Table 12.42-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: JULY 1, 2023

[Dollars per hour. Applicable to nonsupervisory nonfarm private sector employment under state and federal laws. Where federal (\$7.25 per hour since July 24, 2009) and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. Some local governments set minimum wage rates higher than their respective state's minimum wage. Contact individual state labor offices for details via http://www.dol.gov/whd/contacts/state_of.htm]

Area	Minimum wage	Area	Minimum wage
Al-l	(4.1)	Naharaha O/	40.50
Alabama	(1/)	Nebraska 2/	10.50
Alaska	10.85	Nevada 3/	11.25/10.25
Arizona	13.85	New Hampshire	7.25
Arkansas	11.00	New Jersey	14.13
California	15.50	New Mexico	12.00
Colorado	13.65	New York	14.20
Connecticut	14.00	North Carolina	7.25
Delaware	11.75	North Dakota	7.25
Florida	11.00	Ohio 2/	10.10
Georgia 2/	7.25	Oklahoma 2/	7.25
Hawaii	12.00	Oregon	13.50
Idaho	7.25	Pennsylvania	7.25
Illinois	13.00	Rhode Island	13.00
Indiana	7.25	South Carolina	(1/)
lowa	7.25	South Dakota	10.80
Kansas	7.25	Tennessee	(1/)
Kentucky	7.25	Texas	7.25
Louisiana	(1/)	Utah	7.25
Maine	13.80	Vermont	13.18
Maryland 2/	13.25	Virginia	12.00
Massachusetts	15.00	Washington	15.74
Michigan	10.10	West Virginia	8.75
Minnesota	10.59	Wisconsin	7.25
Mississippi	(1/)	Wyoming	7.25
Missouri	12.00	Dist. of Columbia	16.50
Montana 2/	9.95		

^{1/} No minimum wage required under state laws.

Source: U. S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD), "Consolidated Minimum Wage Table - July 1, 2023" (as corrected) https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state accessed July 12, 2023.

^{2/} Some states have different minimum wage based on specific criteria, see U.S. Department of Labor "State Minimum Wage Laws" https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state for details.

^{3/} On July 1, 2023, the minimum wage for employees without health insurance will increase to \$11.25 and those with health insurance to \$10.25.