
Changes You Should 
Note
Effective July 1, 2014, the County of 
Kauai Resolution No. 2013-47, Draft 
3, increases the County of Kauai liquid 
fuel tax by an additional 2 cents per 
gallon.

General Instructions
Form M-20A is used to report and pay 
fuel taxes monthly. There is no annual 
fuel tax return to be filed.

Hawaii’s fuel tax is a tax on distributors 
for each gallon of liquid fuel refined, 
manufactured, produced, or com-
pounded by the distributor and sold 
or used by the distributor in the State.  
The tax is also imposed on liquid fuel 
imported by the distributor or acquired 
by the distributor from persons who are 
not licensed distributors which is sold 
or used by the distributor in the State. 

The fuel tax is comprised of three parts, 
the State license tax, the county fuel 
tax, and the environmental response, 
energy, and food security tax. The 
amount of the State license tax is set 
by legislation. The county fuel tax var-
ies by county and is set by county or-
dinance. The environmental response, 
energy, and food security tax is $1.05 
on each barrel (42 U. S. gallons) or 
fractional  part of a barrel of petroleum 
product sold by a distributor to any re-
tail dealer or end user (other than a re-
finer) of the petroleum product.

Definition of Certain Terms 
Used in Chapters 243 and 
248, HRS
“Alternative fuel” means methanol, 
denatured ethanol, and other alcohols; 
mixtures containing 85 percent or more 
by volume of methanol, denatured eth-
anol, and other alcohols with gasoline 
or other fuels; natural gas; liquefied 
petroleum gas; hydrogen; coal-derived 
liquid fuels; biodiesel; mixtures con-
taining 20 percent or more by volume 
of biodiesel with diesel or other fuels; 
fuels (other than alcohol) derived from 
biological materials; and any other fuel 
that is substantially not a petroleum 
product and that the governor deter-
mines would yield a substantial energy 

security benefits or substantial environ-
mental benefits.

“Distributor” means: (1) Every person 
who refines, manufactures, produces, 
or compounds liquid fuel in the State 
and sells or uses the same therein; (2) 
Every person who imports or causes 
to be imported into the State any liq-
uid fuel and sells it therein, whether in 
the original packages or containers in 
which it is imported or otherwise than 
in such original packages or contain-
ers, or who imports any such fuel for 
the person’s own use in the State; (3) 
Every person who acquires liquid fuel 
from a person not a licensed distributor 
and sells or uses it, whether in the origi-
nal package or container in which it was 
imported (if imported) or otherwise than 
in such original package or container; 
and (4) Every person who acquires liq-
uid fuel from a licensed distributor as a 
wholesaler thereof and sells or uses it.

“Power-generating facility” means 
any electricity-generating facility that 
requires a permit issued under the 
Federal Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 7401-
7671q), the Hawaii air pollution control 
law (chapter 342B, HRS), or both.

“Small Boats” means all vessels and 
other water craft except those oper-
ated in overseas transportation beyond 
the State, and ocean-going tugs and 
dredges.

Who Must File
Every distributor as defined above 
must file Form M-20A. 

When to File
Form M-20A must be filed on or before 
the 20th day of each month, showing 
the fuel sold or used during the preced-
ing calendar month. If the due date falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holi-
day, file by the next regular workday.

The official U.S. Post Office cancella-
tion mark will be considered primary 
evidence of the date of filing of tax 
documents and payments. Hawaii has 
adopted the Internal Revenue Code 
provision to allow documents and pay-
ments delivered by a designated pri-
vate delivery service to qualify for the 
“timely mailing treated as timely filing/

paying rule.” The Department of Taxa-
tion (Department) will conform to the 
Internal Revenue Service listing of des-
ignated private delivery services and 
type of delivery services qualifying for 
the “timely mailing treated as timely 
filing/paying rule.” Timely filing of mail 
which does not bear a U.S. Post Office 
cancellation mark will be determined by 
reference to other competent evidence.

Where to File
Mail Form M-20A and your fuel tax pay-
ment to:

	 Hawaii Department of Taxation 
	 P.O. Box 259 
	 Honolulu, Hawaii 96809-0259

Where to Get Forms, Instruc-
tions, and Publications
Forms, publications, and other docu-
ments, such as copies of Tax Informa-
tion Releases and Administrative Rules 
issued by the Department, are avail-
able on the Department’s website at 
tax.hawaii.gov or you may contact a 
customer service representative at:

Voice:  808-587-4242 
            1-800-222-3229 (Toll-Free)

Telephone for the Hearing Impaired: 
            808-587-1418 
            1-800-887-8974 (Toll-Free)

Fax:     808-587-1488

E-mail: Taxpayer.Services@hawaii.gov

Mail:     Taxpayer Services Branch 
             P.O. Box 259 
             Honolulu, HI  96809-0259

Penalties and Interest
Late Filing of Return – The penalty 
for failure to file a return on time is as-
sessed on the tax due at a rate of 5% 
per month, or part of a month, up to a 
maximum of 25%.

Failure to Pay Tax After Filing Time-
ly Return – The penalty for failure to 
pay the tax after filing a timely return is 
20% of the tax unpaid within 60 days 
of the prescribed due date. The 60-day 
period is calculated beginning with the 
prescribed due date even if the pre-
scribed due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday.
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Interest – Interest at the rate of 2/3 of 
1% per month or part of a month shall 
be assessed on unpaid taxes and pen-
alties beginning with the first calendar 
day after the date prescribed for pay-
ment, whether or not that first calendar 
day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or le-
gal holiday.

Signature
The return must be signed and dated 
by a person who is authorized to sign 
Form M-20A.

Specific Instructions
These instructions are numbered to 
correspond to the line items of Form M-
20A. Other line items on the form are 
self-explanatory.

Note: Check the appropriate box at 
the top of Form M-20A if you are filing 
Form M-20A for the first or final time, 
if your name or address changed, or 
if you are filing an amended return. 

Amended Return Checkbox
If you are amending a return previously 
filed, check the AMENDED Return box 
at the top of the form to indicate that 
this is an amended return.

Address
If your address is outside the United 
States or its possessions or territo-
ries, enter the information on the line 
for “City or Town, State and Postal/
ZIP Code” in the following order: city, 
province or state, postal code, and the 
name of the country. Do not abbreviate 
the country name.

Part I –– Computation of Fuel 
Tax and Environmental Re-
sponse, Energy, and Food 
Security Tax
Complete Part I to compute the amount 
of fuel tax and environmental response, 
energy, and food security tax due with 
the return. In completing Part I, enter 
the number of taxable gallons.

Line 24 –– Specify the type of alterna-
tive fuel sold in gallons. If you sold more 
than one type of alternative fuel, attach 
a separate schedule showing the num-
ber of gallons sold, tax rate, and taxes 
due. Include the total number of gallons 
sold on line 41 and the total taxes on 
line 42.

Line 25 –– For other alternative fuels, 
the State license tax rate shall be based 

on the energy content of the fuels as 
compared to diesel fuel, using a low-
er heating value of one hundred thirty 
thousand British thermal units per gal-
lon as a standard for diesel, so that the 
tax rate, on an energy content basis, is 
equal to one-quarter the rate for diesel 
fuel. The county fuel tax rate may be 
proportional to the energy contents of 
the fuels, as determined by their lower 
heating values, times one-half.

Line 32 –– Report naphtha sold for use 
in a power-generating facility. See defi-
nition of power-generating facility on 
page 1.

Lines 35 and 38 –– Report liquid fuel 
sold or used in small boats. See defi-
nition of small boats on page 1. Liquid 
fuel sold or used in vessels and other 
water craft operated in overseas trans-
portation beyond the State and ocean-
going tugs and dredges should not be 
reported on lines 35 and 38.

Line 43 –– Report the number of bar-
rels (42 U.S. gallons) rounded up to 
the nearest barrel of petroleum product 
sold by a distributor to any retail dealer 
or end user (other than a refiner) of 
the petroleum product. For example, 
if 197.05 barrels were sold, report 198 
barrels on line 43. The environmental 
response, energy, and food security 
tax is imposed on each barrel or frac-
tional part of a barrel. Do not include 
aviation fuel.

Line 46 –– The total taxes due on line 
46 must be paid in full with Form M-
20A. The tax may be paid by check or 
money order made payable to the “Ha-
waii State Tax Collector” in U.S. dollars 
drawn on any bank in the U.S. Do not 
send cash. To ensure that your pay-
ment is applied correctly, please type 
or print on your check or money order: 
(1) “Fuel”, (2) your federal employer 
identification number (FEIN) or social 
security number (SSN), (3) daytime 
phone number, and (4) the filing period 
(MM/YY) and form number being filed 
(ex. 07/14 M-20A).

Amended Returns
If you are filing an amended return, 
check the amended return box at the top 
of Form M-20A. Complete your amend-
ed return using corrected amounts 
through line 46. Attach Schedule AMD, 
Explanation of Changes on Amended 
Return.

Line 47 –– Enter the amount paid  
on your original Form M-20A. If the 
amount is an overpayment, enter a mi-
nus sign, “-” before the amount of an 
overpayment.

Line 48 –– Enter the balance due (or 
refund) with the amended return. If the 
amount is a refund, enter a minus sign 
“-” before the amount of an overpay-
ment. The amount will be refunded to 
you.

Part II –– Summary of Gallons 
Taxable in the County of Maui
Complete Part II to report the taxable 
number of gallons sold or used for the 
islands of Maui, Lanai, and Molokai.

Part III  Summary of Exempt 
Sales in Gallons
Complete Part III to report the exempt 
number of gallons sold or used, includ-
ing (1) Fuel exported or sold to the 
federal government for official govern-
ment use, (2) Imports in interstate or 
foreign commerce as long as the fuel 
is beyond the taxing power of the State 
(e.g. in the foreign trade zone or sales 
of bonded aviation fuel to air carriers 
coming from or going to foreign ports),  
(3) Sales to another licensed distribu-
tor, (4) Fuel sold for use in and actu-
ally delivered to, or sold in, the county 
of Kalawao, and (5) Liquid fuel sold to 
an intra-county ferry operating solely 
within the County of Maui (applies to 
taxable years beginning after Decem-
ber 31, 2007).

Part IV –– Summary of Sales 
in Gallons
Complete Part IV to report total sales, 
exempt sales, and the deduction for re-
tail sales from Form M-2, Certificate of 
Retail Sales of Liquid Fuel. The taxable 
sales reported in Part IV should be the 
same amount entered on the appropri-
ate lines in Part I.

If you are claiming an evaporation al-
lowance deduction, attach Form M-2 
received from each retail dealer report-
ing their retail sales for the month and 
showing the calculation of the evapora-
tion allowance.  If Form M-2 is not at-
tached to your return, your deduction 
will be disallowed. 
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