BRIAN SCHATZ LT. GOVERNOR FREDERICK D. PABLO
DIRECTOR OF TAXATION

RANDOLF L. M. BALDEMOR
DEPUTY DIRECTOR

STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

P.O. BOX 259 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96809 PHONE NO: (808) 587-1510 FAX NO: (808) 587-1560

July 15, 2011

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 2011-18

RE: Act 86, Session Laws of Hawaii, Relating to Motor Vehicle Weight Tax

On June 8, 2011, Governor Neil Abercrombie signed into law Senate Bill 1329 SD1, HD2, CD1 as Act 86, Session Laws of Hawaii 2011.

This Act takes effect on July 1, 2011, and increases the annual state motor vehicle weight tax as follows:

- For vehicles up to and including four thousand pounds net weight, the tax rate increases from 0.75 cents per pound to 1.75 cents per pound.
- For vehicles over four thousand pounds and up to and including seven thousand pounds net weight, the tax rate increases from 1.00 cents per pound to 2.00 cents per pound.
- For vehicles over seven thousand pounds and up to and including ten thousand pounds, the tax rate increases from 1.25 cents per pound to 2.25 cents per pound.
- For vehicles over ten thousand pounds net weight, the flat tax rate increases from \$150 to \$300.

For more information on this Act, please contact the Technical Section at 808-587-1577 or by e-mail at Tax.Technical.Section@hawaii.gov.

FREDERICK D. PABLO

redevel DPablo

Director of Taxation