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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 2009-06 
 
RE: Increase in the Cigarette Tax on July 1, 2009 
 

Act 56, Session Laws of Hawaii 2009 (Act 56), increases the excise tax per cigarette sold 
in Hawaii. 
 

Section 245-3, Hawaii Revised Statutes, was amended by increasing the excise tax per 
cigarette to the following amounts: 
 

 13.00 cents per cigarette on and after July 1, 2009; 
 14.00 cents per cigarette on and after July 1, 2010; 
 15.00 cents per cigarette on and after July 1, 2011. 
 
The tax is collected by the Department of Taxation (Department) when cigarette and 

tobacco wholesalers and dealers purchase cigarette tax stamps, and place the stamps on cigarette 
packs prior to distribution. The current cigarette tax stamps are light brown;1

 new red tax stamps 
will be issued to implement the increase in the tax rate.2  This announcement discusses the 
procedures for handling the increase in the price of the tax stamps by either returning unused 
rolls of stamps for credit or paying the difference for purposes of the July 1, 2009 tax increase. 
Subsequent increases will be addressed in subsequent announcements before each increase in 
tax becomes effective. 
 
I.  Impact on Consumers 
 

Consumers will see cigarette packs with light brown stamps and cigarette packs with red 
stamps.  It is legal for retailers to continue to sell cigarette packs with the light brown stamps on 
or after July 1, 2009, under certain circumstances described immediately below. 
 
II.  Impact on Retailers 

                                                 
1 The light brown stamps (with a denominated value of $2.00) have been sold from September 2, 2008, and 

prior to that violet stamps (with a denominated value of $1.80) were sold, beginning September 4, 2007. 
2 The denominated value of the red stamp will be $2.60. 
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Retailers may continue to sell cigarette packs stamped with the current light brown tax 
stamps if: (1) the retailers have the cigarette packs with light brown stamps affixed in their 
inventory as of July 1, 2009; or (2) the cigarette packs with light brown stamps affixed were 
received from licensed wholesalers and dealers on or after July 1, 2009.  Retailers may have to 
explain to consumers the reason for the different colored stamps. 
 
 The law does not require retailers, who purchase cigarettes from licensed wholesalers and 
dealers, to collect the increase in cigarette taxes on July 1, 2009, as the tax is imposed on 
wholesalers and dealers. However, if wholesalers and dealers pass on the additional tax to the 
retailers, they may pass on the additional tax to customers. 
 
III.  Impact on wholesalers and dealers  
 
A.  Filing of a Cigarette Tax Stamps Floor Stock Return; Use of Light Brown Stamps 
 

Act 56 requires every wholesaler and dealer to pay a tax of 13 cents per cigarette for each 
cigarette sold, used, or possessed on or after July 1, 2009 (and increasing thereafter pursuant to 
the schedule provided on page 1 of this Announcement). 

 
In order to avoid wholesalers and dealers returning unused light brown stamps and 

cigarette packs with light brown stamps, all wholesalers and dealers must file Form M-107 (Rev. 
2009), Cigarette Tax Stamps Floor Stock return. The purpose of Form M-107 is to collect the 
difference in price between the new red stamp and current light brown stamp for every unused or 
affixed stamp in the wholesaler/dealer's ending inventory on June 30, 2009 ($2.60 per 
pack/$0.13 per cigarette versus $2.00 per pack/$0.10 per cigarette). 

 
Once the floor stock return Form M-107 has been filed and the difference in the tax has 

been paid, the light brown stamps may be used until depleted, allowing wholesalers and dealers 
to affix light brown stamps to cigarette packs on or after July 1, 2009. The stamp fee imposed 
under section 245-26, HRS,3 and the discount provided under section 245-22, HRS, 4 will be 

                                                 
3 Section 245-26(a), HRS, provides: "Stamps shall be sold at their denominated values, plus a stamp fee of 

1.7 percent of the denominated value of each stamp sold, composed of the aggregate of: 
 
 (1) .2 percent of the denominated value of the stamp to pay for the cost to the State of providing the 

stamps, with such amount to be deposited to the credit of the Department of Taxation's cigarette tax stamp 
administrative special fund; and 

 
(2) 1.5 percent of the denominated value of the stamp to pay for the cost of enforcing the stamp tax, with 

such amount to be deposited to the credit of the Department of the Attorney General's tobacco enforcement fund; 
provided that the Department of Taxation by rule may modify the stamp fee to reflect actual costs incurred by the  
State in providing the stamps." 
 

4 Section 245-22(e), HRS, allows stamps to be sold with a 0.4 percent discount to defray the cost of 
affixing the stamps incurred by vendors.  The Department may adjust the discount by rule.  The discount is effective 
beginning September 1, 2001. 
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applicable to the difference in the tax reported on the floor stock return. Please note that the floor 
stock returns are subject to audit. 

 
The red stamps will be available for purchase from First Hawaiian Bank beginning June 

22, 2009. The price of a roll of red stamps will be: $39,507.00. 
 

B. Purchasing Stamps on a Deferred Payment Plan 
 

Wholesalers and dealers purchasing stamps on a deferred payment plan may increase the 
amount of their deferred payment purchases by the following: 

 
• 30.0% (($2.60 - $2.00)/$2.00) if their cigarette tax stamp deferred payment agreement 

was approved when the cigarette tax was 10 cents per cigarette. 
 
No increase in bond coverage is necessary for the July 1, 2009 rate increase.  However, 

all requests by stamp purchasers to increase the amount of deferred payment purchases must be 
provided in writing and sent to the following address: 
 

Licensing Section 
Taxpayer Services Branch 
Department of Taxation 
PO Box 259 
Honolulu, Hawaii 96809 

 
The Department is in the process of revising the cigarette and tobacco tax forms to reflect 

the increase in the tax rate for sales, use, or possession of cigarettes on or after July 1, 2009. 
 
Current forms and other tax information are available at the Department's website at: 

www.hawaii.gov/tax. On Oahu, forms and publications may be ordered by calling the 
Department’s Customer Call Center at: (808) 587-4242. Persons who are calling from outside of 
Oahu may call: 1-800-222-3229 (toll-free) to receive forms and publications by mail. 
 
 
 
 
 

 KURT KAWAFUCHI 
 Director of Taxation 
 
HRS Section Explained: HRS Sections 245-3, 245-22, and 245-26. 
 

                                                                                                                                                             
 


