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April 3, 2014 

 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 2014-03 

 

RE: Act 326, Session Laws of Hawaii 2012, Relating to Taxation 

 

 This Announcement supersedes Department of Taxation Announcement no. 2014-02, dated 

January 16, 2013. This Announcement updates Announcement No. 2014-02 by extending the 

transition period for associations of apartment/unit owners and planned community associations 

("Associations") described therein. Specifically, the Department is extending the deadline for 

Associations to report relevant information for 2013 to June 30, 2014. 

 

 House Bill 2078, H.D. 2, S.D. 2, C.D. 1 became law without Governor Neil 

Abercrombie's signature as Act 326 (the "Act"), effective July 1, 2012. 

 

 Part I of this Announcement describes the reporting requirements for transient 

accommodation operators, associations of apartment/unit owners and planned community 

associations. Part II of this Announcement summarizes the Act. Part III of this Announcement 

describes the transition period the Department is allowing before it begins enforcement of the 

Act. 

 

I.  REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 

 The Act creates reporting requirements for both operators of transient accommodations 

("TAs") and associations of apartment/unit owners or planned community associations. Below is a 

summary of who must report, what must be reported, when it must be reported, and how to report it. 

 

A. Operators:  

 

1. Who Must Report: Operators of transient accommodations must report to their unit's 

association of apartment/unit owners or planned community association. An operator 

is any person furnishing a room, apartment, suite, house, condominium, or the like 

which is customarily occupied by a transient for less than 180 days. If you only 

operate Hawaii real property rented out on a long-term basis (for periods of 180 days 

or more), then you are not subject to this reporting requirement. 
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2. What to Report: You must report (1) your name; (2) your mailing address; (3) your 

phone number and any other relevant contact information; (4) your TA tax license 

number; (5) the website address of all websites on which you advertise the property 

for rent; (6) the name of a local contact residing on the same island as the property 

(note: you can designate yourself if you are on the same island as the property); (7) 

the local contact's mailing address; and (8) the local contact's phone number and any 

other relevant contact information.  

3. Due Date for Reporting: The above-described information relevant to units that you 

operated at any time on or after January 1, 2013, and before January 15, 2014, must 

be reported by March 31, 2014. If you continue to be a TA operator after January 14, 

2014, you must report any changes to your information within 60 days of the change. 

4. How to Report: You must report this information to the association of apartment/unit 

owners or planned community association ("Association") on whose property the unit 

you are operating exists. If you are operating multiple units at multiple sites, you 

must report to all applicable Associations. Please contact your Association to 

determine the best way to transmit this information. If your unit is at a location that 

has neither an association of apartment/unit owners nor a planned community 

association, you do not need to report at this time. 

 

B. Associations of Apartment/Unit Owners and Planned Community Associations: 

 

1. Who Must Report. The following types of organizations must report to the 

Department: 

a. "Associations of apartment owners" for condominium property regimes as 

defined under Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") Section 514A-3 ("all of the 

apartment owners acting as a group in accordance with the bylaws and 

declaration"); 

b. "Boards" or "boards of directors" for condominiums as defined under HRS § 

514B-3 ("the body … designated in the declaration or bylaws to act on behalf 

of the association"); and  

c. "Boards" or "boards of directors" for planned community associations as 

defined under HRS § 421J-2 ("the executive board or other body … 

designated in the association documents to act on behalf of the association"). 

2. What to Report: If any units on your property are being operated as a transient 

accommodation, you must report (1) your property's tax map key number; (2) your 

property's name; (3) your property's address; (4) the name, mailing address and 

telephone number of the owner of any unit used as a transient accommodation on or 

after January 1, 2013; (5) the name, mailing address and telephone number of the 

operator of such unit(s) (note: owner and operator can be the same person); (6) the 

name, mailing address and phone number of the designated local contact for such 

units (note: local contact can be the same as the owner and/or operator if on the same 
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island as the unit); (7) the TA tax license number of all operators operating units as 

transient accommodations; (8) the website address of all websites on which the units 

were advertised. Information related to units not used as transient accommodations 

during the year, such as owner-occupied or long-term tenant-occupied units, need not 

be reported. If a unit has been used as a transient accommodation since January 1, 

2013, but at the time of reporting is no longer being used as a transient 

accommodation, you must report the unit's information, but you will be able to mark 

the unit as "inactive" after submitting the information. 

3. Due Date for Filing: If any units on the property were operated as transient 

accommodations on or after January 1, 2013, and before January 1, 2014, the 

information relevant to those units must be reported to the Department electronically 

at: https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/resreport  by June 30, 2014. If units are operated as 

transient accommodations on or after January 1, 2014, the information must be 

reported before the end of the year, or updated within 60 days of a change in your 

records, whichever is later. If a transient accommodation unit ceases to be operated as 

a transient accommodation, you must update the information for that unit before the 

end of the year or within 60 days of the change in your records, whichever is later. If 

during the course of the year the status of your units does not change (i.e., all units 

being operated as transient accommodations continue to be operated as transient 

accommodations under the same circumstances, and all units not being operated as 

transient accommodations continue to not be so), you do not need to do anything. 

However, please log on to the site at least once yearly to double check your 

information. 

4. How to Report: You must report information to the Department electronically via this 

website: https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/resreport. The website contains instructions for 

setting up an account as well as for reporting and updating the information. Please do 

not send information to the Department by mail as this will not be deemed 

compliance for purposes of the Act and you may still be subject to penalties. If you 

have any questions about the website, please send an email to: 

Tax.Act326.Reporting@hawaii.gov. 

 

C. Additional Information about the Act 326 Transient Accommodations 

Reporting Website: 

 

As noted above, the Department has created a reporting system accessible by website that 

Associations or their agents may use to report the information required under the Act. The website 

will allow both Associations themselves or agents working for such Associations to register with a 

unique account and password. After logging in to the website, the Associations or their agents will be 

able to report all relevant information for all units on the Association's property being used as 

transient accommodations. 

 

 

https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/resreport
https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/resreport
mailto:Tax.Act326.Reporting@hawaii.gov
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Again, the website can be found at:  

 

https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/resreport.  

 

Instructions for logging in and reporting relevant information are available on the website's 

FAQ page. In order to use the Act 326 Transient Accommodations Reporting website, you will first 

need to create an ehwaii.gov account if you have not already done so. The website will walk you 

through this process. Once you have an ehawaii.gov account, you will need to know the 

Association's general excise tax license issued under HRS § 237-9 (a.k.a., the Association's GE tax 

license number). Tax licenses can be searched at the Department's website at: 

https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/tls/app . You may also need an access password from the Association if 

you are not the person who set up the Association's account initially. 

 

If you have problems accessing the website or reporting relevant information, please email 

Tax.Act326.Reporting@hawaii.gov, or call the Department of Taxation Rules Office at 808-587-

1577. 

 

The website will be available for access beginning January 15, 2014. Again, Associations or 

their agents must report relevant information for 2013 by June 30, 2014. New or updated relevant 

information in subsequent years must be reported no later than December 31 of that year, or within 

60 days of a change, whichever is later. 

 

Again, Associations must use the website to report the relevant information. Please do 

not mail your relevant information to the Department as this will not be considered proper reporting 

for purposes of the Act. Any Association providing information by mail but not via the website will 

still be subject to penalties. 

 

II. SUMMARY OF ACT 326 

 

 A. Requirements for Operators 

 

The Act requires operators of transient accommodations to do the following: 

 

1. Designate a local contact residing on the same island as the transient 

accommodation. The local contact can be any individual residing on the island or 

any entity with its principal place of business on the island. The contact need not 

be a licensed real estate broker or be accredited in any other manner. 

2. Provide the local contact's contact information to any entity with covenants, 

bylaws or administrative provisions operational with respect to the property on 

which the transient accommodation exists (e.g., an association of apartment 

owners). Such information must be updated within 60 days of any change.  

https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/resreport
https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
mailto:Tax.Act326.Reporting@hawaii.gov


Department of Taxation Announcement No. 2014-03 

April 3, 2014 

Page 5 of 6 
 

3. Include the local contact's name and phone number in any contract or written 

rental agreement. 

4. Provide on a website or by online link and display in all advertisements and 

solicitations on websites the registration identification number issued under HRS 

§ 237D-4. This registration identification number is also sometimes referred to as 

the TAT tax license number. Please also note that for some persons the TAT tax 

license number may contain a different suffix from the person's GET tax license 

number.  

 

B. Requirements for Associations 

 

The Act requires any nongovernmental entity with covenants, bylaws and administrative 

provisions which is formed pursuant to chapter 514A, 514B or 421J (an "Association") to do the 

following:  

 

1. Provide to the Department of Taxation (the "Department") relevant information 

related to operators leasing transient accommodations on its property. The 

relevant information includes the operator's name, address, contact information, 

registration identification number issued under HRS § 237D-4 (i.e., the TAT tax 

license number) and website address if advertising or soliciting the transient 

accommodation on the internet. See Section I of this Announcement for a more 

specific description of what information to report to the Department. 

2. Provide the relevant information by December 31 of each year, or within 60 days 

of a change, whichever is later.  

 

III. TRANSITION PERIOD BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT BEGINS 

ENFORCEMENT 

 

The Department will provide a transition period to allow operators and Associations to 

meet the requirements of this Act. No penalties will be imposed on Associations who fail to 

provide to the Department before July 1, 2014 relevant information required by the Act; however 

a penalty will be imposed if the Association fails to timely provide the relevant information after 

June 30, 2014. Associations are only required to report information about operators who leased 

transient accommodations on or after January 1, 2013 and will not be required to report any 

information from 2012 or earlier. 

 

The Department notes that the Act's definition of "relevant information" is broader than 

the information operators are required to submit to the Associations (e.g., website address). No 

penalties will be imposed on Associations who fail to provide relevant information where the law 

does not require an operator to provide that relevant information to the Association. Please also 

note that Associations are required only to submit the information maintained in their records and 

will not be penalized for failing to provide information that was never provided to them by the 
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operators operating transient accommodations. For purposes of maintaining their records, the 

Department will deem an Association's records to be sufficient if it sends out a once yearly 

communication by mail, email, phone or otherwise, to all owners, asking for updated relevant 

information. Associations do not have an affirmative duty to gather information that operators 

fail to provide to them in response to any such communication. However, this does not excuse a 

willful failure to receive information that is made available by an operator. 

 

Additionally, no penalties will be imposed for operators of transient accommodations 

who fail to designate a local contact before April 1, 2014, nor for operators who fail to provide 

the local contact's information before April 1, 2014, nor for operators who fail to include the 

local contact's name or phone number in any contract or written rental agreement executed before 

April 1, 2014. However, penalties will be imposed for operators who fail to designate a local 

contact after March 31, 2014, fail to provide the local contact's information after March 31, 2014 

or fail to include the local contact's name or phone number in any contract or written rental 

agreement executed after March 31, 2014. 

 

Further, operators have until April 1, 2014 to comply with the requirement to display 

registration identification numbers on websites. 

 

For more information, please contact Tax.Act326.Reporting@hawaii.gov or visit the 

Department's website at tax.hawaii.gov.  

   

 

 

       FREDERICK D. PABLO 

       Director of Taxation 

mailto:Tax.Act326.Reporting@hawaii.gov
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