

Resolution of Charges No. 2017-1

2016 Late Financial Disclosure Filers

April 21, 2017

The State Ethics Code requires members of state boards and commissions and state employees holding certain state positions to file an annual Disclosure of Financial Interests ("financial disclosure statement") with the Hawaii State Ethics Commission ("Commission"). Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") § 84-17. Individuals who fail to timely file their annual financial disclosure statement are subject to a \$50 fine, and a \$10 administrative penalty for each day that their disclosure remains unfiled. HRS § 84-17(i).

In February 2017, the Commission issued charges and assessed fines against the following individuals for failure to file a 2016 financial disclosure statement by the statutory deadline:

William N. Arakaki, Complex Area Superintendent, Kauai, Department of Education (\$1,500)

Scott E. Enright, Chairperson, Board of Agriculture (\$130)

Rachelle Iopa, Board Member, Board of Physical Therapy (\$1,100)

Respondents have now filed their disclosures and paid the full amount of the statutory penalty. Accordingly, the Commission and Respondents agreed to resolve each of the matters upon publication of this Resolution of Charge.