
Does your business involve “cash” 
transactions?

I J l 2009 th D t t f T ti f d th S i l E f t S ti (SES)

Failure to:

In July 2009, the Department of Taxation formed the Special Enforcement Section (SES).       
The highest priority of the SES is to ensure that all Hawaii taxpayers pay their fair share and to 
prevent the shortchanging of those who comply with Hawaii tax laws. 

Hawaii law authorizes the SES to enforce Hawaii tax laws through the issuance of cease and 
desist citations, which can include substantial monetary fines.  

A violation of this provisionFailure to:

1. Produce license upon demand

2. Obtain a GE license

A violation of this provision 
results in a fine not to exceed:

1. $500 for most persons  
$1,000 for cash‐based businesses

2. $500 for most persons  
$2,000 for cash‐based businesses

3. Keep adequate books and records

4. Record transaction

It is unlawful for any person doing business to conduct 
any transaction in cash and fail to:
(1) Offer a receipt or other record of the transaction, and
(2) M i i l d d f

3. $1,000 for most persons  
$2,000 for cash‐based businesses

4. $1,000 for most persons  
$2,000 for cash‐based businesses

(2) Maintain a contemporaneously generated record of 
all business transactions conducted each day, whether 
hand written or generated by a manually operated or 
electronic cash register.  
Each day a person is in violation of this section shall be 
treated as a separate violation.

5. Tax avoidance price fixing

Persons who offer price differentials where the 

5. $2,000 for most persons 
$3,000 for cash‐based businesses

p
transaction is paid in cash may violate the offense of tax 
avoidance price fixing.  

6. Possession of currency for tax avoidance 
purposes

Where a person possesses cash for the purpose of 
avoiding taxes, the violation of possession of currency for 
tax avoidance purposes occurs.

6. $2,000 for most persons  
$3,000 for cash‐based businesses

7. Interference with a tax official

For more information, please visit tax.hawaii.gov

7. $2,000

Print Name Signature and Date (mm/dd/yyyy)

Business Name: 

Address: 

Telephone Number:  W


