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RESIDENT

Hawaii Individual Income Tax Return
For Residents and Part-Year Residents
DUE DATE: APRIL 20, 1995

STATE OF HAWAIl — DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR

and instructions for
Schedules A & B, C,
D, E,and J

(HAWAII TAX TABLE-
PAGES 32-43)

We realize that the tax law does change from year to year and is
complex. To make tax filing easier for you, Hawaii has adopted many of
the federal income tax provisions.

The Department of Taxation appreciates the efforts you made last year
in filing an accurate tax return. This resulted in the faster processing of
your returns and a prompt refund. We congratulate you.

For another successful tax season, the following are suggested to
assist you in filing your return and receiving an early refund:

» Please check your mathematical calculations before sending in
your return. Mistakes may bring requests for clarification and may
slow up refunds.

» Mail your return as soon as possible to avoid those delays that
are inevitable due to the volume of business at the end of the
State income tax season on April 20th.

* Use the preprinted name and address label and preaddressed
envelope, if you receive them. Both help to prevent mistakes and
to assist in processing refunds faster.

To reduce State printing and postage costs, the Department of
Taxation has added a line for you to indicate if you do not need a
Hawaii income tax package next year because a tax preparer will
prepare your tax return. If you do not need a package, check the
box at line 65 on Form N-12, and you will receive a preprinted name
and address label only.

The Department of Taxation continues to be committed to improve and
to provide quality service to you, our customers. We thank you for the
suggestions you have given us in the past, many of which have been
helpful and have been used. If you have more suggestions, please send
them to me in writing at the Department of Taxation, P. O. Box 259,
Honolulu, Hawaii 96809-0259.

b K 2t

RICHARD F. KAHLE, JR.
Director of Taxation



Changes for 1994

A one-time $1 General Income Tax Credit for 1994. (Act 85)

The deduction for moving expenses incurred after December 31, 1993, is allowed as a deduction in computing
adjusted gross income rather than as an itemized deduction. (Act 13)

If you do not need Hawaii income tax forms mailed to you next year because a tax preparer will prepare your tax
return, check the box at line 65 on Form N-12, and you will receive a preprinted name and address label only.

Charitable contributions of $250 or more, made on or after January 1, 1994, must be substantiated by a written
acknowledgement from the donee organization to be deductible. (Act 13)

The low-income housing credit is permanently extended applicable to periods ending after June 30, 1992. (Act 13)

The income exclusion of employer-provided education assistance is extended through December 31, 1994. Effective
for tax years ending after June 30, 1992. (Act 13)

Taxpayers may elect to include any amount of their net capital gain in their investment income when computing their
allowable investment interest deduction. If the election is made, capital gains that are otherwise eligible for the capital
gains tax rate must be reduced by the amount included as investment income. Effective for tax years beginning after
December 31, 1992. (Act 13)

The amount a taxpayer may elect to deduct, rather than depreciate, is increased from $10,000 to $17,500 of the cost of
section 179 property placed in service during the taxable year. Applies for tax years beginning after December 31,
1992. (Act 13)

The 25% deduction for health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, which was extended for tax years ending
after June 30, 1992, is not available after December 31, 1993. (Act 13)

Important Reminders for 1994

If you cannot file by April 20, 1995, you may request an extension to file Form N-12 on Hawaii Form N-101A. Federal
forms or letters MAY NOT be used for this purpose.

Line 35 on Form N-12 MUST be filled in. Failure to do so could cause delays in processing your return.
Please be sure to check the appropriate filing status box.

Please check all arithmetic on the return. A correct return will help us process your return efficiently and issue refunds
quickly.

If you are married and filing separate returns, the refund from your spouse’s return cannot be applied to your liability.

Include your spouse’s social security number if you are married whether a joint or separate return is filed. Enter zeros
(0O00-00-0000) if your spouse has no social security number. If your spouse is a nonresident alien, enter “NRA.”

Attach your employee earning statements (HW-2's or federal W-2's) to the front of your return.

If someone prepares your tax return and charges you a fee, the preparer must sign and complete the Paid Preparer’s
Information box.

Please mail on or before April 20, 1995.

Please place proper postage on envelope before mailing.

Keep a copy of your return for your records.

If you would like a copy of the Hawaii Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights, please contact any District Tax Office.

Note for 1994

Act 13, SLH 1994, updated Hawaii’s conformity to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) to include amendments made to
operative provisions of the IRC by the Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993. A number of amendments serve to
reactivate previously expired provisions or to allow certain deductions and income recognition provisions to be effective
for tax years beginning prior to 1994. Some of the retroactive provisions include the low-income housing credit, the
income exclusion of employer-provided education assistance, the deduction for health insurance costs of
self-employed individuals, the election to include net capital gain in investment income when computing the allowable
investment interest deduction, and the increase in the IRC section 179 deduction. Taxpayers who were affected by the
changes should file amended income tax returns on Form N-188X to take advantage of the changes. For more
information, consult your taxation district office.
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STATE OF HAWAIl — DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
RELATED FEDERAL/HAWAII TAX FORMS

Copy of
Fed. Form
Federal Comparable May Be
Form Number Title or Description of Federal Form Hawaii Form Submitted+

W-2. e Wage and TaX STALEMIENT........oi ittt ettt e et ee s ete e eabe e e ehebees sheeeeaseeseabeeesabeeeebsbeas sheeaenbaeesenes
Employee’s Withholding Alowance CertifiCate............ceiiiiia it e
...Dependent Care Provider's Identification and Certification .
U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
IEMIZEA DEAUCTIONS ...t ettt e e st e e eae s ebe e e sn e sa e e
Interest and Dividend Income
Profit or Loss from Business
oo NEt Profit FrOM BUSINESS. ......ccoiiiiiiiitiie ettt s e et et
CaPItAl GAINS ANO LOSSES. ...ecuuetietiiis ettt etetee ettt et e st e e e ste e as sbee e eae e e 2abe et be e e aasbeansbee e enssea eabeeesnbesaaneeeens
... Supplemental Income and Loss ..
Farm INCOME @NA EXPENSES. ... ..ceii ittt ettt e sttt e ste e site e e st b e e e eae bt e 2abe e eabee e easbee s eabe e ansbeeeenbreseareaean
Credit for the Elderly or the DISADIEM ...........coi ittt e e e et e eae e aeeeeaes
U.S. Individual Income Tax Return (short form)
Estimated Tax for INAIVIAUAIS ..........ccuuiiiiiiii e et
1040EZ... ....Income Tax Return for Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents....
1040NR. ............... U.S. Nonresident Alien INCOME TaxX RELUIM ........cc.coiiiiiiiiii et
Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Application for TeNtative REFUNT ..........coiiiiii e ettt et sbe e sbe e e nbe e enn s
Application for Change in ACCOUNTING PEIIOM ..........iiiiiiiiiia ittt ettt st s N-128...cooiiiieiiiiene Yes
... Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer
Questionnaire — Exemption Claimed for DEPENAENT . ..........ccceiiiiiiar ittt
EMPIOYEE BUSINESS EXPENSES ... .ceiitiiietiieetstie et tees et e st te s e ete e e sbee e eas bt e sabeesbesaabeaeansaee e ensaees snneeessnnesaanes N-206.....ccoieeeiiraene Yes
Unreimbursed EMployee BUSINESS EXPENSES. .....c.ccuuuii it iertieeaatiees ettt ststee et ee s ebeeeessbesaeseesasse e e saneaenes NONEe .....oovieiiiin Yes
SAlE OF YOUI HOME ...t e e e e bbbt s e s N-103 ..o No
MUItiple SUPPOIT DECIATATION ...ttt ettt ettt ettt e et e e ae e eh b e e e eae e en saeeeenbeesebeeesen N-120 ... Yes
Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries
...Child and Dependent Care EXPENSES ........uuiieiueeiriuerieiiieeserieee e sieeaessiaessstebee sieeaesninesennes
Application for Additional Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Power of Attorney and Declaration of REPreSENtatiVe ..........cocciiiiiiir i N-104 ..o Yes
MOVING EXPENSES ...ttt ettt ettt ettt et oot e et e ee ek bt e 2 ehe bt ea shee £ enb e e eabe e sk bee e ebebeen sbeeaenbbnesannes
Depreciation and AMOTTIZALION ..........uii ettt et e ettt ettt esshes e easbee s ebe e st be e e sbe e en sbeeaenbbeesannes Yes
...Casualties and Thefts.............. ...Yes
Sales of Business Property
Farm Rental INCOME @Nd EXPEINSES ........oiuiiiiiiii it eeittee ettt stee et e s e ete et be e e eas e e saee e et eesebeaeenbeeaennseens None ..o Yes
Employee’s Substitute Wage & TaX StateMENT ........c.ooiuii ittt ettt sen e seeaenes
Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
... Investment Interest EXPeNSe DEAUCTHION .......couuriiiiiiie et ee sttt et
Tax on Accumulated Distribution of Trusts
Tax on LUmMP-SUM DISEIDULIONS ...ttt ettt et ettt e saee et e e be e ssbeeaeas e e saneaenes
Election to Postpone Determination (HODDY LOSSES) ....cccvuiiiiiiiieiiiie ettt e N-213 . Yes
Return for Additional Taxes Attributable to Qualified Retirement Plans (Includings IRA’s), Annuities

and Modified ENdOWMENE CONFACES .........ooiiiiiiiiiit ettt e e e
JODS CIOAI ...ttt e e bbbt e s e b h e bt e b e b s e e b e e et
...At-Risk Limitations.............
INSLAIMENT SAIE INCOME ... et sb e bt e e ebe e ae e nn et
Gains and Losses From Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles
Passive Activity Loss Limitations
LOW-INCOME HOUSING CrEAIL ... i ettt ettt et sttt etttk b e e eas e e eabe e e sk be e e sbe e en sbeeeennbe e sanas
...Computation of Tax for Children Under Age 14 Who Have Investment Income of More Than $1,000
Parent's Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends
LiKE-KING EXCRANGES. . ... cotiiie ettt ettt ettt ettt e ht e ek bt e e ebe e es shee e eab e e eabe e st be e e ebe e an sbeeaennbeans
Expenses for Business Use of Your Home

+If “Yes” is indicated and there is no Hawaii equivalent form, the federal form must be used.
*A copy of the federal schedule may be substituted if your Hawaii General Excise ID Number is written on the schedule.

Page 3



Form N-12
General
Instructions

Who Must File

1. Every individual doing business in Hawaii dur-
ing the taxable year, whether or not he or she
derives any taxable income therefrom. “Doing busi-
ness” includes all activities engaged in or caused to
be engaged in with the object of gain or economic
benefit, direct or indirect, except personal services
performed as an employee under the direction and
control of an employer. For this purpose every
person receiving rents from property owned in Ha-
waii is classed as “doing business” and must file a
return whether or not he or she derives taxable
income therefrom.

2. Every individual receiving:

(1) $2,540 (the combined amount of the personal
exemption and the standard deduction for an in-
dividual) or more in gross income subject to taxa-
tion under chapter 235, HRS; or

(2) $3,580 (the combined amount of the personal
exemption and the standard deduction for an in-
dividual) or more if an individual attains the age of
65 before the close of the taxable year.

3. Every individual claiming the benefit of the
provision as to persons taking up residence in Ha-
waii after attaining the age of 65 years and before
July 1, 1976. The return should be accompanied by
a signed statement setting forth the date that the
individual established residence in Hawaii and the
individual’s date of birth.

4. Children receiving income during the taxable
year who have not attained the age of 14 years
before the end of the taxable year. The income of
a minor child is not included in the gross income of
the parent for income tax purposes, unless the
parent files Form N-814, Parent’s Election to Report
Child’s Interest and Dividends. The minor child’s
income shall be reflected in the return filed by or for
such child.

Resident

A resident is taxed on income from all sources.

A resident must file an Individual Income Tax
Return — Resident (Form N-12, N-13, or N-13EZ),
if required to do so.

A Hawaii resident is an individual who is:

1. Domiciled for the entire year in Hawaii even
though temporarily outside of Hawaii; or

2. Even though domiciled outside of Hawaii, an
individual may be presumed to be a resident
while maintaining a permanent place of abode
within the State and spending a total of more
than 200 days in the aggregate, during the
taxable year within Hawaii. This presumption
may be overcome by evidence satisfactory to
the Department of Taxation that the individual
maintained a permanent place of abode outside
the State and is in the State for a temporary or
transitory purpose. No person shall be deemed
to have gained or lost a residence simply be-
cause of his or her presence or absence in
compliance with military or naval orders of the
United States, while engaged in aviation or
navigation, while temporarily relocated by an
employer, or while a student at any institution
of learning. See Tax Information Release No.
90-3, “Income Taxation and Eligibility for Cred-
its of an Individual Taxpayer Whose Status
Changes from Resident to Nonresident or from
Nonresident to Resident”.

Page 4

Nonresident

A Hawaii nonresident is an individual who is in
Hawaii for a temporary or transient purpose, and
whose permanent domicile is not Hawaii. This in-
cludes, but is not limited to, citizens of countries
other than the U.S. who do not have permanent
resident alien visas (i.e. those who do not have their
“green cards”).

A nonresident must file an Individual Income Tax
Return—Nonresident (Form N-15), if required to do
s0, and will be taxed on income from Hawaii sources
only. A nonresident married to a Hawaii resident
may choose to file a joint return with the resident
spouse on Form N-12; however, the nonresident
will then be taxed on allincome from all sources
as a Hawaii resident. For more information, see
Married Filing Joint Return on page 6.

Part-Year Resident

A part-year resident is an individual who was a
Hawaii resident for part of the year, and a nonresi-
dent of Hawaii during the other part of the year. This
includes those who became Hawaii residents during
the year and those who gave up being a Hawaii
resident during the year.

A part-year resident must file an Individual Income
Tax Return — Resident long form (Form N-12), if
required to do so, and will be taxed on ALL income
from all sources during the period of residency, and
on income from Hawaii sources only during the
period of nonresidency.

Domicile Defined

The term “domicile” means the place where an
individual has a true, fixed, permanent home and
principal establishment, and to which place the
individual has, whenever absent, the intention of
returning. It is the place in which an individual has
voluntarily fixed the habitation of himself or herself
and family, not for a mere special or temporary
purpose, but with the present intention of mak-
ing a permanent home. Three things are neces-
sary to create a new domicile: first, an abandonment
of the old domicile; second, the intention and estab-
lishing of a new domicile; and third, an actual physi-
cal presence in the new domicile. The mere inten-
tion to abandon a domicile once established is not
of itself sufficient to create a new domicile, but
before a person can be said to have changed his or
her domicile, even though he or she manifests an
intention to abandon the old domicile, a new domi-
cile must be shown.

Reminder: If you are in Hawaii because of military
orders and do not intend to make Hawaii your
permanent home, you are not considered a Hawaii
resident for income tax purposes, even though you
have been in the State for more than 200 days in
1994.

Resident vs. Nonresident Examples

Note: For more information, see Tax Informa-

tion Release No. 90-3, “Income Taxation and

Eligibility for Credits of an Individual Taxpayer

Whose Status Changes from Resident to Non-

resident or from Nonresident to Resident” and

Tax Information Release No. 90-10, “Clarifica-

tion of Taxation and the Eligibility for Personal

Exemptions and Credits of Residents and Non-

residents in the Military and Spouses and De-

pendents of Persons in the Military”.

Example 1 - A person, who is a Hawaii resident
and enlists in the military, will remain a Hawaii
resident regardless of the length of absence from
Hawaii while stationed at bases outside of Hawaii.

Example 2 - A Hawaii resident working in a foreign
country will remain a Hawaii resident unless perma-

nent resident status is granted by the foreign coun-
try.

Example 3 - Foreign students, researchers, and
faculty members who are granted entry into the
United States on “F”, “H”, or “J” visas are nonresi-
dents for Hawaii tax purposes.

Example 4 - Spouses of those in the military
service do not become Hawaii residents if their
principal reason for moving to Hawaii was the trans-
fer of the servicemember spouse to Hawaii, and if it
is their intention to leave Hawaii when the service-
member spouse either is transferred to another
military station or leaves the service.

Example 5 - A Hawaii resident who marries a
nonresident will remain a Hawaii resident unless the
three requirements for changing his or her domicile
are also met. (Refer to the definition “Domicile”
above.) This situation applies in reverse to a non-
resident who marries a resident. A person’s status
will not change merely due to the person’s marriage.

Who Should File

Even if you do not have to file, you should file to
get a refund if income tax was withheld from your
pay. Also, a return may be required to support a
claim for a credit or refund.

Which Form to File

You MAY Be Able to Use Form N-13EZ if:

- Your filing status is either Single or Married
Filing Joint Return and you do not claim any
dependents,

- You had only wages, salaries, tips, interest of
$400 or less, and scholarship or fellowship
grants, AND

- Your adjusted gross income is less than
$30,000.

You MAY Be Able to Use Form N-13 if:

- You had only wages, salaries, tips, interest,
ordinary dividends, and unemployment com-
pensation, AND

- Your taxable income (adjusted gross income
less standard deduction and personal exemp-
tions) is less than $100,000. Since Form N-13
is easier to complete than Form N-12, you
should use it if you can unless Form N-12 allows
you to pay less tax. However, even if you meet
the above tests, you may still have to file Form
N-12.

Note: If you had more than $400 in interest income

or more than $400 in dividends, you may still file

Form N-13, provided you are not required to file

Form N-12 for any of the reasons listed below under

“You Must Use Form N-12 if . . .”

You MUST Use Form N-12 if:

- You itemize your deductions.

- Your spouse files a separate return and itemizes
deductions. Exception: You can still use Form
N-13 if you have a dependent child and can
meet the tests on page 7 under Married Persons
Who Live Apart (and Abandoned Spouses).

- You take any of the Adjustments to Income
shown on Form N-12, lines 22a through 29.

- You filed Form N-1, Declaration of Estimated
Tax for Individuals, for 1994.

- You applied any part of your 1993 overpayment
to estimated tax for 1994, or if you want to apply
any part of your 1994 overpayment to estimated
tax for 1995.

- You took up residence in Hawaii during the tax
year. (Part-year resident)




- You gave up residence in Hawaii during the tax
year. (Part-year resident)

- You are claiming the benefit of persons who
took up residence in Hawaii after attaining the
age of 65 years and before July 1,1976.

- You are a resident husband or wife making a
joint return if the other spouse is a nonresident,
or the other spouse:

—took up Hawaii residence during the tax year,
(Part-year resident)

—gave up Hawaii residence during the tax year,
(Part-year resident) or

—is claiming the benefit of persons who took up
residence in Hawaii after attaining age 65 and
before July 1, 1976.

- You claim any credit on Form N-12, lines 39, 41,
42, 43, 53, 56, or 58.

- You make your return using an accounting
method other than the cash receipts and dis-
bursements method.

- You make your return on the fiscal year basis
which began in 1994.

When to File

You should file as soon as you can after January
1, but not later than April 20, 1995. If you file late,
you may have to pay penalties and interest. Please
see the instructions for Penalties and Interest on
page 18. If you know that you cannot meet the April
20 deadline, you should ask for an extension on
Form N-101A, Application for Automatic Extension
of Time to File Hawaii Individual Income Tax Return.
This is an extension of time to file, not an extension
of time for payment of tax.

Note: Returns for the fiscal year which began in
1994 must be filed on or before the 20th day of the
fourth month following the close of the fiscal year.

The official U.S. Post Office cancellation mark will
be considered primary evidence of the date of filing
oftax documents and payments. Timely filing of mail
which does not bear a U.S. Post Office cancellation
mark will be determined by reference to other com-
petent evidence.

Where to File

Please use the addressed envelope that came
with your return. If you do not have an addressed
envelope, or if you moved during the year, mail your
return to the taxation district office in which you
reside or have your principal place of business, or if
you have no residence in Hawaii, then with the Oahu
District Office, P. O. Box 3559, Honolulu, Hawaii
96811-3559.

The State of Hawaii is divided into four taxation
districts. Consequently, you must file your return,
pay your tax, get your refund, get your forms, or
conduct other Hawaii tax affairs with the taxation
district office located in the county where you reside
or have your principal business.

MAILING ADDRESSES

OAHU DISTRICT OFFICE
P.O. Box 3559
Honolulu, Hawaii 96811-3559

MAUI DISTRICT OFFICE
P.O. Box 913
Wailuku, Hawaii 96793-0913

HAWAII DISTRICT OFFICE
P.O. Box 1377
Hilo, Hawaii 96721-1377

KAUAI DISTRICT OFFICE
P.O. Box 1688
Lihue, Hawaii 96766-5688

DISTRICT OFFICE LOCATIONS

OAHU DISTRICT OFFICE
830 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813-5045
Telephone:

For tax information:

(808) 587-6515 (Jan. - April 20)
(808) 587-4242

Toll-Free 1-800-222-3229
To request tax forms:

(808) 587-7572

Toll-Free 1-800-222-7572

MAUI DISTRICT OFFICE
State Office Building

54 High Street

Wailuku, Hawaii 96793-2126
Telephone: (808) 243-5383

HAWAII DISTRICT OFFICE
State Office Building

75 Aupuni Street

Hilo, Hawaii 96720-4253
Telephone: (808) 933-4321

KAUAI DISTRICT OFFICE
State Office Building

3060 Eiwa Street

Lihue, Hawaii 96766-1310
Telephone: (808) 241-3456

Other Information
Death of Taxpayer

Did the taxpayer die before filing a return for
19947 If so, the taxpayer's spouse or personal
representative may have to file a return and sign it
for the person who died (decedent) if the decedent
was required to file a return. A personal repre-
sentative can be an executor, administrator, or any-
one who is in charge of the taxpayer’s property.

If the decedent did not have to file a return but
either had State income tax withheld, made esti-
mated tax payments, or is eligible for various tax
credits, a return must be filed to get a refund.

If your spouse died in 1994 and you did not
remarry in 1994, or if your spouse died in 1995
before filing a return for 1994, you may still file a joint
return for the 1994 tax year.

A return filed for a deceased taxpayer, including
a joint return with a surviving spouse, must have the
word “DECEASED” written in the upper left hand
corner of the return. The word “DECEASED” and
the date of death also must be written after the
deceased taxpayer's first name and middle initial in
the name and address area of the tax return.

Generally, the personal representative must sign
the return on behalf of the decedent. However, if a
joint return is being filed by the decedent’s spouse,
the spouse should write “Filing as surviving spouse”
on the line provided for the taxpayer’s signature.

If a refund is due, you must complete Form
N-110, Statement of Person Claiming Refund
Due a Deceased Taxpayer, and attach it to the
return to ensure that the refund check will be issued
in the name of the surviving spouse, personal rep-
resentative, or other responsible individual instead
of the decedent’s name.

Filing a Final Return

A return filed by a taxpayer who is giving up his
or her Hawaii residency during the year must have
the words “FINAL RETURN" written in the upper left
hand corner of the return. Also, fill in the appropriate
period of your Hawaii residency on the line which
begins “or other tax year beginning...”

Declaration of Estimated Tax

Basic rules. - Individuals who must pay more tax
than is withheld, or have no withholding, may have
to file a declaration of estimated tax and pay that tax
inalump sum or installments. Income tax obligation
may not be satisfied through withholding when an
individual has income not subject to withholding,
e.g., from business or profession, rent, gains from
sales of property, interest and dividend income,
unemployment compensation, or taxable pension
distributions.

Who Must File a Declaration on Form N-1 - An
individual must generally file Form N-1 if his or her
gross income for the year either (1) could be rea-
sonably expected to include wages subject to with-
holding in excess of $9,000; or (2) could be reason-
ably expected to include more than $100 from
non-wage income and to exceed the sum of $1,040
for each allowable personal exemption plus $200.

Exceptions. - Notwithstanding (1) and (2) above,
a declaration need not be filed if : (a) the gross
income is not expected to exceed $12,000 of which
90% shall consist of wages subject to withholding
(the foregoing applies to single taxpayers as well as
the combined income of married taxpayers who are
entitled to file a joint return) or (b) the total estimated
income tax payable is less than $500 after deduct-
ing the total estimated credits allowed.

Date and Payment of Estimated Tax. - Your
declaration for 1995 must be filed on or before April
20, 1995. It may be paid in full with the declaration,
or in equal installments on or before April 20, 1995,
June 20, 1995, September 20, 1995 and January
20, 1996. Each installment payment must be sub-
mitted with a payment voucher. Make checks or
money orders payable to the “Hawaii State Tax
Collector.”

See Form N-1 for details.

Multistate Tax Compact Act

Any taxpayer, other than a corporation acting as
a business entity in more than one state, who is
required by the Hawaii Income Tax Law to file a
return and whose only activities in the State consist
of sales and who does not own or rent real estate
or tangible personal property and whose annual
gross sales in or into the State during the tax year
are not in excess of $100,000 may elect to report
and pay a tax of .5 percent of such annual gross
sales. Taxpayers who elect the foregoing shall file
Form N-310 in lieu of Form N-12.

Steps for Preparing
Your Return

We have set up these instructions using 8 steps.
You should complete the first 3 steps that follow
BEFORE you begin to fill in your return.

Then, you may find it helpful to follow the Line-By-
Line Instructions. They begin on page 6 and end on
page 18.

Finally, steps 5 through 8 are on page 18. They
are the steps you should take after your Form N-12
and other schedules and forms you need are filled
in.

If you follow these steps and read the Line-By-
Line Instructions, we feel you can fill in your return
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quickly and accurately. If you have any questions,
call or visit your respective taxation district office.

Step 1

Get all of your income records
together.

These include any Forms HW-2 and federal
Forms W-2 or 1099s that you may have. If you don’t
get a Form HW-2 or federal Form W-2 by January
31, or if the one you get isn't correct, please contact
your employer as soon as possible. Only your em-
ployer can give you a Form HW-2 or federal Form
W-2, or correct it. If you cannot get a Form HW-2 or
federal Form W-2, by February 15, please contact
your taxation district office.

If you have someone prepare your return for you,
make sure that person has all your income and
expense records so he or she can fill in your return
correctly. Remember, even if someone else pre-
pares your return incorrectly — you are still respon-
sible.

Step 2

If you plan to claim tax credits
or itemize deductions, get all
the information and expense
records you will need.

Pages 13 through 22 of these instructions tell you
what credits and deductions you can claim. Some
of the records you may need are:

- Medical and dental payment records.
- Real estate and personal property tax receipts.
- Interest payment records for a home mortgage.

Step 3

Get any forms, schedules, or
information you need.

Resident tax form and instruction packages are
automatically mailed to you based on the return you
filed last year. Make sure that all the forms you need
are in the package you receive.

If you need any other forms and instructions, you
may pick them up at any district tax office. You may
also request that the forms be mailed to you. Please
allow approximately 10 days for the mailing of the
tax forms. See page 5 for the location of your district
tax office or phone number to request the needed
forms.

Step 4

Fill in your return.

Line-By-Line instructions for filing in the Form
N-12 begin on this page and end on page 18.
Please read and follow the instructions carefully.

Step 5 begins on page 18.

Line-By-Line
Instructions —
Form N-12

Special Instruction for
Part-Year Residents

If you were a Hawaii resident for only part of 1994,
write “PART-YEAR” in the upper left hand corner of
page 1 of Form N-12. Also, fill in the appropriate
period of residency on the line which begins “or
other tax year beginning....”
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Name, Address, Social
Security Number, and
Occupation

Use the mailing label from the forms booklet we
sent to you and make sure it is correct. Draw a line
through any incorrect information and write the
correct information directly onto the label. If the label
is for a joint return and the social security numbers
are not listed in the same order as the first names,
show the numbers in the correct order.

Do not attach your label to the return until you
have completed and checked all entries. Use of the
label helps us identify your account, saves process-
ing time, and speeds refunds.

If you did not receive a booklet with a label, print
or type the entries in this section.

Do not use the IRS mailing label.

Name

You must use your legal name. Nicknames are
not permitted. If you have changed your name
because of marriage, divorce, etc., make sure you
immediately notify the Social Security Administra-
tion (SSA) so that the name on your tax return is the
same as the name the SSA has on its records. This
may prevent delays in issuing your refund.

Ifyoufile jointreturns, write the names in the same
order every year.

Write any descriptions (e.g. Jr., lll, etc.) after your
last name. If filing a joint return and if you and your
spouse have different last names, list your last
names in the same order as your first names and
separate them with an “and”. For example, John
Keawe and Mary Aloha should write their last
names as “Keawe and Aloha”.

Address

Write your current mailing address in the space
provided. If you receive your mail “in care of” some-
one else (i.e., your mail is sent to an address
belonging to someone other than yourself), fill in that
person’s name on the line under your name.

Important: If your address should change after
you file your return, you must notify the Department
in writing of your new address. Any refund checks
due to you will not be forwarded to your new
address by the postal service, and you may not
receive your income tax forms and instructions next
year.

Social Security Number

Write your social security number in the space
provided. If you are married, you must also write
your spouse’s social security number in the space
provided whether joint or separate returns are filed.
Your social security numbers must be written in the
same order as your names are written.

If your spouse is a nonresident alien and does not
have a social security number, please write “NRA”
in the block for your spouse’s social security num-
ber.

Occupation

Write your occupation in the space provided. If
married and filing a joint return, also write your
spouse’s occupation in the space provided.

Hawaii Election
Campaign Fund

This fund was established by the Hawaii State
Legislature to support public financing of Hawaii
gubernatorial election campaigns.

You may have $2 go to the fund by checking the
“Yes” box. On a joint return, both of you may choose
to have $2 go to this fund, or both may choose not

to. One may choose to have $2 go to this fund and
the other may choose not to.

If you check “Yes,” it will not change the tax or
refund shown on your return.

Filing Status

Check either box 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 as appropriate.
Do not put a check in more than 1 box.

Single

Select box 1, Single, if on December 31, 1994,
you were unmarried, divorced, or separated from
your spouse under a separate maintenance decree.
State law governs whether you are married, di-
vorced, or legally separated.

If you are married on December 31, 1994, con-
sider yourself married for the whole year.

If your spouse died during 1994, consider yourself
married to that spouse for the whole year, unless
you remarried before the end of 1994.

If you are unmarried and provide a home for
certain other persons, you may be able to file as
Head of Household.

If you were married in 1994, had a child living with
you, and lived apart from your spouse during the
last 6 months of 1994, you may be able to file as
Head of Household. See Married Persons Who Live
Apart (and Abandoned Spouses) on page 7.

Married Filing Joint Return

In most cases, married couples will pay less tax if
they file a joint return. You must report all income,
exemptions, deductions, and credits for you and
your spouse. Both of you must sign the return, even
if only one of you had income.

You and your spouse can file a joint return even
if you did not live together for the whole year. Both
of you are responsible for any tax due on a joint
return, so if one of you doesn't pay, the other may
have to.

Note: If you filed a joint return, and you and your
spouse decide to file separate returns for the year,
both of you must file amended returns on or before
the due date of the original return.

If your spouse died in 1994 or in 1995 before filing
a return for 1994, see page 5 of instructions, Death
of Taxpayer.

Tax Savings.— If you decide not to file a joint
return and plan to file a separate return, see if you
can lower your tax by meeting the tests described
on page 7 under Married Persons Who Live Apart
(and Abandoned Spouses). If you can, you should
check Box 4 for Head of Household.

Special Rule for Nonresidents of Hawaii Who File
a Joint Return With a Hawaii Resident.— If at the
end of the taxable year you were a nonresident of
Hawaii (i.e. a U.S. resident who is not a resident of
Hawaii) who is married to a resident of Hawaii, you
may choose to file a joint return with the resident
spouse on Form N-12. However, if a joint return is
filed, you and your spouse must agree to be taxed
on your combined worldwide income.

Special Rule for Nonresident and Dual-Status
Aliens.—Generally, you cannot file a joint return if
either spouse was a nonresident alien at any time
during the tax year. However, nonresident aliens
married to U.S. citizens or residents can elect to be
taxed as a U.S. resident on their federal income tax
return and file joint returns. If a joint return is filed,
you and your spouse must agree to be taxed on your
combined worldwide income.

Note: For purposes of filing a joint return, com-
mon law marriages are not recognized under Ha-
waii law unless they began in a state which permits
common law marriages.




Married Filing Separate
Returns

You may file separate returns whether both you
and your spouse had income, only one of you had
income, or neither of you had income.

If you choose to file separate returns, both you
and your spouse must figure your tax the same way.
This means that if one of you itemizes your deduc-
tions, the other must also itemize their deductions.
You each report only your own income, exemptions,
deductions, and credits, and you are responsible
only for the tax due on your own return.

If you file a separate return, write your spouse’s
full name in the space after Box 3 and your spouse’s
social security number in the block provided for that
number.

If your spouse does not file a Hawaii tax return,
you may be able to claim the exemptions for your
spouse. See instructions for lines 6a and 6b on this
page.

Married Persons Who Live
Apart (and Abandoned

Spouses)

You will be considered unmarried if you meet
ALL of the following tests:

1) You file a separate return, and

2) You paid more than half the cost of keeping up
your home for the tax year, and

3) Your spouse did not live in your home during
the last 6 months of the tax year, and

4) Your home was, for more than 6 months of the
year, the principal home of your child, stepchild,
adopted child, or foster child whom you can
claim as a dependent or whom you could claim
as your dependent except that the noncustodial
parent will c!aim the child as a dependent under
the rules discussed on page 8, for Children of
Divorced or Separated Parents.

If you are considered unmarried under these
rules, you will qualify to file as Head of Household.

Head of Household

There are special tax rates for a person who can
meet the tests for Head of Household. These rates
are lower than the rates for Single or Married Filing
a Separate Return.

You may be eligible to file as Head of Household
if you were unmarried, or considered unmarried, on
the last day of the year. You must have paid more
than half the cost of keeping up a home that was
the principal home for more than half the year for
you and:

1) Your unmarried child, grandchild, stepchild, or
adopted child. This child does not have to be
your dependent.

2) Your married child, grandchild, stepchild or
adopted child whom you can claim as your
dependent without a Multiple Support Declara-
tion or whom you could claim as your depen-
dent except that the noncustodial parent will
claim the child as a dependent under the rules,
discussed on page 8, for Children of Divorced
or Separated Parents.

3) Any other relative, including your mother or
father, whom you can claim as a dependent,
without a Multiple Support Declaration. For per-
sons who qualify as a relative, see Relationship
on page 8.

Also, you may be eligible to file as Head of
Household if you were unmarried, or considered
unmarried, on the last day of the year, and pay more
than half the cost of keeping up a home that was
the principal home for the whole year for your

mother or father whom you can claim as a depend-
ent without a Multiple Support Declaration, but who
does not live with you.

Note: If you receive payments under the Aid to
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program
and use them to pay part of the cost of keeping up
this home, you may not count these amounts as
furnished by you.

Qualifying Widow or Widower
With a Dependent Child

If your spouse died during 1992 or 1993 and you
did not remarry before the end of 1994, file a return
for 1994 showing only your own income, exemp-
tions, deductions, and credits. However, you can
figure your tax at joint return rates if you meet ALL
3 of the following tests:

- You could have filed a joint return with your
spouse for the year your spouse died. (It does
not matter whether or not you actually filed a
joint return.)

- Your dependent child, stepchild, or foster child
lived with you (except for temporary absences
for vacation or school).

- You paid over half the cost of keeping up the
home for this child for the whole year.

Check Box 5, Qualifying Widow(er) with Depen-
dent Child, and show the year your spouse died in
the space provided. Do not claim an exemption for
your spouse. (You can claim the exemption only for
the year your spouse died.)

If your spouse died in 1994 and you did not
remarry, consider yourself married for the whole
year. If your spouse died before 1992 and you did
not remarry, you may check Box 4 if you met the
tests under Head of Household. Otherwise you
must file as Single.

Note: Also see page 5 of instructions, Death of
Taxpayer.

Exemptions
Lines 6a and 6b
Boxes

Regular

You can take one exemption for yourself unless
you can be claimed as a dependent on another
person’s tax return. Take two exemptions if you
were married and filing a joint return. If you file
married filing separately, you can take your
spouse’s exemptions only if your spouse is not filing
areturn, had noincome, and was not the dependent
of someone else.

If atthe end of the taxable year, you were divorced
or legally separated, you cannot take an exemption
for your former spouse. If you were separated by a
divorce that is not final (interlocutory decree), you
may take an exemption for your spouse if you file a
joint return.

If your spouse died during the taxable year and
you did not remarry before the end of the taxable
year, check the boxes for the exemptions you could
have taken for your spouse on the date of death.

Nonresident Alien Spouse. If you do not file a joint
return, you may claim your spouse’s exemption only
if your spouse had no income from United States
sources and is not the dependent of another tax-
payer. When claiming your spouse’s exemption,
please write “NRA" after the word “Spouse” on line
6b.

Age 65 or Over

You can take the extra exemption for age 65 or
over only for yourself and your spouse. You cannot
take them for dependents.

Age is determined as of December 31. However,
if your 65th birthday was on January 1, 1995, you
can take the extra exemption for age in 1994.

If you file married filing separately, you may NOT
claim the extra exemption for age 65 or over for your
spouse.

Lines 6¢c and 6d

Children and Other
Dependents

Enter on lines 6¢ and 6d the full names, social
security numbers, if any, and other information for
your dependent children and other dependents.
Enter the number of your dependent children listed
in the box for line 6¢c. Enter the number of other
dependents listed in the box for line 6d.

Each person you claim as a dependent has to
meet ALL 5 of these tests:

a. income;

b. support;

c. married dependent;

d. citizenship or residence; and
e. relationship.

These tests are explained below.
a. Income

The dependent received less than $2,450 gross
income. (This test does not have to be met for your
child who was under age 19 at the end of the year,
or a full-time student at least 5 months of the year
and under 24 years of age at the end of the year.
Please see instructions for Student Dependent on
page 8.)

Note: Gross income does not include nontax-

able benefits such as social security or welfare

benefits.
b. Support

The dependent received over half of his or her
support from you, or is treated as receiving over half
of his or her support from you, under the rules for
Children of Divorced or Separated Parents, or De-
pendent Supported by Two or More Taxpayers, on
page 8. If you file a joint return, the support can be
from you or your spouse.

In figuring total support, you must include money
the dependent used for his or her own support, even
if this money was not taxable (for example, social
security benefits, gifts, savings, welfare benefits,
etc.). If your child was a student, do not include
amounts he or she received as scholarships.

Support includes items such as food, a place to
live, clothes, medical and dental care, and educa-
tion. In figuring support, use the actual cost of these
items. However, the cost of a place to live is figured
at its fair rental value.

Do not include in support items such as income
and social security taxes, premiums for life insur-
ance, or funeral expenses.

Capital Items - You must include capital items
such as a car or furniture in figuring support, but only
if they are actually given to, or bought by, the
dependent for his or her use or benefit. Do not
include the cost of a capital item such as furniture
for the household or for use by persons other than
the dependent.

c. Married Dependent

The dependent did not file a joint return with his
or her spouse. However, if neither the dependent
nor the dependent’s spouse is required to file, but
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they file a joint return to get a refund of tax withheld,
you may claim him or her if the other four tests are
met.
d. Citizenship or Residence
The dependent was a citizen or resident of the
United States, a resident of Canada or Mexico, or
an alien child adopted by and living with a U.S.
citizen in a foreign country.
e. Relationship
The dependent met test 1 or 2 below:
1. Was related to you (or your spouse if you are
filing a joint return) in one of the following ways:

Child Grandchild  Mother-in-law or, if related
Mother Stepchild Father-in-law by blood:
Father Stepbrother Brother-in-law  Uncle
Brother Stepsister  Sister-in-law Nephew
Sister Stepmother Daughter-in-law  Aunt
Grandparent Stepfather ~ Son-in-law Niece

2. Was any other person who lived in your home
as a member of your household for the whole
year. A person is not a member of your
household if at any time during your tax year
the relationship between you and that person is
against local law.

The word child includes:

- Your son, daughter, stepson, or stepdaughter.

- A child who lived in your home as a member of
your family if placed with you by an authorized
placement agency for legal adoption.

- Afoster child (any child who lived in your home
as a member of your family for the whole year).
Student Dependent. Even if your child had in-

come of $2,450 or more, you can claim the child as

a dependent if he or she can meet tests b, ¢, and d

above: AND

- was under 24 years of age at the end of the year,
and

- was enrolled as a full-time student at a school
during any 5 months of 1994, or

- took a full-time on-farm training course during
any 5 months of 1994. (The course had to be
given by a school or a State, county, or local
government agency.)

The school must have a regular teaching staff, a
regular course of study, and a regularly enrolled
body of students in attendance.

The word school includes:

- elementary, junior and senior high schools;

- colleges and universities; and

- technical, trade, and mechanical schools.
However, school does not include on-the-job

training courses or correspondence schools.

Children of Divorced or Separated Parents.
The parent having custody of a child for the greater
portion of the year (the custodial parent) will gener-
ally be entitled to the dependency exemption. This
rule applies to parents not living together during the
last six months of the calendar year and those
divorced or separated under a separation agree-
ment.

This general rule does not apply in the case of the
following three exceptions:

a. There is a multiple support agreement in effect,
OR

b. The custodial parent has agreed to release his
or her claim to the dependency exemption to
the noncustodial parent in a decree or agree-

ment in effect before January 1985, and the
noncustodial parent furnishes at least $600
support for the child within the taxable year, OR

c. The custodial parent relinquishes the exemption
and provides the noncustodial parent with a
written statement that the custodial parent will
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not claim the dependency exemption for the
taxable year. This statement shall be attached
to the return of the noncustodial parent who
claims the exemption. Federal Form 8332 may
be used for this purpose.
Support by the spouse of a remarried parent will
be treated as support provided by that parent.
Dependent Supported by Two or More Tax-
payers. Sometimes two or more taxpayers together
pay more than half of another person’s support, but
no one alone pays over half of the support. One of
the taxpayers may claim the person as a dependent
only if the tests for income, married dependent,
citizenship or residence, and relationship discussed
earlier (tests a, c, d, and e) are met.
In addition, the taxpayer who claims the depend-
ent must:
a. have paid more than 10% of the dependent’s
support; and
b. attach to his or her tax return a signed Form
N-120, Multiple Support Declaration, from
every other person who paid more than 10% of
the support. This form states that the person
who signs it will not claim an exemption in 1994
for the person he or she helped to support.
Birth or Death of Dependent. You can take an
exemption for a dependent who was born or who
died during the taxable year if he or she met the
tests for a dependent while alive. This means that
a baby who lived only a few minutes can be claimed
as a dependent.

Line 6e Box

Add the numbers you entered in
the boxes 6a, 6b, 6¢c and 6d. Enter
the total in the box on line 6e.

Income

An individual who was a Hawaii resident for the
entire year is subject to income tax on his or her
entire income, computed without regard to source
in the State.

If a part-year resident (see Part-Year Resident on
page 4) is unable to determine the income subject
to taxation in Hawaii, then a ratio (period of Hawaii
residency/the calendar year) may be applied to the
entire year's income.

Example: Mr. X’s period of Hawaii residency was
from April 1 to December 31. He is unable to
determine the income not subject to taxation in
Hawaii during the period of nonresidency. His entire
income for the taxable year was $50,000. His
income subject to taxation in Hawaii is $37,500 (9
months/12 months x $50,000).

Examples of Income You Must
Report

The following kinds of income should be reported
on Form N-12, or related forms and schedules.

- Wages, including salaries, bonuses, commis-
sions, fees, and tips.

- U.S. Cost of Living Allowance.
- Living Quarter Allowance.
- Dividends (Schedule B).
- Interest (Schedule B) on:
—tax refunds;
—bank deposits, bonds, notes;

—bonds issued by other states and other local
governments; and

—accounts with savings and loan associations,
mutual savings banks, credit unions. etc.

- Unemployment compensation benefits.

- Temporary Disability Insurance Benefits to the
extent that such amounts:

—are attributable to contributions by your em-
ployer which were not includible in your gross
income, OR

—are paid by your employer.

- Bartering income (fair market value of goods or
services you received in return for your serv-
ices).

- Business expense reimbursements you re-
ceived that are more than you spent for those
expenses.

- Alimony, separate maintenance or support pay-
ments received from and deductible by your
spouse or former spouse.

- Refunds of State and local taxes if you deducted
the taxes in an earlier year and got a tax benefit.
See details on page 9 of instructions.

- Life insurance proceeds from a policy you
cashed in if the proceeds are more than the
premiums you paid.

- Income from businesses and professions.

- Your share of profits from partnerships and
small business corporations.

- Annuities and endowments.
- Jury duty fees.
Prizes and awards.

Examples of Income You Do
Not Report

- Pensions where no employee contributions are
involved.

- Amounts you received as combat duty pay while
deployed to an area designated as a war zone
by the President of the United States.

- All Government payments and benefits made to
veterans and their families.

- Dividends on veterans’ Government Insurance.

- Benefits paid by the Hawaii Retirement System
or similar public (Federal, City County or other
State) retirement system.

- Workmen’s compensation, insurance, dam-
ages, etc., for bodily injury or sickness.

- Interest on Federal, Hawaii State and County
municipal bonds. Also, U.S. Savings Bonds.

- Interest on bonds issued by the Governments
of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and Guam.

- Life insurance proceeds upon death.

- Social Security benefits.

- Railroad Retirement Act benefits.

- Gifts, inheritances, bequests.

- Compensation by Hawaii or the U.S. to a patient
affected with leprosy.

- Child support.

- Welfare benefits.

- Amounts you received from an insurance com-
pany because you lost the use of your home due
to fire or other casualty to the extent the
amounts were more than the cost of your normal
expenses while living in your home. (You must
report reimbursements for normal living ex-
penses as income.)

- Contributions to deferred compensation plans
with respect to service for state and local gov-
ernments or to an annuity purchased by quali-
fied nonprofit organizations and public schools.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

You may round off cents to the nearest whole
dollar on your return and schedules. But, if you do
round off, do so for all amounts. You can drop
amounts under 50 cents. Increase amounts from 50




to 99 cents to the next dollar. For example: $1.39
becomes $1 and $2.69 becomes $3.

Line 7
Wages, Salaries, Tips, Etc.

Report as income any salaries, wages, or other
compensation received by you, or available to you,
including compensation for services rendered out-
side Hawaii. You must report the full amount of your
wages, salaries, fees, commissions, tips, bonuses,
and other payments for your personal services even
though taxes and other amounts have been with-
held by your employer. Include in this total:

- The amount shown on Form HW-2 in the box
Wages, Tips, Other Compensation. If you re-
ceived federal Form W-2, report the amount in
box 17, State wages, tips, etc. If you did not
receive a Form HW-2 or federal Form W-2, see
page 6, Step 1 of instructions.

- Tips received that you did not report to your
employer. You must report as income the
amount of allocated tips shown on your federal
W-2 form(s) unless you can prove a lesser
amount with adequate records.

- Payment in merchandise, etc. — If your em-
ployer pays part or all of your wages in merchan-
dise, services, stock or other things of value,
you must determine the fair market value of
such items and include it in your wages.

- Fair market value of meals and living quarters
if given by your employer as a matter of your
choice and not for your employer’'s conven-
ience. (Don'treport the value of meals given you
atwork if they were provided for your employer’s
convenience. Also do not report the value of
living quarters you had to accept as a condition
of employment).

- Strike and lockout benefits paid by a union from
union dues. Include cash and the fair market
value of goods received. Don't report benefits
that were meant as a gift.

- Amounts received under an employer-paid de-
pendent care benefit plan from Form N-141,
Part IIl. If you have received any benefits from
such a plan for the taxable year, you must
complete Parts | and Ill of Form N-141 and file
it with your Form N-12. Include the taxable
amount from line 20 of Form N-141 on Form
N-12, line 7. On the dotted line next to line 7,
write “DCB.”

- Also include on this line, amounts received as
Cost of Living Allowance, Living Quarter Allow-
ance, and Temporary Disability Insurance.
Note: You must report on line 7 all wages, etc.,
paid for your personal services, even if the
income was signed over to a trust, (including an
IRA), another person, a corporation, or tax ex-
empt organization.

Line 8

Interest Income

Enter your total interestincome. If the total is more
than $400, first fill in Schedule B. (The instructions
for Schedule B begin on page 22.)

Report any interest you received or that was
credited to your account so you could withdraw it.
(It does not have to be entered in your passbook.)
If you were charged an interest penalty for early
withdrawal of your savings, see the instructions for
line 26 on page 11.

Examples of Interest Income
You MUST Report

- Accounts with banks, credit unions, and savings
and loan associations.

- Building and loan accounts.

- Notes and loans.

- Tax refunds (report only the interest on them as
interest income).

- Bonds and debentures.

Line 9

Dividends

Dividends are distributions of money, stock, or
other property that corporations pay to stockhold-
ers. They also include dividends you receive
through a partnership, an S corporation or an estate
or trust. Payers include nominees or other agents.

If the total, including capital gain and nontaxable
distributions, is more than $400, first fill in Schedule
B. (The instructions for Schedule B begin on page
22.) If you received $400 or less in dividends,
include only the ordinary dividends on line 9.

Dividends Include

- Ordinary dividends. These are paid out of
earnings and profits and are ordinary income.
Assume that any dividend you receive is an
ordinary dividend unless the paying corporation
tells you otherwise.

- Capital gain distributions. Enter your capital
gain distributions on Schedule D.

- Nontaxable distributions. Some distributions
are nontaxable because they are a return of
your investment. They will not be taxed until you
recover your cost. You must reduce your cost
(or other basis) by the amount of nontaxable
distributions received. After you get back all of
your cost (or other basis), you must report these
distributions as capital gains.

- Reinvestment dividends. Dividends that are
reinvested in stock purchase plans are taxable.

Do Not Report as Dividends

Mutual insurance company dividends that re-
duced the premiums you paid.

- Amounts paid on deposits or accounts from
which you could withdraw your money such as
mutual savings banks, cooperative banks, and
credit unions. Remember to report these
amounts as interest on Form N-12, line 8.

Line 10

Taxable Refunds of State and
Local Income Taxes

If you received a refund or credit in 1994 for state
or local income taxes you paid before 1994, you
may have to report it as income on your Hawaii
income tax return. You should receive federal Form
1099-G, or similar statement, showing the refund.

Any part of a refund of state or local income taxes
paid before 1994 that you were entitled to receive
in 1994 but chose to apply to your 1994 estimated
state income tax is considered to have been re-
ceived in 1994.

Do not report your refund as income if the refund
was for a year in which you did not itemize your
deductions.

If part of your refund was interest, report that
amount on Form N-12, line 8.

Complete the worksheet below to figure the tax-
able part of your State income tax refund.

Note: See federal Publication 525 instead of
using the worksheet below if you received a refund
or recovery of an itemized deduction that was pre-
viously limited. If you received a refund or recovery
of anitemized deduction that was previously limited,
the refund or recovery is, in general, fully included
in your gross income in the year you received it.
However, you may be required to include only part
of the refund or recovery in income. When referring
to federal Publication 525, the following should be
taken into consideration:

- The Hawaii standard deduction amounts must
be used.

- For Hawaii income tax purposes, the base
amount for the limitation of itemized deductions
remains at $100,000. This base amount is not
adjusted for inflation annually as is done for
federal income tax purposes.

- The refund received in 1994 must be reduced
by the following credits claimed on your 1993
income tax return: (1) Credit for child and de-
pendent care expenses, (2) Food/Excise tax
credit, (3) Credit for low-income household
renter, (4) Credit for general income tax, (5)
Credit for child passenger restraint system(s),
and (6) Medical services excise tax credit.
Worksheet

1. Enter your State tax overpayment

(line 60) from your 1993 return

2. Enter from your 1993 Form N-12 the following:

a. Credit for child and
dependent care
expenses (line 50) ..

b. Food/Excise tax
credit (line 51).........

c. Credit for low-income
household renter
(line 52)

d. Credit for general
income tax
(line54)...cccocvvvnnne

e. Credit for child
passenger restraint
system(s) (line 55) ..

f. Medical services
excise tax credit
(N 57) i

3. Add lines 2a through 2f. ..........

4. Line 1 minus line 3.

If zero or less, stop here;

otherwise continue on to

5. Enter amount from your
1993 Form N-12, line 33h........
6. Enter the amount shown below
for the filing status you claimed
on your 1993 Form N-12. ........

Single— $1,500
Married filing jointly

or qualifying widow(er)— 1,900
Married filing separately— 950
Head of household— 1,650

7. Line 5 minus line 6.
Enter the result, but
not less than zero...........c........
8. Compare the amounts on lines
4 and 7 above and enter the
SMALLER of the two amounts
here and on line 10, Form N-12.
This is the taxable part of
yourrefund ........ocoeeeniiieninen.
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Line 11

Alimony Received

Alimony or separate maintenance payments that
you received are taxable income to you. Report this
income on line 11.

If you received payments under a divorce or
separation instrument executed after 1984, see the
instructions for line 27 for information on the rules
that apply in determining whether these payments
qualify as alimony.

Line 12

Business Income or (Loss)
Please see the instructions for Schedule C which

begins on page 22. Enter your income or (loss) from
Schedule C.

Lines 13a and 13b
Capital Gain or (Loss)

Please see the instructions for Schedule D which

begins on page 25. Enter the gain or (loss) from
Schedule D.

Line 14

Supplemental Gains or
(Losses)

If you sold or exchanged assets used in a trade
or business, see the instructions for Schedule D-1.
Enter the gain or (loss) from Schedule D-1.

Lines 15a and 15b
IRA Distributions

Use line 15a to report your total individual retire-
ment arrangement (IRA) distributions and line 15b
to report your taxable amount.

If you are reporting a “rollover” from one IRA to
another IRA, enter the amount of the distribution on
line 15a. If the total distribution was rolled over enter
zero on line 15b. Otherwise, enter the taxable part
of the distribution as ordinary income on line 15b.

If you are the owner of an IRA, into which there
has been deposited a "roll-over" of a distribution
from an employer’s benefit plan, (and such distribu-
tion would have been exempt from income tax for
Hawaii income tax purposes at the time received),
all of the amounts withdrawn from such IRA shall be
exempt from Hawaii income tax until the aggregate
of the exempt withdrawals equal the total of the
"roll-over." All withdrawals in excess of the "roll-
over" will be fully taxable for Hawaii income tax
purposes. See Tax Information Release No. 63-79,
"Taxation of Amounts Withdrawn From Individual
Retirement Accounts Representing "Roll-Over"
From Employee Benefit Plans".

Do not use lines 15a or 15b to report a rollover

from a qualified employer’s plan to an IRA; use lines
16a and 16b instead.

Lines 16a and 16b

Pensions and Annuities

Use lines 16a and 16b to report annuity income
that is fully or partially taxable. Also use these lines
to report distributions from profit-sharing plans and
employee-savings plans.

The following two types of distributions are not
taxed by Hawaii and do not need to be reported on
lines 16a and 16b:

(1) Pension or annuity distibutions from a public
(i.e. government) retirement system (e.g. federal
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civil service annuity, military pension, state or county
retirement system, etc.), and

(2) Distributions from a private employer pension
plan received upon retirement (including early re-
tirement and disability retirement) if the employee
did not contribute to the pension plan.

Distributions from a private employer pension
plan received upon retirement are partially taxed by
Hawaii if the employee contributed to the pension
plan. The interest earned on the employee’s con-
tribution is taxable.

All other pension and annuity distributions are fully
taxable except for the amount that represents a
return of the individual’s cost.

To compute the taxable portion of your annuity or
pension, use Schedule J (Form N-12/N-15/N-40).

If you have been reporting your pension or annuity
payments under the 3-Year Rule, use Part Il on
Schedule J (Form N-12/N-15/N-40) to figure the
taxable part of your pension or annuity. Enter the
amount you received this year on line 16a. Enter the
taxable part on line 16b.

Caution: Certain transactions, such as loans
against your interest in a qualified plan, may be
treated as taxable distributions.

Note: If you did not contribute to the cost of your

annuity or you recovered your entire cost before

January 1, 1994, report your annuity on Form

N-12, lines 16a and 16b.

Lump-Sum Distributions

If you received a lump-sum distribution from a
profit-sharing plan, report the total distribution on
line 16a and report the ordinary income part on line
16b of Form N-12 and, for those who have attained
age 50 before January 1,1986, enter the capital gain
part on Schedule D (Form N-12). Federal Form
1099-R, Distributions from Pensions, Annuities, Re-
tirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance
Contracts, etc., shows the amount of the distribu-
tion. You may pay less tax on this distribution if you
are eligible to use the special averaging methods.
For more details, get Form N-152, Special 5-Year
Averaging Method.

Line 17

Rents, Royalties,
Partnerships, Estates or Trusts
Please see the instructions for Schedule E which

begins on page 27. Enter the income or (loss) from
Schedule E.

Line 18

Farm Income or (Loss)

Please see the separate instructions for Schedule
F. Enter the income or (loss) from Schedule F.

Line 19

Unemployment Compensation

Unemployment compensation (insurance) you
receive is taxable. You should receive federal Form
1099-G, or similar statement, showing the total
unemployment compensation paid to you during the
year. For payments in 1994 you should receive this
statement by January 31, 1995.

Note: Supplemental unemployment benefits re-
ceived from a company-financed supplemental
unemployment benefit fund are wages. They
are not considered unemployment compensa-
tion. Report these benefits on Form N-12, line
7.

If you received any unemployment compensation
during the taxable year, please enter the total from
federal Form(s) 1099-G on line 19.

Line 20

Other Income

Use line 20 to report any income you can't find a
place for on your return or other schedules. Also
show the nature and source of the income.

Caution: Do not report any income from self-em-
ployment on line 20. If you do have any income from
self-employment, you must use Schedule C or
Schedule F.

Examples of income to be reported on line 20
are:

- Prizes, awards and gambling winnings. Pro-
ceeds from lotteries, raffles, etc., are gambling
winnings. You must report the full amount of
your winnings on this line. You cannot offset
losses against winnings and report the differ-
ence.

If you had any gambling losses, you may take
them as a miscellaneous itemized deduction not
subject to the 2% AGI limitation on Schedule A.
However, you cannot deduct more losses than
the winnings you report.

- Repayment of medical expenses or other items
such as real estate taxes that you deducted in
an earlier year, if they reduced your tax.

- Amounts you recovered on bad debts that you
deducted in an earlier year.

- Fees received for jury duty and precinct election
board duty. You may be able to deduct part or
all of your jury duty pay. See the instructions for
line 30 on page 12.

- Individual Housing Account (IHA) distributions

not used exclusively in connection with the pur-
chase of the first principal residence in Hawaii
for the individual for whose benefit the account
was established must be included in the gross
income of the individual for the taxable year in
which the distribution is received.
One-tenth of the total distribution from the IHA
used to purchase the residential property MUST
be included as gross income in the taxable year
in which the distribution is completed and in
each taxable year thereafter until all of the dis-
tribution has been included in the individual's
gross income.

Upon the sale or other transfer of residential
property purchased with a distribution from an
IHA, an amount equal to such distribution that
has NOT been included in prior years’ gross
income, must be included in the gross income
of the individual for the taxable year in which the
property is sold.

In addition, for both cases, the tax liability of the
individual shall be increased by 10% of the total
distribution from the IHA. See Form N-103,
Sale of Your Home, for details on the computa-
tion of your additional tax liability.

If the individual sells the residential property
after all of the distribution has been included in
the individual's gross income at the end of the
tenth taxable year after the purchase of the
residential property, the tax liability of the indi-
vidual shall not be increased by 10% of the total
distribution from the IHA.

Scholarships and Fellowships. If you received
a scholarship or fellowship that was granted
after August 16, 1986, part or all of it may be
taxable even if you didn't receive a federal W-2
form. If you were a degree candidate, the
amounts you used for expenses other than tui-



tion and course-related expenses are taxable.
For example, amounts used for room, board,
and travel are taxable. If you were not a degree
candidate, the full amount of the scholarship or
fellowship is taxable. Include the taxable
amount on line 20.

Net operating loss.— If, in 1994, your business
or profession lost money, or you had a casualty loss,
or a loss from the sale or other disposition of depre-
ciable property or real property used in your trade
or business, you can apply the losses against your
1994 income. If the losses exceed your income, the
excess is a “net operating loss” which generally may
be used to offset your income for the 3 years prior
to and the 15 years following this year. The loss may
be carried back to the third prior year and any
remaining balance brought forward to each suc-
ceeding year.

Generally, you can use a net operating loss to
reduce your income for the 3 years before 1994 and
the 15 years after, or you may elect to use it to
reduce your income for the 15 following years with-
out carrying the loss to the 3 prior years. If you
carryback the loss and are due a refund from the
carryback, you may use Form N-109, Application
for Tentative Refund from Carryback of Net Oper-
ating Loss, to get a quick refund. But if you elect to
carry the loss forward instead, you must attach a
statement to this effect on a timely filed return
(including extensions). If you make such an election,
it cannot be changed later.

If you had a loss in a prior year to carry forward to
1994, enter it as a “minus” figure on line 20. Attach
a separate sheet showing how you figured the
amount. See Form N-109 for details.

Line 21
Total Income

Add the amounts in the column for line 7 through
line 20.

If any of these amounts are negative, first add all
the positive amounts. Next, add all the negative
amounts. Then, subtract the total of the negative
amounts from the total of the positive amounts and
enter the result on line 21. If the result is negative,
enter it in (parentheses).

Adjustments to Income

Lines 22a and 22b

Individual Retirement
Arrangements (IRAS)
Who Can Take the Deduction?

If you were a Hawaii resident for the entire year,
you may claim the same amount allowed on your
Federal return as an IRA deduction.

If you were a part-year resident, compute your
allowable deduction as follows:

1) Divide your total earned income subject to
taxation in Hawaii by the total earned income
computed without regard to source.

2) Multiply the resulting percentage by the deduc-
tion allowed on your federal return.

For more information, see the instructions for
federal Form 1040.

Line 23

Moving Expenses

Note: The deduction for moving expenses in-
curred after December 31, 1993, is allowed as a
deduction in computing adjusted gross income
rather than as an itemized deduction.

Employees and self-employed persons (including
partners) can deduct certain moving expenses.

You can take this deduction if you moved in
connection with your job or business and your new
workplace is at least 50 miles farther from your old
home than your old home was from your old work-
place. If you had no former workplace, your new
workplace must be at least 50 miles from your old
home.

If you leave the State of Hawaii for other than
temporary or transitory purpose and are not domi-
ciled here, you thereby cease to be a resident; in
such a case, moving expenses to a new place of
employment outside the State of Hawaii shall not be
allowed.

For more details, see Form N-139. Attach the
form to your return.

Line 24

Deduction for

Self-Employment Tax
Ifyou are self-employed, you will be able to deduct

as a business expense 50% of the amount of

self-employment taxes paid for the tax year.
If you were a part-year resident, compute your
allowable deduction as follows:

1) Divide your total self-employment income sub-
ject to taxation in Hawaii by the total self-em-
ployment income computed without regard to
source.

2) Multiply the resulting percentage by the deduc-
tion allowed on your federal return.

For more information see the instructions for fed-

eral Form 1040.

Line 25

Keogh Retirement Plan and
Self-Employed SEP Deduction

Caution: You must have earnings from self-em-
ployment to claim this deduction. Sole proprietors
and partners enter the allowable deduction for con-
tributions to your Keogh (H.R. 10) Plan and your
SEP on line 25.

There are two types of Keogh (H.R. 10) retirement
plans:
- Defined-contribution plan. — This plan pro-

vides an individual account for each person in

the plan. In general, if contributions to the plan
are geared to the employer’s profits, the plan is

a profit-sharing plan. If contributions are not

based on the employer’s profits, the plan is a

money purchase pension plan.

Defined-benefit plan. — The deduction for this

type of plan is determined by the investment

needed to fund a specific benefit at retirement
age. Write “DB” on the line to the left of the
amount if you have a defined-benefit plan.

If you were a part-year resident, compute your
allowable deduction as follows:

1) Divide your total self-employment income sub-
ject to taxation in Hawaii by the total self-em-
ployment income computed without regard to
source.

2) Multiply the resulting percentage by the deduc-
tion allowed on your federal return.

For more information, see the instructions for
federal Form 1040.

Line 26

Interest Penalty on Early
Withdrawal of Savings

The federal Form 1099-INT given to you by your
bank or savings and loan association will show the
amount of any interest penalty you were charged
because you withdrew funds from your time savings
deposit before its maturity. Enter this amount on line
26. (Be sure to include the interest income on Form
N-12, line 8.)

If you were a part-year resident, the penalty can-
not be deducted on your Hawaii return if none of the
interest from the account was received while you
were a Hawaii resident. If part of the interest from
the account was received while you were a Hawaii
resident, compute your allowable deduction as fol-
lows:

1) Divide the amount of interest received on that
account subject to taxation in Hawaii by the total
interest received on that account.

2) Multiply the resulting percentage by the total
penalty charged to that account.

Line 27
Alimony Paid

You can deduct (subject to Department of Taxa-
tion Rules) periodic payments of alimony or sepa-
rate maintenance made under a court decree. You
can also deduct payments made under a written
separation agreement or a decree for support. Don'’t
deduct lump-sum cash or property settlements,
voluntary payments not made under a court or a
written separation agreement, or amounts specified
as child support.

If you paid alimony to more than one person, enter
the social security number of one of the recipients.
Show the social security number(s) and the amount
paid to the other recipient(s) on an attached state-
ment. Enter your total payments on line 27.

Generally, you may deduct any payment made in
cash to, or on behalf of, your spouse or former
spouse under a divorce or separation instrument
executed after 1984 if ALL 5 of the following apply:
1) The instrument does not prevent the payment

from qualifying as alimony.

2) You and your spouse or former spouse did not
live together when the payment was made if
you were separated under a decree of divorce
or separate maintenance.

3) You are not required to make any payment after
the death of your spouse or your former spouse.

4) The payment is not treated as child support.

5) For instruments executed in 1985 or 1986, the
minimum term rule is met.

If your alimony payments decrease or terminate
during the first 3 calendar years, you may be subject
to the recapture rule.

If you were a part-year resident, compute your
allowable deduction as follows:

1) Divide your total income subject to taxation in
Hawaii as a part-year resident by your total
income subject to taxation in Hawaii as if you
were a full year resident.

2) Multiply the resulting percentage by your allow-
able alimony deduction.

For more information, see federal Publication
504, Tax Information for Divorced or Separated
Individuals.
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Line 28

Payments to an Individual
Housing Account

You may be able to deduct from your gross
income up to $5,000, paid in cash during the taxable
year into a trust account which is established for
savings for a down payment on your first principal
residence whether you are a full or part-year resi-
dent. A deduction not to exceed $10,000 shall be
allowed for a married couple filing a joint return. No
deduction shall be allowed on any amounts distrib-
uted less than 365 days from the date on which a
contribution is made to the account. Any deduction
claimed for a previous taxable year for amounts
distributed less than 365 days from the date on
which a contribution was made shall be disallowed
and the amount deducted shall be included in the
previous taxable year's gross income and the tax
reassessed. The account, established along the
same lines as an individual retirement account
(IRA), is to encourage first-time home buyers to
save money for a down payment on a home. The
interest income earned on the account within the
taxable year shall not be included in gross income.

The “first principal residence” means a residential
property purchased with the payment or distribution
from the individual housing account which shall be
owned and occupied as the only home by an indi-
vidual who did not have any previous interest in,
individually, or if the individual is married, whose
spouse did not have any interest in a residential
property inside or outside of Hawaii within the last 5
years of opening the IHA.

The amounts paid in cash allowable as a deduc-
tion for all taxable years are limited to $25,000, in
the aggregate, excluding interest earned or ac-
crued. This limitation also applies to married indi-
viduals having separate accounts, the sum of such
separate accounts and the deduction shall not ex-
ceed $25,000 in the aggregate, excluding interest
income earned or accrued.

Other requirements:

- The trustee must be a qualified bank, savings
and loan association, credit union, or depository
financial services loan company. Check with
your financial institution if it is a qualified institu-
tion under IHA rules.

- The entire interest of the trust account shall be
distributed to the taxpayer(s) not later than 120
months after the date on which the first contri-
bution is made to the trust.

For more details, consult your taxation district
office.

Line 29

Military Reserve or Hawaii
National Guard Duty Pay
Exclusion

The first $1,750 received by each member of the
reserve components of the army, navy, air force,
marine corps, coast guard of the United States of
America, and the Hawaii national guard, as com-
pensation for performance of duty as such is not
taxable for Hawaii net income tax purposes but
limited to that income that would have been subject
to taxation in Hawaii.

Line 30

Total Adjustments

Add lines 22a through 29. Enter the total on this
line. Also include in the total on line 30 jury duty pay
you are required to give to your employer because
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your employer continues to pay your salary while
you serve on the jury. Include the amount you repaid
during 1994 and write in the total on line 30 “Jury
Pay” in the space to the left of the total.

Line 31

Adjusted Gross Income

Line 21 minus line 30. If line 31 is less than zero
(0), you may have a net operating loss that you can
carry to another tax year. If you carry the loss back
to earlier years, see Form N-109.

Tax Computation
Line 32

Enter amount from line 31.

Note: If you can be claimed as a dependent
on another person’s return check the box
under line 32. Complete the worksheet on this
page and enter the appropriate amount on line
34 if you do not itemize your deductions.

Lines 33ato 33¢g

You will fall into one of the three classes below:
- You MUST itemize deductions, or
- You choose to itemize, or
- You do not itemize.

The three classes are described as follows:

You MUST Itemize Deductions
You must itemize deductions if:

- You are married, filing a separate return, and
your spouse itemizes.

- You are making a return under IRC section
443(a)(1) for a period of less than 12 months on
account of a change in your annual accounting
period.

You Choose to Itemize
You may choose to itemize your deductions if you

are:

- Married and filing a joint return, or a Qualifying
widow(er) with dependent child, and your item-
ized deductions are more than $1,900.

- Married and filing a separate return, and your
itemized deductions are more than $950.

- Single, and your itemized deductions are more
than $1,500.

- A Head of Household, and your itemized deduc-
tions are more than $1,650.

- A dependent of another taxpayer and your item-
ized deductions are more than the greater of (1)
$500 or (2) your earned income up to the
amount of the standard deduction for your filing
status.

If you do itemize, complete Schedule A and enter
the amounts on Form N-12, line 33a to 33f.

You Do Not ltemize

If your itemized deductions are less than the
amount shown above for your filing status (or you
choose not to itemize), enter zero on line 33g
(unless you MUST itemize as described earlier) and
go to line 34.

Line 33g

Total Itemized Deductions
Note: People with higher incomes may not be
able to deduct all of their itemized deductions.
For the 1994 tax year, an individual whose ad-
justed gross income exceeds $100,000 ($50,000 if

married filing separately) is required to reduce the
amount allowable for itemized deductions by 3 per-
cent of the excess over $100,000 ($50,000 if mar-
ried filing separately). In no event may the reduction
be more than 80 percent of allowable itemized
deductions, not counting the deductions for medical
expenses, investment interest, casualty losses, or
wagering losses to the extent of wagering gains.

If the amount on Form N-12, line 32, is less than
$100,000 ($50,000 if married filing separately), add
lines 33a to 33f and enter the result on Form N-12,
line 33g and go to line 35.

If the amount on Form N-12, line 32, is more than
$100,000 ($50,000 if married filing separately), use
the worksheet for Total Itemized Deductions be-
low, to figure the amount you may deduct.

Total Itemized Deductions Worksheet (Keep
for your records)

1. Add the amounts on Form
N-12, lines 33a thru 33f........... 1.
2. Add the amounts on Form
N-12, lines 33a and 33e,
any gambling losses included
on line 33f, and the amount on
Schedule A, line 11 ................. 2.

Caution: Be sure the gambling losses are

clearly noted on the dotted lines for Schedule A

(Form N-12), line 24.

3. Line 1 minus line 2 (If the result
is zero or less, STOP HERE;
enter the amount from line 1
above on Form N-12,

liN€ 330)..cccvveeeiiiee e 3.
4. Multiply line 3
above by 80% (.80).........c....... 4,

5. Enter the amount
from Form N-12,
line32..cccccccveenne 5.
6. Enter $100,000
($50,000 if married
filing separately)... 6.
7. Line 5 minus line 6.
(If the result is zero
or less, STOP HERE;
enter the amount from
line 1 above on Form
N-12, line 33g.) .... 7.
8. Multiply line 7 by 3% (.03) ....... 8.
9. Compare the amounts on lines 4
and 8 above. Enter the SMALLER
of the two amounts here.......... 9.
10.Total itemized deductions.
Line 1 minus line 9. Enter the
result here and on Form N-12,
line 33g and go to line 35. ....... 10.

Line 34
Standard Deduction

Taxpayers who do not itemize their deductions
may reduce their adjusted gross income by the
amount of the standard deduction appropriate to
their filing status. The amount of the standard de-
duction for each filing status is listed below:

Filing Status Standard Deduction
Single $1,500
Married filing jointly 1,900
Married filing separately 950
Head of Household 1,650
Qualifying Widow(er) 1,900

Standard Deduction for Dependents. If you do
not itemize your deductions, your standard deduc-
tion is limited to the greater of $500 or your earned
income (up to the full standard deduction for your
filing status). The standard deduction for an individ-



ual who can be claimed as a dependent on the tax
return of another taxpayer is computed as follows:
A. Enter your earned income

(defined below). If

none, enter Zero.........ccceeevee A.
B. Minimum amount.................... B.
C. Compare the amounts on

lines A and B above. Enter

the LARGER of the

two amounts here.................. C.
D. Maximum amount. Enter the

full standard deduction for

your filing status, shown in

the chart above, here.............. D.
E. Compare the amounts on

lines C and D above. Enter

the SMALLER of the two
amounts here and on Form
N-12,line 34. ....oovvviiieene E.

Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips,
professional fees, and other compensation received
for personal services you performed. It also in-
cludes any amount received as a scholarship that
you must include in your income. Generally, your
earned income is the total of the amount(s) you
reported on Form N-12, lines 7, 12, and 18, minus
the amount, if any, on line 24.

If you are not itemizing your deductions, enter
the appropriate standard deduction amount on
line 34.

Note: Part-year residents may claim a full

standard deduction provided that they are not

claimed as a dependent on another person’'s
return. They DO NOT have to prorate their
standard deduction.

Line 35

Line 32 minus line 33g or 34, whichever applies.

Line 36

Exemptions

Regular Exemptions

Full and part-year residents are allowed $1,040
for each exemption they can claim. Multiply $1,040
by the total number of exemptions you claimed on
line 6e. Remember, if you can be claimed as a
dependent on another person’s tax return, you
may not claim an exemption for yourself.

OR

Blind, Deaf, or Totally
Disabled — Definition,
Certification, and Exemptions

Check the appropriate box(es) on line 36 if you
are blind, deaf or totally disabled and your impair-
ment has been certified. The disability exemption
will be disallowed and your return processed with-
out the exemption(s) claimed if you have not quali-
fied for this special exemption by completing Forms
N-172 and N-857 prior to filing your return and you
will be required to file an amended return AFTER
submitting the Forms N-172 and N-857, in order to
claim this exemption.

“Blind” means a person whose central visual acu-
ity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with
correcting lenses, or whose visual acuity is greater
than 20/200 but is accompanied by a limitation in
the field of vision such that the widest diameter of
the visual field subtends an angle no greater than
20 degrees.

500.00

“Deaf” means a person whose average lossin the
speech frequencies (500-2000 Hertz) in the better
ear is 82 decibels, A.S.A., or worse.

“Person totally disabled” means a person who is
totally and permanently disabled, either physically
or mentally, which results in the person’s inability to
engage in any substantial gainful business or occu-
pation. It is presumed that a person whose gross
income, before deductions and exemptions, ex-
ceeds $30,000 per year is engaged in a substantial,
gainful business or occupation.

The impairment of sight, deafness or disability
shall be certified on the basis of a written report on
an examination performed by a qualified ophthal-
mologist, qualified optometrist or a qualified oto-
laryngologist, or a qualified physician, as the case
may be, on Form N-857.

A blind, deaf or totally disabled person who quali-
fies, may be allowed a Disability Exemption of
$7,000. The Disability Exemption is in lieu of the
regular personal exemption of $1,040. The following
maximum exemptions are allowed:

Single — $7,000
Husband and Wife — $14,000
Husband or Wife (non-disabled

spouse under 65) — $8,040
Husband or Wife (non-disabled

spouse age 65 or over) — $9,080

For more information, see Tax Information Re-
lease No. 89-3, "State Tax Benefits Available to
Persons with Impaired Sight, Impaired Hearing, or
Who are Totally Disabled" and Tax Information
Release No. 94-2, "State Tax Benefits Available to
Persons Totally Disabled".

Note: If you claim this special exemption you
will not be able to claim the additional exemp-
tions for your children or other dependents.

Enter the appropriate amount on line 36.

Line 37

Taxable Income
Line 35 minus line 36, but not less than zero.

Tax
Line 38

To figure your tax, you will use one of the following
methods. Read the conditions below to see which
you should use.

Tax Table

If you do not use the Tax Rate Schedules, you
MUST use the Tax Table to find your tax.

Be sure you use the correct column in the Tax
Table. After you have found the correct tax, enter
that amount on line 38.

There is an example at the beginning of the table
to help you find the correct tax.

Tax Rate Schedules
You must use the Tax Rate Schedules to figure
your tax if your taxable income is $100,000 or more.

Alternative Tax from
Schedule D

If you have a net capital gain, you may be subject
to the Alternative Tax computed on Schedule D.
See Schedule D for more information.

Form N-615

If a child under age 14 has investment income of
more than $1,000, use Form N-615 to see if any of
the child’s investment income is taxed at the par-

ent’s rate and, if so, to figure the child’s tax. See
Form N-615 for more information.

Additional Taxes
Use this line to report any of the additional

taxes listed below:

- Form N-2, Distribution from an Individual Hous-
ing Account.

- Form N-103, Sale of Your Home.

- Form N-152, Special 5-Year Averaging Method.

- Form N-312, Recapture of Capital Goods Ex-
cise Tax Credit. (See Form N-312 for more
information).

- Form N-405, Tax on Accumulation Distribution
of Trusts.

- Form N-586, Recapture of Low-Income Hous-
ing Tax Credit. (See Form N-586 for more infor-
mation).

- Form N-814, Parent’s Election to Report Child’s
Interest and Dividends. (See Form N-814 for
more information).

Credits

Line 39

Credit Allowed Residents For
Income Taxes Paid Other
States and Countries

A credit against income tax due Hawaii is allowed
to the extent of net income taxes paid to another
state, territory or possession of the U.S. or to a
foreign country.

If you have out-of-state income which is taxed by
another state or foreign country and subject to
taxation in Hawaii, you may be able to claim a credit
against your Hawaii income for the net income tax
you paid to the other state or foreign country pro-
vided the following conditions are met:

- The income was earned while you were a Ha-
waii resident;

- Some or all of your Hawaii taxable income,
subject to Hawaii sourcing rules, must have
been derived or received from sources outside
Hawaii and taxed by another state, territory or
foreign country under a net income tax law;

- The income is not from intangible personal prop-
erty unless the property has acquired a busi-
ness situs outside of Hawaii;

- You did not become a resident of Hawaii after
attaining age 65 and before July 1, 1976;

- The income or tax is not eligible for exclusion,
exemption, or credit under Subchapter N of the
IRC. For example, you may not claim the credit
for income taxes paid to the Common Wealth of
the Northern Mariana Islands since the income
is exempt from federal income taxes. See fed-
eral Form 1116 for more details.

- The income must be taxed by the other state or
foreign country for the same taxable year for
which the Hawaii credit is claimed.

- The tax imposed by the other state or foreign
country must apply to both residents and non-
residents and be a net income tax.

- The credit cannot reduce your Hawaii income
tax below what it would have been had you been
taxed only on the income from property owned,
services performed, trade or business carried
on, and other sources in Hawaii.

- No creditis allowed against penalties or interest.

- The credit is limited to the excess of the federal
Foreign Tax Credit claimed, if applicable.
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Note: You must file a copy of the other state or
foreign country’s tax return AND a copy of your
federal Form 1040. If applicable, federal Form
1116 must also be attached.

The allowable credit is computed as follows:

1) Compute the amount of your Hawaii income tax
liability excluding the income taxed by the other
state or foreign country. (Suggestion: Com-
plete another Form N-12, as a worksheet, up to
line 38. Make sure you exclude the income
taxed by the other state or foreign country.)

2) Subtract the tax computed above from your
actual tax liability on line 38 of your Form N-12.
This is your maximum allowable credit.

3) Compare your maximum allowable credit with
your tax liability to the other state or foreign
country. Enter the LESSER of the two amounts
on line 39 of your Form N-12.

Note: All reductions in tax paid to another state
or country for which a credit was claimed MUST
be reported to the Department of Taxation. The
failure to make this report will be subject to
penalties.

For more information, see Tax Information Re-
lease No. 90-3, Income Taxation and Eligibility for
Credits of an Individual Taxpayer Whose Status
Changes from Resident to Nonresident or Nonresi-
dent to Resident.

Line 40

Energy Conservation Tax
Credit

Each individual resident taxpayer who files a net
income tax return for 1994 may claim a tax credit
against his or her income tax liability for a solar or
wind energy system, heat pump, or ice storage
system installed and placed in service in 1994.
Additions to existing systems (e.g., additional solar
energy panels) and systems for a second home
qualify for this credit. The cost of repairs to existing
systems (e.g., replacing solar energy panels), how-
ever, do not qualify for this credit. The tax credit
shall apply only to the actual cost of the solar or wind
energy system, heat pump, or ice storage system,
including accessories and installation, and shall not
include the cost of consumer incentive premiums
unrelated to the operation of the system or offered
with the sale of the system or heat pump (such as
“free gifts”, offers to pay electricity bills, or rebates).

The tax credit may be claimed for the following
energy conservation systems installed and placed
in service after 12/31/89 (12/31/90 for ice storage
systems), but before 1/1/99:

Type of Energy
Conservation System  Tax Credit Rate

b. New and existing
Multi-unit buildings
used primarily for
residential purposes.

¢. New and existing
hotel, commercial

Per building unit: The
lesser of 20% of each
unit's actual cost of
the system or $200.

20% of the actual cost
of the system.

1. Wind energy systems 20% of the actual cost
of the system.

2. Solar energy systems

a. New and existing
single family
residential buildings.

b. New and existing
Multi-unit buildings
used primarily for

residential purposes.

c¢. New and existing
hotel, commercial
and industrial
facilities.

3. Heat pumps

a. New and existing
single family
residential buildings.
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The lesser of 35% of
the actual cost of the
system or $1,750.

Per building unit: The
lesser of 35% of each
unit's actual cost of
the system or $350.

35% of the actual cost
of the system.

The lesser of 20% of
the actual cost of the
system or $400.

and industrial
facilities.
4. Ice storage systems 50% of the actual cost
of the system.

In the event that tax credits claimed exceed the
amount of the income tax payments due, the excess
of credits may be carried over to subsequent years
until used up.

To determine this tax credit, use Form N-157
and attach the form to individual income tax
return Form N-12, and enter on page 2, line 40,
the amount of the credit claimed.

For more information see Form N-157.

Line 41
Enterprise Zone Tax Credit

A qualified enterprise zone business is eligible to
claim a credit for a percentage of netincome tax due
the State attributable to the conduct of business
within a zone and a percentage of the amount of
unemployment insurance premiums paid based on
the payroll of employees employed at the business
firm establishments in the zone. The applicable
percentage is 80% the first year; 70% the second
year; 60% the third year; 50% the fourth year; 40%
the fifth year; 30% the sixth year; and 20% the
seventh year. This credit is not refundable and any
unused credit may NOT be carried forward. Attach
Form N-756, Enterprise Zone Tax Credit, to support
your claim for this credit.

Line 42

Low-Income Housing Tax
Credit

Note: There is a permanent extension of the
low-income housing tax credit to periods ending
after June 30, 1992.

Hawaii's low-income housing tax credit is equal
to 30% of the federal credit for qualified buildings
located within the State of Hawaii. The federal credit
must be claimed in order to claim the Hawaii credit.
Attach Form N-586, Tax Credit for Low-Income
Housing, to the income tax return on which the credit
is claimed.

Contact the Housing Finance Development Cor-
poration for qualifying requirements and further in-
formation.

Line 43

Credit For Employment of
Vocational Rehabilitation
Referrals

The amount of the tax credit for the taxable year
shall be equal to 20% of the qualified first-year
wages for that year. The amount of the qualified
first-year wages which may be taken into account
with respect to any individual shall not exceed
$6,000.

“Qualified wages” means the wages paid or in-
curred by the employer during the taxable year to
an individual who is a vocational rehabilitation refer-
ral and more than one-half of the wages paid or
incurred for such an individual is for services per-
formed in a trade or business of the employer.

“Quialified first-year wages” means, with respect
to any vocational rehabilitation referral, qualified

wages attributable to service rendered during the
one-year period beginning with the day the individ-
ual begins work for the employer.

The credit allowed shall be claimed against net
income tax liability for the taxable year. A tax credit
which exceeds the taxpayer's income tax liability
may be used as a credit against the taxpayer's
income tax liability in subsequent years until ex-
hausted. Claims for this credit, including any
amended claims thereof, must be filed on or before
the end of the twelfth month following the close of
the taxable year for which the credit may be claimed.

For more information, see Form N-884.

Line 44

Total Credits

Add lines 39 through 43. Include any of the five
credits above that you claimed. Enter the total on
this line.

Line 45

Line 38 minus line 44. Enter the result on this line,
but not less than zero.

Line 46

Total Hawaii Income Tax
Withheld

Add the Hawaii income tax withheld as shown on
your Form N-2 and federal Form W-2. Enter the total
on this line.

Note: If you had taxes withheld on the sale of
Hawaii real property, this tax withheld is consid-
ered ESTIMATED taxes. See instructions for
line 47, “1994 Estimated Tax Payments”.

Line 47
1994 Estimated Tax Payments

Enter on this line only your estimated Hawaii
income tax payments you made on Form N-1 for
1994. Do not include your 1993 overpayment you
requested to have applied to your 1994 estimated
tax (this amount is to be reported on line 48).

If you, as an individual, had taxes withheld on the
sale of Hawaii real property, include the amount of
taxes for each sale remaining in your account with
the State on this line.

If the tax was withheld for you through a partner-
ship, estate, trust or S corporation, see the Instruc-
tions for Credit for Taxes Withheld on the Sale of
Hawaii Real Property Interests on page 17.

Note: If you filed a Form N-288C, “Application for
Tentative Refund of Withholding on Dispositions of
Hawaii Real Property Interests”, during 1994 for the
amount of taxes overwithheld on the sale of Hawaii
real property for which you are claiming this credit,
BE SURE to claim ONLY the amount of estimated
taxes remaining in your account on December 31,
1994 for that sale.

If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax
but are now filing separate income tax returns, either
of you can claim all of the amount paid or you can
each claim a part of it. Please be sure to show both
social security numbers on the separate returns. If
you or your spouse paid separate estimated tax, but
you are now filing a joint income tax return, add the
amounts you each paid.

Follow the above instructions even if your spouse
died.



Line 48

1993 Overpayment Applied to
1994 Estimated Tax

Enter on this line any overpayment from your
1993 return that you applied to your 1994 estimated
tax as shown on line 62 of your 1993 Form N-12.

Line 49

Amount Paid with Extension(s)

If you filed Form N-101A and/or N-101B to get an
extension of time to file Form N-12, enter the
amount you paid on this line.

Other Credits

IMPORTANT!! The amount of any credit
claimed on lines 50 through 58 which total more
than your tax liability will be refunded to you
provided the amount is not less than $1.00. It
is very important that you carefully read the
following instructions for each of these credits
to ensure that you properly claim all the credits
for which you are entitled.

Line 50

Credit for Child and
Dependent Care Expenses

Certain payments made for child and dependent
care may be claimed as a credit against your tax
due.

If you maintain a household that included a child
under age 13 or a dependent or spouse incapable
of self-care, you may be allowed a credit of up to
25% of employment related expenses. These ex-
penses must have been paid during the taxable
year in order to enable you to work either full or part
time.

Note: Payments made to the State of Hawaii A+
Program qualify for the credit.

To Claim This Credit. Complete Form N-141 and
attach this form to your tax return.

For detailed information, see the instructions for
Form N-141 which begin on page 29.

Line 51
Food/Excise Tax Credit

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are eligible to
be or are being claimed as a dependent by any
taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax purposes.

Each qualifying resident individual taxpayer who
files an individual income tax return Form N-12 for
1994 and who is not claimed or is not otherwise
eligible to be claimed as a dependent by any tax-
payer for federal or Hawaii individual income tax
purposes may claim the food/excise tax credit of a
calculated amount per qualified exemption for
1994.

What is a “Qualified Exemption”?

A qualified exemption meets the following re-
quirements:

- Those personal exemptions permitted under the
Hawaii Income Tax Law (Form N-12, line 6e)
EXCEPT the additional exemptions for deficien-
cies in vision, hearing, or other disabilities;

- Each person for whom this credit is being
claimed MUST have been a resident of Hawalii
and physically present in Hawaii for more than
nine months during the taxable year;

Birth or death of a dependent:

—Should a person who is a qualified exemption
die during 1994, a credit may be claimed for
the deceased person so long as the person
was alive until after September 30, 1994.

—If a child is born during 1994, a credit may be
claimed for the child provided the mother was
physically present in the State while pregnant
with the child and the total aggregate days of
gestation and life after birth total at least nine
months during the taxable year.

In addition, for the purposes of claiming the
food/excise tax credit and the general income tax
credit, @ minor child receiving support from the
Department of Human Services of the State, social
security survivor benefits, and the like, may be
considered a dependent and an exemption of the
parent or guardian for purposes of claiming the
credit only.

This credit is not available to:

- any person convicted of a felony who is confined
in prison for the full taxable year;

- any person, who would otherwise qualify as a
dependent, who is confined in a youth correc-
tional facility for the full taxable year; OR

- any misdemeanant who is confined in jail for the
full taxable year.

Food portion of the tax credit.

This refundable $55 credit is multiplied by the
number of qualified exemptions to which the tax-
payer is entitled regardless of adjusted gross in-
come. For this portion of the tax credit, a qualified
exemption does not include the additional exemp-
tions for taxpayers age 65 or over.

Excise portion of the tax credit.

The excise portion of the tax credit, which is
based upon adjusted gross income, is multiplied by
the number of qualified exemptions to which the
taxpayer is entitled. For this portion of the tax credit,
a qualified exemption also includes the additional
exemption for taxpayers age 65 or over.

A husband and wife filing separate returns for
1994, where a joint return could have been made
by them, shall claim only the tax credit to which they
would have been entitled had a joint return been
filed.

In a case where a married person files a separate
return because his or her spouse is a nonresident,
their combined adjusted gross income must be
used to determine the amount of the tax credit.

Amount of Excise Tax Credit

Read down the column in the table below until you
find the amount of your Adjusted Gross Income.
Then read across the line to the column headed Tax
Credits. Multiply the amount indicated there by the
number of qualified exemptions to which you are
entitled. The resultant amount constitutes the tax
credit.

Adjusted Gross Income Tax
(Form N-12,  Line 32) Credit
Under $ 6,000 $55

$6,000 under 8,000 45
8,000 under 10,000 35
10,000 under 12,000 25
12,000 under 15,000 20
15,000 under 20,000 15
20,000 under 30,000 10
30,000 and over 0

To Claim This Credit. Complete Form N-311 and
attach that form to your return. Enter on line 51(i)
the number of qualified food portion exemptions
from Form N-311, Part Il, line 1. On line 51(ii) enter

the number of qualified excise portion exemptions
from Form N-311, Part Il, line 8. On line 51(iii) enter
the number of qualified exemptions claimed for
minor children receiving support from the Depart-
ment of Human Services, social security survivor's
benefits, etc. from Form N-311, Part I, line 10. If you
file “married filing separately,” enter your spouse’s
adjusted gross income on line 51(iv). Enter the total
amount of the credit claimed on line 51 from Form
N-311, Part Il line 14.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for this
credit, including any amended claims thereof, must
be filed on or before December 31, 1995.

Line 52

Credit for Low-Income
Household Renters

Each resident taxpayer who occupies and pays
rent for real property within the State as his or her
residence and who files an individual income tax
return for the taxable year, including those who have
no income or no income taxable under chapter 235,
HRS, may claim a tax credit of $50 per qualified
exemption, including the additional exemption for
taxpayers age 65 or over, to which he or she is
entitled (See “What is a Qualifed Exemption” on this
page) provided the following three conditions are
met:

- The taxpayer is not eligible to be claimed as a
dependent for federal or State income tax pur-
poses by another taxpayer;

- The taxpayer has adjusted gross income of less
than $30,000; and

- The taxpayer has paid more than $1,000 in rent
during the taxable year.

Note: A minor child receiving support from the

Department of Human Services of the State,

social security survivor benefits, and the like, is

NOT considered a qualified exemption for the

purpose of claiming the credit for low-income

household renters.

A‘residence”is defined as the dwelling place that
constitutes the principal residence of the taxpayer
or his or herimmediate family in this State, and does
not include a temporary dwelling which is used for
vacation, educational, or other temporary pur-
poses.

For purposes of claiming this credit, RENT

means:

- the amount paid in cash for the taxable year for
the occupancy of a dwelling place which is NOT
partially or wholly exempted from real property
tax (e.g., county or State low-income housing
projects, military housing, etc.); and

- the money paid for use of the dwelling only and
does not include ground rent, utilities, goods,
services, and the like.

Rent DOES NOT include:

- any amounts claimed as a deduction from gross
or adjusted gross income for income tax pur-
poses, or

- any amount received as a rental allowance or
rental subsidy from any source.

Resident taxpayer shall be determined under the
provisions of section 235-1, HRS, and any rules
relating to that section.

In the case where a rental unit is occupied by two
or more individuals and more than one individual is
able to qualify for this credit (i.e. more than one
individual occupying the rental unit individually met
all three requirements listed above), each qualifying
individual may claim the credit in the amount of $50
per qualified exemption.
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A husband and wife filing separate returns for a
taxable year for which a joint return could have been
made by them shall claim only the tax credit to which
they would have been entitled had a joint return
been filed.

In a case where a married person files a separate
return because his or her spouse is a nonresident,
combined income must be used as a basis in
determining the amount of low-income household
renter credit.

To Claim This Credit. Use Form N-153 and
attach the form to your return. For detailed informa-
tion to determine this tax credit, see the instructions
on Form N-153.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for this
credit, including any amended claims thereof, must
be filed on or before December 31, 1995.

Line 53

Fuel Tax Credit for
Commercial Fishers

Each principal operator of a commercial fishing
vessel who files an individual income tax return may
claim an income tax credit against their individual
income tax for 1994 for certain fuel taxes paid during
the year. A husband and wife filing separate returns
for 1994 for which a joint return could have been
filed, shall claim only the tax credit to which they
would have been entitled to had a joint return been
filed.

To Claim This Credit. Use Form N-163 and
attach the form to your return.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for this
credit, including any amended claims thereof, must
be filed on or before December 31, 1995.

Line 54

Credit for General Income Tax

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are being
claimed or eligible to be claimed as a dependent by
any taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax pur-
poses.

This is a one-time $1.00 general income tax credit
for qualifying resident taxpayers for the year 1994.
The credit is multiplied by the number of qualified
exemptions to which the taxpayer is entitled, with
the exception of the exemptions for age, regardless
of adjusted gross income (See “What is a Qualifed
Exemption” on page 15). The credit is refundable
regardless of income tax liability for 1994.

Note: Taxpayers who have been residents of

the State for nine months of the taxable year

qualify for this credit even though not physically
residing in the State for the nine-month period.

The credit is not based on adjusted gross in-

come. The credit is figured on a fixed amount of

$1.00 per qualified exemption.

This credit is not available to:

1) any person convicted of a felony who is confined
in prison for the full taxable year;

2) any person, who would otherwise qualify as a
dependent, who is confined in a youth correc-
tional facility for the full taxable year; or

3) any misdemeanant who is confined in jail for the
full taxable year.

To Claim This Credit. There is no special form
to be filed. All you need to do is multiply $1.00 by
the number of your qualified exemptions. Enter the
amount on line 54.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for this
credit, including any amended claims thereof, must
be filed on or before December 31, 1995.
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Line 55

Credit for Child Passenger
Restraint System

Each resident taxpayer who files an individual
income tax return for the taxable year may claim a
tax credit for 1994 for the purchase of one or more
new child passenger restraint systems which can
be shown to be in substantial conformity with speci-
fications for such restraint systems set forth by the
federal motor vehicle safety standards which were
in effect at the time of such purchase.

Note: This credit is $25 per return regardless

of the cost or the number of restraint systems

purchased.

To Claim this Credit. Use Form N-165 and
attach the form with a copy of the sales invoice,
which states the type of child restraint system pur-
chased, to your return.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for the
tax credit, including any amended claims thereof,
must be filed on or before December 31, 1995.

Line 56

Capital Goods Excise Tax
Credit

A four percent credit is available to Hawaii busi-
nesses on the acquisition of qualifying business
property which is purchased and placed in service
in 1994.

To Claim This Credit. Use Form N-312 and
attach the form to your return.

For more information, see the instructions for
Form N-312 and Tax Information Release No.88-6,
Capital Goods Excise Tax Credit, Tax Information
Release No. 88-8, Capital Goods Excise Tax Credit
Recapture, and Tax Information Release No. 89-4,
The Taxpayer Who Is Entitled To The Capital Goods
Excise Tax Credit When the Parties Characterize a
Transaction As A Sale-Leaseback.

Line 57

Medical Services Excise Tax
Credit

Each resident individual taxpayer who files an
individual income tax return for 1994, whether or not
he or she has no income or no income taxable under
Chapter 235, HRS, and who is not claimed or is not
otherwise eligible to be claimed as a dependent by
another taxpayer for Hawaii individual net income
tax purposes, may claim the medical services ex-
cise tax credit for 1994.

The tax credit is four percent of qualified medical
expenses paid by the resident individual during
1994, plus six percent of the nursing facilities ex-
penses paid by the resident individual during 1994.
The portion of the tax credit attributable to medical
expenses claimed on each individual income tax
return shall not exceed:

- $200;

- $400 for a resident individual sixty-five years of
age or over; or

- $600 for a resident individual and spouse both
sixty-five years of age or over.

The preceding limitations shall not apply to the

portion of the credit attributable to nursing facilities

expenses; provided that a husband and wife filing

separate returns for a taxable year for which a joint

return could have been filed by them can claim only

the credit to which they would have been entitled

had a joint return been filed.

The term “qualified medical expenses” is defined
to include those medical expenses paid for the
taxpayer or the taxpayer's dependent allowable as
deductions for income tax purposes under IRC
section 213, provided that the medical expense was
subject to the imposition and payment of the general
excise tax under Chapter 237, HRS. See Examples
of Medical and Dental Payments You CAN Deduct
on page 19.

“Nursing facility expenses” are amounts actually
paid by the taxpayer for services provided to the
taxpayer or to any individual who bears a relation-
ship to the taxpayer as described in IRC section
152(a) by a nursing facility licensed under section
321-9, HRS, and 321-11, HRS, and any intermedi-
ate care facility for mentally retarded persons under
sections 321-9, HRS, and 321-11, HRS, provided
that the nursing facility expense was subject to the
imposition and payment of the nursing facility tax.

Do not reduce the amount of medical expenses
and nursing facility expenses paid during 1994 by
any insurance reimbursements (including medi-
care) made either to you or directly to a medical
services provider.

Examples of qualified medical expenses in-
clude amounts you paid for:

Doctors — Fees Paid to:

Chiropodists Pediatricians

Neurologists Ophthalmologists

Dermatologists Chiropractors

Osteopaths Anesthesiologists

Dentists Podiatrists

Gynecologists Optometrists

Psychiatrists Obstetricians

Psychologists Surgeons
For-profit Institutions:

Hospital

Sanitarium*

Rest Home*

Convalescent Home*

Nursing Home*
*|f availability of medical care is the principal reason
for the individual's being there, the entire cost (in-
cluding meals and lodging) is a medical expense. If
aperson is there for basically non-medical reasons,
only that part of his costs which constitutes medical
care is a medical expense.
Others:
Legal vasectomy or abortion
Acupuncture
Alcoholism:

Payments to a treatment center for alcoholics or
drug addicts (includes meals and lodging pro-
vided by the center during medical treatment)

Ambulance services

Braille books and magazines:
The part of the cost of braille books and maga-
zines for use by a blind or visually handicapped
person that is more than the price for regular
books and magazines.

Car:
The cost of special hand controls and other
special equipment installed in a car for the use
of a handicapped person. Also, the amount by
which the cost of a car specially designed to hold
a wheelchair is more than the cost of a regular
car.

Cosmetic surgery necessary to correct a de-

formity arising from or directly related to:

—a congenital abnormality;

—a personal injury resulting from an accident or
trauma; or

— adisfiguring disease.



Dental treatment:

Includes x-rays, fillings, braces, extractions,

dentures.
Psychiatric care:

Includes the cost of supporting a mentally ill

dependent at a specially equipped medical cen-

ter where the dependent receives medical care.
Electrolysis or hair removal:

Must be performed by a licensed technician.
Eyeglasses and contact lenses
Eye examinations
Hair transplant
Hearing aids, including batteries
Laboratory fees
Legal fees:

Paid to authorize treatment for mental illness.
Medical information plan:

Amounts paid to a plan that keeps your medical

information that can be retrieved from computer

data bank for your medical care.
Mentally retarded, home for:

The cost of keeping a mentally retarded person

in a special home on the recommendation of a

psychiatrist to help the person adjust from life in

a mental hospital to community living.

Nursing services
Operations
Oxygen or oxygen equipment:

When used to relieve breathing problems

caused by a medical condition.
Wigs

Purchased upon the advice of a physician for a

chemotherapy patient.

Cassette books for a visually handicapped per-
son:

The difference in cost between the cassette and

the book.
Psychoanalysis
Sterilization
Therapy
Transplants:

Payments for surgical, hospital, laboratory, and

transportation expenses for a donor or possible

donor of a kidney or other organ.
Transportation:

Includes actual car expenses (e.g. gas, oil).
X-ray fees
Diagnostic fees
Orthopedic shoes
Artificial teeth
Special diet:

When prescribed as an addition to the regular

diet, exclusively for the treatment of an illness.
Special mattress:

When prescribed for the relief of a specific con-

dition (e.g. arthritis).
Air conditioner:

When used for relief of a specific illness or

condition (e.g. allergy).

The above is not an exclusive list of medical
expenses allowed under Internal Revenue Code
section 213.

Qualified medical expenses DO NOT include
the following:

- Capital improvements;
- Prescription drugs defined under section 237-

24(23), HRS;

- Prosthetic devices defined under section 237-

24(23), HRS;

- Amounts paid as premiums for medical insur-
ance coverage;

- Amounts paid to non-profit institutions; and

- Amounts paid for any cosmetic surgery which is
directed at improving the appearance and does
not meaningfully promote the proper function of
the body or prevent or treat illness or disease.

To Claim This Credit. Complete Form N-858 and
attach that form to your return.

Deadline for claiming this credit. Claims for the
tax credit, including any amended claims thereof,
must be filed on or before December 31, 1995.

For more information on the medical services
excise tax credit, see Tax Information Release
No. 90-2, "Medical Services Excise Tax Credit -
Qualified Medical Expenses" and Tax Informa-
tion Release No. 90-5, "Medical Services Excise
Tax Credit - Health Maintenance Organizations
(HMO)".

Line 58
Other Credits

Include on line 58 the sum of amounts allowed for
the credits described below. Prepare a schedule
and attach it to your return to support your credit
claims.

Credit From a Regulated
Investment Company

A shareholder of a regulated investment com-
pany is allowed a credit of 4.0 percent of the amount
of capital gains which by section 852(b)(3)(D) of the
Internal Revenue Code is required to be included in
the shareholder’s return and on which there has
been paid to the State by the regulated investment
company the tax of 4.0 percent.

The regulated investment company will notify you
of the undistributed capital gains amount and the
tax paid, if any.

Credit For Beneficiaries of
Foreign Trusts

Any resident beneficiary of a trust with a situs in
another State may claim a credit for income taxes
paid by the trust to such other State on any income
received which is attributable to assets other than
intangibles.

Credit For Shareholders of S
Corporations

A shareholder of an S corporation shall be con-
sidered to have paid a tax imposed on the share-
holder in an amount equal to the shareholder’s pro
rata share of any net income tax paid by the S
corporation to a state which does not measure the
income of S corporation shareholders by the income
of the S corporation. The term “net income tax”
means any tax imposed on or measured by a
corporation’s net income.

Credit for Taxes Withheld on
the Sale of Hawaii Real
Property Interests

If you as an individual, had taxes withheld on the
sale of Hawaii real property, see the Instructions for
1994 Estimated Tax Payments on page 14.

If the tax was withheld for you through a partner-
ship, estate, trust or S corporation, include ONLY
the amount of your pro rata share of any netincome
taxes paid, for each sale, by the partnership, estate,
trust or S corporation on this line.

Note: If the partnership, estate, trust or S corpo-
ration filed a Form N-288C, “Application for Tenta-
tive Refund of Withholding on Dispositions of Hawaii

Real Property Interests”, during 1994 for the amount
of taxes overwithheld on the sale of Hawaii real
property for which you are claiming this credit, BE
SURE to claim ONLY your pro rata share of the
amount of estimated taxes remaining in the partner-
ship, estate, trust or S corporation account on De-
cember 31, 1994 for that sale.

Line 59

Total

Add lines 46 through 58. Enter the amount on this
line.

Refund or Balance Due

Line 60

Amount Overpaid (If line 59 is
larger than line 45)

Line 59 minus line 45. You can choose to have
all, or part, of this amount refunded to you (line 61).
The remainder, if any, can be applied to your esti-
mated tax for 1995 (line 62). If line 60 is under $1,
we will send you a refund only on written request.

Line 61
Refund

Enter the amount from line 60 that you want
refunded to you.

Line 62
Applied to 1995 Estimated Tax

Line 60 minus line 61. This is the amount that will
be applied to your estimated tax for 1995. Enter this
amount on line 62.

We will apply amounts to your account unless you
attach arequestto apply it to your spouse’s account.
The request should include your spouse’s social
security number and full name.

Line 63

Balance Due (If line 45 is
larger than line 59)

Attach your check or money order for the full
amount when you file. Make it out to “Hawaii State
Tax Collector.” Be sure to write your social security
number and “1994 Form N-12" on it. Please pay in
U.S. dollars. If line 63 is under $1, you do not have
to pay.

Note: If you include penalty and/or interest for the
late filing of your return with your payment, identify
and enter these amounts on a separate sheet of
paper and attach to Form N-12. Do not include the
penalty and/or interest amounts for the late filing of
your return in the Balance Due on line 63 .

Line 64
Estimated Tax Penalty

See the instructions for Penalties and Interest
on page 18 and Form N-210 to see if you owe a
penalty for the underpayment of estimated taxes. If
you owe a penalty, enter the penalty amount on
Form N-12, line 64. Add the penalty amount to any
tax due and enter the total on line 63. If you have
an overpayment, subtract the penalty amount from
the overpayment you show on line 60. However, if
your overpayment is less than the penalty amount,
enter the difference as a balance due on line 63.
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Line 65
1995 Forms

If your Form N-12 is prepared by someone else,
or if you do not need Hawaii income tax forms
mailed to you next year, check the box at line 65,
and you will receive a preprinted label only.

Now continue with
Step 5 below.

Step 5

Check your return to make
sure it Is correct.

Step 6
Sign and date your return.

Form N-12 is not considered a valid return unless

you sign it. Your spouse must also sign if it is a joint
return.

Step 7

Did you have someone else

prepare your return?

If you fill in your own return, the Paid Preparer’s
space should remain blank. If someone prepares
your return and does not charge you that person
should not sign your return.

Generally, anyone who is paid to prepare your tax
return must sign your return and fill in the other
blanks in the Paid Preparer's Information area of
your return.

If you have questions about whether a preparer
is required to sign your return, please contact your
taxation district office.

The preparer required to sign your return MUST
complete the required preparer information and:

- Sign it, by hand, in the space provided for the
preparer’s signature. (Signature stamps or la-
bels are not acceptable.)

- Give you a copy of your return in addition to the
copy to be filed with your taxation district office.

Step 8

Attachments

Attach a copy of your Form(s) HW-2 and N-2, or
federal Form W-2, to the front of Form N-12 in the
area designated. Attach schedules in alphabetical
order and other forms in numerical order to the back
of Form N-12.

If you need more space on forms or schedules,
attach separate sheets and use the same arrange-
ment as the printed forms. But show your totals on
the printed forms. Please use sheets that are the
same size as the forms and schedules. Be sure to
put your name and social security number on these
separate sheets.

If you owe tax, be sure to attach your payment to
the front of Form N-12.

Reminders
Refund Processing

In general, refunds due to you are issued within
8 weeks from the date your return is filed with the
Department of Taxation. However, it may take ad-
ditional time if you filed your return close to the April
20 filing deadline, if errors were made in completing
your return, or you moved and did not change your
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address in writing with the district tax office with
which you filed your return.

Please do not contact the Department regarding
the status of your refund until at least 8 weeks have
passed from the date your return was filed with the
Department.

Penalties and Interest

Late Filing of Return. The law provides a penalty
of 5% of the tax due for each month, or part of a
month, the return is late (maximum 25%) unless you
can show reasonable cause for the delay. If you file
areturn late, attach a full explanation to your return.

Interest. Interest will be charged on taxes not paid
by their due date, even if an extension of time to file
is granted. The interest rate for not paying tax when
due is 2/3 of 1% of the unpaid amount for each
month or part of a month it remains unpaid.

Failure to pay tax after filing timely returns. If
a return is timely filed and the tax due is not com-
pletely paid within 60 days of the due date of the
return, an amount up to 20% of the unpaid tax will
be added to the tax due.

Underpayment of estimated taxes. Starting
with taxable years beginning after December 31,
1992, the Department will be imposing the penalty
for the underpayment of estimated tax as provided
in section 235-97(f), HRS. If applicable, this penalty
shall be added to the tax for the taxable year in an
amount determined at the rate of eight percent (8%)
a year upon the amount of the underpayment for
the period of the underpayment. The amount of the
underpayment is the excess of the required install-
ment, over the amount, if any, of the installment paid
on or before the due date for the installment. The
period of the underpayment shall run from the due
date for the installment to whichever of the following
dates is the earlier (1) the 20th day of the 4th month
following the close of the taxable year (the due date
of the income tax return withhout extension), or (2)
with respect to any portion of the underpayment, the
date on which the portion is paid. A payment of
estimated tax on any installment date shall be cred-
ited against unpaid required installments in the
order in which the installments are required to be
paid.

Generally, if at least: (1) 90% (66 2/3% for farmers
and fishermen) of the 1994 tax liability; (2) 100% of
the tax shown on the 1993 return (110% of that
amount if the individual's adjusted gross income on
that return is more than $150,000, and less than 2/3
of gross income for 1993 or 1994 is from farming or
fishing); or (3) 90% of the tax figured by annualizing
the taxable income, whichever is smallest, is not
prepaid, a penalty for not paying enough estimated
tax may be charged. For more information, see
Form N-210.

Change of Address

If your mailing address changes after you file your
return, you must notify the Department in writing of
the change in addition to notifying the post office
serving your former address. Failure to do so may
prevent any refund due to you from being delivered
(the postal service is not permitted to forward your
State refund check), and delay important notices or
correspondence to you regarding your return. Be
sure to include your name(s) and social security
number(s) as printed on your return in any corre-
spondence with the Department.

How Long Should Records Be
Kept?

Keep records of income, deductions, and credits
shown on your tax return until the statute of limita-
tions runs out for that return. Usually this is three
years from the date the return was due or filed, or

three years from the date the tax was paid, which-
ever is later. Also keep copies of your filed tax
returns as part of your records. You should keep
some records longer. For example, property re-
cords (including those on your own home) should
be kept as long as they are needed to figure the
basis of the original or replacement property.

Amended Return

If you file your income tax return and later become
aware of any changes you must make to income,
deductions, or credits, file Form N-188X, Amended
Individual Income Tax Return, to change the Form
N-12, Form N-13, Form N-13EZ, or Form N-15 you
already filed.

Change in Federal Taxable

Income
In general, a change to your federal return,

whetheritis made by you or by the Internal Revenue

Service, must be reported to the State of Hawaii.

(1) Section 235-101(b), HRS, requires a report to
the Director of Taxation if the amount of IRC
taxable income is changed, corrected, adjusted
or recomputed as stated in (3).

(2) This report must be made:

(a) Within 90 days after a change, correction,
adjustment or recomputation is finally deter-
mined.

(b) Within 90 days after an amended return is
filed.

(3) Areport within the time set out in (2) is required
if:

(a) The amount of taxable income as returned
to the United States is changed, corrected, or
adjusted by an officer of the United States or
other competent authority.

(b) A change in taxable income results from a
renegotiation of a contract with the United
States or a subcontract thereunder.

(c) A recomputation of the income tax imposed
by the United States under the Internal Reve-
nue Code results from any cause.

(d) An amended income tax return is made to
the United States.

(4) The statutory period for the assessment of any
deficiency or the determination of any refund
attributable to the report shall not expire before
the expiration of one year from the date the
Department is notified by the taxpayer or the
Internal Revenue Service, whichever is earlier,
of such areport in writing. Before the expiration
of this one-year period, the Department and the
taxpayer may agree in writing to the extension
of this period. The period so agreed upon may
be further extended by subsequent agreements
in writing made before the expiration of the
period previously agreed upon.

Instructions for
Schedule A —
ltemized Deductions

Note: People with higher incomes may not be
able to deduct all of their itemized deductions.
If the amount on Form N-12, line 32, is more
than $100,000 ($50,000 if married filing sepa-
rately), complete Schedule A, then use the
worksheet for Total Itemized Deductions on
page 12, to figure the amount you may deduct.

Purpose

Some taxpayers must itemize their deductions
and some should itemize because they will save




money. See You MUST Itemize Deductions and
You Choose to Itemize on page 12.

If you itemize, you can deduct part of your medical
and dental expenses, and amounts you paid for
certain taxes, interest, contributions, casualty and
theft losses, and other miscellaneous expenses.
These are explained on the pages that follow.
Part-year Residents

A part-year resident may deduct in full any allow-
able deduction attributable to the period he or she
was a Hawaii resident. Deductions attributable to
the period of nonresidency are not allowed if the
income can be tied to a specific investment, prop-
erty, or activity carried on outside of the State and
not reportable by the taxpayer for Hawaii purposes.

Deductions attributable to the period of nonresi-
dency and connected to income arising from a
specific investment, property, or activity with situs in
Hawaii, are deductible in full if the income is report-
able by the taxpayer for Hawaii purposes.

A deduction which cannot be accurately attributed
to either period of residency or nonresidency is
allowed to the extent of the ratio of the total ad-
justed gross income attributable to Hawaii dur-
ing the entire year to the total adjusted gross
income attributable to worldwide sources during
the entire year.

Lines 1 through 4

Medical and Dental Expenses
Before you can figure your total deduction for

medical and dental expenses, you must complete

your Form N-12 through line 32.

Only that part of your medical and dental ex-
penses that is more than 7.5% of your adjusted
gross income on Form N-12, line 32, is deductible.

Lines 1 through 4 of Schedule A explain how to
deduct your medical and dental expenses. When
you figure them, you can include medical and dental
bills you paid for:

- Yourself;

- Your spouse;

- All dependents you list on your return;

- Your child whom you do not claim as a depend-
ent because of the rules explained on page 8
for Children of Divorced or Separated Parents;
and

- Any person that you could have listed as a
dependent on your return if that person had not
received $2,450 or more of gross income or had
not filed a joint return.

Example — You gave more than half of your
mother’s support but cannot list her as a dependent
because she received $2,450 of wages during
1994. If part of your support was the payment of her
medical bills, you can include that part in your
medical expenses.

You should include all amounts you paid during
1994, but do not include amounts repaid to you, or
paid to anyone else, by hospital, health or accident
insurance, or your employer.

Examples of Medical and
Dental Payments You CAN
Deduct

To the extent you were not reimbursed, you can
deduct what you paid for:

- Hospital, medical, dental, and extra Medicare
(Medicare B) insurance.

- Prescription drugs and insulin.

- Medical doctors, dentists, eye doctors, gyne-
cologists, chiropractors, osteopaths, podia-

trists, psychiatrists, psychologists, physical
therapists, acupuncturists, and psychoanalysts
(medical care only).

- Medical examinations, X-ray and laboratory
services, insulin treatment, and whirlpool baths
the doctor ordered.

- Nursing help. If you pay someone to do both
nursing and housework, you can deduct only the
cost of nursing help.

- Hospital care (including meals and lodging),
clinic costs, lab fees.

- Medical treatment at a center for drug addicts
or alcoholics.

- Medical aids such as hearing aids (and batter-
ies), false teeth, eyeglasses, contact lenses,
braces, orthopedic shoes, crutches, wheel-
chairs, guide dogs and the cost of maintaining
the dogs.

- Ambulance service and other travel costs to get
medical care. If you used your own car, you can
claim what you spent for gas and oil to go to and
from the place you received medical care; or you
can claim 9 cents a mile. Add parking and tolls
to the amount you claim under either method.

- Cosmetic surgery or procedure that is neces-
sary to correct a deformity arising from, or di-
rectly related to:

— A congenital abnormality;

—a personal injury resulting from an accident or
trauma,; or

—a disfiguring disease.

Examples of Medical and
Dental Payments You
CANNOT Deduct

You cannot deduct the following:

- The basic cost of Medicare Insurance (Medicare

A).
Note: If you are 65 or over and are not entitled
to social security benefits, you may deduct pre-
miums you voluntarily paid for Medicare A cov-
erage.

- Life insurance or income protection policies.

- The 1.45% hospital insurance benefits tax with-
held from your pay as part of the social security
tax or paid as part of social security self-employ-
ment tax.

- Nursing care for a healthy baby. (You may
qualify for the child care credit; see Form N-
141))

- lllegal operations or drugs.

- Nonprescription medicines or drugs.

- Travel your doctor told you to take for rest or
change.

- Funeral, burial, or cremation costs.

- Amounts paid for cosmetic surgery which is
directed at improving the appearance and does
not meaningfully promote the proper function of
the body or prevent or treat illness or disease.
Note: If expenses for cosmetic surgery are NOT
deductible as medical expenses, then amounts
paid for insurance coverage for such expenses
are NOT deductible AND reimbursements for
such expense are not excludible from the gross
income of the individual if under a health plan
provided by the employer.

Lines 5 through 8

Taxes
Taxes You CAN Deduct

- State and local income taxes (line 5).

Include on this line state and local income taxes
that were withheld from your salary and any esti-
mated tax payments made in 1994, including pay-
ments for a prior year. Also include any part of a
prior year refund of state or local income taxes that
you chose to have credited to your 1994 estimated
state or local income taxes, and the NET amount of
taxes withheld from the sale of Hawaii real property
interests.

If you received a refund of (or credit for) prior year
taxes in 1994, see the instructions for Form N-12,
line 10, on page 9. Do not reduce your itemized
deductions by this amount.

For more information about the treatment of taxes
withheld from the sale of real property interests,
contact your district tax office.

- Real estate taxes (line 6).

Include taxes that you paid on property you own
that was not used for business.

If you pay your real estate taxes as part of your
mortgage payments, do not take a deduction for that
amount. Deduct the taxes in the year the mortgage
company actually paid them to the taxing authority.
- Other (line 7).

If you had any deductible tax not listed on Sched-
ule A, lines 5 or 6 (such as personal property taxes
or foreign income taxes), describe the tax and show
the amount on line 7.

Taxes You CANNOT Deduct

Federal income tax.

- Social security tax (FICA).

- Medicare tax.

- Railroad retirement tax (RRTA).

- Federal excise tax on personal property, trans-
portation, telephone, and gasoline.

- Customs duties.

- Federal estate and gift taxes. (However, see

Miscellaneous Deductions on page 21.)

- Certain state and local taxes, including:

a. General sales taxes.

b. Tax on gasoline.

c. Car inspection fees.

d. Tax on liquor, beer, wine, cigarettes, and
tobacco.

e. Assessments for sidewalks or other improve-
ments to your property.

f. Taxes paid for your business or profession.
(Use Schedule C, E, or F of Form N-12 to
deduct these business taxes.)

g. Tax you paid for someone else.

h. License fees. (Marriage, driver's, dog, hunt-
ing, auto, etc.)

i. Inheritance tax.

j- Taxes paid to other states on pension income.
Various states tax nonresidents who derive
pension income from their state. The af-
fected Hawaii residents are required to file
nonresident tax returns to report the pension
income and pay the tax to these states. Since
Hawaii does not tax pension and similar state
retirement income, taxes paid to these states
are not allowed as a deduction.

Lines 9athrough 12

Interest Expense

You should show on Schedule A interest on
non-business items only. Except for certain mort-
gage interest, the amount of your personal interest
expense is not allowed as an itemized deduction on
Schedule A.
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Home Mortgage Interest. — In most cases, you
will be able to deduct all of your home mortgage
interest. The following rules apply to any loans
secured by your main home, including first and
second mortgages, home equity loans and refi-
nanced mortgages. Whether your home mortgage
interest is deductible depends on the date you took
out the mortgage, the amount of the mortgage and
your use of its proceeds.

If ALL of your mortgages fit into one or more of
categories a., b., and c. below, you can deduct all
of the interest on those mortgages and report it on
Schedule A, line 9a or 9b, whichever applies. If one
or more of your mortgages does not fit into any of
the categories below, get federal Publication 936,
Limits on Home Mortgage Interest Deduction, to
figure the amount of interest you can deduct.

a. Mortgages you took out on your main home
ON or BEFORE October 13, 1987. These mort-
gages also include line-of-credit mortgages you had
on October 13, 1987, and mortgages you had on
October 13, 1987, that you refinanced after that
date. But see Special Rules if you refinanced or
borrowed additional amounts on a line-of-credit
mortgage after October 13, 1987.

b. Mortgages you took out on your main home
AFTER October 13, 1987, to buy, build, or im-
prove your home, but only if these mortgages plus
any mortgages in a. above totaled $1 million or less
throughout 1994. The limit is $500,000 or less if
married filing separately.

c. Mortgages you took out AFTER October 13,
1987, on your main home, OTHER THAN to buy,
build, or improve your home, but only if these
mortgages totaled $100,000 or less throughout
1994. The limit is $50,000 or less if married filing
separately.

An example of a mortgage used for purposes
other than to buy, build, or improve your home is a
home equity loan you used to pay off credit card
bills, to buy a car, or to pay tuition costs.

Special Rules

Refinanced Mortgages. — If you had a mort-
gage on your home on October 13, 1987, and
refinanced it after that date for no more than the
balance of the existing mortgage, all of the new
mortgage is treated as a mortgage described in a.
above. But, if you refinanced it for more than the
balance of the existing mortgage, only the part of
the new mortgage equal to the amount you owed
on the mortgage at the time you refinanced is
treated as a mortgage described in a. The part of
the new mortgage that is more than the balance of
the existing mortgage is a mortgage described in b.
orc. (orb. and c. if amixed-use mortgage — see
below).

Line-of-Credit Mortgages. — If you had a line-
of-credit mortgage on your home on October 13,
1987, and you borrowed additional amounts on this
line of credit after that date, the additional amounts
borrowed are treated as a mortgage taken out after
October 13, 1987, and are subject to the rules under
b. or c. (or b. and c. if a mixed-use mortgage —
see below).

Mixed-Use Mortgages. — If you took out a new
mortgage after October 13, 1987, (including refi-
nancing for more than what you owe or borrowing
additional amounts on a line-of-credit mortgage you
had on October 13, 1987), for purposes described
in both b. and c. above, you have a mixed-use
mortgage. The mortgage proceeds used to buy,
build, or improve the home fit into category b. and
the rest of the proceeds fit into category c.

Example. You took out a mortgage on your home
for $200,000 in 1980. You file as single for 1994. In
March 1994, when the home had a fair market value
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of $400,000, and you owed $195,000 on the mort-

gage, you took out a home equity loan for $120,000.

In 1994, you used $90,000 of the home equity loan

proceeds for home improvements, and $30,000 for

other purposes. You can deduct all of the interest
on both mortgages. The first mortgage qualifies

because it was taken out on or before October 13,

1987. The home equity loan qualifies under the

dollar limits in b. and c. The part of the mortgage

subject to the dollar limitin b. ($90,000) plus the first
mortgage of $195,000 totaled less than $1 million.

The part of the mortgage subject to the dollar limit

in c. ($30,000) was less than $100,000.

Note: Additional limits apply if the total amount

of all mortgages exceeds the fair market value

of the home. See federal Publication 936.

What is a Home. — A home may be a house,
condominium, cooperative, mobile home, boat, or
similar property. It must provide basic living accom-
modations including sleeping space, a toilet, and
cooking facilities.

More Than One Home. — If you had a main
home and a second home, the dollar limits ex-
plained in b. and c. above apply to the total mort-
gages on both homes.

Investment interest deduction. — Investment
interest is interest paid on money you borrowed that
is allocable to property held for investment. It does
notinclude any interest allocable to a passive activ-
ity.

Complete and attach Form N-158, Investment
Interest Expense Deduction, to figure your deduc-
tion.

Exception. You do not have to file Form N-158 if
ALL of the following apply:

- Your only investment income was from interest

or dividends,

- You have no other deductible expenses con-
nected with the production of the interest or
dividends,

- Your investment interest expense is not more
than your investment income,

- You have no carryovers of investment interest
expense from 1993, and

- You have no passive activity losses.

For more details, get federal Publication 550,
Investment Income and Expenses.

Interest Expense You
CANNOT Deduct

Do not include the interest you paid for —

- Personal Interest.

- Indebtedness of another person, when you are
not legally liable for payment of the interest.

- A gambling debt or other nonenforceable obli-
gation.

- A life insurance loan, if interest is added to the
loan and you report on the cash basis.

- Money you borrowed to buy tax-exempt securi-
ties or single-premium life insurance.

- Any kind of business transaction. Use Schedule
C, E, or F to report business interest expenses.
See the instructions for federal Form 1040,

Schedule A—Interest Expense for more informa-

tion.

Lines 13 through 16
Gifts to Charity

You can deduct what you gave to organizations
that are religious, charitable, educational, scientific,
or literary in purpose. You can also deduct what you
gave to organizations that work to prevent cruelty to
children or animals.

Examples of these
organlzatlons are:

Churches, temples, synagogues, Salvation
Army, Red Cross, CARE, Goodwill Industries,
United Way, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Boys Club
of America, etc.

- Fraternal orders, if the gifts will be used for the
purposes listed above.

- Veterans’ and certain cultural groups.

- Nonprofit schools, hospitals, and organizations
whose purpose is to find a cure for or help
people who have arthritis, asthma, birth defects,
cancer, cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, diabetes,
heart disease, hemophilia, mental illness or re-
tardation, multiple sclerosis, muscular dystro-
phy, tuberculosis, etc.

- Federal, State, and local governments if the gifts
are solely for public purposes.

If you contributed to a charitable organization and
also received a benefit from it, you can deduct only
the amount that is more than the benefit you re-
ceived.

If you do not know whether you can deduct what
you gave to an organization, check with that organi-
zation or with your taxation district office.

Contributions You CAN Deduct

Contributions can be cash (including checks and
money orders), property, or out-of-pocket expenses
you paid to do volunteer work for the kinds of
organizations described above. If you drive to and
from the volunteer work, you can take 12 cents a
mile or the actual cost of gas and oil. Add parking
and tolls to the amount you claim under either
method. (But don't deduct any amounts that were
repaid to you.)

Note: For contributions made on or after January
1, 1994, charitable contributions of $250 or more
must be substantiated by a written acknow-
ledgement from the donee organization to be de-
ductible.

Line 13. —Enter the total contributions you made
in cash or by check (including out-of-pocket ex-
penses).

Line 14. — If you gave property, state the kind of
property you gave and the name of the organization
you gave it to. Include the date you gave it, show
how you figured its value at the time you gave it, and
state whether it was capital gain or ordinary income
property. If you determine the value of a gift by an
appraisal, attach a signed copy of it. For gifts valued
at over $500, also attach a statement showing:

a. The address of the organization.

b. A description of the property.

c. Any condition attached to the gift.

d. How you got the property.

e. The cost or other basis of the property if:

1. You owned it less than five years, or

2. You must reduce it by any ordinary income

or capital gain that would have resulted if the
property had been sold at its fair market
value.

f. How you figured your deduction if you choose to
reduce your deduction for contributions of capi-
tal gain property.

g. If the gift was a “qualified conservation contribu-
tion” under IRC section 170(h), also include the
fair market value of the underlying property
before and after the gift, the type of legal inter-
est donated, and describe the conservation
purpose furthered by the gift. Federal Form
8283 may be used for this purpose.



Ifyou donate property to an organization for which
you claim a deduction of over $5,000 ($10,000 for
stock except publicly traded stock) for a single item
(plus all similar items donated to one or more or-
ganizations), you must attach an appraisal of the
donated property’s fair market value to your return.
The appraisal must be obtained from a qualified
independent appraiser.

If you gave used items, such as clothing or furni-
ture, deduct their fair market value at the time you
gave them. Fair market value is what a willing buyer
would pay a willing seller when neither has to buy
or sell and both are aware of the conditions of the
sale.

Special rules apply if your contributions are more
than 20% of Form N-12, line 32. If you gave gifts of
property that increased in value, made bargain
sales to charity, or gave gifts of the use of property,
other rules apply. See federal Publication 526 for
more information.

Contributions You CANNOT
Deduct

- Political contributions (but see instructions for
Miscellaneous Deductions, lines 18 through
25).

- Dues, fees, or bills paid to country clubs, lodges,
fraternal orders, or similar groups.

- Cost of raffle, bingo, or lottery tickets.

- Tuition to a private school.

- The value of your time or services.

- Value of blood given to a blood bank.

- The transfer of a future interest in tangible per-
sonal property (generally until the entire interest
has been transferred).

- Gifts to:

a. Individuals.

b. Foreign organizations.

c. Groups that are run for personal profit.

d. Groups whose purpose is to lobby for
changes in the law.

e. Civic leagues, social and sports clubs, labor
unions, and chambers of commerce.

Line 17

Casualty and Theft Losses

Use line 17 to report casualty or theft loss(es) of
property that is not trade, business, or rent or royalty
property. Complete Form N-184, Casualties and
Thefts, to figure your loss. Enter on line 17 of
Schedule A the amount of loss from Form N-184.
Attach Form N-184.

Losses You CAN Deduct

You may be able to deduct all or part of each loss
caused by theft, vandalism, fire, storm, and car,
boat, and other accidents or similar causes.

If you have a nonbusiness casualty loss that is
covered by insurance, you cannot take the casualty
loss deduction unless you file a timely insurance
claim for that loss. You can deduct nonbusiness
casualty or theft losses only to the extent that:

a. The amount of EACH separate casualty or theft
loss is more than $100, and

b. The total amount of ALL losses during the year
is more than 10% of your adjusted gross income

on Form N-12, line 32.

Losses You CANNOT Deduct

- Money or property misplaced or lost.

- Breakage of china, glassware, furniture, and
similar items under normal conditions.

- Progressive damage to property (buildings,
clothes, trees, etc.) caused by termites, moths,
other insects, or disease.

Use line 19 of Schedule A to deduct the costs of
proving that you had a property loss. Examples of
these costs are appraisal fees and photographs
used to establish the amount of your loss.

Lines 18 through 25
Miscellaneous Deductions

Most miscellaneous deductions cannot be de-
ducted in full. You must subtract 2% of your ad-
justed gross income from the total. You figure the
2% limit on line 21.

Generally, the 2% limit applies to job expenses
you paid for which you were not reimbursed (line
18). The limit also applies to certain expenses you
paid to produce or collect taxable income (line 19).
See the instructions for lines 18 and 19 for examples
of expenses to claim on these lines.

The 2% limit does not apply to certain other
miscellaneous expenses that you may deduct.
These expenses can be deducted in full on lines 23
and 24. Moving expenses incurred before 1994 can
be deducted on line 23 and gambling losses (to the
extent of winnings) and certain job expenses of
handicapped employees can be deducted on line
24. See federal Publication 529, Miscellaneous
Deductions, for more information.

Expenses Subject to the 2%
Limit (Lines 18 and 19)

Line 18. — Use this line to report job expenses
you paid for which you were not reimbursed. In
some cases, you must first fill out Form N-106,
Employee Business Expenses. Fill out Form N-106
if:

1. You claim any travel, transportation, meal, or
entertainment expenses for your job; or

2. Your employer paid you for any of your job
expenses reportable on line 18.

If 1 or 2 above applies, enter the amount from line
11 of Form N-106 on line 18 of Schedule A.

If you don't have to fill out Form N-1086, just list the
type and amount of your expenses on the dotted
line for line 18. If you need more space, attach a
statement showing the type and amount of the
expense. Enter one total in the amount space for
line 18.

Examples of expenses to include on line 18 are:
- Travel, transportation, meal, or entertainment

expense. (Note: If you have any of these ex-

penses, you must use Form N-106 for all of your
job expenses).

- Union dues.

- Safety equipment, small tools, and supplies you
needed for your job.

- Uniforms your employer said you must have,
and which you may not usually wear away from
work.

- Protective clothing, required in your work, such
as hard hats and safety shoes and glasses.

- Physical examinations your employer said you
must have.

- Dues to professional organizations and cham-
bers of commerce.

- Subscriptions to professional journals.

- Fees to employment agencies and other costs
to look for a new job in your present occupation,
even if you do not get a new job.

- Business use of part of your home but only if you
use that part exclusively and on a regular basis
in your work and for the convenience of your

employer. For details, including limits that ap-
ply, see federal Publication 587, Business Use
of Your Home.

- Education expenses you paid that were re-
quired by your employer, or by law or regula-
tions, to keep your salary or job. In general, you
may also include the cost of keeping or improv-
ing skills you must have in your job. For more
details, see federal Publication 508, Educa-
tional Expenses. Some education expenses
are not deductible. See Expenses You MAY
NOT Deduct on page 22.

- Deduction for repayment of amounts under a
claim of right if $3,000 or less. See Repayments
in federal Publication 525, Taxable and Nontax-
able Income, for more information.

Line 19. — Use this line for amounts you paid to
produce or collect taxable income, manage or pro-
tect property held for earning income, and for tax
preparation fees. List the type and amount of each
expense on the dotted lines for line 19. If you need
more space, attach a statement showing the type
and amount of each expense. Enter one total in the
amount space for line 19. Examples of these
expenses are:

- Tax return preparation fee.

- Safe deposit box rental.

- Certain legal and accounting fees.

- Clerical help and office rent.

- Custodial (e.g. trust account) fees.

- Your share of the investment expenses of a
regulated investment company.

- Certain losses on nonfederally insured deposits
in an insolvent or bankrupt financial institution.

- Deduction for the cost of any qualified clean-fuel
vehicle property and any qualified clean-fuel
vehicle refueling property placed in service after
June 30, 1993.

For more information (including limits on the
amount you can deduct), see federal Publication
529.

Expenses NOT Subject
to the 2% Limit
(Lines 23 and 24)

Use these lines to report miscellaneous deduc-
tions that are not subject to the 2% AGI limit.
Although these expenses are not subject to the 2%
limit, these expenses are subject to the 3% limitation
on itemized deductions for taxpayers with AGI of
more than $100,000 ($50,000 if married filing sepa-
rately).

Line 23. — Use this line to report moving ex-
penses incurred before 1994, but reimbursed by
your employer in 1994.

Line 24. — Only the expenses listed below can
be deducted on line 24:

- Contributions to candidates for public office.
You may deduct political contributions not in
excess of $100 in the year (up to $200 on a joint
return) to a central or county committee of a
political party whose candidate shall have quali-
fied by law to be voted for at the immediately
previous general election. In addition, you may
deduct contributions to candidates who have
agreed to abide by the campaign expenditure
limits set by law. The contribution is deductible
in an aggregate amount not to exceed $500 in
any year (up to $1,000 on a joint return); how-
ever, not more than $100 ($200 on ajoint return)
of the total contribution to any single candidate
shall be deductible.
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- Gambling losses to the extent of gambling win-
nings. Report gambling winnings on Form N-
12, line 20.

- Federal estate tax on income in respect of a
decedent.

- Amortizable bond premium on bonds acquired
before October 23, 1986.

- Deduction for repayment of amounts under a
claim of right if more than $3,000. See federal
Publication 525.

- Impairment-related work expenses of a handi-
capped person.

List the type and amount of each expense. Enter
one total in the amount space for line 24. For more
information on these expenses, get federal Publica-
tion 529.

Expenses You MAY NOT
Deduct

Some expenses are not deductible at all. Exam-
ples are:

Political contributions (except certain contribu-
tions to candidates for public office as noted
above).

- Personal legal expenses.

- Lost or misplaced cash or property (but see
casualty and theft losses).

- Expenses for meals during regular or extra work
hours.

- The cost of entertaining friends.
- Expenses of going to or from work.

- Education that you need to meet minimum re-
quirements for your job or that will qualify you
for a new occupation.

- Expenses of:
a. Travel as a form of education.

b. Attending a seminar, convention, or similar
meeting unless it is related to your employ-
ment.

c¢. Adopting a child, including a child with special
needs.

- Fines and penalties.
- Expenses of producing tax-exempt income.

Instructions for
Schedule B —
Interest and
Dividend Income

Purpose

Use Schedule B to list interest and dividend in-
come. You must use Schedule B if you are filing
Form N-12 and:

- Had more than $400 in interest, or
- Had more than $400 in dividends.

Please follow the instructions.

Note: You must report all taxable interest and

dividends on Form N-12, even if you are not

required to complete Schedule B.

Part |

Interest Income

To see whatinterestincome you must report, read
the instructions for Form N-12, line 8 on page 9.

The payer will usually send you a federal Form
1099-INT or similar statement showing interest you
must report. If the total taxable interest from all
payers is over $400, fill in Part | of this schedule.
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Line 1

Report on line 1 the interest portion of any pay-
ments you received from an individual, based on a
take-back mortgage or other form of seller financing
that resulted from the sale of your home or other
property. Show the payer’'s name and the amount.

Line 2

Report on line 2 ALL interest that you received or
that was credited to your account so you could
withdraw it. List each payer's name and show the
amount.

Nominee and Accrued Interest and Tax-Ex-
empt Interest. When you buy bonds between inter-
est payment dates and pay accrued interest to the
seller, this interest is taxable to the seller.

Note: If you received interest as a nominee for
the actual owner, give that person a federal
Form 1099-INT.

Include on line 2 interest you received as a nomi-
nee in your name for someone else or as a pur-
chaser of a bond with accrued interest. If you re-
ceived a federal Form 1099-INT for tax-exempt
interest, such as from municipal bonds, also include
this interest on line 2. Several lines above line 3, put
a subtotal of all interest income listed on line 2.
Below this subtotal, write “Nominee Distribution” or
“Accrued Interest” as appropriate and show the
interest amounts you paid to others. If you received
a federal Form 1099-INT for tax-exempt interest,
write “Tax-Exempt Interest” on the line below the
subtotal and show the amount of this interest. Sub-
tract these amounts from the subtotal and write the
result plus the amount from line 1 on line 3.

If you are reporting Original Issue Discount (OID)
in an amount less than the amount shown on federal
Form 1099-OID, follow the above rules for nominee
interest to see how to report the OID on Schedule
B

Line 3
Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the total on line 3 and on
Form N-12, line 8.

Part Il

Dividend Income

To see what dividend income you must report,
read the instructions for Form N-12, line 9 on page
9.

The payer will usually send you a federal Form
1099-DIV or similar statement showing dividends
you must report. If the total dividends are over $400,
fill in Part Il of this schedule.

Line 4

Report all of your dividend income, including capi-
tal gain distributions, nontaxable distributions, etc.,
on this line. Include cash and the value of stock,
property, or merchandise you received as a divi-
dend.

List the names of each payer. If the securities are
held in a brokerage account, list the name of the
brokerage firm as the payer. Next to each name,
show the amount of income. Be sure to include
capital gain and nontaxable distributions on this line.
They will be deducted on lines 6 and 7.

Nominees. List on line 4 all dividends you re-
ceived, including dividends you received as a nomi-
nee, even if you later distributed some or all of this
income to others. Several lines above line 5, enter
asubtotal of all dividend income. Below this subtotal
write “Nominee Distribution” and enter the amounts

distributed. Subtract these distributions from the
subtotal and enter the result on line 5.
Note: If you received dividends as a nominee
for the actual owner, give that person a federal
Form 1099-DIV.

Line 5

Add the amounts you listed on line 4 except as
noted above in Nominees. Enter the total on this
line.

Line 6

If you listed any capital gain distributions on line
4, add those amounts. Enter the total on this line.

Line 7

Enter the total of your nontaxable distributions on
this line.

Line 8

Add lines 6 and 7. Enter the total on this line.

Line 9

Line 5 minus line 8. Enter the result on line 9 and
on Form N-12, line 9.

Instructions for
Schedule C —

Profit or (Loss) From
Business or Profession

Note: In place of Hawaii's Schedule C, you may
use a copy of your federal Schedule C or federal
Schedule C-EZ with the addition of your Hawaii
General Excise ID Number.

Purpose

If you operated a business or practiced a profes-
sion as a sole proprietorship, complete Schedule C.
If you had more than one business, or if you and
your spouse had separate businesses, you must
complete a Schedule C for each business. Farmers
should use Schedule F.

For expenses that are part business and part
personal, deduct only the business part. For exam-
ple, if only half of your car usage was for business,
deduct only half of the cost of operating the car.

Deduct interest, taxes, and casualty losses not
related to your business as itemized deductions on
Schedule A.

Report sales, exchanges, and involuntary conver-
sions (other than casualty or theft) of trade or busi-
ness property on Schedule D-1, Sales of Business
Property.

Use Form N-184, Casualties and Thefts, to report
a casualty or theft involving trade or business, or
income-producing property.

Information Returns

You may have to file information returns for wages
paid to employees, certain payments of fees and
other non-employee compensation, interest, rents,
royalties, annuities, and pensions. For more infor-
mation, see instructions for Form HW-3, Employer’s
Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax
Withheld from Wages, and N-196, Hawaii Annual
Information Return.




Item A

Main Business Activity and
Product

Report the business activity that accounted for the
most income included in Schedule C, Part |, line 1.
Give the general field as well as the product or
service. For example, “wholesale - groceries” or
“retail - hardware.”

ltem C

Hawaii G.E./Use Tax
Identification Number

Enter your Hawaii General Excise/Use Tax Iden-
tification Number.

Item D

Business Address

Use your home address only if you actually con-
ducted the business from your home. You should
show a street address instead of a box number.

Iltem E
Accounting Method

You must use the cash method on your return
unless you kept account books. If you kept such
books, you can use the cash method, accrual
method, or in some cases, the completed contract
or percentage of completion method. The method
used must clearly reflect your income.

If you want to change your accounting method
(including the treatment of any item such as inven-
tories or bad debts), you must usually first get the
permission of the Income Tax Assessor.

If you use the cash method, show all items of
taxable income actually or constructively received
during the year (in cash, property, or services). Also
show amounts actually paid during the year for
deductible expenses. Income is constructively re-
ceived when it is credited to your account or set
aside for you to use.

If you use the accrual method, report income
when you earn it and deduct expenses when you
incur them, even if you do not pay them during the
tax year.

Item F

Valuation Methods
Your inventories can be valued at:
- cost
- cost or market value, whichever is lower, or

- any other method approved by the Income Tax
Assessor.

ltem |
Material Participation

For purposes of the passive activity rules, you
materially participated in the operation of this trade
or business activity during 1994 if you meet any of
the following tests:

1. You participated in the activity for more than 500
hours during the tax year.

2. Your participation in the activity for the tax year
was substantially all of the participation in the
activity of all individuals (including individuals
who do not own any interest in the activity) for
the tax year.

3. You participated in the activity for more than 100
hours during the tax year, and you participated

at least as much as any other person for the tax
year. This includes individuals who do not own
any interest in the activity.

4. The activity is a significant participation activity
for the tax year, and you participated in all
significant participation activities during the
year for more than 500 hours. An activity is a
“significant participation activity” if it involves
the conduct of a trade or business, you partici-
pated in the activity for more than 100 hours
during the tax year, and you do not materially
participate in the activity under tests 1, 2, 3, 5,
6, 0r7.

5. You materially participated in the activity for any
five (whether or not consecutive) of the prior ten
tax years.

6. The activity is a personal service activity in which
you materially participated for any three
(whether or not consecutive) prior tax years. A
personal service activity is an activity that in-
volves performing personal services in the
fields of health, law, engineering, architecture,
accounting, actuarial science, performing arts,
or consulting, or any other trade or business in
which capital is not a material income-produc-
ing factor.

7. Based on all the facts and circumstances, you
participated in the activity on a regular, continu-
ous, and substantial basis during the tax year.
You do not materially participate in an activity
under this test, however, if—

a. You participated in the activity for 100 hours
or less during the tax year, or

b. Any person besides yourself received com-
pensation for performing management serv-
ices in connection with the activity, or

c. Any individual besides yourself spent more
hours during the tax year than you spent
performing management services in connec-
tion with the activity (regardless of whether
the individual was compensated for the man-
agement services).

Ifyou meet any of the above tests, check the “Yes”

box.

If you do not meet any of the above tests, check
the “No” box. This business is a passive activity. If
you have a loss from this business, see Limit on
Losses, below. If you have a profit from this busi-
ness activity but have losses from other passive
activities or you have prior-year unallowed passive
activity losses, see the instructions for federal Form
8582, Passive Activity Loss Limitations.

Exception for oil and gas. If you are filing
Schedule C to report income and deductions from
an oil or gas well in which you own a working interest
directly or through an entity that does not limit your
liability, check the “Yes” box. The activity of owning
the working interest is not a passive activity regard-
less of your participation in the activity.

Limitonlosses. Ifyou checked the “No” box and
you have a loss from this business, you must use
federal Form 8582 to figure your allowable loss, if
any, to enter on Schedule C, line 32. Generally, you
can deduct losses from passive activities only to the
extent of income from passive activities.

For more details, get federal Publication 925,
Passive Activity and At-Risk Rules.

Part |
Income
(Lines 1 through 7)

Line 1

Gross Receipts or Sales

Enter gross receipts or sales from your business.

Installment Sales. If you use the installment
method of reporting sales income, please attach a
schedule showing separately for 1994 and the three
preceding years: gross sales; cost of goods sold,;
gross profit; percentage of gross profits to gross
sales; amounts collected; and gross profits on
amounts collected.

Line 2

Returns and Allowances

You should enter on line 2 such items as returned
sales, rebates, and allowances from the sales price.

Line 4

Cost of Goods Sold and/or
Operations

Cost of Goods Sold. If you are engaged in a
trade or business in which the production, purchase,
or sale of merchandise was an income-producing
factor, merchandise inventories must be taken into
account at the beginning and end of your tax year.
Enter the amount from Part lIl, line 41.

Cost of Operations. (Inventories Not an Income-
Producing Factor). If the amount on line 4 includes
the cost of operations, complete the appropriate
lines in Part II.

Line 6

Other Income

Include finance reserve income, scrap sales,
amounts recovered from bad debts, interest, and
other kinds of miscellaneous income from the busi-
ness or profession. Attach a separate schedule of
this income.

Part Il
Expenses
(Lines 8 through 29)

Line 9

Bad Debts from Sales or
Services

Include debts and partial debts arising from sales
or services that were included in income and are
definitely known to be worthless. Cash method
taxpayers normally do not report the income that is
due them until they actually receive payment.
Therefore, they may not take a bad debt deduction
on payments they have not received or cannot
collect.

If you later collect a debt that you deducted as a
bad debt, include it as income in the year you collect
it.
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Line 10

Car and Truck Expenses

You can deduct the actual cost of running your
car or truck, or take the fixed mileage rate. You must
use actual costs if you use more than one car or
truck in your business. If you deduct actual cost,
show depreciation on line 13.

The fixed rate is figured at 29 cents a mile for each
mile of business use in 1994. Add to this amount
your parking fees and tolls.

Note: If you place a car or truck in service after

December 31, 1980, and take the fixed mileage

rate, you are treated as having elected to ex-

clude this vehicle from ACRS.

Line 12

Depletion

Enter your total deduction for depletion on this
line.

Line 13
Depreciation

You can deduct an amount each year for assets
you buy to use in your business. The deduction for
depreciation does not apply to stock in trade, inven-
tories, land, and personal assets. You may also
choose under IRC section 179 to expense part of
the cost of certain depreciable property you bought
in 1994 for use in your business. Figure your de-
preciation deduction, including the IRC section 179
expense deduction, on Form N-164 or federal Form
4562.

The depreciation deduction for cars, including any
IRC section 179 deduction, is limited. The allowable
amounts are further limited if your business use is
less than 100%. If you claim depreciation for any
cars or other listed property, you must complete Part
Il of Form N-164. See the instructions for Form
N-164. Also, get federal Publication 534 for more
details.

If you have listed property (such as a car or light
truck) that you placed in service after June 18, 1984,
and the business use percentage of the property
decreased to 50% or less during 1994, you may
have to recapture excess depreciation, including
any IRC section 179 expense deduction. Get
Schedule D-1 and its instructions for details.

If you took the capital goods excise tax credit on
property that you dispose of before the end of three
full years, the business use percentage decreases,
or the property use otherwise changes so that it no
longer qualifies, you may have to refigure the credit.
See Form N-312 and its instructions for details.

Line 14
Employee Benefit Programs

Enter the amount of your contributions that are
not an incidental part of a pension or profit-sharing
plan included on line 20. Also include here contribu-
tions to insurance, health, and welfare programs.

Line 16
Insurance (other than health)

Deduct premiums paid for business insurance on
line 16. Deduct on line 14 amounts paid for em-
ployee accident and health insurance.

Do not deduct amounts credited to a reserve for
self-insurance or premiums paid for a policy that
pays for your lost earnings due to sickness or
disability.
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For more details, see federal Publication 535.

Lines 17aand 17b

Interest on Business
Indebtedness

Interest Allocation Rules. The tax treatment of
interest expense differs depending on its type. For
example, personal interest, home mortgage inter-
est, and investment interest are all treated differ-
ently. “Interest allocation” rules require you to allo-
cate (classify) your interest expense so it is de-
ducted on the right place of your return (or capital-
ized) and gets the proper tax treatment. These rules
could affect how much interest you deduct on
Schedule C.

Generally, you allocate interest expense by trac-
ing how the proceeds of the loan are used.

If you paid interest for years after 1994, deduct
only the part you paid for 1994.

Don't take a deduction on Schedule C for interest
you paid or accrued on debts from buying or carry-
ing investment property. Deduct this interest on
Schedule A.

Line 20

Pension and Profit-Sharing
Plans

You should enter the amount you claim as a
deduction for contributions to a pension, profit- shar-
ing, or annuity plan, or plans for the benefit of your
employees. If the plan includes you as a self-em-
ployed person, you should enter contributions made
as an employer on your behalf (but not voluntary
contributions you made as an employee) on Form
N-12, line 25, instead of on Schedule C, line 20.

Line 22

Repairs and Maintenance

You can deduct the cost of repairs including labor,
supplies, and other items that do not add to the value
or increase the life of the property. Do not deduct
the value of your own labor. And do not deduct
amounts you spent to restore or replace property.
They are chargeable to capital accounts or to de-
preciation reserve, depending on how depreciation
is charged on your books.

Line 24
Taxes and Licenses

You can deduct the following taxes:

- Real estate and personal property taxes on
business assets.

- Social security taxes paid to match required
withholding from your employees’ wages. Also,
State and Federal unemployment taxes paid.

- General excise/use taxes paid.
Do not deduct:

- Federal income taxes.

- Estate and gift taxes.

- Taxes assessed to pay for improvements, such
as paving and sewers.

- Taxes on your home or personal property.

- State and local sales taxes (treat instead as part
of the cost of the property).

- Other taxes not related to your business.
Note: Since the one-time $20 Hawaii General
Excise Tax license fee covers an indefinite pe-
riod of time, it is only deductible in the year the
general excise tax license is cancelled.

Lines 25a through 25d

Travel and Entertainment

You may deduct, in general, only 50% of your
business-related meal and entertainment ex-
penses, including any meals and entertainment
expenses incurred while traveling away from home.

You must show that the meal or entertainment
expense is directly related to the active conduct of
your trade or business or, in the case of a meal that
precedes or follows a substantial and bona fide
discussion, that the discussion was associated with
the active conduct of your trade or business. No
deduction will be allowed if you (or your employee)
are not present at the meal or entertainment. The
deduction for these expenses will not be allowed if
they are lavish or extravagant under the circum-
stances.

See instructions for federal Form 1040 for more
information.

Line 26
Utilities

Deduct only utility expenses incurred for your
trade or business.

If you use your home phone for business, do not
deduct the base rate (including taxes) of the first

telephone line into your residence. It is a nonde-
ductible personal expense.

Line 27
Wages

Enter on line 27 the total salaries and wages
(other than salaries and wages deducted elsewhere
on your return) paid or incurred for the tax year, less
any jobs tax credit claimed on Form N-884. Do not
include any amount paid to yourself. If you provided
taxable fringe benefits to your employees, such as
personal use of a car, do not deduct as wages the
amount applicable to depreciation and other ex-
penses that you claimed elsewhere.

Line 28

Other Expenses

Enter the amount from Part V, line 47. Include all
ordinary and necessary business expenses not de-
ducted elsewhere on Schedule C. Do not include
the cost of business equipment or furniture, replace-
ments or permanent improvements to property, or
personal living and family expenses.

Any loss from this activity that was not allowed as
a deduction last year because of the “at risk” provi-
sions, is treated as a deduction allocable to this
activity in 1994. If any loss from this activity was not
allowed last year because of the passive loss limi-
tations, see the Instructions for federal Form 8582.

Line 31

Expenses for Business Use of
Your Home

You may be able to deduct certain expenses for
business use of your home, subject to limitations.
Generally, any amount not allowed as a deduction
for 1994 because of the limitations can be carried
over to 1995. You must attach federal Form 8829,
Expenses for Business Use of Your Home, if you
claim this deduction.

For details, see the instructions for federal Form
8829, and see federal Publication 587, Business
Use of Your Home.



Line 32
Net Profit or (Loss)

If you have a profit, stop here. Enter the amount
here and combine this amount with the profit or
(loss) from your other businesses, if any. Enter the
total on Form N-12, line 12, Form N-15, line 12, or
Form N-40, line 5.

If you have aloss, go on to line 33 before entering
your loss on line 32.

Lines 33a and 33b
“At-Risk” Rules

Deductions for losses by persons who are en-
gaged in a trade or business including real estate
(other than mineral property) or an activity for the
production of income are limited to the amount they
have “at risk” in the business. You are “at risk” for
an activity for the cash and adjusted basis of prop-
erty you contributed to the activity and any amount
borrowed for use in the activity for which you are
personally liable. You are also “at risk” to the extent
of the net fair market value of your own property (not
used in the activity) that secures borrowed amounts
for which you are not liable.

Check box 33b, if you have amounts for which
you are not at risk for this business, such as the
following:

1. nonrecourse loans used to finance your busi-
ness, to acquire property used in your business,
or to acquire your interest in the business,
unless they are secured by property not used
in your business or by certain real property used
in an activity of holding real property; or

2. amounts protected against loss by a guarantee,
stop-loss agreement, or similar arrangement; or

3. loans from someone who has an interest in your
business, other than as a creditor, or who is
related, under IRC section 465(b)(3)(C), to a
person (other than yourself) having such an
interest; or

4. amounts contributed to your business, or to your
interest in the business that is covered by:
—nonrecourse loans or protected against loss by

a guarantee, stop-loss agreement, or similar
arrangement; or

—loans from a person described in 3 above.

If you do not have any of these kinds of amounts
for which you are not at risk in this business, check
box 33a and enter your loss on line 32 unless you
answered “No” to Question |. In this case, you must
complete federal Form 8582 to figure your allowable
loss to enter on line 32.

If you checked box 33b, get federal Form 6198
to determine the amount of your deductible loss and
enter that amount on line 32. But if you answered
“No” to Question |, your loss may be further limited.
See federal Form 8582. If your at-risk amountis zero
or less, enter zero on line 32. Be sure to attach
federal Form 6198 to your return. If you checked
box 33b and you fail to attach federal Form 6198,
processing of your tax return may be delayed.

If, in addition to the amount that you report on
Schedule C, you dispose of an asset used in an
activity to which the at-risk rules apply and you have
amounts in the activity for which you are not at risk,
see the instructions for federal Form 6198.

Any loss from this business not allowed for 1994
because of the at-risk rules is treated as a deduction
allocable to the business in 1995.

Part IV

Information on Your
Vehicle

(Lines 42 through 46b)

Part IV has been added to Schedule C to simplify
the reporting of business vehicle information for sole
proprietors by eliminating the requirement to file
Form N-164 for this purpose. You can use Part IV
instead of Form N-164 if you are claiming the stand-
ard mileage rate, you lease your vehicle, or your
vehicle is fully depreciated. However, if Form N-164
must be filed for any other reason, you must con-
tinue to use Part V of Form N-164 to report vehicle
information.

Instructions for
Schedule D —
Capital Gains and Losses

Purpose
Use Schedule D (Form N-12) to:

- Report a sale of a capital asset.

- Report gains from involuntary conversions of
capital assets not held for business or profit.

In the following cases you have to use Schedule
D-1, Sales of Business Property, instead of Sched-
ule D:

- The sale, exchange, or involuntary conversion
(other than casualty or theft) of business prop-
erty, certain depreciable and amortizable prop-
erty, certain oil, gas and geothermal property,
and IRC section 126 property.

- The involuntary conversion (other than casualty
or theft) of capital assets held for business or
profit.

- The disposition of other noncapital assets not
mentioned above.

If property is involuntarily converted because of a
casualty or theft, use Form N-184, Casualties and
Thefts.

Capital Asset

Most property you own and use for personal
purposes, pleasure, or investment is a capital asset.
For example, your house, furniture, car, stocks and
bonds are capital assets.

A transfer of patent rights is generally considered
a sale or exchange of a capital asset held for more
than one year.

A nonbusiness bad debt must be treated as a
short-term capital loss.

A capital asset as defined by law is any property
held by a taxpayer except:

a. Stock in trade or other property included in
inventory or held for sale to customers.

b. Accounts or notes receivable you received for
services in the ordinary course of your trade or
business or from the sale of any property de-
scribed in a. or for services you performed as
an employee.

c. Depreciable property used in your trade or
business even if it was fully depreciated.

d. Real property (real estate) used in your trade or
business.

e. A copyright, literary, musical or artistic compo-
sition, letter, memorandum, or similar property,

1. created by your personal efforts, or

2. prepared or produced for you (in the case of
a letter, memorandum, or similar property), or

3. that you received from a taxpayer mentioned
in1or2,ina way (such as by gift) that entitled
you to the basis of the previous owner.

f. U.S. Government publications (including the
Congressional Record) that you received from
the government other than by purchase at the
normal sales price, or that you got from another
taxpayer who had received it in a similar way if
your basis is determined by reference to the
previous owner.

Short-Term or Long-Term

Separate your capital gains and losses according
to how long you held or owned the property. The
holding period for long-term capital gains and losses
is more than 1 year. The holding period for short-
term capital gains and losses is 1 year or less.

To figure the holding period, begin counting on
the day after you received the property and include
the day you disposed of it. Use the trade dates for
date acquired and date sold for stocks and bonds
on an exchange or over-the-counter market.

Limits on Capital Losses

The limit on capital losses that can be applied
against other income after offsetting capital gains is
$3,000. If you are married and filing separately, the
limit is $1,500.

Unused capital losses are carried over to later
years until fully used. Your capital loss carryover is
computed on Schedule D.

The amount of your capital loss carryover is the
amount of your capital loss that exceeds the lesser
of:

(1) Your allowable capital loss deduction for the
year, or

(2) Your taxable income increased by your allow-
able capital loss deduction for the year and your
deduction for personal exemptions.

If your deductions exceed your gross income for
the tax year, use your negative taxable income in
computing the amount in item (2).

Losses That Are Not
Deductible

Do not deduct a loss from the sale or exchange
of property directly or indirectly between any of the
following:

- Members of a family.

- A corporation and an individual or a fiduciary
owning more than 50 percent of the corpora-
tion’s stock (not counting liquidations).

- A grantor and a fiduciary of a trust.

- Afiduciary and a beneficiary of the same trust.

- A fiduciary and a fiduciary or beneficiary of
another trust created by the same grantor.

- An individual and a tax-exempt organization
controlled by the individual or the individual's
family.

- A partnership and a corporation if the same
taxpayers own directly or indirectly more than
50% of the capital interest, or profits interest, in
the partnership and corporation.

If you sell or otherwise dispose of (1) an asset
used in an activity to which the “at risk” rules apply
or (2) any part of your interest in an activity to which
the “at risk” rules apply (see IRC section 465),
combine the gain or loss on the disposition with the
profit or loss from the activity. If you have a net loss,
you may be subject to the “at risk” provisions.
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Items for Special Treatment

and Special Cases
The following items may require a special treat-

ment:

- Transactions by a securities dealer.

- Wash sales of stock or securities.

- Bonds and other evidence of indebtedness if an
original issue discount is a factor.

- Gain on the sale of qualified reinvested divi-
dends from a qualified public utility.

- Certain real estate subdivided for sale which
may be considered a capital asset.

- Distributions received from an employee pen-
sion, profit-sharing, or stock bonus plan,
(Please see Form N-152, Special 5-Year Aver-
aging Method.)

- Gain on the sale of depreciable property be-
tween husband and wife or between share-
holder and a controlled corporation treated as
ordinary gain.

- Gain on disposition of stock in a Domestic Inter-
national Sales Corporation.

- Gain or loss on options to buy or sell, including
closing transactions.

- Transfer of property to a foreign corporation as
paid-in surplus or as a contribution to capital, or
to a foreign trust or partnership.

- Transfer of property to a partnership which
would be treated as an investment company if
the partnership was incorporated.

Transfer of Appreciated
Property to a Political
Organization

If you transfer property to a political organization
when the fair market value of the property is more
than your adjusted basis, treat the transaction as a
property sale on the transfer date. Report the fair
market value of the property at the time of the
transfer as the sales price. Ordinary income or
capital gains provisions apply as if a sale took place.

Exchange of Like-Kind
Property

Report the exchange of “like-kind” property on
federal Form 8824, Like-Kind Exchanges. You must
report it even though no gain or loss is recognized
when you exchange business or investment prop-
erty for property of “like-kind.” (This does notinclude
stock in trade or other property held primarily for
sale. It also does not include stocks, bonds, notes,
choses in action, certificates of trust or beneficial
interest, or other securities or evidences of in-
debtedness or interest.)

Sale or Exchange (Other Than
Involuntary Conversion) of
Capital Assets Held for
Personal Use

This type of gain is a capital gain. Report it on
Schedule D Part | or Part Il. Loss from the sale or
exchange of this property is not deductible.

Small Business Stock

Subject to limitations, you may deduct the loss on
the sale, exchange, or worthlessness of Small Busi-
ness (IRC section 1244) stock as an ordinary loss
on Schedule D-1. However, gains are reported as
capital gains on Schedule D.
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Disposition of Partnership
Interest

A sale or other disposition of an interest in a
partnership may result in ordinary income.

Sale of Your Home

Use Form N-103 to determine the gain or loss
from the sale of your main home whether or not you
bought another one.

Report a taxable gain from the sale of your main
home on Schedule D, line 4 or line 12. A loss from
such sale is not deductible.

Tax on a portion or all of the gain from the sale of
your principal residence may be deferred if:

(1) within 24 months after or before the sale, you
purchase another principal residence and use
it as such; or

(2) before the sale or within 24 months after the
sale, you begin construction of a new principal
residence and use it as such not later than two
years after the sale.

If you sold your principal residence after attaining
the age of 55, you may exclude from gross income,
on a one-time elective basis, $125,000 of gain
($62,500 if you are married filing separately) from
the sale or exchange of your principal residence
after July 20, 1981. The exclusion is available only
if you owned and used it as your principal residence
for at least 3 out of 5 years which precede the sale.

Contact your nearest taxation district office for
more details or to obtain Form N-103 which is used
to report the sale or exchange or to figure your new
basis.

Note: The deferment of the gain from the sale
on your personal residence will not apply if your
new residence is located outside of Hawaii and
at the time of replacement you establish a domi-
cile outside of Hawaii.

Long-term Capital Gains from
Regulated Investment
Companies

Include in income as a long-term capital gain the
amount which constitutes your share of the undis-
tributed capital gains of a regulated investment
company. You are entitled to a credit of 4 percent
of this amount provided the regulated investment
company has paid to the State of Hawaii the 4
percent tax. This credit should be claimed on Form
N-12, page 2, line 58. The remaining 96 percent
should be added to the basis of your stock.

Installment Sales

If you sold property at a gain, and are to receive
any payment in a tax year after the year of sale, you
must use the installment method and Form N-171,
Computation of Installment Sale Income, unless
you elect not to. Also use Form N-171, if you
received a payment in 1994 from a sale made in an
earlier year on the installment method.

You may not use the installment method to report
income from the sale of stock or securities traded
on an established securities exchange. All pay-
ments to be received under this type of sale are
treated as received in the year of sale.

If you want to elect out of the installment method,
you must report the full amount of the sale on
Schedule D on a timely filed return (including exten-
sions).

Gains and Losses from
Section 1256 Contracts and
Straddles

For information on how to report gains and losses
from regulated futures contracts and straddles, see
Schedule D-3, Gains and Losses from Section 1256
Contracts and Straddles.

Capital Gain Distributions

Enter on line 14 capital gain distributions paid to
you during the year as a long-term capital gain,
regardless of how long you held your investment.
See federal Publication 550 for more details.

Specific Instructions
Parts | and Il

Column (b)
Date Acquired

Enter in this column the date the asset was
acquired. Use the trade date for stocks and bonds
traded on an exchange or over-the-counter market.
For stock or other property sold short, enter the date
the stock or property was delivered to the broker or
lender to close the short sale.

If you disposed of property that you acquired by
inheritance, report it on line 9 and write "INHER-
ITED" in column (b) instead of the date you acquired
the property.

If you sold a block of stock (or similar property)
that was acquired through several different pur-
chases, you may report the sale on one line and
write "VARIOUS" in column (b). However, you still
must report the short-term gain or loss in Part | and
the long-term gain or loss on the sale in Part II.

Column (c)
Date Sold

Enter in this column the date the asset was sold.
Use the trade date for stocks and bonds traded on
an exchange or over-the-counter market. For stock
or other property sold short, enter the date you sold
the stock or property you borrowed to open the short
sale transaction.

Column (d)

Sales Price

Enter in this column either the gross sales price
orthe net sales price from the sale. If you sold stocks
or bonds and you received a federal Form 1099-B
or similar statement from your broker that shows
gross sales price, enter that amount in column (d).
However, if the broker advised you that gross pro-
ceeds (gross sales price) less commissions and
option premiums were reported to IRS, enter that
net amount in column (d). If the net amount is
entered in this column, do not include the commis-
sions and option premiums in column (e).

Caution: Be sure to add all sales price entries

onlines 1 and 9, column (d), to amounts on lines

2 and 10, column (d). Enter the totals on lines

3and 11.

Column (e)

Cost or Other Basis, As
Adjusted

In general, the cost or adjusted basis is the cost
of the property plus purchase commissions, im-
provements, minus depreciation, amortization, and
depletion. If you inherited the property or got it as a



gift, tax-free exchange, involuntary conversion, or
“wash sale” of stock, you may not be able to use the
actual cash cost as the basis. If you do not use cash
cost, attach an explanation of your basis.

When selling stock, adjust your basis by subtract-
ing all the nontaxable distributions you received
before the sale. This includes nontaxable dividends
from utility company stock and mutual funds. Also
adjust your basis for any stock splits.

The basis of property acquired by gift made be-
fore 1977, generally is the basis of the property in
the hands of the donor plus any gift taxes paid on
the gift. For gifts made after 1976, only the gift tax
on the appreciation in value to the time of the gift is
added to the basis of the property in the hands of
the donor.

The basis of property acquired from a decedent
is generally the fair market value at the date of
death.

If a charitable contribution deduction is allowed
because of a sale of property to a charitable organi-
zation, the adjusted basis for determining gain from
the sale is an amount which has the same ratio to
the adjusted basis as the amount realized has to the
fair market value.

Increase your cost or other basis by any expense
of sale, such as broker's fees, commissions, state
and local transfer taxes, and option premiums be-
fore making an entry in column (e), unless you
reported net sales price in column (d).

Lines 1 and 9

Enter all sales and exchanges of capital assets,
including stocks, bonds, etc., and real estate (if not
reported on Forms N-103, N-171, N-184, Sched-
ules D-1, D-3, or federal Form 8824). Include these
transactions even if you did not receive a federal
Form 1099-B or 1099-S (or substitute statement) for
the transaction. You can use abbreviations to de-
scribe the property as long as the abbreviations are
based on the descriptions of the property as shown
on federal Form 1099-B or 1099-S (or substitute
statement).

Use lines 45 and 47 on page 2 of Schedule D if
you need more space to list transactions for lines 1
and 9. You may use as many copies of page 2 of
Schedule D as you need. Enter on Schedule D,
lines 2 and 10, columns (d), (f), and (g) the combined
totals of all your copies of page 2 of Schedule D.

Caution: Add the following amounts reported to
you for 1994 on federal Forms 1099-B and 1099-S
(or on substitute statements):

1. Proceeds from transactions involving stocks,
bonds, and other securities, and

2. Gross proceeds from real estate transactions
not reported on another form or schedule.

If this total is more than the total of lines 3and 11,
attach a statement explaining the difference.

Part IV

Your capital gains are taxed at a maximum rate
of 7.25% even if you have ordinary income that is
taxed at a higher rate. To qualify for the 7.25%
maximum tax rate on capital gains, you must:

1. Have a net long-term capital gain that is more
than any net short-term capital loss you may
have (this difference is your net capital gain),
and

2. Have taxable income that is subject to a tax rate
higher than 7.25%.

Ifboth lines 17 and 18 of Schedule D are net gains
and your taxable income, as shown on line 37 of
Form N-12, is subject to a tax rate higher than
7.25%, you can use Part IV to figure your tax.

Instructions for
Schedule D-1 —
Sales of Business
Property

In general, use Schedule D-1, Sales of Business
Property, to report (1) the sale, exchange, or invol-
untary conversion (other than casualty or theft) of
trade or business property, certain depreciable and
amortizable property; (2) the involuntary conversion
(other than casualty or theft) of capital assets held
for business or profit; and (3) the disposition of other
noncapital assets not mentioned above.

FOR DETAILED INFORMATION SEE SEPA-
RATE INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE D-1.

Instructions for
Schedule E —
Supplemental Income

Note: In place of Hawaii's Schedule E, you may
use a copy of your federal Schedule E with the
addition of your Hawaii General Excise ID Num-
ber where appropriate.

For limitations on losses from passive activi-
ties, seeinstructions for federal Form 1040. You
may need to file federal Form 8582 with your
Hawaii return.

Purpose

Use Schedule E to report income or loss from
rents, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, es-
tates, trusts, and REMICs.

Note: If you attach your own schedule(s) to
reportincome or loss from any of these sources,
use the same format as on Schedule E. Enter
separately on Schedule E the total income and
the total loss for each part. Enclose loss figures
in (parentheses).

At-Risk Rules (Parts | and II)

If you have (1) a loss from any activity that you,
your partnership, or S corporation engaged in as a
trade or business or for the production of income,
including the holding of real property (other than
mineral property) placed in service after December
31, 1987, and (2) amounts for which you are not at
risk in the activity, use federal Form 6198, At-Risk
Limitations, to determine the allowable loss to report
on Schedule E.

For more details, get federal Publication 925,
Passive Activity and At-Risk Rules.

The at-risk rules may apply to an individual, a
member of a partnership or joint venture, share-
holder in an S corporation, or lessor of certain
property. Generally, the amount you have at risk
limits the loss you can deduct for any tax year.

If, in addition to the amount that you report on
Schedule E, you sell or otherwise dispose of (1) an
asset used in an activity to which the at-risk rules
apply, or (2) any part of your interest in an activity
to which the at-risk rules apply, and you have
amounts in the activity for which you are not at risk,
see the instructions for federal Form 6198.

Any loss from an activity not allowed for the tax
yearistreated as a deduction allocable to the activity
in the next tax year.

Passive Activity Loss Rules
(Parts | - 111)

The passive activity loss rules may limit the
amount of losses you can deduct. They apply to
losses in Parts |, II, and Ill of Schedule E.

You can generally deduct losses from passive
activities only to the extent of income from passive
activities. Exceptions apply to some activities, such
as rental real estate (see the instructions for line 3).

Losses from passive activities may be first subject
to the at-risk rules. Losses deductible under the
at-risk rules are then subject to the passive activity
rules.

A passive activity is any business activity in which
you DO NOT materially participate and any rental
activity regardless of participation. See the instruc-
tions for federal Form 8582 to determine whether
you materially participated in an activity. If you are
a limited partner, you are generally not treated as
having materially participated in the partnership’s
activity for the year.

The rental of real or personal property is generally
a rental activity, but exceptions apply to this rule. If
your rental of property is not a rental activity, you
must determine whether it is a trade or business
activity, and, if so, whether you materially partici-
pated in the activity for the tax year. See the
instructions for federal Form 8582 for the material
participation tests and the definition of “rental activ-
ity.” See federal Publication 925 for special rules
that apply to rentals of: (1) substantially nondepre-
ciable property, (2) property incidental to develop-
ment activities, and (3) property to activities in which
you materially participate.

The rental of your home that you also used for
personal purposes is hot a passive activity. See
Renting Out a Dwelling Unit That Is Also Used For
Personal Purposes on this page.

A working interest in an oil or gas well that you
hold directly or through an entity that does not limit
your liability is not a passive activity even if you do
not materially participate.

Royalty income not derived in the ordinary course
of a trade or business reported on Schedule E is
generally not considered income from a passive
activity.

For more information on passive activities, see
the instructions for federal Form 8582 and federal
Publication 925.

Part |

Income or Loss From Rentals
and Royalties

Use Part | to report rental and royalty income and
expenses. If you own a part interest in rental prop-
erty, you may report your part on Schedule E. See
the instructions for lines 4 and 5 to determine when
rental and royalty income should be reported on
Schedule C instead.

If you have more than three rental or royalty
properties, complete and attach as many Sched-
ules E as you need to list them. Complete lines 1,
2, and 3 for each property. But fill in column D only
onone Schedule E. The figures in column D on that
Schedule E should be the combined totals of all the
schedules.

If you also need to use page 2 of Schedule E, use
the same Schedule E on which you entered the
combined totals in Part I.

Lines 1through 3

Line 1. — Show the kind of property you rented
out, for example, “brick duplex.” Give the street
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address, city or town, and state. You do not have
to give the ZIP code.

Line 2. — Renting Out a Dwelling Unit That Is
Also Used For Personal Purposes. — If you
rented out a dwelling unitand also used itas a home
during the year, you may not be able to deduct all
the expenses for the rental part. A dwelling unit
(unit) means a house, apartment, condominium,
mobile home, boat, or like property. Check the
“Yes” or “No” box on line 2, whichever applies, to
show whether you or your family used the property
for personal purposes in 1994.

If the property is not a dwelling unit, check “No."If
the property is a dwelling unit, check “Yes” if you or
your family used the unit for personal use more than
the greater of:

1. 14 days, or

2. 10% of the total days it was rented to others at
a fair rental price.

What is personal use? A day of personal use is

any day, or part of a day, that the unit was used

by:

- you for personal purposes.

- any other person for personal purposes, if that
person owns part of the unit (unless rented to
that person under a “shared equity” financing
agreement).

- anyone in your family or in the family of some-
one else who owns part of the unit. The day is
not treated as personal if the unit is rented at a
fair rental price to that person as his or her main
home.

- anyone under an agreement that lets you use
some other unit.

- anyone who pays less than a fair rental price for
the unit.

If you checked “No,” you can deduct all your
expenses for the rental part, subject to the at-risk
and passive activity loss rules.

If you checked “Yes” and rented the unit out for
less than 15 days, you may not deduct any rental
expenses. Butif you itemize deductions on Sched-
ule A, you may deduct interest, taxes, and casualty
losses. You do not have to report the rental income.

If you checked “Yes” and rented the unit out for at
least 15 days, you may not be able to deduct all your
rental expenses. You can deduct your mortgage
interest, real estate taxes, and casualty losses for
the rental part on Schedule E. You can also deduct
your other rental expenses that are not related to
your use of the unit as a home, such as advertising
expenses and realtors’ fees. If any income is left
after deducting these expenses, you can then de-
duct other expenses. But you cannot deduct more
than the income that is left. Carry amounts you
cannot deduct to 1995. See federal Publication
527, Residential Rental Property (Including Rental
of Vacation Homes), for more details. Also, get
federal Publication 545, Interest Expense, to see
how much interest you can deduct.

Line 3. — Rental Real Estate Properties with
Active Participation. — Arental real estate activity
is generally a passive activity subject to the limitation
on losses from passive activities. See the instruc-
tions for line 24 and the Passive Activity Loss Rules
on page 27 for more details. However, a special
rule applies if you actively participated in rental real
estate activities and had losses from them. In gen-
eral, you may be able to deduct up to $25,000 in
losses from all rental real estate activities in which
you actively participated. However, other amounts
apply if you are married filing separately.

Check the “Yes” or “No” box on line 3, whichever
applies, toindicate whether you actively participated
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in 1994 in each rental real estate activity listed on
line 1.

Active Participation. The active participation
requirement can be met without regular, continu-
ous, and substantial involvement in operations. But
you must have participated in making management
decisions or arranging for others to provide services
(such as repairs), in a significant and bona fide
sense. Management decisions that are relevant in
this context include approving new tenants, decid-
ing on rental terms, approving capital or repair
expenditures, and other similar decisions.

You are not considered to actively participate if,
at any time during the tax year, your interest (includ-
ing your spouse’s interest in the activity) was less
than 10% (by value) of all interests in the activity.

For more information, see the instructions for
federal Form 8582, Passive Activity Loss Limita-
tions, and federal Publication 925, Passive Activity
and At-Risk Rules.

Line 4

If you were not in the real estate sales business
but received rent from property you own or control,
report it on line 4. Include room and other space
rentals. If you received services or property instead
of money as rent, report its fair market value. If you
received farm rental income, report it on federal
Form 4835, Farm Rental Income and Expenses.
See Rental Income From Farm Production or Crop
Shares, below.

If you provided significant services to the renter or
sold real estate as a business, do not report the
income on line 4. Instead, report it on Schedule C.

Rental Income From Farm Production or Crop
Shares. Report farm rental income and expenses
on federal Form 4835 if (1) you received rental
income based on crops or livestock produced by the
tenant, and (2) you did not manage or operate the
farm to any great extent.

Note: A loss from this kind of activity may be
subject to the passive activity loss rules. See
federal Publication 925 for more information.

If you use federal Form 4835, enter on line 28 of
Schedule E the net farm rental income or loss from
federal Form 4835.

Line 5

Report on line 5 royalties from oil, gas, or mineral
properties (not including operating oil, gas, or min-
eral interests); copyrights; and patents. If you re-
ceived $10 or more in royalties, by January 31,
1995, you should receive a federal Form 1099-
MISC, or similar statement, showing them. If you
are in business as a self-employed writer, inventor,
artist, etc., report your income and expenses on
Schedule C. You may be able to treat amounts
received as “royalties” for transfer of a patent or
amounts received on the disposal of coal and iron
ore as the sale of a capital asset. For details, see
federal Publication 544, Sales and Other Disposi-
tions of Assets.

If state or local taxes were withheld from oil or gas
payments you received, enter on line 5 the gross
amount of royalty. Include the taxes withheld by the
producer on line 17.

Lines 6 through 22

Enter your rental and royalty expenses for each
property in the appropriate columns. You can de-
duct an amount for the depreciation of rental prop-
erty and all normal expenses, such as taxes, inter-
est, repairs, insurance, maintenance, and agents’
commissions.

Do not deduct the value of your own labor, capital
investments, or capital improvements.

Renting Out Part of Your Home. If you rent out
only part of your home or other property, deduct the
part of your expenses that apply to the rented part.

Expenses To Rehabilitate Low-Income Hous-
ing. You may amortize part of the costs you paid or
incurred to rehabilitate qualified low-income hous-
ing if the rehabilitation began before January 1,
1988. Ifitbegan after 1987, you may be able to take
a tax credit. See Form N-586, Tax Credit For
Low-Income Housing.

Lines 13 and 14

In general, to determine the interest expense
allocable to your rental activities, you will have to
keep records to show how the proceeds of each
debt were used. Specific tracing rules apply for
allocating debt proceeds and repayment of the debt.
See federal Publication 545 for details.

If you have a mortgage on your rental property,
enter on line 13 the interest you paid for 1994 to
banks or other financial institutions. Be sure to fill
in column D.

Note: If the recipient was not a financial institu-
tion or you did not receive a federal Form 1098,
Mortgage Interest Statement, from the recipient,
report your deductible mortgage interest on line

Line 18

The base rate (including taxes) for local telephone
service for the first telephone line to any residence
is a personal expense and is not deductible.

Line 21

You may take a depreciation deduction each year
for rental property. The deduction does not apply
to land and personal-use property.

If you placed any property in service after 1980,
complete and attach Form N-164, Depreciation and
Amortization. Enter on line 21 the amount from
Form N-164, Part I. If you are depreciating only
property placed in service before 1981, you do not
need Form N-164. Figure depreciation on a work-
sheet from your own books and records. Enter the
total depreciation on line 21. You do not need to
attach the worksheet to your return.

Line 23

If you have a loss from the activity, you may be
subject to the At-Risk Rules explained on page 27.
If you are, you must file federal Form 6198, At-Risk
Limitations, to figure the loss to enter on line 23. If
you must file federal Form 6198 and the deductible
loss from line 21 of that form is less than the loss
shown on line 23 of Schedule E, enter the amount
from federal Form 6198 in the appropriate col-
umn(s) on line 23 of Schedule E. In the space to
the left of line 23, write “Federal Form 6198.”

Line 24

Enter on line 24 the amount of your deductible
rental loss. If your rental loss is from a passive
activity, your loss may be further limited under the
Passive Activity Loss Rules explained on page 27.

If the loss is from a passive activity, you generally
need to complete federal Form 8582 to figure the
amount of loss, if any, after applying the passive
activity loss limits. But you do not have to complete
federal Form 8582 to figure the amount of loss you
can deduct on line 24 if you meet ALL 3 of the
following conditions:

1. Rental real estate activities are your only pas-
sive activities; and

2. You do not have any prior year unallowed losses
from any passive activities; and

3. All of the following apply if you have an overall
net loss from these activities:



— You actively participated in all of the rental real
estate activities (see line 3 above for details on
active participation); and

—Your total losses from these activities are
$25,000 or less ($12,500 or less if married filing
separately and you lived apart from your
spouse all year); and

—You have no current or prior year unallowed
credits from passive activities; and

— Your modified adjusted gross income, defined
below, is $100,000 or less ($50,000 or less if
married filing separately and you lived apart
from your spouse all year).

If you meet ALL 3 of the conditions listed above,
your rental real estate losses are not limited by the
passive activity rules. Enter the amount of the loss
from line 23 on line 24. Write at the top of Schedule
E, “Federal Form 8582 not required because of
$25,000 special allowance.”

If you do not meet ALL 3 of the conditions listed
above, you MUST complete and attach federal
Form 8582.

Modified adjusted gross income is your adjusted
gross income from federal Form 1040, line 31,
without taking into account any passive activity loss,
any taxable social security or equivalent railroad
retirement benefits, or any deductible contributions
to an IRA or certain other qualified retirement plans
under IRC section 219.

Caution: Passive activity income does not in-
clude income from renting: (1) substantially non-
depreciable property, (2) property incidental to
a development activity, and (3) property to a
trade or business activity in which you materially
participate. See federal Publication 925 for de-
tails.

Part Il

Income or Losses from
Partnerships and S
Corporations

Partnerships

If you are a member of a partnership or joint
venture, include in this part your share of the part-
nership income (whether you received it or not) or
netloss for the partnership tax year that ends during
the year covered by your return. Nonresident part-
ners must report their share of partnership income
or netloss from Hawaii sources. You should receive
a Schedule K-1 (Form N-20) from the partnership.
Do not attach the schedule to your return. Keep it
for your records. Your copy of Schedule K-1 and its
instructions will tell you where on your return to
report your share of the items.

If you have a current year loss or a prior year
unallowed loss from a partnership, see the At-Risk
Rules and the Passive Activity Loss Rules on page
27.

The maximum you can deduct on your return for
recovery property (IRC section 179) is $17,500.
This limit is reduced if the total cost of the IRC
section 179 property is more than $200,000. Your
deduction is also limited to the total taxable income
from all your trades or businesses.

If you have other partnership items, such as
depletion, from a nonpassive activity, show each
item on a separate line in Part Il. Show unreim-
bursed partnership expenses from nonpassive ac-
tivities on a separate line in column (i) of Part II.
Unreimbursed expenses that are itemized deduc-
tions are entered on Schedule A (Form N-12).

If you have losses or deductions from a prior year
that you could not deduct because of the at-risk or

basis rules, and the amounts are now deductible,
do not combine the prior-year amounts with any
current-year amounts to arrive at a net figure to
report on Schedule E. Instead, report on separate
lines on Schedule E prior-year amounts and cur-
rent-year amounts.

S Corporations

If you are a shareholder of any S corporation, you
should receive a Schedule K-1 (Form N-35) from
the S corporation. Do not attach the schedule to
your return. Keep it for your records. Your copy of
Schedule K-1 and its instructions will tell you where
on your return to report your share of the items.
Report your share of the income (whether you
received it or not) or net loss of the corporation on
Schedule E in the same manner as the income or
loss of a partnership. Nonresident shareholders
must report their share of S corporation income or
net loss from Hawaii sources.

If you have a current year loss or a prior year
unallowed loss from an S corporation, see the
At-Risk Rules and the Passive Activity Loss Rules
on page 27.

The maximum you can deduct on your return for
recovery property (IRC section 179) is $17,500.
This limit is reduced if the total cost of the IRC
section 179 property is more than $200,000. Your
deduction is also limited to the total taxable income
from all your trades or businesses.

Distributions of prior-year accumulated earnings
and profits of S corporations are dividends and are
reported on Schedule B (Form N-12).

As a shareholder in an S corporation, your share
of the corporation’s aggregate losses and deduc-
tions (combined income, losses, and deductions) is
limited to the adjusted basis of your corporate stock
and any debt the corporation owes you. Any loss
or deduction not allowed this year because of the
basis limitation may be carried forward and de-
ducted in a later year subject to the basis limitation
for thatyear. If you are claiming a deduction for your
share of an aggregate loss, attach to your return a
computation of the adjusted basis of your corporate
stock and of any debt the corporation owes you.
See federal Publication 589 for more information.

After applying the basis limitation, the deductible
amount of your aggregate losses and deductions
may be further reduced by the at-risk rules and the
passive activity loss rules.

If you have losses or deductions from a prior year
that you could not deduct because of the basis,
at-risk, or passive activity loss limitations, and the
amounts are now deductible, do not combine the
prior-year amounts with any current-year amounts
to arrive at a net figure to report on Schedule E.
Instead, report the prior-year amounts and the cur-
rent-year amounts on separate lines of Schedule E.

Part Il

Income or Losses from
Estates and Trusts

If you are a beneficiary of an estate or trust, use
Part Il to report your part of the income (even if not
received) or loss. You should receive a Schedule
K-1 (Form N-40) from the fiduciary. Do not attach
that schedule to your return. Keep it for your re-
cords. Your copy of Schedule K-1 and its instruc-
tions will tell you where on your return to report the
items from Schedule K-1.

Part IV

Income or Losses from Real
Estate Mortgage Investment
Conduits (REMICs)

See instructions for federal Schedule E, Form
1040.

Instructions for

Schedule J —

Annuities, Benefits Under
Pension and
Profit-Sharing Plans,
Death Benefits and
Pensions

In General — If you are receiving an annuity, you
must complete Schedule J and carry the returnable
income to Form N-12, page 1, lines 16a and 16b.
(See reverse side of Schedule J for more specific
instructions.)

General Rule for Annuities

Amounts received by you, based on life expec-
tancy under an annuity contract must be included in
your gross income. The computation and life expec-
tancy multiple can be found by referring to IRC
Income Tax Regulations and Annuity Tables. Once
you have obtained the multiple, it remains un-
changed and it will not be necessary to recompute
your taxable portion each year unless the payments
you receive change in amount.

In making this computation, you can get help from
insurance companies. However, do not report
amounts received from the Hawaii Retirement Sys-
tem or the Federal Retirement System as such
amounts are excluded under Hawaii Income Tax
Law.

Note: If you did not contribute to the cost of your
annuity or you recovered your entire cost before
January 1, 1994, report your annuity on Form N-12,
lines 16a and 16b, instead of on Schedule J.

If you receive pension or annuity payments as a
beneficiary of a deceased employee and the em-
ployee received no retirement pension or annuity
payments, you may be entitled to a death benefit
exclusion of up to $5,000.

Instructions for

Form N-141 —

Credit for Child and
Dependent Care Expenses

NOTE: This credit is not available to the non-
resident taxpayer. However, should a nonresi-
dent taxpayer be receiving Employer-Paid De-
pendent Care benefits, he or she must compute
the taxable portion of the benefit in Part lIl,
include this amount on line 7 of Form N-15, and
write “DCB” on the dotted line next to line 7.

Who May Claim the Credit. — If you are a
resident taxpayer who files an individual income tax
return for a taxable year, and you are not claimed
or eligible to be claimed as a dependent on another
taxpayer's federal or Hawaii income tax return, and
you maintain a household which includes as a
member one or more qualifying individuals, you may
be allowed a credit against your income tax. The
credit ranges from 15% to 25% of employment-re-
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lated expenses (up to certain limitations) PAID dur-
ing the taxable year in order to enable you to work
either full or part time for an employer or as a
self-employed individual.

You will be treated as maintaining a household for
any period only if you furnish over half the cost of
maintaining the household for that period. If you are
married during such period, you and your spouse
must provide over half the maintenance cost for the
period.

The expenses of maintaining a household include
property taxes, mortgage interest, rent, utility
charges, upkeep and repairs, property insurance,
and food consumed on the premises. They do not
include the cost of clothing, education, medical
treatment, vacations, life insurance and transporta-
tion.

Who is a Qualifying Person?
A qualifying person is any one of the following
persons:

a. Any person under age 13 whom you claim as
a dependent (but see the special rule for
Children of Divorced or Separated Parents).

b. Your disabled spouse who is mentally or
physically unable to care for himself or her-
self.

c. Any disabled person who is mentally or physi-
cally unable to care for himself or herself and
whom you claim as a dependent, or could
claim as a dependent except that he or she
had income of $2,450 or more.

Employment-related Expenses. — “Employ-
ment-related expenses” are those paid for the fol-
lowing, but only if paid to enable you to be gainfully
employed:

(1) Expenses for Household Services. — Ex-
penses will be considered for household services in
your home if they are for the ordinary and usual
services necessary for the operation of the home,
and bear some relationship to the qualifying individ-
ual. Thus, payment for services of a domestic maid
or cook will ordinarily be considered expenses for
household services if performed at least partially for
the benefit of the qualifying individual.

(2) Expenses for the Care of a Qualifying Individ-
ual. — Expenses will be considered for the care of
one or more qualifying individuals if their main pur-
pose was to assure that individual's well-being and
protection. Payments for food, clothing or education
are not such expenses. However, if the care pro-
vided includes expenses that cannot be separated,
the full amount paid will be considered for the
qualifying individual's care. Thus, the full amount
paid to a nursery school will be considered for the
care of a child even though the school also furnishes
lunch. Educational expenses for a child in the first
or higher-grade level are not expenses for the child’s
care.

You may NOT include any amount paid for serv-
ices outside your household at a camp where the
qualifying individual stays overnight.

Do not include services outside your household
as employment-related expenses for your spouse
or a dependent age 13 or older. However, services
outside your household are employment-related
expenses for a dependent who has not reached his
or her 13th birthday or for an individual who regularly
spends at least eight hours each day in your house-
hold.

You may include expenses incurred for qualified
dependent care centers as employment-related ex-
penses. The dependent care center must comply
with all applicable laws, rules, and regulations of
Hawaii if the center is located within the jurisdiction
of Hawaii. If the center is located outside Hawaii,
the center must comply with all applicable laws,
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rules, and regulations of the jurisdiction in which the
center is located. Furthermore, these centers must
provide care for more than six individuals (other than
individuals who reside at the center), and must
receive a fee, payment, or grant providing services
for any of the individuals (regardless of whether
such center is operated for profit).

Note: Payments made to the State of Hawaii A+
Program qualify for the credit.

Medical Expenses. — Some dependent care
expenses may qualify as medical expenses. If you
itemize deductions, you may wantto take all or part
of these medical expenses on Schedule A (Form
N-12). If you cannot use all the medical expenses
on Form N-141 because of the dollar limit or earned
income limit (explained later), you can take the rest
of these expenses on Schedule A. But if you deduct
the medical expenses first on Schedule A, you
cannot use any part of these expenses on Form
N-141.

Special Rules.

(1) Married Couples Must File Joint Returns — If
you are married at the end of the taxable year, the
credit for employment-related expenses is allow-
able only if you and your spouse file a joint return
for the taxable year.

(2) Marital Status. — If you are legally separated
from your spouse under a decree of divorce or
separate maintenance, you are not considered mar-
ried.

(3) Certain Married Individuals Living Apart and
Filing Separate Returns. — If during the last 6
months of the taxable year your spouse was not a
member of your household and you (I) maintained
a household which was for more than one-half of
the taxable year the principal place of abode of a
qualifying individual, and (Il) furnished over half of
the cost of maintaining such household during the
taxable year, then you are not considered married
for purposes of the credit or the exclusion.

(4) Children of Divorced or Separated Parents. —
If you were divorced, legally separated, or lived
apart from your spouse during the last 6 months of
1994, you may be able to claim the credit even if
your child is not your dependent. If your child is not
your dependent, he or she is a qualifying person if
all five of the following apply:

1. You had custody of the child for the longer
period during the year; and

2. The child received over half of his or her support
from one or both of the parents; and

3. The child was in the custody of one or both of
the parents over half of the year; and

4. The child was under age 13, or was physically
or mentally unable to care for himself or herself;
and

5. The child is not your dependent because:

a. As the custodial parent, you have signed
federal Form 8332, Release of Claim to Ex-
emption for Child of Divorced or Separated
Parents, or a similar statement, agreeing not
to claim the child’s exemption for 1994; or

b. You were divorced or separated before 1985
and your divorce decree or written agreement
states that the other parent can claim the
child’s exemption, and the other parent pro-
vides at least $600 in child support during the
year. Note: This rule does not apply if your
decree or agreement was changed after 1984
to specify that the other parent cannot claim
the child’s exemption.

(5) Payments to a Related Individual. — You can

count work-related expenses you pay to relatives
who are not your dependents, even if they live in

your home. However, do not count any amounts you

pay to:

1. A dependent for whom you (or your spouse if
you are married) can claim an exemption, or

2. Your child who is under age 19 at the end of the
year, even if he or she is not your dependent.

Specific Instructions

We have provided specific instructions for most
of the lines on the form. Those lines that do not
appear in the instructions are self-explanatory.

Part .
Line 1.

Complete columns (a) through (e) for each person
or organization that provided the care. If you do not
give the information asked for in each column, or if
the information you give is not correct, your credit
and, if applicable, the exclusion of employer-pro-
vided dependent care benefits may be disallowed.

You can use Form HW-16, “Dependent Care
Provider’s Identification and Certification”, to get the
correct information from the care provider. (This
form is available at your District Tax Office.) If the
provider does not comply with your request to certify
the information, complete the entries you can, such
as the provider's name and address. Write “See
attached” in the columns for which you do not have
the provider’s certification of information. Attach a
statement that you requested the information from
the care provider, but the provider did not comply
with your request. You must keep records to show
that you exercised due diligence in attempting to
provide the required information. For more details,
including what is considered “due diligence,” see
federal Publication 503.

Columns (a) and (b). — Enter the care provider's
name and address. If you were covered by your
employer’s dependent care plan and your employer
furnished the care (either at your workplace or by
hiring a care provider), enter your employer's name
in column (a), write “See HW-2" in column (b), and
leave columns (c) through (e) blank. But if your
employer paid a third party (not hired by your em-
ployer) on your behalf to provide the care, you must
give information on the third party in columns (a)
through (e).

Column (c). — If the care provider is an individ-
ual, enter his or her social security number (SSN).
For other than an individual, enter provider's em-
ployer identification number (EIN). If the provider is
a tax-exempt organization, enter “Tax-Exempt”. If
the care provider is located outside Hawaii and does
not have a taxpayer identification number, provide
a statement that the care provider is located outside
Hawaii and that the taxpayer identification number
is not required.

Column (d). — Enter the care provider’s general
excise tax license number. If the provider is a tax-
exempt organization of the type described in IRC
section 501(c)(3) (one organized and operated ex-
clusively for religious, charitable, scientific, testing
for public safety, literary, or educational purposes,
or for the prevention of cruelty to children or ani-
mals.), enter “Tax-Exempt”. If the care provider is
located outside Hawaii, provide a statement that the
care provider is located outside Hawaii and that the
general excise tax license number is not required.

Column (e). — Enter the total amount you actu-
ally paid in 1994 to the care provider. Also include
amounts your employer paid on your behalf to a
third party. It does not matter when the expenses
were incurred. Do not reduce this amount by any
reimbursement you received.



Part II.

Line 4. Qualified Expenses. — On line 4 enter
the amount of qualified child and dependent care
expenses you incurred and actually paid in 1994.
Note: Do not include on line 4 qualified expenses
that you incurred in 1994 but did not pay until 1995.
Instead, you may be entitled to increase the amount
of your 1995 credit when you pay the 1994 expense
in 1995.

Line 5 and 6. Earned Income Limit. — The
amount of your qualified expenses cannot be more
than your earned income or, if married filing a joint
return, the smaller of your earned income or your
spouse’s earned income.In general, earned income
is wages, salaries, tips, and other employee com-
pensation. It also includes net earnings from self-
employment.

Unmarried taxpayers. — If you are unmarried at
the end of 1994 or are treated as being unmarried
at the end of the year, enter your earned income on
line 5.

Married Taxpayers. — If you are married, filing
a joint return, figure each spouse’s earned income
separately and disregard community property laws.
Enter your earned income on line 5 and your
spouse’s earned income on line 6.

Spouse Who Is a Full-time Student or Is Dis-
abled. — If your spouse was a full-time student or
was mentally or physically unable to care for himself
or herself, figure your spouse’s earned income on
a monthly basis to determine your spouse’s earned
income for the year. For each month that your
spouse was disabled or a full-time student, your
spouse is considered to have earned income of not
less than $200 a month ($400 a month if more than
one qualifying person was cared for in 1994). But if

your spouse also worked during any month and
earned more than that amount, use his or her actual
earned income.

For any month that your spouse was not disabled
or a full-time student, use your spouse’s actual
earned income if your spouse worked during the
month.

If, in the same month, both you and your spouse
were full-time students and did not work, you cannot
use any amount paid that month to figure the credit.
The same applies to a couple who did not work
because neither was capable of self-care.

A full-time student is one who was enrolled in a
school for the number of hours or classes that is
considered full time. The student must have been
enrolled at least 5 months during 1994.

Self-employment Income. — You must reduce
your earned income by any loss from self-employ-
ment. If you only have aloss from self-employment,
or your loss is more than your other earned income
you cannot take the credit.

Line 10. —If you had qualified expenses for 1993
that you did not pay until 1994, you may be able to
increase the amount of credit you can take in 1994.
To do this, multiply the 1993 expenses you paid in
1994 by the applicable percentage from your 1993
Form N-141 table on line 13 that applies to the
adjusted gross income shown on your 1993 Form
N-12, line 32, or Form N-13, line 11. Your 1993
expenses must be within the 1993 limits. Attach a
computation showing how you figured the increase.
Ifyou can take a credit for your 1993 expenses, write
"PYE" and the amount of the credit on the dotted
line next to line 10. Enter the total amount of the
credit on line 10.

Part Ill.

Line 11. — Enter the total amount of employer-
paid dependent care benefits for 1994, under IRC
section 129, Dependent Care Assistance Program.

Line 12. —Ifyou participated in an employee plan
in which the amount you contributed to an employer-
paid dependent care benefit plan was deducted
from your income, and you did not receive the full
benefit from this plan, you may be entitled to deduct
the amount forfeited on this line. (See your em-
ployer for the forfeited amount you are allowed to
deduct.)

Line 14. —Enter the amount of qualified child and
dependent care expenses you incurred in 1994,
This includes qualified expenses that you incurred
in 1994, but did not pay until 1995.

Lines 16 and 17. — For purposes of Part Ill,
“earned income” shall not include any amounts paid
or incurred by an employer for dependent care
assistance to an employee.

Note: The earned income amounts for Parts Il

and Il may be different.

Line 17. — If your filing status is married filing
separately, see Certain Married Individuals Living
Apartand Filing Separate Returns earlier. If you are
considered unmarried under that rule, enter your
earned income (from line 16) on line 17. Online 19,
enter the smaller of the amount from line 18 or
$5,000. If you are not considered unmarried under
that rule, enter your spouse’s earned income on line
17. If your spouse was a student or disabled in
1994, see the Instructions for Part Il, lines 5 and 6.
On line 19, enter the smaller of the amount from line
18 or $2,500.

1994
TAX TABLE
AND

TAX RATE SCHEDULES
FOR INDIVIDUALS

TAX TABLE MUST BE USED BY
PERSONS WITH TAXABLE INCOME
OF LESS THAN $100,000.
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1994 Hawali Tax Table xinrmane e

incomes of less than

$100,000
Example: Mr. & Mrs. Brown are filing a joint return. Their taxable income on line 37 is |e§tst ESL S,\',E,I,?e(ér N}ﬁirn”;d 'j,?aad
$23,270. First, they find the $23,250 - 23,300 income line. Next, they find the column for than filing jointly house-
married filing jointly and read down the column. The amount shown where the income f:lFe’la * hold
line and filing status column meet is $1,549. This is the tax amount they must write on Y
line 38 of their return. 23,200 23,250 1,860 1,545 1,695
23250 23,300 1,865 1,549 1,700
23300 23,350 1,870 1,553 1,705
If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are —
income) is — ncome) is — ihcome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But $ingle or Married fead
least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi  ling ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly house- than filing jointly hotise-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your taxis —
0 25 0 0 0] 2500 2,550 72 51 61 5,000
25 50 1 1 1 2,550 2,600 75 52 63
50 100 2 2 2| 2600 2,650 78 53 66 2'838 2"1’88 %ﬁ ﬁ‘é igg
100 150 3 3 3 2,650 2,700 81 54 68 5'100 5'150 548 148 501
150 200 4 4 4 2,700 2,750 84 55 70 ’ )
200 250 5 5 5 5,150 5,200 251 151 204
2750 2800 87 56 72 5,200 5,250 255 154 207
250 300 6 6 6 2,800 2,850 90 57 75
300 350 7 7 7| 25850 2,900 93 58 77 | 5250 5300 259 157 210
350 400 8 8 8| 2900 2,950 96 59 79 gvggg gvigg 222 igg %g
400 450 9 9 9 2,950 3,000 99 60 81 ’ )
450 500 10 10 10 5,400 5,450 270 166 219
3,000 5,450 5,500 273 169 222
500 550 11 11 11 3,000 3,050 102 61 84
550 600 12 12 12 3,050 3,100 105 63 86 5,500 5,550 277 172 225
600 650 13 13 13 3,100 3,150 108 65 88 5,550 5,600 281 175 228
o0 Mo 1 1 w| 3o sa®  mo o | OO sew % 4p o
3,200 3,250 114 69 93 ) )
700 750 15 15 15 5,700 5,750 293 184 239
750 800 16 16 16 3,250 3,300 117 71 95
800 850 17 17 17 3,300 3,350 120 73 97 5,750 5,800 297 187 243
850 900 18 18 18 3,350 3,400 123 75 99 5,800 5,850 301 190 247
%% B 1w mlameode donom o R R &
3,450 3,500 129 79 104 ) )
950 1,000 20 20 20 5,950 6,000 313 199 257
1,000 3500 3,550 132 81 106 6.000
1,000 1,050 21 21 21 3,550 3,600 135 83 109
1,050 1,100 22 22 22 | 3600 3,650 139 85 112 2’838 g'(l)gg gﬂ %8% ggé
1,100 1,150 23 23 23 3,650 3,700 143 87 115 ’ ’
1,150 1,200 24 24 24 | 3700 3750 146 89 118 | 6100 6,150 325 208 268
1,200 1250 25 25 25 6,150 6,200 329 211 272
' ' 3.750 3800 150 91 121 6,200 6,250 333 214 276
1,250 1,300 26 26 26 3,800 3,850 154 93 124
1,300 1,350 27 27 27 | 3850 3,900 157 95 127 gggg g'ggg 2‘3& %% %g
1,350 1,400 28 28 28 3,900 3,950 161 97 130 6’350 6’400 345 293 536
1,400 1,450 29 29 29 3,950 4,000 164 99 133 ’ ’
1.450 1500 30 30 30 6,400 6,450 349 226 290
' ' 4,000 6,450 6,500 353 229 294
1,500 1,550 31 31 31 4,000 4,050 168 101 136
1550 1,600 33 32 32 | 4050 4,100 172 103 139 | 6500 6550 357 232 297
1,600 1,650 35 33 34 | 4100 4,150 175 105 142 | 6550 6,600 361 235 301
1650 1.700 37 34 35 | 4,150 4,200 179 107 145 g'ggg 2’?88 ggg %2? ggg
4,200 4,250 183 109 148 ) )
1,700 1,750 39 35 37 6,700 6,750 373 244 312
1,750 1,800 41 36 38 4,250 4,300 186 111 151
1,800 1.850 43 37 40 | 4300 4,350 190 113 154 | 6750 6,800 377 247 315
1.850 1,900 45 38 41 | 4350 4,400 193 115 157 | 6800 6,850 381 250 319
1,900 1,950 47 39 43 | 4,400 4,450 197 117 160 g'ggg g'ggg ggg %gg ggg
4,450 4,500 201 119 163 ) )
1,950 2,000 49 40 44 6,950 7,000 393 259 330
2,000 4500 4,550 204 121 165
2,000 2,050 51 41 46 4,550 4,600 208 123 168
2,050 2,100 53 42 47 4,600 4,650 212 125 171
2,100 2,150 55 43 49 4,650 4,700 215 127 174
2,150 2,200 57 44 50 4,700 4,750 219 129 177
2,200 2,250 59 45 52
4,750 4,800 222 131 180
2,250 2,300 61 46 53 4,800 4,850 226 133 183
2,300 2,350 63 47 55 4,850 4,900 230 135 186
2,350 2,400 65 48 56 4,900 4,950 233 137 189
2,400 2,450 67 49 58 4,950 5,000 237 139 192
2,450 2,500 69 50 59
*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er) Continued on next page
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — Income) is — ihcome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But ISingle or Married Head At But Simgle or Mgrried Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi  ling ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly hpuse- than fling joirptly houge-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your taxis —

7,000 10,000 13,000
7,000 7,050 397 262 334 | 10,000 10,050 637 479 551 | 13,000 13,050 896 712 796
7,050 7,100 401 265 337 | 10,050 10,100 641 483 555 | 13,050 13,100 900 716 800
7,100 7,150 405 269 341 | 10,100 10,150 645 487 558 | 13,100 13,150 905 720 805
7,150 7,200 409 273 344 | 10,150 10,200 649 490 562 | 13,150 13,200 909 724 809
7,200 7,250 413 276 348 | 10,200 10,250 653 494 566 | 13,200 13,250 913 728 813
7,250 7,300 417 280 352 | 10,250 10,300 657 497 569 | 13,250 13,300 918 732 817
7,300 7,350 421 284 355 | 10,300 10,350 661 501 573 | 13,300 13,350 922 736 822
7,350 7,400 425 287 359 | 10,350 10,400 665 505 576 | 13,350 13,400 927 740 826
7,400 7,450 429 291 363 | 10,400 10,450 669 508 580 | 13,400 13,450 931 744 830
7,450 7,500 433 294 366 | 10,450 10,500 673 512 584 | 13,450 13,500 935 748 835
7,500 7,550 437 298 370 | 10,500 10,550 677 516 587 | 13,500 13,550 940 752 839
7,550 7,600 441 302 373 | 10,550 10,600 682 519 591 | 13,550 13,600 944 756 843
7,600 7,650 445 305 377 | 10,600 10,650 686 523 595 | 13,600 13,650 948 760 848
7,650 7,700 449 309 381 | 10,650 10,700 690 526 598 | 13,650 13,700 953 764 852
7,700 7,750 453 313 384 | 10,700 10,750 695 530 602 | 13,700 13,750 957 768 856
7,750 7,800 457 316 388 | 10,750 10,800 699 534 605 | 13,750 13,800 962 772 860
7,800 7,850 461 320 392 | 10,800 10,850 703 537 609 | 13,800 13,850 966 776 865
7,850 7,900 465 323 395 | 10,850 10,900 708 541 613 | 13,850 13,900 970 780 869
7,900 7,950 469 327 399 | 10,900 10,950 712 545 616 | 13,900 13,950 975 784 873
7,950 8,000 473 331 402 | 10,950 11,000 717 548 620 | 13,950 14,000 979 788 878

8,000 11,000 14,000
8,000 8,050 477 334 406 | 11,000 11,050 721 552 624 | 14,000 14,050 983 792 882
8,050 8,100 481 338 410 | 11,050 11,100 725 556 628 | 14,050 14,100 988 796 886
8,100 8,150 485 342 413 | 11,100 11,150 730 560 633 | 14,100 14,150 992 800 891
8,150 8,200 489 345 417 | 11,150 11,200 734 564 637 | 14,150 14,200 997 804 895
8,200 8,250 493 349 421 | 11,200 11,250 738 568 641 | 14,200 14,250 1,001 808 899
8,250 8,300 497 352 424 | 11,250 11,300 743 572 645 | 14,250 14,300 1,005 812 903
8,300 8,350 501 356 428 | 11,300 11,350 747 576 650 | 14,300 14,350 1,010 816 908
8,350 8,400 505 360 431 | 11,350 11,400 752 580 654 | 14,350 14,400 1,014 820 912
8,400 8,450 509 363 435 | 11,400 11,450 756 584 658 | 14,400 14,450 1,018 824 916
8,450 8,500 513 367 439 | 11,450 11,500 760 588 663 | 14,450 14,500 1,023 828 921
8,500 8,550 517 371 442 | 11,500 11,550 765 592 667 | 14,500 14,550 1,027 832 925
8,550 8,600 521 374 446 | 11,550 11,600 769 596 671 | 14,550 14,600 1,032 836 929
8,600 8,650 525 378 450 | 11,600 11,650 773 600 676 | 14,600 14,650 1,036 840 934
8,650 8,700 529 381 453 | 11,650 11,700 778 604 680 | 14,650 14,700 1,040 844 938
8,700 8,750 533 385 457 | 11,700 11,750 782 608 684 | 14,700 14,750 1,045 848 942
8,750 8,800 537 389 460 | 11,750 11,800 787 612 688 | 14,750 14,800 1,049 852 946
8,800 8,850 541 392 464 | 11,800 11,850 791 616 693 | 14,800 14,850 1,053 856 951
8,850 8,900 545 396 468 | 11,850 11,900 795 620 697 | 14,850 14,900 1,058 860 955
8,900 8,950 549 400 471 | 11,900 11,950 800 624 701 | 14,900 14,950 1,062 864 959
8,950 9,000 553 403 475 | 11,950 12,000 804 628 706 | 14,950 15,000 1,067 868 964

9,000 12,000 15,000
9,000 9,050 557 407 479 | 12,000 12,050 808 632 710 | 15,000 15,050 1,071 872 968
9,060 9,100 561 410 482 | 12,050 12,100 813 636 714 | 15,050 15,100 1,075 876 972
9,100 9,150 565 414 486 | 12,100 12,150 817 640 719 | 15,100 15,150 1,080 880 977
9,150 9,200 569 418 489 | 12,150 12,200 822 644 723 | 15,150 15,200 1,084 884 981
9,200 9,250 573 421 493 | 12,200 12,250 826 648 727 | 15,200 15,250 1,088 888 985
9,250 9,300 577 425 497 | 12,250 12,300 830 652 731 | 15,250 15,300 1,093 892 989
9,300 9,350 581 429 500 | 12,300 12,350 835 656 736 | 15,300 15,350 1,097 896 994
9,350 9,400 585 432 504 | 12,350 12,400 839 660 740 | 15,350 15,400 1,102 900 998
9,400 9,450 589 436 508 | 12,400 12,450 843 664 744 | 15,400 15,450 1,106 904 1,002
9,450 9,500 593 439 511 | 12,450 12,500 848 668 749 | 15,450 15,500 1,110 908 1,007
9,500 9,550 597 443 515 | 12,500 12,550 852 672 753 | 15,500 15,550 1,115 912 1,011
9,550 9,600 601 447 518 | 12,550 12,600 857 676 757 | 15,550 15,600 1,120 916 1,015
9,600 9,650 605 450 522 | 12,600 12,650 861 680 762 | 15,600 15,650 1,124 920 1,020
9,650 9,700 609 454 526 | 12,650 12,700 865 684 766 | 15,650 15,700 1,129 924 1,024
9,700 9,750 613 458 529 | 12,700 12,750 870 688 770 | 15,700 15,750 1,134 928 1,028
9,750 9,800 617 461 533 | 12,750 12,800 874 692 774 | 15,750 15,800 1,139 932 1,032
9,800 9,850 621 465 537 | 12,800 12,850 878 696 779 | 15,800 15,850 1,143 936 1,037
9,850 9,900 625 468 540 | 12,850 12,900 883 700 783 | 15,850 15,900 1,148 940 1,041
9,900 9,950 629 472 544 | 12,900 12,950 887 704 787 | 15,900 15,950 1,153 944 1,045
9,950 10,000 633 476 547 | 12,950 13,000 892 708 792 | 15,950 16,000 1,158 948 1,050

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — ncome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or arried Head
least less Married fi ling ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi ling ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly ouse- than filing jojntly holfise-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your taxis — Your tax is — Your taxis —
16,000 19,000 22,000
16,000 16,050 1,162 952 1,054 | 19,000 19,050 1,447 1,192 1,312 | 22,000 22,050 1,740 1,440 1,580
16,050 16,100 1,167 956 1,058 | 19,050 19,100 1,452 1,196 1,316 | 22,050 22,100 1,745 1,444 1,585
16,100 16,150 1,172 960 1,063 | 19,100 19,150 1,457 1,200 1,321 | 22,100 22,150 1,750 1,448 1,590
16,150 16,200 1,177 964 1,067 | 19,150 19,200 1,462 1,204 1,325 | 22,150 22,200 1,755 1,453 1,595
16,200 16,250 1,181 968 1,071 | 19,200 19,250 1,466 1,208 1,329 | 22,200 22,250 1,760 1,457 1,599
16,250 16,300 1,186 972 1,075 | 19,250 19,300 1,471 1,212 1,333 | 22,250 22,300 1,765 1,462 1,604
16,300 16,350 1,191 976 1,080 | 19,300 19,350 1,476 1,216 1,338 | 22,300 22,350 1,770 1,466 1,609
16,350 16,400 1,196 980 1,084 | 19,350 19,400 1,481 1,220 1,342 | 22,350 22,400 1,775 1,470 1,614
16,400 16,450 1,200 984 1,088 | 19,400 19,450 1,485 1,224 1,346 | 22,400 22,450 1,780 1,475 1,619
16,450 16,500 1,205 988 1,093 | 19,450 19,500 1,490 1,228 1,351 | 22,450 22,500 1,785 1,479 1,623
16,500 16,550 1,210 992 1,097 | 19,500 19,550 1,495 1,232 1,355 | 22,500 22,550 1,790 1,483 1,628
16,550 16,600 1,215 996 1,101 | 19,550 19,600 1,500 1,236 1,359 | 22,550 22,600 1,795 1,488 1,633
16,600 16,650 1,219 1,000 1,106 | 19,600 19,650 1,504 1,240 1,364 | 22,600 22,650 1,800 1,492 1,638
16,650 16,700 1,224 1,004 1,110 | 19,650 19,700 1,509 1,244 1,368 | 22,650 22,700 1,805 1,497 1,643
16,700 16,750 1,229 1,008 1,114 | 19,700 19,750 1,514 1,248 1,372 | 22,700 22,750 1,810 1,501 1,647
16,750 16,800 1,234 1,012 1,118
19,750 19,800 1,519 1,252 1,376 | 22,750 22,800 1,815 1,505 1,652
16,800 16,850 1,238 1,016 1,123 | 19,800 19,850 1,523 1,256 1,381 | 22,800 22,850 1,820 1,510 1,657
16,850 16,900 1,243 1,020 1,127 | 19,850 19,900 1,528 1,260 1,385 | 22,850 22,900 1,825 1,514 1,662
16,900 16,950 1,248 1,024 1,131 | 19,900 19,950 1,533 1,264 1,389 | 22,900 22,950 1,830 1,518 1,667
16,950 17,000 1,253 1,028 1,136 | 19,950 20,000 1,538 1,268 1,394 | 22,950 23,000 1,835 1,523 1,671
17,000 20,000 23,000
17,000 17,050 1,257 1,032 1,140 | 20,000 20,050 1,542 1,272 1,398 | 23,000 23,050 1,840 1,527 1,676
17,050 17,100 1,262 1,036 1,144 | 20,050 20,100 1,547 1,276 1,402 | 23,050 23,100 1,845 1,532 1,681
17,100 17,150 1,267 1,040 1,149 | 20,100 20,150 1,552 1,280 1,407 | 23,100 23,150 1,850 1,536 1,686
17,150 17,200 1,272 1,044 1,153 | 20,150 20,200 1,557 1,284 1,411 | 23,150 23,200 1,855 1,540 1,691
17,200 17,250 1,276 1,048 1,157 | 20,200 20,250 1,561 1,288 1,415 | 23,200 23,250 1,860 1,545 1,695
17,250 17,300 1,281 1,052 1,161 | 20,250 20,300 1,566 1,292 1,419 | 23,250 23,300 1,865 1,549 1,700
17,300 17,350 1,286 1,056 1,166 | 20,300 20,350 1,571 1,296 1,424 | 23,300 23,350 1,870 1,553 1,705
17,350 17,400 1,291 1,060 1,170 | 20,350 20,400 1,576 1,300 1,428 | 23,350 23,400 1,875 1,558 1,710
17,400 17,450 1,295 1,064 1,174 | 20,400 20,450 1,580 1,304 1,432 | 23,400 23,450 1,880 1,562 1,715
17,450 17,500 1,300 1,068 1,179 | 20,450 20,500 1,585 1,308 1,437 | 23,450 23,500 1,885 1,567 1,719
17,500 17,550 1,305 1,072 1,183 | 20,500 20,550 1,590 1,312 1,441 | 23,500 23,550 1,890 1,571 1,724
17,550 17,600 1,310 1,076 1,187 | 20,550 20,600 1,595 1,316 1,445 | 23,550 23,600 1,895 1,575 1,729
17,600 17,650 1,314 1,080 1,192 | 20,600 20,650 1,600 1,320 1,450 | 23,600 23,650 1,900 1,580 1,734
17,650 17,700 1,319 1,084 1,196 | 20,650 20,700 1,605 1,324 1,454 | 23,650 23,700 1,905 1,584 1,739
17,700 17,750 1,324 1,088 1,200 | 20,700 20,750 1,610 1,328 1,458 | 23,700 23,750 1,910 1,588 1,743
17,750 17,800 1,329 1,092 1,204 | 20,750 20,800 1,615 1,332 1,462 | 23,750 23,800 1,915 1,593 1,748
17,800 17,850 1,333 1,096 1,209 | 20,800 20,850 1,620 1,336 1,467 | 23,800 23,850 1,920 1,597 1,753
17,850 17,900 1,338 1,100 1,213 | 20,850 20,900 1,625 1,340 1,471 | 23,850 23,900 1,925 1,602 1,758
17,900 17,950 1,343 1,104 1,217 | 20,900 20,950 1,630 1,344 1,475 | 23,900 23,950 1,930 1,606 1,763
17,950 18,000 1,348 1,108 1,222 | 20,950 21,000 1,635 1,348 1,480 | 23,950 24,000 1,935 1,610 1,767
18,000 21,000 24,000
18,000 18,050 1,352 1,112 1,226 | 21,000 21,050 1,640 1,352 1,484 | 24,000 24,050 1,940 1,615 1,772
18,050 18,100 1,357 1,116 1,230 | 21,050 21,100 1,645 1,357 1,489 | 24,050 24,100 1,945 1,619 1,777
18,100 18,150 1,362 1,120 1,235 | 21,100 21,150 1,650 1,361 1,494 | 24,100 24,150 1,950 1,623 1,782
18,150 18,200 1,367 1,124 1,239 | 21,150 21,200 1,655 1,365 1,499 | 24,150 24,200 1,955 1,628 1,787
18,200 18,250 1,371 1,128 1,243 | 21,200 21,250 1,660 1,370 1,503 | 24,200 24,250 1,960 1,632 1,791
18,250 18,300 1,376 1,132 1,247 | 21,250 21,300 1,665 1,374 1,508 | 24,250 24,300 1,965 1,637 1,796
18,300 18,350 1,381 1,136 1,252 | 21,300 21,350 1,670 1,378 1,513 | 24,300 24,350 1,970 1,641 1,801
18,350 18,400 1,386 1,140 1,256 | 21,350 21,400 1,675 1,383 1,518 | 24,350 24,400 1,975 1,645 1,806
18,400 18,450 1,390 1,144 1,260 | 21,400 21,450 1,680 1,387 1,523 | 24,400 24,450 1,980 1,650 1,811
18,450 18,500 1,395 1,148 1,265 | 21,450 21,500 1,685 1,392 1,527 | 24,450 24,500 1,985 1,654 1,815
18,500 18,550 1,400 1,152 1,269 | 21,500 21,550 1,690 1,396 1,532 | 24,500 24,550 1,990 1,658 1,820
18,550 18,600 1,405 1,156 1,273 | 21,550 21,600 1,695 1,400 1,537 | 24,550 24,600 1,995 1,663 1,825
18,600 18,650 1,409 1,160 1,278 | 21,600 21,650 1,700 1,405 1,542 | 24,600 24,650 2,000 1,667 1,830
18,650 18,700 1,414 1,164 1,282 | 21,650 21,700 1,705 1,409 1,547 | 24,650 24,700 2,005 1,672 1,835
18,700 18,750 1,419 1,168 1,286 | 21,700 21,750 1,710 1,413 1,551 | 24,700 24,750 2,010 1,676 1,839
18,750 18,800 1,424 1,172 1,290 | 21,750 21,800 1,715 1,418 1,556 | 24,750 24,800 2,015 1,680 1,844
18,800 18,850 1,428 1,176 1,295 | 21,800 21,850 1,720 1,422 1,561 | 24,800 24,850 2,020 1,685 1,849
18,850 18,900 1,433 1,180 1,299 | 21,850 21,900 1,725 1,427 1,566 | 24,850 24,900 2,025 1,689 1,854
18,900 18,950 1,438 1,184 1,303 | 21,900 21,950 1,730 1,431 1,571 | 24,900 24,950 2,030 1,693 1,859
18,950 19,000 1,443 1,188 1,308 | 21,950 22,000 1,735 1,435 1,575 | 24,950 25,000 2,035 1,698 1,863

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — Income) is — ihcome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But ISingle or Married Head At But Simgle or Mgrried Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi  ling ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly hpuse- than fling joirptly houge-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your taxis —
25,000 28,000 31,000
25,000 25,050 2,040 1,702 1,868 | 28,000 28,050 2,340 1,965 2,156 | 31,000 31,050 2,640 2,227 2,444
25,050 25,100 2,045 1,707 1,873 | 28,050 28,100 2,345 1,969 2,161 | 31,050 31,100 2,645 2,232 2,449
25,100 25,150 2,050 1,711 1,878 | 28,100 28,150 2,350 1,973 2,166 | 31,100 31,150 2,650 2,237 2,454
25,150 25,200 2,055 1,715 1,883 | 28,150 28,200 2,355 1,978 2,171 | 31,150 31,200 2,655 2,242 2,459
25,200 25,250 2,060 1,720 1,887 | 28,200 28,250 2,360 1,982 2,175 | 31,200 31,250 2,660 2,246 2,463
25,250 25,300 2,065 1,724 1,892 | 28,250 28,300 2,365 1,987 2,180 | 31,250 31,300 2,665 2,251 2,468
25,300 25,350 2,070 1,728 1,897 | 28,300 28,350 2,370 1,991 2,185 | 31,300 31,350 2,670 2,256 2,473
25,350 25,400 2,075 1,733 1,902 | 28,350 28,400 2,375 1,995 2,190 | 31,350 31,400 2,675 2,261 2,478
25,400 25,450 2,080 1,737 1,907 | 28,400 28,450 2,380 2,000 2,195 | 31,400 31,450 2,680 2,265 2,483
25,450 25,500 2,085 1,742 1,911 | 28,450 28,500 2,385 2,004 2,199 | 31,450 31,500 2,685 2,270 2,487
25,500 25,550 2,090 1,746 1,916 | 28,500 28,550 2,390 2,008 2,204 | 31,500 31,550 2,690 2,275 2,492
25,550 25,600 2,095 1,750 1,921 | 28,550 28,600 2,395 2,013 2,209 | 31,550 31,600 2,695 2,280 2,497
25,600 25,650 2,100 1,755 1,926 | 28,600 28,650 2,400 2,017 2,214 | 31,600 31,650 2,700 2,284 2,502
25,650 25,700 2,105 1,759 1,931 | 28,650 28,700 2,405 2,022 2,219 | 31,650 31,700 2,705 2,289 2,507
25,700 25,750 2,110 1,763 1,935 | 28,700 28,750 2,410 2,026 2,223 | 31,700 31,750 2,710 2,294 2,511
25,750 25,800 2,115 1,768 1,940 | 28,750 28,800 2,415 2,030 2,228 | 31,750 31,800 2,715 2,299 2,516
25,800 25,850 2,120 1,772 1,945 | 28,800 28,850 2,420 2,035 2,233 | 31,800 31,850 2,720 2,303 2,521
25,850 25,900 2,125 1,777 1,950 | 28,850 28,900 2,425 2,039 2,238 | 31,850 31,900 2,725 2,308 2,526
25,900 25,950 2,130 1,781 1,955 | 28,900 28,950 2,430 2,043 2,243 | 31,900 31,950 2,730 2,313 2,531
25,950 26,000 2,135 1,785 1,959 | 28,950 29,000 2,435 2,048 2,247 | 31,950 32,000 2,735 2,318 2,535
26,000 29,000 32,000
26,000 26,050 2,140 1,790 1,964 | 29,000 29,050 2,440 2,052 2,252 | 32,000 32,050 2,740 2,322 2,540
26,050 26,100 2,145 1,794 1,969 | 29,050 29,100 2,445 2,057 2,257 | 32,050 32,100 2,745 2,327 2,545
26,100 26,150 2,150 1,798 1,974 | 29,100 29,150 2,450 2,061 2,262 | 32,100 32,150 2,750 2,332 2,550
26,150 26,200 2,155 1,803 1,979 | 29,150 29,200 2,455 2,065 2,267 | 32,150 32,200 2,755 2,337 2,555
26,200 26,250 2,160 1,807 1,983 | 29,200 29,250 2,460 2,070 2,271 | 32,200 32,250 2,760 2,341 2,559
26,250 26,300 2,165 1,812 1,988 | 29,250 29,300 2,465 2,074 2,276 | 32,250 32,300 2,765 2,346 2,564
26,300 26,350 2,170 1,816 1,993 | 29,300 29,350 2,470 2,078 2,281 | 32,300 32,350 2,770 2,351 2,569
26,350 26,400 2,175 1,820 1,998 | 29,350 29,400 2,475 2,083 2,286 | 32,350 32,400 2,775 2,356 2,574
26,400 26,450 2,180 1,825 2,003 | 29,400 29,450 2,480 2,087 2,291 | 32,400 32,450 2,780 2,360 2,579
26,450 26,500 2,185 1,829 2,007 | 29,450 29,500 2,485 2,092 2,295 | 32,450 32,500 2,785 2,365 2,583
26,500 26,550 2,190 1,833 2,012 | 29,500 29,550 2,490 2,096 2,300 | 32,500 32,550 2,790 2,370 2,588
26,550 26,600 2,195 1,838 2,017 | 29,550 29,600 2,495 2,100 2,305 | 32,550 32,600 2,795 2,375 2,593
26,600 26,650 2,200 1,842 2,022 | 29,600 29,650 2,500 2,105 2,310 | 32,600 32,650 2,800 2,379 2,598
26,650 26,700 2,205 1,847 2,027 | 29,650 29,700 2,505 2,109 2,315 | 32,650 32,700 2,805 2,384 2,603
26,700 26,750 2,210 1,851 2,031 | 29,700 29,750 2,510 2,113 2,319 | 32,700 32,750 2,810 2,389 2,607
26,750 26,800 2,215 1,855 2,036 | 29,750 29,800 2,515 2,118 2,324 | 32,750 32,800 2,815 2,394 2,612
26,800 26,850 2,220 1,860 2,041 | 29,800 29,850 2,520 2,122 2,329 | 32,800 32,850 2,820 2,398 2,617
26,850 26,900 2,225 1,864 2,046 | 29,850 29,900 2,525 2,127 2,334 | 32,850 32,900 2,825 2,403 2,622
26,900 26,950 2,230 1,868 2,051 | 29,900 29,950 2,530 2,131 2,339 | 32,900 32,950 2,830 2,408 2,627
26,950 27,000 2,235 1,873 2,055 | 29,950 30,000 2,535 2,135 2,343 | 32,950 33,000 2,835 2,413 2,631
27,000 30,000 33,000
27,000 27,050 2,240 1,877 2,060 | 30,000 30,050 2,540 2,140 2,348 | 33,000 33,050 2,840 2,417 2,636
27,050 27,100 2,245 1,882 2,065 | 30,050 30,100 2,545 2,144 2,353 | 33,050 33,100 2,845 2,422 2,641
27,100 27,150 2,250 1,886 2,070 | 30,100 30,150 2,550 2,148 2,358 | 33,100 33,150 2,850 2,427 2,646
27,150 27,200 2,255 1,890 2,075 | 30,150 30,200 2,555 2,153 2,363 | 33,150 33,200 2,855 2,432 2,651
27,200 27,250 2,260 1,895 2,079 | 30,200 30,250 2,560 2,157 2,367 | 33,200 33,250 2,860 2,436 2,655
27,250 27,300 2,265 1,899 2,084 | 30,250 30,300 2,565 2,162 2,372 | 33,250 33,300 2,865 2,441 2,660
27,300 27,350 2,270 1,903 2,089 | 30,300 30,350 2,570 2,166 2,377 | 33,300 33,350 2,870 2,446 2,665
27,350 27,400 2,275 1,908 2,094 | 30,350 30,400 2,575 2,170 2,382 | 33,350 33,400 2,875 2,451 2,670
27,400 27,450 2,280 1,912 2,099 | 30,400 30,450 2,580 2,175 2,387 | 33,400 33,450 2,880 2,455 2,675
27,450 27,500 2,285 1,917 2,103 | 30,450 30,500 2,585 2,179 2,391 | 33,450 33,500 2,885 2,460 2,679
27,500 27,550 2,290 1,921 2,108 | 30,500 30,550 2,590 2,183 2,396 | 33,500 33,550 2,890 2,465 2,684
27,550 27,600 2,295 1,925 2,113 | 30,550 30,600 2,595 2,188 2,401 | 33,550 33,600 2,895 2,470 2,689
27,600 27,650 2,300 1,930 2,118 | 30,600 30,650 2,600 2,192 2,406 | 33,600 33,650 2,900 2,474 2,694
27,650 27,700 2,305 1,934 2,123 | 30,650 30,700 2,605 2,197 2,411 | 33,650 33,700 2,905 2,479 2,699
27,700 27,750 2,310 1,938 2,127 | 30,700 30,750 2,610 2,201 2,415 | 33,700 33,750 2,910 2,484 2,703
27,750 27,800 2,315 1,943 2,132 | 30,750 30,800 2,615 2,205 2,420 | 33,750 33,800 2,915 2,489 2,708
27,800 27,850 2,320 1,947 2,137 | 30,800 30,850 2,620 2,210 2,425 | 33,800 33,850 2,920 2,493 2,713
27,850 27,900 2,325 1,952 2,142 | 30,850 30,900 2,625 2,214 2,430 | 33,850 33,900 2,925 2,498 2,718
27,900 27,950 2,330 1,956 2,147 | 30,900 30,950 2,630 2,218 2,435 | 33,900 33,950 2,930 2,503 2,723
27,950 28,000 2,335 1,960 2,151 | 30,950 31,000 2,635 2,223 2,439 | 33,950 34,000 2,935 2,508 2,727

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — ncome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or arried Head
least less Married fi ling ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi ling ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly ouse- than filing jojntly holfise-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your taxis — Your tax is — Your taxis —
34,000 37,000 40,000
34,000 34,050 2,940 2,512 2,732 | 37,000 37,050 3,240 2,797 3,020 | 40,000 40,050 3,540 3,082 3,308
34,050 34,100 2,945 2,517 2,737 | 37,050 37,100 3,245 2,802 3,025 | 40,050 40,100 3,545 3,087 3,313
34,100 34,150 2,950 2,522 2,742 | 37,100 37,150 3,250 2,807 3,030 | 40,100 40,150 3,550 3,092 3,318
34,150 34,200 2,955 2,527 2,747 | 37,150 37,200 3,255 2,812 3,035 | 40,150 40,200 3,555 3,097 3,323
34,200 34,250 2,960 2,531 2,751 | 37,200 37,250 3,260 2,816 3,039 | 40,200 40,250 3,560 3,101 3,327
34,250 34,300 2,965 2,536 2,756 | 37,250 37,300 3,265 2,821 3,044 | 40,250 40,300 3,565 3,106 3,332
34,300 34,350 2,970 2,541 2,761 | 37,300 37,350 3,270 2,826 3,049 | 40,300 40,350 3,570 3,111 3,337
34,350 34,400 2,975 2,546 2,766 | 37,350 37,400 3,275 2,831 3,054 | 40,350 40,400 3,575 3,116 3,342
34,400 34,450 2,980 2,550 2,771 | 37,400 37,450 3,280 2,835 3,059 | 40,400 40,450 3,580 3,120 3,347
34,450 34,500 2,985 2,555 2,775 | 37,450 37,500 3,285 2,840 3,063 | 40,450 40,500 3,585 3,125 3,351
34,500 34,550 2,990 2,560 2,780 | 37,500 37,550 3,290 2,845 3,068 | 40,500 40,550 3,590 3,130 3,356
34,550 34,600 2,995 2,565 2,785 | 37,550 37,600 3,295 2,850 3,073 | 40,550 40,600 3,595 3,135 3,361
34,600 34,650 3,000 2,569 2,790 | 37,600 37,650 3,300 2,854 3,078 | 40,600 40,650 3,600 3,139 3,366
34,650 34,700 3,005 2,574 2,795 | 37,650 37,700 3,305 2,859 3,083 | 40,650 40,700 3,605 3,144 3,371
34,700 34,750 3,010 2,579 2,799 | 37,700 37,750 3,310 2,864 3,087 | 40,700 40,750 3,610 3,149 3,375
34,750 34,800 3,015 2,584 2,804 | 37,750 37,800 3,315 2,869 3,092 | 40,750 40,800 3,615 3,154 3,380
34,800 34,850 3,020 2,588 2,809 | 37,800 37,850 3,320 2,873 3,097 | 40,800 40,850 3,620 3,158 3,385
34,850 34,900 3,025 2,593 2,814 | 37,850 37,900 3,325 2,878 3,102 | 40,850 40,900 3,625 3,163 3,390
34,900 34,950 3,030 2,598 2,819 | 37,900 37,950 3,330 2,883 3,107 | 40,900 40,950 3,630 3,168 3,395
34,950 35,000 3,035 2,603 2,823 | 37,950 38,000 3,335 2,888 3,111 | 40,950 41,000 3,635 3,173 3,399
35,000 38,000 41,000
35,000 35,050 3,040 2,607 2,828 | 38,000 38,050 3,340 2,892 3,116 | 41,000 41,050 3,640 3,178 3,404
35,050 35,100 3,045 2,612 2,833 | 38,050 38,100 3,345 2,897 3,121 | 41,050 41,100 3,645 3,183 3,409
35,100 35,150 3,050 2,617 2,838 | 38,100 38,150 3,350 2,902 3,126 | 41,100 41,150 3,650 3,188 3,414
35,150 35,200 3,055 2,622 2,843 | 38,150 38,200 3,355 2,907 3,131 | 41,150 41,200 3,655 3,193 3,419
35,200 35,250 3,060 2,626 2,847 | 38,200 38,250 3,360 2,911 3,135 | 41,200 41,250 3,660 3,198 3,424
35,250 35,300 3,065 2,631 2,852 | 38,250 38,300 3,365 2,916 3,140 | 41,250 41,300 3,665 3,203 3,429
35,300 35,350 3,070 2,636 2,857 | 38,300 38,350 3,370 2,921 3,145 | 41,300 41,350 3,670 3,208 3,434
35,350 35,400 3,075 2,641 2,862 | 38,350 38,400 3,375 2,926 3,150 | 41,350 41,400 3,675 3,213 3,439
35,400 35,450 3,080 2,645 2,867 | 38,400 38,450 3,380 2,930 3,155 | 41,400 41,450 3,680 3,218 3,444
35,450 35,500 3,085 2,650 2,871 | 38,450 38,500 3,385 2,935 3,159 | 41,450 41,500 3,685 3,223 3,449
35,500 35,550 3,090 2,655 2,876 | 38,500 38,550 3,390 2,940 3,164 | 41,500 41,550 3,690 3,228 3,454
35,550 35,600 3,095 2,660 2,881 | 38,550 38,600 3,395 2,945 3,169 | 41,550 41,600 3,695 3,233 3,459
35,600 35,650 3,100 2,664 2,886 | 38,600 38,650 3,400 2,949 3,174 | 41,600 41,650 3,700 3,238 3,464
35,650 35,700 3,105 2,669 2,891 | 38,650 38,700 3,405 2,954 3,179 | 41,650 41,700 3,705 3,243 3,469
35,700 35,750 3,110 2,674 2,895 | 38,700 38,750 3,410 2,959 3,183 | 41,700 41,750 3,710 3,248 3,474
35,750 35,800 3,115 2,679 2,900 | 38,750 38,800 3,415 2,964 3,188 | 41,750 41,800 3,715 3,253 3,479
35,800 35,850 3,120 2,683 2,905 | 38,800 38,850 3,420 2,968 3,193 | 41,800 41,850 3,720 3,258 3,484
35,850 35,900 3,125 2,688 2,910 | 38,850 38,900 3,425 2,973 3,198 | 41,850 41,900 3,725 3,263 3,489
35,900 35,950 3,130 2,693 2,915 | 38,900 38,950 3,430 2,978 3,203 | 41,900 41,950 3,730 3,268 3,494
35,950 36,000 3,135 2,698 2,919 | 38,950 39,000 3,435 2,983 3,207 | 41,950 42,000 3,735 3,273 3,499
36,000 39,000 42,000
36,000 36,050 3,140 2,702 2,924 | 39,000 39,050 3,440 2,987 3,212 | 42,000 42,050 3,740 3,278 3,504
36,050 36,100 3,145 2,707 2,929 | 39,050 39,100 3,445 2,992 3,217 | 42,050 42,100 3,745 3,283 3,509
36,100 36,150 3,150 2,712 2,934 | 39,100 39,150 3,450 2,997 3,222 | 42,100 42,150 3,750 3,288 3,514
36,150 36,200 3,155 2,717 2,939 | 39,150 39,200 3,455 3,002 3,227 | 42,150 42,200 3,755 3,293 3,519
36,200 36,250 3,160 2,721 2,943 | 39,200 39,250 3,460 3,006 3,231 | 42,200 42,250 3,760 3,298 3,524
36,250 36,300 3,165 2,726 2,948 | 39,250 39,300 3,465 3,011 3,236 | 42,250 42,300 3,765 3,303 3,529
36,300 36,350 3,170 2,731 2,953 | 39,300 39,350 3,470 3,016 3,241 | 42,300 42,350 3,770 3,308 3,534
36,350 36,400 3,175 2,736 2,958 | 39,350 39,400 3,475 3,021 3,246 | 42,350 42,400 3,775 3,313 3,539
36,400 36,450 3,180 2,740 2,963 | 39,400 39,450 3,480 3,025 3,251 | 42,400 42,450 3,780 3,318 3,544
36,450 36,500 3,185 2,745 2,967 | 39,450 39,500 3,485 3,030 3,255 | 42,450 42,500 3,785 3,323 3,549
36,500 36,550 3,190 2,750 2,972 | 39,500 39,550 3,490 3,035 3,260 | 42,500 42,550 3,790 3,328 3,554
36,550 36,600 3,195 2,755 2,977 | 39,550 39,600 3,495 3,040 3,265 | 42,550 42,600 3,795 3,333 3,559
36,600 36,650 3,200 2,759 2,982 | 39,600 39,650 3,500 3,044 3,270 | 42,600 42,650 3,800 3,338 3,564
36,650 36,700 3,205 2,764 2,987 | 39,650 39,700 3,505 3,049 3,275 | 42,650 42,700 3,805 3,343 3,569
36,700 36,750 3,210 2,769 2,991 | 39,700 39,750 3,510 3,054 3,279 | 42,700 42,750 3,810 3,348 3,574
36,750 36,800 3,215 2,774 2,996 | 39,750 39,800 3,515 3,059 3,284 | 42,750 42,800 3,815 3,353 3,579
36,800 36,850 3,220 2,778 3,001 | 39,800 39,850 3,520 3,063 3,289 | 42,800 42,850 3,820 3,358 3,584
36,850 36,900 3,225 2,783 3,006 | 39,850 39,900 3,525 3,068 3,294 | 42,850 42,900 3,825 3,363 3,589
36,900 36,950 3,230 2,788 3,011 | 39,900 39,950 3,530 3,073 3,299 | 42,900 42,950 3,830 3,368 3,594
36,950 37,000 3,235 2,793 3,015 | 39,950 40,000 3,535 3,078 3,303 | 42,950 43,000 3,835 3,373 3,599

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — Income) is — ihcome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But ISingle or Married Head At But Simgle or Mgrried Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi  ling ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly hpuse- than fling joirptly houge-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your taxis —
43,000 46,000 49,000
43,000 43,050 3,840 3,378 3,604 | 46,000 46,050 4,140 3,678 3,904 | 49,000 49,050 4,440 3,978 4,204
43,050 43,100 3,845 3,383 3,609 | 46,050 46,100 4,145 3,683 3,909 | 49,050 49,100 4,445 3,983 4,209
43,100 43,150 3,850 3,388 3,614 | 46,100 46,150 4,150 3,688 3,914 | 49,100 49,150 4,450 3,988 4,214
43,150 43,200 3,855 3,393 3,619 | 46,150 46,200 4,155 3,693 3,919 | 49,150 49,200 4,455 3,993 4,219
43,200 43,250 3,860 3,398 3,624 | 46,200 46,250 4,160 3,698 3,924 | 49,200 49,250 4,460 3,998 4,224
43,250 43,300 3,865 3,403 3,629 | 46,250 46,300 4,165 3,703 3,929 | 49,250 49,300 4,465 4,003 4,229
43,300 43,350 3,870 3,408 3,634 | 46,300 46,350 4,170 3,708 3,934 | 49,300 49,350 4,470 4,008 4,234
43,350 43,400 3,875 3,413 3,639 | 46,350 46,400 4,175 3,713 3,939 | 49,350 49,400 4,475 4,013 4,239
43,400 43,450 3,880 3,418 3,644 | 46,400 46,450 4,180 3,718 3,944 | 49,400 49,450 4,480 4,018 4,244
43,450 43,500 3,885 3,423 3,649 | 46,450 46,500 4,185 3,723 3,949 | 49,450 49,500 4,485 4,023 4,249
43,500 43,550 3,890 3,428 3,654 | 46,500 46,550 4,190 3,728 3,954 | 49,500 49,550 4,490 4,028 4,254
43,550 43,600 3,895 3,433 3,659 | 46,550 46,600 4,195 3,733 3,959 | 49,550 49,600 4,495 4,033 4,259
43,600 43,650 3,900 3,438 3,664 | 46,600 46,650 4,200 3,738 3,964 | 49,600 49,650 4,500 4,038 4,264
43,650 43,700 3,905 3,443 3,669 | 46,650 46,700 4,205 3,743 3,969 | 49,650 49,700 4,505 4,043 4,269
43,700 43,750 3,910 3,448 3,674 | 46,700 46,750 4,210 3,748 3,974 | 49,700 49,750 4,510 4,048 4,274
43,750 43,800 3,915 3,453 3,679 | 46,750 46,800 4,215 3,753 3,979 | 49,750 49,800 4,515 4,053 4,279
43,800 43,850 3,920 3,458 3,684 | 46,800 46,850 4,220 3,758 3,984 | 49,800 49,850 4,520 4,058 4,284
43,850 43,900 3,925 3,463 3,689 | 46,850 46,900 4,225 3,763 3,989 | 49,850 49,900 4,525 4,063 4,289
43,900 43,950 3,930 3,468 3,694 | 46,900 46,950 4,230 3,768 3,994 | 49,900 49,950 4,530 4,068 4,294
43,950 44,000 3,935 3,473 3,699 | 46,950 47,000 4,235 3,773 3,999 | 49,950 50,000 4,535 4,073 4,299
44,000 47,000 50,000
44,000 44,050 3,940 3,478 3,704 | 47,000 47,050 4,240 3,778 4,004 | 50,000 50,050 4,540 4,078 4,304
44,050 44,100 3,945 3,483 3,709 | 47,050 47,100 4,245 3,783 4,009 | 50,050 50,100 4,545 4,083 4,309
44,100 44,150 3,950 3,488 3,714 | 47,100 47,150 4,250 3,788 4,014 | 50,100 50,150 4,550 4,088 4,314
44,150 44,200 3,955 3,493 3,719 | 47,150 47,200 4,255 3,793 4,019 | 50,150 50,200 4,555 4,093 4,319
44,200 44,250 3,960 3,498 3,724 | 47,200 47,250 4,260 3,798 4,024 | 50,200 50,250 4,560 4,098 4,324
44250 44,300 3,965 3,503 3,729 | 47,250 47,300 4,265 3,803 4,029 | 50,250 50,300 4,565 4,103 4,329
44,300 44,350 3,970 3,508 3,734 | 47,300 47,350 4,270 3,808 4,034 | 50,300 50,350 4,570 4,108 4,334
44,350 44,400 3,975 3,513 3,739 | 47,350 47,400 4,275 3,813 4,039 | 50,350 50,400 4,575 4,113 4,339
44,400 44,450 3,980 3,518 3,744 | 47,400 47,450 4,280 3,818 4,044 | 50,400 50,450 4,580 4,118 4,344
44,450 44,500 3,985 3,523 3,749 | 47,450 47,500 4,285 3,823 4,049 | 50,450 50,500 4,585 4,123 4,349
44500 44,550 3,990 3,528 3,754 | 47,500 47,550 4,290 3,828 4,054 | 50,500 50,550 4,590 4,128 4,354
44550 44,600 3,995 3,533 3,759 | 47,550 47,600 4,295 3,833 4,059 | 50,550 50,600 4,595 4,133 4,359
44,600 44,650 4,000 3,538 3,764 | 47,600 47,650 4,300 3,838 4,064 | 50,600 50,650 4,600 4,138 4,364
44,650 44,700 4,005 3,543 3,769 | 47,650 47,700 4,305 3,843 4,069 | 50,650 50,700 4,605 4,143 4,369
44,700 44,750 4,010 3,548 3,774 | 47,700 47,750 4,310 3,848 4,074 | 50,700 50,750 4,610 4,148 4,374
44750 44,800 4,015 3,553 3,779 | 47,750 47,800 4,315 3,853 4,079 | 50,750 50,800 4,615 4,153 4,379
44,800 44,850 4,020 3,558 3,784 | 47,800 47,850 4,320 3,858 4,084 | 50,800 50,850 4,620 4,158 4,384
44,850 44,900 4,025 3,563 3,789 | 47,850 47,900 4,325 3,863 4,089 | 50,850 50,900 4,625 4,163 4,389
44900 44,950 4,030 3,568 3,794 | 47,900 47,950 4,330 3,868 4,094 | 50,900 50,950 4,630 4,168 4,394
44,950 45,000 4,035 3,573 3,799 | 47,950 48,000 4,335 3,873 4,099 | 50,950 51,000 4,635 4,173 4,399
45,000 48,000 51,000
45,000 45,050 4,040 3,578 3,804 | 48,000 48,050 4,340 3,878 4,104 | 51,000 51,050 4,640 4,178 4,404
45,050 45,100 4,045 3,583 3,809 | 48,050 48,100 4,345 3,883 4,109 | 51,050 51,100 4,645 4,183 4,409
45,100 45,150 4,050 3,588 3,814 | 48,100 48,150 4,350 3,888 4,114 | 51,100 51,150 4,650 4,188 4,414
45,150 45,200 4,055 3,593 3,819 | 48,150 48,200 4,355 3,893 4,119 | 51,150 51,200 4,655 4,193 4,419
45,200 45,250 4,060 3,598 3,824 | 48,200 48,250 4,360 3,898 4,124 | 51,200 51,250 4,660 4,198 4,424
45,250 45,300 4,065 3,603 3,829 | 48,250 48,300 4,365 3,903 4,129 | 51,250 51,300 4,665 4,203 4,429
45,300 45,350 4,070 3,608 3,834 | 48,300 48,350 4,370 3,908 4,134 | 51,300 51,350 4,670 4,208 4,434
45,350 45,400 4,075 3,613 3,839 | 48,350 48,400 4,375 3,913 4,139 | 51,350 51,400 4,675 4,213 4,439
45,400 45,450 4,080 3,618 3,844 | 48,400 48,450 4,380 3,918 4,144 | 51,400 51,450 4,680 4,218 4,444
45,450 45,500 4,085 3,623 3,849 | 48,450 48,500 4,385 3,923 4,149 | 51,450 51,500 4,685 4,223 4,449
45,500 45,550 4,090 3,628 3,854 | 48,500 48,550 4,390 3,928 4,154 | 51,500 51,550 4,690 4,228 4,454
45,550 45,600 4,095 3,633 3,859 | 48,550 48,600 4,395 3,933 4,159 | 51,550 51,600 4,695 4,233 4,459
45,600 45,650 4,100 3,638 3,864 | 48,600 48,650 4,400 3,938 4,164 | 51,600 51,650 4,700 4,238 4,464
45,650 45,700 4,105 3,643 3,869 | 48,650 48,700 4,405 3,943 4,169 | 51,650 51,700 4,705 4,243 4,469
45,700 45,750 4,110 3,648 3,874 | 48,700 48,750 4,410 3,948 4,174 | 51,700 51,750 4,710 4,248 4,474
45,750 45,800 4,115 3,653 3,879 | 48,750 48,800 4,415 3,953 4,179 | 51,750 51,800 4,715 4,253 4,479
45,800 45,850 4,120 3,658 3,884 | 48,800 48,850 4,420 3,958 4,184 | 51,800 51,850 4,720 4,258 4,484
45,850 45,900 4,125 3,663 3,889 | 48,850 48,900 4,425 3,963 4,189 | 51,850 51,900 4,725 4,263 4,489
45,900 45,950 4,130 3,668 3,894 | 48,900 48,950 4,430 3,968 4,194 | 51,900 51,950 4,730 4,268 4,494
45,950 46,000 4,135 3,673 3,899 | 48,950 49,000 4,435 3,973 4,199 | 51,950 52,000 4,735 4,273 4,499

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — ncome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or arried Head
least less Married fi ling ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi ling ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly ouse- than filing jojntly holfise-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your taxis — Your tax is — Your taxis —
52,000 55,000 58,000
52,000 52,050 4,740 4,278 4,504 | 55,000 55,050 5,040 4,578 4,804 | 58,000 58,050 5,340 4,878 5,104
52,050 52,100 4,745 4,283 4,509 | 55,050 55,100 5,045 4,583 4,809 | 58,050 58,100 5,345 4,883 5,109
52,100 52,150 4,750 4,288 4,514 | 55,100 55,150 5,050 4,588 4,814 | 58,100 58,150 5,350 4,888 5,114
52,150 52,200 4,755 4,293 4,519 | 55,150 55,200 5,055 4,593 4,819 | 58,150 58,200 5,355 4,893 5,119
52,200 52,250 4,760 4,298 4,524 | 55,200 55,250 5,060 4,598 4,824 | 58,200 58,250 5,360 4,898 5,124
52,250 52,300 4,765 4,303 4,529 | 55,250 55,300 5,065 4,603 4,829 | 58,250 58,300 5,365 4,903 5,129
52,300 52,350 4,770 4,308 4,534 | 55,300 55,350 5,070 4,608 4,834 | 58,300 58,350 5,370 4,908 5,134
52,350 52,400 4,775 4,313 4,539 | 55,350 55,400 5,075 4,613 4,839 | 58,350 58,400 5,375 4,913 5,139
52,400 52,450 4,780 4,318 4,544 | 55,400 55,450 5,080 4,618 4,844 | 58,400 58,450 5,380 4,918 5,144
52,450 52,500 4,785 4,323 4,549 | 55,450 55,500 5,085 4,623 4,849 | 58,450 58,500 5,385 4,923 5,149
52,500 52,550 4,790 4,328 4,554 | 55,500 55,550 5,090 4,628 4,854 | 58,500 58,550 5,390 4,928 5,154
52,550 52,600 4,795 4,333 4,559 | 55,550 55,600 5,095 4,633 4,859 | 58,550 58,600 5,395 4,933 5,159
52,600 52,650 4,800 4,338 4,564 | 55,600 55,650 5,100 4,638 4,864 | 58,600 58,650 5,400 4,938 5,164
52,650 52,700 4,805 4,343 4,569 | 55,650 55,700 5,105 4,643 4,869 | 58,650 58,700 5,405 4,943 5,169
52,700 52,750 4,810 4,348 4,574 | 55,700 55,750 5,110 4,648 4,874 | 58,700 58,750 5,410 4,948 5,174
52,750 52,800 4,815 4,353 4,579 | 55,750 55,800 5,115 4,653 4,879 | 58,750 58,800 5,415 4,953 5,179
52,800 52,850 4,820 4,358 4,584 | 55,800 55,850 5,120 4,658 4,884 | 58,800 58,850 5,420 4,958 5,184
52,850 52,900 4,825 4,363 4,589 | 55,850 55,900 5,125 4,663 4,889 | 58,850 58,900 5,425 4,963 5,189
52,900 52,950 4,830 4,368 4,594 | 55,900 55,950 5,130 4,668 4,894 | 58,900 58,950 5,430 4,968 5,194
52,950 53,000 4,835 4,373 4,599 | 55,950 56,000 5,135 4,673 4,899 | 58,950 59,000 5,435 4,973 5,199
53,000 56,000 59,000
53,000 53,050 4,840 4,378 4,604 | 56,000 56,050 5,140 4,678 4,904 | 59,000 59,050 5,440 4,978 5,204
53,050 53,100 4,845 4,383 4,609 | 56,050 56,100 5,145 4,683 4,909 | 59,050 59,100 5,445 4,983 5,209
53,100 53,150 4,850 4,388 4,614 | 56,100 56,150 5,150 4,688 4,914 | 59,100 59,150 5,450 4,988 5,214
53,150 53,200 4,855 4,393 4,619 | 56,150 56,200 5,155 4,693 4,919 | 59,150 59,200 5,455 4,993 5,219
53,200 53,250 4,860 4,398 4,624 | 56,200 56,250 5,160 4,698 4,924 | 59,200 59,250 5,460 4,998 5,224
53,250 53,300 4,865 4,403 4,629 | 56,250 56,300 5,165 4,703 4,929 | 59,250 59,300 5,465 5,003 5,229
53,300 53,350 4,870 4,408 4,634 | 56,300 56,350 5,170 4,708 4,934 | 59,300 59,350 5,470 5,008 5,234
53,350 53,400 4,875 4,413 4,639 | 56,350 56,400 5,175 4,713 4,939 | 59,350 59,400 5,475 5,013 5,239
53,400 53,450 4,880 4,418 4,644 | 56,400 56,450 5,180 4,718 4,944 | 59,400 59,450 5,480 5,018 5,244
53,450 53,500 4,885 4,423 4,649 | 56,450 56,500 5,185 4,723 4,949 | 59,450 59,500 5,485 5,023 5,249
53,500 53,550 4,890 4,428 4,654 | 56,500 56,550 5,190 4,728 4,954 | 59,500 59,550 5,490 5,028 5,254
53,550 53,600 4,895 4,433 4,659 | 56,550 56,600 5,195 4,733 4,959 | 59,550 59,600 5,495 5,033 5,259
53,600 53,650 4,900 4,438 4,664 | 56,600 56,650 5,200 4,738 4,964 | 59,600 59,650 5,500 5,038 5,264
53,650 53,700 4,905 4,443 4,669 | 56,650 56,700 5,205 4,743 4,969 | 59,650 59,700 5,505 5,043 5,269
53,700 53,750 4,910 4,448 4,674 | 56,700 56,750 5,210 4,748 4,974 | 59,700 59,750 5,510 5,048 5,274
53,750 53,800 4,915 4,453 4,679 | 56,750 56,800 5,215 4,753 4,979 | 59,750 59,800 5,515 5,053 5,279
53,800 53,850 4,920 4,458 4,684 | 56,800 56,850 5,220 4,758 4,984 | 59,800 59,850 5,520 5,058 5,284
53,850 53,900 4,925 4,463 4,689 | 56,850 56,900 5,225 4,763 4,989 | 59,850 59,900 5,525 5,063 5,289
53,900 53,950 4,930 4,468 4,694 | 56,900 56,950 5,230 4,768 4,994 | 59,900 59,950 5,530 5,068 5,294
53,950 54,000 4,935 4,473 4,699 | 56,950 57,000 5,235 4,773 4,999 | 59,950 60,000 5,535 5,073 5,299
54,000 57,000 60,000
54,000 54,050 4,940 4,478 4,704 | 57,000 57,050 5,240 4,778 5,004 | 60,000 60,050 5,540 5,078 5,304
54,050 54,100 4,945 4,483 4,709 | 57,050 57,100 5,245 4,783 5,009 | 60,050 60,100 5,545 5,083 5,309
54,100 54,150 4,950 4,488 4,714 | 57,100 57,150 5,250 4,788 5,014 | 60,100 60,150 5,550 5,088 5,314
54,150 54,200 4,955 4,493 4,719 | 57,150 57,200 5,255 4,793 5,019 | 60,150 60,200 5,555 5,093 5,319
54,200 54,250 4,960 4,498 4,724 | 57,200 57,250 5,260 4,798 5,024 | 60,200 60,250 5,560 5,098 5,324
54,250 54,300 4,965 4,503 4,729 | 57,250 57,300 5,265 4,803 5,029 | 60,250 60,300 5,565 5,103 5,329
54,300 54,350 4,970 4,508 4,734 | 57,300 57,350 5,270 4,808 5,034 | 60,300 60,350 5,570 5,108 5,334
54,350 54,400 4,975 4,513 4,739 | 57,350 57,400 5,275 4,813 5,039 | 60,350 60,400 5,575 5,113 5,339
54,400 54,450 4,980 4,518 4,744 | 57,400 57,450 5,280 4,818 5,044 | 60,400 60,450 5,580 5,118 5,344
54,450 54,500 4,985 4,523 4,749 | 57,450 57,500 5,285 4,823 5,049 | 60,450 60,500 5,585 5,123 5,349
54,500 54,550 4,990 4,528 4,754 | 57,500 57,550 5,290 4,828 5,054 | 60,500 60,550 5,590 5,128 5,354
54,550 54,600 4,995 4,533 4,759 | 57,550 57,600 5,295 4,833 5,059 | 60,550 60,600 5,595 5,133 5,359
54,600 54,650 5,000 4,538 4,764 | 57,600 57,650 5,300 4,838 5,064 | 60,600 60,650 5,600 5,138 5,364
54,650 54,700 5,005 4,543 4,769 | 57,650 57,700 5,305 4,843 5,069 | 60,650 60,700 5,605 5,143 5,369
54,700 54,750 5,010 4,548 4,774 | 57,700 57,750 5,310 4,848 5,074 | 60,700 60,750 5,610 5,148 5,374
54,750 54,800 5,015 4,553 4,779 | 57,750 57,800 5,315 4,853 5,079 | 60,750 60,800 5,615 5,153 5,379
54,800 54,850 5,020 4,558 4,784 | 57,800 57,850 5,320 4,858 5,084 | 60,800 60,850 5,620 5,158 5,384
54,850 54,900 5,025 4,563 4,789 | 57,850 57,900 5,325 4,863 5,089 | 60,850 60,900 5,625 5,163 5,389
54,900 54,950 5,030 4,568 4,794 | 57,900 57,950 5,330 4,868 5,094 | 60,900 60,950 5,630 5,168 5,394
54,950 55,000 5,035 4,573 4,799 | 57,950 58,000 5,335 4,873 5,099 | 60,950 61,000 5,635 5,173 5,399

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — Income) is — ihcome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But ISingle or Married Head At But Simgle or Mgrried Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi  ling ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly hpuse- than fling joirptly houge-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your taxis —
61,000 64,000 67,000
61,000 61,050 5,640 5,178 5,404 | 64,000 64,050 5,940 5,478 5,704 | 67,000 67,050 6,240 5,778 6,004
61,050 61,100 5,645 5,183 5,409 | 64,050 64,100 5,945 5,483 5,709 | 67,050 67,100 6,245 5,783 6,009
61,100 61,150 5,650 5,188 5,414 | 64,100 64,150 5,950 5,488 5,714 | 67,100 67,150 6,250 5,788 6,014
61,150 61,200 5,655 5,193 5,419 | 64,150 64,200 5,955 5,493 5,719 | 67,150 67,200 6,255 5,793 6,019
61,200 61,250 5,660 5,198 5,424 | 64,200 64,250 5,960 5,498 5,724 | 67,200 67,250 6,260 5,798 6,024
61,250 61,300 5,665 5,203 5,429 | 64,250 64,300 5,965 5,503 5,729 | 67,250 67,300 6,265 5,803 6,029
61,300 61,350 5,670 5,208 5,434 | 64,300 64,350 5,970 5,508 5,734 | 67,300 67,350 6,270 5,808 6,034
61,350 61,400 5,675 5,213 5,439 | 64,350 64,400 5,975 5,513 5,739 | 67,350 67,400 6,275 5,813 6,039
61,400 61,450 5,680 5,218 5,444 | 64,400 64,450 5,980 5,518 5,744 | 67,400 67,450 6,280 5,818 6,044
61,450 61,500 5,685 5,223 5,449 | 64,450 64,500 5,985 5,523 5,749 | 67,450 67,500 6,285 5,823 6,049
61,500 61,550 5,690 5,228 5,454 | 64,500 64,550 5,990 5,528 5,754 | 67,500 67,550 6,290 5,828 6,054
61,550 61,600 5,695 5,233 5,459 | 64,550 64,600 5,995 5,533 5,759 | 67,550 67,600 6,295 5,833 6,059
61,600 61,650 5,700 5,238 5,464 | 64,600 64,650 6,000 5,538 5,764 | 67,600 67,650 6,300 5,838 6,064
61,650 61,700 5,705 5,243 5,469 | 64,650 64,700 6,005 5,543 5,769 | 67,650 67,700 6,305 5,843 6,069
61,700 61,750 5,710 5,248 5,474 | 64,700 64,750 6,010 5,548 5,774 | 67,700 67,750 6,310 5,848 6,074
61,750 61,800 5,715 5,253 5,479 | 64,750 64,800 6,015 5,553 5,779 | 67,750 67,800 6,315 5,853 6,079
61,800 61,850 5,720 5,258 5,484 | 64,800 64,850 6,020 5,558 5,784 | 67,800 67,850 6,320 5,858 6,084
61,850 61,900 5,725 5,263 5,489 | 64,850 64,900 6,025 5,563 5,789 | 67,850 67,900 6,325 5,863 6,089
61,900 61,950 5,730 5,268 5,494 | 64,900 64,950 6,030 5,568 5,794 | 67,900 67,950 6,330 5,868 6,094
61,950 62,000 5,735 5,273 5,499 | 64,950 65,000 6,035 5,573 5,799 | 67,950 68,000 6,335 5,873 6,099
62,000 65,000 68,000
62,000 62,050 5,740 5,278 5,504 | 65,000 65,050 6,040 5,578 5,804 | 68,000 68,050 6,340 5,878 6,104
62,050 62,100 5,745 5,283 5,509 | 65,050 65,100 6,045 5,583 5,809 | 68,050 68,100 6,345 5,883 6,109
62,100 62,150 5,750 5,288 5,514 | 65,100 65,150 6,050 5,588 5,814 | 68,100 68,150 6,350 5,888 6,114
62,150 62,200 5,755 5,293 5,519 | 65,150 65,200 6,055 5,593 5,819 | 68,150 68,200 6,355 5,893 6,119
62,200 62,250 5,760 5,298 5,524 | 65,200 65,250 6,060 5,598 5,824 | 68,200 68,250 6,360 5,898 6,124
62,250 62,300 5,765 5,303 5,529 | 65,250 65,300 6,065 5,603 5,829 | 68,250 68,300 6,365 5,903 6,129
62,300 62,350 5,770 5,308 5,534 | 65,300 65,350 6,070 5,608 5,834 | 68,300 68,350 6,370 5,908 6,134
62,350 62,400 5,775 5,313 5,539 | 65,350 65,400 6,075 5,613 5,839 | 68,350 68,400 6,375 5,913 6,139
62,400 62,450 5,780 5,318 5,544 | 65,400 65,450 6,080 5,618 5,844 | 68,400 68,450 6,380 5,918 6,144
62,450 62,500 5,785 5,323 5,549 | 65,450 65,500 6,085 5,623 5,849 | 68,450 68,500 6,385 5,923 6,149
62,500 62,550 5,790 5,328 5,554 | 65,500 65,550 6,090 5,628 5,854 | 68,500 68,550 6,390 5,928 6,154
62,550 62,600 5,795 5,333 5,559 | 65,550 65,600 6,095 5,633 5,859 | 68,550 68,600 6,395 5,933 6,159
62,600 62,650 5,800 5,338 5,564 | 65,600 65,650 6,100 5,638 5,864 | 68,600 68,650 6,400 5,938 6,164
62,650 62,700 5,805 5,343 5,569 | 65,650 65,700 6,105 5,643 5,869 | 68,650 68,700 6,405 5,943 6,169
62,700 62,750 5,810 5,348 5,574 | 65,700 65,750 6,110 5,648 5,874 | 68,700 68,750 6,410 5,948 6,174
62,750 62,800 5,815 5,353 5,579 | 65,750 65,800 6,115 5,653 5,879 | 68,750 68,800 6,415 5,953 6,179
62,800 62,850 5,820 5,358 5,584 | 65,800 65,850 6,120 5,658 5,884 | 68,800 68,850 6,420 5,958 6,184
62,850 62,900 5,825 5,363 5,589 | 65,850 65,900 6,125 5,663 5,889 | 68,850 68,900 6,425 5,963 6,189
62,900 62,950 5,830 5,368 5,594 | 65,900 65,950 6,130 5,668 5,894 | 68,900 68,950 6,430 5,968 6,194
62,950 63,000 5,835 5,373 5,599 | 65,950 66,000 6,135 5,673 5,899 | 68,950 69,000 6,435 5,973 6,199
63,000 66,000 69,000
63,000 63,050 5,840 5,378 5,604 | 66,000 66,050 6,140 5,678 5,904 | 69,000 69,050 6,440 5,978 6,204
63,050 63,100 5,845 5,383 5,609 | 66,050 66,100 6,145 5,683 5,909 | 69,050 69,100 6,445 5,983 6,209
63,100 63,150 5,850 5,388 5,614 | 66,100 66,150 6,150 5,688 5,914 | 69,100 69,150 6,450 5,988 6,214
63,150 63,200 5,855 5,393 5,619 | 66,150 66,200 6,155 5,693 5,919 | 69,150 69,200 6,455 5,993 6,219
63,200 63,250 5,860 5,398 5,624 | 66,200 66,250 6,160 5,698 5,924 | 69,200 69,250 6,460 5,998 6,224
63,250 63,300 5,865 5,403 5,629 | 66,250 66,300 6,165 5,703 5,929 | 69,250 69,300 6,465 6,003 6,229
63,300 63,350 5,870 5,408 5,634 | 66,300 66,350 6,170 5,708 5,934 | 69,300 69,350 6,470 6,008 6,234
63,350 63,400 5,875 5,413 5,639 | 66,350 66,400 6,175 5,713 5,939 | 69,350 69,400 6,475 6,013 6,239
63,400 63,450 5,880 5,418 5,644 | 66,400 66,450 6,180 5,718 5,944 | 69,400 69,450 6,480 6,018 6,244
63,450 63,500 5,885 5,423 5,649 | 66,450 66,500 6,185 5,723 5,949 | 69,450 69,500 6,485 6,023 6,249
63,500 63,550 5,890 5,428 5,654 | 66,500 66,550 6,190 5,728 5,954 | 69,500 69,550 6,490 6,028 6,254
63,550 63,600 5,895 5,433 5,659 | 66,550 66,600 6,195 5,733 5,959 | 69,550 69,600 6,495 6,033 6,259
63,600 63,650 5,900 5,438 5,664 | 66,600 66,650 6,200 5,738 5,964 | 69,600 69,650 6,500 6,038 6,264
63,650 63,700 5,905 5,443 5,669 | 66,650 66,700 6,205 5,743 5,969 | 69,650 69,700 6,505 6,043 6,269
63,700 63,750 5,910 5,448 5,674 | 66,700 66,750 6,210 5,748 5,974 | 69,700 69,750 6,510 6,048 6,274
63,750 63,800 5,915 5,453 5,679 | 66,750 66,800 6,215 5,753 5,979 | 69,750 69,800 6,515 6,053 6,279
63,800 63,850 5,920 5,458 5,684 | 66,800 66,850 6,220 5,758 5,984 | 69,800 69,850 6,520 6,058 6,284
63,850 63,900 5,925 5,463 5,689 | 66,850 66,900 6,225 5,763 5,989 | 69,850 69,900 6,525 6,063 6,289
63,900 63,950 5,930 5,468 5,694 | 66,900 66,950 6,230 5,768 5,994 | 69,900 69,950 6,530 6,068 6,294
63,950 64,000 5,935 5,473 5,699 | 66,950 67,000 6,235 5,773 5,999 | 69,950 70,000 6,535 6,073 6,299

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — ncome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or arried Head
least less Married fi ling ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi ling ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly ouse- than filing jojntly holfise-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your taxis — Your tax is — Your taxis —
70,000 73,000 76,000
70,000 70,050 6,540 6,078 6,304 | 73,000 73,050 6,840 6,378 6,604 | 76,000 76,050 7,140 6,678 6,904
70,050 70,100 6,545 6,083 6,309 | 73,050 73,100 6,845 6,383 6,609 | 76,050 76,100 7,145 6,683 6,909
70,100 70,150 6,550 6,088 6,314 | 73,100 73,150 6,850 6,388 6,614 | 76,100 76,150 7,150 6,688 6,914
70,150 70,200 6,555 6,093 6,319 | 73,150 73,200 6,855 6,393 6,619 | 76,150 76,200 7,155 6,693 6,919
70,200 70,250 6,560 6,098 6,324 | 73,200 73,250 6,860 6,398 6,624 | 76,200 76,250 7,160 6,698 6,924
70,250 70,300 6,565 6,103 6,329 | 73,250 73,300 6,865 6,403 6,629 | 76,250 76,300 7,165 6,703 6,929
70,300 70,350 6,570 6,108 6,334 | 73,300 73,350 6,870 6,408 6,634 | 76,300 76,350 7,170 6,708 6,934
70,350 70,400 6,575 6,113 6,339 | 73,350 73,400 6,875 6,413 6,639 | 76,350 76,400 7,175 6,713 6,939
70,400 70,450 6,580 6,118 6,344 | 73,400 73,450 6,880 6,418 6,644 | 76,400 76,450 7,180 6,718 6,944
70,450 70,500 6,585 6,123 6,349 | 73,450 73,500 6,885 6,423 6,649 | 76,450 76,500 7,185 6,723 6,949
70,500 70,550 6,590 6,128 6,354 | 73,500 73,550 6,890 6,428 6,654 | 76,500 76,550 7,190 6,728 6,954
70,550 70,600 6,595 6,133 6,359 | 73,550 73,600 6,895 6,433 6,659 | 76,550 76,600 7,195 6,733 6,959
70,600 70,650 6,600 6,138 6,364 | 73,600 73,650 6,900 6,438 6,664 | 76,600 76,650 7,200 6,738 6,964
70,650 70,700 6,605 6,143 6,369 | 73,650 73,700 6,905 6,443 6,669 | 76,650 76,700 7,205 6,743 6,969
70,700 70,750 6,610 6,148 6,374 | 73,700 73,750 6,910 6,448 6,674 | 76,700 76,750 7,210 6,748 6,974
70,750 70,800 6,615 6,153 6,379 | 73,750 73,800 6,915 6,453 6,679 | 76,750 76,800 7,215 6,753 6,979
70,800 70,850 6,620 6,158 6,384 | 73,800 73,850 6,920 6,458 6,684 | 76,800 76,850 7,220 6,758 6,984
70,850 70,900 6,625 6,163 6,389 | 73,850 73,900 6,925 6,463 6,689 | 76,850 76,900 7,225 6,763 6,989
70,900 70,950 6,630 6,168 6,394 | 73,900 73,950 6,930 6,468 6,694 | 76,900 76,950 7,230 6,768 6,994
70,950 71,000 6,635 6,173 6,399 | 73,950 74,000 6,935 6,473 6,699 | 76,950 77,000 7,235 6,773 6,999
71,000 74,000 77,000
71,000 71,050 6,640 6,178 6,404 | 74,000 74,050 6,940 6,478 6,704 | 77,000 77,050 7,240 6,778 7,004
71,050 71,100 6,645 6,183 6,409 | 74,050 74,100 6,945 6,483 6,709 | 77,050 77,100 7,245 6,783 7,009
71,100 71,150 6,650 6,188 6,414 | 74,100 74,150 6,950 6,488 6,714 | 77,100 77,150 7,250 6,788 7,014
71,150 71,200 6,655 6,193 6,419 | 74,150 74,200 6,955 6,493 6,719 | 77,150 77,200 7,255 6,793 7,019
71,200 71,250 6,660 6,198 6,424 | 74,200 74,250 6,960 6,498 6,724 | 77,200 77,250 7,260 6,798 7,024
71,250 71,300 6,665 6,203 6,429 | 74,250 74,300 6,965 6,503 6,729 | 77,250 77,300 7,265 6,803 7,029
71,300 71,350 6,670 6,208 6,434 | 74,300 74,350 6,970 6,508 6,734 | 77,300 77,350 7,270 6,808 7,034
71,350 71,400 6,675 6,213 6,439 | 74,350 74,400 6,975 6,513 6,739 | 77,350 77,400 7,275 6,813 7,039
71,400 71,450 6,680 6,218 6,444 | 74,400 74,450 6,980 6,518 6,744 | 77,400 77,450 7,280 6,818 7,044
71,450 71,500 6,685 6,223 6,449 | 74,450 74,500 6,985 6,523 6,749 | 77,450 77,500 7,285 6,823 7,049
71,500 71,550 6,690 6,228 6,454 | 74,500 74,550 6,990 6,528 6,754 | 77,500 77,550 7,290 6,828 7,054
71,550 71,600 6,695 6,233 6,459 | 74,550 74,600 6,995 6,533 6,759 | 77,550 77,600 7,295 6,833 7,059
71,600 71,650 6,700 6,238 6,464 | 74,600 74,650 7,000 6,538 6,764 | 77,600 77,650 7,300 6,838 7,064
71,650 71,700 6,705 6,243 6,469 | 74,650 74,700 7,005 6,543 6,769 | 77,650 77,700 7,305 6,843 7,069
71,700 71,750 6,710 6,248 6,474 | 74,700 74,750 7,010 6,548 6,774 | 77,700 77,750 7,310 6,848 7,074
71,750 71,800 6,715 6,253 6,479 | 74,750 74,800 7,015 6,553 6,779 | 77,750 77,800 7,315 6,853 7,079
71,800 71,850 6,720 6,258 6,484 | 74,800 74,850 7,020 6,558 6,784 | 77,800 77,850 7,320 6,858 7,084
71,850 71,900 6,725 6,263 6,489 | 74,850 74,900 7,025 6,563 6,789 | 77,850 77,900 7,325 6,863 7,089
71,900 71,950 6,730 6,268 6,494 | 74,900 74,950 7,030 6,568 6,794 | 77,900 77,950 7,330 6,868 7,094
71,950 72,000 6,735 6,273 6,499 | 74,950 75,000 7,035 6,573 6,799 | 77,950 78,000 7,335 6,873 7,099
72,000 75,000 78,000
72,000 72,050 6,740 6,278 6,504 | 75,000 75,050 7,040 6,578 6,804 | 78,000 78,050 7,340 6,878 7,104
72,050 72,100 6,745 6,283 6,509 | 75,050 75,100 7,045 6,583 6,809 | 78,050 78,100 7,345 6,883 7,109
72,100 72,150 6,750 6,288 6,514 | 75,100 75,150 7,050 6,588 6,814 | 78,100 78,150 7,350 6,888 7,114
72,150 72,200 6,755 6,293 6,519 | 75,150 75,200 7,055 6,593 6,819 | 78,150 78,200 7,355 6,893 7,119
72,200 72,250 6,760 6,298 6,524 | 75,200 75,250 7,060 6,598 6,824 | 78,200 78,250 7,360 6,898 7,124
72,250 72,300 6,765 6,303 6,529 | 75,250 75,300 7,065 6,603 6,829 | 78,250 78,300 7,365 6,903 7,129
72,300 72,350 6,770 6,308 6,534 | 75,300 75,350 7,070 6,608 6,834 | 78,300 78,350 7,370 6,908 7,134
72,350 72,400 6,775 6,313 6,539 | 75,350 75,400 7,075 6,613 6,839 | 78,350 78,400 7,375 6,913 7,139
72,400 72,450 6,780 6,318 6,544 | 75,400 75,450 7,080 6,618 6,844 | 78,400 78,450 7,380 6,918 7,144
72,450 72,500 6,785 6,323 6,549 | 75,450 75,500 7,085 6,623 6,849 | 78,450 78,500 7,385 6,923 7,149
72,500 72,550 6,790 6,328 6,554 | 75,500 75,550 7,090 6,628 6,854 | 78,500 78,550 7,390 6,928 7,154
72,550 72,600 6,795 6,333 6,559 | 75,550 75,600 7,095 6,633 6,859 | 78,550 78,600 7,395 6,933 7,159
72,600 72,650 6,800 6,338 6,564 | 75,600 75,650 7,100 6,638 6,864 | 78,600 78,650 7,400 6,938 7,164
72,650 72,700 6,805 6,343 6,569 | 75,650 75,700 7,105 6,643 6,869 | 78,650 78,700 7,405 6,943 7,169
72,700 72,750 6,810 6,348 6,574 | 75,700 75,750 7,110 6,648 6,874 | 78,700 78,750 7,410 6,948 7,174
72,750 72,800 6,815 6,353 6,579 | 75,750 75,800 7,115 6,653 6,879 | 78,750 78,800 7,415 6,953 7,179
72,800 72,850 6,820 6,358 6,584 | 75,800 75,850 7,120 6,658 6,884 | 78,800 78,850 7,420 6,958 7,184
72,850 72,900 6,825 6,363 6,589 | 75,850 75,900 7,125 6,663 6,889 | 78,850 78,900 7,425 6,963 7,189
72,900 72,950 6,830 6,368 6,594 | 75,900 75,950 7,130 6,668 6,894 | 78,900 78,950 7,430 6,968 7,194
72,950 73,000 6,835 6,373 6,599 | 75,950 76,000 7,135 6,673 6,899 | 78,950 79,000 7,435 6,973 7,199

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — Income) is — ihcome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But ISingle or Married Head At But Simgle or Mgrried Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi  ling ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly hpuse- than fling joirptly houge-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your taxis —
79,000 82,000 85,000
79,000 79,050 7,440 6,978 7,204 | 82,000 82,050 7,740 7,278 7,504 | 85,000 85,050 8,040 7,578 7,804
79,050 79,100 7,445 6,983 7,209 | 82,050 82,100 7,745 7,283 7,509 | 85,050 85,100 8,045 7,583 7,809
79,100 79,150 7,450 6,988 7,214 | 82,100 82,150 7,750 7,288 7,514 | 85,100 85,150 8,050 7,588 7,814
79,150 79,200 7,455 6,993 7,219 | 82,150 82,200 7,755 7,293 7,519 | 85,150 85,200 8,055 7,593 7,819
79,200 79,250 7,460 6,998 7,224 | 82,200 82,250 7,760 7,298 7,524 | 85,200 85,250 8,060 7,598 7,824
79,250 79,300 7,465 7,003 7,229 | 82,250 82,300 7,765 7,303 7,529 | 85,250 85,300 8,065 7,603 7,829
79,300 79,350 7,470 7,008 7,234 | 82,300 82,350 7,770 7,308 7,534 | 85,300 85,350 8,070 7,608 7,834
79,350 79,400 7,475 7,013 7,239 | 82,350 82,400 7,775 7,313 7,539 | 85,350 85,400 8,075 7,613 7,839
79,400 79,450 7,480 7,018 7,244 | 82,400 82,450 7,780 7,318 7,544 | 85,400 85,450 8,080 7,618 7,844
79,450 79,500 7,485 7,023 7,249 | 82,450 82,500 7,785 7,323 7,549 | 85,450 85,500 8,085 7,623 7,849
79,500 79,550 7,490 7,028 7,254 | 82,500 82,550 7,790 7,328 7,554 | 85,500 85,550 8,090 7,628 7,854
79,550 79,600 7,495 7,033 7,259 | 82,550 82,600 7,795 7,333 7,559 | 85,550 85,600 8,095 7,633 7,859
79,600 79,650 7,500 7,038 7,264 | 82,600 82,650 7,800 7,338 7,564 | 85,600 85,650 8,100 7,638 7,864
79,650 79,700 7,505 7,043 7,269 | 82,650 82,700 7,805 7,343 7,569 | 85,650 85,700 8,105 7,643 7,869
79,700 79,750 7,510 7,048 7,274 | 82,700 82,750 7,810 7,348 7,574 | 85,700 85,750 8,110 7,648 7,874
79,750 79,800 7,515 7,053 7,279 | 82,750 82,800 7,815 7,353 7,579 | 85,750 85,800 8,115 7,653 7,879
79,800 79,850 7,520 7,058 7,284 | 82,800 82,850 7,820 7,358 7,584 | 85,800 85,850 8,120 7,658 7,884
79,850 79,900 7,525 7,063 7,289 | 82,850 82,900 7,825 7,363 7,589 | 85,850 85,900 8,125 7,663 7,889
79,900 79,950 7,530 7,068 7,294 | 82,900 82,950 7,830 7,368 7,594 | 85,900 85,950 8,130 7,668 7,894
79,950 80,000 7,535 7,073 7,299 | 82,950 83,000 7,835 7,373 7,599 | 85,950 86,000 8,135 7,673 7,899
80,000 83,000 86,000
80,000 80,050 7,540 7,078 7,304 | 83,000 83,050 7,840 7,378 7,604 | 86,000 86,050 8,140 7,678 7,904
80,050 80,100 7,545 7,083 7,309 | 83,050 83,100 7,845 7,383 7,609 | 86,050 86,100 8,145 7,683 7,909
80,100 80,150 7,550 7,088 7,314 | 83,100 83,150 7,850 7,388 7,614 | 86,100 86,150 8,150 7,688 7,914
80,150 80,200 7,555 7,093 7,319 | 83,150 83,200 7,855 7,393 7,619 | 86,150 86,200 8,155 7,693 7,919
80,200 80,250 7,560 7,098 7,324 | 83,200 83,250 7,860 7,398 7,624 | 86,200 86,250 8,160 7,698 7,924
80,250 80,300 7,565 7,103 7,329 | 83,250 83,300 7,865 7,403 7,629 | 86,250 86,300 8,165 7,703 7,929
80,300 80,350 7,570 7,108 7,334 | 83,300 83,350 7,870 7,408 7,634 | 86,300 86,350 8,170 7,708 7,934
80,350 80,400 7,575 7,113 7,339 | 83,350 83,400 7,875 7,413 7,639 | 86,350 86,400 8,175 7,713 7,939
80,400 80,450 7,580 7,118 7,344 | 83,400 83,450 7,880 7,418 7,644 | 86,400 86,450 8,180 7,718 7,944
80,450 80,500 7,585 7,123 7,349 | 83,450 83,500 7,885 7,423 7,649 | 86,450 86,500 8,185 7,723 7,949
80,500 80,550 7,590 7,128 7,354 | 83,500 83,550 7,890 7,428 7,654 | 86,500 86,550 8,190 7,728 7,954
80,550 80,600 7,595 7,133 7,359 | 83,550 83,600 7,895 7,433 7,659 | 86,550 86,600 8,195 7,733 7,959
80,600 80,650 7,600 7,138 7,364 | 83,600 83,650 7,900 7,438 7,664 | 86,600 86,650 8,200 7,738 7,964
80,650 80,700 7,605 7,143 7,369 | 83,650 83,700 7,905 7,443 7,669 | 86,650 86,700 8,205 7,743 7,969
80,700 80,750 7,610 7,148 7,374 | 83,700 83,750 7,910 7,448 7,674 | 86,700 86,750 8,210 7,748 7,974
80,750 80,800 7,615 7,153 7,379 | 83,750 83,800 7,915 7,453 7,679 | 86,750 86,800 8,215 7,753 7,979
80,800 80,850 7,620 7,158 7,384 | 83,800 83,850 7,920 7,458 7,684 | 86,800 86,850 8,220 7,758 7,984
80,850 80,900 7,625 7,163 7,389 | 83,850 83,900 7,925 7,463 7,689 | 86,850 86,900 8,225 7,763 7,989
80,900 80,950 7,630 7,168 7,394 | 83,900 83,950 7,930 7,468 7,694 | 86,900 86,950 8,230 7,768 7,994
80,950 81,000 7,635 7,173 7,399 | 83,950 84,000 7,935 7,473 7,699 | 86,950 87,000 8,235 7,773 7,999
81,000 84,000 87,000
81,000 81,050 7,640 7,178 7,404 | 84,000 84,050 7,940 7,478 7,704 | 87,000 87,050 8,240 7,778 8,004
81,050 81,100 7,645 7,183 7,409 | 84,050 84,100 7,945 7,483 7,709 | 87,050 87,100 8,245 7,783 8,009
81,100 81,150 7,650 7,188 7,414 | 84,100 84,150 7,950 7,488 7,714 | 87,100 87,150 8,250 7,788 8,014
81,150 81,200 7,655 7,193 7,419 | 84,150 84,200 7,955 7,493 7,719 | 87,150 87,200 8,255 7,793 8,019
81,200 81,250 7,660 7,198 7,424 | 84,200 84,250 7,960 7,498 7,724 | 87,200 87,250 8,260 7,798 8,024
81,250 81,300 7,665 7,203 7,429 | 84,250 84,300 7,965 7,503 7,729 | 87,250 87,300 8,265 7,803 8,029
81,300 81,350 7,670 7,208 7,434 | 84,300 84,350 7,970 7,508 7,734 | 87,300 87,350 8,270 7,808 8,034
81,350 81,400 7,675 7,213 7,439 | 84,350 84,400 7,975 7,513 7,739 | 87,350 87,400 8,275 7,813 8,039
81,400 81,450 7,680 7,218 7,444 | 84,400 84,450 7,980 7,518 7,744 | 87,400 87,450 8,280 7,818 8,044
81,450 81,500 7,685 7,223 7,449 | 84,450 84,500 7,985 7,523 7,749 | 87,450 87,500 8,285 7,823 8,049
81,500 81,550 7,690 7,228 7,454 | 84,500 84,550 7,990 7,528 7,754 | 87,500 87,550 8,290 7,828 8,054
81,550 81,600 7,695 7,233 7,459 | 84,550 84,600 7,995 7,533 7,759 | 87,550 87,600 8,295 7,833 8,059
81,600 81,650 7,700 7,238 7,464 | 84,600 84,650 8,000 7,538 7,764 | 87,600 87,650 8,300 7,838 8,064
81,650 81,700 7,705 7,243 7,469 | 84,650 84,700 8,005 7,543 7,769 | 87,650 87,700 8,305 7,843 8,069
81,700 81,750 7,710 7,248 7,474 | 84,700 84,750 8,010 7,548 7,774 | 87,700 87,750 8,310 7,848 8,074
81,750 81,800 7,715 7,253 7,479 | 84,750 84,800 8,015 7,553 7,779 | 87,750 87,800 8,315 7,853 8,079
81,800 81,850 7,720 7,258 7,484 | 84,800 84,850 8,020 7,558 7,784 | 87,800 87,850 8,320 7,858 8,084
81,850 81,900 7,725 7,263 7,489 | 84,850 84,900 8,025 7,563 7,789 | 87,850 87,900 8,325 7,863 8,089
81,900 81,950 7,730 7,268 7,494 | 84,900 84,950 8,030 7,568 7,794 | 87,900 87,950 8,330 7,868 8,094
81,950 82,000 7,735 7,273 7,499 | 84,950 85,000 8,035 7,573 7,799 | 87,950 88,000 8,335 7,873 8,099

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable And you are — (taxable And you are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — income) is — ncome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But Single or Married Head At But Single or arried Head
least less Married fi ling ofa least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi ling ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly ouse- than filing jojntly holfise-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your taxis — Your tax is — Your taxis —
88,000 91,000 94,000
88,000 88,050 8,340 7,878 8,104 | 91,000 91,050 8,640 8,178 8,404 | 94,000 94,050 8,940 8,478 8,704
88,050 88,100 8,345 7,883 8,109 | 91,050 91,100 8,645 8,183 8,409 | 94,050 94,100 8,945 8,483 8,709
88,100 88,150 8,350 7,888 8,114 | 91,100 91,150 8,650 8,188 8,414 | 94,100 94,150 8,950 8,488 8,714
88,150 88,200 8,355 7,893 8,119 | 91,150 91,200 8,655 8,193 8,419 | 94,150 94,200 8,955 8,493 8,719
88,200 88,250 8,360 7,898 8,124 | 91,200 91,250 8,660 8,198 8,424 | 94,200 94,250 8,960 8,498 8,724
88,250 88,300 8,365 7,903 8,129 | 91,250 91,300 8,665 8,203 8,429 | 94,250 94,300 8,965 8,503 8,729
88,300 88,350 8,370 7,908 8,134 | 91,300 91,350 8,670 8,208 8,434 | 94,300 94,350 8,970 8,508 8,734
88,350 88,400 8,375 7,913 8,139 | 91,350 91,400 8,675 8,213 8,439 | 94,350 94,400 8,975 8,513 8,739
88,400 88,450 8,380 7,918 8,144 | 91,400 91,450 8,680 8,218 8,444 | 94,400 94,450 8,980 8,518 8,744
88,450 88,500 8,385 7,923 8,149 | 91,450 91,500 8,685 8,223 8,449 | 94,450 94,500 8,985 8,523 8,749
88,500 88,550 8,390 7,928 8,154 | 91,500 91,550 8,690 8,228 8,454 | 94,500 94,550 8,990 8,528 8,754
88,550 88,600 8,395 7,933 8,159 | 91,550 91,600 8,695 8,233 8,459 | 94,550 94,600 8,995 8,533 8,759
88,600 88,650 8,400 7,938 8,164 | 91,600 91,650 8,700 8,238 8,464 | 94,600 94,650 9,000 8,538 8,764
88,650 88,700 8,405 7,943 8,169 | 91,650 91,700 8,705 8,243 8,469 | 94,650 94,700 9,005 8,543 8,769
88,700 88,750 8,410 7,948 8,174 | 91,700 91,750 8,710 8,248 8,474 | 94,700 94,750 9,010 8,548 8,774
88,750 88,800 8,415 7,953 8,179 | 91,750 91,800 8,715 8,253 8,479 | 94,750 94,800 9,015 8,553 8,779
88,800 88,850 8,420 7,958 8,184 | 91,800 91,850 8,720 8,258 8,484 | 94,800 94,850 9,020 8,558 8,784
88,850 88,900 8,425 7,963 8,189 | 91,850 91,900 8,725 8,263 8,489 | 94,850 94,900 9,025 8,563 8,789
88,900 88,950 8,430 7,968 8,194 | 91,900 91,950 8,730 8,268 8,494 | 94,900 94,950 9,030 8,568 8,794
88,950 89,000 8,435 7,973 8,199 | 91,950 92,000 8,735 8,273 8,499 | 94,950 95,000 9,035 8,573 8,799
89,000 92,000 95,000
89,000 89,050 8,440 7,978 8,204 | 92,000 92,050 8,740 8,278 8,504 | 95,000 95,050 9,040 8,578 8,804
89,050 89,100 8,445 7,983 8,209 | 92,050 92,100 8,745 8,283 8,509 | 95,050 95,100 9,045 8,583 8,809
89,100 89,150 8,450 7,988 8,214 | 92,100 92,150 8,750 8,288 8,514 | 95,100 95,150 9,050 8,588 8,814
89,150 89,200 8,455 7,993 8,219 | 92,150 92,200 8,755 8,293 8,519 | 95,150 95,200 9,055 8,593 8,819
89,200 89,250 8,460 7,998 8,224 | 92,200 92,250 8,760 8,298 8,524 | 95,200 95,250 9,060 8,598 8,824
89,250 89,300 8,465 8,003 8,229 | 92,250 92,300 8,765 8,303 8,529 | 95,250 95,300 9,065 8,603 8,829
89,300 89,350 8,470 8,008 8,234 | 92,300 92,350 8,770 8,308 8,534 | 95,300 95,350 9,070 8,608 8,834
89,350 89,400 8,475 8,013 8,239 | 92,350 92,400 8,775 8,313 8,539 | 95,350 95,400 9,075 8,613 8,839
89,400 89,450 8,480 8,018 8,244 | 92,400 92,450 8,780 8,318 8,544 | 95,400 95,450 9,080 8,618 8,844
89,450 89,500 8,485 8,023 8,249 | 92,450 92,500 8,785 8,323 8,549 | 95,450 95,500 9,085 8,623 8,849
89,500 89,550 8,490 8,028 8,254 | 92,500 92,550 8,790 8,328 8,554 | 95,500 95,550 9,090 8,628 8,854
89,550 89,600 8,495 8,033 8,259 | 92,550 92,600 8,795 8,333 8,559 | 95,550 95,600 9,095 8,633 8,859
89,600 89,650 8,500 8,038 8,264 | 92,600 92,650 8,800 8,338 8,564 | 95,600 95,650 9,100 8,638 8,864
89,650 89,700 8,505 8,043 8,269 | 92,650 92,700 8,805 8,343 8,569 | 95,650 95,700 9,105 8,643 8,869
89,700 89,750 8,510 8,048 8,274 | 92,700 92,750 8,810 8,348 8,574 | 95,700 95,750 9,110 8,648 8,874
89,750 89,800 8,515 8,053 8,279 | 92,750 92,800 8,815 8,353 8,579 | 95,750 95,800 9,115 8,653 8,879
89,800 89,850 8,520 8,058 8,284 | 92,800 92,850 8,820 8,358 8,584 | 95,800 95,850 9,120 8,658 8,884
89,850 89,900 8,525 8,063 8,289 | 92,850 92,900 8,825 8,363 8,589 | 95,850 95,900 9,125 8,663 8,889
89,900 89,950 8,530 8,068 8,294 | 92,900 92,950 8,830 8,368 8,594 | 95,900 95,950 9,130 8,668 8,894
89,950 90,000 8,535 8,073 8,299 | 92,950 93,000 8,835 8,373 8,599 | 95,950 96,000 9,135 8,673 8,899
90,000 93,000 96,000
90,000 90,050 8,540 8,078 8,304 | 93,000 93,050 8,840 8,378 8,604 | 96,000 96,050 9,140 8,678 8,904
90,050 90,100 8,545 8,083 8,309 | 93,050 93,100 8,845 8,383 8,609 | 96,050 96,100 9,145 8,683 8,909
90,100 90,150 8,550 8,088 8,314 | 93,100 93,150 8,850 8,388 8,614 | 96,100 96,150 9,150 8,688 8,914
90,150 90,200 8,555 8,093 8,319 | 93,150 93,200 8,855 8,393 8,619 | 96,150 96,200 9,155 8,693 8,919
90,200 90,250 8,560 8,098 8,324 | 93,200 93,250 8,860 8,398 8,624 | 96,200 96,250 9,160 8,698 8,924
90,250 90,300 8,565 8,103 8,329 | 93,250 93,300 8,865 8,403 8,629 | 96,250 96,300 9,165 8,703 8,929
90,300 90,350 8,570 8,108 8,334 | 93,300 93,350 8,870 8,408 8,634 | 96,300 96,350 9,170 8,708 8,934
90,350 90,400 8,575 8,113 8,339 | 93,350 93,400 8,875 8,413 8,639 | 96,350 96,400 9,175 8,713 8,939
90,400 90,450 8,580 8,118 8,344 | 93,400 93,450 8,880 8,418 8,644 | 96,400 96,450 9,180 8,718 8,944
90,450 90,500 8,585 8,123 8,349 | 93,450 93,500 8,885 8,423 8,649 | 96,450 96,500 9,185 8,723 8,949
90,500 90,550 8,590 8,128 8,354 | 93,500 93,550 8,890 8,428 8,654 | 96,500 96,550 9,190 8,728 8,954
90,550 90,600 8,595 8,133 8,359 | 93,550 93,600 8,895 8,433 8,659 | 96,550 96,600 9,195 8,733 8,959
90,600 90,650 8,600 8,138 8,364 | 93,600 93,650 8,900 8,438 8,664 | 96,600 96,650 9,200 8,738 8,964
90,650 90,700 8,605 8,143 8,369 | 93,650 93,700 8,905 8,443 8,669 | 96,650 96,700 9,205 8,743 8,969
90,700 90,750 8,610 8,148 8,374 | 93,700 93,750 8,910 8,448 8,674 | 96,700 96,750 9,210 8,748 8,974
90,750 90,800 8,615 8,153 8,379 | 93,750 93,800 8,915 8,453 8,679 | 96,750 96,800 9,215 8,753 8,979
90,800 90,850 8,620 8,158 8,384 | 93,800 93,850 8,920 8,458 8,684 | 96,800 96,850 9,220 8,758 8,984
90,850 90,900 8,625 8,163 8,389 | 93,850 93,900 8,925 8,463 8,689 | 96,850 96,900 9,225 8,763 8,989
90,900 90,950 8,630 8,168 8,394 | 93,900 93,950 8,930 8,468 8,694 | 96,900 96,950 9,230 8,768 8,994
90,950 91,000 8,635 8,173 8,399 | 93,950 94,000 8,935 8,473 8,699 | 96,950 97,000 9,235 8,773 8,999

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)

Continued on next page

Page 42



1994 Hawaii Tax Table (Continued)

If line 37 If line 37 If line 37
(taxable Andyou are — (taxable Andyou are — (taxable And you are —
income) is — Income) is — ihcome) is —
At But Single or Married Head At But ISingle or Married Head At But Simgle or Mgrried Head
least less Married filing ofa least less Married fi  ling ofa least less Married filing ofa
than filing jointly house- than filing jointly hpuse- than fling joirptly houge-
sepa- * hold sepa- * hold sepa- * hold
rately rately rately
Your tax is — Your tax is — Your taxis —
97,000 98,000 99,000

97,000 97,050 9,240 8,778 9,004 | 98,000 98,050 9,340 8,878 9,104 | 99,000 99,050 9,440 8,978 9,204
97,050 97,100 9,245 8,783 9,009 | 98,050 98,100 9,345 8,883 9,109 | 99,050 99,100 9,445 8,983 9,209
97,100 97,150 9,250 8,788 9,014 | 98,100 98,150 9,350 8,888 9,114 | 99,100 99,150 9,450 8,988 9,214
97,150 97,200 9,255 8,793 9,019 | 98,150 98,200 9,355 8,893 9,119 | 99,150 99,200 9,455 8,993 9,219
97,200 97,250 9,260 8,798 9,024 | 98,200 98,250 9,360 8,898 9,124 | 99,200 99,250 9,460 8,998 9,224
97,250 97,300 9,265 8,803 9,029 | 98,250 98,300 9,365 8,903 9,129 | 99,250 99,300 9,465 9,003 9,229
97,300 97,350 9,270 8,808 9,034 | 98,300 98,350 9,370 8,908 9,134 | 99,300 99,350 9,470 9,008 9,234
97,350 97,400 9,275 8,813 9,039 | 98,350 98,400 9,375 8,913 9,139 | 99,350 99,400 9,475 9,013 9,239
97,400 97,450 9,280 8,818 9,044 | 98,400 98,450 9,380 8,918 9,144 | 99,400 99,450 9,480 9,018 9,244
97,450 97,500 9,285 8,823 9,049 | 98,450 98,500 9,385 8,923 9,149 | 99,450 99,500 9,485 9,023 9,249
97,500 97,550 9,290 8,828 9,054 | 98,500 98,550 9,390 8,928 9,154 | 99,500 99,550 9,490 9,028 9,254
97,550 97,600 9,295 8,833 9,059 | 98,550 98,600 9,395 8,933 9,159 | 99,550 99,600 9,495 9,033 9,259
97,600 97,650 9,300 8,838 9,064 | 98,600 98,650 9,400 8,938 9,164 | 99,600 99,650 9,500 9,038 9,264
97,650 97,700 9,305 8,843 9,069 | 98,650 98,700 9,405 8,943 9,169 | 99,650 99,700 9,505 9,043 9,269
97,700 97,750 9,310 8,848 9,074 | 98,700 98,750 9,410 8,948 9,174 | 99,700 99,750 9,510 9,048 9,274
97,750 97,800 9,315 8,853 9,079 | 98,750 98,800 9,415 8,953 9,179 | 99,750 99,800 9,515 9,053 9,279
97,800 97,850 9,320 8,858 9,084 | 98,800 98,850 9,420 8,958 9,184 | 99,800 99,850 9,520 9,058 9,284
97,850 97,900 9,325 8,863 9,089 | 98,850 98,900 9,425 8,963 9,189 | 99,850 99,900 9,525 9,063 9,289
97,900 97,950 9,330 8,868 9,094 | 98,900 98,950 9,430 8,968 9,194 | 99,900 99,950 9,530 9,068 9,294
97,950 98,000 9,335 8,873 9,099 | 98,950 99,000 9,435 8,973 9,199 | 99,950 100,000 9,535 9,073 9,299

100,000 OR OVER —
You MUST use the tax rate schedules.

*This column must also be used by qualifying widow(er)
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1994 Tax Rate Schedules

CAUTION — If your taxable income is less than $100,000, you MUST use the Tax Table.

Schedule |
SINGLE TAXPAYERS AND MARRIED FILING SEPARATE RETURNS

If the amount on

Form N-12,
Line 37is Your tax is

Use this schedule if you checked Not over $1,500........cccceeiiiieiiieiiee e 2% of taxable income

Filing Status Box 1 or 3 Over $1,500 but not over $2,500..............cue..... $  30.00 plus 4% over $1,500

on Form N-12 Over $2,500 but not over $3,500...........c.......... $  70.00 plus 6% over $2,500
Over $3,500 but not over $5,500..............cee.e.. $ 130.00 plus 7.25% over $3,500
Over $5,500 but not over $10,500.................... $ 275.00 plus 8% over $5,500
Over $10,500 but not over $15,500.................. $ 675.00 plus 8.75% over $10,500
Over $15,500 but not over $20,500.................. $1,112.50 plus 9.5% over $15,500
Over $20,500........cccuiiiiieiiiiie e $ 1,587.50 plus 10% over $20,500

Schedule Il
MARRIED TAXPAYERS FILING JOINT RETURNS AND CERTAIN WIDOWS AND WIDOWERS

If the amount on

Form N-12,
Line 37is Your tax is

Use this schedule if you checked Not over $3,000........cccceeiiiieiiieiiee e 2% of taxable income

Filing Status Box 2 or 5 Over $3,000 but not over $5,000...............c....... $ 60.00 plus 4% over $3,000

on Form N-12 Over $5,000 but not over $7,000...................... $ 140.00 plus 6% over $5,000
Over $7,000 but not over $11,000.................... $ 260.00 plus 7.25% over $7,000
Over $11,000 but not over $21,000.................. $ 550.00 plus 8% over $11,000
Over $21,000 but not over $31,000.................. $ 1,350.00 plus 8.75% over $21,000
Over $31,000 but not over $41,000.................. $2,225.00 plus 9.5% over $31,000
OVer $41,000.......ccccimiiieeiiiiie e $ 3,175.00 plus 10% over $41,000

Schedule Il
UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount on

Form N-12,
Line 37 is Your tax is

Use this schedule if you checked Not over $1,500........cccceeiiiieiiieniee e 2% of taxable income

Filing Status Box 4 on Form N-12 Over $1,500 but not over $2,500..............c.e..... $ 30.00 plus 3% over $1,500
Over $2,500 but not over $3,500...................... $  60.00 plus 4.5% over $2,500
Over $3,500 but not over $5,500..............ceee... $ 105.00 plus 5.9% over $3,500
Over $5,500 but not over $11,000.................... $ 223.00 plus 7.25% over $5,500
Over $11,000 but not over $21,000.................. $ 621.75 plus 8.6% over $11,000
Over $21,000 but not over $41,000.................. $1,481.75 plus 9.6% over $21,000
OVer $41,000.......ccceiiiiiieiiiiiie i $ 3,401.75 plus 10% over $41,000
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