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TAX INFORMATION RELEASE NO. 94-6
RE: Resale Certificates

This Tax Information Release (TIR) answers questions that have
been raised regarding the additional amount a seller may require a
purchaser to pay if a purchaser has given a seller a resale certificate,
and it is later found that some or all of the sales covered by the
certificate are retail sales. This TIR clarifies section 237-13(2)(F),
Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), and section 18-237-13-02(d)(2)(B), Hawaii
Administrative Rules (HAR).

Under the law governing resale certificates, section
237-13(2)(F)(i), HRS, a purchaser who gives a resale certificate to a
seller is obligated to pay the seller, upon demand, “the amount of
additional tax which by reason thereof (i.e., because the sale is not in
fact at wholesale) is imposed upon the seller”. To accomplish the remedial
purposes of a resale certificate, and because interest is added to and
becomes part of the tax under section 231-39(b), HRS, interest is
recoverable from the purchaser under section 237-13(2)(F)(i), HRS.

Penalties also are added to and become part of the tax. In
contrast to interest, however, a penalty or may not be recoverable from
the purchaser, depending on why it was imposed. A failure to file penalty,
for example, would not be recoverable because failure to file has nothing
to do with the accuracy of the resale certificate; the seller was required
to file a return whether or not the certificate was accurate. This TIR
does not address the question of what kinds of penalties, if any, would be
recoverable.

The 4 scenarios in this TIR all involve the following basic
facts:

In March, 1991, R, a licensed retailer, purchased 1000 articles
of tangible personal property from taxpayer T, a licensed wholesaler for
purposes of resale at retail. T is a calendar year taxpayer. The 1000
articles were sold at $100 each, without any visible pass on of general
excise tax, for a total price of $100,000. T reported the sales as income
from wholesaling and paid $500 in general excise tax to the Department of
Taxation, however, R consumed 100 of the articles without informing T.

Scenario 1:

R’s consumption of the 100 articles is discovered by the Department in
1994, and R had not given a resale certificate to T.

The sale of the 100 articles must be reclassified as a retail
sale. Because $50 in tax already has been paid on these articles at the
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wholesale rate, the Department will assess T an additional $350 in tax,
plus interest at the underpayment rate of 8 per cent a year.

T has no recourse against R except under the private agreement
between them that resulted in the original sale, or under other nontax law.
If T recovers against R, the amount recovered is subject to the general
excise tax. Any recovery by T is treated as additional income from
retailing, reported on line 8 on the return for the period in which the
income is recognized under T’s method of accounting.

Scenario 2:

R’s consumption of the 100 articles is discovered by the Department in
1994, and R had given a resale certificate to T.

The sale of the 100 articles must be reclassified as a retail
sale. The Department will assess T an additional $350 in tax, plus
interest at 8 per cent a year. The amounts to be recovered in the examples
set forth in section 18-237-13-02(d)(2)(D), HAR, are incorrectly calculated
and will be amended to be consistent with this TIR.

Assume that the interest is $84, and penalties are not charged.

In this example, R is obligated to pay T $350 + 84 = $434 on
demand. If T then recovers $434 from R, T has received additional gross
income. The amount recovered is treated as additional income from
retailing, reported on line 8 on the return for the period in which the
income is recognized under T’s method of accounting. The income does not
qualify as a nontaxable reimbursement under section 237-20, HRS. Thus, an
additional $17.36 (4 per cent of $434) in general excise tax is due from T.

T does not have recourse against R for the additional $17.36
under section 237-13(2)(F)(i), HRS. Under section 237-13(2)(F)(i), HRS, R
only is liable to pay the additional tax which “by reason thereof” is
imposed upon the seller. The additional tax liability for the $17.36 was
not created by reason of R’s consumption of the 100 articles, but because T
received $434 of additional income. Furthermore, the Department has
historically and consistently treated the passing on of a seller’s tax to
the buyer as a matter governed exclusively by private agreement. Thus the
law governing the resale certificate does not obligate R to pay T anything
on account of the additional $17.36 tax imposed upon T. T, however, may
have additional recourse against R if their private agreement, or other
nontax law, so provides.

Scenario 3:

R’s consumption of the 100 articles is discovered when R so informs T in
1992, and R had not given a resale certificate to T.

The sale of the 100 articles must be reclassified as a retail
sale.
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If T has not yet filed the 1991 annual reconciliation return and
the statutory due date for the 1991 annual reconciliation return has not
yet passed, T must file an amended periodic return, Form G-54, for the
period in which the sale was reported as a wholesale sale. T must
reclassify the $10,000 as income from retailing. Here, T’s amended
periodic return for the period including March, 1991, would show $10,000 of
retailing and $90,000 of wholesaling income, for which the tax would be
$850 (4 per cent of $10,000 plus 0.5 per cent of $90,000). The $500 paid
then would be subtracted, to arrive at a $350 balance due. The 1991 annual
reconciliation return reflecting this reclassification then is filed
normally at the proper time.

If T already has filed the 1991 annual reconciliation return, T
must file an amended annual return, Form G-55, for 1991. An amended
periodic return on Form G-54 should not be filed. T must reclassify the
$10,000 as income from retailing, as described in the previous paragraph,
to arrive at a $350 balance due. Interest also is due on the $350. The
interest is computed according to the instructions to Form G-55.

As in Scenario 1, T has no recouse against R except as provided
in their private agreement, or by other nontax law.

Scenario 4:

R’s consumption of the 100 articles is discovered when R so informs T in
1992, and R has given a resale certificate to T.

If T has not yet filed the 1991 annual reconciliation return and
the statutory due date for the 1991 annual reconciliation return has not
yet passed, T must file an amended periodic return, Form G-54, for the
period in which the sale was reported as a wholesale sale. T must
reclassify the $10,000 as income from retailing. Here, T’s amended
periodic return for the period including March, 1991, would show $10,OOO of
retailing and $90,000 of wholesaling income, for which the tax would be
$850 (4 per cent of $10,000 plus 0.5 per cent of $90,000). The $500 paid
then would be subtracted, to arrive at a $350 balance due. The 1991 annual
reconciliation return reflecting this reclassification then is filed
normally at the proper time.

If T already has filed the 1991 annual reconciliation return, T
must file an amended annual return, Form G-55, for 1991. An amended
periodic return on Form G-54 should not be filed. T must reclassify the
$10,000 as income from retailing, as described in the previous paragraph,
to arrive at a $350 balance due. Interest also is due on the $350. The
interest is computed according to the instructions to Form G-55.

As in Scenario 2, T is entitled to recover $350 plus any
interest, and possibly penalties, from R. If and when T recognizes that
recovery under its method of accounting, T will have additional gross
income on which general excise tax will be due and payable.
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The law governing the resale certificate does not entitle T to
recover against R for any tax imposed on T because of the additional gross
income. T may have additional recourse if the private agreement between
them, or other nontax law, so provides.

This Tax Information Release does not address net income tax
consequences in any of the above scenarios.

Director of Taxation

HRS Sections Explained: HRS §§237-13(2)(F), 237-30, 237-33

Rules Sections Explained: §18-237-13-02(d)




