Table 1.10-- POPULATION, LAND AREA AND POPULATION DENSITY, BY COUNTY AND ISLAND: 2010

		Land area		Resident population density	
County and island	Resident population 1/	Square km.	Square miles 2/	Per square km.	Per square mile
State total	1,360,301	16,634.53	6,422.63	81.8	211.8
County Honolulu Hawaii Maui 3/ Kauai	953,207 185,079 154,924 67,091	1,555.92 10,433.55 3,039.38 1,605.68	600.74 4,028.42 1,173.51 619.96	612.6 17.7 51.0 41.8	1,586.7 45.9 132.0 108.2
Island Oahu Hawaii Maui Lanai Molokai Kauai Niihau Northwestern Hawaiian Islands 4/	953,207 185,079 144,444 3,135 7,345 66,921 170	1,547.88 10,433.55 1,999.45 365.36 674.58 1,430.59 175.09	597.64 4,028.42 771.99 141.07 260.46 552.35 67.60	615.8 17.7 72.2 8.6 10.9 46.8 1.0	1,594.9 45.9 187.1 22.2 28.2 121.2 2.5

^{1/} The resident population is defined as the number of persons whose usual place of residence is in an area, regardless of physical location on the estimate or census date. It includes military personnel stationed or homeported in the area and residents temporarily absent, but excludes visitors present.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2010 Census Redistricting Data (Public Law 94-171) Summary File (February 2011); calculations by the Hawaii State Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism, Hawaii State Data Center.

^{2/} Square kilometers converted to square miles by dividing by 2.589988.

^{3/} Maui County includes Kalawao County.

^{4/} Includes the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands, from Nihoa to Kure Atoll, except Midway.