FORM RV-3

HOW TO COMPLETE YOUR ANNUAL

INSTRUCTIONS RENTAL MOTOR VEHICLE, TOUR VEHICLE, AND CAR-SHARING VEHICLE

(REV. 2023)

CHANGES TO NOTE

* Act 77, Session Laws of Hawaii (SLH) 2022, imposes
the rental motor vehicle surcharge tax on peer-to-
peer car-sharing programs. It also requires taxpayers
engaging in a peer-to-peer car-sharing program to
register with the Department.

* Pursuant to Act 237, SLH 2021, the rental motor vehicle
surcharge tax rate will increase $0.50 each subsequent
year until December 31, 2027, for all lessees. The Act
also provides an exemption when the lessee replaces
a motor vehicle that has been stolen or will not be
repaired due to a total loss of the vehicle.

WHO MUST FILE

The rental motor vehicle, tour vehicle, and car-sharing
vehicle surcharge tax (RV tax) contains three separate
taxes with different tax rates.

1) Effective January 1, 2024, the rental motor vehicle
surcharge tax is levied at the rate of $6.50 per day,
or a portion of a day, on the lessor of any rental motor
vehicle, including operators of a peer-to-peer car sharing
marketplaces.

2) The tour vehicle surcharge tax is imposed on tour
vehicle operators for use of a vehicle on a monthly basis, or
a portion of a month, at the following rates:

« $66 - Over 25 passenger tour vehicle; and

« $16 - 8 to 25 passenger tour vehicle.
3) The car-sharing vehicle surcharge tax is levied at the
rate of $0.25 (25 cents) per half-hour, or any portion of a
half-hour, that a rental motor vehicle is rented or leased by
a car-sharing organization; provided that for each rental of
six hours or more, the rental motor vehicle surcharge tax
shall be assessed. The car-sharing vehicle surcharge tax is
levied on the car-sharing organization.

FILING FREQUENCY

RV tax periodic returns (Form RV-2) are filed on a monthly,
quarterly, or semiannual basis depending on the amount
of a person’s tax liability. An RV tax annual return and
reconciliation (Form RV-3) summarizing RV tax activity
for the past year also must be filed. Form RV-3 is due on
or before the 20th day of the fourth month following
the close of the taxable year. For example, if you are
a calendar-year taxpayer (i.e., your tax year ends on
December 31), then your annual return must be filed on or
before April 20 of the following year.

The Department requires RV taxpayers to file returns
electronically. See Tax Announcement No. 2019-06.

Taxpayers whose liability for the RV tax exceeds $100,000
per year are required to pay the tax by Electronic Funds
Transfer (EFT).

Form RV-3 is used to summarize your RV tax activities for
the taxable year. It may also be used to correct errors on
your periodic returns (Form RV-2). If the total number of car-
sharing vehicle half-hours, number of rental vehicles days,
number of months for tour vehicles, taxes due, penalty and

SURCHARGE TAX RETURN (FORM RV-3)

interest are accurately reported and paid in full on your
periodic returns, no additional tax will be due on the annual
return. Form RV-3 must be filed in addition to (not in lieu of)
the periodic returns. To correct a previously filed Form RV-3,
file an amended return on Form RV-3.

If you had no RV tax activity for the entire year, enter
“0.00” on line 9. Please note that this return must be
filed.

If a payment is being made with Form RV-3, make your
check or money order payable to “Hawaii State Tax
Collector.” Write “RV,” the filing period, your Hawaii Tax I.D.
No., and your daytime phone number on the check. Attach
your check or money order where indicated on the front of
Form RV-3.

If you are unable to file the annual return by the due date,
you may request an extension to file Form RV-3 by filing
Form GEW-TA-RV-6, Application for Extension of Time to
File the GE/Use Tax Annual Return & Reconciliation (Form
G-49), the TATax Annual Return & Reconciliation (Form TA-
2), or the RVST Annual Return & Reconciliation (Form RV-
3). For more information, see Form GEW-TA-RV-6.

PROTECTIVE CLAIM

A protective claim is a claim filed to protect a taxpayer’s
right to a potential refund based on a contingent event for a
taxable period for which the statute of limitations is about to
expire. A protective claim is usually based on contingencies
such as pending litigation or an ongoing federal income tax
audit or an audit in another state. For more information see
Tax Facts 2021-2, “Protective Claim.”

PENALTIES AND INTEREST

Late Filing of Return — The penalty for failure to file a
return on time is assessed on the tax due at a rate of 5% per
month, or part of a month, up to a maximum of 25%.

Failure to Pay Tax After Filing Timely Return — The
penalty for failure to pay the tax after filing a timely return is
20% of the tax unpaid within 60 days of the prescribed due
date.

Failure to Pay by EFT — The penalty for failure to pay by
EFT for taxpayers who are required to pay by EFT is 2% of
the total tax.

Failure to File Electronically — Form RV-3 MUST be
filed electronically unless you obtain a waiver. Use Form
L-110 to apply for a waiver. The penalty for failure to file
electronically is 2% of the total tax.

Interest — Interest at the rate of 2/3 of 1% per month, or
part of a month, shall be assessed on unpaid taxes and
penalties beginning with the first calendar day after the date
prescribed for payment, whether or not that first calendar
day falls on Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

Please check your return carefully. Additional penalties may
be assessed if you make an underpayment of tax due to
negligence, intentional disregard of the Department’s rules,
or fraud.



FILLING IN YOUR FORM RV-3 (ANNUAL RETURN AND RECONCILIATION)

Follow the example presented in italics for a sample of how to fill out the form. The circled numbers on the
sample form correspond to the steps in the instructions.

Example: A taxpayer, BTK Car-Sharing, Rentals, and Tour Vehicles (BTK), with Hawaii Tax 1.D. No. RV-123-456-7890-01,
files its annual return for the taxable year. On Oahu, BTK operates a car-sharing membership program, and has 20 rental
cars, two tour vehicles (8-25 passengers), and one tour vehicle (40 passengers). For the year, rental motor vehicles in the
car-sharing membership program were rented for 14,402 car-sharing vehicle half-hours.* The 20 rental cars were rented for
6,900 rental days, all of which occurred after December 31, 2023 and before January 1, 2025. Of the two tour vehicles (8-25
passengers), one was out of service for two months, otherwise both tour vehicles were in service for at least a portion of each

month, giving BTK a total of 22 “tour vehicle-months.” The tour vehicle (40 passengers) was in service for all 12 months, for
a total of 12 “tour vehicle-months.”

*Note: The taxpayer must have an average paid use period of six hours or less across all vehicles rented.

FORM BV-3 STATE OF BaWAll — DERPARTHMENT OF TAXATION
REv.2223  RENTAL MOTOR VEHICLE, TOUR VEHICLE, AND CAR. e AR 98
E%iE SHARING VEHICLE SURCHARGE TAX
: ANNUAL RETURN & RECONCILIATION
o2, For Tax Years Ending After December 31, 2022
o Wl e T TRE T .FI.FII:I E-EI:BIE .January 1, 202&
Place an “X" in t@x OMLY if this is an AMENDED return
MM DD YYYY ®
TAXVEARENDING 12 31 2024 pawantaxiono. RV 123 456 7890 01
@ MAME:BTKE Car-Sharing, Rentals, and Tour Wehiclas Last 4 digits of your FEIN or 58N 1234 @
fig. 3.0

=85 HANAI TaX 1.0, Mo, R."I'. 123 456 78390 D-]@)[}.[ DD YYYY

e e e R L]
Last 4 digits of your FEINorssN 1234 taxyearenome 12 31 2024

_E -0 @Name: BTH Car-Sharing, Rentals, and Tour Vehicles
ki &

fig. 3.1

THE TOP OF THE TAX RETURN (fig. 3.0) (fig. 3.1) STEP 3 — Enter your Hawaii Tax I.D. No. in the area

. . provided on the top of pages 1 and 2.
STEP 1 — Enter the numeric (two digit) month, day, and - .
(four digit) year your tax year ends in the area provided on S1EF 4 — Enter the last 4 digits of your FEIN or SSN in
the top of pages 1 and 2. the area provided on the top of pages 1 and 2.

STEP 2 — Write your name in the area provided on the top
of pages 1 and 2.
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COMPUTING THE TAXES (fi¢. 3.2) (fig. 3.3)

STEP 5 — On page 1, complete lines 1 through 4, Columns
A through C, and on page 2 complete lines 1 through 4,
Columns D through F, reporting the total amount in each
district for the tax year.

and before January 1, 2025 and has entered that figure
in Column F, line 1.

STEP 6 — On pages 1 and 2, enter the totals for lines 1
through 4 of Columns A through F on line 5 for each column.

On page 1, in Column A, line 5, BTK has entered 14,402,

On page 1, BTK had 14,402 car-sharing vehicle half-
hours for Oahu, and has entered that figure in Column
A, line 1. BTK had 12 tour vehicle (40 passengers)-
months on Oahu and has entered that figure in Column
B, line 1. BTK had 22 tour vehicle (8-25 passengers)-
months on Oahu, and has entered that figure in Column
C, line 1. On page 2, BTK had 6,900 rental days for
rental motor vehicles on Oahu after December 31, 2023

the total car-sharing vehicle half-hours. In Column B,
line 5, BTK has entered 12, the total number of tour
vehicle (40 passengers)-months. In Column C, line 5,
BTK has entered 22, the total number of tour vehicle (8-
25 passengers)-months. On page 2, in Column E, line
5, BTK has entered 6,900, the total number of rental
motor vehicle days after December 31, 2023 and before
January 1, 2025.



STEP 7 — On page 1, in Column A, multiply the number
entered on line 5 by the tax rate of $0.25 (line 6), and enter
the result on line 7.

BTK has multiplied 14,402 (the number of half-hours
entered on line 5) by $0.25 (the tax rate listed on line 6)
to get $3,600.50, which is entered in Column A, line 7
(14,402 x $0.25 = $3,600.50).

STEP 8 — On page 1, in Column B, multiply the number
entered on line 5 by the tax rate of $66 (line 6), and enter the
result on line 7.

BTK has multiplied 12 (the number of tour vehicle
(26 or more passengers)-months) entered on line 5 by
866 (the tax rate listed on line 6) to get $§792, which is
entered in Column B, line 7 (12 x $66 = $792).

STEP 9 — On page 1, in Column C, multiply the number
entered on line 5 by the tax rate of $16 (line 6), and enter the
result on line 7.

BTK has multiplied 22 (the number of tour vehicle (8-
25 passengers)-months entered on line 5) by $16 (the
tax rate listed on line 6) to get 3352, which is entered in
Column C, line 7 (22 x $16 = $352).

STEP 10 — On page 2, in each column, multiply the number
entered on line 5 by the number on line 6 (the tax rate) and
enter the result on line 7 of the appropriate column.

On page 2, in Column E, BTK has multiplied 6,900 (the
number of rental motor vehicle days entered on line 5)
by 86.50 (the tax rate listed on line 6) to get $44,850
(6,900 x $6.50 = $44,850) and entered the total in line
7 of Column E.

STEP 11 — On page 2, add the amounts in line 7. If your
rental days are after December 31, 2023 and before January
1, 2025, add the amounts in Columns D and E and enter the
result in line 7D&E, and on page 1, line 7. If your rental days
are after December 31, 2024 and before January 1, 2026,
add the amounts in Columns E and F and enter the result in
line 7E&F, and on page 1, line 7.

All of BTK s motor vehicle rental days are in calendar
yvear 2024, so on page 2 BTK has entered the total in
line 7, Column E (344,850) on line 7TE&F. BTK also
entered this amount on page 1, line 7.
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FINISHING THE TAX RETURN (fig. 3.4)

STEP 12 — On page 1, add line 7, Columns A through F and
enter the result on line 8. This is the total tax due. CAUTION:
LINE 8 MUST BE FILLED IN. If you do not have any RV tax
activity and therefore have no tax due, enter “0.00” on line 8.

BTK has added $3,600.50, 8792, 8352 and $44,850 for
a total of $49,594.50 which is entered on line 8.

STEP 13 — Add all the penalties and interest which have
been assessed on taxes owed on the periodic tax returns for
the taxable year, enter the results to the right of “PENALTY”
and “INTEREST,” and enter the total of the two amounts on
line 9.

STEP 14 — Add lines 8 and 9, and enter the total on line 10,
“TOTAL AMOUNT.”

STEP 15 — Add the total amount of rental motor vehicle,
tour vehicle, and car-sharing vehicle surcharge taxes paid
with your periodic tax returns and any delinquency notices
for the taxable year, less any refunds received for the taxable
year. Enter this amount on line 12, “TOTAL TAXES PAID ON
MONTHLY, QUARTERLY, OR SEMIANNUAL RETURNS
FOR THE PERIOD (and the Annual Return if this is an
Amended Return) LESS ANY REFUNDS RECEIVED FOR
THE TAX YEAR.”

STEP 16 — Enter the amount of tax paid with any assessment
notices for the taxable year, if included on line 8, on line 12.

STEP 17 — Enter the amount of any penalty paid with your
periodic tax returns, delinquency notices, or assessment
notices for the taxable year on line 13 in the space provided
to the right of “PENALTIES $.”

STEP 18 — Enter the amount of any interest paid with your
periodic tax returns, delinquency notices, or assessment
notices for the taxable year on line 13 in the space provided
to the right of “INTEREST $.”

STEP 19 — Add the amount of penalty and interest paid,
and enter the total on line 13.

STEP 20 — Add the amounts on lines 11, 12, and 13, and
enter the total on line 14, “TOTAL PAYMENTS MADE FOR
THE TAX YEAR.”

STEP 21 — Leave line 15 blank (to be used for Amended
Returns ONLY).

STEP 22 — Subtract line 15 from line 14 and enter the “NET
PAYMENTS MADE” on line 16.

STEP 23 — Compare the amounts on lines 10 and 16. If the
amount on line 10 is THE SAME AS line 16, go on to Step
27.

If the amount on line 10 is LESS THAN line 16, subtract line
10 from line 16, and enter the result on line 17, “CREDIT TO
BE REFUNDED.” Go to Step 27.

STEP 24 — If the amount on line 10 is MORE THAN line
16, subtract line 16 from line 10 and enter the “ADDITIONAL
TAXES DUE” on line 18. This is your taxes now due and
payable. Calculate penalty and interest on this amount if the
annual return is filed after the due date.

STEP 25 — After computing the penalty and interest
amounts, enter the results to the right of “PENALTY” and
“INTEREST” and enter the total of the two amounts on line
19.

If you are unable to compute the penalty and interest, leave
these lines blank. The Department will compute the charges
for you and send you a bill.
STEP 26 — If you have taxes due now, add the amounts on
lines 18 and 19 and enter the “TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND
PAYABLE” on line 20.
STEP 27 — NOTE: If you are NOT submitting a check with
your return, enter “0.00” on line 21.
Write the “AMOUNT OF YOUR PAYMENT,” including any
penalty and interest, on line 21. Attach your check or money
order for this amount payable to “Hawaii State Tax Collector”
in U.S. dollars drawn on any U.S. bank where indicated
on the front of the return. Write “RV,” the filing period, your
Hawaii Tax I.D. No., and your daytime phone number on
your check or money order. DO NOT SEND CASH.
Send your check or money order and the return to:

Hawaii Department of Taxation

P.O. Box 1425

Honolulu, HI 96806-1425

SIGNING THE RETURN (fig. 3.4)

STEP 28 — Sign your tax return. The sole proprietor, a
partner or member, corporate officer, or an authorized agent
must sign the return, state his/her title, write the date the
return is signed, and write a daytime contact phone.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING AN AMENDED FORM RV-3

If you file your Form RV-3 and later become aware of any
changes you must make to the reported number of car-
sharing vehicle half-hours, the number of rental motor
vehicle days, and/or the number of tour vehicle-months, you
may file an amended return on Form RV-3 to change the
Form RV-3 you already filed.

Complete your amended Form RV-3 as follows:

1. Put an “X” in the box at the top of page 1 of the Form
RV-3 to designate that this is an amended return (see
fig. 3.0).

2. Enter the correct number of car-sharing vehicle half-
hours, the number of rental motor vehicle days, and/
or the number of tour vehicle-months, and amounts

of taxes due which should have been reported on the
original Form RV-3. Follow Steps 1 through 12 above
used to complete your original return. (Note: Entries
which were correctly reported on the original Form RV-3
also must be entered on the appropriate line(s). Failure
to do so will result in a change from the amount to
-0-.)

3. Enteronline 9 the amounts of any penalty and/or interest
assessed as of the date the amended return is filed.
Penalty and interest are generally assessed because
the original returns were filed after the filing deadline or
because the taxes due were not paid in full by the filing
deadline.



Enter on line 11 the total amount of taxes, additional
assessments, and penalty and/or interest paid less any
refunds received for the tax year. Include payments
made with the original periodic and annual returns, as
well as any supplemental payments made after they
were filed. REMINDER: Payments are applied first to
recover costs incurred by the Department, then to any
interest due, then to penalties, and finally, to taxes.

Enter on line 15 the amount of credit claimed on your
original Form RV-3.

Subtract line 15 from line 14 and enter the “NET
PAYMENTS MADE” on line 16.

If line 10 is LESS THAN line 16, subtract line 10 from
line 16 and enter the result on line 17, “CREDIT TO BE
REFUNDED.”

If line 10 is MORE THAN line 16, subtract line 16 from
line 10 and enter the result on line 18, “ADDITIONAL
TAXES DUE.”

If the amended Form RV-3 is filed after the due date
of the original Form RV-3, and if there is an amount
entered on line 18, enter on line 19 the amount of any
penalty and/or interest now due. On a timely filed original
Form RV-3, a penalty of 20% of the tax due will be
assessed if any tax remains unpaid after 60 days from
the prescribed due date of the original Form RV-3. This
penalty is applicable to amended Form RV-3s for timely

10.

1.

12.

filed original Form RV-3s. Interest at the rate of 2/3 of
1% per month or part of a month shall be assessed on
unpaid taxes and penalties assessed beginning with the
first calendar day after the date prescribed for payment,
whether or not that first calendar day falls on Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday.

Add lines 18 and 19 and enter the total on line 20,
“TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE.”

Enter on line 21 the amount of any payment made
with the amended Form RV-3. If the amended Form
RV-3 is filed after the due date of the original Form
RV-3, include any additional penalty and interest in
your payment. Attach your check or money order for
this amount payable to “Hawaii State Tax Collector” in
U.S. dollars drawn on any U.S. bank where indicated
on the front of the amended Form RV-3. Write “RV,” the
filing period, your Hawaii Tax I.D. No., and your daytime
phone number on your check or money order. DO NOT
SEND CASH.

Send your check or money order and the amended
Form RV-3 to:

Hawaii Department of Taxation
P.O. Box 1425
Honolulu, HI 96806-1425

Sign your name and write your title, the date, and a
daytime contact phone number in the spaces provided
at the bottom of the amended Form RV-3 (see fig. 3.4).

If you have questions, please contact a customer service representative at:

Voice: 808-587-4242
1-800-222-3229 (Toll-Free)
Fax: (808) 587-1488

6

Mail: Taxpayer Services Branch
P.O. Box 259
Honolulu, HI 96809-0259

Telephone for the Hearing Impaired:
808-587-1418
1-800-887-8974 (Toll-Free)



