## Table 12.42-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: JULY 1, 2021

[Dollars per hour. Applicable to nonsupervisory nonfarm private sector employment under state and federal laws. Where federal (\$7.25 per hour since July 24, 2009) and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. Some local governments set minimum wage rates higher than their respective state's minimum wage. Contact individual state labor offices for details via <a href="http://www.dol.gov/whd/contacts/state">http://www.dol.gov/whd/contacts/state</a> of.htm>]

Area	Minimum wage	Area	Minimum wage
	(4.0)		
Alabama	(1/)	Nebraska	9.00
Alaska	10.34	Nevada 2/	9.75/8.75
Arizona	12.15	New Hampshire	7.25
Arkansas	11.00	New Jersey	12.00
California	13.00	New Mexico	10.50
Colorado	12.32	New York	12.50
Connecticut	12.00	North Carolina	7.25
Delaware	9.25	North Dakota	7.25
Florida	8.56	Ohio	8.80
Georgia	7.25	Oklahoma	7.25
Hawaii	10.10	Oregon	12.75
Idaho	7.25	Pennsylvania	7.25
Illinois	11.00	Rhode Island	11.50
Indiana	7.25	South Carolina	(1/)
lowa	7.25	South Dakota	9.45
Kansas	7.25	Tennessee	(1/)
Kentucky	7.25	Texas	7.25
Louisiana	(1/)	Utah	7.25
Maine	12.15	Vermont	11.75
Maryland	11.75	Virginia	9.50
Massachusetts	13.50	Washington	13.69
Michigan	9.65	West Virginia	8.75
Minnesota	10.08	Wisconsin	7.25
Mississippi	(1/)	Wyoming	7.25
Missouri	10.30	Dist. of Columbia	15.20
Montana	8.75	-	

1/ No minimum wage required under state laws.

2/ On July 1, 2021, the minimum wage for employees without health insurance will increase to \$9.75 and those with health insurance to \$8.75.

Source: U. S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD), "Consolidated Minimum Wage Table - July 1, 2021" <a href="http://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm">http://www.dol.gov/whd/minwage/america.htm</a> accessed July 13, 2021.