Table 12.40-- MINIMUM WAGE, BY STATE AND FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: JANUARY 1, 2024

[Dollars per hour. Applicable to nonsupervisory nonfarm private sector employment under state and federal laws. Where federal (\$7.25 per hour since July 24, 2009) and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. Some local governments set minimum wage rates higher than their respective state's minimum wage. Contact individual state labor offices for details via <https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/state/contacts>]

Area	Minimum wage	Area	Minimum wage
Alabama	(1/)	Nebraska	12.00
Alaska	11.73	Nevada 3/	11.25/10.25
Arizona	14.35	New Hampshire	7.25
Arkansas	11.00	New Jersey 2/	15.13
California	16.00	New Mexico	12.00
Colorado	14.42	New York 2/	16.00
Connecticut	15.69	North Carolina	7.25
Delaware	13.25	North Dakota	7.25
Florida	12.00	Ohio 2/	10.45
Georgia	7.25	Oklahoma	7.25
Hawaii	14.00	Oregon 2/	15.45
Idaho	7.25	Pennsylvania	7.25
Illinois	14.00	Rhode Island	14.00
Indiana	7.25	South Carolina	(1/)
lowa	7.25	South Dakota	11.20
Kansas	7.25	Tennessee	(1/)
Kentucky	7.25	Texas	7.25
Louisiana	(1/)	Utah	7.25
Maine	14.15	Vermont	13.67
Maryland	15.00	Virginia	12.00
Massachusetts	15.00	Washington	16.28
Michigan	10.33	West Virginia	8.75
Minnesota 2/	10.85	Wisconsin	7.25
Mississippi	(1/)	Wyoming	7.25
Missouri	12.30	District of Columbia	17.00
Montana 2/	10.30		

1/ No minimum wage required under state laws.

2/ Some states have different minimum wage based on specific criteria, see U.S. Department of Labor "State Minimum Wage Laws" https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state for details.

3/ On July 1, 2023, the minimum wage for employees without health insurance increased to \$11.25 and those with health insurance to \$10.25.

Source: U. S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD), "Consolidated Minimum Wage Table - January 1, 2024" https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state accessed January 5, 2024.