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October 1, 2010 
 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
TAX INFORMATION RELEASE NO. 2010-08 

 
Re:  Act 91, Session Laws of Hawaii 2010, Relating to General Excise Tax 
 
 On May 11, 2010, Governor Linda Lingle signed into law Senate Bill 2643 SD 1 HD 1 CD 1, 
which became law as Act 91, Session Laws of Hawaii 2010.  
 
Act 91 Description 
 
 Section 237-24.7(1) of the Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS"), provides that amounts 
received by the operator of a hotel from the owner of the hotel that are disbursed by the operator 
for employee wages, salaries, payroll taxes, insurance premiums and benefits, including 
retirement, vacation, sick pay, and health benefits, are not subject to general excise tax.  In 2007, 
Act 239, Session Laws of Hawaii ("SLH") 2007, amended section 237-24.7(1) to provide for the 
same treatment as described above for amounts received by (1) the operator of a hotel from a 
timeshare association; and (2) the suboperator of a hotel from the owner of the hotel, from a 
timeshare association, or from the operator of the hotel.  The definition of "hotel" was amended 
to include "a timeshare plan as defined in section 514E-1."  Act 239 also added the definition of 
suboperator to mean "any person who, pursuant to a written contract with the operator, operates 
or manages the hotel as a subcontractor of the operator." 
 

The general excise tax exemptions for operators of a timeshare plan and suboperators of 
hotels and timeshare plans added by Act 239 were set to expire on December 31, 2009.  In 2009, 
in Act 196, SLH 2009, the exemptions added by Act 239 were extended until December 31, 
2010, provided that the aggregate tax exemption for the Act 239 amendments did not exceed 
$400,000 per taxable year ending on or between January 1, 2010 and January 1, 2011.  This cap 
language could be interpreted to mean that the $400,000 applied to gross receipts, not tax. 

 
In 2010, Act 91, SLH 2010, extended the amendments to section 237-24.7(1) made by 

Act 239, SLH 2007, until December 31, 2014.  Act 91, SLH 2010, also clarified that the general 
excise tax exemption provided by the amendments to section 237-24.7(1) that were enacted in 
Act 239, SLH 2007, were limited to $400,000 in tax per calendar year in the aggregate for all 
taxpayers.  Act 91 is effective on July 1, 2010. 
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Implementation of Act 91 for Calendar Year 2010 

 Effective immediately, taxpayers who are eligible for the exemptions subject to the $400,000 
cap must cease claiming these exemptions on their general excise tax returns, whether the taxpayer 
is filing Form G-45, "Periodic General Excise/Use Tax Return" or Form G-49, "Annual Return and 
Reconciliation of General Excise/Use Tax Return."  No taxpayer with a fiscal year ending in 2010, 
may claim the exemption subject to the cap on their Form G-49 but these taxpayers will be allowed 
to use their allocated portion of the $400,000 cap for calendar year 2010 on their returns filed in 
2011 that cover a portion of the 2010 calendar year.  Fiscal year taxpayers who have already filed 
their Form G-49 for any tax year ending in 2010 and claimed the exemption subject to the cap must 
file an amended Form G-49 and pay any tax due.  Taxpayers may request that the Department waive 
penalties and interest on payments made on an amended Form G-49 in this situation. 
 

Taxpayers who are eligible for the exemptions subject to the cap must apply after December 
31, 2010, with the Department to determine what portion of the taxpayer's gross receipts will be 
covered by the exemption on Form G-79, "Hotel Operator/Suboperator Deduction Certificate," as 
described below. Calendar year taxpayers will have to adjust their tax liability on the Form G-49, 
depending on how much of their gross receipts are covered by the exemption amount determined by 
the Department. 
 
Implementation of Act 91 for Calendar Years 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 
 
 Beginning in calendar year 2011, calendar year taxpayers eligible to claim the exemptions 
covered by the aggregate $400,000 cap may not claim these exemptions on Form G-45, the periodic 
general excise tax return.  These exemptions can only be claimed on Form G-49, the annual return, 
after the taxpayer has filed Form G-79 and has been notified by the Department of the taxpayer's 
allocable share of the $400,000 cap.  Form G-79 must be filed on or before March 15th of each year. 
 The Department will return the Form G-79 to the taxpayer with a certification of the exemption 
amount that may be claimed by the taxpayer.  Form G-79 must be attached to the taxpayer's Form G-
49 in order to claim the exemption.  No extensions of time to file Form G-79 will be granted for the 
March 15th filing deadline.  In addition, any amended Form G-79 must be filed with the Department 
on or before March 15th.  Any Form G-79 filed after March 15th will be disregarded.  Any taxpayer 
filing a Form G-79 after March 15th will not be allocated any of the $400,000 exemption cap and 
will not be entitled to claim any exemption subject to the cap. 
 
Allocation of Aggregate $400,000 Cap 
 

The Department will allocate the $400,000 tax exemption amount cap on a pro rata basis.  
Taxpayers will apply with the Department, after December 31st of any given calendar year to receive 
their share of the tax cap amount.  Form G-79 will be due by March 15th following the close of the 
calendar year for which the cap will be determined.  The Department will then determine the total of 
all tax, including the county surcharge, on gross receipts from activities covered by the exemption 
subject to the cap for all taxpayers, then grant an exemption based on the percentage of the $400,000 
tax cap amount to each taxpayer that is the percentage of that particular taxpayer's tax, including 
county surcharge, for the gross receipts from activities covered by the exemption subject to the cap, 
compared to the total tax, including county surcharge, for the gross receipts from activities covered 
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by the exemption subject to the cap, for all taxpayers applying for the exemption.  The Department 
will  rely on the taxpayer's reporting of their gross receipts on the Form G-79 as accurate and not 
allow any subsequent adjustments to a taxpayer's gross receipts to cause a readjustment of the 
allocation of the exemption amounts under the cap.  Form G-79 will NOT be accepted after March 
15th.  This will ensure that the Department will be able to timely certify all claims. 
 
Fiscal Year Taxpayers 
 
 Taxpayers who file on a fiscal year basis will apply for the exemption for periods that are 
covered over two fiscal years by filing Form G-79 after December 31st of any given calendar year 
and claim the certified exemption amount on the fiscal year return within which the given December 
31st date lands.  For example, if a taxpayer's year ends on June 30, 2010, which covers July through 
December of 2009 and January through June of 2010, the taxpayer must file Form G-79, after 
December 31, 2010 and on or before March 15, 2011, for the entire 2010 calendar year.  The 
taxpayer will use the exemption amount allocated to them for the 2010 calendar year either on their 
annual return, Form G-49, for their year ending on June 30, 2011, which is due on October 20, 2011, 
or on their period returns due after receipt of their certified Form G-79 for fiscal year ending June 
30, 2011.  However, the Form G-79 should only be attached to a Form G-49 and should not be filed 
with a Form G-45. 
 
 If you have any questions, please contact the Technical Section at 587-1577 or Betty Lam at 
587-1533.  
 
 
 
      STANLEY SHIRAKI 
      Director of Taxation 


