
Changes You Should Note
 Effective January 1, 2016, pursuant 

to Act 76, SLH 2016, the fuel tax 
for naphtha sold for use in a power-
generating facility is subject to the fuel 
tax at 2 cents per gallon, retroactive  to 
January 1, 2016.

Effective January 1, 2016, pursuant 
to Act 103, SLH 2007, Act 209, SLH 
2009, and  Act 188, SLH 2012, the 
license tax will revert to 1 cent for each 
gallon of diesel oil, gasoline or other 
aviation fuel for use in or used for 
airplanes and 16 cents for each gallon 
of liquid fuel. 

Effective July 1, 2016, pursuant to 
Maui County Resolution No. 16-79 
changes the County of Maui fuel tax 
rates.

General Instructions
Form M-36 is completed by the 

user of fuel to obtain a refund of:

1.	Fuel taxes in excess of 1 cent 
per gallon for liquid fuels used for 
operating agricultural equipment in 
areas other than upon the public 
highways of the State,

2.	Fuel taxes in excess of 1 cent 
per gallon for diesel oil used for 
operating motor vehicles in areas 
other than upon the public highways 
of the State, and

3.	Fuel taxes for alternative fuel used 
for operating an internal combustion 
engine or motor vehicles in areas 
other than upon the public highways 
of the State.

Definition of Alternative Fuel

“Alternative fuel” means metha-
nol, denatured ethanol, and other al-
cohols; mixtures containing 85 percent 
or more by volume of methanol, dena-

tured ethanol, and other alcohols with 
gasoline or other fuels; natural gas; liq-
uefied petroleum gas; hydrogen; coal-
derived liquid fuels; biodiesel; mix-
tures containing 20 percent or more 
by volume of biodiesel with diesel or 
other fuels; fuels (other than alcohol) 
derived from biological materials; and 
any other fuel that is substantially not 
a petroleum product and that the gov-
ernor determines would yield a sub-
stantial energy security benefits or 
substantial environmental benefits.

When to File

All claims are to be filed on a cal-
endar year basis. However, claims 
exceeding $1,000 within any calendar 
quarter or claims exceeding $1,000 
within two or more calendar quarters 
may be filed quarterly.

Form M-36 must be filed on or be-
fore the 20th day of the month follow-
ing the close of the filing period. If the 
due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, 
or legal holiday, file by the next regular 
workday.

Where to File

Mail Form M-36 to:

Hawaii Department of Taxation 
	 P.O. Box 259 
	 Honolulu, Hawaii 96809-0259

Where to Get Forms, Instructions, 
and Publications

Forms, publications, and other doc-
uments, such as copies of Tax Informa-
tion Releases and Administrative Rules 
issued by the Department, are avail-
able on the Department’s website at 
tax.hawaii.gov or you may contact a 
customer service representative at:

Voice:  808-587-4242 

            1-800-222-3229 (Toll-Free)

Telephone for the Hearing Impaired: 
            808-587-1418 
            1-800-887-8974 (Toll-Free)

Fax:     808-587-1488

E-mail: Taxpayer.Services@hawaii.gov

Mail:     Taxpayer Services Branch 
             P.O. Box 259 
             Honolulu, HI  96809-0259

Signature

Form M-36 must be signed by the 
user of the fuel or the authorized rep-
resentative of the user of the fuel.

Specific Instructions
Address
If your address is outside the United 

States or its possessions or territo-
ries, enter the information on the line 
for “City or town, State and Postal/
ZIP Code” in the following order: city, 
province or state, postal code, and the 
name of the country. Do not abbreviate 
the country name.

Records should be kept showing 
separately the number of gallons of 
liquid fuel, diesel oil, or alternative fuel 
used, and supporting the accuracy of 
the refund claimed.

The information for lines 1 through 
3 and lines 5 through 7 need not be 
furnished on Form M-36 if separate re-
cords are maintained for fuel used for 
each piece of agricultural equipment 
or motor vehicle pursuant to sections 
18-243-4-01(e) and 18-243-4-02(f), 
Hawaii Administrative Rules. However, 
line 4, and lines 8 through 11 must be 
completed.
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