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TAX FACTS 98-1
General Excise Tax on Medical and Dental Services

This Tax Facts provides information about how the general excise tax (GET) applies to medical and dental services. The GET is a 
privilege tax imposed on business activity in the State of Hawaii. The tax is imposed on the gross income received by the person engaging 
in the business activity. Gross income from medical and dental services is subject to GET at the rate of 4% (4.5% in the City & County of 
Honolulu). The GET rate on medical and dental services in the City & County of Honolulu includes a 0.5% county surcharge. Although the 
GET is imposed on the provider, most providers visibly pass on the GET to their patients.

The following answers common questions asked by patients about the GET on medical and dental charges.

 1	 Can my doctor and dentist charge me 
GET?

Yes. The GET is an expense that doctors and dentists 
(providers) incur by doing business in Hawaii. They may charge 
you GET as a way to recover their expense. Although it is a common 
business practice for providers to visibly pass on the GET to their 
patients, it is not required by the GET Law. The visible pass on of 
the GET is a matter of contract between you and your provider. 
If your provider chooses to visibly pass on the GET to you, the 
provider must show the exact dollar amount or percentage of the 
tax. Under consumer protection laws, the amount that is visibly 
passed on and represented to be the GET cannot exceed the actual 
tax due on the transaction.

 2	 What is the maximum GET rate that my 
provider can charge me? 

The maximum GET rate that your provider may visibly pass 
on to you is 4.166% (4.712% if subject to the county surcharge). 
This takes into account the fact that the provider’s gross income 
includes any GET visibly passed on. For more information, see Tax 
Facts 37-1, “General Excise Tax (GET),” and Tax Announcement 
No. 2006-15, “General Excise Tax (GET) and County Surcharge 
Tax (CST) Visibly Passed on to Customers.”

 3	 What is the county surcharge?
Effective January 1, 2007, the general excise and use tax 

was amended to provide a 0.5% county surcharge on transactions 
attributable to the City & County of Honolulu (Oahu) and subject 
to the state GET or use tax rate of 4% for a total rate of 4.5%. The 
county surcharge does not apply to activities taxed at the 0.5% 
rate (for example, wholesaling) or the 0.15% rate for insurance 
commissions.

 4	 Can my provider charge me GET for 
services that were paid for by my 
insurance company?

Yes. If your insurance plan does not cover the payment of 
the GET and does not limit the GET from being passed on to you, 
then your provider may visibly pass on GET to you. For example, 
your dentist charges you $520.63 ($500.00 for dental services + 
4.166% GET). If your insurance plan covers all services ($500) 
except for the tax and the insurance plan does not limit the GET 
from being passed on to you, then you are responsible for paying 
$20.63 in GET.

 5	 If a participating provider has a contract 
with my insurance company, can the 
GET be computed on an amount greater 
than the eligible charge?

No. If a participating provider computes the GET on an amount 
greater than their gross income (for example, greater than your 
plan’s eligible charge), the GET calculated will be more than the 
actual GET due on the transaction. Under consumer protection 
laws, GET that is visibly passed on cannot exceed the actual tax 
due on the transaction.

 6	 What amount should be used to compute 
the GET, the claim that was filed with 
my insurance company or the eligible 
charge set by my insurance company?

If your provider filed a $150 claim with the insurance company 
and the insurance company reduced this amount to the eligible 
charge of $110, the eligible charge is used to compute the GET.

If your insurance plan covers the payment of the GET, then 
the GET should be included in the $110 eligible charge.

If your insurance plan does not cover the payment of the GET 
and does not limit the GET from being passed on to you, then your 



Tax Facts 98-1	 Page 2
Revised April 2016

Tax Facts is a publication that provides general information on tax subjects of current interest to taxpayers and is not a substitute for legal or other professional 
advice.  The information provided in this publication does not cover every situation and is not intended to replace the law or change its meaning.  Furthermore, the 
information in this publication is subject to change without notice due to changes in the law or rules, judicial decisions, or changes in official Department positions.    

For more information, visit the Department of Taxation’s website at tax.hawaii.gov

Where to Get Forms and Information
Website:  tax.hawaii.gov
Telephone:  808-587-4242
Toll-Free:  1-800-222-3229

Telephone for the hearing impaired:  808-587-1418
Toll-Free for the hearing impaired:  1-800-887-8974

provider may compute the GET on the eligible charge of $110 and 
pass on the tax to you. If you do not know if your plan covers the 
payment of the GET, ask your insurance company.

 7	 If a non-participating provider does not 
have a contract with my insurance 
company, can GET be computed on the 
actual charge instead of the eligible 
charge?

Yes. Since a non-participating provider does not have a contract 
with your insurance company, the provider’s gross income is the 
actual charge for services and not the eligible charge under your 
insurance plan. In this case, the non-participating provider may 
compute GET on the amount actually charged  for services instead 
of the eligible charge.

For example, a non-participating provider charges you $500 
for services, but the eligible charge under your insurance plan is 
$300. The GET is computed on the $500 billed to you because that 
is the provider’s gross income. Computing GET on the $500 will 
not result in an amount greater than the actual tax due and will not 
violate any consumer protection laws.

 8	 My bill shows that 4.167% was added 
onto my bill. Is this allowed?

No. Rounding 4.166% to 4.167% is a violation of consumer 
protection laws because the amount that is visibly passed on cannot 
exceed the actual tax due.

Note:  If the transaction is subject to the county surcharge, 
the tax rate visibly passed on cannot exceed 4.712%.

 9	 Are there any exemptions from the GET 
that a provider can claim?

Yes. The gross income from the sale of prosthetic devices 
and prescription drugs (including vaccines) to an individual by a 
hospital, infirmary, medical clinic, health care facility, pharmacy, 
physician, dentist, or other practitioner licensed to administer the 
drug to an individual is exempt from the GET. The exempt sale 
must be separately stated from any administrative and service fees. 
A provider cannot charge you GET on an amount for which the 
provider is claiming a GET exemption.

10	 Who can I contact for more information?
For more information on consumer protection laws, 

contact the Office of Consumer Protection at (808) 586-2630.
For more information on the GET, contact the Department 

of Taxation at (808) 587-4242.


