NEIL ABERCROMBIE Governor

BRIAN SCHATZ Lieutenant Governor



## Broadband Assistance Advisory Council

**MEMBERS** 

Chair: KEALI'I S. LÓPEZ

Sen. Carol Fukunaga

Sen. David Y. Ige Rep. Derek S.K. Kawakami Rep. Kyle T. Yamashita

Robert Barlow
Gordon Bruce
Kevin Dayton
Lisa Konkola
David Lassner
Jennifer Sabas
Sharene Urakami-Oyama
Eric Yeaman

August 29, 2011

## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Broadband Assistance Advisory Council Members

FROM: Keali'i S. López

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

RE: Delegation of Broadband Assistance Advisory Council Chairperson

I would like to inform you that I am designating DCCA Deputy Director Everett Kaneshige to serve as the chair of the Broadband Assistance Advisory Council effective September 1, 2011. Through Everett, I will be informed of the issues and challenges faced by the committee as we move forward. Please be assured that you will have my full support as we take on this critical initiative for the State of Hawai'i.

In support of our shared efforts, I have attached the executive memorandum from Governor Abercrombie dated August 23, 2011 regarding the Hawaii Broadband Initiative. Your efforts together with the Department of Economic Development and Tourism, other State departments, local counties and public and private partners are crucial to the long term success of meeting the current and future needs of Hawaii's businesses, communities and citizens.

Thank you for your willingness to serve on the Council and we look forward to working with you on this significant initiative.