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REGISTRATION OF REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS 


Instructions and Application 


A Continuing Education Provider shall be responsible for the development and administration of the 
course offerings including certification of instructors. An application shall be made to the Real Estate 
Commission ("Commission") at least 45 days prior to the day of the first anticipated course 
offering.  
  
The Continuing Education Provider shall have on file a signed Statement of Ethical Teaching Practices 
for each instructor who teaches for that provider, and shall certify that each instructor meets the 
Commission's requirements.  
  
Provider registration expires and must be renewed prior to the end of each even-numbered year. 
Failure to reregister will result in forfeiture of the provider registration. The reregistration deadline is 
November 30 of each even-numbered year.  
  
Review Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 99, SUBCHAPTER 9 CONTINUING EDUCATION 
(attached). Continuing Education ("CE") providers must comply with all rules as outlined in this 
chapter.  
  
The Continuing Education Provider's owner or administrator is responsible for reporting and disclosing 
all investigations, judgments and penalties as required by Chapter 436B, Hawaii Revised Statutes 
("HRS").  
  
Complete applications will be reviewed and considered by the Commission. Incomplete applications 
will not be considered. Please allow 45 days for processing. 


UNTIL RECEIPT OF WRITTEN NOTIFICATION OF APPROVAL FROM THE REAL ESTATE 
COMMISSION, NO PROVIDER SHALL ADVERTISE, SCHEDULE CLASSES, ACCEPT 
APPLICATIONS OR TUITION FEES FROM PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS, OR HOLD CLASSES. 


This material can be made available for individuals with special needs. Please call the Senior Real Estate 
Specialist at 586-2643 to submit your request. 
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Instructions for "Yes" Answers on Section 10 of the Application for Continuing  
Education Provider Registration 


A. The following documents must be provided at the time you apply for certification. Applications will not be 
considered without this material.


Question a1) 
If you have applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license in Hawaii or any other jurisdiction, list the jurisdiction, 
license type, and license number in the space provided. Attach a separate page if more space is
required.


Questions a2, a3, a4, and a5) 
These questions refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession, 
occupation, or license, both real estate and those other than real estate. If your answer is "yes" to one or more of 
these questions, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following


i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; 


ii.  Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and 
conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents; 


iii. A resume of any employment, business activities, and education since the date of the action; and 


iv. You may also include statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to your 
reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing. 


Question b) 
If your application indicates a criminal conviction, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following:


i. A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since 
the conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment, 
employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended; 


ii. A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; written proof of completion and/or compliance with 
applicable terms of sentence, e.g., payment of fine(s) or restitution; 


iii. If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole officer 
as to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing; and 


iv Signed statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to your business 
dealings since the conviction, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, 
truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing. 


Question c) 
If you have any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligation, or any other type of involuntary liens 
against you, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following:


i.  A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances and current status, and if no payment or payment 
arrangement has been made, the reason; 


ii. A resume of employment and business activities; and 


iii. Copies of the court complaint, judgment, documentation of payment arrangements, lien documents, records of any 
payments, and other relevant documents. 


B. If your answer to questions a2), a3), a4), a5), b), or c) is "yes", your application will be reviewed at a monthly 
Real Estate Commission meeting if you have provided all applicable information and documents as 
described above. The Commission will not review incomplete applications. If you wish to present oral 
testimony at the meeting, submit a written request with your application. A courtesy notice with information 
on the date, time, and location of the meeting will be sent to you.







Continuing Education Provider Registration  
Schedule of Fees 


Initial provider registration  
  
Attach two (2) separate payments:  
  
 1.  Application fee (nonrefundable)        $150  
  
 2.  Compliance Resolution Fund (if registration to take effect in odd-numbered year)  $90  
  
      OR  


      Compliance Resolution Fund (if registration to take effect in even-numbered year)  $45  


Note: Compliance Resolution Fund refundable if registration denied.  
  
  
  
  
  


ATTACH TWO CHECKS FOR THE AMOUNTS PAYABLE TO "COMMERCE AND 
CONSUMER AFFAIRS" 








REAL ESTATE COMMISSION  
State of Hawaii  
Professional and Vocational Licensing Division  
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs  
335 Merchant Street, Room 333  
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 


FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 


Cashier's Validation:


Approved/Date:              Registration No.: 
  
  
Denied/Date: 
 


1.  Provider's (School) Name (including registered trade name, if any), Business Address and Phone Number: 


APPLICATION FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER REGISTRATION 


2.  School Administrator's Name, Business Address and Phone Number: 


3.  School Administrator's Residence Address: 


4.  Classroom Location(s): 


Email: 


5. List of courses to be offered, if known: 


For 
Cashier's Use 
Only 


App $150 905


CRF $90/$45 583


Serv Fee $25 BCF
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Submit the following documents: 


a. Signed "Certification of Administrator of Continuing Educator Provider" form. 


b. County certification or a statement signed by the Administrator that each classroom 
location complies: 


County Building Department -- includes maximum occupant load 


Department of Health 


County Fire Department 
The Commission does not require submission of certificates of clearance; however, providers are responsible for 
compliance with applicable codes and regulations, including the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) 
requirements. 


c. A Surety Bond in an amount based on the formula in Hawaii Administrative Rules ("HAR") 
§16-99-99(a)(7) or an alternative form of security as described in HAR §16-99-53.1 (see 
attachment). Use the attached bond form. Other bond forms and re-typed versions are not 
acceptable. 


d.


e.


School catalogue or brochure to include advertising content and media to be used. 


Statement of School Policies and Student Disclosure Statement (see attachment) to 
include a copy of:  


Student Registration contract, or School/Student agreement giving right of 
cancellation within a specified time period 
Attendance record or other method of monitoring class attendance


Policy for passing grade and for re-exams (if any) and issuance of completion 
certificate 
All textbooks and course materials owned by this provider, including course 
updates to materials 


Location of records and record keeping procedures for a minimum of 4 years


School Ownership.  


Corporation 


Partnership 


Sole Proprietorship 


Limited Liability Company (LLC) 


Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) 


Accredited institution of higher learning (college, university) 
Corporation: 


6. 


7.


a.


Form of ownership: 


List names and mailing addresses of all persons who own 5% or more of 
the corporate stock: 


b. Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business 
Registration Division, Dept. of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, 335 
Merchant Street, 2nd Floor, Honolulu, Hawaii, Phone: 586-2727. A 
"filestamped" copy of the articles of incorporation dated within the last 6 
months may be submitted for the "Certificate of Good Standing".
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f. Signed "Consent" forms (included herein).


g. As applicable, submission of a Course Offering form and initial Course Certification 
application for each course to be scheduled. Initial Course Certification application must 
be submitted at least 45 days prior to scheduled first offering date. Subsequent Course 
Offering forms must be submitted to the Commission not less than 14 days before 
scheduled offering date.







Partnership: a. List names and mailing addresses of each partner: 


b. Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business 
Registration Division - see "Corporation" documents stated above. 


Sole Proprietor:  Name and mailing address: 


LLC: a.


b.


List names and mailing addresses of each member: 


Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business 
Registration Division - see "Corporation" documents stated above. 


LLP: a. Name and mailing addresses of each partner: 


Submit a "Certificate of Good Standing" issued by the Business 
Registration Division - see "Corporation" documents stated above. 


b.


8. Have owner(s) ever applied for/held/been granted a certification/registration/license for 
teaching or instruction in this state or any other state?  NOYES


If "YES", provide name of institution/state, effective dates, and a copy of the certificate/
registration/license: 


9. List the name, real estate license number, and license status of all owners, 
administrators, employees or general partners who hold a Hawaii real estate license: 


Name Real Estate License 
Number  License Status 
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CHECK ANSWERS TO ALL QUESTIONS AND EXPLAIN ALL "YES" RESPONSES ON A 
SEPARATE SHEET. 
  
Questions refer to the applicant (i.e., individual or entity) and to the administrator of the provider: 


a. 1) Have you ever applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license in Hawaii or 
any other state? 


If yes, what state, license type, and license number? 


2) Has an application for license or a real estate license ever been denied, 
suspended, fined, involuntarily terminated, revoked, or otherwise subject to 
disciplinary action? 


3) Have any complaints or charges ever been filed against you, regardless of outcome, 
with the licensing agency of any state? 


4) Have any charges of unlicensed activity ever been filed against you, regardless of 
outcome, with the licensing agency of any state? 


5) Are there any pending disciplinary actions against you? 


b. During the past 20 years have you ever been convicted of a crime where there has not been 
an order annulling or expunging the conviction? 


c. Are there any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligations, or any other 
type of involuntary liens against you? 


d. Are you LESS than 18 years of age?  


e. Are you an alien without authorization to work in the United States?  


Explain all "Yes" responses on a separate sheet with detailed information and submit supporting 
documents (see instruction sheet for documents to be submitted). Any "Yes" answers to the 
questions in Section 10 of the application will require review by the Real Estate Commission before a 
decision is made regarding registration. 


NOYES


YES NO


NOYES


YES NO


NOYES


YES NO


NOYES


YES NO


NOYES


10.


Certification of Applicant:  
  
I hereby certify that: 


1) 


2) 


Each instructor that teaches for the Provider meets the Real Estate 
Commission's requirements and that the Provider has on file a signed Statement 
of Ethical Teaching Practices for each instructor who teaches for the Provider. 


The statements and answers on this application and accompanying document(s) 
are true and correct. 


I understand that any statement false or untrue, or any material misstatements of fact shall 
constitute grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of registration. 
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Signature of Administrator Signature of Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietor 


Print Name Print Name


Date Date  








CERTIFICATION OF ADMINISTRATOR OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER


I shall be held responsible for the following: 


Complying with the Real Estate Commission's ("Commission") rules relating 
to continuing education providers.    
  
Providing reports and information as may be required by the Commission.   
  
Informing the Commission of changes in provider policies, programs, 
personnel, facilities, fees, calendar, and all other matters changing the status 
of the provider as originally registered.   
  
Advertising by the provider.   
  
Directing and supervising the staff and instructors of the provider.  
  
Assuring that the room in which each course is given complies with county 
building, county fire department, state health department, and Americans 
with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements at the time course is given.  
  
Ensuring that each instructor that teaches for the provider meets the Real 
Estate Commission's requirements.  
  
Maintaining on file a signed Statement of Ethical Teaching Practices for each 
instructor who teaches for the provider.


a.


b.


c.


d.


e.


f.


g.


 The above statements made by me are true, complete, and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief and are made in good faith. My qualifications to serve as 
administrator is confirmed by the owner of the provider or an authorized agent of the 
provider. 


I, 
whose residence address is  
certify that I have the necessary requirements to act in the capacity of administrator of


h.


Administrator's Signature 


Date  
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CONSENT 
  


 The Real Estate Commission may use the following methods to evaluate the prelicense 
education / continuing education programs and to monitor compliance with prelicense education / 
continuing education rules.


Evaluations. The Commission may require that participant evaluation forms, 
provided by the Commission, be distributed to participants for purposes of 
evaluating the school / provider, instructor, and course. Schools / Providers will be 
responsible for obtaining, distributing, collecting, and returning the forms. 


Drop-In Monitoring. Representatives of the Commission may attend courses on a 
drop-in basis. They will not register and no fees or reimbursements will be involved. 


Investigative Monitoring. Representatives of the Commission may attend courses as 
a regular participant for the purpose of determining if the courses are being 
presented under statute, regulation, and Commission requirements. These 
representatives will not identify themselves as Commission representatives and will 
pay the required fees. 


The Commission may, from time to time, request information regarding course 
offerings, attendance, examinations, and record keeping. 


1. 


2. 


3. 


4. 


 The undersigned acknowledges receipt and understanding of the procedures outlined above 
which relate to all approved prelicense education / continuing education course offerings.  
  
 I consent to inspection or monitoring by representatives of the Real Estate Commission. I 
agree to report any material changes in the information submitted at least 30 days prior to proposed 
use. I agree to retain complete records for at least three years for prelicense schools and at least 
four years for continuing education providers from the date of each course offering. 


Signature of Administrator 


Print Name 


Date
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STATEMENT OF ETHICAL TEACHING PRACTICES 


Continuing Education Instructor 


I,                                                               , as a continuing education instructor for
                                                                          , do hereby promise, attest to, and affirm that I 
shall adhere to the highest standards of ethical practices in the performance of my instructional 
duties including but not limited to: 


Teaching only course subjects, the command knowledge of which I have acquired 
either by training, experience or education or by combinations thereof, "command 
knowledge of" as defined in §16-99-104(f), Hawaii Administrative Rules, Real Estate 
Brokers and Salespersons;  


Giving out, to the best of my knowledge and belief, current and accurate course 
information and materials; 


Conducting fair and reasonable discussions, presenting alternative viewpoints, and 
identifying clearly an instructor's opinion of any controversial course issues within 
the time allotted to the topic;


Advising students that each should research and update any course information and 
materials prior to using the course information and materials in the practice of real 
estate;  


Taking reasonable steps to prevent the unlicensed, unauthorized and unintended 
practice of any licensed profession, for example, the unlicensed practice of giving 
legal, accounting, or tax advice;  


Informing students prior to the start of class what the students can expect to learn 
from the course; 


Taking reasonable steps to evaluate whether indeed the students have learned what 
I taught; 


Obtaining appropriate consents and permissions before using copyrighted or 
patented instructional materials, products or presentations; 


Taking reasonable steps to maintain appropriate classroom decorum and language 
conducive to academic learning, inquiry and research; 
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1.


2.


3.


4.


5.


6.


7.


8.


9.


CEETHICAL08-11


Refraining from active solicitation and advertising for, during any scheduled 
continuing education class, other businesses and products which the instructor 
owns or has any direct or indirect interest in; "active solicitation and advertising for" 
excludes a business, professional or product presentation to students listing the 
instructor's expertise, work experience, publications, and affiliations as part of an 
introductory resume; and


10.







Performing diligently all other duties and responsibilities required of a continuing 
education provider as set forth in Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 467 and 
Commission rules embodied in Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 99, "Real 
Estate Brokers and Salespersons." 


 As a continuing education instructor , I acknowledge that failure to conform to the 
standards, duties and responsibilities enumerated and referred to above may be grounds for 
loss of certification as an instructor. 


 As the administrator of the continuing education provider  named above, I acknowledge 
and agree that my omission of, intentional or negligent conduct and acts which aid and abet the 
prelicensing education instructor signing below to perform otherwise as the instructor has 
promised, attested to and affirm, and adhere to but not limited to herein, may be grounds for 
loss of the continuing education provider's registration. 


Instructor's Signature Administrator's Signature 


Print Name Prelicense School 


Date Date  


11.








 


Bond No. _______________________ 


STATE OF HAWAII 


BOND 


PRELICENSE REAL ESTATE SCHOOL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER  


KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS:  


 THAT WE, _______________________________________________________________________


of the County of , ____________________________________________, State of Hawaii, as Principal, and 


________________________________, as Surety, are held and firmly bound unto the State of Hawaii, in 


the full and just sum of ______________________________________ ($_________________) lawful 


money of the United States of America, for the just and full payment of which we hereby jointly and 


severally bind ourselves, and our respective heirs, executors and administrators, and successors.  


 THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH, that  


 WHEREAS, the Principal desires to obtain, or to renew, a certificate or certificates of registration to 


offer real estate prelicense courses, or real estate continuing education courses, or both, under and pursuant 


to Section 467-25.5, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and to the provisions of Chapter 99, Title 16, Hawaii 


Administrative Rules, appertaining thereto;  


 NOW, THEREFORE, if such certificate or certificates shall be issued and if the above bounden 


Principal shall fully and faithfully comply with the provisions of the statute hereinabove mentioned and the 


Rules of the Real Estate Commission, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, then this obligation 


shall be void, otherwise, it shall be and remain in full force and effect;  


AND every person suffering loss or damage because of failure of the Principal to fully and faithfully comply 


with said statute or said Rules or because of failure of the Principal to fully and faithfully provide instruction 


and training as represented by said Principal or required by said statute or Rules, may sue the Surety for the 


recovery of any loss or damage and for the proportionate recovery of tuition, fees and other charges paid in 


advance as provided in said statute or Rules.  
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 IT IS HEREBY stipulated and agreed that suit on this bond may be brought before a court of 


competent jurisdiction without a jury.  


 AND, this bond shall remain in full force and effect and shall run concurrently with the respective 


certificate period or periods and for any renewals thereof, unless terminated, cancelled, or not renewed by 


the Surety. Such termination, cancellation, or non-renewal shall not be effective, however, unless written 


notice thereof is delivered by the Surety to the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs at least 


thirty (30) days prior to the date of termination, cancellation, or non-renewal.  


 IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we the said Principal and the said Surety, have hereunto set our hands 


and seals this __________ day of ___________________________, 20_______.  


  


  


      Principal  


  


      Surety  
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