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Tips for Getting a Tax Clearance

	File your tax returns on time.

	Pay your taxes on time.

	Register online with Hawaii Compliance Express.

	If you file a paper application, use the current 
version of Form A-6 and remember to sign it.

How Do I Apply For a Tax Clearance?

5	 Can I apply for a tax clearance online?

Yes. Register online with Hawaii Compliance Express (HCE) at  
vendors.ehawaii.gov to get an electronic Certificate of Vendor Compliance. This certificate 
satisfies the clearance requirements for DOTAX, IRS, DCCA, and DLIR.

Register Online

	 Tax Clearances for State & County Contracts
This Tax Facts provides basic information about the tax clearance requirements for businesses and nonprofit organizations 

that plan on selling goods, services, or contracting to the state of Hawaii or its counties under a state or county contract.

When Do I Need a Tax Clearance?

1	 Do I need a tax clearance to do 
business with the state or its 
counties?

If you are a local business, an out-of-state business, or 
a nonprofit organization that plans on selling goods, services, 
or contracting to the state or any of its counties through a state 
or county contract, then you must get a tax clearance from 
the Hawaii Department of Taxation (DOTAX) and the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) as stated in the table below. Federal, 
state, municipal, and county government agencies doing 
business with the state or its counties are exempt from this 
requirement. (Section 103-53, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS).)

A tax clearance is 
required: For state and county contracts:

Within 6 months Before entering or bidding

Within 2 months Final payment

Not required Progress payment

Not required “Small purchases” or 
contracts under $25,000

Not required Emergency procurements

(Section 3-122-112, Hawaii Administrative Rules)

2	 What is a tax clearance?
A tax clearance is a certificate that confirms you filed 

your tax returns and paid your taxes (including penalties and 
interest) as of the date the certificate is issued.

3	 Do I need other clearances?
Yes, in addition to the tax clearances from DOTAX 

and the IRS, you will also need:

a.	 A Certificate of Good Standing from the Hawaii Department 
of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), and

b.	A Certificate of Compliance from the Hawaii Department 
of Labor and Industrial Relations (DLIR).

4	 What if I do not submit a tax clearance 
certificate when it’s required?

If you do not submit a tax clearance certificate when 
it is required, you cannot enter into or bid on state or county 
contracts. If you don’t submit a tax clearance certificate to 
the contracting agency within six months after completing a 
state or county contract, your final payment can be used to 
pay your state and federal taxes and the contracting agency 
will keep any remaining balance. (Section 103-53(c), HRS.)

http://tax.hawaii.gov/
https://vendors.ehawaii.gov/hce/splash/welcome.html
https://vendors.ehawaii.gov/hce/splash/welcome.html
https://vendors.ehawaii.gov/hce/splash/welcome.html
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Where to Get Forms and Information
Website: tax.hawaii.gov
Telephone:  808-587-4242
Toll-Free:  1-800-222-3229

Telephone for the hearing impaired:  808-587-1418
Toll-Free:  1-800-887-8974

 6	 How long does it take?
If you register with HCE and meet all DOTAX, IRS, 

DCCA, and DLIR clearance requirements, your electronic  
Certificate of Vendor Compliance will be available on the 
HCE website within 10 business days. After that, you can 
print your certificate at any time. HCE will email you if your 
compliance status changes.

If you file Form A-6 with DOTAX, and you filed all your tax 
returns and paid all your taxes, DOTAX and the IRS will usually 
issue a tax clearance certificate within 10 to 15 business days. 

7	 Do I need to submit separate 
applications to get clearances from 
DOTAX, IRS, DCCA, and DLIR?

If you register with HCE, then you do not need to 
submit any applications.

If you don’t register online with HCE, then you may 
apply by filing Form A-6, “Tax Clearance Application,” online 
at tax.hawaii.gov/eservices/, by mail, fax, or in-person at any 
DOTAX office in Hawaii. If you file Form A-6 with DOTAX and 
your application is approved, DOTAX will stamp it and forward 
it to the IRS. If the IRS also approves your application, the 
IRS will stamp it and return it to you. You must also submit 
separate applications to get clearances from DCCA and DLIR.

8	 If I bid on 15 contracts, do I have to 
file 15 tax clearance applications?

No. If you register with HCE, state and county 
procurement personnel will verify your compliance status 
via HCE. If you file Form A-6, you may request additional 
certified copies on your application. 

 
Will My Payment Plan and Delinquent Taxes Affect My Contract?

9	 I have a payment plan with DOTAX and 
the IRS. Can I do business with the 
state or its counties?
Yes. If you have an approved payment plan, pay on 

time, and file all required tax returns, you may be able to get a 
Certificate of Vendor Compliance (if you registered with HCE) or 
conditional letters from DOTAX and the IRS (if you filed Form 
A-6). The conditional letters can be substituted to meet the tax 
clearance requirements for state and county contracts. (Section 
103-53(f), HRS.)

10	What happens if I don’t pay my taxes 
or default on my payment plan during 
the term of the contract?

DOTAX and the IRS will periodically check your records 
and contact you if you don’t pay your taxes. If your delinquency 
is not resolved, your progress payments can be used to pay your 
state and federal taxes including penalties and interest. Your 
progress payments will not be used to pay your taxes as long as 
you file your tax returns, pay your taxes, and pay your installment 
payments on time. (Section 103-53(b), HRS.)

For more information, see the brochure, “An Introduction to the Tax Clearance Procedure”

How to Apply
 	     For Clearances

               or
Apply with DOTAX, IRS,

DCCA, & DLIR

Register Online with 
Hawaii Compliance Express

http://tax.hawaii.gov/
http://tax.hawaii.gov/
http://tax.hawaii.gov/eservices/
https://vendors.ehawaii.gov/hce/splash/welcome.html
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