## MINUTES FOR THE MEETING OF THE COMMISSION ON WATER RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

DATE: September 3, 2008 TIME: 7:30 a.m. PLACE: East Maui Irrigation Company's Office 497 Baldwin Avenue Paia, Maui

Dr. Miike called the meeting of the Commission on Water Resource Management to order at 7:34 a.m.

The following were in attendance and/or excused:

MEMBERS:	Dr. Lawrence Miike, Mr. James Frazier, Mr. Neal Fujiwara, Dr. Chiyome Fukino
STAFF:	Deputy Director Ken Kawahara, Ed Sakoda, Dean Uyeno, Chui Cheng, Elise Leroux
COUNSEL:	Linda Chow, Esq.
EXCUSED	Ms. Laura H. Thielen, Ms. Donna Kiyosaki, Ms. Meredith Ching
OTHERS:	Garret Hew, HC&S David Schulmeister, HC&S Mark Vaught, EMI; Lyn Scott, Honopou Stream; Clarence Yamamoto, Howard Rodrigues, Gordon Yen, Nathan Hiller, Brooks Tamaye, John DeJesus & Randy Awo, Dexter Tom, John Yamamoto & Ron Cahill, DOCARE

The Commission on Water Resource Management (Commission) will be conducting a site visit of East Maui for the areas of Wailuanui, and Waiokamilo.

Garret Hew pointed out the areas covered during yesterday's, September  $2^{nd}$ , site visit and the locations planned for today's, September  $3^{rd}$ , site visit on the map at the EMI office.

You may view this portion of the OPEN meeting (09/03/2008: East Maui Irrigation Company's Paia Office, Paia, Maui (Part #1 - 50:01) at: http://hawaii.gov/dlnr/cwrm/currentissues\_Petition27EastMaui.htm

Lyn Scott commented that an overlay with DAR's data presented would be a good to see how the ditches affect aquatic life. Ms. Scott also asked about the maintenance on the ditches and storage. Garret Hew said that there is a staff of 17. Mr. Hew state that there are seven reservoirs in the

## Minutes

system with total capability to store 274,000,000 gallons a day. There is not enough rainfall to take water to put in the reservoirs.

Chair Miike asked if EMI varied the amount of water at the intakes along the ditches during periods of high rainfall. Garret Hew responded that during heavy rainfall, the uppermost ditch will fill up first then overflow water is captured by other ditches downstream. In the case where there is only one ditch, if the intake reaches capacity then water will overflow back into the stream.

The video for the Limited portions of the meeting are on-line, please refer to the website link:

http://hawaii.gov/dlnr/cwrm/currentissues\_Petition27EastMaui.htm

The Commission recessed while it traveled from the EMI office to the various locations of the site visit.

All times listed are approximate.

9:00 a.m. – Wailuanui Stream Diversions to Koolau Ditch (LIMITED)

Commissioners: Larry Miike, Neal Fujiwara, James Frazier, Chiyomi Fukino AG: Linda Chow Staff: Ken Kawahara, Ed Sakoda, Dean Uyeno, Chui Cheng, Elise Leroux EMI: Garret Hew, David Schulmeister, Mark Vaught, Henry Robello, Kai Andaya, Nelson Akiu NHLC: Moses Haia, Steve Hookano, Ed Wendt, Kimo Day DOCARE: Clarence Yamamoto, Howard Rodrigues, Gordon Yen, Nathan Hiller, Brooks Tamaye, John DeJesus & Randy Awo, Dexter Tom, John Yamamoto & Ron Cahill

2:00 p.m. – Wailuanui Lookout and Wailua Road (OPEN)

Ed Wendt pointed out the system of this location and gave a compilation of a number of TMK maps to Deputy Director Ken Kawahara to make copies. Mr. Wendt said the diversions have impacted the taro industry.

The group walked along Wailua Road. Ed Wendt pointed out on the map where Waikani waterfall (Wailuanui River) services, however there was not enough water down below.

The group walked to the mouth of Wailuanui Stream where the residents shared some of their history, traditions and practices.

You may view this portion of the OPEN meeting (09/03/2008: Wailuanui Lookout and Wailua Road, Mouth of Wailuanui Stream (Part #3 - 27:38) at: <u>http://hawaii.gov/dlnr/cwrm/currentissues\_Petition27EastMaui.htm</u>

Minutes

The commissioners were unable visit Waikani Pond, Kualani Stream and Dam #1 because access could not be obtained from the private property owners.

5:00 p.m. – Waiokamilo Stream near Dams #2 and #3 (LIMITED)

Commissioners: Larry Miike, Neal Fujiwara, James Frazier, Chiyomi Fukino AG: Linda Chow Staff: Ken Kawahara, Ed Sakoda, Dean Uyeno, Chui Cheng, Elise Leroux EMI: Garret Hew, David Schulmeister, Mark Vaught, Henry Robello NHLC: Moses Haia, Steve Hookano, Ed Wendt DOCARE: Clarence Yamamoto, Howard Rodrigues, Gordon Yen, Nathan Hiller, Brooks Tamaye, John DeJesus & Randy Awo, Dexter Tom, John Yamamoto & Ron Cahill

6:00 p.m. - Adjournment

## B. NEXT COMMISSION MEETING

1. October 15, 2008

Respectfully submitted,

KATHLEEN OSHIRO Secretary

APPROVED AS SUBMITTED:

KEN C. KAWAHARA Deputy Director