		Top candidates				
		Winner				
Election year	Total votes cast 1/	Candidate 2/	Votes	Candidate 2/	Votes	Other candidates: votes
CITY & COUNTY OF HONOLULU						
1992 1994 3/	263,328	Fasi, F. (R)	127,939	O'Connor, D.(D)	124,719	10,670
1996 4/ 2000 5/	254,780	Harris, J.	146,034	Morgado, A.	108,746	-
2004 4/ 2008 4/ 2010 6/	294,544 298,795	Hannemann, M. Hannemann, M.	147,949 172,997	Bainum, D. Kobayashi, A.	146,595 125,798	-
COUNTY OF HAWAII						
1992 1996 2000 2004 7/	50,266 48,974 50,282	Yamashiro, S.(D) Yamashiro, S.(D) Kim, H. (R)	27,782 19,807 25,289	Davis, J. (G) Bonk, K. (G) Holschuh, F.(D)	14,117 16,659 14,989	8,367 12,508 10,004
2004 7/ 2008 4/	64,878	Kenoi, B.	37,368	Pilago, K. A.	27,510	-
COUNTY OF MAUI						
1994 1998 2002 2006 2010 4/	35,373 42,451 40,671 38,179 41,139	Lingle, L. (R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A. (R) Tavares, C. Arakawa, A.	18,188 22,350 20,887 19,964 24,195	Hokama, G.(D) Arakawa, A.(R) Apana, J. (D) Arakawa, A.(R) Tavares, C.	15,304 20,101 19,784 18,215 16,944	1,881 - - - -
COUNTY OF KAUAI						
1994 1998 2002 4/ 2006 8/	21,309 23,679 22,691	Kusaka, M. (R) Kusaka, M. (R) Baptiste, B.	11,321 14,115 12,174	Tehada, J. (D) Thronas, M. (D) Kouchi, R.	9,988 9,564 10,517	
2008 4/ 2010 4/	26,556 21,422	Carvalho, B. Carvalho, B.	15,861 17,744	Yukimura, J LaBedz, D.	10,695 3,678	-

Table 8.10-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR:GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1992 TO 2010

Continued on next page.

Table 8.10-- VOTES CAST FOR THE OFFICE OF MAYOR:GENERAL ELECTIONS, 1992 TO 2010 -- Con.

1/ Excludes over votes and blank votes.

2/ D, Democrat; G, Green; R, Republican.

3/ In 1994, Mayor Fasi resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 1994 primary election, with all 14 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. J. Harris, A. Morgado and other candidates received 67,670, 58,018 and 87,928 votes, respectively.

4/ Nonpartisan election.

5/ In the nonpartisan primary election, Jeremy Harris won with over 50% of the votes, therefore, a runoff in the general election was not necessary. J. Harris, M. Hannemann and F. Fasi received 94,067, 65,652 and 23,293 votes, respectively.

6/ In 2010, Mayor Hannemann resigned to run for governor, creating the need for a special election to choose his successor. This special election was held in conjunction with the 2010 primary election, with all 8 candidates running on a nonpartisan, winner-take-all basis. P. Carlisle, K. Caldwell and other candidates received 80,553, 71,815 and 43,851 votes, respectively.

7/ Contest was decided in the Primary Election, Harry Kim won with 20,521 votes.

8/ Contest was decided in the Primary Election, Bryan Baptiste won with 8,173 votes. Source: State of Hawaii, Office of Elections, record.