MINUTES FOR THE MEETING OF THE COMMISSION ON WATER RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

DATE: September 2, 2008 TIME: 8:30 a.m. PLACE: Haiku Community Center Hana Highway Haiku, Maui

Chairperson Laura H. Thielen called the meeting of the Commission on Water Resource Management to order at 8:30 a.m.

The following were in attendance and/or excused:

MEMBERS:	Ms. Laura Thielen, Mr. James Frazier, Mr. Neal Fujiwara, Dr. Chiyome Fukino, Ms. Meredith Ching
STAFF:	Deputy Director Ken Kawahara, Ed Sakoda, Dean Uyeno, Chui Cheng, Elise Leroux
COUNSEL:	Linda Chow, Esq.
EXCUSED	Dr. Lawrence Miike, Ms. Donna Kiyosaki
OTHERS:	Garret Hew, HC&S David Schulmeister, HC&S Mark Vaught, EMI; Henry Robello, EMI; Moses Haia, NHLC; Steve Hookano, Namoku Kalo Farmer; Lyn Scott, Wanda Vierra, Beatrice Kekahuna, Sanford Kekahuna, Honopou Stream; Ed Wendt, Na Moku; Alex Bode; Carl Freedman, Maui County WRDP; John Ford, SWCA; Rep. Mele Carroll, Legislator-District #13; Ray Rutkowski; Dr. Dan Polhemus, Dr. Bob Nishimoto & Skippy Hau, DAR; Clarence Yamamoto, Howard Rodrigues, Gordon Yen, Nathan Hiller, Brooks Tamaye, John DeJesus & Randy Awo, DOCARE

The Commission on Water Resource Management (Commission) will be conducting a site visit of East Maui for the areas of Honopou, Haliimaile, Wailuanui, and Waiokamilo over the course of two days during September 2-3, 2008.

Chair Thielen gave a brief background about the Commission and asked the Commissioners to introduce themselves. Chair Thielen explained that due to the access and safety concerns, portions of the site visit will be limited (LIMITED) and not open to the general public. Other portions of the site visit will remain open to the general public (OPEN).

Minutes

A. Presentation by the Division of Aquatic Resources on East Maui Stream Surveys (OPEN)

Presentation by: Dr. Dan Polhemus, Dr. Bob Nishimoto and Skippy Hau.

Dr. Dan Polhemus said the Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) was asked to look at the biological resources in five catchments in East Maui Watershed. This was done from late 2007 to mid-2008.

You may view DAR's presentation (09/02/2008: Haiku Community Center, Hana Highway, Haiku, Maui, Presentation by the Division of Aquatic Resources on East Maui Stream Surveys (Part #1 - 01:14:26) at: http://hawaii.gov/dlnr/cwrm/currentissues Petition27EastMaui.htm

The video for the Limited portions of the meeting are on-line, please refer to the website link: http://hawaii.gov/dlnr/cwrm/currentissues_Petition27EastMaui.htm

The Commission recessed while it traveled from Haiku Community Center to the various locations of the site visit.

All times listed are approximate.

10:00 a.m. – East Maui Irrigation System, Honopou Stream Diversions to Wailoa Ditch, New Hamakua Ditch, Lowrie Ditch, and Haiku Ditch (LIMITED)

Commissioners: Laura Thielen, Neal Fujiwara, James Frazier, Chiyomi Fukino AG: Linda Chow Staff: Ken Kawahara, Ed Sakoda, Dean Uyeno, Chui Cheng, Elise Leroux EMI: Garret Hew, David Schulmeister, Mark Vaught, Henry Robello NHLC: Moses Haia, Steve Hookano, Lyn Scott, Wanda Vierra, Beatrice Kekahuna, Sanford Kekahuna DOCARE: Clarence Yamamoto, Howard Rodrigues, Gordon Yen, Nathan Hiller, Brooks Tamaye, John DeJesus & Randy Awo

2:00 p.m. – Kekahuna/Wallett Properties at Honopou Stream, below Hana Highway (LIMITED)

Commissioners: Laura Thielen, Neal Fujiwara, James Frazier, Chiyomi Fukino AG: Linda Chow Staff: Ken Kawahara, Ed Sakoda, Dean Uyeno, Chui Cheng, Elise Leroux EMI: Garret Hew, David Schulmeister, Mark Vaught, Henry Robello NHLC: Moses Haia, Steve Hookano, Lyn Scott, Wanda Vierra, Beatrice Kekahuna, Sanford Kekahuna

Minutes

DOCARE: Clarence Yamamoto, Howard Rodrigues, Gordon Yen, Nathan Hiller, Brooks Tamaye, John DeJesus & Randy Awo

5:00 p.m. – Wailoa Siphon and Kamole Weir (LIMITED)

Commissioners: Laura Thielen, Neal Fujiwara, James Frazier, Chiyomi Fukino AG: Linda Chow Staff: Ken Kawahara, Ed Sakoda, Dean Uyeno, Chui Cheng, Elise Leroux EMI: Garret Hew, David Schulmeister, Mark Vaught NHLC: Moses Haia, Steve Hookano, Lyn Scott, Wanda Vierra, Beatrice Kekahuna, Sanford Kekahuna DOCARE: Clarence Yamamoto, Howard Rodrigues, Gordon Yen, Nathan Hiller, Brooks Tamaye, John DeJesus & Randy Awo

B. NEXT COMMISSION MEETING and SITE VISIT

1. September 3, 2008

The next meeting will resume at 7:30 a.m. the East Maui Irrigation Company's Paia office located at 497 Baldwin Avenue, Paia, Maui, Hawaii

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

KATHLEEN OSHIRO Secretary

APPROVED AS SUBMITTED:

KEN C. KAWAHARA Deputy Director