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FOREWORD

Under the "Sunset Law," licensing boards and commissions and regulated
programs are terminated at specified times unless they are reestablished by the
Legislature. Hawaii's Sunset Law, or the Hawaii Regulatory Licensing Reform Act
of 1977, scheduled for termination 38 occupational licensing programs over a
six-year period. These programs are repealed unless they are specifically
reestablished by the Legislature. In 1979, the Legislature assigned the Office of the
Legislative Auditor responsibility for evaluating each program prior to its repeal.

This report evaluates the regulation of auto repair under Chapter 437B, Hawaii
Revised Statutes. It presents our findings as to whether the program complies with
the Sunset Law and whether there is a reasonable need to regulate auto repair to
protect public health, safety, or welfare. It includes our recommendation on
whether the program should be continued, modified, or repealed.

We acknowledge the cooperation and assistance extended to our staff by the
Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board, the Department of Commerce and Consumer

Affairs, and other officials contacted during the course of our examination.

Clinton T. Tanimura
Legislative Auditor
State of Hawaii

January 1986
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Chapter 1
INTRODUCTION

The Hawaii Regulatory Licensing Reform Act of 1977, or Sunset Law, repeals
statutes concerning 38 occupational licensing programs over a six-year period. Each
year, six to eight licensing statutes are scheduled to be repealed unless specifically
reenacted by the Legislature.

In 1979, the Legislature amended the law to make the Legislative Auditor
responsible for evaluating each licensing program prior to its repeal and to
recommend to the Legislature whether the statute should be reenacted, modified, or
permitted to expire as scheduled. In 1980, the Legislature further amended the law
to require the Legislative Auditor to evaluate the effectiveness and efficiency of
the licensing program, even if he determines that the program should not be

reenacted.

Objective of the Evaluation
The objective of the evaluation is: To determine whether, in light of the
policies set forth in the Sunset Law, the public interest is best served by

reenactment, modification, or repeal of Chapter 437B, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

Scope of the Evaluation

This report examines the history of the statute on the regulation of automobile
repairs and the public health, safety, or welfare that the statute was designed to
protect. It then assesses the effectiveness of the statute in preventing public injury

and the continuing need for the statute.



Chapter 2
BACKGROUND

Chapter 437B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, requires the licensing of motor
vehicle repair mechanics and shops. A brief description of these occupations and a

summary of Chapter 437B, HRS, are provided in this background chapter.

Occupational Characteristics

The automobile may well have more impact on consumers' lives than any other
consumer product. Americans drive an estimated 147.1 million cars and t:rucks,1
and expenditures for repair and maintenance exceed $50 billion per year. About
40 percent of these expenditures, or $20 billion, is for improper or unnecessary auto
repair and maintenance services. Problems with unethical or incompetent auto
repair and maintenance services rank as the nation's number one consumer
complaint, and account for about half of the avoidable costs.2 The remaining losses
stem from car owners' failure to properly maintain their cars and other aspects of
the auto repair industry—for example, automobile designs that place priority on

. 3
ease of manufacture over ease of repair.

1. U.S., Department of Commerce, Statistical Abstract of the United States
1985, Washington, D.C., U.S. Government Printing Office, 1984.

2. U.S., Congress, House, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce,
Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Finance, Automobile Repairs: Avoidable
Costs, Staff Report, 96th Cong., 1st sess., 17 May 1979, p. vi.

3. U.S., Congress, House, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce,
Auto Repair, Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and
Finance, 95th Cong., 2d sess., 14, 20, 21, 25 September, 19 October, and 4 December
1978, p. S.



The auto repair industry is large and complex. It includes the automakers who
are responsible for the design and production of automobiles, the manufacture and
distribution of replacement parts, and the development and honoring of warranty
policies. Manufacturers and distributors of replacement parts for vehicles that are
malfunctioning or damaged in crashes are also part of the industry. Thousands of
auto mechanics and auto repair shops, including new car dealers with repair shops
and auto body shops, deal directly with consumers. All are linked in an elaborate
network affecting consumers.4

Congress, federal agencies (in particular, the Federal Trade Commission and
the National Highway Safety Administration), various states, and private
consumer-oriented organizations such as the Center for Auto Safety and the
American Automobile Association, have been studying the auto repair industry since
the 1960s to identify the nature and sources of consumers' problems and develop
remedies for these problems.

These studies have focused on the full spectrum of the auto repair industry
including the manufacturers, parts distributors, repair shops, and mechanics
training, as well as regulations and programs designed to reduce consumers'
problems with the auto repair industry.

These studies make clear that there are multiple, interacting causes of
consumers' problems and no simple solutions. The most direct sources of consumers'
problems are the auto mechanics and auto repair dealers.

Automotive mechanics. Motor vehicle mechanics perform repair and
maintenance work on cars, trucks, buses, or motorcycles. Their work generally

begins with a review of the symptoms of malfunctioning and may involve a test

4. Ibid.



drive of the motor vehicle to locate the source of a problem. Mechanics may also
use testing equipment such as spark plug testers, compression gauges, and motor
analyzers. The mechanic then makes adjustments or repairs or replaces a part.
Mechanics use a variety of tools including screwdrivers, pliers, and wrenches for
work on small parts; welding and flame-cutting equipment to remove and repair
exhaust systems or other parts; and power tools such as pneumatic wrenches to
remove bolts quickly.

Some mechanics specialize in particular systems such as automatic
transmissions, automotive air-conditioning systems, brakes, or radiators. Others
perform a variety of repair and diagnostic work.

There are no formal educational requirements for entry into automotive
mechanics, and many mechanics still learn their trade primarily on the job. Training
in automotive mechanics at a community college or a vocational or technical school
is available, and limited apprenticeship programs may be offered by dealers or
independent repair shops. Employers may also send their mechanics to factory
training centers or progrzu'ns.5

Instructional programs in automotive mechanics are offered by public and
private educational institutions in Hawaii. The Department of Education has
courses in 35 out of the 39 public high schools providing classroom and shop
experiences in maintenance work and the design and functioning of automotive
power systems. Six University of Hawaii community colleges provide instruction in
the maintenance and repair of automotive engines and fuel, ignition, brake, and

other systems. The University's Employment Training Office, the New York

S. U.S., Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, 1984-85
Edition, Washington, D.C., U.S. Government Printing Office, April 1984, pp. 256-258.



Technical Institute, a private trade school, and the Brigham Young
University——Hawaii Campus also offer courses of varying lengths.

The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations reports that there are 27
employers with four-year apprenticeship programs in automotive mechanics and 18
in two-year programs for servicing mechanics who perform light maintenance work
such as tune-ups and lubrication of automobiles. However, enrollment in these
apprenticeship programs has been low. As of June 1985, there were only
35S apprentices in these programs.

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence, a nonprofit
organization established in 1972 with industry support, offers nationwide voluntary
certification for auto technicians in one or more of eight different service areas:
engine repair, automatic transmission/transaxle, manual drive train and axles,
suspension and steering, brakes, electrical systems, heating and air conditioning, and
engine performance.

For certification in each area, mechanics must have at least two years of
experience and pass a written examination. Completion of an automotive mechanic
program in high school, vocation or trade school, or community or junior college
may be substituted for one year of experience. Certified mechanics must retake the
examination at least once every five years.6

Motor vehicle repair dealers. Motor vehicle mechanics are employed in
various types of auto repair shops. One study has identified six types of shops which
serve the general public: (1) the new car dealerships with attached service and parts

departments that do most of the warranty repair work and are paid for this work by

6. National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence, The ASE Story,
November 1984.
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manufacturers according to manufacturers' policies; (2) the large independent
general repair garages with at least a dozen service stalls; (3) the small one or two
man garage where the proprietor is usually the mechanic; (4) the many thousands of
gas stations with their one or two service stalls that are responsible for most of the
minor repairs and adjustments made on today's automobiles; (S) the specialty shops
franchised by national companies such as Midas Muffler Shops which specialize in
selling and installing the parent company's transmissions, brakes, mufflers, or
rebuilt engines; and (6) the automobile analysis or diagnostic centers which give
electronic tests and report faults the car may have for a f ee.7 Another study has
identified still another type of repair dealer, the large department store chains (e.g.,
Sears, Roebuck and Company) with automotive service departments.8

Mechanics are also employed by the federal, state, and local governments,
taxicab and automobile leasing companies, and other enterprises that repair their
own fleets of cars or trucks.9

Regulation of mechanics and shops. There are three basic types of state or
local auto repair regulations specifically directed at reducing consumers' auto repair
problems: (1) disclosure laws; (2) facility or shop licensing laws; and (3) mechanics
licensing laws.

Auto repair disclosure laws. Auto repair disclosure laws establish a consumer

right to information in auto repair transactions and usually contain one or more of

7. Anthony Till, What You Should Know Before You Have Your Car
Repaired, Los Angeles, Sherbourne Press, Inc., 1976, pp. 18-19.

8. Margaret Bresnahan Carlson, How To Get Your Car Repaired Without
Getting Gypped - The Car Owner's Survival Manual, New York, Harper & Row,
1973, p. 119,

9. U.S., Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, p. 257.
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the following kinds of provisions: (1) the repair shops must give the consumer a
written estimate of the costs of repairing the vehicle; (2) the consumer must
specifically authorize the repairs before work can begin; (3) the consumer is entitled
to a written invoice detailing all parts used and all labor performed in the repair of
the vehicle; (4) parts replaced in the consumer's vehicle must be returned to or be
made available for the consumer's inspection; (5) express warranties must be in
writing; (6) repair shops may neither refuse to return a consumer's vehicle because
of a mechanics lien, nor enforce a lien, if they have failed to comply with the law's
disclosure requirements; (7) repair shops are prohibited from making false or
misleading statements to the consumer on any aspect of an auto repair transaction;
(8) the disclosure requirements must be conspicuously posted in the shops; and
(9) repair shops must retain records of all auto repair transactions.

The auto repair disclosure law is the most frequently adopted type of auto
repair legislation. Fourteen states, the District of Columbia, and at least three
local governments have laws or rules containing disclosure requirements relating to
auto repair transactions. Eight of those states with disclosure laws have no
additional facility or mechanics licensing provision. Disclosure laws may be
enforced in conjunction with existing deceptive practices and consumer protection
statutes.

Licensing of auto repair facilities. Seven states, the District of Columbia, and
at least three local governments have consumer—oriented statutes or regulations
requiring auto repair shops to obtain licenses to do business within their Jjurisdictions.

These regulations may be the responsibility of boards, bureaus, divisions, or
commissions that are empowered to promulgate rules and regulations, process

consumer complaints, conduct investigations and inspections, hold hearings, and

impose penalties.
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The licensing laws are designed to deal primarily with fraudulent and
deceptive practices. The laws provide authorities with the power to temporarily or
permanently halt business operations. Proponents of such laws say that this power
improves the relative position of consumers in auto repair transactions.

Licensing of auto mechanics. Only two states, Michigan and Hawaii, along
with the District of Columbia, license auto mechanics.

The District of Columbia's mechanics licensing provision is part of its
disclosure and facility licensing law. It requires each repair dealer to be or to
employ a licensed supervisory inspector whose duty it is to ensure that repair work
has been performed properly. To become licensed as a supervisory inspector, an
applicant must first pass a competency examination.

Michigan's auto repair law includes disclosure requirements, shop licensing,
and auto mechanics licensing. Each shop must employ one specialty or master
mechanic in each area of repair it provides, and any work performed by a
noncertified mechanic must be inspected and approved by one who is certified in the
pertinent specialty.

The Michigan statute further specifies that a mechanic who is unable to pass
the certification test may work with a mechanic trainee permit under the
supervision of a certified mechanic for a maximum period of two years.lo

Hawaii's statute contains provisions for disclosure and the licensing of repair
shops and auto mechanics.

Although Hawaii's law calls for the "registration" of dealers and mechanics, it
would be more correct to call it a licensing program as it is unlawful for any person

to engage in the repair of motor vehicles without "registering" as a dealer or

10. Ruth W. Woodling, "Auto Repair Regulation: An Analysis," State
Government, v. 1, Winter 1977, pp. 35-45.
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mechanic. In this report, we will refer to all those who have registered as "licensed"
mechanics or dealers.

Any person performing repair work must be licensed unless the person is an
apprentice supervised by a licensed mechanic. However, because Hawaii's
grandfather clause permitted many mechanics to be licensed without testing, a
licensed mechanic may be a person who has not passed a certification test.

Other laws and programs. In addition to auto repair disclosure and licensing
laws and common law remedies available to consumers, there are other
consumer-oriented laws applicable to auto repair problems: federal11 and state12
consumer protection laws prohibit unfair and deceptive business practices, state
uniform commercial codes regulate business transactions and warranties, and the
federal Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act sets standards for warranties on consumer

13

products including automobiles. In addition, some states have enacted "lemon

laws" which enable consumers to demand a refund or a replacement vehicle if
certain warranty repair work is unsatisfactory or unsuccessful after several repair

attempts. 14

11. U.S., Comptroller General of the United States, Public and Private
Coordination Needed if Auto Repair Problems are to be Reduced, Washington, D.C.,
January 11, 1980, pp. 140-141.

12. National Association of Attorneys General, Legislation Regulating Auto
Repair, May 1976, pp. 13-15.

13. National Consumer Law Center, "Lemon Laws Should Be Written to
Ensure Broad Scope and Adequate Remedies," Clearinghouse Review, v. 17, no. 3,
July 1983, pp. 303-304.

14. Lynne Reaves, "Lemon Laws: Putting the Squeeze on Automobile

Manufacturers," Washington University Law Quarterly, v. 61, Winter 1984,
pp. 1125-1130.
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Laws affecting warranty repairs are significant because many consumer
problems involve warranty work. Nationally, the Better Business Bureau reports
that more than half of auto-related complaints involved new vehicles still under

warranty. 15

Private efforts to aid consumers are also available in some states. For
example, the auto industry encourages establishment of local AUTOCAPSs,
committees of new car dealers that mediate consumers' disputes with auto repair
service providers. Some automakers have established their own arbitration
procedures to deal with consumers' complaints. Also, the American Automobile
Association operates a shop rating service based on facility and personnel
qualification standards and customers' assessment of services to assist its members

in their selection of auto repair shops.

Legislative History of Hawaii's Law

The Legislature established state regulation of the automobile repair industry
in 1975 (Act 143, SLH 1975), after five years of legislative and public discussions on
the issue of how best to reduce consumers' problems with the auto repair industry.

The Legislature had considered numerous proposals to improve automobile
repair services. From 1970 through 1975, over 30 bills and resolutions were
introduced in the Legislature. Legislators conducted many public hearings to air the
views of the auto repair trade associations, government agencies, and consumers.

There was general agreement on the intent of proposed legislative
measures—to help consumers in their dealings with the auto repair industry——but

there was significant disagreement over how this should be achieved.

15. U.S., Congress, Automobile Repairs: Avoidable Costs, p. vi.
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Summary of Hawaii's Law

Chapter 437B, HRS, mandates state regulation of the motor vehicle repair
industry. Businesses and mechanics must be licensed in order to engage in the repair
of motor vehicles for compensation. Exempt from regulation are employees of the
state, county, or federal governments, or employees of enterprises repairing
vehicles that are for their exclusive use and that are not leased or rented to others.
Responsibility for regulation rests with the Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board.

The Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board. The board must consist of three
industry members and four members who are not connected with the motor vehicle
repair industry. Two of those from the industry must be registered auto mechanics.

The board is charged by law with specific responsibilities to: establish
qualification standards for motor vehicle repair dealers and mechanics; inquire into
and make rules relating to industry practices and policies; contract and cooperate
with the State Director of Vocational Education in developing and administering the
certification program; investigate and gather evidence on violations of regulatory
requirements; and devise a classification of motor vehicle mechanics consistent with
the certification program and limit activities of mechanics to areas for which they
are certified.

The board is authorized to fine, order restitution, suspend, revoke, or refuse to
renew the registration of dealers or mechanics for violation of Chapter 437B or its
rules. The fines are: first offense, $75; second offense, $150; and subsequent
offenses, $300 to $1,000.

The board may also seek a court injunction or other appropriate restraining
orders for violations of Chapter 437B and its rules.

The board is placed within the Department of Commerce and Consumer

Affairs for administrative purposes.
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Licensing of auto mechanics. A motor vehicle mechanic is any person,
self-employed or employed by another, who engages in the diagnosis or repair of
malfunctions of motor vehicles for compensation and may be either an intermediate
or journeyman mechanic. The terms intermediate and journeyman mechanics are
not defined in the law.

Chapter 437B provides for the following licensing categories: "registered
mechanic" and "registered—certified mechanic."” "Registered mechanics" are those
mechanics who were licensed to practice under a "grandfather clause" in
Chapter 437B. Mechanics who were working for a period of at least two years prior
to January 1, 1976 and who registered under Chapter 437B on or before June 30,
1976 are permitted to work as licensed mechanics without taking any certification
tests.

"Registered-certified mechanics" are those licensees who have met the
certification and testing standards of Chapter 437B, HRS.

"Mechanic apprentices or helpers" are those engaged in the diagnosis or repair
of malfunctions of motor vehicles who are not registered or certified. They are
required to work under the supervision of a licensed mechanic, and the employer is
responsible for providing the required supervision.

The rules add another licensing category of "registered—certified-general
mechanic." This is a mechanic who has been certified in all specialties of
automotive repair work.

Mechanics' certification program. The law requires the board to contract with
the office of the State Director of Vocational Education to develop and administer a
certification program for mechanics. The certification program for motor vehicle
mechanics requires mechanics to meet minimum training standards and pass

certification tests in different aspects or specialties of automotive repair work.
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A mechanic who passes the appropriate tests qualifies for licensing as a
registered—certified mechanic.

Motor vehicle mechanics may be certified to work in one or more of the ten
following categories: (1) automotive engine, (2) tune—up, (3) automatic transmission,
(4) brakes, (S) electrical systems, (6) front suspension and wheel alignment, (7) air
conditioning, (8) standard transmission/rear axle, (9) diesel engine, and
(10) motorcycle and motor scooter.

Each specialty has a certification test consisting of two parts, a written part
and a performance part. To become licensed, candidates must pass both parts of the
test. Candidates may test and retest any number of times.

To be eligible to take the certification tests, candidates must meet minimum
training and work experience requirements.

The requirements for the automotive engine, tune-up, brakes, electrical
systems, standard transmission/rear axle, and diesel engine tests are: two years of
vocational academic schooling in automotive repair and one year of experience
"largely" in the specialty area under an intermediate, journeyman, registered, or
registered-certified mechanic; or one year of schooling and two years of relevant,
supervised work experience; or three years of relevant, supervised work experience.

The requirements for the front suspension and wheel alignment, air
conditioning, automatic transmission, and motorcycle and motor scooter tests are:
one year of vocational academic schooling in automotive repair and one year of
relevant, supervised work experience; or two yeérs of relevant, supervised work
experience.

Regulation of dealers. Motor vehicle dealers are those in the business of

diagnosing or repairing malfunctions of motor vehicles.
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Dealers fall into the following licensing categories: "motor vehicle repair
dealer," "certified repair dealer," or "motor vehicle repair salvage dealer." A
"motor vehicle repair dealer" is one who is or who employs a licensed motor vehicle
mechanic. A "certified repair dealer" is one whose full-time crew of mechanics
includes a minimum of SO percent who are "registered-certified mechanics.® A
"salvage" dealer is one engaged in the business of restoring or rebuilding salvaged,
wrecked, or dismantled vehicles declared a total loss by a police officer or an
insurer.

Licensed auto repair dealers include new car dealerships and department
stores with service departments, large and small service garages, gas stations,
specialty repair shops like Midas Muffler Shops of Hawaii and AAMCO Transmissions
of Honolulu, and diagnostic centers. By rule, auto body, paint, glass, and other
auto-related shops engaging in certain auto mechanical work are also subject to
licensure.

Prohibited acts. Dealers are prohibited from engaging in the following acts or
omissions:

Making or authorizing any statement which is known to be untrue or
misleading;

Causing or allowing a customer to sign any work order which does not
state the repairs requested by the customer or the automobile's
odometer reading at the time of repair;

Failing or refusing to give to a customer a copy of any document
requiring his signature, as soon as the customer signs such document;
Any other conduct which constitutes fraud;

Conduct constituting gross negligence;

20



Failure to comply with Chapter 437B or regulations adopted pursuant
to it;

Any wilful departure from or disregard of accepted practices or
workmanship;

Making false promises of a character likely to influence, persuade, or
induce a customer to authorize the repair, service, or maintenance of
a motor vehicle;

Having repair work subcontracted without the knowledge or consent
of the customer unless it can be demonstrated that the customer
could not reasonably have been notified;

Conducting the business of motor vehicle repair in a place other than
that stated on the registration except that mobile repair facilities
may be permitted if the registration so indicates; and

Rebuilding or restoring a rebuilt vehicle in such a manner that the
vehicle does not conform to the original manufacturer's established
repair procedures or specifications and allowable tolerances for the
particular model and year.

Disclosure requirements. Dealers must also comply with the following
requirements in their transactions with customers. First, dealers must provide each
customer with a written estimate before performing any repair work, unless a
customer signs a written waiver.

Second, dealers may charge no more than 15 percent of the estimated price if
the estimate is less than $100, or no more than 10 percent of the estimate if the
estimate is over $100. This requirement may be waived if the customer gives the

dealer a written or oral consent after the dealer determines that the estimate is

insufficient and before the repair work is done.
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Third, dealers must provide each customer with an invoice listing separately
the description and charges for labor and parts and specifying if any used, rebuilt, or
reconditioned parts were used. A copy of the invoice must be retained by the dealer.

Fourth, upon a customer's request at the time a work order is placed, a dealer
must return replaced parts to the customer. If the parts are to be returned to the
manufacturer or distributor under a warranty agreement, or if the size, weight, or
similar factors make it impractical to return the part to the customer, the dealer is
required to offer to show the part to the customer. This requirement applies only if
the customer is charged for the replacing part.

Fifth, dealers must post a notice, supplied by the board, informing customers
that they are entitled to a written estimate for repair work, a detailed invoice of
work done and parts supplied, and the return of certain replaced parts. The notice
must also state that questions concerning these entitlements should be directed to
the manager of the repair facility, and that unresolved questions regarding service
work may be submitted to the board. The location and telephone number for the
board's office on each island are on the notice.

Sixth, dealers are also required to maintain records of all invoices, including
invoices received from other sources, for parts and/or labor and invoices for all
warranty work showing the terms of the warranty. Records of all work orders
and/or contracts for repairs, parts, and labor must also be kept.

Registration condition precedent to lien. Persons required to register under
Chapter 437B do not have the benefit of any lien for labor or materials or the right
to sue on contract for motor vehicle repairs they have done unless they were

registered at the time the contract was performed.
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Suits. Nothing in Chapter 437B prevents the Office of Consumer Protection
from filing suit against any dealer, mechanic, or apprentice for violation of
Section 480-2, HRS, relating to unfair and deceptive acts, and nothing in
Chapter 437B prohibits an individual from bringing civil action against a dealer,
mechanic, or apprentice. A violation of Chapter 437B and its rules is a
misdemeanor.

Licensees. As of October 1985, there were 2,864 mechanics licensed to
practice under the grandfather clause, 54 mechanics who were originally
grandfathered and subsequently completed the certification and testing
requirements, 369 mechanics that have met the certification and testing standards,

and 1,004 registered auto repair dealers.17

17. Hawaii, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Geographic
Report, Honolulu, October 9, 1985.
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Chapter 3

EVALUATION OF THE REGULATION OF THE
MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR INDUSTRY

This chapter contains our evaluation of the regulation of the motor vehicle
repair industry under Chapter 437B, Hawaii Revised Statutes. It includes our

assessment of the need for regulation and the efficiency and effectiveness of the

regulatory program.

Summary of Findings

We find that:

1. There is sufficient potential harm to consumers in the motor vehicle
repair industry to warrant state regulation. However, significant changes must be
made in the law to remove ineffective and unenforceable provisions and to
strengthen regulations to protect consumers.

2. State regulation of automotive mechanics has been ineffective. Licensing
of mechanics has not achieved the objective of ensuring competent auto repair and
maintenance work and should be eliminated.

3. State regulation of auto repair dealers has benefited the public and should
be continued. However, it can be improved by: (a) clarifying the kinds of auto
repair dealers that are subject to regulation; (b) establishing realistic licensing
requirements; and (c) adding provisions to increase dealers' accountability for proper
performance of repair work.

4. The Motor Vehicle Industry Repair Board is no longer necessary for
effective regulation and should be eliminated. Moreover, the current composition of

the board does not appear to conform to statute.
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5. There is a need for the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
(DCCA) to make the public more aware of its rights under the auto repair laws and

more cognizant of the State's role in resolving complaints.

Need for Regulation
Potential harm. Consumer complaints about auto repair services rank one in

2 Consumers of

the nation1 and high on the list of complaints filed with the State.
motor vehicle repair services suffer considerable economic loss, aggravation, and
sometimes bodily injury, because of faulty or unsuccessful repairs, and unfair,
deceptive, or poor business practices of the motor vehicle repair industry.

Auto repair shops can easily confuse, mislead, or deceive consumers who are
at a disadvantage in their dealings with the motor vehicle repair industry. Most
consumers lack sufficient knowledge of the parts and the functioning of their
automobiles and business practices of the industry. They have difficulty identifying
competent, reliable, and honest repair shops and assessing the soundness of repairs
and prices.

Repair services may be unnecessary, unskilled, fraudulent, unsatisfactory, or
sometimes even futile as when a car is a "lemon." Because of their lack of
knowledge, consumers are susceptible to such fraudulent or questionable business
practices as:

intentionally writing repair estimates lower than the final repair bill to

get a customer's business;

1. U.S., Congress, House, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce,
Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Finance, Automobile Repairs: Avoidable
Costs, Staff Report, 96th Cong., 1st sess., 17 May 1979, p. v.

2. Hawaii, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, untitled,
undated report on the Compliance Resolution Fund.
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charging a flat rate for different classes of repairs regardless of the

actual time the job may take;

installing used parts while charging the customer for new ones;

performing work or installing parts that a car did not need;

obtaining blanket authorization from a customer to perform whatever

work the shop decides on without the customer's prior approval;

making misleading claims such as exaggerating the guarantee or warranty

or advertising tune-ups for low amounts when average bills are

considerably higher; and

making temporary or minor or no adjustments on new car defects that are

under warranty, then doing the major repair work later at the customer's

expense when the warranty expires.3

Consumers' problems stem in part from a general shortage of skilled auto
mechanics to meet the demand for repair and maintenance services.4 Repair
businesses compete for a limited pool of experienced, skilled mechanics and may
hire less well-trained or inexperienced mechanics to meet the demand for services.
Most of the complaints filed with the State allege improper repairs and

frustration or anger over the repeated failure of auto repair shops to correct
continuing problems. Some complaints relate to poor or dishonest business practices
on the part of auto repair shops. Other complaints arise from misunderstandings

between customers and shops.

3. U.S., Congress, Automobile Repairs: Avoidable Costs, pp. v-xi;
Margaret Bresnahan Carlson, How To Get Your Car Repaired Without Getting
Gypped — The Car Owner's Survival Manual, New York, Harper & Row, 1973, pp.
3-23; and Nlinois Legislative Investigating Commission, Auto Repair Abuses, A
Report To The Illinois General Assembly, June, 1975, pp. 108-109.

4. U.S., Congress, Automobile Repairs: Avoidable Costs, p. v; and U.S,,

Comptroller General of the United States, Public and Private Coordination Needed
if Auto Repair Problems are to be Reduced, ] anuary 11, 1980, p. 11.
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It is difficult sometimes to determine whether a consumer's problem is the
result of ineptitude or deceptive business practices on the part of auto repair shops.
For example, a shop may repair more than the malfunctioning part of an engine
because of incompetence in diagnosing the problem, or the shop may intentionally do
unnecessary work to charge more.

There is sufficient potential harm to the public to conclude that the auto
repair industry warrants continued state regulation. However, significant changes
must be made to Chapter 437B to delete those provisions that are unnecessary,
unenforceable, or counterproductive, and to strengthen those provisions that
enhance consumer protection.

Shift focus of regulation. Chapter 437B, HRS, was enacted to assist
consumers in resolving complaints regarding unsatisfactory repairs and excessive
charges. It was hoped that the law would alleviate the problem of repairs performed
by those without proper training and experience and help consumers to identify
facilities that would offer satisfactory repair services.5

To accomplish the foregoing, the law established the licensing of auto repair
mechanics, a program to certify to the competency of auto repair mechanics, the
licensing of auto repair dealers, regulations governing dealer practices and
transactions between dealers and their customers, and a means to resolve
complaints. These regulatory responsibilities were vested in a Motor Vehicle Repair
Industry Board.

We find that the licensing of auto mechanics and the certification program

have proven to be ineffective. Licensing and certification of auto mechanics have

S. Senate Standing Committee Report No. 66 on Senate Bill No. 94, S.D. 1,
Regular Session of 1975; Senate Standing Committee Report No. 99 on Senate Bill
No. 91, Regular Session of 1975; and Senate Standing Committee Report No. 535 on
Senate Bill No. 91, S.D. 2, Regular Session of 1975.
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not promoted or ensured competent work in the auto repair industry. They may
even have had an opposite effect. On the other hand, many of the requirements that
are aimed at establishing auto repair dealers' accountability and responsibility for
satisfactory repair work have been beneficial to the public. Regulations relating to
dealer practices should be continued and strengthened.

In the next sections, we will discuss some of the reasons why the regulation of
auto mechanics has not been successful and why there is a need to shift the focus of

regulation to auto repair dealers.

Regulation of Auto Mechanics

Chapter 437B was enacted in 1975. After ten years of experience, it has
become clear that state regulation of auto mechanics has had little impact on
increasing the supply of auto mechanics or ensuring their competency. In addition,
the licensing categories for auto mechanics are confusing, and the state
certification program has been of questionable value.

Lack of impact on supply of skilled mechanics. The law sought to ensure that
all auto repair work is done by trained mechanics by requiring all auto repair to be
performed either by licensed mechanics or under the supervision of licensed
mechanics. Except for the large number of mechanics who obtained their licenses
by being grandfathered under the law, all licensed mechanics must be certified
under the state certification program by passing a written and a practical test.

Today, only 423 of the total of 3,287 licensed mechanics have met

qualification standards and passed certification ‘cests.6 They constitute merely

6. Hawaii, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Geographic
Report, Honolulu, October 9, 1985.
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S percent of the estimated 8,000 auto mechanics in the industry's work force.7 It is
evident that state licensing has not significantly increased the supply of skilled auto
repair mechanics. In fact, licensing may have had the opposite effect by
discouraging experienced mechanics from coming to work in Hawaii.

Chapter 437B also sought to increase the supply of skilled mechanics by
requiring the establishment of an apprentice program. Such a program was never
established although there is a definite need for apprenticeship programs. Requiring
one under Chapter 437B has obviously had little impact.

A recent report for the State Commission on Manpower and Full Employment
on auto mechanics' supply and demand states that there is a surplus of entry-level
automotive mechanics in Hawaii.8 However, there is a shortage in the number of
experienced and skilled mechanics. There are numerous reasons for this. According
to some, wages and conditions in the industry are not sufficiently attractive to
retain workers. Others say that employers do not want to spend money on training
programs, and factory training opportunities are limited because of Hawaii's
distance from factory training centers. The technology of the industry is also
changing rapidly with the increasing use of on-board computers and electronic
components. All of these reasons affecting the supply of skilled mechanics have
little to do with licensing.

A licensing program is aimed at requiring a minimum level of competence for
those who wish to practice an occupation. It does not increase the supply of skilled

mechanics.

7. Hawaii, State Commission on Manpower and Full Employment and Sta..:ce
Advisory Council on Vocational Education, The Impact of Technology on Hawaii's
Automotive Mechanics: An Analysis With Recommendations, September 1984, p. 12.

8. Ibid.
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Standard of competency not established by licensing. In most licensing
programs, those who are eligible for licensing must meet standardized requirements
so that there is some assurance that licensed practitioners possess comparable,
minimal levels of skills. In the case of licensed auto mechanics, there is no such
assurance. Those licensed to practice vary considerably in their qualifications and
skills.

Licensed mechanics consist of those who were grandfathered and those who
were certified under the state certification program by passing written and
practical tests. Of the total of 3,287 licensed auto mechanics, 2,864 or 87 percent
became licensed by being grandf. a:chered.9

The "grandfather" clause allowed mechanics working for at least two years by
January 1, 1976, and registering with the State by June 30, 1976, to be officially
licensed regardless of training, experience, or competence. Although the level of
training, skills, or knowledge of auto mechanics of these licensed mechanics are
unknown, they are allowed to perform the full range of repair services.

At the same time, the law requires all other mechanics to meet formal
training and/or work experience standards and pass state written and practical
certification tests in one or more of ten specialty areas of auto repair to become
licensed. These mechanics become licensed in the specialty tested and passed and
are permitted to practice only those specialties for which they have been certified.
For example, if a mechanic passes the certification test in brake systems, then the
mechanic is certified to work on brake systems only.

Nearly half of the 423 certified mechanics are certified in only one specialty.

One-fourth are certified in only two areas. Another fourth has passed tests in three

9. Hawaii, Geographic Report.
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or more categories, and only two individuals in the entire State are certified in all
ten specialties.

The number of mechanics certified in the specialty areas are as follows: brake
systems, 265; tune-ups, 131; engines, 118; front suspension and wheel alignment,
100; air conditioning, 80; electrical systems, 71; automatic transmission, 65;
standard transmission, 39; motorcycle, 22; and diesel engines, 6.10

These conditions create a paradoxical situation in which grandfathered
mechanics who did not have to meet any performance standards are allowed to
perform the full range of repair work while certified mechanics are allowed to work
only in those areas for which they are certified.

Since all auto repair shops are required to employ a full-time licensed
mechanic, this means that a repair shop with one mechanic with a grandfathered
license may engage in the full range of repair activities. However, a repair shop
with a mechanic certified in brakes and transmission may legally perform only
brakes and transmission services but no tune-ups, air conditioning, electrical
system, or any other service.

These requirements create an undue hardship, particularly for small repair
shops that cannot afford to employ several mechanics, each of whom is certified in
only one or two specialties. It severely limits the kinds of repair services they can
offer.

In fact, a shop with only one licensed mechanic may engage in the full range of
auto repair and maintenance services only if it has a mechanic with a grandfathered

license or one of the two mechanics in Hawaii certified in all of the specialty areas.

10. Hawaii, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Alphabetic
Roster for Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board, Honolulu, September 26, 1985.
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Licensed repair shops are also responsible for ensuring that all unlicensed
mechanics work only under the supervision of appropriately licensed mechau'xics.11
This means that a mechanic certified only in automatic transmission work may not
supervise an unlicensed mechanic working on a standard transmission, and an
unlicensed mechanic may not legally perform any repair and maintenance services
without proper supervision,

With only 423 certified mechanics and a work force of 8,000, it is unrealistic
to expect the full range of mechanical work in Hawaii to be performed or supervised
by certified mechanics. In addition, because of the questionable validity of the
state certification program, it is not clear how much reliance can be placed on the
competency of certified mechanics. Representatives of the industry acknowledge
that many unlicensed mechanics perform work similar to that performed by licensed
mechanics without the required supervision and that many certified mechanics
regularly perform auto repair tasks in specialties for which they are not certified.

The board and the department have not required mechanics or repair shops to
comply with the regulations. They have not monitored compliance or enforced the
regulations. The law and the regulations on licensed practice and the limitations on
such practice are clearly unreasonable and unenforceable.

Confusing licensing categories. The licensing categories currently in use are
confusing and inconsistent with those established by law. Table 3.1 compares the
categories identified in Chapter 437B with the licenses currently being issued by

DCCA.

11. Section 16-87-27, Hawaii Administrative Rules.
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Table 3.1

Categories of Auto Mechanics

Description
Licenses Issued by the Department
Title Categories Defined in Chapter 437B of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Registered mechanic One who has registered (grandfathered). Grandfathered,
Registered-certified mechanic One who is registered and certified by A mechanic who was grandfathered
passing certification tests. and subsequently became certified,
Certified mechanic Not in statute or rules, One who has passed state certification

tests.

Source: Chapter 437B, HRS, and Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Licensing Branch,

The statute established two categories of licensure, a “"registered mechanic"
and a "registered-certified mechanic." A "registered mechanic" is one who is
licensed under the grandfather clause. A "registered-certified mechanic” is one who
is registered and certified by passing the certification tests.

DCCA, on the other hand, has three categories of licensure. The department
uses the title "registered mechanic" for those who were grandfathered. It licenses
as "registered-certified mechanics" those who were originally grandfathered and
then subsequently passed certification tests. It has a third license of "certified
mechanic" that it issues to those who have passed certificaﬁon tests. The "certified
mechanic” license title is not authorized either by statute or by rule.

In addition to those licensing categories shown in Table 3.1, the board has
established, by rule, the category of "registered-certified—general mechanic" to

denote one who has passed the eight automotive specialty certification tests.12

12. Section 16-87-3, Hawaii Administrative Rules. Section 16-87-26 lists the
eight automotive specialties as engine, tune-up, automatic transmission, brakes,
electrical systems, front suspension and wheel alignment, air conditioning, and

standard transmission and rear axle. The remaining two categories are diesel and
motorcycle.
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There‘ is little rationale for the three different licenses being issued by DCCA
since the department does not use the different categories of licensure to monitor
the activities of licensees or to enforce regulatory provisions.

In addition to the licensing categories, Chapter 437B mentions three other
categories of auto mechanics. However, the statute does not describe these
categories fully or clarify the differences among them. It identifies "motor vehicle
mechanics” and says that these may be either intermediate or journeyman motor
vehicle mechanics. However, the difference between the two and what they are
allowed to do is not described. The purpose of this distinction is unclear.

Certification program. The state certification program is of questionable
value. To become certified, applicants must: (1) meet the qualification standards
to be eligible to take the tests, and (2) pass the certification tests. There are
problems with both the qualification standards and the tests.

Qualification standards. We find that the qualification standards are vague
and have no demonstrated relationship to ensuring competency.

There are two sets of qualification standards. To qualify to take the
certification tests in the six specialty areas of engine, tune-up, brake systems,
electrical systems, standard transmission/rear axle, and diesel engine, an applicant
must have two years of education in auto mechanics and one year of supervised
pertinent work experience or various combinations of education and experience
adding up to a total of three years.

For certification in the four specialty areas of front suspension and wheel
alignment, air conditioning, automatic transmission, and motorcycle and motor

scooter, an applicant must complete one year of education and/or work in auto

35



repair and one year of supervised experience in the specialty or two years of

. 13
experience.

The standards are defective in several respects. First, they are vague. The
department has no guidelines for assessing the kinds of educational experiences that
qualify. The application form merely says that education must consist of vocational
academic schooling with credit courses. There are no standards on the level of
courses, the kinds of courses, or the number of hours that must be taken to satisfy
the educational requirement. Educational programs for auto mechanics include high
school courses, courses in trade schools, and associate level degree programs in
community colleges. The formal educational programs vary considerably in length
and in substance.14

The nature of the work experience required is also vague. The rules call for
work experience "largely in the specialty area of certification in which one has
applied for certificat'cion."15 While the general nature and significance of this rule is
readily understood, attempting to determine on a consistent basis whether an
applicant's experience is "largely” in the specialty area can be difficult.

The department does not assess the nature of education and work experience.
It merely checks the total number of years of reported education and experience.
Neither does it verify any of the information reported by applicants.

Second, the standards are arbitrary. The work experience required of
applicants may be wunder the supervision of either a registered or

registered—certified mechanic. There is no assurance that applicants who work

13. Section 16-87-26(d), Hawaii Administrative Rules.
14. Hawaii, The Impact of Technology, ;op 9-11.
15. Section 16-87-26(d){(a)(A), Hawaii Administrative Rules.
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under the supervision of a registered mechanic (one who has been grandfathered) or
a registered-certified mechanic (one who has passed the certification tests) are
being properly trained at a comparable, minimum standard of competency.

Third, these training and work standards apply only for the initial application
to take a certification test in a specialty area. Applicants for the second or
subsequent specialty tests may simply take the tests regardless of the lack of
relevant training in the specialty areas. Thus, an applicant who graduates from a
community college with training in auto mechanics may work for a year on brake
systems, then be eligible to take the certification test for brake systems. Upon
completion of that test, the applicant may, without any additional work experience,
qualify to take certification tests on engines, air conditioning, or any other
category of repair work.

Finally, these qualification standards are redundant and unnecessary if the
certification tests are valid and reliable. This point was made in 1976 by the then
director of the State Office of Vocational Education, the office responsible for the
certification program, who recommended that the State not impose any training
requirements to be eligible to take the tests.16 Michigan, the only other state
certifying mechanics, does not have minimum educational and training
requirements. It simply tests its applicants.”

Certification tests. The State Office of Vocational Education at the
University of Hawaii is responsible for developing and administering the

certification tests for mechanics.

16. Minutes of the Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board, January 16, 1976.

17. Michigan Department of State, Bureau of Automotive Regulation, General
Rules, as Amended, R 257-161.
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There are written and practical tests for the following specialty areas: air
conditioning, automatic transmission, brake systems, diesel engine, electrical
systems, engine, front suspension and wheel alignment, motorcycle, standard
transmission/rear axle, and tune-ups. Applicants must pass the written test before
they are allowed to take the practical tests.

There are questions about the validity and reliability of the tests, the
infrequency of the examinations, and the fairness of special certification tests.

Questions of validity and reliability. The original written tests were developed
in 1976 by California educators experienced in test development. The practical
tests were developed by different consultants over a period of several years. The
records indicate that the written tests were subjected to validity and reliability
testing. It is uncertain whether the practical tests were so tested.

A test of validity would indicate whether the certification tests predict
competent and safe performance of a job or correlate with significant skills and
knowledge of a job.

A test of reliability would indicate whether the certification tests measure
knowledge and skills in a consistent way (i.e., a person scoring high on one form of
the examination would likely score high on another form of the examination at a
different time).

The original tests have been modified by committees of instructors from the
community colleges and persons in the auto repair business, and the latest tests have
not been tested for conformance to professional testing standards of validity and
reliability.

The validity of the certification tests is being questioned by some board
members, staff, and others from the industry. Critics say that the tests have not

kept up with the times and changes in automotive technology. The tests cover
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American cars and technology oniy. They do not cover foreign automobiles even
though there are numerous Japanese and European cars in Hawaii today. They do
not include items on recent techniques, skills, knowledge, equipment, or automotive
parts that are part of today's automotive technology.

The examiners acknowledge that this is true. They say that the tests focus
only on basic skills and auto parts. The critics contend that knowledge of foreign
cars and recent technological developments such as electronic equipment are basic,
and mechanics should have the skills and knowledge to repair and maintain them.

Some say that the tests of practical sgkills are unnecessary. Instead, a test of
mechanics' ability to read, comprehend, and use technical manuals and related
literature is more important because of the need for mechanics to learn new auto
parts, techniques, tools, and technology. It is also acknowledged, however, that a
person may pass a written test without being able to fix a car.

These views from persons familiar with the auto repair industry raise serious
questions about whether the certification tests are measuring pertinent skills and
knowledge in an appropriate way.

Infrequent examinations. Some in the auto repair industry complain about the
infrequency of the practical examinations and the lack of practical examinations on
the neighbor islands.

The written examinations are administered three times a year in February,
June, and October. But the practical examinations, one for each specialty area, are
given once a year on a rotating schedule-—tune-ups in February, automatic
transmissions in March, air conditioning in April, and so on. The examiners say that
they can only give one test at a time because of limited equipment and space in the
testing center. They are not able to lay out properly the equipment, auto parts, and

motor vehicles for more than one specialty test at a time. However, in response to
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complaints, they have made arrangements to offer the tests twice a year on a
rotating schedule beginning in 1986.

Still, this often means a long wait between the written and practical tests and
a long delay for certification. For example, someone taking and passing the written
test for electrical systems in June or October of 1985 must wait until March 1986 to
take the next scheduled practical test for electrical systems.

For neighbor islanders, certification is further complicated because practical
tests are not given on the neighbor islands. In 1983, the State Office of Vocational
Education discontinued giving the practical tests on the neighbor islands,

18 This is seen as unfair and discriminatory

purportedly because of inadequate funds.
by some neighbor island employers and candidates who are threatening to sue the
State over this issue. DCCA, however, will not waive the requirement for the
practical tests or pay air fare for candidates to come to Honolulu for the tests. This
is a general departmental policy, not unique to the mechanics' certification program.

Special certification. Despite claims of inadequate funding and facilities, the
State gave special, unscheduled, unannounced examinations in 1985 for a select
group of individuals, including a board member. Their applications were also given
special handling by DCCA staff. This preferential treatment is unfair to all others
who are interested in certification.

In response to requests from the board member and two persons from the Auto
Body and Paint Association, the Employment Training Office of the University of
Hawaii's community college system ran two special classes. The classes were

designed to prepare a group of auto body shopowners, managers, and auto body

repairers to take and pass the State's certification tests for auto mechanics.

18. Minutes of the Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board, March 3, 1983.
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One, a 45-hour course on front suspension and wheel alignment, was given
from June 24 through July 24. The other, a 72-hour course on brake systems, ran
from August 19 through October 10. The classes had not been offered previously,
and they were not advertised, announced, or offered to others in the auto body or
auto repair businesses.

The board's executive secretary and the University of Hawaii's supervisor for
the certification program authorized special certification tests for this group of
people. Although the normal procedure is for the dates for all the certification
tests to be announced and scheduled a year in advance, the special tests were added
and were not announced to the general public.

The group took a specially scheduled written test for suspension and wheel
alignment on July 29, five days after the end of their class. This specially added
test was a full two and one-half months before the next regularly scheduled written
examination which had been set for October 14.

Two practical tests on front suspension and wheel alignment were also
specially added for this group.

The group was divided into two because of its size. The first group took the
practical test on September 21. The second group was scheduled to take the test on
September 28. However, word of the special class and tests got out, and a protest
by other auto body shopowners was registered with the board's executive secretary,
and the test for the second group was to have been cancelled. It was subsequently
restored and administered on October 15. The test was taken only by those in the
special group.

The applications for certification testing from the special group were also

given special treatment.
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First, they were submitted and approved only eight days before the test. All
other applicants must adhere to DCCA's published deadlines for applications.
DCCA requires all other applicants to submit their application S0 days before the
certification tests.

Second, and more importantly, all applications were approved although most of
the applicants from this group did not appear to meet training and experience
standards to qualify to take the test.

All applicants must have one year of education and one year of experience or
two years of supervised, relevant experience in the specialty to be eligible to take
the front suspension and wheel alignment certification test. Only registered
mechanics who were grandfathered are exempt from this requirement.

Only 4 of the 19 members of this group were registered mechanics and exempt
from the two-year training and experience requirement. The remainder had to
qualify. The information supplied on most of the applications do not substantiate
their meeting the minimum qualifications of at least two years of training in
automotive mechanics or experience under a registered or registered—certified
mechanic working "largely"” in the specialty area. Some of the members of this
group are not trained or working automotive mechanics. They are primarily owners
or managers of auto body shops and auto body repairmen.

Although the application forms clearly state that irregular or incomplete
forms will not be accepted, many of the applications are missing adequate
descriptions of relevant training or experience. Several show inappropriate work
experience or no work experience description at all. Others are incomplete or
improperly completed. Three applications are not properly signed by the applicants

in the space where they are required to certify that the answers and statements on
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the application are true and correct and that the applicant understands that any
misrepresentation constitutes grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of a
license and is a misdemeanor.

Despite these substantive and technical irregularities, DCCA staff approved
the applications.

These activities were carried out without prior approval or knowledge of the
board. The board was not informed of these activities until its October 3, 1985
meeting after the key events were over, and it is not certain whether they were
fully informed. The special classes and tests were reported to the board as "a
special training program developed by the community colleges and the State
Director for Vocational Educa.’cion."19 However, both offices report that they did
not initiate the special classes and tests. They indicate that they were simply
responding to the requests of the board member speaking on behalf of his group and
trade association.

~ At the October meeting, the board adopted policies suggested by DCCA staff
for this "special training program" that are apparently directed at correcting some
of the inequities of the special classes and tests. The board is now requiring all
certification tests to be offered to all eligible applicants on file. All applicants
taking special classes and tests must meet the qualification standards for mechanics
and receive approval of the board. The board has authorized the State Office of
Vocational Education to schedule special tests. The board is also requiring that all
applicants passing the special or regular certification tests be licensed at the same

time.zo

19. Minutes of The Motor Vehicle Industry Repair Board, October 3, 1985.

20. Ibid.
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Ineffective oversight. One of the problems with the current certification
program is that the statute gives the board overall responsibility for the
certification program. However, the board is not in a position to oversee the
program effectively. This is brought out by the preceding events in which the board
had no foreknowledge of the specially scheduled examinations. It had to adopt
policies after the fact.

The part-time board also lacks the technical knowledge of legal and
professional testing requirements and the continuing contact with the State Office
of Vocational Education that is needed for proper supervision of the certification
program.

Discontinue the tests. The testing program is expensive. Since 1979, only 423
mechanics have been screened under the program, a small fraction of the work force
of mechanics in the State. An average of only 60 mechanics are certified each
year. At that rate, to certify even half of the estimated 8,000 mechanics working in
the State will take another 66 years. To certify the entire work force will take
approximately 133 years.

The current annual budget for the testing program is $85,000. Expenditures in
recent years have been at about the same level. These funds pay for personnel,
facilities, auto parts, motor vehicles and their maintenance, testing equipment, and
tools.

Additional funds would be needed for vehicles, parts, equipment, physical
facilities, and technical assistance to develop and administer tests meeting
professional standards of validity and reliability that incorporate a more diverse and
contemporary technology. More funds would also be needed to increase the

frequency of examinations.
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Because the costs of a testing program are so high and the benefits so low, it
should be discontinued under Chapter 437B.

Should state certification be discontinued, other avenues remain for attesting
to the skill of a mechanic. Private organizations such as the National Institute for
Automotive Service Excellence (NIASE) offer certification examinations for
mechanics interested in certification.

Some employers and mechanics prefer the NIASE certification to state
certification. It is recognized across the country and used by several private
programs, such as the American Automobile Association Approved Shop program and
the Shell Autocare program as an indicator of competence.

Conclusions regarding regulation of auto mechanics. The licensing of auto
mechanics by the State has not ensured the public of competent auto repair and
maintenance work. There are numerous problems with the program, and it has not
achieved the desired objective.

Instead of licensing auto mechanics, the responsibility for competent auto
repair work should be placed clearly on auto repair dealers. Auto repair dealers
should be responsible for hiring and using qualified auto mechanics.

Employers are legally responsible for their employees' performance on the
job. The doctrine of respondeat superior is a well-established principle of law. It
means that an employer is strictly liable for the wrongful acts of any of the
employees when the employees are acting within the course and scope of their
employment. It also means that employers are responsible for ensuring that their
employees are properly qualified and performing their work correctly.

Given this legal responsibility of employers for their employees' performance
and the necessity of employers to assess the training, experience, and work

performance of their employees, state licensure of auto mechanics is unnecessary.
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In the next section, we discuss how the regulation of auto repair dealers can be

improved to help to accomplish the objective of competent repair work.

Regulation of Auto Repair Dealers

State regulation of auto repair dealers is directed at establishing dealers'
responsibility for their auto repair and maintenance services. It consists of the
licensing of auto repair dealers and business regulations governing the business
transactions of dealers and consumers.

We find that the regulations have not been strictly followed or enforced.
While parts of the law are clearly unworkable, the thrust of the law is pertinent to
consumer protection and can be made more effective.

To improve regulation, the following problems should be corrected.

The scope of regulation has been unnecessarily extended by the board, on
the one hand, to cover auto body, glass, paint, and other auto-related
specialty shops, and improperly restricted, on the other hand, by DCCA to
exempt repairs under manufacturers' new car warranties.

Provisions relating to the licensing of auto repair dealers are
unnecessarily complicated, and requirements for dealers to have all work
done or supervised by licensed mechanics are unrealistic and
unenforceable.

Stronger provisions are needed to ensure dealers’ accountability for repair
work.

Scope of regulation. Chapter 437B, HRS, defines repair work as maintenance
of and repairs to motor vehicles excluding repairs to tires, lubricating vehicles, and
minor services such as changing spark plugs and oil. There is a question as to

whether regulation should: (1) cover auto body, paint, and glass shops; and
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(2) exclude repairs performed under manufacturers' new car warranties. There is
also a question whether the laws covering salvage dealers are adequate.

Auto body, paint, glass, and other repair shops. The board adopted a rule in
1976 to expand the scope of the law to cover auto body shops, auto paint shops, auto
glass shops, auto machine shops, radiator shops, or other auto specialty shops, if
they perform work involving "the removal, replacement, and/or repairing of any
component of the motor vehicle's engine, automatic transmission, brakes, electrical
systems, front and rear suspensions, air conditioner and standard transmission/rear
a;'cle."21

This rule means that these types of shops must be licensed with at least one
licensed auto mechanic performing or supervising any mechanical work done in these
shops.  The shops must also comply with all the business regulations in
Chapter 437B, including requirements for itemized invoices, written estimates, etc.

While the rule sounds reasonable, it is neither necessary nor enforced.

There appears to be few problems for consumers from auto body, paint, glass,
and other related services. There are only a few complaints each year about any
work performed by these types of businesses. Moreover, requiring these shops to
hire licensed auto mechanics provides little assurance that the mechanical work
they perform will be satisfactory because the licensure of auto mechanics is, in
itself, of questionable validity.

This rule has never been strictly followed by the shops or enforced by DCCA.
A recent departmental review of auto body repairing and painting shops advertising

in the yellow pages revealed that 103 of the 243 advertisers were licensed. The

majority, 140, were not, and the department has not determined whether they should

21. Section 16-87-11(c), Hawaii Administrative Rules.
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be licensed. The department only checks on these shops when there is a complaint,
and there have been few complaints.

Also, for many of these shops, mechanical work is minor or incidental to their
primary work. Some of the shops subcontract their mechanical work to auto repair
shops. Others performmn the mechanical work themselves. However, those
performing structural and mechanical work that pose a high risk to the public are
already subject to regulation as salvage dealers.

Salvage dealers. Auto body shops working on salvage, wrecked, or dismantled
motor vehicles that have been declared total losses by a police officer or an insurer
must be licensed.

This type of salvage work requires registration of the vehicle with the county
director of finance, licensure as an auto repair dealer that includes being or
employing a licensed mechanic, posting a performance bond of not less than $25,000,
and certification by a licensed repair dealer that the rebuilt vehicle conforms to
*the original vehicle manufac’cufer's established repair procedures or specifications

22 As of September

and allowable tolerances for the particular model and year."
1985, eight shops were registered and bonded with the State.
Current regulation appears for the most part to be adequate. However, there
is one loophole in the law that should be closed. The strength of the regulation lies
in the requirement that the rebuilt vehicle be certified by a licensed repair dealer as
conforming to the manufacturer's standards. Without this certification, the vehicle

cannot be registered to operate on the highways, and ownership cannot be

transferred to the buyer. Unfortunately, the law does not clearly require the

22. Section 7, Act 276, SLH 1984.
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certification of conformance to be issued by the rebuilder of the vehicle before
selling the vehicle. The law states that a certificate must be signed by "a registered
or certified motor vehicle repair dealer," not specifically the dealer who did the
rebuilding. This permits the rebuilder to sell a rebuilt vehicle without certifying
conformance to manufacturer's standards. The unknowing buyer would then be
faced with the formidable task of finding a licensed dealer willing to sign the
required certificate so that the rebuilt vehicle can be registered. Other dealers are
generally not willing to certify to the conformance to standards, because it means
assuming legal liability for safe performance of the rebuilt vehicle. Under such
circumstances, the buyer would find it difficult or impossible to register the car and
may be left with a car that is illegal to drive.

Clarifying the law to require the rebuilder to certify conformance to
manufacturer's standards before the rebuilt car can be sold would be a more
reasonable and effective approach to curbing the sale of nonconforming rebuilt
vehicles.

Warranty repairs. Chapter 437B, HRS, does not exempt repair and
maintenance work on new vehicles under manufacturers' warranties. Although such
repair and maintenance are clearly within the scope of this law, they have been
excluded by DCCA.

All new automobile sales dealerships have servicing departments engaged in
warranty and nonwarranty automobile repairs. This makes them subject to licensure
as auto repair dealers.

As auto repair dealers, they should comply with all the provisions of
Chapter 437B, including those relating to workmanship and disclosures in consumer
transactions. The department has exempted auto dealers from these workmanship

and disclosure laws when they perform auto repairs under warranties. Complaints
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involving warranty repairs are routinely referred to the motor vehicle industry
regulatory program which operates under Chapter 437, HRS.

The motor vehicle industry regulatory program is responsible for enforcing
contractual agreements between purchasers of new cars and the auto sales dealers.
The State's 1984 "lemon law," entitling consumers to a replacement vehicle or the
return and refund on a "lemon" under specified conditions, is under this program.

The auto repair regulatory program should be responsible for ensuring
satisfactory repairs and fair treatment of consumers who use the repair services of
these dealers, regardless of whether the repairs are covered by warranty.

Consumers seeking repairs under new car warranties can be at a disadvantage
as much as consumers seeking nonwarranty repairs when dealers fail to correct
automobile problems after repeated attempts. They may also have the additional
frustration and cost of paying for repairs when dealers fail to correct a problem
before the warranty coverage expires.

Provisions of Chapter 437B, such as those relating to itemized invoices of
labor and parts, the return of replaced parts, performance in accordance with
workmanship standards, or the prohibition of false and misleading statements, should
be applied to warranty repair cases.

The department should establish policies and procedures to ensure that
consumer complaints involving warranty repairs are regularly investigated and
reviewed for dealer's compliance with the regulations of both the auto industry and
the auto repair regulatory programs.

Licensing of dealers. Any person or business engaging in auto repair and
maintenance services for profit in this State, except those excluded by statute, must
be licensed by the State and comply with several conditions of licensure. The

licensing requirements established by law are unnecessarily complicated and

unenforceable.
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Table 3.2

Categories of Auto Repair Dealers

Description
Licenses Issued by the Department
Title Categories Defined in Chapter 437B of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Motor vehicle repair dealer Any person who is, or has in his A licensed dealer.

employ, a motor vehicle mechanic
registered under Chapter 437B, and
who, for compensation engages in the
business of diagnosing or repairing
malfunctions of motor vehicles.

Certified repair dealer A dealer is a registered and certified Not used.
motor vehicle dealer if not less than
~50 percent of the mechanics employed
by him on a full-time basis are
registered-certified mechanics,

Motor vehicle repair Not specifically defined in statute. A licensed dealer who has met
dealer-salvage additional licensing requirements to
perform salvage work,

Source: Chapter 437B, HRS, and Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Licensing Branch.

Unnecessary dealer licensing categories. Table 3.2 compares the categories
identified in Chapter 437B with the licenses currently being issued by DCCA.

Chapter 437B establishes two categories of auto repair dealers, "motor vehicle
repair dealer" and “"certified repair dealer." A "motor vehicle repair dealer" is "any
person who is, or has in his employ, a motor vehicle mechanic registered under this
chapter, and who, for compensation engages in the business of diagnosing or
repairing malfunctions of motor vehicles."

A dealer is a “certified repair dealer" if not less than 50 percent of the
full-time mechanics are registered-certified mechanics.

DCCA also has two categories of licensure, "motor vehicle repair dealer" and
"motor vehicle repair dealer-salvage." The department uses the title "motor vehicle
repair dealer" to license all auto repair dealers. It uses the title "motor vehicle

repair dealer-salvage" to license those dealers who are also authorized to rebuild
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salvaged and wrecked vehicles. This term is not specifically authorized by statute,
but it serves a legitimate purpose.

In addition to these licensing categories that are specified in the statute or in
use by DCCA, the rules add another category of "registered motor vehicle repair
dealer." This title is defined as a motor vehicle repair dealer who is registered with
the board. It means the same as the title "motor vehicle repair dealer" as defined in
the statute and used by the department.

The only titles necessary to license dealers are those in use by DCCA: "motor
vehicle repair dealer" and "motor vehicle repair dealer-salvage." The other two,
"certified repair dealer" and "registered motor vehicle repair dealer,” serve no
useful purpose and are a source of confusion. They should be deleted.

Unenforceable licensing requirements. Dealers are required to comply with
three conditions to be licensed.

The first requirement is that the repair dealer be a licensed mechanic or
employs one on a full-time employee basis. Compliance is routinely checked only at
the time an application is submitted or when a complaint against a dealer is filed
and the State conducts an investigation. DCCA does not monitor dealers for
compliance with this provision following the initial licensure.

The other two requirements limit repair work to certified specialties and call
for the supervision of all unlicensed mechanics by appropriately licensed mechanics.
These requirements are also not monitored by the State, and it is doubtful that they
are being adhered to by the industry. Considering the shortage of skilled and
experienced mechanics generally and certified mechanics in particular, these
requirements are unrealistic. The cost of compliance to the industry and
enforcement by the State would exceed any benefit to consumers. Moreover, since

the licensing of mechanics is of questionable value, there would still be no assurance

52



of competent auto repair and maintenance services even if the requirements could
be enforced.

These requirements for the licensing of auto repair dealers should be
eliminated. The State should simply require all auto repair dealers to file their
names and addresses and the names of owners and service managers with DCCA as a
condition for licensure. This will enable the department to identify dealers and the
principals connected with the business in case of complaints.

Need to strengthen dealer accountability. Although the licensing requirements
are unreasonable and have been ineffective, regulation of auto repair dealerships
and their owners should be continued to establish accountability for consumers
seeking redress and to facilitate state action in support of consumers.

In lieu of requirements relating to the hiring and use of licensed mechanics,
regulations should focus on requiring repair dealers to assume greater responsibility
for their employees and repair services.

There is only one provision in the law focusing on dealers' accountability for
shoddy workmanship. "Any wilful departure from or disregard of accepted practices
or Workrnanship"23 is prohibited and constitutes grounds for suspension, revocation,
or other disciplinary action. This provision has been used in disciplinary actions
taken by DC CA.24

More specific and pointed regulations focusing on accountability for quality
workmanship would provide consumers with greater leverage for transactions with

dealers. More specific provisions may also give dealers greater incentives to hire,

23. Section 437B-11(7), HRS.
24. Motor Vehicle Repair Board v. Taira's Automatic Transmission, Hawaii

Legal Reporter, 78-401; and Motor Vehicle Repair Board v. Hi Performance
Sportscar Technician Service, Hawaii Legal Reporter, 78-893.
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train, and employ more competent mechanics and ensure proper supervision of
mechanics.

Some measures which the Legislature might consider include the following:

1. In cases of complaints, the burden of proof should be placed on dealers to
demonstrate that the repair work was performed or supervised by someone with
experience in that area of repair.

2. As part of any warranty for repairs, dealers should complete the repair
work correctly the second time or refund the cﬁstomer's money.

3. There could be provisions for more stringent disciplinary action such as
higher fines that exceed the financial benefits to dealers of continuing poor services.

4. The board could be authorized to order dealers performing poorly to
provide appropriate training for their mechanics.

These kinds of explicit provisions making auto repair dealers more accountable
for their work may be more effective in the long run in encouraging satisfactory
work than current regulations on the hiring and supervision of licensed mechanics.
These provisions may stimulate dealers to screen their employees more carefully
before hiring, sponsor apprenticeship programs, supervise workers more effectively,
and provide more training for their employees.

Disclosure laws. The State's disclosure laws are designed to curb the most
troublesome aspects of dealer transactions with consumers. They are intended to
discourage dealers from poor or improper business practices such as unauthorized
work or overcharges. They require repair shops to provide each customer with a
written estimate before work is performed (unless a waiver is signed), charge no
more than a set percentage over the estirnate without express approval, give

consumers detailed invoices itemizing parts and labor charges, offer the return of
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most replaced parts, and post these consumers' rights in the shop. The law also
requires that shops maintain certain records of auto repair services.

Prohibitions against a customer signing a work order which does not state the
repair requested or the auto's odometer reading, failing to give customers a copy of
any document they sign, and subcontracting for work without prior authorization are
also part of the disclosure requirements. The law also contains more general
prohibitions against misrepresentations and false and misleading statements or
promises. These prohibitions have been used by DCCA in resolving consumer
cornplaints.25

However, there is no requirement for dealers to disclose their labor rates and
methods of charging for repair work.

In the auto repair industry, labor rates may vary considerably from shop to
shop. In addition, some shops may bill a customer for the actual time involved in a
repair, and others may use a manual flat rate.

With the manual flat rate, a fixed amount of time is set for each type of
repair work (e.g., an hour for relining brakes). This length of time, multiplied by the
labor rate, is charged to the customer regardless of the actual time a mechanic may
have spent on the repair. Because some repair shops use the manual flat rate and
encourage their mechanics to "beat the clock,” the actual time for a job may be less
than the manual rate.

If customers were informed of labor rates and billing methods at the time a

written estimate is prepared and, subsequently, of the actual time spent on the

25. Motor Vehicle Repair Board v. Hi Performance Sportscar Technician
Service, Hawaii Legal Reporter, 78-893; and Motor Vehicle Repair Board v. Gerald
Kesterman, Hawaii Legal Reporter, 82-0539.
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repair in the invoice, customers would be able to make sounder judgments about a
shop's charges. The incorporation of these kinds of disclosures should be considered.

Most consumers are not aware of their rights under the disclosure
requirements, the State does not systematically monitor the shops for compliance,
and many shops are reportedly not complying with these requirements.

However, violations of any of these rules, particularly the one requiring prior
written estimates and authorization for work, are used by state complaints
personnel to encourage dealers to settle consumers' complaints informally, without
disciplinary hearings. As such, the disclosure laws are useful, and they can be more

effective in reducing consumer problems if they are more vigorously enforced.

The Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board

The board is not necessary for administering Chapter 437B, HRS, and it should
be eliminated. In addition, a current problem is that it is an improperly constituted
board.

Board is not needed. The functions of the board are no longer needed. The
board was established to develop qualifications for the registration of licensees,
inquire into the practices and policies of the industry, contract and cooperate with
the State Director of Vocational Education for the certification program, and adopt
rules.26

Qualification standards are already established, the basic rules are already in
place, and there is an ongoing certification program. These were all issues when the

licensing program was first instituted and they no longer are significant functions of

the board.

26. Section 437B-4, HRS.
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The board meets regularly about once a month to approve applications for
licensure of dealers upon the recommendation of staff, receive reports and act on
complaint cases involving hearings and legal action, and discuss issues pertinent to
the law and the industry.

The routine administrative functions relating to applications can readily be
assumed by DCCA staff. Consumer complaints and hearings are already being
handled by DCCA investigators and attorneys. The views of industry and industry
members can easily be obtained without a board.

Nonconforming board composition. The present board is improperly
constituted. The statute establishes a seven—-member board appointed by the
Governor. Three of the members must be persons connected with the industry, and
at least two of the industry members must be licensed motor vehicle mechanics.
The remaining four are not to be connected with the motor vehicle repair industry.
The apparent intent of the statute was to ensure a consumer or general public
majority on the board.

Instead of a public member majority, industry members now dominate the
board. The board consists of three registered auto mechanics and two other industry
members for a total of five persons connected with the industry. In addition to the
registered mechanics, one member is an officer and manager of a body shop, and
another runs an auto sales and servicing operation. Both are in family-owned
businesses regulated by the board. There are only two public members on the
board. Since the board's composition is not in compliance with Chapter 437B, HRS,

all official actions of this board are open to question and could be challenged.

57



Consumer Complaints

State assistance to consumers with complaints about auto repair services and
shops is the most significant and active part of the motor vehicle repair regulatory
program.

Responsibility for the complaints program rests with the Regulated Industries
Complaints Office (RICO) of the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.
RICO is performing its work for the motor vehicle repair industry satisfactorily, but
there is one area where its services to auto repair consumers could be improved.
More people should know about its services. RICO's program could be improved
with greater consumer recognition of its function.

Greater public recognition. RICO is just one of several agencies in this State
helping consumers to resolve their problems with auto repair services and charges.

In 1984, RICO handled 129 consumer complaints. The Better Business Bureau
(BBB) received 184 requests for assistance and information relating to auto repair
problems in the first half of 1984. And AUTOCAP, the complaints resolution
program of the Hawaii Automobile Dealers Association, receives about ten calls a
week relating to consumers' auto repair problems.

The activities of private agencies in helping to resolve consumer complaints is
advantageous for this community because RICO's jurisdiction over auto repair
services and practices is limited by the State's rules and regulations for auto repair.
However, RICO also has the power of the State to give it greater leverage than
private agencies to encourage settlement of disputes. Unfortunately, the general
public is not sufficiently aware of this service. Many of the calls reaching RICO are
referrals from the BBB or the State Office of Consumer Protection.

Consumers are generally uninformed of their rights to such items as written

estimates and return of replaced auto parts that are established under the
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regulatory law. It is likely that the majority of consumers’ complaints never reach
the State. Helping consumers to be aware of and to insist on their rights in their
dealings with auto shops might encourage dealers to comply with the state
regulations.

Simply requiring dealers to post a notice of customers' rights, as the rules now
specify, has not worked. More assertive action is necessary. Some states print and
distribute a brochure summarizing consumers' rights and informing them how to
report violations and complaints. California publicizes a toll free number for auto
complaints. DCCA should consider similar consumer education activities.

DCCA should publicize its auto repair regulations and complaint resolution
services. Greater visibility and use of DCCA's regulations and complaint resolution
services would benefit consumers unable to resolve complaints privately and may

also encourage dealers to deal more fairly and quickly with unsatisfied customers.

Recommendations
We find that there is a need to continue state regulation of the auto repair
industry to protect the public. However, major revisions should be made to the law
to remove unnecessary or ineffective provisions and to strengthen provisions and
operations that are pertinent to consumer protection.
We recommend that:
1. The Legislature amend Chapter 437B, Hawaii Revised Statutes, to focus
regulation on the responsibilities of auto repair dealers by:
deleting the requirement for auto mechanics to be licensed or to work
under the supervision of licensed mechanics;
deleting the requirement for the board to contract with the State

Director of Vocational Education to conduct a certification program;
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deleting the Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board;

deleting the requirement for auto repair dealers to use licensed mechanics

to work or to supervise all auto repair work;

simplifying the licensing of auto repair dealers by licensing only the

categories of "motor vehicle repair dealer" and "motor vehicle repair

dealer-salvage" and only requiring them to register their business names,

addresses, and the names of the owners and service managers;

clarifying the scope of regulation by deleting the requirement for auto

body, paint, and glass shops to be licensed;

including under regulation the repair and maintenance of vehicles under

manufacturers' warranty;

enacting new provisions to increase dealers' accountability for proper

performance of repair work by: (a) placing the burden of proof on dealers

that repair work was performed or supervised by experienced mechanics;

(b) as part of any warranty for repairs, requiring dealers to complete the

repair work correctly the second time or refund the customer's money;

(¢) adopting provisions for stricter disciplinary action such as higher fines

against those dealers who consistently perform poorly; (d) authorizing the

department to order dealers performing poorly to provide appropriate

training for their mechanics; and (e) requiring dealers to disclose labor

rates and methods of charging for labor.

2. The Legislature amend Section 286-48, HRS, to require repair dealers

working on salvaged, wrecked, or dismantled motor vehicles to certify before the

vehicle can be sold that the rebuilt vehicle conforms with manufacturer's standards.

60



3. The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs conduct a consumer
education program to make the public more aware of its rights under the auto repair
laws and to publicize the State's complaint resolution services.

4. The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs seek the opinion of
the Attorney General as to whether the board's present composition, which does not
appear to conform to statute, affects the legality of the board's official actions, and

if so, how the problem might be resolved.
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APPENDIX

RESPONSES OF AFFECTED AGENCIES
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COMMENTS ON AGENCY RESPONSES

A preliminary draft of this Sunset Evaluation Report was transmitted on
December 12, 1985 to the Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board and the Department
of Commerce and Consumer Affairs for their review and comment. A copy of the
transmittal letter to the board is included as Attachment 1 of this Appendix. A
simnilar letter was sent to the department. The responses from the board and the
department are included as Attachments 2 and 3.

Basically, the board's position is to maintain the status quo, including the
continued licensing of auto mechanics. Concerning auto body, paint, glass, and
other auto specialty shops which our report says should not be licensed, the board
states that we may not have understood that these shops require licensing only if
they perform work which needs to be done by a licensed mechanic. We fully
understand this, but the basic point is that requiring these shops to hire licensed
mechanics provides little assurance that the work they perform will be satisfactory
because the licensure of mechanics is, in itself, of questionable validity. Moreover,
the rule which requires work to be done or supervised by a licensed mechanic in
these shops has not been strictly enforced. However, there is growing concern
among some of these shops that strict enforcement of the rule would seriously
jeopardize their businesses. This issue appears to be among the more important ones

for legislative resolution.

65



In its response, the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs has not
expressed any position on the basic issues raised by our report, such as the continued
licensing of auto mechanics and the licensing of auto body, paint, glass, and other
auto specialty shops. However, it has comments on several other matters.

In our report, we stated that the board's present composition does not appear
to conform to statute, and we recommended that the department seek the opinion of
the Attorney General whether such a situation affects the legality of the board's
official actions. The department states that it does not "necessarily agree that the
present board is improperly constructed" and notes further that the department is
not responsible for the selection of members of boards and commissions. We are
aware, of course, that the department is not the appointing authority for board
members, but we are surprised that the department is not concerned that one of its
boards may be improperly constituted. Seeking legal advice seems to us to be the
reasonable and prudent thing to do.

The department offers comments on the category and definition of "certified
mechanic." In our report, we stated that the "certified mechanic" title is not
authorized or defined in the statute. In the interest of not further confusing the
issue, that is the only point we want to make.

On another matter, the department states: "Recommending that we pay for
the air fare of applicants (to take examinations in Honolulu) is asking that we give
special services to a select group of individuals...." Our report makes no such
recommendation.

Finally, the department offers an explanation for the special training classes

and exams which were given in 1985 to a special group of applicants and which were
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viewed as unfair, preferential treatment by some in the industry. The department
states that no preferential treatment was given, because all applications were filed
on time, and all applicants were eligible to sit for the October 15 and 16, 1985
exams. Our report clearly refers to the exam which was given on July 29 as being
the one which was irregularly scheduled. As to whether all applicants for testing
were qualified, the department insists they were. On our part, we find it difficult to
understand how the department can so conclude when some of the applicant forms

had no work experience description at all.
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ATTACHMENT 1
THE OFFICE OF THE AUDITOR CLINTON T. TANIMURA
STATE OF HAWAII AUDITOR
4865 S.KING STREET, RM. 500
HONOLULU, HAWAII 86813

December 12, 1985
COPY

Mr. Raymond S. Y. Luke, Chairperson

Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board
Department of Commerce and Consumer A ffairs
State of Hawaii

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Dear Mr. Luke:

Enclosed are eight preliminary copies, numbered 4 through 11, of our Sunset Evaluation
Report, Regulation of Motor Vehicle Repairs, Chapter 437B, Hawaii Revised Statutes.
These copies are for review by you, other members of the board, and your executive
secretary. This preliminary report has also been transmitted to Russel Nagata, Director,
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

The report contains our recommendations relating to the regulation of automobile repair.
If you have any comments on our recommendations, we would appreciate receiving them
by January 13, 1986. Any comments we receive will be included as part of the final
report which will be submitted to the Legislature.

Since the report is not in final form and changes may possibly be made to it, we request
that you limit access to the report to those officials whom you wish to call upon for
assistance in your response. Please do not reproduce the report. Should you require
additional copies, please contact our office. Public release of the report will be made
solely by our office and only after the report is published in its final form.
We appreciate the assistance and cooperation extended to us.
Sincerely,

L}
Clinton T. Tanimura
Legislative Auditor

Enclosures
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ATTACHMENT 2

e

RUSSEL S. NAGATA
DIRECTOR

GEORGE R. ARIYOSH!
GOVERNOR

NOE NOE TOM
LICENSING ADMINISTRATOR

MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR INDUSTRY BOARD
STATE OF HAWAIN

PROFESSIONAL & VOCATIONAL LICENSING DIVISION
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CQNSUMER AFFAIRS

P. 0. BOX 3469
HONOLULU, HAWAII 96801

January 9, 1986 ' REOE!VED

N9 3 sy PHMR

Mr. Clinton T. Tanimura °§§§ﬁgg§ﬁﬂ%&?ﬂ

Legislative Auditor

Office of the Auditor

465 South King Street, Suite 500
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Dear Mr., Tanimura,

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on your Sunset
Evaluation Report on the Regulation of Motor Vehicle Repairs,
Chapter 437B, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

The Board concurs that there is a need to continue state
regulation of the auto repair industry to protect the public
consumer. The most reasonable method to do this is to continue
the Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board and its attendant
responsibilities.

The Board does not concur with the recommendations to
delete the requirement for auto mechanics to be licensed nor to
delete the requirement that a auto mechanic work under the
supervision of a licensed mechanic; nor to delete the
requirement for testing by the State Director of Vocational
Education; nor to delete the requirement for auto repair dealers
to use licensed mechanics. Implementation of the foregoing
recommendations may result in the motoring public receiving poor
quality automotive repair services and flies in the face of the
intent and desire of the legislature to provide quality
automotive repair services to the motoring public. The rapidly
changing technical characteristics of the automobile makes it
essential that licensing and testing be expanded rather than
removed.

69



Mr., Clinton Tanimura
January 9, 1986
Page 2

Based on comments contained in your report it would appear
there is some misunderstanding regarding the licensing of auto
body, paint, and glass shops. Section 16-87-11(c) of the Boards
rules clearly state that licensing of an auto body shop, auto
paint shop, auto glass shop, auto machine shop, radiator shop or
other auto specialty is required only if any one of these shops
engages in performing work required for certification as a
mechanic.

Further, for your information repair dealers
accountability is thoroughly covered in section 437-11 HRS
Prohibited Practices; Section 437B-13 HRS Invoices, supplying
used parts, customer's copy, and in the board rules at Section
16-87-21, Sign Required and Notice to Customer. It is the
Boards opinion that if any future changes are required they can
be handled through rule changes. This accountability also
includes whatever warranty the repair dealer establishes for his
work and includes estimated cost for the expected repairs.

Since Section 283-48(c)(2) HRS and Section 437B-11(11) HRS
requires that rebuilt vehicles conform to the manufacturers
established repair procedures or specifications and allowable
tolerances for a particular model or year, the Boards considers
that no further legislation is required in this area.

Considerable attention is drawn to the auto body repair
industry's independent efforts at working within the Community
College and State Department of Vocational Education to provide
special classes for mechanic training and testing. In view of
last years proposed Legislative resolutions, proposed bills and
committee reports signed by the members of the House Higher
Education and the Arts Committee and members of the Consumer
Protector and Commerce Committee, the Board considers that the
legislature intended that special efforts be made to increase
the number of mechanics available for licensing. There was a
special training program initiated by the community college, at
the request of members of the auto body industry. Tuition for
the special classes were paid for by each student. The
applications were handled in a routine manner by the department
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Mr. Clinton T. Tanimura
January 9, 1986
Page 3

and the Board does not in any way believe that other than normal
administrative procedures were followed by the department. The
Board strongly feels that the efforts of the Community College,
the State Vocational and Education Department and the department
in carrying out the consensus of the legislature should be
commended, not condemned.

Very truly yours,

Haspmendl 4 Sk

Mr. Raymond S. Y. Luke, Chairman
Motor Vehicle Repair Industry
Board
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. GEORGE R. ARIYOSH!

RUSSEL S. NAGATA

GOVERNOR Director.

COMMISSIONER OF SECURITIES

STATE OF HAWAII

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR ROBERT.A. ALM

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS DEPUTY DIRECTOR
1010 RICHARDS STREET
P. 0. BOX 541
HONOLULU, HAWAIl 96809

January 13, 1986
RECEIVED

v ‘ )
Mr. Clinton T. Tanimura JAN H 3 51 PM i
Legislative Auditor : N
Office of the Auditor OFS"TE]EETSES‘?&J?R
465 S. King Street, Suite 500 '
Honolulu, HI 96813

Dear Mr. Tanimura:

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on your "Sunset
Evaluation Report on Motor Vehicle Repairs."

At this time we wish to comment on the recommendations
directed at the department as follows:

"The DCCA conduct a consumer education program to make
the public more aware of its rights under the auto
repair laws and to publicize the State's complaint
resolution services."

We are always willing to and do consider consumer
education programs, resources permitting.

"The DCCA seek the opinion of the Attorney General as
to whether the board's present composition, which does
not appear to conform to statute, affects the legality
of the board's official actions, and if so, how the
problem might be resolved."

We have reviewed your comments in this area and do not
necessarily agree that the present board is improperly
constructed. We feel it necessary to clarify that the
department is not responsible for the selection of
members of boards and commissions. In accordance with
section 26-34, HRS, members of boards and commissions
"shall be nominated and, by and with the advise and
consent of the senate, be appointed by the governor."

It is our understanding that prior to appointment a
review is done of persons nominated for board appointments
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Mr. Clinton T. Tanimura
January 13, 1986
Page 2

by the Governor and the Senate. Any apparent conflict
of interest would presumably be discovered during the
review process. The present members of the board
underwent the review process described above and their
nominations were confirmed.

We would also like to take the opportunity to comment
on other observations and evaluations you have made of the
department as follows:

"DCCA, on the other hand, has three categories of
licensure.... It has a third license of "certified
mechanic" that it issues to those who have passed
certification tests. The "certified mechanic" license
title is not authorized either by statute or by rule."
(p. 3-10)

Section 437B-23, HRS, and section 16-87-25 of the
board's rules address the certification process that a
person must undergo in order to be "certified" or to be
awarded a "certificate" as a mechanic. We believe that
by the language contained in both of the aforementioned
sections there is clear indication that for one to
become a mechanic one must be "certified". Perhaps for
clarity it would be beneficial for a definition to be
added in the rules for "certified mechanic"; however,
we do not find that absent a definition one cannot
reasonably deduct that a "certified mechanic" license
is one issued to a person who had undergone the certi-
fication process.

"DCCA, however, will not waive the requirement for the
practical tests or pay air fare for candidates to come

to Honolulu for the tests. This is a general departmental
policy, not unigque to the mechanic's certification
program." (p. 3-16)

Practical examinations are statutorily required (see
section 437B-23(c), HRS) and in our judgement cannot be
waived by the department.

Our policy to not assume costs for the air fare of
applicants for licensure is believed to be a reasonable
and prudent decision. Monies appropriated to the
department are to be expended for purposes of providing
services to the general public. Recommending that we
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Mr.

Clinton T. Tanimura

January 13, 1986
Page 3

pay for the air fare of applicants is asking that we
give special services to a select group of individuals
who are. pursuing interest on their personal behalf, not
on the State's. 1In our fiduciary responsibility to
spend tax payers monies wisely, we cannot in good
conscious cover expenses for those who are attempting
to obtain a license for their personal benefit.

Statements relating to the department's alleged involvement
with the special certification program and the handling

of applications of those enrolled in the special
certification program.

We beg to differ on the accuracy of several statements
made in your report with regard to the above subject
matter. We initially wish to clarify that the board's
executive secretary did not authorize the special
certification tests. Further, the department did not

give "preferential treatment" to any application filed
with us. The 19 applications you refer to in the

report were filed one month before the established
deadline date of August 23, 1985. They were reviewed

and approved in accordance with normal procedures. The

19 applications in addition to the other 111 applications
filed by the deadline date, were eligible to sit for

the written examination scheduled for October 15 and

16, 1985. Subject to notification by the State Office

for Vocational Education that a special certification
program had been implemented in July 1985 in which 19

of our applicants were enrolled, and subject to a

request that the 19 be permitted to take a written and
practical examination as part of the special certification
program, we assented to the 19 being tested as. requested.
‘It is correct that only after the department became

aware of the "stirrings" in the industry about the

special certification program did we recommend to the
board that they suggest guidelines for future implementation
of special certification programs. Perhaps if communication
had been better between the department and the State
Office for Vocational Education, we all would have been
prepared to address the concerns which were raised. We

do not, however, foresee the same events happening

again as the department and the State Office for Vocational
Education have improved communications with each other.

We note that considerable attention is given to the

"substantive and technical irregularities" on the part
of the DCCA staff in the review of applications. We
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have evaluated not only the 19 applications mentioned

in your report, but also the other 111 applications

filed at the same time and found they basically contained
the information required. We feel it only fair to
mention that the determination of whether an applicant
has "substantiate[d] their meeting the minimum qualification",
or has provided "adequate descriptions of relevant
training or experience", or has "shown inappropriate

work experience" can be a subjective judgement. However,
we believe that having to do such determinations on a
daily basis, and with assistance from the board if
necessary, we have made. valid assessments of applications.
We acknowledge that three out of 130 applications were
not signed by the applicants on both forms as required.
When this matter was brought to our attention in November
1985, immediate action was taken to have the three
applicants sign the one form which lacked their signature.

We appreciate having the opportunity to submit our
comments to your report.

yery trul yours,

e
W) 3%h\ QA
Russel Naq\ta

Director
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