State of Hawaii DEPARTMENT OF LAND AND NATURAL RESOURCES Engineering Division

August 8, 2014

Board of Land and Natural Resources State of Hawaii Honolulu, Hawaii

Appointment of Tyler Jones and Nathan Miranda to Serve as Directors of the Windward Oahu Soil and Water Conservation District

Under Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 180, the governance of each Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) is placed in the hands of five directors, two of whom are appointed by the Board of Land and Natural Resources (Board) at the recommendation of the District and three of whom are elected by the land occupiers of the District. Where directors are elected, the Board must certify the election. Directors serve for a term of three (3) years.

The following individuals have been recommended for appointment to serve as directors of the Windward Oahu SWCD for a term ending June 30, 2017:

Name

Title/Organization or Occupation

Tyler Jones

Agricultural Professor, Windward Community College

Nathan Miranda

Landscape and Nursery Manager

The documentation submitted by the district to support the appointment is filed in the Engineering Division office.

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Board appoint Tyler Jones and Nathan Miranda to serve as directors of the Windward Oahu Soil and Water Conservation District for the term specified.

Respectfully submitted,

Chief Ungineer

Approved for submittal:

WILLIAM J. AILA, JR., Chairperson Board of Land and Natural Resources