Rules Amending Title 13
Hawaii Administrative Rules

DATE
1. Chapter 13-253, Hawaii Administrative Rules,
entitled “Registration and Permit Fees,” is amended
and compiled to read as follows:
“HAWAII ADMINISTRATIVE RUﬁES
TITLE 13
DEPARTMENT OF LAND AND NATURAL RESOURCES
SUBTITLE 11
OCEAN RECREATION AND COASTAL AREAS
PART III
OCEAN WATERS, NAVIGABLE STREAMS AND BEACHES

CHAPTER 253

CATAMARAN REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE, OTHER
REGISTRATION, AND COMMERCIAL USE PERMIT FEES

Historical note
§13-253-1 Registration fees for canoes, surfboards,

and water sports egquipment
§13-253-1.1 Commercial use permit and catamaran
registration certificate fees
§13-253-1.2 No additional fees
§13-253-1.3 Gross receipts
§13-253-2 Permit and registration certificate fees
§13-253-3 Duplicate permit or certificate fee
§13-253-4 When fees returnable
§13-253-5 Repealed
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Historical note. This chapter is based on
registration and permit fees of the Hawaii Shore
Waters Rules, dated November 6, 1981, and as amended
thereafter, under the jurisdiction of the Department
of Transportation, Harbors Division. The
administrative jurisdiction for recreational boating
and related vessel activities was transferred from the
Department of Transportation, Harbors Division, to the
Department of Land and Natural Resources, Division of
Boating and Ocean Recreation, effective July 1, 1992,
in accordance with Act 272, SLH 1991. (Eff 2/24/94;
comp )

§13-253-1 Registration fees for canoes,
surfboards, and water sports equipment. The folloW1ng
registration fees shall be paid to the department for
the registration of [eatamarans,) canoes, [and)
surfboards, and water sports equipment that are used

in a commercial operation (—subjeet—to-registration
hereunder—] ;
Original Renewals

[Catamarans—each—vessel— ————$5 95 &3 c3]

Canoes, each vessel $5.00 $3.50
Surfboards, each board [-38])51.00[-30]51.00
Water sports equipment $1.00 $1.00
The minimum fee for surfboards shall be $1. [Eff
2/24/94; am and comp ] (Auth: HRS §§200-

2, 200-4, 200-9, 200-10, 200-22, 200-24) (Imp: HRS
§§200-2, 200-4, 200-9, 200-10, 200-22, 200-24)

§13-253-1.1 Commercial use pexrmit and catamaran

registration certificate fees. A monthly fee for a
commercial use permit or a catamaran registration
certificate shall be the greater of $200.00 or 3% of
the gross receipts per month. The monthly fee shall
be pavable to the department each month in advance,
This fee shall be applicable to all commercial use
permits and all catamaran registration certificates
for state ocean waters or navigable streams. (Eff

} (Auth: HRS §§200-2, 200-3, 200-4, 200-22,
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200-24) (Imp: HRS §§200-2, 200-3, 200-4, 200-22, 200-
24)

§13-253~1.2 No additional fees. (a) Fees
required to be paid to the department for commercial
activities in state ocean waters, including but not
limited to ocean recreation management areas, shall be
reported and paid in the following manner:

(1) The report of gross receipts shall be
submitted to and received by the department
not later than the end of the month
following the month covered by the report
and shall be submitted on a form acceptable
to the department.

(2) A permittee possessing a harbor commercial
use permit and a commercial use permit for
state ocean waters Or a navigable stream oOr
a catamaran registration certificate, who is
paying 3% of gross receipts per month under
the harbor commercial use permit, shall not
be required to pay an additional 3% of gross
receipts per month under the commercial use
permit for state ocean waters Or a navigable
stream or a catamaran registration
certificate, provided that the payment made
to the department is based on the total of
gross receipts acquired under the harbor
commercial use permit and the commercial use
permit for state ocean waters Or a navigable
stream or a catamaran registration
certificate.

(b) Delinquency in the payment of any fees owed
to the department may result in revocation of the
commercial use permit or catamaran registration
certificate. [Eff ] (Auth: HRS §§200-
2, 200-3, 200-4, 200-22, 200-24) (Imp: HRS §§200-2,
200-3, 200-4, 200-22, 200-24)

§13-253-1.3 Gross receipts. (a) “Gross receipts”
as used in this chapter means all moneys paid or
payable to the account of the commercial use permittee
or catamaran registration certificate holder, for
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services rendered, or resulting from trade, business,
commerce, or sales by the vessel or water sports
equipment owner when the services, trade, business,
commerce, or sales has a direct relationship to the
vessel.

(b) Each commercial permittee or catamaran
registration certificate holder shall be responsible
for submitting to the department a monthly statement
of its gross receipts. (Eff ] (Auth: HRS
§§200-2, 200-3, 200-4, 200-22, 200-24) (Imp: HRS
§§200-2, 200-3, 200-4, 200-22, 200-24)

§13-253-2 Permit and registration certificate
fees. A [$2—permit] $10.00 fee shall be paid to the
department for the issuance or [remewal] re-issuance
of [2] any commercial use permit [issued—-and-renewed)
Oor catamaran registration certificate pursuant to
these rules. [Eff 2/24/94; am and comp ]
(Auth: HRS §§200-2, 200-4, 200-9, 200-10, 200-22, 200-
24) (Imp: HRS §§200-2, 200-4, 200-9, 200-10, 200-22,
200-24)

§13-253-3 Duplicate permit or certificate fee.
A [#%] $10.00 fee shall be paid to the department for
a duplicate permit or registration certificate [er
permit] if such is lost or destroyed, provided that
the duplicating fee for evidence of registration of
surfboards will be [&en—eents)$l for each board with a
minimum of $1 and $1 for evidence of registration of
canoes. [Eff 2/24/94; am and comp ] (Auth:
HRS §§200-2, 200-4, 200-9, 200-10, 200-22, 200-24)
(Imp: HRS §§200-2, 200-4, 200-9, 200-10, 200-22, 200-
24)

§13-253-4 When fees returnable. Whenever the
department, through error, collects any fee not
required to be paid by these rules, the fee shall be
refunded to the person paying the fee upon application
made within a month after the date of the payment.
[BEff 2/24/94; am and comp ] (Auth: HRS
§§200-2, 200-4, 200-9, 200-10, 200-22, 200-24) (Imp:
HRS §§200-2, 200-4, 200-9, '200-10, 200-22, 200-24)
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2. Material, except source notes, to be
repealed is bracketed and stricken. New material is
underscored.

3. Additions to update source notes to reflect
thegse amendments are not underscored.

4. The amendments and compilation of chapter
13-253, Hawaii Administrative Rules, shall take effect
ten days after filing with the Office of the
Lieutepant Governor.

I certify that the foregoing are copies of the
rules, drafted in the Ramseyer format pursuant to the
requirements of section 91-4.1, Hawaiil Revised
Statues, which were adopted on by the
Board of Land and Natural Resources, and filed with
the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.

WILLIAM J. AILA, JR.,
Chairperson
Board of Land and Natural Resources

APPROVED FOR PUBLIC HEARING:

/MF Vaditboanrr—

Deputy Attorney General
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