
STATE OF HAWAII—DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM N-615 

COMPUTATION OF TAX FOR CHILDREN UNDER AGE 14 WHO  
HAVE UNEARNED INCOME OF MORE THAN $1,000  

(NOTE: References to “married”, “unmarried”, and “spouse” also means “in a civil union”, “not in a civil union”, and “civil union partner”, respectively.)

General Instructions
Note: The federal provisions in the: (1) Tax 
Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act 
of 2005, and (2) Small Business and Work 
Opportunity Tax Act of 2007 relating to minor 
children whose unearned income is taxed as if 
parent’s income has not been adopted for Hawaii 
income tax purposes at the present time.

Purpose of Form. –– For children under age 14, 
unearned income (such as taxable interest and 
dividends) over $1,000 is taxed at the parent’s 
rate if the parent’s rate is higher than the child’s 
rate.

Do not use this form if the child’s unearned 
income is $1,000 or less. Instead, figure the 
tax in the normal manner on the child’s income 
tax return. For example, if the child had $900 of 
taxable interest income and $200 of wages, Form 
N-615 is not required to be completed and the 
child’s tax should be figured using the Tax Table.

If the child’s unearned income is more than 
$1,000, use this form to see if any of the child’s 
unearned income is taxed at the parent’s rate 
and, if so, to figure the child’s tax. For example, 
if the child had $1,100 of taxable interest income 
and $200 from wages, complete Form N-615 and 
attach it to the child’s Form N-11 or Form N-15.

How To Obtain Tax Forms. –– Hawaii tax forms, 
instructions, and schedules may be obtained at 
any taxation district office or from the Department 
of Taxation’s website at tax.hawaii.gov, or you 
may contact the customer service representative 
at: 808-587-4242 or 1-800-222-3229 (Toll-Free).

Unearned Income. –– As used on this form, 
“unearned income” includes all taxable income 
other than earned income as defined below. 
It includes income such as taxable interest, 
ordinary dividends, capital gains (including 
capital gain distributions), rents, royalties, etc. It 
also includes annuity income and income (other 
than earned income) received as the beneficiary 
of a trust.

Who Must File. –– Generally, Form N-615 
must be filed for any child who was under age 
14 on January 1, 2015, had more than $1,000 
of unearned income, and is required to file a tax 
return. If neither parent was alive on December 
31, 2014, do not use Form N-615. Instead, figure 
the child’s tax based on his or her own rate.

Note: The parent may be able to elect to report 
the child’s interest, ordinary dividends, and 
capital gain distributions on the parent’s return. 
If the parent makes this election, the child will 
not have to file a return or Form N-615. For more 
information, see Instructions for Form N-11 or 
Form N-15 or get Form N-814, Parent’s Election 
To Report Child’s Interest and Dividends.

Additional Information. –– For more information 
about the tax on unearned income of children, get 

federal Publication 929, Tax Rules for Children 
and Dependents.

Line-by-Line Instructions
We have provided specific instructions for most 
of the lines on the form. Those lines that do not 
appear in these instructions are self-explanatory.

Lines A and B. –– If the child’s parents were 
married to each other and filed a joint return, 
enter the name and social security number of the 
parent who is listed first on the joint return. For 
example, if the father’s name is listed first on the 
return and his social security number is entered 
in the block labeled “Your social security number,” 
enter his name on line A and his social security 
number on line B. If a parent is an alien and 
was issued an individual taxpayer identification 
number (ITIN) by the IRS, enter the ITIN. If the 
individual has applied for an ITIN but the IRS has 
not yet issued the ITIN, write “Applied For”.

If the parents were married but filed separate 
returns, enter the name and social security 
number of the parent who had the higher taxable 
income. If you do not know which parent has the 
higher taxable income, see federal Publication 
929.

If the parents were unmarried, treated as 
unmarried for State income tax purposes, 
or separated either by a divorce or separate 
maintenance decree, enter the name and social 
security number of the parent who had custody 
of the child for most of the year (the custodial 
parent).

Exception: If the custodial parent remarried and 
filed a joint return with his or her new spouse, 
enter the name and social security number of 
the individual who is listed first on the joint return 
even if that individual is not the child’s parent. If 
the custodial parent and his or her new spouse 
filed separate returns, enter the name and social 
security number of the person with the higher 
taxable income, even if that person is not the 
child’s parent.

Note: If the parents were unmarried but lived 
together during the year with the child, enter the 
name and social security number of the parent 
who had the higher taxable income.

Line 1. –– If the child had no earned income 
(defined below), enter the child’s adjusted gross 
income (from Form N-11, line 20 or Form N-15, 
line 35, Column B).

If the child had earned income, use the 
Worksheet on page 2 to figure the amount to 
enter on line 1. However, if the child had a net loss 
from self-employment or claims a net operating 
loss deduction, use the worksheet in federal 
Publication 929 instead of the one on page 2 to 
figure the amount to enter on Form N-615, line 1.

Earned Income includes wages, tips, and 
other payments received for personal services 

performed. Generally, earned income is the total 
of the amounts reported as wages, salaries, tips, 
etc., business income (loss), and farm income 
(loss) on federal Form 1040 or Form N-15, lines 
7 and 12.

Line 2. –– If the child itemized deductions on 
Form N-11 or Form N-15, enter on line 2 the 
greater of:

•• $500 plus the portion of the amount on Form 
N-11, line 22; or Form N-15, line 39, that is 
directly connected with the production of the 
unearned income on Form N-615, line 1; OR

•• $1,000

Line 6. — Enter the taxable income shown on 
the tax return of the parent identified on line A of 
Form N-615. If the parent’s taxable income is less 
than zero, enter zero on line 6. If the parent filed 
a joint return, enter the taxable income shown on 
the return even if the parent’s spouse is not the 
child’s parent.

Line 7. — If the individual identified as the parent 
on this Form N-615 is also identified as the parent 
on any other Form N-615, add the amounts, if 
any, from line 5 on each of the other Forms N-615 
and enter the total on line 7.

Line 9. — Figure the tax on the amount on line 8 
using the Tax Table, Tax Rate Schedules, Capital 
Gains Tax Worksheet in the Instructions for Form 
N-11 or Form N-15, or Form N-168, whichever 
applies. If any net capital gain is included on line 
8, the tax on the amount on line 8 may be less 
if the Capital Gains Tax Worksheet can be used 
to figure the tax. (See federal Publication 929 
for information on how to figure the net capital 
gain included on line 8.) The Capital Gains Tax 
Worksheet should be used to figure the tax if:

the parent’s 
filing status 

is

 
AND

the amount on 
Form N-615,  
line 8, is over

•	 Single $ 24,000

•	 Married filing joint return 
or Qualifying widow(er) 
with dependent child

 
 
    $ 48,000

•	 Married filing separate 
return

 
     $ 24,000

•	 Head of household $ 36,000

If the Capital Gains Tax Worksheet is used to 
figure the tax:

1.	 Enter on line 1 of the Form N-11 or Form 
N-15 worksheet, the amount from Form 
N-615, line 8;

2.	 Enter on line 8 of the Form N-11 worksheet 
or line 2 of the Form N-15 worksheet, the 
net capital gain included on Form N-615, 
line 8;

3.	 Complete the worksheet; and
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4.	 Enter on Form N-615, line 9, the amount 
from line 19 of the Form N-11 worksheet 
or line 13 of the Form N-15 worksheet, 
and check the box for “Capital Gains Tax 
Worksheet”.

If any farm or fishing income is included on line 
8, the tax may be less if you use Form N-168.

If Form N-168 was used to figure the tax on 
the parent’s return, see federal Publication 929 
for how to figure the tax.

Line 10. — Enter the tax as shown on the tax 
return of the parent identified on Form N-615, line 
A. If the parent filed a joint return, enter the tax 
shown on that return even if the parent’s spouse 
is not the child’s parent. If the parent filed Form 
N-152 or Form N-814, do not include any tax 
from those forms on line 10.

Line 15. — Figure the tax on the amount on line 
14 using the Tax Table, Tax Rate Schedules, the 
Capital Gains Tax Worksheet in the Instructions 
for Form N-11 or Form N-15, or Form N-168, 
whichever applies. If the amount on line 14 
includes any net capital gain, the tax on the 
amount on line 14 may be less if the Capital 
Gains Tax Worksheet is used to figure the tax. 
See federal Publication 929 for information on 
how to figure the net capital gain included on line 
14.

If the Capital Gains Tax Worksheet is used to 
figure the tax, follow the steps in the instructions 
for line 9 on page 1. However, on line 1 of the 
Form N-11 or Form N-15 worksheet, enter the 
amount from Form N-615, line 14. On line 8 of the 
Form N-11 worksheet or line 2 of the Form N-15 
worksheet, enter the net capital gain included on 
line 14. Enter on Form N-615, line 15, the amount 
from line 19 of the Form N-11 worksheet or line 
13 of the Form N-15 worksheet, and check the 
box for “Capital Gains Tax Worksheet”.

If any farm or fishing income is included on 
line 14, the tax may be less if you use Form 
N-168.

Line 17. — Figure the tax on the amount on line 
4 using the Tax Table, Tax Rate Schedules, the 
Capital Gains Tax Worksheet in the Instructions 
for Form N-11 or Form N-15, or Form N-168, 
whichever applies. If the amount on line 4 includes 
any net capital gain, the tax on the amount on line 
4 may be less if the Capital Gains Tax Worksheet 
is used to figure the tax.

If the Capital Gains Tax Worksheet is used to 
figure the tax, follow the steps in the instructions 
for line 9 on page 1. However, on line 1 of the 
Form N-11 or Form N-15 worksheet, enter the 
amount from Form N-615, line 4. On line 8 of the 
Form N-11 worksheet or line 2 of the Form N-15 

worksheet, enter the net capital gain included on 
line 4. Enter on Form N-615, line 17, the amount 
from line 19 of the Form N-11 worksheet or line 
13 of the Form N-15 worksheet, and check the 
box for “Capital Gains Tax Worksheet”.

If any farm or fishing income is included on line 
4, the tax may be less if you use Form N-168.

Line 18. — Compare the amounts on lines 16 
and 17, then enter the larger of the 2 amounts on 
line 18. Round the amount to the nearest dollar. 
On the appropriate line of the child’s tax return, 
be sure to indicate that tax from Form N-615 is 
included, even if the amount on line 17 is the 
larger of the 2 amounts.

Amended Returns. — If after the child’s return 
is filed, the parent’s taxable income is changed or 
the net unearned income of any of the parent’s 
other children is changed, the child’s tax must 
be refigured using the adjusted amounts. If 
the child’s tax is changed as a result of the 
adjustment(s), file an amended individual income 
tax return to correct the child’s tax.

Child’s Unearned Income Worksheet (keep a copy for your records)

1.	 Enter the total income amount from the child’s federal 
Form 1040* or Form N-15, line 20, whichever applies..

2.	 Enter the child’s earned income (defined on page 
1) plus any deduction for interest penalty on early 
withdrawal of savings the child claims on federal Form 
1040 or Form N-15, line 29, whichever applies.............

3.	 Line 1 minus line 2. Enter the result here and on Form 
N-615, line 1..................................................................

* Note: Do not include income not subject to Hawaii income taxes (e.g., all income earned and 
proceeds derived from stock options or stock, including stock issued through the exercise of stock options 
or warrants, from a qualified high technology business or from a holding company of a qualified high 
technology business by an employee, officer, or director of the qualified high technology business, or 
investor who qualifies for the high technology business investment tax credit is excluded from income 
taxes; and amounts received by an individual or a qualified high technology business as royalties and 
other income derived from patents, copyrights, and trade secrets (1) owned by the individual or qualified 
high technology business, and (2) developed and arising out of a qualified high technology business are 
excluded from gross income, adjusted gross income, and taxable income.)
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