. If you only have a loss from self-em-
ployment, or your loss is more than your other
earned income, you cannot take the credit.

Line 22

Enter on line 22 the decimal amount shown be-
low that applies to the amount on line 21.

If line 21 is: Decimal amount is:
Under $22,001.........ccceeieeeieeeecieene. .25
$22,001 — 24,000 .....ccccveerrecieerieereennee. .24
$24,001 — 26,000 ......cceeerrecrieereereennee. .23
$26,001 — 28,000 ......ccueeerrerieeriereennee. .22
$28,001 — 30,000 .....cccveerreriecreereennee. .21
$30,001 — 32,000 .....ccceeerreirieereereennee. .20
$32,001 — 34,000 .....cccceeirreiieeriereennee. 19
$34,001 — 36,000 ......ccceeerreieeeriereennee. .18
$36,001 — 38,000 ......cceeevrecrreereereennee. A7
$38,001 — 40,000 ......ccceeerreiieeriereennee. .16
$40,001 and OVer ......ccceeeveeeeeeieeereenee. .15

Line 23
Amount of the Credit

If you had qualified expenses for 2012 that you
did not pay until 2013, you may be able to in-
crease the amount of credit you can take in 2013.
To do this, multiply the 2012 expenses you paid in
2013 by the applicable percentage from the
above table that applies to your 2012 adjusted
gross income. Your 2012 expenses must be with-
in the 2012 limits. Attach a computation showing
how you figured the increase. If you can take a
credit for your 2012 expenses, write “PYE” and
the amount of the credit on the dotted line next to
line 23. Enter the total amount of the credit on
line 23. Also enter this amount on Form N-13,
line 20.
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MISSING CHILD
Center-Hawaii

Missing Child Center-Hawaii
Department of the Attorney General
235 S. Beretania Street #401, Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 586-1449

Email: hawaiimissingkids@hawaii.gov
Website: http://ag.hawaii.gov/cpja/mech/

Hawaii’s Missing & Endangered Children

MISSING SINCE April 21, 2013

Sky Morena Uluatchiak Wood

AGE 4 yrs | AGE 2 yrs

HGT 3 ft. HGT 2 ft. 9 in.

WGT 30 lbs. WGT 28 lbs.

HAIR Brown HAIR Brown

EYES Brown EYES Brown

RACE Native RACE Native
Alaskan/ Alaskan/
Caucasian Caucasian

HPD 13-225635 HPD 13-225636

Ukpik Wolfe Cassiopeia Hormann-Wolfe

AGE lyr AGE 11 yrs

HGT 2 ft. 3.5 in. HGT 4 ft. 4 in.

EYES Brown EYES Brown

RACE Native Mo Photo RACE Native
Alaskan/ Available Alaskan/
Caucasian Caucasian

MISSING FROM: Honolulu, Oahu

Cassiopeia, Sky, Uluatchiak, and Ukpik are believed to be with their
non-custodial mother. Uluatchiak has a burn on his left arm and

Page 22
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THIS SPACE FOR DATE RECEIVED STAMP

FORM STATE OF HAWAII

(Re;.12 011’»3) DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
Individual Income Tax Return
RESIDENT

2013

JDB131 (FOR USE BY TAXPAYERS WHO HAVE LESS THAN
$100,000 TAXABLE INCOME, DO NOT ITEMIZE
DEDUCTIONS, AND DO NOT CLAIM
ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME)

[ ] AMENDED Return ] FirstTime Filer ] Address or Name Change

=

iall Your first name and initial Last name Your social security number
>
Bl Henry Y. Aloha -11-
E 8 If a joint ret¥h, spouse’s first name and initial Last name \Spgiee’s social security number
[
E E E (1€ . U U didil ’ I - -
WS Present mailing or home address (Number and street, including apartment number or rural / A IMPORTANT A
) o0
g w :§: ) MaW3g n1te Road / You must enter your SSN(s).
T w City, town or post office, State and Postal/ZIP code. If you have a foreign addresgfegeQgstructions. 7| Your occupation / Spouse’s occupation
= = [ o
zIA Honolulu, K 5300 - Clerk/Homemaker
8 HAWAII ELECTION Do you want $3 to go to the Hawaii Election Camp@TgmQuiNL? \ g £s 2 No Note: Checking “Yes” wil
~ t t
& CAMPAIGN FUND If joint return, does your spouse want $3 to goAf the fund\ J........... N Yes No P;’du'ﬁi'iiﬁ?,ﬁ?ﬁﬁdax o
E =@ 1 [] Single (Check only ONE box, ead of howdehold (with qualifying person). If the qualifying
% z2 B |X| Married filing joint return (even if only one had income, person is a child but not your dependent, enter this child’s name
o E R 3 Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s SSN here. >
5 @ full name here. ® fying widow(er) with dependent child (Year spouse died ® )-
,S Caution: If you can be claimed as a dependent on another person’s tax ret our pareM, do not check box 6a, but be sure to check the box below line 11.
=
<
IL 6a Xl Yourself......ccoooeeiiiieeans |:| Age 6546 9 R AT . e Enter number of
E 6b Xl SpOUSE ......oevvvvvesreneene. || Age 65 Or OVEX.... SAUTRURURRTRTRIII. S 4 boxes checked ' : !
: If you checked box 3 and 6b above, see the Instructions on pak 9 and if your spouse mests the qualifications, check here [_] on 6a and 6b
S @ 6c  Dependents: If more than 6 2 Pependent’s Social Felationch Enter number
N security number 3. Relationship K
Z g and 4 st and last name / I‘_’f:/‘:jur children 6c ' l
Iste
By 33-33-3333 Son
8 |5|<J Enter number
[a] W A of other
<Zt ‘ dependents 6d '
E N— “ v Add numbers
o - - entered in
> 6e Total number of exemptions cIaVed ..................................................................................................... boxes above 6e '
5 ROUND TO THE NEA DOLLAR
E 7 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. (aftach Form(s) W-2; if unavailable, see item 5 on page 11 of Instructions) ...........cccceeceerevennnne 70 5 ) 00
(e} 8 Interest income (complete Part | on page 2 if over $1,500) .........ccccevvrreiuerererieeeeeseeeseseiesssesesssesesesesesesesssaeans 8e (6\ ~ 00
é 9 Ordinary dividends (complete Part Il on page 2 if over $1,500)...........ccccovrueuerevrieereeeseseieeeiesesessesesesesesenessaeans e[\ / ~_l00
z 10 Unemployment COMPENSALION (INSUFANCE). ............coevruevererreeeecacsesesesesesesesssaesesesesesesesssssesesesesesesssassesesesasesnas 10@ w 00
- 11 AdA NS 7, 8,9 ANA 10+.---ooooeooeeoeeeeeeeeeee oo Adjusted Gross Income »| 110] 8 00
g Caution: @ If you can be claimed as a dependent on another person’s return, N
E g see page 12 of the Instructions and check here................c.cooiiiiiiiiiiins > o |:|
< e} ® If you are married filing separately and your spouse itemizes deductions,
° g see page 8 of the Instructions.
- 12 Standard deduction. 1 or 3, enter $2,200
If you checked filing status box: 2 or 5, enter $4,400
4, enter $3,212 ..o Standard Deduction »»>| 12e (\9)_ 00
13 Line 11 minus line 12. (This line MUST D€ filled iN) .....cvevvovreieieereieieees et >»| 13e 00
14 Multiply $1,144 by the total number of exemptions claimed on line 6e. If you and/or your spouse are blind, deaf,
or disabled, check applicable box(es) ® D Yourself @ D Spouse, and see page 12 of Instructions. | _14@ /T 00
15 Line 13 minus line 14. Enter the result (but not less than zero). ...........c.cccccocvevevevneen... Taxable Income »>| 150 (11 00
V
Continue on other side Continue on other side

FORM N-13
Page 23



JDB132

Form N-13 Page 2
(Rev. 2013)

Henry Y. Aloha M-1-1n

Sheila M. Mahalo 222-22-2222

—m Interest Income

PART Il Ordinary Dividends

If you received more than $1,500 in interest, list the names of the payers | If you received more than $1,500 in ordinary dividends, list the names
and the amounts of interest on the lines below. See page 11 of the | of the payers and the amounts of the dividends on the lines below. See

Instructions for what interest to report.

page 11 of the Instructions for a definition of ordinary dividends.

Name of Payer

Amount

Name of Payer Amount

1

7\
(6)

2 Total interest incore” Enter here and on

Form N-13, line 8 (Whole dollars only)........

00

00

28 Total Hawaii income tax withheld (attach W-2s)

29 Amount paid with extension..............

16 TaX frOM TAX TADIE «......vvececeeee e n e s sen e s enenenenenenereneneneneneres N ( A @ 00

17 Refundable Renewable Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit (attach Form N-342)
Check type of energy system: @ |:| Solar e |:| Wind......coe..
18 Refundable Food/Excise Tax Credit (attach Schedule X)

,‘Q DHS, etc. exemptions @ Federal AGI ®
E 19 Credit for Low-Income Household Renters (attach Schedule X) ...............,
E:, 20 Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses (attach Schedule X) ..
2 21 Credit for Child Passenger Restraint System(s) (attach a copy of t
; 22 Add [iNes 17 through 27 .......cucveveeececceeeeee g NG le Credits » | 22@ 00
E 23 Line 16 minus line 22. If line 23 is zero or less, see INStruCtig@ ...............; N\ - W +-coormesomesimiiiieaie s e P> 230 00
%J 24 Carryover of the Nonrefundable Renewable Energy Technologies Income TaX¥
E Installed and Placed in Service Before July 1, 2009) (attach Form N-323) ... \.... ™\ Q- -veeeeeereee 00
; 25 Nonrefundable Renewable Energy Technologies In it (atteg Mg @
P Check type of energy system: ® [_] Solar e [#] "W, W I 250 00
26 Add liNES 24 aNd 25.........oeueveeeeeieiieeeereenesneeeee e Moo e Total Nonrefundable Credits » | 26@ 00
27 LiN@ 23 MINUS N 26 ........eeeeeeecececeeeeeeeeeeceeeeeeneeeeeeee e e oo e e seseseasseseeesesesesessasenasanasenesesensasanasanasas /~Qnce>» | 27e 00

YOU OWE

b Routing number ®

° |:| Check here if this refund will ultimately be deposited to a foreign (non-U.S.) bank. Do not complete lines 34 b, c, or
c Type: ® D Checking ® D S

REFUND OR AMOUNT

d Account number @

30 Add iNES 28 AN 29...........coooorreerrreecce oo I oo Yotal Payments » | 300 N\ 00
31 If line 30 is larger than lin AID (line 30 minus line 27) (see page 14 of the Instructions) .......... 31e (22) 00
32 Contributions to (Seg’page Spouse s
32a Hawaii Schools Re ° D $2 @
32b Hawaii Public LibrarlgS"tnge =) ‘
32c Domestic and Sexual Violence / Child Abuse jind Neglect Funds . ® D $5 ° D $5 @
33 Add the amounts of the ch [ 0= 33e 77\ 00
34a Line 31 minus line 33. This is mount to be REFUNDED TO YOU. If filing late, see page 14 of Instructions...... 34ae® (26) 00

35 If line 27 is larger than line 30, enter the AMOUNT YOU OWE (line 27 minus line 30). Send Form N-200V
with your payment. Make check or money order payable to the “Hawaii State Tax Collector’..........ccocvoiniiiiennnen. 35

36 Estimated tax penalty. (See page 15 of Instructions) Do not include on line 31 or 35. 29
Check box if Form N-210 is attached »® [ ...........oooo...cooovvvvvmmmrerccerrreeeeeer. 360 00

00

AMENDED
RETURN

N
/< ~\
37 AMENDED RETURN ONLY — Amount paid (overpaid) on original return. (See Instructions) (Attach Sch. AMD)... 37 (30 3 1 00

38 AMENDED RETURN ONLY — Balance due (refund) with amended return. (See Instructions) (Attach Sch. AMD). 38

00

Designee’s name »

If designating another person to discuss this return with the Hawaii Department of Taxation, complete the following. This is not a full power of attorney. See

ion, i is i @Mtrucﬁons.
Phone no. » Identification number »

DECLARATION — | declare, under the penalties set forth in section 231-36, HRS, that this return (including accompanying schedules or statements)
has been examined by me and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, is a true, correct, and complete return, made in good faith, for the taxable year
stated, pursuant to the Hawaii Income Tax Law, Chapter 235, HRS.

63

)MM® 2/15/1%

w =&nmft M _/4/0/La 3/ / 5/ 14
w E Your signatfire ~” Date Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date
2 T Preparer’s Signature Preparer’s identification number )
=Fe Paid and date > ° Check if [
] ) , I-employed

7 Preparer’s ElrmtyPrepare(rs Name self-employe

i irms name (or yours Federal E.I. No. »
Information if self-employed),
Address, and ZIP Code Phone No. »
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TAXTABLES

Tax Table Must Be Used By Persons With Taxable
Income Of Less Than $100,000
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Based on Taxable Income
For persons with taxable
incomes of less than

2013 Hawaii Tax Table

$100,000
Example: Mr. & Mrs. Brown are filing a joint return. Their taxable income on line 15 is — But Single or Mﬁl:::;d Head
$23,275. First, they find the $23,250 - 23,300 income line. Next, they find the column for than filing jointly house-
married filing jointly and read down the column. The amount shown where the income sepa- * hold
line and filing status column meet is $1,010. This is the tax amount they must write on rately
line 16 of their return. 23,250 23,300 1,301 1,010 1,136
23,300 23,350 1,305 1,013 1,139
23,350 23,400 1,309 1,016 1,143
If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
0 50 0 0 0 2,500 2,550 38 35 35 5.000
50 100 1 1 1 2,550 2,600 40 36 36 5,000 5,050 122 74 96
100 150 2 2 2 2,600 2,650 41 37 37 5,050 5,100 125 76 97
150 200 2 2 2 2,650 2,700 43 37 37 5100 5,150 128 77 99
200 250 3 3 3 2,700 2,750 44 38 38 5,150 5,200 131 79 100
5,200 5,250 133 81 102
250 300 4 4 4 2,750 2,800 46 39 39
300 350 5 5 5 2,800 2,850 48 40 40 5,250 5,300 136 82 104
350 400 5 5 5 2,850 2,900 49 40 40 5,300 5,350 139 84 105
400 450 6 6 6 2,900 2,950 51 41 41 5,350 5,400 142 85 107
450 500 7 7 7 2,950 3,000 52 42 42 5,400 5,450 144 87 108
5,450 5,500 147 89 110
500 550 7 7 7 3’000
550 600 8 8 g | 3:000 3,050 54 42 42 | 5500 5,550 150 ) 112
600 650 9 9 9 | 3050 3,100 58 43 43 | 5550 5,600 153 92 113
650 700 9 9 9 | 3100 3,150 57 44 44 | 5600 5650 155 93 115
700 750 10 10 10 | 3750 3200 e P ae | 5650 5700 158 9% 116
, ; 5 5| 5700 5750 161 97 118
750 800 1 1 1 3,250 3,300 62 46 46
800 850 12 12 12 ’ ’ 5,750 5,800 164 98 120
850 900 12 12 12 | 3300 3,350 64 47 47| 5800 5,850 166 100 121
900 950 13 13 13 | 3,350 3,400 6o A 47 | 5850 5900 169 101 123
950 1,000 14 14 14 [ 3400 3450 ol P 25 | 5900 5950 172 103 124
1,000 ’ ’ 5,950 6,000 175 105 126
1,000 1,050 14 14 14 | 3,500 3,550 70 49 49 6,000
1,050 1,100 15 15 15 3,550 3,600 72 50 50 6,000 6,050 177 106 128
1,100 1,150 16 16 16 3,600 3,650 73 51 51 6,050 6,100 180 108 129
1,150 1,200 16 16 16 3,650 3,700 75 51 52 6,100 6,150 183 109 131
1,200 1,250 17 17 17 3,700 3,750 76 52 54 6,150 6,200 186 111 132
6,200 6,250 188 113 134
1,250 1,300 18 18 18 3,750 3,800 78 53 56
1,300 1,350 19 19 19 3,800 3,850 80 54 57 6,250 6,300 191 114 136
1,350 1,400 19 19 19 3,850 3,900 81 54 59 6,300 6,350 194 116 137
1,400 1,450 20 20 20 3,900 3,950 83 55 60 6,350 6,400 197 117 139
1,450 1,500 21 21 21 3,950 4,000 84 56 62 6,400 6,450 199 119 140
4,000 6,450 6,500 202 121 142
1,500 1,550 21 21 21 2.000 2 2.050 6 56 o
1,550 1,600 22 22 22 ’ ’ 6,500 6,550 205 122 144
1,600 1,650 23 23 23 | 4,050 4,100 88 o7 65 | 6550 6600 208 124 145
1,650 1,700 23 23 23 | 4100 4,150 89 o8 67 | 6600 6650 210 125 147
1,700 1,750 24 24 24 | 2100 320 o 28 8 | 6650 6700 213 127 148
’ ’ 6,700 6,750 216 129 150
1,750 1,800 2 2 2 4,250 4,300 94 60 72
1,800 1,850 26 26 26 ’ ’ 6,750 6,800 219 130 152
1,850 1,900 26 26 26 | 4,300 4,350 %6 61 73 | 6800 6,850 221 132 153
1,900 1,950 27 27 27 | 4350 4,400 97 61 75 | 6850 6,900 224 133 155
1,950 2,000 28 28 28 | Pad0  Xaou o e 78| 6900 6950 227 135 156
2,000 ’ ’ 6,950 7,000 230 137 158
2,000 2,050 28 28 28 4,500 4,550 102 63 80
2,050 2,100 29 29 29 4,550 4,600 104 64 81
2,100 2,150 30 30 30 4,600 4,650 105 65 83
2,150 2,200 30 30 30 4,650 4,700 107 65 84
2,200 2,250 31 31 31 4,700 4,750 108 66 86
2,250 2,300 32 32 32 4,750 4,800 110 67 88
2,300 2,350 33 33 33 4,800 4,850 111 68 89
2,350 2,400 33 33 33 4,850 4,900 114 69 91
2,400 2,450 35 34 34 4,900 4,950 117 71 92
2,450 2,500 36 35 35 4,950 5,000 120 73 94

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er) Continued on next page
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2013 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —

7,000 10,000 13,000
7,000 7,050 232 138 160 | 10,000 10,050 401 244 321 | 13,000 13,050 593 409 486
7,050 7,100 235 140 161 | 10,050 10,100 404 247 324 | 13,050 13,100 596 412 489
7,100 7,150 238 141 163 | 10,100 10,150 408 250 327 | 13,100 13,150 600 415 492
7,150 7,200 241 143 164 | 10,150 10,200 411 253 330 | 13,150 13,200 603 418 495
7,200 7,250 243 145 167 | 10,200 10,250 414 255 332 | 13,200 13,250 606 420 497
7,250 7,300 246 146 170 | 10,250 10,300 417 258 335 | 13,250 13,300 609 423 500
7,300 7,350 249 148 173 | 10,300 10,350 420 261 338 | 13,300 13,350 612 426 503
7,350 7,400 252 149 176 | 10,350 10,400 424 264 341 | 13,350 13,400 616 429 506
7,400 7,450 254 151 178 | 10,400 10,450 427 266 343 | 13,400 13,450 619 431 508
7,450 7,500 257 153 181 | 10,450 10,500 430 269 346 | 13,450 13,500 622 434 511
7,500 7,550 260 154 184 | 10,500 10,550 433 272 349 | 13,500 13,550 625 437 514
7,550 7,600 263 156 187 | 10,550 10,600 436 275 352 | 13,550 13,600 628 440 517
7,600 7,650 265 157 189 | 10,600 10,650 440 277 354 | 13,600 13,650 632 442 519
7,650 7,700 268 159 192 | 10,650 10,700 443 280 357 | 13,650 13,700 635 445 522
7,700 7,750 271 161 195 | 10,700 10,750 446 283 360 | 13,700 13,750 638 448 525
7,750 7,800 274 162 198 | 10,750 10,800 449 286 363 | 13,750 13,800 641 451 528
7,800 7,850 276 164 200 | 10,800 10,850 452 288 365 | 13,800 13,850 644 453 530
7,850 7,900 279 165 203 | 10,850 10,900 456 291 368 | 13,850 13,900 648 456 533
7,900 7,950 282 167 206 | 10,900 10,950 459 294 371 | 13,900 13,950 651 459 536
7,950 8,000 285 169 209 | 10,950 11,000 462 297 374 | 13,950 14,000 654 462 539

8,000 11,000 14,000
8,000 8,050 287 170 211 11,000 11,050 465 299 376 | 14,000 14,050 657 464 541
8,050 8,100 290 172 214 | 11,050 11,100 468 302 379 | 14,050 14,100 660 467 544
8,100 8,150 293 173 217 | 11,100 11,150 472 305 382 | 14,100 14,150 664 470 547
8,150 8,200 296 175 220 | 11,150 11,200 475 308 385 | 14,150 14,200 667 473 550
8,200 8,250 298 177 222 | 11,200 11,250 478 310 387 | 14,200 14,250 670 475 552
8,250 8,300 301 178 225 | 11,250 11,300 481 313 390 | 14,250 14,300 673 478 555
8,300 8,350 304 180 228 | 11,300 11,350 484 316 393 | 14,300 14,350 676 481 558
8,350 8,400 307 181 231 11,350 11,400 488 319 396 | 14,350 14,400 680 484 561
8,400 8,450 309 183 233 | 11,400 11,450 491 321 398 | 14,400 14,450 684 486 564
8,450 8,500 312 185 236 | 11,450 11,500 494 324 401 14,450 14,500 687 489 567
8,500 8,550 315 186 239 | 11,500 11,550 497 327 404 | 14,500 14,550 691 492 570
8,550 8,600 318 188 242 | 11,550 11,600 500 330 407 | 14,550 14,600 694 495 573
8,600 8,650 320 189 244 | 11,600 11,650 504 332 409 | 14,600 14,650 697 497 576
8,650 8,700 323 191 247 | 11,650 11,700 507 335 412 | 14,650 14,700 701 500 580
8,700 8,750 326 193 250 | 11,700 11,750 510 338 415 | 14,700 14,750 704 503 583
8,750 8,800 329 194 253 | 11,750 11,800 513 341 418 | 14,750 14,800 708 506 586
8,800 8,850 331 196 255 | 11,800 11,850 516 343 420 | 14,800 14,850 711 508 589
8,850 8,900 334 197 258 | 11,850 11,900 520 346 423 | 14,850 14,900 714 511 592
8,900 8,950 337 199 261 11,900 11,950 523 349 426 | 14,900 14,950 718 514 596
8,950 9,000 340 201 264 | 11,950 12,000 526 352 429 | 14,950 15,000 721 517 599

9,000 12,000 15,000
9,000 9,050 342 202 266 | 12,000 12,050 529 354 431 15,000 15,050 725 519 602
9,050 9,100 345 204 269 | 12,050 12,100 532 357 434 | 15,050 15,100 728 522 605
9,100 9,150 348 205 272 | 12,100 12,150 536 360 437 | 15,100 15,150 731 525 608
9,150 9,200 351 207 275 | 12,150 12,200 539 363 440 | 15,150 15,200 735 528 612
9,200 9,250 353 209 277 | 12,200 12,250 542 365 442 | 15,200 15,250 738 530 615
9,250 9,300 356 210 280 | 12,250 12,300 545 368 445 | 15,250 15,300 742 533 618
9,300 9,350 359 212 283 | 12,300 12,350 548 371 448 | 15,300 15,350 745 536 621
9,350 9,400 362 213 286 | 12,350 12,400 552 374 451 15,350 15,400 748 539 624
9,400 9,450 364 215 288 | 12,400 12,450 555 376 453 | 15,400 15,450 752 541 628
9,450 9,500 367 217 291 12,450 12,500 558 379 456 | 15,450 15,500 755 544 631
9,500 9,550 370 218 294 | 12,500 12,550 561 382 459 | 15,500 15,550 759 547 634
9,550 9,600 373 220 297 | 12,550 12,600 564 385 462 | 15,550 15,600 762 550 637
9,600 9,650 376 222 299 | 12,600 12,650 568 387 464 | 15,600 15,650 765 552 640
9,650 9,700 379 225 302 | 12,650 12,700 571 390 467 | 15,650 15,700 769 555 644
9,700 9,750 382 228 305 | 12,700 12,750 574 393 470 | 15,700 15,750 772 558 647
9,750 9,800 385 231 308 | 12,750 12,800 577 396 473 | 15,750 15,800 776 561 650
9,800 9,850 388 233 310 | 12,800 12,850 580 398 475 | 15,800 15,850 779 563 653
9,850 9,900 392 236 313 | 12,850 12,900 584 401 478 | 15,850 15,900 782 566 656
9,900 9,950 395 239 316 | 12,900 12,950 587 404 481 15,900 15,950 786 569 660
9,950 10,000 398 242 319 | 12,950 13,000 590 407 484 | 15,950 16,000 789 572 663

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)

Continued on next page
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2013 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
16,000 19,000 22,000
16,000 16,050 793 574 666 | 19,000 19,050 997 739 858 | 22,000 22,050 1,211 930 1,051
16,050 16,100 796 577 669 | 19,050 19,100 1,000 742 861 | 22,050 22,100 1,215 933 1,054
16,100 16,150 799 580 672 | 19,100 19,150 1,003 745 864 | 22,100 22,150 1,219 936 1,058
16,150 16,200 803 583 676 | 19,150 19,200 1,007 748 868 | 22,150 22,200 1,222 939 1,061
16,200 16,250 806 585 679 | 19,200 19,250 1,010 751 871 | 22,200 22,250 1,226 943 1,065
16,250 16,300 810 588 682 | 19,250 19,300 1,013 754 874 | 22,250 22,300 1,229 946 1,068
16,300 16,350 813 591 685 | 19,300 19,350 1,017 757 877 | 22,300 22,350 1,233 949 1,071
16,350 16,400 816 594 688 | 19,350 19,400 1,021 760 880 | 22,350 22,400 1,237 952 1,075
16,400 16,450 820 596 692 | 19,400 19,450 1,024 763 884 | 22,400 22,450 1,240 955 1,078
16,450 16,500 823 599 695 | 19,450 19,500 1,028 767 887 | 22,450 22,500 1,244 959 1,082
16,500 16,550 827 602 698 | 19,500 19,550 1,031 770 890 | 22,500 22,550 1,247 962 1,085
16,550 16,600 830 605 701 | 19,550 19,600 1,035 773 893 | 22,550 22,600 1,251 965 1,088
16,600 16,650 833 607 704 | 19,600 19,650 1,039 776 896 | 22,600 22,650 1,255 968 1,092
16,650 16,700 837 610 708 | 19,650 19,700 1,042 779 900 | 22,650 22,700 1,258 971 1,095
16,700 16,750 840 613 711 | 19,700 19,750 1,046 783 903 | 22,700 22,750 1,262 975 1,099
16,750 16,800 844 616 714 | 19,750 19,800 1,049 786 906 | 22,750 22,800 1,265 978 1,102
16,800 16,850 847 618 717 | 19,800 19,850 1,053 789 909 | 22,800 22,850 1,269 981 1,105
16,850 16,900 850 621 720 | 19,850 19,900 1,057 792 912 | 22,850 22,900 1,273 984 1,109
16,900 16,950 854 624 724 | 19,900 19,950 1,060 795 916 | 22,900 22,950 1,276 987 1,112
16,950 17,000 857 627 727 | 19,950 20,000 1,064 799 919 | 22,950 23,000 1,280 991 1,116
17,000 20,000 23,000
17,000 17,050 861 629 730 | 20,000 20,050 1,067 802 922 | 23,000 23,050 1,283 994 1,119
17,050 17,100 864 632 733 | 20,050 20,100 1,071 805 925 | 23,050 23,100 1,287 997 1,122
17,100 17,150 867 635 736 | 20,100 20,150 1,075 808 928 | 23,100 23,150 1,291 1,000 1,126
17,150 17,200 871 638 740 | 20,150 20,200 1,078 811 932 | 23,150 23,200 1,294 1,003 1,129
17,200 17,250 874 640 743 | 20,200 20,250 1,082 815 935 | 23,200 23,250 1,298 1,007 1,133
17,250 17,300 878 643 746 | 20,250 20,300 1,085 818 938 | 23,250 23,300 1,301 1,010 1,136
17,300 17,350 881 646 749 | 20,300 20,350 1,089 821 941 23,300 23,350 1,305 1,013 1,139
17,350 17,400 884 649 752 | 20,350 20,400 1,093 824 944 | 23,350 23,400 1,309 1,016 1,143
17,400 17,450 888 651 756 | 20,400 20,450 1,096 827 948 | 23,400 23,450 1,312 1,019 1,146
17,450 17,500 891 654 759 | 20,450 20,500 1,100 831 951 23,450 23,500 1,316 1,023 1,150
17,500 17,550 895 657 762 | 20,500 20,550 1,103 834 954 | 23,500 23,550 1,319 1,026 1,153
17,550 17,600 898 660 765 | 20,550 20,600 1,107 837 957 | 23,550 23,600 1,323 1,029 1,156
17,600 17,650 901 662 768 | 20,600 20,650 1,111 840 960 | 23,600 23,650 1,327 1,032 1,160
17,650 17,700 905 665 772 | 20,650 20,700 1,114 843 964 | 23,650 23,700 1,330 1,035 1,163
17,700 17,750 908 668 775 | 20,700 20,750 1,118 847 967 | 23,700 23,750 1,334 1,039 1,167
17,750 17,800 912 671 778 | 20,750 20,800 1,121 850 970 | 23,750 23,800 1,337 1,042 1,170
17,800 17,850 915 673 781 20,800 20,850 1,125 853 973 | 23,800 23,850 1,341 1,045 1,173
17,850 17,900 918 676 784 | 20,850 20,900 1,129 856 976 | 23,850 23,900 1,345 1,048 1,177
17,900 17,950 922 679 788 | 20,900 20,950 1,132 859 980 | 23,900 23,950 1,348 1,051 1,180
17,950 18,000 925 682 791 20,950 21,000 1,136 863 983 | 23,950 24,000 1,352 1,055 1,184
18,000 21,000 24,000
18,000 18,050 929 684 794 | 21,000 21,050 1,139 866 986 | 24,000 24,050 1,356 1,058 1,187
18,050 18,100 932 687 797 | 21,050 21,100 1,143 869 989 | 24,050 24,100 1,360 1,061 1,190
18,100 18,150 935 690 800 | 21,100 21,150 1,147 872 992 | 24,100 24,150 1,364 1,064 1,194
18,150 18,200 939 693 804 | 21,150 21,200 1,150 875 996 | 24,150 24,200 1,367 1,067 1,197
18,200 18,250 942 695 807 | 21,200 21,250 1,154 879 999 | 24,200 24,250 1,371 1,071 1,201
18,250 18,300 946 698 810 | 21,250 21,300 1,157 882 1,002 | 24,250 24,300 1,375 1,074 1,204
18,300 18,350 949 701 813 | 21,300 21,350 1,161 885 1,005 | 24,300 24,350 1,379 1,077 1,207
18,350 18,400 952 704 816 | 21,350 21,400 1,165 888 1,008 | 24,350 24,400 1,383 1,080 1,211
18,400 18,450 956 706 820 | 21,400 21,450 1,168 891 1,012 | 24,400 24,450 1,386 1,083 1,214
18,450 18,500 959 709 823 | 21,450 21,500 1,172 895 1,015 | 24,450 24,500 1,390 1,087 1,218
18,500 18,550 963 712 826 | 21,500 21,550 1,175 898 1,018 | 24,500 24,550 1,394 1,090 1,221
18,550 18,600 966 715 829 | 21,550 21,600 1,179 901 1,021 24,550 24,600 1,398 1,093 1,224
18,600 18,650 969 717 832 | 21,600 21,650 1,183 904 1,024 | 24,600 24,650 1,402 1,096 1,228
18,650 18,700 973 720 836 | 21,650 21,700 1,186 907 1,027 | 24,650 24,700 1,405 1,099 1,231
18,700 18,750 976 723 839 | 21,700 21,750 1,190 911 1,031 24,700 24,750 1,409 1,103 1,235
18,750 18,800 980 726 842 | 21,750 21,800 1,193 914 1,034 | 24,750 24,800 1,413 1,106 1,238
18,800 18,850 983 728 845 | 21,800 21,850 1,197 917 1,037 | 24,800 24,850 1,417 1,109 1,241
18,850 18,900 986 731 848 | 21,850 21,900 1,201 920 1,041 24,850 24,900 1,421 1,112 1,245
18,900 18,950 990 734 852 | 21,900 21,950 1,204 923 1,044 | 24,900 24,950 1,424 1,115 1,248
18,950 19,000 993 737 855 | 21,950 22,000 1,208 927 1,048 | 24,950 25,000 1,428 1,119 1,252

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)

Continued on next page

Page 28



2013 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
25,000 28,000 31,000
25,000 25,050 1,432 1,122 1,255 | 28,000 28,050 1,660 1,314 1,459 | 31,000 31,050 1,888 1,514 1,672
25,050 25,100 1,436 1,125 1,258 | 28,050 28,100 1,664 1,317 1,462 | 31,050 31,100 1,892 1,518 1,676
25,100 25,150 1,440 1,128 1,262 | 28,100 28,150 1,668 1,320 1,466 | 31,100 31,150 1,896 1,521 1,679
25,150 25,200 1,443 1,131 1,265 | 28,150 28,200 1,671 1,323 1,469 | 31,150 31,200 1,899 1,525 1,683
25,200 25,250 1,447 1,135 1,269 | 28,200 28,250 1,675 1,327 1,473 | 31,200 31,250 1,903 1,528 1,687
25,250 25,300 1,451 1,138 1,272 | 28,250 28,300 1,679 1,330 1,476 | 31,250 31,300 1,907 1,531 1,690
25,300 25,350 1,455 1,141 1,275 | 28,300 28,350 1,683 1,333 1,479 | 31,300 31,350 1,911 1,535 1,694
25,350 25,400 1,459 1,144 1,279 | 28,350 28,400 1,687 1,336 1,483 | 31,350 31,400 1,915 1,538 1,697
25,400 25,450 1,462 1,147 1,282 | 28,400 28,450 1,690 1,339 1,486 | 31,400 31,450 1,918 1,542 1,701
25,450 25,500 1,466 1,151 1,286 | 28,450 28,500 1,694 1,343 1,490 | 31,450 31,500 1,922 1,545 1,705
25,500 25,550 1,470 1,154 1,289 | 28,500 28,550 1,698 1,346 1,493 | 31,500 31,550 1,926 1,548 1,708
25,550 25,600 1,474 1,157 1,292 | 28,550 28,600 1,702 1,349 1,496 | 31,550 31,600 1,930 1,552 1,712
25,600 25,650 1,478 1,160 1,296 | 28,600 28,650 1,706 1,352 1,500 | 31,600 31,650 1,934 1,555 1,715
25,650 25,700 1,481 1,163 1,299 | 28,650 28,700 1,709 1,355 1,503 | 31,650 31,700 1,937 1,559 1,719
25,700 25,750 1,485 1,167 1,303 | 28,700 28,750 1,713 1,359 1,507 | 31,700 31,750 1,941 1,562 1,723
25,750 25,800 1,489 1,170 1,306 | 28,750 28,800 1,717 1,362 1,510 | 31,750 31,800 1,945 1,565 1,726
25,800 25,850 1,493 1,173 1,309 | 28,800 28,850 1,721 1,365 1,514 | 31,800 31,850 1,949 1,569 1,730
25,850 25,900 1,497 1,176 1,313 | 28,850 28,900 1,725 1,368 1,517 | 31,850 31,900 1,953 1,572 1,733
25,900 25,950 1,500 1,179 1,316 | 28,900 28,950 1,728 1,372 1,521 | 31,900 31,950 1,956 1,576 1,737
25,950 26,000 1,504 1,183 1,320 | 28,950 29,000 1,732 1,375 1,525 | 31,950 32,000 1,960 1,579 1,741
26,000 29,000 32,000
26,000 26,050 1,508 1,186 1,323 | 29,000 29,050 1,736 1,378 1,528 | 32,000 32,050 1,964 1,582 1,744
26,050 26,100 1,512 1,189 1,326 | 29,050 29,100 1,740 1,382 1,532 | 32,050 32,100 1,968 1,586 1,748
26,100 26,150 1,516 1,192 1,330 | 29,100 29,150 1,744 1,385 1,535 | 32,100 32,150 1,972 1,589 1,751
26,150 26,200 1,519 1,195 1,333 | 29,150 29,200 1,747 1,389 1,539 | 32,150 32,200 1,975 1,593 1,755
26,200 26,250 1,523 1,199 1,337 | 29,200 29,250 1,751 1,392 1,543 | 32,200 32,250 1,979 1,596 1,759
26,250 26,300 1,527 1,202 1,340 | 29,250 29,300 1,755 1,395 1,546 | 32,250 32,300 1,983 1,599 1,762
26,300 26,350 1,531 1,205 1,343 | 29,300 29,350 1,759 1,399 1,550 | 32,300 32,350 1,987 1,603 1,766
26,350 26,400 1,535 1,208 1,347 | 29,350 29,400 1,763 1,402 1,553 | 32,350 32,400 1,991 1,606 1,769
26,400 26,450 1,538 1,211 1,350 | 29,400 29,450 1,766 1,406 1,557 | 32,400 32,450 1,994 1,610 1,773
26,450 26,500 1,542 1,215 1,354 | 29,450 29,500 1,770 1,409 1,561 32,450 32,500 1,998 1,613 1,777
26,500 26,550 1,546 1,218 1,357 | 29,500 29,550 1,774 1,412 1,564 | 32,500 32,550 2,002 1,616 1,780
26,550 26,600 1,550 1,221 1,360 | 29,550 29,600 1,778 1,416 1,568 | 32,550 32,600 2,006 1,620 1,784
26,600 26,650 1,554 1,224 1,364 | 29,600 29,650 1,782 1,419 1,571 32,600 32,650 2,010 1,623 1,787
26,650 26,700 1,557 1,227 1,367 | 29,650 29,700 1,785 1,423 1,575 | 32,650 32,700 2,013 1,627 1,791
26,700 26,750 1,561 1,231 1,371 29,700 29,750 1,789 1,426 1,579 | 32,700 32,750 2,017 1,630 1,795
26,750 26,800 1,565 1,234 1,374 | 29,750 29,800 1,793 1,429 1,582 | 32,750 32,800 2,021 1,633 1,798
26,800 26,850 1,569 1,237 1,377 | 29,800 29,850 1,797 1,433 1,586 | 32,800 32,850 2,025 1,637 1,802
26,850 26,900 1,573 1,240 1,381 29,850 29,900 1,801 1,436 1,589 | 32,850 32,900 2,029 1,640 1,805
26,900 26,950 1,576 1,243 1,384 | 29,900 29,950 1,804 1,440 1,593 | 32,900 32,950 2,032 1,644 1,809
26,950 27,000 1,580 1,247 1,388 | 29,950 30,000 1,808 1,443 1,597 | 32,950 33,000 2,036 1,647 1,813
27,000 30,000 33,000
27,000 27,050 1,584 1,250 1,391 30,000 30,050 1,812 1,446 1,600 | 33,000 33,050 2,040 1,650 1,816
27,050 27,100 1,588 1,253 1,394 | 30,050 30,100 1,816 1,450 1,604 | 33,050 33,100 2,044 1,654 1,820
27,100 27,150 1,592 1,256 1,398 | 30,100 30,150 1,820 1,453 1,607 | 33,100 33,150 2,048 1,657 1,823
27,150 27,200 1,595 1,259 1,401 30,150 30,200 1,823 1,457 1,611 33,150 33,200 2,051 1,661 1,827
27,200 27,250 1,599 1,263 1,405 | 30,200 30,250 1,827 1,460 1,615 | 33,200 33,250 2,055 1,664 1,831
27,250 27,300 1,603 1,266 1,408 | 30,250 30,300 1,831 1,463 1,618 | 33,250 33,300 2,059 1,667 1,834
27,300 27,350 1,607 1,269 1,411 30,300 30,350 1,835 1,467 1,622 | 33,300 33,350 2,063 1,671 1,838
27,350 27,400 1,611 1,272 1,415 | 30,350 30,400 1,839 1,470 1,625 | 33,350 33,400 2,067 1,674 1,841
27,400 27,450 1,614 1,275 1,418 | 30,400 30,450 1,842 1,474 1,629 | 33,400 33,450 2,070 1,678 1,845
27,450 27,500 1,618 1,279 1,422 | 30,450 30,500 1,846 1,477 1,633 | 33,450 33,500 2,074 1,681 1,849
27,500 27,550 1,622 1,282 1,425 | 30,500 30,550 1,850 1,480 1,636 | 33,500 33,550 2,078 1,684 1,852
27,550 27,600 1,626 1,285 1,428 | 30,550 30,600 1,854 1,484 1,640 | 33,550 33,600 2,082 1,688 1,856
27,600 27,650 1,630 1,288 1,432 | 30,600 30,650 1,858 1,487 1,643 | 33,600 33,650 2,086 1,691 1,859
27,650 27,700 1,633 1,291 1,435 | 30,650 30,700 1,861 1,491 1,647 | 33,650 33,700 2,089 1,695 1,863
27,700 27,750 1,637 1,295 1,439 | 30,700 30,750 1,865 1,494 1,651 33,700 33,750 2,093 1,698 1,867
27,750 27,800 1,641 1,298 1,442 | 30,750 30,800 1,869 1,497 1,654 | 33,750 33,800 2,097 1,701 1,870
27,800 27,850 1,645 1,301 1,445 | 30,800 30,850 1,873 1,501 1,658 | 33,800 33,850 2,101 1,705 1,874
27,850 27,900 1,649 1,304 1,449 | 30,850 30,900 1,877 1,504 1,661 33,850 33,900 2,105 1,708 1,877
27,900 27,950 1,652 1,307 1,452 | 30,900 30,950 1,880 1,508 1,665 | 33,900 33,950 2,108 1,712 1,881
27,950 28,000 1,656 1,311 1,456 | 30,950 31,000 1,884 1,511 1,669 | 33,950 34,000 2,112 1,715 1,885

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
34,000 37,000 40,000
34,000 34,050 2,116 1,718 1,888 | 37,000 37,050 2,347 1,922 2,108 | 40,000 40,050 2,584 2,133 2,336
34,050 34,100 2,120 1,722 1,892 | 37,050 37,100 2,351 1,926 2,112 | 40,050 40,100 2,588 2,137 2,340
34,100 34,150 2,124 1,725 1,895 | 37,100 37,150 2,355 1,929 2,116 | 40,100 40,150 2,592 2,140 2,344
34,150 34,200 2,127 1,729 1,899 | 37,150 37,200 2,359 1,933 2,119 | 40,150 40,200 2,596 2,144 2,347
34,200 34,250 2,131 1,732 1,903 | 37,200 37,250 2,363 1,936 2,123 | 40,200 40,250 2,600 2,147 2,351
34,250 34,300 2,135 1,735 1,906 | 37,250 37,300 2,367 1,939 2,127 | 40,250 40,300 2,604 2,151 2,355
34,300 34,350 2,139 1,739 1,910 | 37,300 37,350 2,371 1,943 2,131 | 40,300 40,350 2,608 2,155 2,359
34,350 34,400 2,143 1,742 1,913 | 37,350 37,400 2,375 1,946 2,135 | 40,350 40,400 2,612 2,158 2,363
34,400 34,450 2,146 1,746 1,917 | 37,400 37,450 2,379 1,950 2,138 | 40,400 40,450 2,616 2,162 2,366
34,450 34,500 2,150 1,749 1,921 | 37,450 37,500 2,383 1,953 2,142 | 40,450 40,500 2,620 2,165 2,370
34,500 34,550 2,154 1,752 1,924 | 37,500 37,550 2,386 1,956 2,146 | 40,500 40,550 2,623 2,169 2,374
34,550 34,600 2,158 1,756 1,928 | 37,550 37,600 2,390 1,960 2,150 | 40,550 40,600 2,627 2,173 2,378
34,600 34,650 2,162 1,759 1,931 | 37,600 37,650 2,394 1,963 2,154 | 40,600 40,650 2,631 2,176 2,382
34,650 34,700 2,165 1,763 1,935 | 37,650 37,700 2,398 1,967 2,157 | 40,650 40,700 2,635 2,180 2,385
34,700 34,750 2,169 1,766 1,939 | 37,700 37,750 2,402 1,970 2,161 | 40,700 40,750 2,639 2,183 2,389
34,750 34,800 2,173 1,769 1,942 | 37,750 37,800 2,406 1,973 2,165 | 40,750 40,800 2,643 2,187 2,393
34,800 34,850 2,177 1,773 1,946 | 37,800 37,850 2,410 1,977 2,169 | 40,800 40,850 2,647 2,191 2,397
34,850 34,900 2,181 1,776 1,949 | 37,850 37,900 2,414 1,980 2,173 | 40,850 40,900 2,651 2,194 2,401
34,900 34,950 2,184 1,780 1,953 | 37,900 37,950 2,418 1,984 2,176 | 40,900 40,950 2,655 2,198 2,404
34,950 35,000 2,188 1,783 1,957 | 37,950 38,000 2,422 1,987 2,180 | 40,950 41,000 2,659 2,201 2,408
35,000 38,000 41,000
35,000 35,050 2,192 1,786 1,960 | 38,000 38,050 2,426 1,990 2,184 | 41,000 41,050 2,663 2,205 2,412
35,050 35,100 2,196 1,790 1,964 | 38,050 38,100 2,430 1,994 2,188 | 41,050 41,100 2,667 2,209 2,416
35,100 35,150 2,200 1,793 1,967 | 38,100 38,150 2,434 1,997 2,192 | 41,100 41,150 2,671 2,212 2,420
35,150 35,200 2,203 1,797 1,971 38,150 38,200 2,438 2,001 2,195 | 41,150 41,200 2,675 2,216 2,423
35,200 35,250 2,207 1,800 1,975 | 38,200 38,250 2,442 2,004 2,199 | 41,200 41,250 2,679 2,219 2,427
35,250 35,300 2,211 1,803 1,978 | 38,250 38,300 2,446 2,007 2,203 | 41,250 41,300 2,683 2,223 2,431
35,300 35,350 2,215 1,807 1,982 | 38,300 38,350 2,450 2,011 2,207 | 41,300 41,350 2,687 2,227 2,435
35,350 35,400 2,219 1,810 1,985 | 38,350 38,400 2,454 2,014 2,211 41,350 41,400 2,691 2,230 2,439
35,400 35,450 2,222 1,814 1,989 | 38,400 38,450 2,458 2,018 2,214 | 41,400 41,450 2,695 2,234 2,442
35,450 35,500 2,226 1,817 1,993 | 38,450 38,500 2,462 2,021 2,218 | 41,450 41,500 2,699 2,237 2,446
35,500 35,550 2,230 1,820 1,996 | 38,500 38,550 2,465 2,025 2,222 | 41,500 41,550 2,702 2,241 2,450
35,550 35,600 2,234 1,824 2,000 | 38,550 38,600 2,469 2,029 2,226 | 41,550 41,600 2,706 2,245 2,454
35,600 35,650 2,238 1,827 2,003 | 38,600 38,650 2,473 2,032 2,230 | 41,600 41,650 2,710 2,248 2,458
35,650 35,700 2,241 1,831 2,007 | 38,650 38,700 2,477 2,036 2,233 | 41,650 41,700 2,714 2,252 2,461
35,700 35,750 2,245 1,834 2,011 38,700 38,750 2,481 2,039 2,237 | 41,700 41,750 2,718 2,255 2,465
35,750 35,800 2,249 1,837 2,014 | 38,750 38,800 2,485 2,043 2,241 41,750 41,800 2,722 2,259 2,469
35,800 35,850 2,253 1,841 2,018 | 38,800 38,850 2,489 2,047 2,245 | 41,800 41,850 2,726 2,263 2,473
35,850 35,900 2,257 1,844 2,021 38,850 38,900 2,493 2,050 2,249 | 41,850 41,900 2,730 2,266 2,477
35,900 35,950 2,260 1,848 2,025 | 38,900 38,950 2,497 2,054 2,252 | 41,900 41,950 2,734 2,270 2,480
35,950 36,000 2,264 1,851 2,029 | 38,950 39,000 2,501 2,057 2,256 | 41,950 42,000 2,738 2,273 2,484
36,000 39,000 42,000
36,000 36,050 2,268 1,854 2,032 | 39,000 39,050 2,505 2,061 2,260 | 42,000 42,050 2,742 2,277 2,488
36,050 36,100 2,272 1,858 2,036 | 39,050 39,100 2,509 2,065 2,264 | 42,050 42,100 2,746 2,281 2,492
36,100 36,150 2,276 1,861 2,040 | 39,100 39,150 2,513 2,068 2,268 | 42,100 42,150 2,750 2,284 2,496
36,150 36,200 2,280 1,865 2,043 | 39,150 39,200 2,517 2,072 2,271 42,150 42,200 2,754 2,288 2,499
36,200 36,250 2,284 1,868 2,047 | 39,200 39,250 2,521 2,075 2,275 | 42,200 42,250 2,758 2,291 2,503
36,250 36,300 2,288 1,871 2,051 39,250 39,300 2,525 2,079 2,279 | 42,250 42,300 2,762 2,295 2,507
36,300 36,350 2,292 1,875 2,055 | 39,300 39,350 2,529 2,083 2,283 | 42,300 42,350 2,766 2,299 2,511
36,350 36,400 2,296 1,878 2,059 | 39,350 39,400 2,533 2,086 2,287 | 42,350 42,400 2,770 2,302 2,515
36,400 36,450 2,300 1,882 2,062 | 39,400 39,450 2,537 2,090 2,290 | 42,400 42,450 2,774 2,306 2,518
36,450 36,500 2,304 1,885 2,066 | 39,450 39,500 2,541 2,093 2,294 | 42,450 42,500 2,778 2,309 2,522
36,500 36,550 2,307 1,888 2,070 | 39,500 39,550 2,544 2,097 2,298 | 42,500 42,550 2,781 2,313 2,526
36,550 36,600 2,311 1,892 2,074 | 39,550 39,600 2,548 2,101 2,302 | 42,550 42,600 2,785 2,317 2,530
36,600 36,650 2,315 1,895 2,078 | 39,600 39,650 2,552 2,104 2,306 | 42,600 42,650 2,789 2,320 2,534
36,650 36,700 2,319 1,899 2,081 39,650 39,700 2,556 2,108 2,309 | 42,650 42,700 2,793 2,324 2,537
36,700 36,750 2,323 1,902 2,085 | 39,700 39,750 2,560 2,111 2,313 | 42,700 42,750 2,797 2,327 2,541
36,750 36,800 2,327 1,905 2,089 | 39,750 39,800 2,564 2,115 2,317 | 42,750 42,800 2,801 2,331 2,545
36,800 36,850 2,331 1,909 2,093 | 39,800 39,850 2,568 2,119 2,321 42,800 42,850 2,805 2,335 2,549
36,850 36,900 2,335 1,912 2,097 | 39,850 39,900 2,572 2,122 2,325 | 42,850 42,900 2,809 2,338 2,553
36,900 36,950 2,339 1,916 2,100 | 39,900 39,950 2,576 2,126 2,328 | 42,900 42,950 2,813 2,342 2,556
36,950 37,000 2,343 1,919 2,104 | 39,950 40,000 2,580 2,129 2,332 | 42,950 43,000 2,817 2,345 2,560

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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2013 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
43,000 46,000 49,000
43,000 43,050 2,821 2,349 2,564 | 46,000 46,050 3,058 2,565 2,792 | 49,000 49,050 3,299 2,785 3,020
43,050 43,100 2,825 2,353 2,568 | 46,050 46,100 3,062 2,569 2,796 | 49,050 49,100 3,303 2,789 3,024
43,100 43,150 2,829 2,356 2,572 | 46,100 46,150 3,066 2,572 2,800 | 49,100 49,150 3,307 2,793 3,028
43,150 43,200 2,833 2,360 2,575 | 46,150 46,200 3,070 2,576 2,803 | 49,150 49,200 3,311 2,796 3,031
43,200 43,250 2,837 2,363 2,579 | 46,200 46,250 3,074 2,579 2,807 | 49,200 49,250 3,315 2,800 3,035
43,250 43,300 2,841 2,367 2,583 | 46,250 46,300 3,078 2,583 2,811 | 49,250 49,300 3,319 2,804 3,039
43,300 43,350 2,845 2,371 2,587 | 46,300 46,350 3,082 2,587 2,815 | 49,300 49,350 3,323 2,808 3,043
43,350 43,400 2,849 2,374 2,591 | 46,350 46,400 3,086 2,590 2,819 | 49,350 49,400 3,327 2,812 3,047
43,400 43,450 2,853 2,378 2,594 | 46,400 46,450 3,090 2,594 2,822 | 49,400 49,450 3,332 2,815 3,050
43,450 43,500 2,857 2,381 2,598 | 46,450 46,500 3,094 2,597 2,826 | 49,450 49,500 3,336 2,819 3,054
43,500 43,550 2,860 2,385 2,602 | 46,500 46,550 3,097 2,601 2,830 | 49,500 49,550 3,340 2,823 3,058
43,550 43,600 2,864 2,389 2,606 | 46,550 46,600 3,101 2,605 2,834 | 49,550 49,600 3,344 2,827 3,062
43,600 43,650 2,868 2,392 2,610 | 46,600 46,650 3,105 2,608 2,838 | 49,600 49,650 3,348 2,831 3,066
43,650 43,700 2,872 2,396 2,613 | 46,650 46,700 3,109 2,612 2,841 | 49,650 49,700 3,352 2,834 3,069
43,700 43,750 2,876 2,399 2,617 | 46,700 46,750 3,113 2,615 2,845 | 49,700 49,750 3,356 2,838 3,073
43,750 43,800 2,880 2,403 2,621 | 46,750 46,800 3,117 2,619 2,849 | 49,750 49,800 3,360 2,842 3,077
43,800 43,850 2,884 2,407 2,625 | 46,800 46,850 3,121 2,623 2,853 | 49,800 49,850 3,365 2,846 3,081
43,850 43,900 2,888 2,410 2,629 | 46,850 46,900 3,125 2,626 2,857 | 49,850 49,900 3,369 2,850 3,085
43,900 43,950 2,892 2,414 2,632 | 46,900 46,950 3,129 2,630 2,860 | 49,900 49,950 3,373 2,853 3,088
43,950 44,000 2,896 2,417 2,636 | 46,950 47,000 3,133 2,633 2,864 | 49,950 50,000 3,377 2,857 3,092
44,000 47,000 50,000
44,000 44,050 2,900 2,421 2,640 | 47,000 47,050 3,137 2,637 2,868 | 50,000 50,050 3,381 2,861 3,096
44,050 44,100 2,904 2,425 2,644 | 47,050 47,100 3,141 2,641 2,872 | 50,050 50,100 3,385 2,865 3,100
44,100 44,150 2,908 2,428 2,648 | 47,100 47,150 3,145 2,644 2,876 | 50,100 50,150 3,389 2,869 3,104
44,150 44,200 2,912 2,432 2,651 47,150 47,200 3,149 2,648 2,879 | 50,150 50,200 3,393 2,872 3,107
44,200 44,250 2,916 2,435 2,655 | 47,200 47,250 3,153 2,651 2,883 | 50,200 50,250 3,398 2,876 3,111
44,250 44,300 2,920 2,439 2,659 | 47,250 47,300 3,157 2,655 2,887 | 50,250 50,300 3,402 2,880 3,115
44,300 44,350 2,924 2,443 2,663 | 47,300 47,350 3,161 2,659 2,891 50,300 50,350 3,406 2,884 3,119
44,350 44,400 2,928 2,446 2,667 | 47,350 47,400 3,165 2,662 2,895 | 50,350 50,400 3,410 2,888 3,123
44,400 44,450 2,932 2,450 2,670 | 47,400 47,450 3,169 2,666 2,898 | 50,400 50,450 3,414 2,891 3,126
44,450 44,500 2,936 2,453 2,674 | 47,450 47,500 3,173 2,669 2,902 | 50,450 50,500 3,418 2,895 3,130
44,500 44,550 2,939 2,457 2,678 | 47,500 47,550 3,176 2,673 2,906 | 50,500 50,550 3,422 2,899 3,134
44,550 44,600 2,943 2,461 2,682 | 47,550 47,600 3,180 2,677 2,910 | 50,550 50,600 3,426 2,903 3,138
44,600 44,650 2,947 2,464 2,686 | 47,600 47,650 3,184 2,680 2,914 | 50,600 50,650 3,431 2,907 3,142
44,650 44,700 2,951 2,468 2,689 | 47,650 47,700 3,188 2,684 2,917 | 50,650 50,700 3,435 2,910 3,145
44,700 44,750 2,955 2,471 2,693 | 47,700 47,750 3,192 2,687 2,921 50,700 50,750 3,439 2,914 3,149
44,750 44,800 2,959 2,475 2,697 | 47,750 47,800 3,196 2,691 2,925 | 50,750 50,800 3,443 2,918 3,153
44,800 44,850 2,963 2,479 2,701 47,800 47,850 3,200 2,695 2,929 | 50,800 50,850 3,447 2,922 3,157
44,850 44,900 2,967 2,482 2,705 | 47,850 47,900 3,204 2,698 2,933 | 50,850 50,900 3,451 2,926 3,161
44,900 44,950 2,971 2,486 2,708 | 47,900 47,950 3,208 2,702 2,936 | 50,900 50,950 3,455 2,929 3,164
44,950 45,000 2,975 2,489 2,712 | 47,950 48,000 3,212 2,705 2,940 | 50,950 51,000 3,459 2,933 3,168
45,000 48,000 51,000
45,000 45,050 2,979 2,493 2,716 | 48,000 48,050 3,216 2,709 2,944 | 51,000 51,050 3,464 2,937 3,172
45,050 45,100 2,983 2,497 2,720 | 48,050 48,100 3,220 2,713 2,948 | 51,050 51,100 3,468 2,941 3,176
45,100 45,150 2,987 2,500 2,724 | 48,100 48,150 3,224 2,717 2,952 | 51,100 51,150 3,472 2,945 3,180
45,150 45,200 2,991 2,504 2,727 | 48,150 48,200 3,228 2,720 2,955 | 51,150 51,200 3,476 2,948 3,183
45,200 45,250 2,995 2,507 2,731 48,200 48,250 3,233 2,724 2,959 | 51,200 51,250 3,480 2,952 3,187
45,250 45,300 2,999 2,511 2,735 | 48,250 48,300 3,237 2,728 2,963 | 51,250 51,300 3,484 2,956 3,191
45,300 45,350 3,003 2,515 2,739 | 48,300 48,350 3,241 2,732 2,967 | 51,300 51,350 3,488 2,960 3,195
45,350 45,400 3,007 2,518 2,743 | 48,350 48,400 3,245 2,736 2,971 51,350 51,400 3,492 2,964 3,199
45,400 45,450 3,011 2,522 2,746 | 48,400 48,450 3,249 2,739 2,974 | 51,400 51,450 3,497 2,967 3,202
45,450 45,500 3,015 2,525 2,750 | 48,450 48,500 3,253 2,743 2,978 | 51,450 51,500 3,501 2,971 3,206
45,500 45,550 3,018 2,529 2,754 | 48,500 48,550 3,257 2,747 2,982 | 51,500 51,550 3,505 2,975 3,210
45,550 45,600 3,022 2,533 2,758 | 48,550 48,600 3,261 2,751 2,986 | 51,550 51,600 3,509 2,979 3,214
45,600 45,650 3,026 2,536 2,762 | 48,600 48,650 3,266 2,755 2,990 | 51,600 51,650 3,513 2,983 3,218
45,650 45,700 3,030 2,540 2,765 | 48,650 48,700 3,270 2,758 2,993 | 51,650 51,700 3,517 2,986 3,221
45,700 45,750 3,034 2,543 2,769 | 48,700 48,750 3,274 2,762 2,997 | 51,700 51,750 3,521 2,990 3,225
45,750 45,800 3,038 2,547 2,773 | 48,750 48,800 3,278 2,766 3,001 51,750 51,800 3,525 2,994 3,229
45,800 45,850 3,042 2,551 2,777 | 48,800 48,850 3,282 2,770 3,005 | 51,800 51,850 3,530 2,998 3,233
45,850 45,900 3,046 2,554 2,781 48,850 48,900 3,286 2,774 3,009 | 51,850 51,900 3,534 3,002 3,237
45,900 45,950 3,050 2,558 2,784 | 48,900 48,950 3,290 2,777 3,012 | 51,900 51,950 3,538 3,005 3,240
45,950 46,000 3,054 2,561 2,788 | 48,950 49,000 3,294 2,781 3,016 | 51,950 52,000 3,542 3,009 3,244

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
52,000 55,000 58,000
52,000 52,050 3,546 3,013 3,248 | 55,000 55,050 3,794 3,241 3,479 | 58,000 58,050 4,041 3,469 3,716
52,050 52,100 3,550 3,017 3,252 | 55,050 55,100 3,798 3,245 3,483 | 58,050 58,100 4,045 3,473 3,720
52,100 52,150 3,554 3,021 3,256 | 55,100 55,150 3,802 3,249 3,487 | 58,100 58,150 4,049 3,477 3,724
52,150 52,200 3,558 3,024 3,259 | 55,150 55,200 3,806 3,252 3,491 | 58,150 58,200 4,053 3,480 3,728
52,200 52,250 3,563 3,028 3,263 | 55,200 55,250 3,810 3,256 3,495 | 58,200 58,250 4,058 3,484 3,732
52,250 52,300 3,567 3,032 3,267 | 55,250 55,300 3,814 3,260 3,499 | 58,250 58,300 4,062 3,488 3,736
52,300 52,350 3,571 3,036 3,271 | 55,300 55,350 3,818 3,264 3,503 | 58,300 58,350 4,066 3,492 3,740
52,350 52,400 3,575 3,040 3,275 | 55,350 55,400 3,822 3,268 3,507 | 58,350 58,400 4,070 3,496 3,744
52,400 52,450 3,579 3,043 3,278 | 55,400 55,450 3,827 3,271 3,511 | 58,400 58,450 4,074 3,499 3,748
52,450 52,500 3,583 3,047 3,282 | 55,450 55,500 3,831 3,275 3,515 | 58,450 58,500 4,078 3,503 3,752
52,500 52,550 3,587 3,051 3,286 | 55,500 55,550 3,835 3,279 3,518 | 58,500 58,550 4,082 3,507 3,755
52,550 52,600 3,591 3,055 3,290 | 55,550 55,600 3,839 3,283 3,522 | 58,550 58,600 4,086 3,511 3,759
52,600 52,650 3,596 3,059 3,294 | 55,600 55,650 3,843 3,287 3,526 | 58,600 58,650 4,091 3,515 3,763
52,650 52,700 3,600 3,062 3,297 | 55,650 55,700 3,847 3,290 3,530 | 58,650 58,700 4,095 3,518 3,767
52,700 52,750 3,604 3,066 3,301 | 55,700 55,750 3,851 3,294 3,534 | 58,700 58,750 4,099 3,522 3,771
52,750 52,800 3,608 3,070 3,305 | 55,750 55,800 3,855 3,298 3,538 | 58,750 58,800 4,103 3,526 3,775
52,800 52,850 3,612 3,074 3,309 | 55,800 55,850 3,860 3,302 3,542 | 58,800 58,850 4,107 3,530 3,779
52,850 52,900 3,616 3,078 3,313 | 55,850 55,900 3,864 3,306 3,546 | 58,850 58,900 4111 3,534 3,783
52,900 52,950 3,620 3,081 3,316 | 55,900 55,950 3,868 3,309 3,550 | 58,900 58,950 4,115 3,537 3,787
52,950 53,000 3,624 3,085 3,320 | 55,950 56,000 3,872 3,313 3,554 | 58,950 59,000 4,119 3,541 3,791
53,000 56,000 59,000
53,000 53,050 3,629 3,089 3,324 | 56,000 56,050 3,876 3,317 3,558 | 59,000 59,050 4,124 3,545 3,795
53,050 53,100 3,633 3,093 3,328 | 56,050 56,100 3,880 3,321 3,562 | 59,050 59,100 4,128 3,549 3,799
53,100 53,150 3,637 3,097 3,332 | 56,100 56,150 3,884 3,325 3,566 | 59,100 59,150 4,132 3,553 3,803
53,150 53,200 3,641 3,100 3,335 | 56,150 56,200 3,888 3,328 3,570 | 59,150 59,200 4,136 3,556 3,807
53,200 53,250 3,645 3,104 3,339 | 56,200 56,250 3,893 3,332 3,574 | 59,200 59,250 4,140 3,560 3,811
53,250 53,300 3,649 3,108 3,343 | 56,250 56,300 3,897 3,336 3,578 | 59,250 59,300 4,144 3,564 3,815
53,300 53,350 3,653 3,112 3,347 | 56,300 56,350 3,901 3,340 3,582 | 59,300 59,350 4,148 3,568 3,819
53,350 53,400 3,657 3,116 3,351 56,350 56,400 3,905 3,344 3,586 | 59,350 59,400 4,152 3,572 3,823
53,400 53,450 3,662 3,119 3,354 | 56,400 56,450 3,909 3,347 3,590 | 59,400 59,450 4,157 3,575 3,827
53,450 53,500 3,666 3,123 3,358 | 56,450 56,500 3,913 3,351 3,594 | 59,450 59,500 4,161 3,579 3,831
53,500 53,550 3,670 3,127 3,362 | 56,500 56,550 3,917 3,355 3,597 | 59,500 59,550 4,165 3,583 3,834
53,550 53,600 3,674 3,131 3,366 | 56,550 56,600 3,921 3,359 3,601 59,550 59,600 4,169 3,587 3,838
53,600 53,650 3,678 3,135 3,370 | 56,600 56,650 3,926 3,363 3,605 | 59,600 59,650 4,173 3,591 3,842
53,650 53,700 3,682 3,138 3,373 | 56,650 56,700 3,930 3,366 3,609 | 59,650 59,700 4,177 3,594 3,846
53,700 53,750 3,686 3,142 3,377 | 56,700 56,750 3,934 3,370 3,613 | 59,700 59,750 4,181 3,598 3,850
53,750 53,800 3,690 3,146 3,381 56,750 56,800 3,938 3,374 3,617 | 59,750 59,800 4,185 3,602 3,854
53,800 53,850 3,695 3,150 3,385 | 56,800 56,850 3,942 3,378 3,621 59,800 59,850 4,190 3,606 3,858
53,850 53,900 3,699 3,154 3,389 | 56,850 56,900 3,946 3,382 3,625 | 59,850 59,900 4,194 3,610 3,862
53,900 53,950 3,703 3,157 3,392 | 56,900 56,950 3,950 3,385 3,629 | 59,900 59,950 4,198 3,613 3,866
53,950 54,000 3,707 3,161 3,396 | 56,950 57,000 3,954 3,389 3,633 | 59,950 60,000 4,202 3,617 3,870
54,000 57,000 60,000
54,000 54,050 3,711 3,165 3,400 | 57,000 57,050 3,959 3,393 3,637 | 60,000 60,050 4,206 3,621 3,874
54,050 54,100 3,715 3,169 3,404 | 57,050 57,100 3,963 3,397 3,641 60,050 60,100 4,210 3,625 3,878
54,100 54,150 3,719 3,173 3,408 | 57,100 57,150 3,967 3,401 3,645 | 60,100 60,150 4,214 3,629 3,882
54,150 54,200 3,723 3,176 3,412 | 57,150 57,200 3,971 3,404 3,649 | 60,150 60,200 4,218 3,632 3,886
54,200 54,250 3,728 3,180 3,416 | 57,200 57,250 3,975 3,408 3,653 | 60,200 60,250 4,223 3,636 3,890
54,250 54,300 3,732 3,184 3,420 | 57,250 57,300 3,979 3,412 3,657 | 60,250 60,300 4,227 3,640 3,894
54,300 54,350 3,736 3,188 3,424 | 57,300 57,350 3,983 3,416 3,661 60,300 60,350 4,231 3,644 3,898
54,350 54,400 3,740 3,192 3,428 | 57,350 57,400 3,987 3,420 3,665 | 60,350 60,400 4,235 3,648 3,902
54,400 54,450 3,744 3,195 3,432 | 57,400 57,450 3,992 3,423 3,669 | 60,400 60,450 4,239 3,651 3,906
54,450 54,500 3,748 3,199 3,436 | 57,450 57,500 3,996 3,427 3,673 | 60,450 60,500 4,243 3,655 3,910
54,500 54,550 3,752 3,203 3,439 | 57,500 57,550 4,000 3,431 3,676 | 60,500 60,550 4,247 3,659 3,913
54,550 54,600 3,756 3,207 3,443 | 57,550 57,600 4,004 3,435 3,680 | 60,550 60,600 4,251 3,663 3,917
54,600 54,650 3,761 3,211 3,447 | 57,600 57,650 4,008 3,439 3,684 | 60,600 60,650 4,256 3,667 3,921
54,650 54,700 3,765 3,214 3,451 57,650 57,700 4,012 3,442 3,688 | 60,650 60,700 4,260 3,670 3,925
54,700 54,750 3,769 3,218 3,455 | 57,700 57,750 4,016 3,446 3,692 | 60,700 60,750 4,264 3,674 3,929
54,750 54,800 3,773 3,222 3,459 | 57,750 57,800 4,020 3,450 3,696 | 60,750 60,800 4,268 3,678 3,933
54,800 54,850 3,777 3,226 3,463 | 57,800 57,850 4,025 3,454 3,700 | 60,800 60,850 4,272 3,682 3,937
54,850 54,900 3,781 3,230 3,467 | 57,850 57,900 4,029 3,458 3,704 | 60,850 60,900 4,276 3,686 3,941
54,900 54,950 3,785 3,233 3,471 57,900 57,950 4,033 3,461 3,708 | 60,900 60,950 4,280 3,689 3,945
54,950 55,000 3,789 3,237 3,475 | 57,950 58,000 4,037 3,465 3,712 | 60,950 61,000 4,284 3,693 3,949

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
61,000 64,000 67,000
61,000 61,050 4,289 3,697 3,953 | 64,000 64,050 4,536 3,925 4,190 | 67,000 67,050 4,784 4,153 4,427
61,050 61,100 4,293 3,701 3,957 | 64,050 64,100 4,540 3,929 4,194 | 67,050 67,100 4,788 4,157 4,431
61,100 61,150 4,297 3,705 3,961 | 64,100 64,150 4,544 3,933 4,198 | 67,100 67,150 4,792 4,161 4,435
61,150 61,200 4,301 3,708 3,965 | 64,150 64,200 4,548 3,936 4,202 | 67,150 67,200 4,796 4,164 4,439
61,200 61,250 4,305 3,712 3,969 | 64,200 64,250 4,553 3,940 4,206 | 67,200 67,250 4,800 4,168 4,443
61,250 61,300 4,309 3,716 3,973 | 64,250 64,300 4,557 3,944 4,210 | 67,250 67,300 4,804 4,172 4,447
61,300 61,350 4,313 3,720 3,977 | 64,300 64,350 4,561 3,948 4,214 | 67,300 67,350 4,808 4,176 4,451
61,350 61,400 4,317 3,724 3,981 | 64,350 64,400 4,565 3,952 4,218 | 67,350 67,400 4,812 4,180 4,455
61,400 61,450 4,322 3,727 3,985 | 64,400 64,450 4,569 3,955 4,222 | 67,400 67,450 4,817 4,183 4,459
61,450 61,500 4,326 3,731 3,989 | 64,450 64,500 4,573 3,959 4,226 | 67,450 67,500 4,821 4,187 4,463
61,500 61,550 4,330 3,735 3,992 | 64,500 64,550 4,577 3,963 4,229 | 67,500 67,550 4,825 4,191 4,466
61,550 61,600 4,334 3,739 3,996 | 64,550 64,600 4,581 3,967 4,233 | 67,550 67,600 4,829 4,195 4,470
61,600 61,650 4,338 3,743 4,000 | 64,600 64,650 4,586 3,971 4,237 | 67,600 67,650 4,833 4,199 4,474
61,650 61,700 4,342 3,746 4,004 | 64,650 64,700 4,590 3,974 4,241 | 67,650 67,700 4,837 4,202 4,478
61,700 61,750 4,346 3,750 4,008 | 64,700 64,750 4,594 3,978 4,245 | 67,700 67,750 4,841 4,206 4,482
61,750 61,800 4,350 3,754 4,012 | 64,750 64,800 4,598 3,982 4,249 | 67,750 67,800 4,845 4,210 4,486
61,800 61,850 4,355 3,758 4,016 | 64,800 64,850 4,602 3,986 4,253 | 67,800 67,850 4,850 4,214 4,490
61,850 61,900 4,359 3,762 4,020 | 64,850 64,900 4,606 3,990 4,257 | 67,850 67,900 4,854 4,218 4,494
61,900 61,950 4,363 3,765 4,024 | 64,900 64,950 4,610 3,993 4,261 | 67,900 67,950 4,858 4,221 4,498
61,950 62,000 4,367 3,769 4,028 | 64,950 65,000 4,614 3,997 4,265 | 67,950 68,000 4,862 4,225 4,502
62,000 65,000 68,000
62,000 62,050 4,371 3,773 4,032 | 65,000 65,050 4,619 4,001 4,269 | 68,000 68,050 4,866 4,229 4,506
62,050 62,100 4,375 3,777 4,036 | 65,050 65,100 4,623 4,005 4,273 | 68,050 68,100 4,870 4,233 4,510
62,100 62,150 4,379 3,781 4,040 | 65,100 65,150 4,627 4,009 4,277 | 68,100 68,150 4,874 4,237 4,514
62,150 62,200 4,383 3,784 4,044 | 65,150 65,200 4,631 4,012 4,281 68,150 68,200 4,878 4,240 4,518
62,200 62,250 4,388 3,788 4,048 | 65,200 65,250 4,635 4,016 4,285 | 68,200 68,250 4,883 4,244 4,522
62,250 62,300 4,392 3,792 4,052 | 65,250 65,300 4,639 4,020 4,289 | 68,250 68,300 4,887 4,248 4,526
62,300 62,350 4,396 3,796 4,056 | 65,300 65,350 4,643 4,024 4,293 | 68,300 68,350 4,891 4,252 4,530
62,350 62,400 4,400 3,800 4,060 | 65,350 65,400 4,647 4,028 4,297 | 68,350 68,400 4,895 4,256 4,534
62,400 62,450 4,404 3,803 4,064 | 65,400 65,450 4,652 4,031 4,301 68,400 68,450 4,899 4,259 4,538
62,450 62,500 4,408 3,807 4,068 | 65,450 65,500 4,656 4,035 4,305 | 68,450 68,500 4,903 4,263 4,542
62,500 62,550 4,412 3,811 4,071 65,500 65,550 4,660 4,039 4,308 | 68,500 68,550 4,907 4,267 4,545
62,550 62,600 4,416 3,815 4,075 | 65,550 65,600 4,664 4,043 4,312 | 68,550 68,600 4,911 4,271 4,549
62,600 62,650 4,421 3,819 4,079 | 65,600 65,650 4,668 4,047 4,316 | 68,600 68,650 4,916 4,275 4,553
62,650 62,700 4,425 3,822 4,083 | 65,650 65,700 4,672 4,050 4,320 | 68,650 68,700 4,920 4,278 4,557
62,700 62,750 4,429 3,826 4,087 | 65,700 65,750 4,676 4,054 4,324 | 68,700 68,750 4,924 4,282 4,561
62,750 62,800 4,433 3,830 4,091 65,750 65,800 4,680 4,058 4,328 | 68,750 68,800 4,928 4,286 4,565
62,800 62,850 4,437 3,834 4,095 | 65,800 65,850 4,685 4,062 4,332 | 68,800 68,850 4,932 4,290 4,569
62,850 62,900 4,441 3,838 4,099 | 65,850 65,900 4,689 4,066 4,336 | 68,850 68,900 4,936 4,294 4,573
62,900 62,950 4,445 3,841 4,103 | 65,900 65,950 4,693 4,069 4,340 | 68,900 68,950 4,940 4,297 4,577
62,950 63,000 4,449 3,845 4,107 | 65,950 66,000 4,697 4,073 4,344 | 68,950 69,000 4,944 4,301 4,581
63,000 66,000 69,000
63,000 63,050 4,454 3,849 4,111 66,000 66,050 4,701 4,077 4,348 | 69,000 69,050 4,949 4,305 4,585
63,050 63,100 4,458 3,853 4,115 | 66,050 66,100 4,705 4,081 4,352 | 69,050 69,100 4,953 4,309 4,589
63,100 63,150 4,462 3,857 4,119 | 66,100 66,150 4,709 4,085 4,356 | 69,100 69,150 4,957 4,313 4,593
63,150 63,200 4,466 3,860 4,123 | 66,150 66,200 4,713 4,088 4,360 | 69,150 69,200 4,961 4,316 4,597
63,200 63,250 4,470 3,864 4,127 | 66,200 66,250 4,718 4,092 4,364 | 69,200 69,250 4,965 4,320 4,601
63,250 63,300 4,474 3,868 4,131 66,250 66,300 4,722 4,096 4,368 | 69,250 69,300 4,969 4,324 4,605
63,300 63,350 4,478 3,872 4,135 | 66,300 66,350 4,726 4,100 4,372 | 69,300 69,350 4,973 4,328 4,609
63,350 63,400 4,482 3,876 4,139 | 66,350 66,400 4,730 4,104 4,376 | 69,350 69,400 4,977 4,332 4,613
63,400 63,450 4,487 3,879 4,143 | 66,400 66,450 4,734 4,107 4,380 | 69,400 69,450 4,982 4,335 4,617
63,450 63,500 4,491 3,883 4,147 | 66,450 66,500 4,738 4,111 4,384 | 69,450 69,500 4,986 4,339 4,621
63,500 63,550 4,495 3,887 4,150 | 66,500 66,550 4,742 4,115 4,387 | 69,500 69,550 4,990 4,343 4,624
63,550 63,600 4,499 3,891 4,154 | 66,550 66,600 4,746 4,119 4,391 69,550 69,600 4,994 4,347 4,628
63,600 63,650 4,503 3,895 4,158 | 66,600 66,650 4,751 4,123 4,395 | 69,600 69,650 4,998 4,351 4,632
63,650 63,700 4,507 3,898 4,162 | 66,650 66,700 4,755 4,126 4,399 | 69,650 69,700 5,002 4,354 4,636
63,700 63,750 4,511 3,902 4,166 | 66,700 66,750 4,759 4,130 4,403 | 69,700 69,750 5,006 4,358 4,640
63,750 63,800 4,515 3,906 4,170 | 66,750 66,800 4,763 4,134 4,407 | 69,750 69,800 5,010 4,362 4,644
63,800 63,850 4,520 3,910 4,174 | 66,800 66,850 4,767 4,138 4,411 69,800 69,850 5,015 4,366 4,648
63,850 63,900 4,524 3,914 4,178 | 66,850 66,900 4,771 4,142 4,415 | 69,850 69,900 5,019 4,370 4,652
63,900 63,950 4,528 3,917 4,182 | 66,900 66,950 4,775 4,145 4,419 | 69,900 69,950 5,023 4,373 4,656
63,950 64,000 4,532 3,921 4,186 | 66,950 67,000 4,779 4,149 4,423 | 69,950 70,000 5,027 4,377 4,660
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70,000 73,000 76,000
70,000 70,050 5,031 4,381 4,664 | 73,000 73,050 5,279 4,612 4,905 | 76,000 76,050 5,526 4,849 5,152
70,050 70,100 5,035 4,385 4,668 | 73,050 73,100 5,283 4,616 4,909 | 76,050 76,100 5,530 4,853 5,156
70,100 70,150 5,039 4,389 4,672 | 73,100 73,150 5,287 4,620 4,913 | 76,100 76,150 5,534 4,857 5,160
70,150 70,200 5,043 4,392 4,676 | 73,150 73,200 5,291 4,624 4,917 | 76,150 76,200 5,538 4,861 5,164
70,200 70,250 5,048 4,396 4,680 | 73,200 73,250 5,295 4,628 4,921 | 76,200 76,250 5,543 4,865 5,169
70,250 70,300 5,052 4,400 4,684 | 73,250 73,300 5,299 4,632 4,925 | 76,250 76,300 5,547 4,869 5,173
70,300 70,350 5,056 4,404 4,688 | 73,300 73,350 5,303 4,636 4,929 | 76,300 76,350 5,551 4,873 5177
70,350 70,400 5,060 4,408 4,692 | 73,350 73,400 5,307 4,640 4,933 | 76,350 76,400 5,555 4,877 5,181
70,400 70,450 5,064 4,411 4,696 | 73,400 73,450 5,312 4,644 4,938 | 76,400 76,450 5,559 4,881 5,185
70,450 70,500 5,068 4,415 4,700 | 73,450 73,500 5,316 4,648 4,942 | 76,450 76,500 5,563 4,885 5,189
70,500 70,550 5,072 4,419 4,703 | 73,500 73,550 5,320 4,651 4,946 | 76,500 76,550 5,567 4,888 5,193
70,550 70,600 5,076 4,423 4,707 | 73,550 73,600 5,324 4,655 4,950 | 76,550 76,600 5,571 4,892 5,197
70,600 70,650 5,081 4,427 4,711 | 73,600 73,650 5,328 4,659 4,954 | 76,600 76,650 5,576 4,896 5,202
70,650 70,700 5,085 4,430 4,715 | 73,650 73,700 5,332 4,663 4,958 | 76,650 76,700 5,580 4,900 5,206
70,700 70,750 5,089 4,434 4,719 | 73,700 73,750 5,336 4,667 4,962 | 76,700 76,750 5,584 4,904 5,210
70,750 70,800 5,093 4,438 4,723 | 73,750 73,800 5,340 4,671 4,966 | 76,750 76,800 5,588 4,908 5,214
70,800 70,850 5,097 4,442 4,727 | 73,800 73,850 5,345 4,675 4,971 | 76,800 76,850 5,592 4,912 5,218
70,850 70,900 5,101 4,446 4,731 | 73,850 73,900 5,349 4,679 4,975 | 76,850 76,900 5,596 4,916 5,222
70,900 70,950 5,105 4,449 4,735 | 73,900 73,950 5,353 4,683 4,979 | 76,900 76,950 5,600 4,920 5,226
70,950 71,000 5,109 4,453 4,739 | 73,950 74,000 5,357 4,687 4,983 | 76,950 77,000 5,604 4,924 5,230
71,000 74,000 77,000
71,000 71,050 5,114 4,457 4,743 | 74,000 74,050 5,361 4,691 4,987 | 77,000 77,050 5,609 4,928 5,235
71,050 71,100 5,118 4,461 4,747 | 74,050 74,100 5,365 4,695 4,991 77,050 77,100 5,613 4,932 5,239
71,100 71,150 5,122 4,465 4,751 74,100 74,150 5,369 4,699 4,995 | 77,100 77,150 5,617 4,936 5,243
71,150 71,200 5,126 4,468 4,755 | 74,150 74,200 5,373 4,703 4,999 | 77,150 77,200 5,621 4,940 5,247
71,200 71,250 5,130 4,472 4,759 | 74,200 74,250 5,378 4,707 5,004 | 77,200 77,250 5,625 4,944 5,251
71,250 71,300 5,134 4,476 4,763 | 74,250 74,300 5,382 4,711 5,008 | 77,250 77,300 5,629 4,948 5,255
71,300 71,350 5,138 4,480 4,767 | 74,300 74,350 5,386 4,715 5,012 | 77,300 77,350 5,633 4,952 5,259
71,350 71,400 5,142 4,484 4,771 74,350 74,400 5,390 4,719 5,016 | 77,350 77,400 5,637 4,956 5,263
71,400 71,450 5,147 4,487 4,775 | 74,400 74,450 5,394 4,723 5,020 | 77,400 77,450 5,642 4,960 5,268
71,450 71,500 5,151 4,491 4,779 | 74,450 74,500 5,398 4,727 5,024 | 77,450 77,500 5,646 4,964 5,272
71,500 71,550 5,155 4,495 4,782 | 74,500 74,550 5,402 4,730 5,028 | 77,500 77,550 5,650 4,967 5,276
71,550 71,600 5,159 4,499 4,786 | 74,550 74,600 5,406 4,734 5,082 | 77,550 77,600 5,654 4,971 5,280
71,600 71,650 5,163 4,503 4,790 | 74,600 74,650 5,411 4,738 5,037 | 77,600 77,650 5,658 4,975 5,284
71,650 71,700 5,167 4,506 4,794 | 74,650 74,700 5,415 4,742 5,041 77,650 77,700 5,662 4,979 5,288
71,700 71,750 5,171 4,510 4,798 | 74,700 74,750 5,419 4,746 5,045 | 77,700 77,750 5,666 4,983 5,292
71,750 71,800 5,175 4,514 4,802 | 74,750 74,800 5,423 4,750 5,049 | 77,750 77,800 5,670 4,987 5,296
71,800 71,850 5,180 4,518 4,806 | 74,800 74,850 5,427 4,754 5,053 | 77,800 77,850 5,675 4,991 5,301
71,850 71,900 5,184 4,522 4,810 | 74,850 74,900 5,431 4,758 5,057 | 77,850 77,900 5,679 4,995 5,305
71,900 71,950 5,188 4,525 4,814 | 74,900 74,950 5,435 4,762 5,061 77,900 77,950 5,683 4,999 5,309
71,950 72,000 5,192 4,529 4,818 | 74,950 75,000 5,439 4,766 5,065 | 77,950 78,000 5,687 5,003 5,313
72,000 75,000 78,000
72,000 72,050 5,196 4,533 4,822 | 75,000 75,050 5,444 4,770 5,070 | 78,000 78,050 5,691 5,007 5,317
72,050 72,100 5,200 4,537 4,826 | 75,050 75,100 5,448 4,774 5,074 | 78,050 78,100 5,695 5,011 5,321
72,100 72,150 5,204 4,541 4,830 | 75,100 75,150 5,452 4,778 5,078 | 78,100 78,150 5,699 5,015 5,325
72,150 72,200 5,208 4,545 4,834 | 75,150 75,200 5,456 4,782 5,082 | 78,150 78,200 5,703 5,019 5,329
72,200 72,250 5,213 4,549 4,839 | 75,200 75,250 5,460 4,786 5,086 | 78,200 78,250 5,708 5,023 5,334
72,250 72,300 5,217 4,553 4,843 | 75,250 75,300 5,464 4,790 5,090 | 78,250 78,300 5,712 5,027 5,338
72,300 72,350 5,221 4,557 4,847 | 75,300 75,350 5,468 4,794 5,094 | 78,300 78,350 5,716 5,031 5,342
72,350 72,400 5,225 4,561 4,851 75,350 75,400 5,472 4,798 5,098 | 78,350 78,400 5,720 5,035 5,346
72,400 72,450 5,229 4,565 4,855 | 75,400 75,450 5,477 4,802 5,103 | 78,400 78,450 5,724 5,039 5,350
72,450 72,500 5,233 4,569 4,859 | 75,450 75,500 5,481 4,806 5,107 | 78,450 78,500 5,728 5,043 5,354
72,500 72,550 5,237 4,572 4,863 | 75,500 75,550 5,485 4,809 5,111 78,500 78,550 5,732 5,046 5,358
72,550 72,600 5,241 4,576 4,867 | 75,550 75,600 5,489 4,813 5,115 | 78,550 78,600 5,736 5,050 5,362
72,600 72,650 5,246 4,580 4,872 | 75,600 75,650 5,493 4,817 5,119 | 78,600 78,650 5,741 5,054 5,367
72,650 72,700 5,250 4,584 4,876 | 75,650 75,700 5,497 4,821 5,123 | 78,650 78,700 5,745 5,058 5,371
72,700 72,750 5,254 4,588 4,880 | 75,700 75,750 5,501 4,825 5,127 | 78,700 78,750 5,749 5,062 5,375
72,750 72,800 5,258 4,592 4,884 | 75,750 75,800 5,505 4,829 5,131 78,750 78,800 5,753 5,066 5,379
72,800 72,850 5,262 4,596 4,888 | 75,800 75,850 5,510 4,833 5,136 | 78,800 78,850 5,757 5,070 5,383
72,850 72,900 5,266 4,600 4,892 | 75,850 75,900 5,514 4,837 5,140 | 78,850 78,900 5,761 5,074 5,387
72,900 72,950 5,270 4,604 4,896 | 75,900 75,950 5,518 4,841 5,144 | 78,900 78,950 5,765 5,078 5,391
72,950 73,000 5,274 4,608 4,900 | 75,950 76,000 5,622 4,845 5,148 | 78,950 79,000 5,769 5,082 5,395
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79,000 82,000 85,000
79,000 79,050 5,774 5,086 5,400 | 82,000 82,050 6,021 5,323 5,647 | 85,000 85,050 6,269 5,560 5,895
79,050 79,100 5,778 5,090 5,404 | 82,050 82,100 6,025 5,327 5,651 | 85,050 85,100 6,273 5,564 5,899
79,100 79,150 5,782 5,094 5,408 | 82,100 82,150 6,029 5,331 5,655 | 85,100 85,150 6,277 5,568 5,903
79,150 79,200 5,786 5,098 5,412 | 82,150 82,200 6,033 5,335 5,659 | 85,150 85,200 6,281 5,572 5,907
79,200 79,250 5,790 5,102 5,416 | 82,200 82,250 6,038 5,339 5,664 | 85,200 85,250 6,285 5,576 5,911
79,250 79,300 5,794 5,106 5,420 | 82,250 82,300 6,042 5,343 5,668 | 85,250 85,300 6,289 5,580 5,915
79,300 79,350 5,798 5,110 5,424 | 82,300 82,350 6,046 5,347 5,672 | 85,300 85,350 6,293 5,584 5,919
79,350 79,400 5,802 5114 5,428 | 82,350 82,400 6,050 5,351 5,676 | 85,350 85,400 6,297 5,588 5,923
79,400 79,450 5,807 5,118 5,433 | 82,400 82,450 6,054 5,355 5,680 | 85,400 85,450 6,302 5,592 5,928
79,450 79,500 5,811 5,122 5,437 | 82,450 82,500 6,058 5,359 5,684 | 85,450 85,500 6,306 5,596 5,932
79,500 79,550 5,815 5,125 5,441 | 82,500 82,550 6,062 5,362 5,688 | 85,500 85,550 6,310 5,599 5,936
79,550 79,600 5,819 5,129 5,445 | 82,550 82,600 6,066 5,366 5,692 | 85,550 85,600 6,314 5,603 5,940
79,600 79,650 5,823 5,133 5,449 | 82,600 82,650 6,071 5,370 5,697 | 85,600 85,650 6,318 5,607 5,944
79,650 79,700 5,827 5,137 5,453 | 82,650 82,700 6,075 5,374 5,701 | 85,650 85,700 6,322 5,611 5,948
79,700 79,750 5,831 5,141 5,457 | 82,700 82,750 6,079 5,378 5,705 | 85,700 85,750 6,326 5,615 5,952
79,750 79,800 5,835 5,145 5,461 | 82,750 82,800 6,083 5,382 5,709 | 85,750 85,800 6,330 5,619 5,956
79,800 79,850 5,840 5,149 5,466 | 82,800 82,850 6,087 5,386 5,713 | 85,800 85,850 6,335 5,623 5,961
79,850 79,900 5,844 5,153 5,470 | 82,850 82,900 6,091 5,390 5,717 | 85,850 85,900 6,339 5,627 5,965
79,900 79,950 5,848 5,157 5,474 | 82,900 82,950 6,095 5,394 5,721 | 85,900 85,950 6,343 5,631 5,969
79,950 80,000 5,852 5,161 5,478 | 82,950 83,000 6,099 5,398 5,725 | 85,950 86,000 6,347 5,635 5,973
80,000 83,000 86,000
80,000 80,050 5,856 5,165 5,482 | 83,000 83,050 6,104 5,402 5,730 | 86,000 86,050 6,351 5,639 5,977
80,050 80,100 5,860 5,169 5,486 | 83,050 83,100 6,108 5,406 5,734 | 86,050 86,100 6,355 5,643 5,981
80,100 80,150 5,864 5,173 5,490 | 83,100 83,150 6,112 5,410 5,738 | 86,100 86,150 6,359 5,647 5,985
80,150 80,200 5,868 5177 5,494 | 83,150 83,200 6,116 5,414 5,742 | 86,150 86,200 6,363 5,651 5,989
80,200 80,250 5,873 5,181 5,499 | 83,200 83,250 6,120 5,418 5,746 | 86,200 86,250 6,368 5,655 5,994
80,250 80,300 5,877 5,185 5,503 | 83,250 83,300 6,124 5,422 5,750 | 86,250 86,300 6,372 5,659 5,998
80,300 80,350 5,881 5,189 5,507 | 83,300 83,350 6,128 5,426 5,754 | 86,300 86,350 6,376 5,663 6,002
80,350 80,400 5,885 5,193 5,511 83,350 83,400 6,132 5,430 5,758 | 86,350 86,400 6,380 5,667 6,006
80,400 80,450 5,889 5,197 5,515 | 83,400 83,450 6,137 5,434 5,763 | 86,400 86,450 6,384 5,671 6,010
80,450 80,500 5,893 5,201 5,519 | 83,450 83,500 6,141 5,438 5,767 | 86,450 86,500 6,388 5,675 6,014
80,500 80,550 5,897 5,204 5,523 | 83,500 83,550 6,145 5,441 5,771 86,500 86,550 6,392 5,678 6,018
80,550 80,600 5,901 5,208 5,627 | 83,550 83,600 6,149 5,445 5,775 | 86,550 86,600 6,396 5,682 6,022
80,600 80,650 5,906 5,212 5,632 | 83,600 83,650 6,153 5,449 5,779 | 86,600 86,650 6,401 5,686 6,027
80,650 80,700 5,910 5,216 5,536 | 83,650 83,700 6,157 5,453 5,783 | 86,650 86,700 6,405 5,690 6,031
80,700 80,750 5,914 5,220 5,540 | 83,700 83,750 6,161 5,457 5,787 | 86,700 86,750 6,409 5,694 6,035
80,750 80,800 5,918 5,224 5,544 | 83,750 83,800 6,165 5,461 5,791 86,750 86,800 6,413 5,698 6,039
80,800 80,850 5,922 5,228 5,548 | 83,800 83,850 6,170 5,465 5,796 | 86,800 86,850 6,417 5,702 6,043
80,850 80,900 5,926 5,232 5,652 | 83,850 83,900 6,174 5,469 5,800 | 86,850 86,900 6,421 5,706 6,047
80,900 80,950 5,930 5,236 5,556 | 83,900 83,950 6,178 5,473 5,804 | 86,900 86,950 6,425 5,710 6,051
80,950 81,000 5,934 5,240 5,560 | 83,950 84,000 6,182 5,477 5,808 | 86,950 87,000 6,429 5,714 6,055
81,000 84,000 87,000
81,000 81,050 5,939 5,244 5,565 | 84,000 84,050 6,186 5,481 5,812 | 87,000 87,050 6,434 5,718 6,060
81,050 81,100 5,943 5,248 5,569 | 84,050 84,100 6,190 5,485 5,816 | 87,050 87,100 6,438 5,722 6,064
81,100 81,150 5,947 5,252 5,573 | 84,100 84,150 6,194 5,489 5,820 | 87,100 87,150 6,442 5,726 6,068
81,150 81,200 5,951 5,256 5,577 | 84,150 84,200 6,198 5,493 5,824 | 87,150 87,200 6,446 5,730 6,072
81,200 81,250 5,955 5,260 5,581 84,200 84,250 6,203 5,497 5,829 | 87,200 87,250 6,450 5,734 6,076
81,250 81,300 5,959 5,264 5,585 | 84,250 84,300 6,207 5,501 5,833 | 87,250 87,300 6,454 5,738 6,080
81,300 81,350 5,963 5,268 5,589 | 84,300 84,350 6,211 5,505 5,837 | 87,300 87,350 6,458 5,742 6,084
81,350 81,400 5,967 5,272 5,593 | 84,350 84,400 6,215 5,509 5,841 87,350 87,400 6,462 5,746 6,088
81,400 81,450 5,972 5,276 5,598 | 84,400 84,450 6,219 5,513 5,845 | 87,400 87,450 6,467 5,750 6,093
81,450 81,500 5,976 5,280 5,602 | 84,450 84,500 6,223 5,517 5,849 | 87,450 87,500 6,471 5,754 6,097
81,500 81,550 5,980 5,283 5,606 | 84,500 84,550 6,227 5,520 5,853 | 87,500 87,550 6,475 5,757 6,101
81,550 81,600 5,984 5,287 5,610 | 84,550 84,600 6,231 5,524 5,857 | 87,550 87,600 6,479 5,761 6,105
81,600 81,650 5,988 5,291 5,614 | 84,600 84,650 6,236 5,528 5,862 | 87,600 87,650 6,483 5,765 6,109
81,650 81,700 5,992 5,295 5,618 | 84,650 84,700 6,240 5,632 5,866 | 87,650 87,700 6,487 5,769 6,113
81,700 81,750 5,996 5,299 5,622 | 84,700 84,750 6,244 5,536 5,870 | 87,700 87,750 6,491 5,773 6,117
81,750 81,800 6,000 5,303 5,626 | 84,750 84,800 6,248 5,540 5,874 | 87,750 87,800 6,495 5,777 6,121
81,800 81,850 6,005 5,307 5,631 84,800 84,850 6,252 5,544 5,878 | 87,800 87,850 6,500 5,781 6,126
81,850 81,900 6,009 5,311 5,635 | 84,850 84,900 6,256 5,548 5,882 | 87,850 87,900 6,504 5,785 6,130
81,900 81,950 6,013 5,315 5,639 | 84,900 84,950 6,260 5,652 5,886 | 87,900 87,950 6,508 5,789 6,134
81,950 82,000 6,017 5,319 5,643 | 84,950 85,000 6,264 5,556 5,890 | 87,950 88,000 6,512 5,793 6,138

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)

Continued on next page
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2013 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
88,000 91,000 94,000
88,000 88,050 6,516 5,797 6,142 | 91,000 91,050 6,764 6,034 6,390 | 94,000 94,050 7,011 6,271 6,637
88,050 88,100 6,520 5,801 6,146 | 91,050 91,100 6,768 6,038 6,394 | 94,050 94,100 7,015 6,275 6,641
88,100 88,150 6,524 5,805 6,150 | 91,100 91,150 6,772 6,042 6,398 | 94,100 94,150 7,019 6,279 6,645
88,150 88,200 6,528 5,809 6,154 | 91,150 91,200 6,776 6,046 6,402 | 94,150 94,200 7,023 6,283 6,649
88,200 88,250 6,533 5,813 6,159 | 91,200 91,250 6,780 6,050 6,406 | 94,200 94,250 7,028 6,287 6,654
88,250 88,300 6,537 5,817 6,163 | 91,250 91,300 6,784 6,054 6,410 | 94,250 94,300 7,032 6,291 6,658
88,300 88,350 6,541 5,821 6,167 | 91,300 91,350 6,788 6,058 6,414 | 94,300 94,350 7,036 6,295 6,662
88,350 88,400 6,545 5,825 6,171 | 91,350 91,400 6,792 6,062 6,418 | 94,350 94,400 7,040 6,299 6,666
88,400 88,450 6,549 5,829 6,175 | 91,400 91,450 6,797 6,066 6,423 | 94,400 94,450 7,044 6,303 6,670
88,450 88,500 6,553 5,833 6,179 | 91,450 91,500 6,801 6,070 6,427 | 94,450 94,500 7,048 6,307 6,674
88,500 88,550 6,557 5,836 6,183 | 91,500 91,550 6,805 6,073 6,431 | 94,500 94,550 7,052 6,310 6,678
88,550 88,600 6,561 5,840 6,187 | 91,550 91,600 6,809 6,077 6,435 | 94,550 94,600 7,056 6,314 6,682
88,600 88,650 6,566 5,844 6,192 | 91,600 91,650 6,813 6,081 6,439 | 94,600 94,650 7,061 6,318 6,687
88,650 88,700 6,570 5,848 6,196 | 91,650 91,700 6,817 6,085 6,443 | 94,650 94,700 7,065 6,322 6,691
88,700 88,750 6,574 5,852 6,200 | 91,700 91,750 6,821 6,089 6,447 | 94,700 94,750 7,069 6,326 6,695
88,750 88,800 6,578 5,856 6,204 | 91,750 91,800 6,825 6,093 6,451 | 94,750 94,800 7,073 6,330 6,699
88,800 88,850 6,582 5,860 6,208 | 91,800 91,850 6,830 6,097 6,456 | 94,800 94,850 7,077 6,334 6,703
88,850 88,900 6,586 5,864 6,212 | 91,850 91,900 6,834 6,101 6,460 | 94,850 94,900 7,081 6,338 6,707
88,900 88,950 6,590 5,868 6,216 | 91,900 91,950 6,838 6,105 6,464 | 94,900 94,950 7,085 6,342 6,711
88,950 89,000 6,594 5,872 6,220 | 91,950 92,000 6,842 6,109 6,468 | 94,950 95,000 7,089 6,346 6,715
89,000 92,000 95,000
89,000 89,050 6,599 5,876 6,225 | 92,000 92,050 6,846 6,113 6,472 | 95,000 95,050 7,094 6,350 6,720
89,050 89,100 6,603 5,880 6,229 | 92,050 92,100 6,850 6,117 6,476 | 95,050 95,100 7,098 6,354 6,724
89,100 89,150 6,607 5,884 6,233 | 92,100 92,150 6,854 6,121 6,480 | 95,100 95,150 7,102 6,358 6,728
89,150 89,200 6,611 5,888 6,237 | 92,150 92,200 6,858 6,125 6,484 | 95,150 95,200 7,106 6,362 6,732
89,200 89,250 6,615 5,892 6,241 92,200 92,250 6,863 6,129 6,489 | 95,200 95,250 7,110 6,366 6,736
89,250 89,300 6,619 5,896 6,245 | 92,250 92,300 6,867 6,133 6,493 | 95,250 95,300 7,114 6,370 6,740
89,300 89,350 6,623 5,900 6,249 | 92,300 92,350 6,871 6,137 6,497 | 95,300 95,350 7,118 6,374 6,744
89,350 89,400 6,627 5,904 6,253 | 92,350 92,400 6,875 6,141 6,501 95,350 95,400 7,122 6,378 6,748
89,400 89,450 6,632 5,908 6,258 | 92,400 92,450 6,879 6,145 6,505 | 95,400 95,450 7,127 6,382 6,753
89,450 89,500 6,636 5,912 6,262 | 92,450 92,500 6,883 6,149 6,509 | 95,450 95,500 7,131 6,386 6,757
89,500 89,550 6,640 5,915 6,266 | 92,500 92,550 6,887 6,152 6,513 | 95,500 95,550 7,135 6,389 6,761
89,550 89,600 6,644 5,919 6,270 | 92,550 92,600 6,891 6,156 6,517 | 95,550 95,600 7,139 6,393 6,765
89,600 89,650 6,648 5,923 6,274 | 92,600 92,650 6,896 6,160 6,522 | 95,600 95,650 7,143 6,397 6,769
89,650 89,700 6,652 5,927 6,278 | 92,650 92,700 6,900 6,164 6,526 | 95,650 95,700 7,147 6,401 6,773
89,700 89,750 6,656 5,931 6,282 | 92,700 92,750 6,904 6,168 6,530 | 95,700 95,750 7,151 6,405 6,777
89,750 89,800 6,660 5,935 6,286 | 92,750 92,800 6,908 6,172 6,534 | 95,750 95,800 7,155 6,409 6,781
89,800 89,850 6,665 5,939 6,291 92,800 92,850 6,912 6,176 6,538 | 95,800 95,850 7,160 6,413 6,786
89,850 89,900 6,669 5,943 6,295 | 92,850 92,900 6,916 6,180 6,542 | 95,850 95,900 7,164 6,417 6,790
89,900 89,950 6,673 5,947 6,299 | 92,900 92,950 6,920 6,184 6,546 | 95,900 95,950 7,168 6,421 6,794
89,950 90,000 6,677 5,951 6,303 | 92,950 93,000 6,924 6,188 6,550 | 95,950 96,000 7172 6,425 6,798
90,000 93,000 96,000
90,000 90,050 6,681 5,955 6,307 | 93,000 93,050 6,929 6,192 6,555 | 96,000 96,050 7,176 6,429 6,802
90,050 90,100 6,685 5,959 6,311 93,050 93,100 6,933 6,196 6,559 | 96,050 96,100 7,180 6,433 6,806
90,100 90,150 6,689 5,963 6,315 | 93,100 93,150 6,937 6,200 6,563 | 96,100 96,150 7,184 6,437 6,810
90,150 90,200 6,693 5,967 6,319 | 93,150 93,200 6,941 6,204 6,567 | 96,150 96,200 7,188 6,441 6,814
90,200 90,250 6,698 5,971 6,324 | 93,200 93,250 6,945 6,208 6,571 96,200 96,250 7,193 6,446 6,819
90,250 90,300 6,702 5,975 6,328 | 93,250 93,300 6,949 6,212 6,575 | 96,250 96,300 7,197 6,450 6,823
90,300 90,350 6,706 5,979 6,332 | 93,300 93,350 6,953 6,216 6,579 | 96,300 96,350 7,201 6,454 6,827
90,350 90,400 6,710 5,983 6,336 | 93,350 93,400 6,957 6,220 6,583 | 96,350 96,400 7,205 6,458 6,831
90,400 90,450 6,714 5,987 6,340 | 93,400 93,450 6,962 6,224 6,588 | 96,400 96,450 7,209 6,462 6,835
90,450 90,500 6,718 5,991 6,344 | 93,450 93,500 6,966 6,228 6,592 | 96,450 96,500 7,213 6,466 6,839
90,500 90,550 6,722 5,994 6,348 | 93,500 93,550 6,970 6,231 6,596 | 96,500 96,550 7,217 6,470 6,843
90,550 90,600 6,726 5,998 6,352 | 93,550 93,600 6,974 6,235 6,600 | 96,550 96,600 7,221 6,474 6,847
90,600 90,650 6,731 6,002 6,357 | 93,600 93,650 6,978 6,239 6,604 | 96,600 96,650 7,226 6,479 6,852
90,650 90,700 6,735 6,006 6,361 93,650 93,700 6,982 6,243 6,608 | 96,650 96,700 7,230 6,483 6,856
90,700 90,750 6,739 6,010 6,365 | 93,700 93,750 6,986 6,247 6,612 | 96,700 96,750 7,234 6,487 6,860
90,750 90,800 6,743 6,014 6,369 | 93,750 93,800 6,990 6,251 6,616 | 96,750 96,800 7,238 6,491 6,864
90,800 90,850 6,747 6,018 6,373 | 93,800 93,850 6,995 6,255 6,621 96,800 96,850 7,242 6,495 6,868
90,850 90,900 6,751 6,022 6,377 | 93,850 93,900 6,999 6,259 6,625 | 96,850 96,900 7,246 6,499 6,872
90,900 90,950 6,755 6,026 6,381 93,900 93,950 7,003 6,263 6,629 | 96,900 96,950 7,250 6,503 6,876
90,950 91,000 6,759 6,030 6,385 | 93,950 94,000 7,007 6,267 6,633 | 96,950 97,000 7,254 6,507 6,880

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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2013 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 15 If line 15 If line 15
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — lincome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your tax is —
97,000 98,000 99,000

97,000 97,050 7,259 6,512 6,885 | 98,000 98,050 7,341 6,594 6,967 | 99,000 99,050 7,424 6,677 7,050
97,050 97,100 7,263 6,516 6,889 | 98,050 98,100 7,345 6,598 6,971 | 99,050 99,100 7,428 6,681 7,054
97,100 97,150 7,267 6,520 6,893 | 98,100 98,150 7,349 6,602 6,975 | 99,100 99,150 7,432 6,685 7,058
97,150 97,200 7,271 6,524 6,897 | 98,150 98,200 7,353 6,606 6,979 | 99,150 99,200 7,436 6,689 7,062
97,200 97,250 7,275 6,528 6,901 | 98,200 98,250 7,358 6,611 6,984 | 99,200 99,250 7,440 6,693 7,066
97,250 97,300 7,279 6,532 6,905 | 98,250 98,300 7,362 6,615 6,988 | 99,250 99,300 7,444 6,697 7,070
97,300 97,350 7,283 6,536 6,909 | 98,300 98,350 7,366 6,619 6,992 | 99,300 99,350 7,448 6,701 7,074
97,350 97,400 7,287 6,540 6,913 | 98,350 98,400 7,370 6,623 6,996 | 99,350 99,400 7,452 6,705 7,078
97,400 97,450 7,292 6,545 6,918 | 98,400 98,450 7,374 6,627 7,000 | 99,400 99,450 7,457 6,710 7,083
97,450 97,500 7,296 6,549 6,922 | 98,450 98,500 7,378 6,631 7,004 | 99,450 99,500 7,461 6,714 7,087
97,500 97,550 7,300 6,553 6,926 | 98,500 98,550 7,382 6,635 7,008 | 99,500 99,550 7,465 6,718 7,091
97,550 97,600 7,304 6,557 6,930 | 98,550 98,600 7,386 6,639 7,012 | 99,550 99,600 7,469 6,722 7,095
97,600 97,650 7,308 6,561 6,934 | 98,600 98,650 7,391 6,644 7,017 | 99,600 99,650 7,473 6,726 7,099
97,650 97,700 7,312 6,565 6,938 | 98,650 98,700 7,395 6,648 7,021 | 99,650 99,700 7,477 6,730 7,103
97,700 97,750 7,316 6,569 6,942 | 98,700 98,750 7,399 6,652 7,025 | 99,700 99,750 7,481 6,734 7,107
97,750 97,800 7,320 6,573 6,946 | 98,750 98,800 7,403 6,656 7,029 | 99,750 99,800 7,485 6,738 7,111
97,800 97,850 7,325 6,578 6,951 | 98,800 98,850 7,407 6,660 7,033 | 99,800 99,850 7,490 6,743 7,116
97,850 97,900 7,329 6,582 6,955 | 98,850 98,900 7,411 6,664 7,037 | 99,850 99,900 7,494 6,747 7,120
97,900 97,950 7,333 6,586 6,959 | 98,900 98,950 7,415 6,668 7,041 | 99,900 99,950 7,498 6,751 7,124
97,950 98,000 7,337 6,590 6,963 | 98,950 99,000 7,419 6,672 7,045 | 99,950 100,000 7,502 6,755 7,128

100,000 OR OVER —

You MUST use the tax rate schedules.

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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Missing Child Center-Hawaii
m Department of the Attorney General

235 S. Beretania Street #401, Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-1449

MISSING CHILD Email: hawaiimissingkids@hawaii.gov
Center-Hawaii  \Website: http://ag.hawaii.gov/cpja/mech/

Hawali’s Missing & Endangered Children

MISSING SINCE OCTOBER 18, 1995

AGE NOW 33 yrs

HEIGHT 5ft. 1lin.
. WEIGHT 110 Ibs.
HAIR Ash Blonde,

Wavy
EYES Blue/Green
Grey
L RACE Caucasian

Age Progressed to 26
Noquisi-Ama Blossom
Nicknames: Quis or Daisia
MISSING FROM: Makawao, Maui

Both photos are of Noquisi-Ama. She may have left
Hawaii. Noquisi-Ama has a pierced nose, a scar on her
left index finger, and a scar above her right eye. She
went missing at age 15.

If Seen Please Call Maui Police Department,
Criminal Investigation Division at (808) 244-6454 or 911

Marina Kaneda

MISSING SINCE MAY 21, 2004

AGENOW  14yrs

HEIGHT 3ft. 7in.
WEIGHT 40 Ibs.
HAIR Black, Straight
_ - W EYES Brown
4 | RACE Japanese

MISSING FROM: Honolulu, Hawaii
Sheis believed to be in Japan with her non-custodial mother. Marina went
missing at the age of 4 years old.

If Seen Please Call Honolulu Police Department at
(808)723-3609 or 911

MISSING SINCE JUNE 22, 1990

AGE NOW 29 yrs
HGT 3ft.
WGT 45 Ibs.
HAIR Blonde
EYES Hazel
RACE Caucasian

Therese Vanderheiden-Walsh Age Progressed
to Age 17
MISSING FROM: Kailua, Oahu Hawaii

She has pierced ears and moles on her backand shoulders.
She was abducted by her non-custodial mother. Therese was taken at the age of 4.

If Seen Please Call Honolulu Police Department,
Criminal Investigation Division at (808)723-3609
or 911

AGE
HGT
WGT
HAIR
EYES
RACE

Page 38

MISSING SINCE SEPTEMBER 11, 1997

AGE NOW 20 yrs

8yrs

4ft
45-50lbs
Black
Brown
Filipino,
Hawaiian

MISSING FROM: Hilo, Hawaii

Peter was last seen in mid-August when he allegedly

accompanied his father to Honolulu. Peter’s father alleges

he last saw him in mid-September when he turned custody
over to a relative known to him as Aunty Rose at A’ala
Park. Neither Peter or Rose have been seen since.

If Seen Please Call
Hawaii County Police Department at 808-961-2211
or Big Island Crimestoppers at 808-961-8300
or the National Center for Missing and Exploited
Childrenat 1-800-THE-LOST

08/28/2013



Neil Abercrombie
Governor

MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR

This publication explains some of your most
important rights as a taxpayer.

Hawaii taxpayers have many rights. Some are
based on laws, and others are based on our
commitment to administer Hawaii's tax laws
in a fair and equitable manner. The Hawaii
Taxpayer Bill of Rights compiles these rights
for your easy reference.

Taxpayer rights are at the heart of good
tax administration — a pledge that the tax
laws will be administered = with fairness,
uniformity, cqurtesty, and common sense.
In our commitment to this pledge, we invite
your suggestions for improvin
provided by the Departmen

the services
of Taxation.

HAWAIITAXPAYER BILL OF RIGHTS

I.  Protection of Taxpayer Rights

Taxpayers are entitled to be informed about their
rights and responsibilities and to be assured that
their rights will be protected throughout their contact
with the Department of Taxation.

Il. Tax Information

Taxpayers have a right to tax information written in
plain language.

Taxpayers have a right to examine their own tax re-
cords, audit files, and collection files.

Taxpayers have a right to request copies of their own
tax returns and return information, if available, sub-
ject to copying fees.

Taxpayers have a right to obtain explanations re-
garding billings and assessments.

lll. Professional and Courteous Service

Taxpayers have a right to prompt, courteous, and ac-
curate responses to all questions and requests for
tax assistance.

Taxpayers have a right to be assured that,no civil
service employee of the Department of Taxation-will
be paid, promoted, or in any way rewarded based.on
the amount of assessments made or taxes collected:

Taxpayers have a right to be free from harassment
and inappropriate contact by Department of Taxation
personnel in matters relating to the collection of de-
linquent taxes and during the course of audits.

IV. Privacy and Confidentiality

Taxpayers have a right to be assured that their deal-
ings with the Department of Taxation will be kept
confidential.

Taxpayers have a right to be assured that their tax
returns and tax return information will not be dis-
closed, except as provided by law.

V. Time Limitations

Taxpayers are entitled to seek a refund if they have
overpaid their taxes. A claim for refund must be filed
within the applicable statute of limitations.

The Department of Taxation may assess a taxpayer
additional taxes if the assessment is made within the
applicable statute of limitations. There is no time
limit on the assessment of taxes in the case of a false
or fraudulent return or failure to file a return.

Taxpayers have a right to extend the period of limita-
tions for the assessment or refund of taxes by sign-
ing a written agreement with the Department of Tax-
ation.

If the Department of Taxation is notified by the Inter-
nal Revenue Service or a taxpayer of any changes,
corrections, or adjustments to the taxpayer’s Federal
tax return, the statute of limitations is automatically
extended.

VI. Audits and Assessments

Taxpayers have a right to a Proposed Notice of As-
sessment except in the case of a jeopardy assess-

STATE OF HAWAII—DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

HAWAII TAXPAYER BILL OF RIGHTS

ment. A Proposed Notice of Assessment is mailed to
the taxpayer’s last known address and: (1) explains
the basis for the assessment of taxes, penalties, and
interest; (2) informs taxpayers of their right to request
clarification or to object to the tax assessment within
thirty days from the date the Proposed Notice of As-
sessment was mailed; and (3) informs taxpayers that
the proposed tax assessment will become final after
the expiration of thirty days from the mailing of the
Proposed Notice of Assessment.

Taxpayers have a right to a Final Notice of Assess-
ment, issued after the expiration of thirty days from
the mailing of the Proposed Notice of Assessment,
that provides the basis for the tax assessment, and
informs the taxpayer of the procedures for appealing
the assessment.

Taxpayers have a right to request a meeting with the
auditor or collector, their supervisor, or senior man-
agement to discuss a Proposed or Final Notice of
Assessment if they-do'not.agree with the tax assess-
ment.

Taxpayers have a right to request that the~Depart-
ment of Taxation consider a closing”agreement to
reduce a Proposed or Final Notice ,of Assessment.
Closing agreements are final.

VIl. Tax Appeals/Payment-Under Protest

Taxpayers have a right to information regarding pro-
cedures for appealing a tax assessment.

Tax Appeals. Taxpayers have a right to-appeal an
assessment; either-to the board-of review-or to the
tax-appeal court. The appeal must be filed within 30
days from the date the Final Notice of Assessment
was mailed. - If the appeal is filed. with the board of
review, the decision of the-board may be appealed
within 30 days to the:tax appeal court.  If the appeal
is filed with the tax appeal court; the decision of the
tax appeal court may be appealed within 30 days'to
the Intermediate Appellate Court.

The first appeal to either the board of review:or to'the
taX appeal court may be made without payment of
the tax:assessed. However, the assessed tax must
be paid‘together with interest when-the.taxpayer ap-
peals the decision by the board or the tax appeal
court or the decision by the board in‘favor of the De-
partment of Taxation-is not appealed: In addition;'a
taxpayerwho prevails-before the board.of review
does not have to pay the assessed.tax prior.to an
appeal by the Department of, Taxation to-the tax ap:
peal-court.: Similarly, a taxpayer. who'prevails before
the board of review and the tax-appeal court-does
not haveto_pay.the assessed tax priorto-an appeal
by the Department of Taxation'to-the Intermediate
Appellate Court.

The tax appeal court may allow an individual taxpay-
er to appeal an income tax assessment without prior
payment of the tax where the total tax liability does
not exceed $50,000 and the taxpayer shows that the
payment of the tax would cause irreparable harm.
Similarly, a circuit court may allow a taxpayer to ap-
peal a general excise tax assessment without prior
payment of the tax if the taxpayer shows that the
payment of the tax would cause irreparable harm.

Payment Under Protest. In lieu of filing an appeal or
if an appeal is not filed with the board of review or tax
appeal court within 30 days from the date the Final
Notice of Assessment was mailed, the taxpayer may
pay the disputed tax assessment under written pro-
test and seek to recover the taxes by filing an action
in tax appeal court within 30 days from the date of
payment.

VIIl. Representation

Taxpayers have a right to represent themselves or
have another person accompany or represent them
(with proper written authorization) when dealing with
the Department of Taxation on any tax matter, includ-
ing audits, collections, and appeals.

IX. Taxpayer Advocate

Taxpayers have a right to seek the assistance of our
Taxpayer Advocate to resolve any tax-related prob-

(This is a reproduction of the originally issued document)

Frederick D. Pablo
Director of Taxation

lem after all other means for resolving the problem
have been exhausted, or if they feel that their rights
as a taxpayer have been abridged, except in the
case of a criminal tax investigation.

X. Instaliment Agreements, Waivers, and
Compromises

Installment Agreements. Taxpayers have a right to
request that the Department of Taxation consider an

installment payment agreement to allow taxpayers to
pay their delinquent taxes over time. The Department
of Taxation will evaluate a request for an installment
payment agreement based on the financial condition
of the taxpayer. Taxpayers will be notified before col-
lection action is taken on any outstanding tax liability
if the installment payment agreement is in good
standing. Interest will continue to accrue on the out-
standing tax and penalty until paid in full. The Depart-
ment may offset any outstanding tax liability with any
credits due to the taxpayer from other taxes.

Waiver of Penalties and Interest. Taxpayers have a
right to request that the Department of Taxation
waive penalties and interest added to any tax if the
taxpayer can show that failure to file a return or pay a
tax on time was due to reasonable cause, i.e., not
due to the taxpayer’s own carelessness, neglect, or
wilful disregard of the law, but due to circumstances
beyond the taxpayer’s control.

Compromise Offers. Taxpayers have a right to re-
quest ithat the Department of Taxation consider a
compromise offer to reduce any tax claim arising un-
der the'tax laws administered by the Department
based on doubt as to liability or collectibility, subject
to the Governor’s approval. If the tax liability exclud-
ing penalties and interest is $50,000 or less, the Di-
rector may approve the offer in compromise without
the Governor's approval after the offer in compro-
mise has been posted on the Department’s website
for 5-calendar days.

Any ‘offeriin compromise submitted to the Depart-
ment of Taxation on or after April 5, 2013, must be
accompanied by 20% of the amount of the offer in
cases of a lump-sum offer in compromise, or the first
proposed payment in the case of a periodic payment
offer.in'compromise. Individual taxpayers who meet
the dlow-income certification guidelines published by
the Internal Revenue Service for the period in which
the request for compromise has been submitted
would not be required to submit a payment with an
offer in compromise submission. In cases where an
offer in compromise is rejected, the payment amount
would be applied to the tax liability of the taxpayer
that was first assessed.

XI. Collections

Taxpayers have a right to be informed in writing to
the taxpayer’s last known address of possible collec-
tion actions that may be taken on delinquent taxes,
including referral to a collection agency.

Taxpayers have a right to be notified of any cost re-
covery fee associated with any collection action.

Taxpayers have a right to have collection actions put
on hold in the case of hardship or while discussing
their situation with the collector, supervisor, or senior
management, understanding that interest continues
to accrue.

Taxpayers have a right to a prompt release of a lien
upon payment of a tax delinquency and all filing fees.

Taxpayers have a right to have an incorrect lien cor-
rected or released and to have a letter of clarification
sent to a credit reporting company.

Taxpayers have a right to have all other collection
actions exhausted before a seizure of a taxpayer’s
assets takes place, unless the Department of Taxa-
tion determines that the interests of the State are in
jeopardy.
Taxpayers have a right to have the following property
exempt from levy: wearing apparel; school books;
fuel; provisions; furniture; personal effects; books
and tools of a trade, business, or profession; unem-
ployment benefits; and undelivered mail.
Revised June, 2013
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