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Estates, and Trusts

2021 
(NOTE: References to “married” and “spouse” are also references to “in a civil union” and “civil union partner,” respectively.)

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
Purpose of Form
You must pay income taxes as you earn income 
during the year, either through withholding or by 
making estimated tax payments. You may have to 
make estimated tax payments if the tax withheld 
from your salary is not enough, or if you receive 
income that is not subject to withholding, such 
as self-employment income, interest, dividends, 
rents, and capital gains.
You may be charged a penalty (interest on the 
underpayment of estimated tax) if you do not pay 
enough tax through withholding and estimated tax 
payments, or if your estimated tax payments are 
late.
Individuals and fiduciaries of estates and trusts 
use Form N-210 to see if they owe a penalty for 
underpaying their estimated tax and, if so, to 
figure the amount of the penalty.

Other Methods of Figuring the 
Penalty
There are different ways to figure the correct 
penalty. You do not have to use Form N-210 to 
figure the penalty as long as you enter the correct 
penalty amount on the estimated tax penalty line 
of your return.
However, you are required to file Form N-210 if 
you checked one or more boxes in Part I. You 
must complete certain lines and enter the penalty 
(enter -0- if there is no penalty) on line 21 and on 
the estimated tax penalty line of your return. Also, 
fill in the oval (or check the box) on the estimated 
tax penalty line of your return to indicate that 
Form N-210 is attached.

Who Must Pay the Underpayment 
Penalty
In general, you may owe the penalty for 2021 if 
the total of your withholding and timely estimated 
tax payments were less than the smaller of:

1.	60% of your 2021 tax, or
2.	100% of your 2020 tax. Your 2020 tax return 

must cover a 12-month period.
Penalty figured separately for each required 
payment. The penalty is figured separately for 
each payment due date. Therefore, you may owe 
the penalty for an earlier due date even if you paid 
enough tax later to make up the underpayment. 
This is true even if you are due a refund when 
you file your tax return.

Exceptions to the Penalty
You will not have to pay the penalty if either 1 or 
2 applies:

1.	The total tax shown on your 2021 return 
minus the amount of tax you paid through 
withholding and tax credits is less than $500.  To 
determine whether the total tax is less than $500, 
complete lines 1-5.

2.	You meet all of the following conditions: (1) 
You were a full-year Hawaii resident in 2020 (or 
an estate of a Hawaii decedent or a Hawaii trust), 
(2) You had no tax liability for 2020, and (3) Your 
2020 tax year covered a 12-month period. You 
had no tax liability for 2020 if your total tax was 

zero or you were not required to file an income 
tax return.
Note: If you were a nonresident or a part-year 
resident in 2020, you do not meet the exception 
under number 2.
If you meet the exception under number 1, you 
do not have to file Form N-210.
If you meet the exception under number 2, do 
the following:

a.	Check box A in Part I.
b.	Enter -0- on line 21 and on the estimated tax 

penalty line of your return.
c.	Attach Form N-210 to your return.
d.	Fill in the oval (or check the box) on the 

estimated tax penalty line of your return to 
indicate that Form N-210 is attached.
Estates and trusts. No penalty applies to either 
of the following:

•	 A decedent’s estate for any tax year ending 
before the date that is two years after the 
decedent’s death.

•	 A trust that was treated as owned by the 
decedent if the trust will receive the residue 
of the decedent’s estate under the will (or 
if no will is admitted to probate, the trust 
primarily responsible for paying debts, 
taxes, and expenses of administration) for 
any tax year ending before the date that is 
two years after the decedent’s death.

Farmers and fishermen. If you meet both tests 
1 and 2 below, you do not owe a penalty for 
underpaying your estimated tax.

1.	Your gross income from farming or fishing 
is at least two-thirds of your annual gross income 
from all sources for 2020 or 2021.

2.	You filed your Hawaii return and paid the 
entire tax due by March 1, 2022.
Note: If you receive a penalty notice, do not ignore 
it, even if you think it is in error. You may get a 
penalty notice even though you filed your return 
on time, attached Form N-210, and met the gross 
income from farming or fishing requirement. 
If you receive a penalty notice for underpaying 
estimated tax and you think it is in error, write to 
the address on the notice and explain why you 
think the notice is in error. Include a computation 
showing that you met the gross income from 
farming or fishing requirement.
See federal Publication 505, Tax Withholding and 
Estimated Tax, for the definition of gross income 
from farming and fishing.

Lowering or Eliminating the Penalty
You may be able to lower or eliminate your 
penalty if any of the following applies:

•	 You request a waiver. See Waiver of 
Penalty. 

•	 You use the annualized income installment 
method. See Schedule A – Required 
Installments Using the Annualized 
Income Installment Method.

•	 Instead of using one-fourth of your 
withholding for each payment period, you 
choose to use the amounts actually withheld 
by each due date. See the instructions for 
line 10 under Figure Your Underpayment.

Waiver of Penalty
If you have an underpayment on line 16, the 
Department can waive all or part of the penalty 
for underpayment if any of the following applies.

1.	You retired after reaching age 62 or became 
disabled in 2020 or 2021 and both the following 
requirements are met. 
•	 You had a reasonable cause for not making 

the payment. 
•	 Your underpayment was not due to willful 

neglect.
2.	You didn’t make a payment because of a 

casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance 
and it would be inequitable to impose the penalty.
To request any of the above waivers, do the 
following:

a.	Check box B in Part I.
b.	Complete Form N-210 through line 20 

without considering the waiver. Enter the amount 
you want waived in parentheses on the dotted 
line next to line 21.  Subtract this amount from the 
total penalty you figured without considering the 
waiver, and enter the result on line 21 and on the 
estimated tax penalty line of your return.

c.	Attach Form N-210 to your return.
d.	Attach a statement to your return explaining 

the reasons you were unable to meet the 
estimated tax requirements and the time period 
for which you are requesting a waiver.

e.	If you are requesting a waiver due to 
retirement or disability, attach documentation that 
shows your retirement date (and your age on that 
date) or the date you became disabled.

f.	 If you are requesting a waiver due to a 
casualty, disaster, or other unusual circumstance, 
attach documentation such as copies of police 
and insurance company reports.

g.	Fill in the oval (or check the box) on the 
estimated tax penalty line of your return to 
indicate that Form N-210 is attached.
The Department will review the information you 
provide and decide whether to grant your request 
for a waiver.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
Part II - Required Annual Payment
Complete lines 1 through 8 to figure your required 
annual payment.
Line 1 — Enter your tax liability before credits.  
Enter the amount from Form N-11, line 27; Form 
N-15, line 44; or Form N-40, Schedule G, line 1; 
whichever applies.
Line 2 — Enter the total amount of all the tax 
credits, nonrefundable and refundable, claimed 
on your tax return.
Do not include on this line, payments made for:

•	 Hawaii income tax withheld
•	 Tax withheld on Individual Housing Account 

(IHA) distributions
•	 Estimated taxes paid
•	 Amount of estimated tax payments applied 

from the 2020 return to the 2021 return
•	 Amounts paid with extensions
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•	 Credit for taxes withheld on the sale of 
Hawaii real property by a nonresident

•	 Amounts withheld by an S corporation for a 
nonresident shareholder

Line 4 — Include on this line Hawaii income 
tax withheld from wages, IHA distributions, and 
sales of Hawaii real property by a nonresident; 
and amounts withheld by an S corporation for a 
nonresident shareholder.
Line 5 — If this line is less than $500, you do not 
have to complete the rest of this form.
Line 7—Tax Amount from your 2020 Income 
Tax Return.—Enter 100% of your 2020 tax. 
Figure your 2020 tax using the taxes and credits 
shown on your 2020 tax return.  Use the same 
type of taxes and credits shown on lines 1 and 2 
of Form N-210.
If you are filing a joint return for 2021, but you did 
not file a joint return for 2020, add your 2020 tax 
to your spouse’s 2020 tax and enter the total on 
line 7. If you filed a joint return for 2020 but you 
are not filing a joint return for 2021, see federal 
Publication 505 to figure your share of the 2020 
tax to enter on line 7.
If you did not file a return for 2020, or if your 
2020 tax year was less than 12 months, do not 
complete line 7. Instead, enter the amount from 
line 6 on line 8. However, see the Exceptions to 
the Penalty on page 1.
Line 8 — Compare the amounts on lines 6 and 7.  
Enter the smaller of the two amounts on line 8.
If the amount on line 4 is equal to or more than the 
amount on line 8, you will not have to complete or 
attach Form N-210 unless the following Caution 
applies to you.
Caution:  If the amount you entered on line 8 is 
your prior year tax (from line 7), and you filed or 
are filing a joint return for either 2020 or 2021 but 
not for both years, do the following even if you do 
not owe a penalty:

a.	Check box E in Part I.
b.	Complete Form N-210 and enter the amount 

from line 21 on the estimated tax penalty line of 
your return.

c.	Attach Form N-210 to your return.
d.	Fill in the oval (or check the box) on the 

estimated tax penalty line of your return to 
indicate that Form N-210 is attached.
Part III - Figure Your Underpayment
Nonresident alien. If you are a “Nonresident 
Alien” (see definition in Form N-15 Instructions) 
and did not receive wages as an employee 
subject to Hawaii income tax withholding, the 
instructions for figuring your underpayment are 
modified as follows:

1.	Skip column (a).
2.	On line 9, column (b), enter one-half of the 

amount on line 8 of Part II (unless you are using 
the annualized income installment method).

3.	On line 10, column (b), enter the total tax 
payments made through June 20, 2021, for the 
2021 tax year. If you are treating Hawaii income 
tax as having been withheld evenly throughout 
the year, you are considered to have paid one-
third of these amounts on each payment due 
date.

4.	Skip all lines in column (b) that are shaded 
in column (a).

Farmers and fishermen. The instructions for 
figuring your underpayment are modified as 
follows:

1.	Skip columns (a), (b), and (c).
2.	On line 9, column (d), enter the full amount 

on line 8 of Part II.
3.	On line 10, column (d), enter the total tax 

payments made through January 20, 2022, for 
the 2021 tax year.

4.	Skip all lines in column (d) that are shaded 
in column (a).
Figure Your Underpayment 
Line 9 — Enter on line 9, columns (a) through 
(d), the amount of your required installment for 
the due date shown in each column heading.  For 
most taxpayers, this is one-fourth of the required 
annual payment shown on line 8 of Part II.  
However, it may be to your benefit to figure your 
required installments by using the annualized 
income installment method. See the Schedule A 
instructions on page 3.
Line 10 — Enter the taxes withheld from 
wages, IHA distributions, and sales of Hawaii 
real property by a nonresident; estimated tax 
payments; and amounts withheld by an S 
corporation for a nonresident shareholder if the 
S corporation’s payment is made within your tax 
year in the column for the period during which the 
payment is made.
In column (a), enter the tax payments you made 
by April 20, 2021, for the 2021 tax year; in column 
(b), enter the payments you made after April 
20 through June 20, 2021; in column (c), enter 
the payments you made after June 20 through 
September 20, 2021; and in column (d), enter the 
payments you made after September 20, 2021, 
through January 20, 2022.
When figuring your payment dates and the 
amounts to enter on line 10 of each column, 
apply the following rules:

1.	For withheld income tax on wages, you 
are considered to have paid one-fourth of these 
amounts on each payment due date unless you 
can show otherwise. If you treat withholding as 
paid for estimated tax purposes when it was 
actually withheld, do the following:

a.	Check box D in Part I.
b.	Complete Form N-210 and enter the amount 

from line 21 on the estimated tax penalty line of 
your return.

c.	Attach Form N-210 to your return.
d.	Fill in the oval (or check the box) on the 

estimated tax penalty line of your return to 
indicate that Form N-210 is attached.

2.	Include all estimated tax payments you 
made for each period. Include any overpayment 
from your 2020 tax return you elected to apply to 
your 2021 estimated tax. If your 2020 return was 
fully paid by the due date, treat the overpayment 
as a payment made on April 20, 2021. If you mail 
your estimated tax payments, use the date of the 
U.S. postmark as the date of payment.

3.	If an overpayment is generated on your 
2020 return from a payment made after the 
due date, treat the payment as made on the 
date of payment. For example, you paid $500 
due on your 2020 return on July 1, 2021, and 
later amended the return and were due a $400 
refund which you elected to have applied to your 
estimated taxes. The $400 overpayment would 
be treated as paid on July 1.

4.	If you file your return and pay the tax due by 
January 31, 2022, include on line 10, column (d), 
the amount of tax you pay with your tax return.  
In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the 
payment due by January 20, 2022.

5.	Reduce the amount of withholding on the 
disposition of Hawaii real property included 
on this line by any amount for which you have 
requested a refund on Form N-288C.

6.	Any payments made on the next working 
day after the payment due date because of a 
Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, will be considered 
paid on the payment due date.
If line 10 is equal to or more than line 9 for all 
payment periods, stop here. You do not have to 
complete the rest of the form.
Line 16 — If line 16 is zero for all payment 
periods, you do not owe a penalty.  But if you 
checked one or more boxes in Part I, you must 
file Form N-210 with your return.
If line 16 shows an underpayment for any 
payment period, see Waiver of Penalty on page 
1. In certain circumstances, the Department will 
waive all or part of the underpayment penalty.

Part IV — Figure the Penalty
The underpayment penalty is computed on a 
monthly basis. This means the penalty is imposed 
on the amount of the underpayment of estimated 
tax at the rate of 2/3% (.00667) a month or part 
of a month.
Use Part IV to figure the penalty for any 
underpayment to which none of the exceptions 
apply. If you made more than one payment 
for any payment period, attach your penalty 
computation for each payment. The penalty is 
applied to the number of months, or part of a 
month, that the installment was not paid. You 
figure the period of underpayment by counting 
the number of months after the due date of the 
installment to and including the date of payment 
or April 20, 2022, whichever is earlier. If you are 
a fiscal year taxpayer, use the 20th day of the 
4th month following the close of your fiscal year 
instead of April 20, 2022.
Line 19 — Count the number of months from 
the due date of the payment shown above the 
column to the date on line 18. A month, for the 
purposes of computing the penalty, is the period 
from the 21st day of the current calendar month 
through the 20th day of the following calendar 
month. Enter the number of months, rounding up 
any parts of a month. A part of a month is counted 
as one month.

For example, Mr. Aloha has an underpayment 
for the April 20th installment of $1,000.  The June 
20th installment requires a payment of $2,500.  
On June 10th, Mr. Aloha pays $2,500 to cover 
the June 20th installment. However, $1,000 of 
this payment will be considered to be for the April 
20th installment.  The penalty for the April 20th 
installment is figured to June 10th (2 months).  
The amount of the payment to be applied to 
the June 20th installment will be the remaining 
$1,500.  Please note that if Mr. Aloha does not 
make an additional payment by June 20th to 
cover the remaining $1,000 due for the June 
20th installment, the underpayment penalty will 
be applied when it is subsequently paid.
Payment of your entire 2021 estimated tax liability, 
or any balance due, by January 20, 2022, or filing 
of your 2021 income tax return and payment 
of the tax shown on the return by January 20, 
2022, will not relieve you of the penalty if you 
did not pay the estimated income tax due earlier 
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in your tax year.  If you file your return and pay 
the tax due by January 31, 2022, you will have 
no penalty for the January installment, and the 
periods of underpayment for earlier installments 
will end on January 20, 2022.
Reminder for farmers and fishermen:  If your 
gross income from farming or fishing is at least 
two-thirds of your annual gross income from all 
sources for 2020 or 2021, and you file your return 
and pay the tax due by March 1, 2022, you will  
not have to pay the penalty or file this form.

Schedule A—Required Installments 
Using the Annualized Income 
Installment Method
If your income varied during the year because, 
for example, you operated your business on a 
seasonal basis or had a large capital gain late in 
the year, you may be able to lower or eliminate 
the amount of one or more required installments 
by using the annualized income installment 
method.  Use Schedule A to figure the required 
installments to enter on Form N-210, Part III, line 
9.
If you use Schedule A for any payment due date, 
you must use it for all payment due dates.
To use the annualized income installment 
method to figure the penalty, you must do all of 
the following:

a. Check box C in Part I.
b.	Complete Schedule A. Enter the amounts

from Schedule A, line 24, in each column of Form 
N-210, Part III, line 9.

c.	Complete Form N-210 and enter the amount 
from line 21 on the estimated tax penalty line of 
your return.

d.	Attach Form N-210 to your return.
e. Fill in the oval (or check the box) on the

estimated tax penalty line of your return to 
indicate that Form N-210 is attached.
Nonresident alien. If you did not receive wages 
as an employee subject to Hawaii income tax 
withholding, the instructions for Schedule A are 
modified as follows:

1. Skip column (a).
2. Beginning with column (b), enter on line

1 your income for the period that is effectively 
connected with a Hawaii trade or business.

3.	Increase the amount on line 16 by the
amount determined by multiplying your income 
for the period that is not effectively connected 
with a Hawaii trade or business by the following:
• In column (b), 72%.
• In column (c), 45%.
• In column (d), 30%.
4. Enter on line 21, column (b), one-half of

the amount from Form N-210, Part II, line 8.  In 

columns (c) and (d), enter one-fourth of that 
amount.

5. Skip column (b) of lines 19 and 22.
Annualized Income Installments
To figure the amount of each required installment, 
Schedule A selects the smaller of the annualized 
income installment or the regular installment 
(that has been increased by the amount saved by 
using the annualized income installment method 
in figuring any earlier installments).
Line 1 — For each period (column), figure your 
total income minus your adjustments to income.  
Include your share of partnership or S corporation 
income or loss items for the period.
If you are self-employed, be sure to take 
into account the deductible part of your self-
employment tax. For more information on how to 
figure this amount for each period, see federal 
Publication 505 and Form 2210 Instructions.
Line 2 — Estates and trusts, do not use the 
amounts shown in columns (a) through (d). 
Instead, use 6, 3, 1.71429, and 1.09091, 
respectively, as the annualization amounts.
Line 6 — If you itemized deductions, multiply line 
4 of each column by line 5 and enter the result 
on line 6. But if line 3 is more than $166,800 
($83,400 if married filing separately), use the 
following worksheet to figure the amount to enter 
on line 6.
1. Enter the amount from

Sch. A, line 4...................... 	
2. Enter the amount included

on line 1 for medical and
dental expenses, investment
interest, casualty or theft
losses, and gambling losses

3. Line 1 minus line 2............. 	
4. Enter the number from

Sch. A, line 5...................... 	
5. Multiply line 1 by line 4....... 	

Note: If line 3 is zero, your 
deduction is not limited.  
Stop here and enter the  
amount from line 5 on  
Sch. A, line 6.

6. Multiply line 3 by line 4....... 	
7. Multiply line 6 by .80.......... 	
8. Enter the amount from

Sch. A, line 3...................... 	
9. Enter $166,800 ($83,400 if

married filing separately).... 	
10.	Line 8 minus line 9............. 	

Note: If line 10 is zero or  
less, your deduction is not  
limited. Stop here and enter 
the amount from line 5 on  
Sch. A, line 6.

11.	Multiply line 10 by .03........ 	
12.	Enter the smaller of line 7

or line 11............................. 	
13.	Line 5 minus line 12.

Enter the result here
and on Sch. A, line 6.......... 	

Line 7 — Nonresidents and part-year residents, 
enter the amount of your standard deduction 
multiplied by the ratio of your Hawaii adjusted 
gross income to total adjusted gross income from 
all sources.
Line 10 — For each column, multiply $1,144 
by the number of exemptions you claimed on 
Form N-11, line 6e, or Form N-15, line 6e. If 
you claimed the disability exemption, enter that 
amount. Nonresidents and part-year residents, 
enter the amount of your personal exemptions 
multiplied by the ratio of your Hawaii adjusted 
gross income to total adjusted gross income from 
all sources.
Line 12 — To compute the tax, use the Tax 
Table, Tax Rate Schedules, Capital Gains Tax 
Worksheet in the Form N-11 Instructions or in 
the Form N-15 Instructions, Form N-168, or Form 
N-615.
Line 13 — Enter all of the additional taxes you 
owed because of events that occurred during the 
months shown in the column headings. Include 
the following:

• Form N-2, Individual Housing Account
• Form N-103, Sale of Your Home
• Form N-152, Tax on Lump Sum Distributions
• Form N-312, Capital Goods Excise Tax

Credit Recapture
• Form N-338, Recapture of Tax Credit for

Flood Victims

• Form N-344, Important Agricultural Land
Qualified Agricultural Cost Tax Credit
Recapture

• Form N-348, Capital Infrastructure Tax
Credit Recapture

• Form N-405, Tax on Accumulation
Distribution of Trusts

• Form N-586, Tax Credit for Low Income
Housing Recapture

• Form N-814, Parent’s Election to Report
Child’s Interest and Dividends

Line 15 — Enter the credits you are entitled 
to because of events that occurred during the 
months shown in the column headings. When 
figuring your credits, you must annualize any 
item of income or deduction used to figure the 
credit.
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