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QUALIFYING TAXPAYERS WHO FAILED TO PAY FULL TAXES  
TO BE GIVEN PENALTY AND INTEREST WAIVER 

 
 
HONOLULU—The State of Hawaii Department of Taxation will grant penalty and 

interest waivers to qualifying taxpayers who received certain notices and failed to pay 

the full amount of taxes owed within 60 days of the due date. 

 

Hawaii taxpayers who filed their individual income tax returns by April 20, 2004, but did 

not pay the full amount due, had an additional 60 days to pay the taxes owed plus 

accrued interest charges. After the 60-day period, any remaining unpaid taxes were 

subject to a 20% late payment penalty and additional interest charges on both the 

unpaid tax and penalty. 

 

The State of Hawaii Department of Taxation sent to certain taxpayers a billing statement 

in June 2004 that contained ambiguous information regarding the penalty and interest 

charges on the statement. Therefore, the Department will automatically waive the 20% 

penalty and interest charges for certain taxpayers that received bills dated June 9, 

2004, through June 21, 2004, IF full payment of the amount billed was made by the 

payment due date printed on the billing statement. These taxpayers will not need to 
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contact the Department regarding the waivers, and other taxpayers who paid the 

additional penalty and interest amounts will automatically receive a refund within 60 

days. 

 

Anyone who failed to pay the full amount owed by the payment due date printed on the 

billing statement, however, will be required to pay the 20% penalty and any additional 

interest.  

 

"The Department of Taxation apologizes to all those who relied on the billing notice, 

paid the amount due on or before the payment due date, yet, received an additional 

bill," said State Tax Director Kurt Kawafuchi. "While we are implementing changes to 

make sure that this type of incident does not recur, taxpayers also need to be aware of 

the consequences of not promptly paying their tax obligations." 
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For more information, contact: 
Cathleen N. Tokishi  
External Training & Outreach 
Phone: (808) 587-1786 
Email: Tax.Training.Outreach@hawaii.gov 


