Hawaii Government Complete Count Committee meeting minutes

Location: No. 1 Capitol District Building, 250 S. Hotel St., Room No. 436, Honolulu, HI

Date: Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Agenda items

1. Introduction and networking

- 2. Presentation by Eugene Tian, chairperson
- 3. Sign up for subcommittees and promotional materials
- 4. Concurrent subcommittee meetings: Media, Government, Business Outreach and Education

Meeting notes

- Challenges of Census 2020:
 - Counting everyone in the right place (including people living in group quarters—college students, people in correctional facilities, etc.)
 - Reaching out to hard-to-count places. All islands had areas that were hard-to-count in 2010, and the primary focus will be to reach those communities
 - Reduced funding from the Census Bureau: In 2010, there were three offices in Hawaii (two on Oahu and one on Maui). For 2020, there will be only one office for Hawaii (in Honolulu, to open in July 2019). Hiring is also reduced for Census 2020
- Community Complete Count Committees are being formed around the state. The Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Complete Count Committee has been established, and Census Bureau Partnership Specialists are working with others (faith-based organizations, neighbor island representatives, etc.) to establish more Complete Count Committees in the state.
- The primary focus of the Hawaii Government Complete Count Committee is state employees and the constituencies served by their respective agencies.
- DBEDT has started producing promotional material, including shopping bags, pens, notepads, and brochures. Those materials are available for committee members to distribute to their constituencies.
- Subcommittees were established, and chairs were selected. Several committee members must still sign up for a subcommittee.

Actions before/for the next meeting

- 5. Materials from this meeting will be posted at https://census.hawaii.gov/census_2020/hgccc/.
- 6. Committee members who were not in attendance must sign up for a subcommittee. The list of subcommittees is included at the end of the minutes.

Next meeting

Location: No. 1 Capitol District Building, 250 S. Hotel St., Room No. 436, Honolulu, HI

Date: Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

Subcommittees

Media

- 1. Deborah Kwan (Chair)
- 2. Sharon Hurd
- 3. Phyllis Dayao
- 4. Roland Lee

Government

- 1. Julie Ebato (Tentative Chair)
- 2. Bruce Oliveira (Vice Chair)
- 3. Ricky Higashide
- 4. Alyson Yim
- 5. Daeleen Liu
- 6.
- 7.

Business Outreach

- 1. Katherine Korenaga
- 2. Wayne Thom
- 3. William Nhieu
- 4.
- 5.
- 6.
- 7.

Education

- 1. Lisa Watkins-Victorino
- 2.
- 3.
- 4.
- 5.
- 6.