## Table 12.43-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND TERRITORY: JANUARY 1, 2017

	Minimum	Premium	A	Minimum	Premium
Area	wage	(hours) 1/	Area	wage	(hours) 1/
Alabama	None	(X)	New Hampshire	7.25	40
Alaska 2/	9.80	40	New Jersey	8.44	40
Arizona	10.00	(X)	New Mexico	7.50	40
Arkansas 3/	8.50	40	New York	9.70	40
California 4/	10.00	40	North Carolina	7.25	40
Colorado	9.30	40	North Dakota	7.25	40
Connecticut	10.10	40	Ohio 10/	8.15	40
Delaware	8.25	(X)	Oklahoma 11/	7.25	(X)
Florida	8.10	(X)	Oregon	9.75	40
Georgia	5.15	(X)	Pennsylvania	7.25	40
Hawaii	9.25	40	Rhode Island	9.60	40
Idaho	7.25	(X)	South Carolina	None	(X)
Illinois 3/	8.25	40	South Dakota	8.65	(X)
Indiana 5/	7.25	40	Tennessee	None	(X)
Iowa	7.25	(X)	Texas	7.25	(X)
Kansas	7.25	46	Utah	7.25	(X)
Kentucky	7.25	40	Vermont 5/	10.00	40
Louisiana	None	(X)	Virginia 3/	7.25	(X)
Maine 6/	9.00	40	Washington	11.00	40
Maryland	8.75	40	West Virginia 12/	8.75	40
Massachusetts	11.00	40	Wisconsin	7.25	40
Michigan 5/	8.90	40	Wyoming	5.15	(X)
Minnesota 7/	9.50	48	Dist. of Columbia	11.50	40
Mississippi	None	(X)	American Samoa	(13/)	(13/)
Missouri	7.70	40	Guam	8.25	40
Montana 8/	8.15	40	No. Mariana Islands	6.05	40
Nebraska	9.00	(X)	Puerto Rico 14/	7.25	40
Nevada 9/	8.25	(X)	Virgin Islands 15/	7.25	40

[Dollars per hour and hours. Where federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. See source for additional state provisions]

Continued on next page.

## Table 12.43-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND TERRITORY:JANUARY 1, 2017 -- Con.

X Not applicable.

1/ The overtime premium rate is 1.5 the employee's regular rate, unless otherwise specified.

2/ If a voluntary 40-hour, 4-day workweek in place, premium pay may start after a 10-, not 8-hour day.

3/ Applicable to employers of four or more employees, In Illinois, is 4, excluding family members.

4/ Applicable to employers with 25 employees or less, \$10.50 for 26 or more.

5/ Applicable to employers of two or more employees.

6/ Effective date for Maine is January 7, 2017.

7/ \$7.25 applies to a small employer, an enterprise with annual receipts of less than \$500,000.

8/ \$4.00 applies to businesses with gross annual sales of \$110,000 or less.

9/ \$8.25 (with no health insurance benefits provided by employer) if 8 hours daily, 40 weekly; and \$7.25 (applies if health insurance benefits provided by employer and received by employee).

10/ \$7.25 will apply to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of less than \$299,000 per year.

11/ Employers of ten or more full time employees at any one location and employers with annual gross sales over \$100,000 irrespective of number of full time employees. \$2.00 applies to all other employers.

 $12\!/$  Applicable to employers of six or more employees at one location.

13/ The Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007 sets provisions to provide for increases to bring the minimum wage applicable in the U.S. As of September 30, 2015 the industry-specific wage ranged upward from \$4.58.

14/ \$7.25 for employees covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act. \$5.08 for employees not covered.

15/ Applies except for businesses with gross annual receipts of less than \$150,000 then \$4.30 applies.

Source: U. S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD), "Minimum Wage Laws in the States - January 1, 2017" <a href="http://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm">http://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm</a> accessed January 5, 2017.