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STATE OF HAWAII — DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

Hawaii Resident Income Tax Instructions
Caution: Part-Year Residents Must Use Form N-15

MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR
I. Department of Taxation Welcomes your Feedback
At the Department of Taxation, we are committed to our mission to administer the tax laws of the 
State of Hawaii in a consistent, uniform, and fair manner. To help us with this commitment, we 
welcome your feedback to assist our eff ort to improve our services and make voluntary compliance as 
easy as possible. Please address your written suggestions to the Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 
259, Honolulu, HI, 96809-0259, or email them to Tax.Directors.Offi  ce@hawaii.gov. 
II. Electronic Filing and Paying Advances Are Being Made
Each year, thousands of individuals fi le and pay their taxes electronically. You can e-fi le yourself or 
through your tax practitioner using commercially available software. For up to date information, visit 
our website at tax.hawaii.gov.
III. We are Here to Assist You
Form N-11, Individual Income Tax Return (Resident Form), is due on or before April 20, 2022. For 
information and guidance in its preparation, we have helpful publications and other instructions on our 
website at tax.hawaii.gov. Need more assistance? Do not hesitate to telephone, write, or visit any of 
our six offi  ces below:
 Oahu 830 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu, HI 96813-5094 Phone:  808-587-4242
 Maui 54 S. High Street, #208, Wailuku, HI 96793-2198 Phone:  808-984-8500
 Molokai 35 Ala Malama Street, #101, Kaunakakai, HI 96748 Phone:  808-553-5541
 Hawaii 75 Aupuni Street, #101, Hilo, HI 96720-4245 Phone:  808-974-6321
 Kona 82-6130 Mamalahoa Hwy, #8, Captain Cook, HI 96704 Phone:  808-323-4597
 Kauai 3060 Eiwa Street, #105, Lihue, HI 96766-1889 Phone:  808-274-3456
To better assist you, always keep a copy of your return, worksheets, and supporting documents in 
your possession; we can help you understand and resolve problems more quickly if you have your tax 
return information in front of you.  Keeping a copy will also help you in preparing the following year’s 
tax return.
Thank you for helping us provide more effi  cient service.

  ISAAC W. CHOY
  Director of Taxation

DUE DATE: APRIL 20, 2022

Make your check payable to the
“Hawaii State Tax Collector”

For more information, see page 23 
of the Instructions.
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E-fi le Form N-11 through Hawaii 
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hitax.hawaii.gov 
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 Changes to Note
• Hawaii adopted the following provisions of the Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA): (1) Extension of the exclusion from gross income of loans 

forgiven under the Paycheck Protection Program and Economic Injury Disaster Loans, (2) Extension and increase of the charitable deduction, up 
to $300 for single fi lers and $600 for joint fi lers, for taxpayers who do not itemize on their returns, (3) Extension of the increase to certain charitable 
contribution limits, (4) Reduction in medical expense deduction fl oor for medical expenses that exceed the 7.5% of adjusted gross income, 
decreased from historic 10% threshold for the itemized deductions, and (5) Exclusion from gross income of the amounts received as “recovery 
rebates” under the CAA (the stimulus payments). (Act 89, SLH 2021)

• The Low-Income Housing Tax Credit is amended by clarifying when and how members may claim the credit, requiring taxpayers to fi le federal Form 
8609 to claim the credit, providing additional tax provisions with respect to building and projects placed in service after December 31, 2020, and 
extending the sunset date to December 31, 2027.

• Taxpayers may exclude up to $7,152 of their military reserve or Hawaii National Guard duty pay from their income, eff ective for taxable years 
beginning after December 31, 2020. (Act 197, SLH 2004)

Important  Reminders
File and Pay on Time
• Please fi le your return and pay your taxes by April 20, 2022.
• When you mail your return:

(1) Mail it to the appropriate address as stated in “Where to File.”
(2) Enclose only one return per envelope.
(3) Use proper postage. If there is insuffi  cient postage on the envelope, the U.S. Postal Service will return it to you.

• Keep a copy of your return for your records.
Extension of Time to File
• If you are unable to fi le by April 20, 2022, you are granted an automatic 6-month extension of time to fi le your return through October 20, 2022. You 

do not have to fi le a form to request an extension. The extension of time to fi le is not an extension of time for payment of tax.
(1) If you are due a refund, just fi le your return by October 20, 2022.
(2) If you have a balance due, you must pay your taxes in full by April 20, 2022. File Form N-200V with your payment. You may not use federal Form  
 4868 instead of Form N-200V.
(3) If you’re not sure if you have a balance due, use the worksheet in “When to File.”

Make Sure Your Tax Return is Correct and Complete
• You can avoid processing delays, adjustments to your return, and additional correspondence from the Department of Taxation if you:

(1) Make sure all social security numbers are correct.
(2) Check the appropriate fi ling status box.
(3) Complete all required entries on your return. The following lines must be fi lled in: Form N-11, line 24; and Form N-15, line 41.
(4) Check the arithmetic on your return.
(5) Attach all required forms and statements.
(6) Attach your employee earning statements (HW-2s or federal W-2s) to the front of your return.
(7) Sign your return. If you paid someone to prepare your return, the preparer must sign and complete the Paid Preparer’s Information box.

• You may be required to fi le an amended return to complete missing entries or provide missing forms or statements.
Amended Returns
• If you are fi ling an amended return, you must submit a complete return and attach Schedule AMD along with all required forms and statements. If 

you are claiming any tax credits, remember to attach the required forms, such as Schedule CR and Schedule X, even if you claimed the credits on 
the original return. See “Make Sure Your Tax Return is Correct and Complete” above.

Married Taxpayers
• If you are married, print your spouse’s social security number in the designated area on your return whether a joint or separate return is fi led.
• If your spouse is an alien and was issued an ITIN by the IRS, enter your spouse’s ITIN.
• If you are married and fi ling separate returns, the refund from your spouse’s return cannot be applied to your liability.

 Items to Note
• The Hawaii Taxpayer Bill of Rights is reprinted inside the back cover.
• The Department of Taxation is a proud partner with the Missing Child Center - Hawaii, Department of the Attorney General (MCCH). Photographs 

of missing children selected by the Center may appear in this instruction booklet on pages that would otherwise be blank. You can help bring these 
children home by looking at the photographs and calling MCCH at 1-808-586-1449 if you recognize a child.
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STATE OF HAWAII — DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
 RELATED FEDERAL/HAWAII TAX FORMS

   Copy of
   Fed. Form
Federal  Comparable May Be
Form Number  Title or Description of Federal Form Hawaii Form Submitted+
W-2 ......................Wage and Tax Statement .......................................................................................................................HW-2 ................... Yes
W-4 ......................Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certifi cate .......................................................................................HW-4 ................... No
W-10 ....................Dependent Care Provider’s Identifi cation and Certifi cation ....................................................................HW-16 ................. No
461.......................Limitation on Business Losses ...............................................................................................................None .................... Yes
1040.....................U.S. Individual Income Tax Return .........................................................................................................None .................... No
1040-SR ..............U.S. Tax Return for Seniors ....................................................................................................................None .................... No
1040 Sch A ..........Itemized Deductions ...............................................................................................................................None .................... No
Sch B ...................Interest and Ordinary Dividends .............................................................................................................None .................... No
Sch C ...................Profi t or Loss From Business .................................................................................................................None .................... Not Required
Sch C-EZ .............Net Profi t From Business .......................................................................................................................None .................... Not Required
Sch D ...................Capital Gains and Losses ......................................................................................................................None .................... No
Sch E ...................Supplemental Income and Loss .............................................................................................................None .................... Not Required
Sch F ...................Profi t or Loss From Farming ...................................................................................................................None .................... Not Required
Sch J....................Income Averaging for Farmers and Fishermen ......................................................................................N-168 ................... No
Sch R ...................Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled .....................................................................................................None .................... No
1040-ES...............Estimated Tax for Individuals ..................................................................................................................None .................... No
1040NR ...............U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return ............................................................................................None .................... No
1040-V .................Payment Voucher ...................................................................................................................................N-200V ................ No
1040X ..................Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return .........................................................................................None .................... No
1045.....................Application for Tentative Refund .............................................................................................................N-109 ................... No
1128 .....................Application To Adopt, Change, or Retain a Tax Year ..............................................................................None .................... Yes
1310.....................Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer ........................................................N-110 ................... No
2106.....................Employee Business Expenses ...............................................................................................................None .................... Yes*
2106-EZ ...............Unreimbursed Employee Business Expenses .......................................................................................None .................... Yes*
2120.....................Multiple Support Declaration ..................................................................................................................None .................... Yes
2210.....................Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts .....................................................N-210 ................... No
2441.....................Child and Dependent Care Expenses ....................................................................................................Sch X ................... No
2848.....................Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative ............................................................................N-848 ................... No
3115 .....................Application for Change in Accounting Method ........................................................................................None .................... Yes
3903.....................Moving Expenses ...................................................................................................................................N-139 ................... No
4562.....................Depreciation and Amortization ...............................................................................................................None .................... Yes
4684.....................Casualties and Thefts .............................................................................................................................None .................... Yes*
4797.....................Sales of Business Property ....................................................................................................................Sch D-1 ................ No
4835.....................Farm Rental Income and Expenses .......................................................................................................None .................... Yes
4852.....................Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions From
          Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profi t-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc..............L-15 ..................... No
4868.....................Application for Automatic Extension of Time To File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return .......................None .................... No
4952.....................Investment Interest Expense Deduction .................................................................................................N-158 ................... No
4970.....................Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts .............................................................................................N-405 ................... No
4972.....................Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions .............................................................................................................N-152 ................... No
5213.....................Election To Postpone Determination as To Whether the Presumption Applies That an
          Activity Is Engaged in for Profi t ........................................................................................................None .................... Yes
5329.....................Additional Taxes on Qualifi ed Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-Favored Accounts .......................None .................... No
5884.....................Work Opportunity Credit .........................................................................................................................N-884 ................... No
6198.....................At-Risk Limitations ..................................................................................................................................None .................... Yes
6252.....................Installment Sale Income .........................................................................................................................None .................... Yes
6781.....................Gains and Losses From Section 1256 Contracts and Straddles ............................................................None .................... Yes
8283.....................Noncash Charitable Contributions ..........................................................................................................None .................... Yes
8332.....................Release/Revocation of Release of Claim to Exemption for Child by Custodial Parent ..........................None .................... Yes
8582.....................Passive Activity Loss Limitations ............................................................................................................None .................... Yes
8586.....................Low-Income Housing Credit ...................................................................................................................N-586 ................... No
8615.....................Tax for Certain Children Who Have Unearned Income ..........................................................................N-615 ................... No
8814.....................Parents’ Election To Report Child’s Interest and Dividends ...................................................................N-814 ................... No
8824.....................Like-Kind Exchanges ..............................................................................................................................None .................... Yes
8829.....................Expenses for Business Use of Your Home .............................................................................................None .................... Yes
8853.....................Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts .......................................................................None .................... No
8949.....................Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets .....................................................................................None .................... Yes

+If “Yes” is indicated and there is no Hawaii equivalent form, the federal form must be used.
*Use the 2017 federal form when fi ling the 2021 Form N-11 or Form N-15.
You may obtain tax forms through the Department of Taxation’s website at tax.hawaii.gov.
To request tax forms by mail, you may call 808-587-4242 or toll-free 1-800-222-3229.
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Form N-11 — 
General Instructions

Guidelines for Filling in 
Scannable Forms

Form N-11 and Schedule CR are designed for elec-
tronic scanning that permits faster processing with few-
er errors. To avoid delays:
• Print amounts only on those lines that are appli-

cable.
• Use only a black or dark blue ink pen. Do not use 

red ink, pencils, felt tip pens, or erasable pens.
• Because this form is read by a machine, print your 

numbers inside the boxes like this:

1234567890X
• Do NOT print outside the boxes.
• Fill in ovals completely.  Do not  or  the ovals.
• Do NOT enter cents. For numbers that are required 

to be rounded to the nearest dollar, do NOT print 
over the zeros printed on the form that are used to 
designate cents.

• Do NOT use dollar signs, slashes, dashes, or paren-
theses in the boxes.

• Do NOT photocopy this form.
• Please use a color printer and print in color.

 Same-Sex Marriage
Eff ective December 2, 2013, Hawaii recognizes mar-

riages between individuals of the same sex. As it relates 
to taxation, all same-sex couples that are legally married 
in Hawaii or any other jurisdiction where such marriag-
es are valid are married for all tax purposes, including 
Hawaii income tax purposes.

Note: The federal government recognizes marriages 
between individuals of the same sex for federal income 
tax purposes.

 Civil Unions
Eff ective January 1, 2012, civil unions are recognized 

in Hawaii. Civil unions entered into in a jurisdiction 
other than Hawaii are also recognized, provided that the 
relationship meets Hawaii’s eligibility requirements, has 
been entered into in accordance with the laws of the other 
jurisdiction, and can be documented.

The Internal Revenue Code (IRC) provisions referred 
to in Hawaii’s Income Tax Law that apply to a husband 
and wife, spouses, or person in a legal marital relation-
ship shall be deemed to apply to partners in a civil union 
with the same force and eff ect as if they were “husband 
and wife,” “spouses,” or other terms that describe per-
sons in a legal marital relationship. Accordingly, refer-
ences to “married” and “spouse” are also references to 
“in a civil union” and “civil union partner,” respectively.

For Hawaii income tax purposes, civil union couples 
have the same tax fi ling status options as married couples. 
Also, if an employee benefi t is tax-exempt when extend-
ed to the opposite sex spouse of an employee, or to the 
children of the spouse, the benefi t is tax-exempt when 
extended to a civil union partner of an employee, or to the 
children of the civil union partner.

Note: Individuals who have entered into a registered 
domestic partnership, civil union, or other similar 
relationship that is not considered a marriage under 
state (or foreign) law are not considered married for 
federal income tax purposes. Since the federal 
government does not recognize civil unions as married 
individuals for federal income tax purposes, civil unions 
will continue to fi le as unmarried individuals on their 
federal income tax returns. Also, the income reported for 
federal and for Hawaii income tax purposes may diff er, 
depending on the situation. For example, certain 
employee benefi ts that are tax-exempt when provided to 
married couples and the children of married couples 
may be taxable federally when they are provided for civil 
union partners and their children, unless the civil union 
partner or their children qualify as dependents under 
IRC section 152.

  Who Must File
1. Every individual doing business in Hawaii during 

the taxable year must fi le a return, whether or not the in-
dividual derives any taxable income from that business.

“Doing business” includes all activities engaged in 
or caused to be engaged in with the object of gain or 
economic benefi t, direct or indirect, except personal ser-
vices performed as an employee under the direction and 
control of an employer.

For example, every person receiving rents from prop-
erty owned in Hawaii is “doing business” and must fi le 
a return whether or not the person’s expenses exceed the 
gross rental income.

2. Every individual receiving more than the follow-
ing amounts of gross income subject to taxation under 
Hawaii Income Tax Law, including amounts received as 
salaries and wages for services rendered by an employee 
to an employer, must fi le a return:

For Individuals Under Age 65
Filing Status     Gross Income of

Married fi ling separately $3,344

Single $3,344

Head of household $4,356

Qualifying widow(er) $5,544

Married fi ling jointly $6,688

For Individuals Age 65 or older
Filing Status     Gross Income of

Married fi ling separately $4,488

Single $4,488

Head of household $5,500

Qualifying widow(er) $6,688

Married fi ling jointly, 
one is 65 or older $7,832

Married fi ling jointly, 
both are 65 or older $8,976

These threshold amounts will be higher for persons 
who are blind, deaf, or totally disabled, and who have 
completed and fi led a certifi cation with the Department 
of Taxation (Department) of their disability on Form 
N-172 before fi ling their income tax return.

For individuals who can be claimed as dependents on 
the tax return of another taxpayer, the threshold amount 
is the amount of the dependents’ standard deduction.

For  nonresident aliens, the threshold amount is 
$1,144 for individuals under 65, and $2,288 for indi-
viduals 65 or older.

For nonresident individuals, the threshold amounts 
stated above must be multiplied by the ratio of Hawaii 
adjusted gross income to total adjusted gross income 
from all sources to determine whether the individual 
must fi le a return.

3. Children who receive unearned income during the 
taxable year and have not attained the age of 14 years 
before the end of the taxable year must fi le their own re-
turns to report their income unless their parent or parents 
report that income.

However, the Department will, administratively, not 
require the fi ling of a State income tax return if the 
child’s total earned and/or unearned income for the tax-
able year is $500 or less and the application of the stan-
dard deduction amount results in no taxable income for 
the child. Children who must fi le a return may need to 
fi le Form N-615, Computation of Tax for Children Un-
der Age 14 Who Have Unearned Income of More than 
$1,000. Parents may report income of their children by 
fi ling Form N-814, Parent’s Election to Report Child’s 
Interest and Dividends.

4. If you need to report additional tax from Form N-2, 
Distribution from an Individual Housing Account; Form 
N-103, Sale of Your Home; Form N-152, Tax on Lump-
Sum Distributions; Form N-312, Recapture of Capital 
Goods Excise Tax Credit; Form N-338, Recapture of 
Tax Credit for Flood Victims; Form N-344, Recapture 
of Important Agricultural Land Qualifi ed Agricultural 
Cost Tax Credit; Form N-348, Recapture of Capital In-
frastructure Tax Credit; Form N-405, Tax on Accumula-
tion Distribution of Trusts; Form N-586, Recapture of 
Tax Credit for Low-Income Housing; or Form N-814, 
Parent’s Election to Report Child’s Interest and Divi-
dends, then you must fi le a return regardless of income 
level.

  Who Should File
Even if you do not have to fi le, you should fi le to get a 

refund if too much income tax was withheld from your 
pay. Also, if you are eligible for refundable credits, you 
need to fi le a return to claim the credits.

Residency Status
 Resident

A resident is taxed on income from all sources.

A resident must fi le an Individual Income Tax Re-
turn—Resident (Form N-11), if required to do so.

A Hawaii resident is (1) Every individual domiciled in 
Hawaii, and (2) Every other individual whether domi-
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ciled in Hawaii or not, who resides in Hawaii for other 
than a temporary or transitory purpose.

An individual domiciled outside Hawaii is presumed 
to be a resident if he or she spends more than 200 days in 
Hawaii during the taxable year. This presumption may 
be overcome by evidence satisfactory to the Department 
that the individual maintained a permanent place of 
abode outside the State and was in the State for a tem-
porary or transitory purpose. No person shall be deemed 
to have gained or lost a residence simply because of his 
or her presence or absence in compliance with military 
or naval orders of the United States, while engaged in 
aviation or navigation, or while a student at any institu-
tion of learning. See Tax Information Release No. 97-1, 
“Determination of Residence Status.”

 Nonresident
A Hawaii nonresident is an individual who is in Ha-

waii for a temporary or transient purpose, and whose 
permanent domicile is not Hawaii.

A nonresident must fi le an Individual Income Tax 
Return—Nonresident and Part-Year Resident (Form 
N-15), if required to do so. A nonresident will be taxed 
on income from Hawaii sources only.

A nonresident married to a Hawaii resident may 
choose to fi le a joint return with the resident spouse on 
Form N-11; however, the nonresident will then be 
taxed on all income from all sources. For more infor-
mation, see Married Filing Joint Return on page 7.

 Part-Year Resident
A part-year resident is an individual who was a Hawaii 

resident for part of the year, and who was a nonresident 
during the other part of the year. This includes those 
who moved to Hawaii during the year and those who 
moved away from Hawaii during the year.

A part-year resident must fi le an Individual Income 
Tax Return—Nonresident and Part-Year Resident 
(Form N-15), if required to do so. A part-year resident 
will be taxed on all income from all sources during the 
period of residency, and on income from Hawaii sources 
only during the period of nonresidency.

 Domicile Defi ned
The term “domicile” means the place where an indi-

vidual has a true, fi xed, permanent home and principal 
establishment, and to which place the individual has, 
whenever absent, the intention of returning. It is the place 
in which an individual has voluntarily fi xed the habita-
tion of himself or herself and family, not for a mere 
special or temporary purpose, but with the present 
intention of making a permanent home. Three things 
are necessary to create a new domicile: fi rst, abandon-
ment of the old domicile; second, the intent to establish 
a new domicile; and third, actual physical presence in 
the new domicile. Once a domicile is established, the 
intent to abandon it is not itself suffi  cient to create a new 
domicile; a new domicile must be shown.

Reminder: If you are in Hawaii because of military 
orders and do not intend to make Hawaii your 
permanent home, you are not considered a Hawaii 
resident for income tax purposes, even though you 
have been in Hawaii for more than 200 days in 2021. 
File a resident return with your home state, and fi le a 
Hawaii nonresident and part-year resident return 
(Form N-15) to report your Hawaii income.

Resident and Nonresident 
Examples
Note: For more information, see Tax Information 
Release No. 90-3, “Income Taxation and Eligibility 
for Credits of an Individual Taxpayer Whose Status 
Changes from Resident to Nonresident or from 
Nonresident to Resident,” Tax Information Release 
No. 90-10, “Clarifi cation of Taxation and the 
Eligibility for Personal Exemptions and Credits of 
Residents and Nonresidents in the Military and 
Spouses and Dependents of Persons in the Military,” 
Tax Information Release No. 97-1, “Determination of 
Residence Status,” Tax Information Release No. 
2010-01, “Military Spouses Residency Relief Act 
(“MSRRA”),” and Department of Taxation 
Announcement No. 2019-01, “Military Spouses 
Residency Relief Act; Amendments to the 
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act enacted December 
31, 2018; Tax Information Release No. 2010-01.”

Example 1—A Hawaii resident who enlists in the mil-
itary normally will remain a Hawaii resident regardless 
of the length of absence from Hawaii while stationed 
outside of Hawaii.

Example 2—A Hawaii resident working in a foreign 
country will remain a Hawaii resident unless permanent 
resident status is granted by the foreign country.

Example 3—Foreign students who are granted entry 
into the United States on “F” visas are nonresidents for 
Hawaii tax purposes. Researchers and faculty members 
who are granted entry into the United States on “H,” “J,” 
or “Q” visas, and who have been in Hawaii for more 
than 200 days during the taxable year may be consid-
ered Hawaii residents.

Example 4—Spouses of those in the military service 
do not become Hawaii residents if their principal rea-
son for moving to Hawaii was the transfer of the service 
member spouse to Hawaii, and if it is their intention to 
leave Hawaii when the service member spouse either is 
transferred to another military station or leaves the ser-
vice.

Example 5—A Hawaii resident who marries a non-
resident will remain a Hawaii resident unless the three 
requirements for changing his or her domicile are also 
met. (Refer to “Domicile Defi ned” on this page.) This 
situation applies in reverse to a nonresident who marries 
a resident. A person’s residence status will not change 
just because of marriage.

  Which Form to File
You MUST use Form N-11 if:

• You were a resident for the full year, or, if married 
fi ling jointly, either spouse was a resident for the 
full year (however, the nonresident spouse would be 
taxed on their worldwide income for the full year).

You MUST use Form N-15 if:
• You were a nonresident for the full year, or, if mar-

ried fi ling jointly, both spouses were nonresidents 
for the full year.

• You are taking up residence in Hawaii during the 
tax year. (Part-year resident).

• You are giving up residence in Hawaii during the 
tax year. (Part-year resident).

  When to File
Note: If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or 
legal holiday, use the next regular workday as the due 
date.

You should fi le as soon as you can after January 1, but 
not later than April 20, 2022. If you fi le late, you may 
have to pay penalties and interest if you owe taxes on 
your return. Please see the instructions for Penalties and 
Interest on page 26. If you cannot meet the deadline, you 
are automatically granted a  6-month extension without 
the need to fi le anything with the Department unless an 
additional tax payment must be made. As long as the 
following conditions are met, you are deemed to have 
made an application for the 6-month extension to fi le an 
income tax return on the prescribed due date:
1. On or before April 20, 2022, 100% of the properly 

estimated tax liability is paid;
2. The tax return is fi led on or before the expiration of 

the 6-month extension period;
3. The tax return is accompanied by full payment of 

any tax not already paid; and
4. A court has not ordered you to fi le the tax return on 

or before the prescribed due date.
Properly estimated tax liability means you made a 

bona fi de and reasonable attempt to locate and gather all 
of the necessary information to make a proper estimate 
of tax liability for the taxable year.

You may use the below worksheet to determine the 
amount of your income tax balance due.
1. Amount of income tax you 

expect to owe for the taxable 
year. If you do not expect to 
owe tax, do not complete this 
worksheet. .......................................

2. Hawaii income tax withheld ...........
3. Current year’s estimated 

tax payments (include prior 
year’s overpayment allowed 
as a credit) .......................................

4. Other payments and tax 
credits ..............................................

5. Total (add lines 2, 3, and 4) ............
6. Income tax balance due 

(line 1 minus line 5)........................

You must pay the amount shown on line 6.

If you must make an additional payment of tax on 
or before April 20, 2022 in order to meet the condition 
requiring payment of 100% of the properly estimated 
tax liability, fi le Form N-200V with your payment. The 
extension of time to fi le is not an extension of time for 
payment of tax. 

Form N-200V can be fi led and payment made elec-
tronically through the State’s Internet portal. Go to tax.
hawaii.gov/eservices/ for more information. Federal 
Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of 
Time To File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, may 
not be used in lieu of Form N-200V.

Note: Returns for fi scal year taxpayers must be fi led 
on or before the 20th day of the fourth month following 
the close of the fi scal year.

Note: Under Hawaii Income Tax Law, certain tax 
credits must be claimed within 12 months from the 
close of the tax year.

The offi  cial U.S. Post Offi  ce cancellation mark will be 
considered primary evidence of the date of fi ling of tax 
documents and payments. If you want to keep evidence 
that you mailed your return on time, ask your Post Of-
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fi ce for a Certifi cate of Mailing. It is NOT necessary to 
get a certifi ed or registered mail return receipt.

Hawaii has adopted the IRC provision to allow docu-
ments and payments delivered by a designated private 
delivery service to qualify for the “timely mailing 
treated as timely fi ling/paying rule.” The Department 
will conform to the Internal Revenue Service listing of 
designated private delivery service and type of delivery 
services qualifying under this provision. Timely fi ling 
of mail which does not bear the U.S. Post Offi  ce can-
cellation mark or the date recorded or marked by the 
designated delivery service will be determined by refer-
ence to other competent evidence. The private delivery 
service can tell you how to get written proof of the mail-
ing date.

  Where to File
If you are enclosing a check or money order with your 

tax return, mail your return with payment to:

 Hawaii Department of Taxation
Attn: Payment Section
P. O. Box 1530
Honolulu, Hawaii 96806-1530

If you are NOT enclosing a check or money order with 
your tax return, mail your return to:

Hawaii Department of Taxation
P. O. Box 3559
Honolulu, Hawaii 96811-3559

 Where to Get Forms and 
Information
Taxpayer Services Branch

Website: tax.hawaii.gov
Telephone:
808-587-4242
Toll-Free:  1-800-222-3229
Telephone for the hearing impaired:
808-587-1418
Toll-Free: 1-800-887-8974

Other Information
 Death of Taxpayer

Did the taxpayer die before fi ling a return for 2021? If 
so, the taxpayer’s spouse or personal representative may 
have to fi le a return and sign it for the person who died 
(decedent) if the decedent was required to fi le a return. 
A personal representative can be an executor, admin-
istrator, or anyone who is in charge of the taxpayer’s 
property.

If the decedent did not have to fi le a return but either 
had State income tax withheld, made estimated tax pay-
ments, or is eligible for various tax credits, a return must 
be fi led to get a refund.

If your spouse died in 2021 and you did not remarry 
in 2021, or if your spouse died in 2022 before fi ling a 
return for 2021, you may still fi le a joint return for the 
2021 tax year.

If a return is fi led for a deceased taxpayer, including a 
joint return with a surviving spouse, the Deceased oval 
must be fi lled in and the date of death must be written in 
the boxes provided.

Generally, the personal representative or other respon-
sible individual must sign the return on behalf of the de-
cedent. If a refund is due, Form N-110, Statement of 

Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, 
must be completed and attached to the return to ensure 
that the refund check will be issued in the name of the 
surviving spouse, personal representative, or other re-
sponsible individual instead of in the decedent’s name. 
A personal representative or other individual may be re-
quired to attach other documents such as the death cer-
tifi cate. See Form N-110 for further information.

Exception for joint returns fi led by surviving 
spouse. If a joint return is being fi led by the decedent 
and the decedent’s surviving spouse, the surviving 
spouse should enter the decedent’s name, social security 
number, and date of death on the Spouse’s information 
lines. The surviving spouse should fi le as the primary 
taxpayer and should write, “Filing as surviving spouse,” 
on the spouse’s signature line, and then the surviving 
spouse should sign his or her name on the primary tax-
payer’s signature line. If a refund is being claimed on the 
return, Form N-110 is not required. The refund check 
will be issued to the surviving spouse.

 Filing a Final Return
If you are giving up your Hawaii residency at the end 

of the year, write the words “FINAL RETURN” on the 
top middle of the return.

 Estimated Tax Payments
Purpose. You must pay income taxes as you earn in-

come during the year, either through withholding or by 
making estimated tax payments. You may have to make 
estimated tax payments if the tax withheld from your 
salary is not enough, or if you receive income that is 
not subject to withholding, such as self-employment in-
come, interest, dividends, rents, and capital gains.

Who Must Make Estimated Tax Payments? In 
most cases, you must pay estimated tax for the current 
year if both of the following apply: (1) You expect to 
owe at least $500 in tax for the current year, after sub-
tracting your withholding and credits. (2) You expect 
your withholding and credits to be less than the smaller 
of: 60% of the tax to be shown on your current year tax 
return, or 100% of the tax shown on your tax return for 
the preceding year. Your tax return for the preceding 
year must cover all 12 months.

Note: If you did not fi le a tax return for the preceding 
year or that return did not cover all 12 months, the 
100% of the tax shown on your tax return for the 
preceding year does not apply.

Exceptions. You do not have to pay estimated tax for 
the current year if:
1. Your estimated tax liability (after taking into account 

all taxes withheld or collected at the source) for the 
taxable year is less than $500; or

2. You meet all of the following conditions: (1) You 
were a full-year Hawaii resident in the preceding 
year, (2) You had no tax liability for the preceding 
year, and (3) Your tax year covered a 12-month pe-
riod. You had no tax liability for the preceding year 
if your total tax was zero or you were not required to 
fi le an income tax return.

Note: If you were a nonresident or a part-year resident 
in the preceding year, you do not meet the exception 
under number 2.

Due Dates for Estimated Tax Payments. You can 
pay all of your estimated tax by April 20, 2022, or in 
four equal amounts by April 20, 2022, June 20, 2022 
September 20, 2022, and January 20, 2023.  Each pay-
ment must be submitted with Form N-200V, Individual 
Income Tax Payment Voucher. Form N-200V can be 
fi led and payment made electronically through the 

State’s Internet portal. For more information, go to tax.
hawaii.gov/eservices/.

Penalties. You may be charged a penalty (interest on 
the underpayment of estimated tax) if you do not pay 
enough tax through withholding and estimated tax pay-
ments, or if your estimated tax payments are late. See 
Penalties and Interest on page 26.

For more information, see Tax Facts 2019-03, “Esti-
mated Income Tax for Individuals.”

 Multistate Tax Compact Act
Any taxpayer, other than a corporation acting as a 

business entity in more than one state, who is required 
by Hawaii Income Tax Law to fi le a return and whose 
only activities in the State consist of sales and who does 
not own or rent real estate or tangible personal property 
and whose annual gross sales in or into the State during 
the tax year are not in excess of $100,000, may elect to 
report and pay a tax of .5 percent of such annual gross 
sales. Taxpayers who elect the foregoing shall fi le Form 
N-310 in lieu of Form N-11.

Special Instructions for 
Nonresident Aliens

In certain situations, a taxpayer may be considered a 
nonresident alien for federal income tax purposes and a 
resident for Hawaii income tax purposes. In these situ-
ations, the special rules applicable to individuals who 
are considered nonresident aliens for federal income tax 
purposes will apply when the individual fi les a Hawaii 
resident income tax return. See Tax Information Release 
No. 97-1, “Determination of Residence Status.”

 Steps for Preparing Your 
Return

These instructions consist of 12 steps. You should 
complete the fi rst 3 steps that follow BEFORE you be-
gin to fi ll in your return.

Steps 4 and 5, fi lling in the return through line 6e, be-
gin on this page and end on page 11. Step 6, fi lling in 
the rest of the return, is on page 11. The Line-By-Line 
Instructions for Form N-11 begin on page 11 and end 
on page 25.

Finally, steps 7 through 12 begin on page 25. These 
are the steps you should take after your Form N-11, and 
other schedules and forms you need, are fi lled in.

If you follow these steps and read the Line-By-Line 
Instructions, we feel you can fi ll in your return quickly 
and accurately. If you have any questions, call our Tax-
payer Services staff .

Step 1
Get all of your income 
records together.

These include any Forms HW-2 and federal Forms 
W-2 or 1099 that you received. If you don’t receive a 
Form HW-2 or federal Form W-2 by January 31, or if 
the one you get isn’t correct, please contact your em-
ployer as soon as possible. Only your employer can give 
you a Form HW-2 or federal Form W-2, or correct it. If 
you cannot get a Form HW-2 or federal Form W-2 by 
February 15, please contact our Taxpayer Services staff .

If you have someone prepare your return for you, 
make sure that person has all your income and expense 
records so he or she can fi ll in your return correctly. 
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Remember, even if someone else prepares your return 
incorrectly, YOU are still responsible.

Step 2
If you plan to claim tax credits 
or itemize deductions, get 
the information and expense 
records you need.

These instructions tell you what credits and deduc-
tions you can claim. Some of the records you may need 
are:
• Medical and dental payment records.
• Real estate and income tax receipts.
• Interest payment records for a home mortgage.
• Receipts for charitable contributions.

Step 3
Get all forms, instructions, 
and publications you need.

All forms, instructions, and publications you need are 
available on the Internet. You may also pick them up at 
any district tax offi  ce or request that they be mailed to 
you. Please allow approximately 10 days for the mailing 
of the tax forms. See page 6 for Department’s website 
address and phone number.

Step 4
Fill in the oval(s) if you are 
fi ling an amended return.

If you are fi ling an amended return, fi ll in the amended 
return oval at the top of Form N-11.

If you are fi ling an amended return due to a farming 
net operating loss carryback, also fi ll in the NOL Car-
ryback oval.

If you are fi ling an amended return due to an IRS ad-
justment, also fi ll in the IRS Adjustment oval.

See page 24 of the instructions for more information.

Step 5
Fill in your tax year, fi rst time 
fi ler oval, name, address, 
social security number, fi ling 
status, and exemptions.
Tax Year, First Time Filer

If you are fi ling your return on a fi scal year basis, you 
must fi ll in the dates that your fi scal year begins and 
ends.

If you are fi ling a tax return for the fi rst time, fi ll in the 
“First Time Filer” oval at the top of Form N-11.

Name
Write your name, and your spouse’s name if you are 

married and fi ling a joint return, in the space provided 
and at the top of Form N-11, pages 2, 3, and 4. You must 
use your legal name. Nicknames are not permitted. If 
you have changed your name because of marriage, di-
vorce, etc., make sure you immediately notify the So-
cial Security Administration so that the name on your 
tax return is the same as the name on the social security 
records. If these names do not match, your refund may 
be delayed.

If you fi le joint returns, write the names in the same or-
der every year. If you are fi ling as the surviving spouse, 
see Death of Taxpayer on page 6 for more information 
on joint returns fi led by a surviving spouse.

Write any descriptions (e.g., Jr., III, etc.) in the space 
provided for the suffi  x.

You must also write the fi rst four letters of your last 
name in the boxes provided. If you are married, you 
must also write the fi rst four letters of your spouse’s last 
name in the boxes provided whether joint or separate 
returns are fi led.

Address
Write your current mailing address in the space pro-

vided. If you receive your mail “in care of” someone 
else (i.e., your mail is sent to an address belonging to 
someone other than yourself), fi ll in that person’s name 
in the space provided.

If your address is outside the United States or its pos-
sessions or territories, enter the city in the space pro-
vided for “City, town or post offi  ce,” and enter the postal 
code in the space provided for “Postal/ZIP code.” Enter 
the province and/or state, and the name of the country 
in the space provided. Do not abbreviate the country 
name.

If your mailing address has changed, you must no-
tify the Department of the change by completing Form 
ITPS-COA, Change of Address Form, or log in to your 
Hawaii Tax Online account at hitax.hawaii.gov. Failure 
to do so may prevent your address from being updated, 
any refund due to you from being delivered (the U.S. 
Postal Service is not permitted to forward your State re-
fund check), and delay important notices or correspon-
dence to you regarding your return.

 Social Security Number
Write your social security number in the space pro-

vided. If you are married, you must also write your 
spouse’s social security number in the space provided 
whether joint or separate returns are fi led. Your social 
security numbers must be written in the same order as 
your names are written on your return.

Also enter your social security number, and your 
spouse’s social security number if you are married and 
fi ling a joint return, at the top of Form N-11, pages 2, 
3, and 4.

If you are an alien and was issued an individual tax-
payer identifi cation number (ITIN) by the IRS, enter 
your ITIN in the space provided for the social security 
number.

 Filing Status
Fill in oval 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 as appropriate. Fill in only 

one oval.

Note: Civil union couples have the same tax fi ling 
status options as married couples.

Note: More than one fi ling status may apply to you. 
Choose the one that will give you the lowest tax. Your 
Hawaii fi ling status may or may not be the same as 
your federal fi ling status.

Single
Note: Civil union couples may not choose “single” as 
their fi ling status.

You can fi ll in oval 1 if any of the following was true 
on December 31, 2021.
• You were never married.

• You were legally separated according to your state’s 
law under a decree of divorce or separate mainte-
nance. But if, at the end of 2021, your divorce was 
not fi nal (an interlocutory decree), you are consid-
ered married and cannot fi ll in oval 1.

• You were widowed before January 1, 2021, and 
did not remarry before the end of 2021. If you 
have a child, you may be able to use the qualifying 
widow(er) fi ling status. See Qualifying Widow(er) 
on page 8.

If you are unmarried and provide a home for certain 
other persons, you may be able to fi le as Head of House-
hold. See Head of Household on page 8.

 Married Filing Joint Return
You can fi ll in oval 2 if any of the following apply.

• You were married at the end of 2021, even if you did 
not live with your spouse at the end of 2021.

• Your spouse died in 2021 and you did not remarry 
in 2021.

• You were married at the end of 2021, and your 
spouse died in 2022 before fi ling a 2021 return.

If you are married and fi le a joint return, both you and 
your spouse must report all of your income, exemptions, 
deductions, and credits on your joint return. You can fi le 
a joint return even if only one of you had income or if 
you did not live together all year. However, both of you 
must sign the return.

If you fi le a joint return, both you and your spouse are 
generally responsible for the tax, interest, and penalties 
due on the return. This means that if one spouse does not 
pay the tax due, the other may have to.

Note: If you and your spouse fi le a joint return for the 
year and later decide to fi le separately, both you and 
your spouse MUST fi le amended returns on or before 
the due date of the original return (April 20). You may 
not change your fi ling status from married fi ling 
jointly to married fi ling separately after that date.

If your spouse died in 2021 or in 2022 before fi ling a 
return for 2021, see Death of Taxpayer on page 6.

Special Rule for Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents 
Who File a Joint Return With a Hawaii Resident on 
Form N-11. If at the end of the taxable year you were a 
nonresident (but you were a U.S. resident) or a part-year 
resident who is married to a full-year Hawaii resident, 
you may choose to fi le a joint return with your resident 
spouse. By fi ling a joint return, however, you and your 
spouse will be taxed on your combined worldwide in-
come for the entire year.

Special Rule for Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents 
Who File a Joint Return With a Part-Year Resident on 
Form N-15. If at the end of the taxable year you were a 
nonresident (but you were a U.S. resident) or a part-year 
resident who is married to a part-year resident, you may 
choose to fi le a joint return with your part-year resident 
spouse. By fi ling a joint return, you and your spouse 
will be taxed on your combined worldwide income for 
the period in which the part-year resident is a Hawaii 
resident.

  Special Rule for Nonresident Aliens and Dual-Status 
Aliens. Generally, a married couple cannot fi le a joint 
return if either spouse is a nonresident alien at any time 
during the year. However, if you were a nonresident 
alien or a dual-status alien and were married to a U.S. 
citizen or resident alien at the end of 2021, you can elect 
to be treated as a resident alien and fi le a joint federal 
return. See federal Publication 519 for details. If you 
and your spouse have made that election on your fed-
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eral return, you also may choose to fi le a joint Hawaii 
return. By fi ling a joint return, you and your spouse will 
be taxed on your combined worldwide income.

Note: For purposes of fi ling a joint return, common 
law marriages are not recognized under Hawaii law 
unless they began in a state which permits common 
law marriages.

Married  Filing Separate Return
If you are married and fi le a separate return, you gen-

erally report only your own income, exemptions, deduc-
tions, and credits. Generally, you are responsible only 
for the tax on your own income.

However, you will usually pay more tax than if you 
use another fi ling status for which you qualify. Also, if 
you fi le a separate return, you cannot take the student 
loan interest deduction or the earned income tax credit. 
You also cannot take the standard deduction if your 
spouse itemizes deductions.

If you fi le a separate return, write your spouse’s full 
name in the space after oval 3. Also write the fi rst four 
letters of your spouse’s last name and your spouse’s so-
cial security number in the boxes provided.

If your spouse does not fi le a Hawaii tax return, you 
may be able to claim the exemption for your spouse. See 
the instructions for line 6b.

If you were married in 2021, had a child living with 
you, and lived apart from your spouse during the last 
six months of 2021, you may be able to fi le as Head 
of Household. See Married persons who live apart on  
this page.

 Special Rule for Nonresident Aliens and Dual-Status 
Aliens. Married nonresident aliens must fi le separate 
returns. However, if you were a nonresident alien or a 
dual-status alien and were married to a U.S. citizen or 
resident alien at the end of 2021, you can elect to be 
treated as a resident alien and fi le a joint federal return. 
See federal Publication 519 for details. If you and your 
spouse have made that election on your federal return, 
you also may choose to fi le a joint Hawaii return. By fi l-
ing a joint return, you and your spouse will be taxed on 
your combined worldwide income.

 Head of Household
Note: Since this fi ling status is for unmarried 
individuals who provide a home for certain other 
persons, a person in a civil union may not choose 
“head of household” as their fi ling status. However, a 
person in a civil union may fi le as “head of household” 
if the person is considered unmarried because they 
lived apart from their civil union partner for the last 
six months of 2021 and they meet the other rules under 
Married persons who live apart on this page.

This fi ling status is for unmarried individuals who 
provide a home for certain other persons. You are con-
sidered unmarried for this purpose if any of the follow-
ing applies.
• You were legally separated according to your state’s 

law under a decree of divorce or separate mainte-
nance at the end of 2021. But if, at the end of 2021, 
your divorce was not fi nal (an interlocutory decree), 
you are considered married.

• You are married but lived apart from your spouse 
for the last six months of 2021 and you meet the 
other rules under Married persons who live apart 
on this page.

• You are married to a nonresident alien at any time 
during the year and you do not choose to treat him 
or her as a resident alien.

Fill in the oval on line 4 only if you are unmarried (or 
considered unmarried) and either Test 1 or Test 2 ap-
plies.

Test 1. You paid over half the cost of keeping up a 
home that was the main home for all of 2021 of your 
parent whom you can claim as a dependent, except un-
der a multiple support agreement (see page 10). Your 
parent did not have to live with you.

Test 2. You paid over half the cost of keeping up a 
home in which you lived and in which one of the follow-
ing also lived for more than half of the year (if half or 
less, see Exception to time lived with you on this page).

1. Any person whom you can claim as a dependent. 
But do not include:

a. Your child whom you claim as your dependent 
because of the rule for Children of divorced or 
separated parents on page 9,

b. Any person who is your dependent only 
because he or she lived with you for all of 
2021, or

c. Any person you claimed as a dependent under 
a multiple support agreement. See page 10.

2. Your unmarried qualifying child who is not your 
dependent.

3. Your married qualifying child who is not your 
dependent only because you can be claimed as a 
dependent on someone else’s 2021 return.

4. Your qualifying child who, even though you are 
the custodial parent, is not your dependent because 
of the rule for Children of divorced or separated 
parents on page 9.

If the child is not claimed as your dependent, enter the 
child’s name on line 4.

Qualifying child. To fi nd out if someone is your 
qualifying child, see Step 1 of the line 6c instructions 
on page 9.

Dependent. To fi nd out if someone is your dependent, 
see the instructions for line 6c that begin on page 9.

Exception to time lived with you. Temporary ab-
sences by you or the other person for special circum-
stances, such as school, vacation, business, medical 
care, military service, or detention in a juvenile facility, 
count as time lived in the home. Also see Kidnapped 
child on page 10, if applicable.

If the person for whom you kept up a home was born 
or died in 2021, you still may be able to fi le as head 
of household. If the person is your qualifying child, the 
child must have lived with you for more than half the 
part of the year he or she was alive. If the person is any-
one else, see federal Publication 501.

Keeping up a home. To fi nd out what is included in 
the cost of keeping up a home, see federal Publication 
501.

Special Rule for Nonresident Aliens and Dual-Status 
Aliens.—If you were a nonresident alien or dual-status 
alien during the tax year, you cannot fi le as Head of 
Household.

 Married persons who live apart. Even if you were 
not divorced or legally separated at the end of 2021, you 
are considered unmarried if all of the following apply.
• You lived apart from your spouse for the last six 

months of 2021. Temporary absences for special 
circumstances, such as for business, medical care, 
school, or military service, count as time lived in 
the home.

• You fi le a separate return from your spouse.
• You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home 

for 2021.

• Your home was the main home of your child, step-
child, or foster child for more than half of 2021 (if 
half or less, see Exception to time lived with you on 
this page).

•  You can claim this child as your dependent or could 
claim the child except that the child’s other parent 
can claim him or her under the rule for Children of 
divorced or separated parents on page 9.

Adopted child. An adopted child is always treated as 
your own child. An adopted child includes a child law-
fully placed with you for legal adoption.

Foster child. A foster child is any child placed with 
you by an authorized placement agency or by judgment, 
decree, or other order of any court of competent juris-
diction.

Special Rule for Nonresident Aliens and Dual-Status 
Aliens.—If you were a nonresident alien or dual-status 
alien during the tax year, the special rules for Married per-
sons who live apart will not apply to you unless you meet 
all of the tests previously stated, and you are a resident of 
Canada or Mexico. If you are considered unmarried under 
these rules, you may fi le as a single individual. You cannot 
fi le as Head of Household.

Qualifying Widow(er)
You can fi ll in oval 5 and use joint return tax rates for 

2021 if all of the following apply.
• Your spouse died in 2019 or 2020 and you did not 

remarry before the end of 2021.
• You have a child or stepchild (not a foster child) 

whom you can claim as a dependent or could claim 
as a dependent except that, for 2021:

 – The child had gross income of $4,300 or more,

 – The child fi led a joint return, or

 – You could be claimed as a dependent on someone 
else’s return.

 – If the child isn’t claimed as your dependent on 
line 6c, enter the child’s name on line 4.

• This child lived in your home for all of 2021. If the 
child did not live with you for the required time, see 
Exception to time lived with you, below.

• You paid over half the cost of keeping up your 
home.

• You could have fi led a joint return with your spouse 
the year he or she died, even if you did not actually 
do so.

If your spouse died in 2021, you cannot fi le as qualify-
ing widow(er). Instead, see the instructions for Married 
Filing Joint Return on page 7.

Adopted child. An adopted child is always treated as 
your own child. An adopted child includes a child law-
fully placed with you for legal adoption.

Dependent. To fi nd out if someone is your dependent, 
see the instructions for line 6c that begin on page 9.

Exception to time lived with you. Temporary ab-
sences by you or the child for special circumstances, 
such as school, vacation, business, medical care, mili-
tary service, or detention in a juvenile facility, count as 
time lived in the home. Also see Kidnapped child on 
page 10, if applicable.

A child is considered to have lived with you for all 
of 2021 if the child was born or died in 2021 and your 
home was the child’s home for the entire time he or she 
was alive. 
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Keeping up a home. To fi nd out what is included in 
the cost of keeping up a home, see federal Publication 
501.

Note: See Death of Taxpayer on page 6 for more 
information.

Special Rule for Nonresident Aliens and Dual-Status 
Aliens.—The special rules for Qualifying Widow(er) 
will not apply unless the surviving spouse meets all of 
the tests previously stated, and was a resident alien or 
U.S. citizen the year their spouse died.  The residency 
status refers to the surviving spouse’s actual status, and 
not the election that some nonresident aliens make to be 
taxed as U.S. residents.

  Exemptions
Line 6a
Yourself

Fill in the oval on line 6a if no one can claim you as 
a dependent on another person’s tax return. Fill in the 
oval for “Age 65 or over” if you are age 65 or over as of 
January 1, 2022. If you can be claimed as a dependent 
on another person’s tax return, do not fi ll in the ovals on 
line 6a. Instead, fi ll in the oval above line 21.

Line 6b
Spouse

Fill in the oval on line 6b if either of the following 
applies.
1. Your fi ling status is married fi ling jointly and your 

spouse cannot be claimed as a dependent on another 
person’s return.

2. You were married at the end of 2021, your fi ling sta-
tus is married fi ling separately, and both of the fol-
lowing apply.
a. Your spouse had no income and is not fi ling a re-

turn.
b. Your spouse cannot be claimed as a dependent on 

another person’s return.
If your spouse meets these qualifi cations, fi ll in the 

oval under line 6b.

If you became divorced or legally separated during 
2021, you cannot take an exemption for your former 
spouse.

Fill in the oval for “Age 65 or over” if your spouse 
was age 65 or over as of January 1, 2022 and your fi ling 
status is married fi ling jointly.

Death of your spouse. If your spouse died in 2021 
and you did not remarry by the end of 2021, fi ll in the 
ovals on line 6b for the exemptions you could have tak-
en for your spouse on the date of death. See the instruc-
tions for Death of Taxpayer on page 6.

Enter the number of ovals fi lled on lines 6a and 6b.

Lines 6c and 6d
Children and Other Dependents

Enter on lines 6c and 6d the full names, social security 
numbers, and relationship for your dependent children 
and other dependents. Each dependent must have a so-
cial security number. If you have more than four depen-
dents, attach a statement with the required information. 
Enter the number of your dependent children in the box 
for line 6c. Enter the number of other dependents in the 
box for line 6d. 

Follow the steps below to fi nd out if a person qualifi es 
as your dependent.

 Do You Have a Qualifying
 Child?

A qualifying child is a child who is your:
• Son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister, 

stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, half sister, or 
a descendant of any of them (for example, your 
grandchild, niece, or nephew), and

• Was under age 19 at the end of 2021 and younger 
than you (or your spouse, if fi ling jointly), or under 
age 24 at the end of 2021, a student, and younger 
than you (or your spouse, if fi ling jointly), or any 
age and permanently and totally disabled, and

• Who did not provide over half of his or her own 
support for 2021, and

• Who is not fi ling a joint return for 2021 or is fi ling a 
joint return for 2021 only to claim a refund of with-
held income tax or estimated tax paid, and

• Who lived with you for more than half of 2021. If 
the child did not live with you for the required time, 
see Exception to time lived with you on page 10.

1. Do you have a child who meets the conditions to be 
your qualifying child?

Yes. Go to Step 2.

No. Go to Step 3.

 Is Your Qualifying Child
 Your Dependent?
1. Was the child a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, U.S. resi-

dent alien, or a resident of Canada or Mexico? If the 
child was adopted, see Exception to citizen test on 
page 10.

Yes. Go to Question 2.

 – No. Stop. You cannot claim this child as a depen-
dent.

2.  Was the child married?
Yes. See Married person on page 10.

No. Go to Question 3.
3. Could you, or your spouse if fi ling jointly, be claimed 

as a dependent on someone else’s 2021 tax return?
 – Yes. Stop. You cannot claim any dependents. Go 
to Form N-11, line 7.

No. You can claim this child as a dependent.

 Is Your Qualifying
 Relative Your Dependent?

A qualifying relative is a person who is your:
• Son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, or a descen-

dant of any of them (for example, your grandchild), 
or

 – Brother, sister, half brother, half sister, or a son or 
daughter of any of them (for example, your niece 
or nephew), or

 – Father, mother, or an ancestor or sibling of either 
of them (for example, your grandmother, grandfa-
ther, aunt, or uncle), or

 – Stepbrother, stepsister, stepfather, stepmother, 
son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, moth-
er-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law, or

 – Any other person (other than your spouse) who 
lived with you all year as a member of your 
household if your relationship did not violate lo-
cal law. If the person did not live with you for 
the required time, see Exception to time lived with 
you on page 10, and

• Who was not a qualifying child of any taxpayer for 
2021. For this purpose, a person is not a taxpayer 

if he or she is not required to fi le a Hawaii income 
tax return and either does not fi le such a return or 
fi les only to get a refund of withheld income tax or 
estimated tax paid, and

• Who had gross income of less than $4,300 in 2021. 
If the person was permanently and totally disabled, 
see Exception to gross income test on page 10, and

• For whom you provided over half of his or her sup-
port in 2021. But see Children of divorced or sepa-
rated parents on this page, and Multiple support 
agreements and Kidnapped child on page 10.

1. Does any person meet the conditions to be your qual-
ifying relative?

Yes. Go to Question 2.

No. Stop. Go to Form N-11, line 7.
2. Was your qualifying relative a U.S. citizen, U.S. na-

tional, U.S. resident alien, or a resident of Canada or 
Mexico? If your qualifying relative was adopted, see 
Exception to the citizen test on page 10.

Yes. Go to Question 3.

 – No. Stop. You cannot claim this person as a de-
pendent.

3. Was your qualifying relative married?
Yes. See Married person on page 10.

No. Go to Question 4.
4. Could you, or your spouse if fi ling jointly, be claimed 

as a dependent on someone else’s 2021 tax return?
 – Yes. Stop. You cannot claim any dependents. Go 
to Form N-11, line 7.

 – No. You can claim this person as a dependent.
Defi nitions and Special Rules

Adopted child. An adopted child is always treated as 
your own child. An adopted child includes a child law-
fully placed with you for legal adoption.

Children of  divorced or separated parents. A child 
will be treated as the qualifying child or qualifying rela-
tive of his or her noncustodial parent if all of the follow-
ing conditions apply.
1. The parents are divorced, legally separated, sepa-

rated under a written separation agreement, or lived 
apart at all times during the last six months of 2021 
(whether or not they are or were married).

2. The child received over half of his or her support for 
2021 from the parents (and the rules on Multiple sup-
port agreements, on page 10, do not apply). Support 
of a child received from a parent’s spouse is treated 
as provided by the parent.

3. The child is in custody of one or both of the parents 
for more than half of 2021.

4. Either of the following applies.
a. The custodial parent signs federal Form 8332 or a 

substantially similar statement that he or she will 
not claim the child as a dependent for 2021, and 
the noncustodial parent includes a copy of the form 
or statement with his or her return. If the divorce 
decree or separation agreement went into eff ect 
after 1984 and before 2009, the noncustodial par-
ent may be able to include certain pages from the 
decree or agreement instead of federal Form 8332. 
See Post-1984 and pre-2009 decree or agreement 
and Post-2008 decree or agreement.

b. A pre-1985 decree of divorce or separate mainte-
nance or written separation agreement between the 
parents provides that the noncustodial parent can 
claim the child as a dependent, and the noncusto-
dial parent provides at least $600 for support of the 
child during 2021.

If conditions (1) through (4) apply, only the noncus-
todial parent can claim the child for purposes of the de-

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3
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pendency exemption. However, this does not allow the 
noncustodial parent to claim head of household fi ling 
status, the credit for child and dependent care expenses, 
the exclusion for dependent care benefi ts, or the earned 
income tax credit. See federal Publication 501 for de-
tails.

Custodial and noncustodial parents. The custodial 
parent is the parent with whom the child lived for the 
greater number of nights in 2021. The noncustodial par-
ent is the other parent. If the child was with each parent 
for an equal number of nights, the custodial parent is 
the parent with the higher federal adjusted gross income. 
See federal Publication 501 for an exception for a parent 
who works at night, rules for a child who is emancipated 
under state law, and other details.

Post-1984 and pre-2009 decree or agreement. The 
decree or agreement must state all three of the follow-
ing.

1. The noncustodial parent can claim the child as a 
dependent without regard to any condition, such as pay-
ment of support.

2. The other parent will not claim the child as a de-
pendent.

3. The years for which the claim is released.

The noncustodial parent must include all of the fol-
lowing pages from the decree or agreement.
• Cover page (include the other parent’s social secu-

rity number on that page).
• The pages that include all the information identifi ed 

in (1) through (3) above.
• Signature page with the other parent’s signature and 

date of agreement.

You must include the required information even if you 
fi led it with your return in an earlier year.

Post-2008 decree or agreement. If the divorce de-
cree or separation agreement went into eff ect after 2008, 
the noncustodial parent cannot include pages from the 
decree or agreement instead of federal Form 8332. The 
custodial parent must sign either federal Form 8332 
or a substantially similar statement the only purpose 
of which is to release the custodial parent’s claim to 
an exemption for a child, and the noncustodial parent 
must include a copy with his or her return. The form 
or statement must release the custodial parent’s claim 
to the child without any conditions. For example, the 
release must not depend on the noncustodial parent pay-
ing support.

Release of exemption revoked. A custodial parent 
who has revoked his or her previous release of a claim 
to exemption for a child must include a copy of the re-
vocation with his or her return. For details, see federal 
Form 8332.

Exception to citizen test. If you are a U.S. citizen or 
U.S. national and your adopted child lived with you all 
year as a member of your household, that child meets 
the requirement to be a U.S. citizen.

Exception to gross income test. If your relative (in-
cluding a person who lived with you all year as a mem-
ber of your household) is permanently and totally dis-
abled (defi ned on this page), certain income for services 
performed at a sheltered workshop may be excluded for 
this test. For details, see federal Publication 501.

Exception to time lived with you. Temporary ab-
sences by you or the other person for special circum-
stances, such as school, vacation, business, medical 
care, military service, or detention in a juvenile facil-
ity, count as time the person lived with you. Also see 

Children of divorced or separated parents on page 9, or 
Kidnapped child on this page.

If the person meets all other requirements to be your 
qualifying child but was born or died in 2021, the person 
is considered to have lived with you for more than half 
of 2021 if your home was this person’s home for more 
than half the time he or she was alive in 2021.

Any other person is considered to have lived with you 
for all of 2021 if the person was born or died in 2021 and 
your home was this person’s home for the entire time he 
or she was alive in 2021.

Foster child. A foster child is any child placed with 
you by an authorized placement agency or by judgment, 
decree, or other order of any court of competent juris-
diction.

Kidnapped child. If your child is presumed by law 
enforcement authorities to have been kidnapped by 
someone who is not a family member, you may be able 
to take the child into account in determining your eli-
gibility for head of household or qualifying widow(er) 
fi ling status, the dependency exemption, and the earned 
income tax credit. See federal Publication 501.

Married person. If the person is married and fi les a 
joint return, you cannot claim that person as your depen-
dent. However, if the person is married but does not fi le 
a joint return or fi les a joint return only to claim a refund 
of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid, you may 
be able to claim him or her as a dependent. See federal 
Publication 501. In that case, go to Step 2, Question 3, 
on page 9 (for a qualifying child) or Step 3, Question 4, 
on page 9 (for a qualifying relative).

Multiple support agreements. If no one person 
contributed over half of the support of your relative (or 
a person who lived with you all year as a member of 
your household) but you and another person(s) provided 
more than half of your relative’s support, special rules 
may apply that would treat you as having provided over 
half of the support. For details, see federal Publication 
501.

Permanently and totally disabled. A person is per-
manently and totally disabled if, at any time in 2021, the 
person cannot engage in any substantial gainful activity 
because of a physical or mental condition and a doctor 
has determined that this condition has lasted or can be 
expected to last continuously for at least a year, or can 
be expected to lead to death.

Public assistance payments. If you received pay-
ments under the Temporary Assistance for Needy Fami-
lies (TANF) program or other public assistance program 
and you used the money to support another person, see 
federal Publication 501.

Qualifying child of more than one person. Even if 
a child meets the conditions to be the qualifying child 
of more than one person, only one person can claim the 
child as a qualifying child for the (1) dependency ex-
emption, (2) head of household fi ling status, (3) credit 
for child and dependent care expenses, (4) exclusion 
for dependent care benefi ts, and (5) earned income tax 
credit, unless the special rule for Children of divorced or 
separated parents on page 9 applies.

No other person can take any of the fi ve tax benefi ts 
listed above based on the qualifying child. If you and 
any other person can claim the child as a qualifying 
child, the following rules apply.
• If only one of the persons is the child’s parent, the 

child is treated as the qualifying child of the parent.

• If the parents fi le a joint return together and can 
claim the child as a qualifying child, the child is 
treated as the qualifying child of the parents.

• If the parents do not fi le a joint return together but 
both parents claim the child as a qualifying child, 
the child will be treated as the qualifying child of 
the parent with whom the child lived for the longer 
period of time in 2021. If the child lived with each 
parent for the same amount of time, the child will 
be treated as the qualifying child of the parent who 
had the higher federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
for 2021.

• If no parent can claim the child as a qualifying child, 
the child is treated as the qualifying child of the per-
son who had the highest federal AGI for 2021.

• If a parent can claim the child as a qualifying child 
but no parent does so claim the child, the child is 
treated as the qualifying child of the person who 
had the highest federal AGI for 2021, but only if 
that person’s federal AGI is higher than the highest 
federal AGI of any parent of the child who can claim 
the child.

Example. Your daughter meets the conditions to be 
a qualifying child for both you and your mother. Your 
daughter does not meet the conditions to be a qualify-
ing child of any other person, including her other par-
ent. Under the rules just described, you can claim your 
daughter as a qualifying child for all of the fi ve tax ben-
efi ts listed above for which you otherwise qualify. Your 
mother cannot claim any of the fi ve tax benefi ts listed 
above based on your daughter. However, if your moth-
er’s federal AGI is higher than yours and you do not 
claim your daughter as a qualifying child, your daughter 
is the qualifying child of your mother.

If you will be claiming the child as a qualifying child, 
go to Step 2 on page 9. Otherwise, stop; you cannot 
claim any benefi ts based on this child.

 Student. A student is a child who during any part of 
fi ve calendar months of 2021 was enrolled as a full-time 
student at a school, or took a full-time, on-farm training 
course given by a school or a state, county, or local gov-
ernment agency. A school includes a technical, trade, 
or mechanical school. It does not include an on-the-job 
training course, correspondence school, or school off er-
ing courses only through the Internet.

 Birth or Death of Dependent. You can take an ex-
emption for a dependent who was born or who died 
during the taxable year if he or she met the tests for a 
dependent while alive. This means that a baby who lived 
only a few minutes can be claimed as a dependent.

Line 6e
Add the numbers you entered in the boxes for 6a, 6b, 

6c, and 6d. Enter the total in the box on line 6e.

Step 6
Fill in your return

Line-By-Line instructions for fi lling in Form N-11 
begin on page 11 and end on page 25. Please read and 
follow the instructions carefully.

 Rounding Off  to Whole 
Dollars

The Department requires individual taxpayers to 
round off  cents to the nearest whole dollar for all dollar 
entries on the tax return and schedules. To do so, drop 
amounts under 50 cents and increase amounts from 50 
to 99 cents to the next dollar. For example: $1.39 be-
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comes $1 and $2.69 becomes $3. If you have to add two 
or more amounts to fi gure the amount to enter on a line, 
schedule, or worksheet, you may choose to use one of 
two methods. Once a method of rounding is established, 
you must use the same method throughout the return. 
The fi rst method is to include the cents when adding and 
round off  only the total. The other method is to round off  
each entry. For example: You received two W-2 forms, 
one showing Hawaii withholding of $50.55 and one 
showing Hawaii withholding of $185.73. For round-
ing method 1, show your total Hawaii withholding as 
$236, ($50.55 + $185.73 = $236.28 rounded to $236). 
For rounding method 2, show your total Hawaii with-
holding as $237, ($50.55 rounded to $51.00 + $185.73 
rounded to $186.00 = $51 + $186 = $237).

Line-By-Line Instructions -
Form N-11
Special Note to Part-Year 
Residents

Form N-11 is to be fi led by full-year residents only. If 
you were a Hawaii resident for only part of 2021, you 
must fi le Form N-15 instead.

Caution: The dates to be entered at the top of Form 
N-11 are not for part-year residents to enter the period 
of their Hawaii residency.

Income
An individual who was a Hawaii resident for the en-

tire year is subject to income tax on his or her entire 
income, computed without regard to source in the State.

Line 7
Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income (Federal AGI)

Report the federal AGI from the appropriate line of 
federal Form 1040 or Form 1040-SR. If you are not 
required to fi le a federal income tax return, use federal 
Form 1040 as a worksheet to determine the amount to 
report as your federal AGI.

If you are fi ling a joint return for federal income tax 
purposes and a married fi ling separate return for state 
income tax purposes, use federal Form 1040 as a work-
sheet to determine the amount to report as your federal 
AGI. Your federal AGI must be calculated as if you are 
fi ling a federal married fi ling separate return.

Note: Since the federal government does not recognize 
civil unions as married individuals for federal income 
tax purposes, civil unions will continue to fi le as 
unmarried individuals on their federal income tax 
returns.  Therefore, they should use federal Form 
1040 as a worksheet to determine the amount to report 
as their federal AGI. Their federal AGI must be 
calculated as if they are fi ling a federal married fi ling 
joint return or a federal married fi ling separate return.

If the federal AGI is a negative number, shade the mi-
nus (-) in the box to the left of the amount boxes.

 Hawaii Additions to 
Federal AGI
Line 8
Diff erence Between State and 
Federal Wages

If the amount in Form W-2, Box 16 (State wages) is 
larger than Form W-2, Box 1 (Federal wages), subtract 
the federal wages from the state wages and enter the dif-
ference here. If you receive more than one Form W-2, 
add the diff erences from all of the forms. For example, 
federal employees getting Cost of Living Allowance 
(COLA) or Living Quarter Allowance (LQA) may see 
a diff erence that must be reported here. If you received 
COLA or LQA and do not see a diff erence between state 
and federal wages, enter the amount of COLA or LQA 
reported on your Form W-2. State or County employ-
ees who are in the contributory or hybrid plan of the 
Employees Retirement System also will see a diff erence 
that must be reported here.

Line 9
 Interest on Out-of-State 
Bonds, Including Municipal 
Bonds
Note: Interest from bonds issued by Hawaii, including 
Hawaii municipal bonds, is exempt from Hawaii and 
federal income tax.

If you received interest from bonds issued by another 
State, or a county, city, or political subdivision of anoth-
er State (including interest distributions from a mutual 
fund investing in these bonds), enter the interest on line 
9. Do not include interest from bonds issued by the Gov-
ernments of Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, 
and American Samoa, or any of their political subdivi-
sions. Also, do not include distributions of short-term or 
long-term gains because these amounts are included in 
federal AGI.

Line 10
Other Hawaii Additions to 
Federal AGI

This line is used to report other items that are taxed 
by Hawaii but are not taxed by the federal government, 
such as:
• Differences in the taxable portion of the Hawaii 

tax refund.
• Distributions and deemed distributions from Indi-

vidual Housing Accounts.
• Peace Corps compensation.
• Diff erences in depreciation and gain.
• Compensation from temporary employment outside 

the United States.
• Diff erences in the deduction for student loan inter-

est.
• Diff erences in the taxable portion of employer-pro-

vided adoption benefi ts.
• Qualifi ed tuition program distributions for elemen-

tary and secondary school expenses.
• Distributions from certain foreign corporations.
• Other adjustments.

These items are explained in more detail as follows.

Taxable Refund of State Income 
Taxes
Note: A refundable state tax credit (except for the 
refundable food/excise tax credit, credit for low-
income household renters, credit for child and 
dependent care expenses, and credit for child 
passenger restraint system(s)) is subject to income tax 
to the extent the refundable credit exceeds the 
taxpayer’s tax liability and results in a cash payment 
from the state. Because such a payment is not actually 
a refund of prior taxes paid, it is not treated as a tax 
refund potentially excludable under IRC section 111 
(recovery of tax benefi t items). Therefore, the State 
Tax Refund Worksheet on page 31 should not be used 
to determine the taxable portion of these refundable 
state tax credits. For more information, see Tax 
Information Release No. 2010-10, “Common Income 
Tax & General Excise Tax Issues Associated with the 
Renewable Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit, 
HRS § 235-12.5.”

The taxable portion of your Hawaii tax refund may 
be diff erent from the amount reported on your federal 
return. Use the State Tax Refund Worksheet on page 31 
to fi gure the taxable portion of your refund and to deter-
mine if an adjustment needs to be made here.

Note: None of your refund is taxable if, in the year you 
paid the tax, you either (a) did not itemize deductions, 
(b) elected to deduct state and local general sales 
taxes instead of state and local income taxes, or (c) 
did not deduct state and local income taxes because 
your federal adjusted gross income was above certain 
threshold amounts.

If you received a refund or credit in 2021 for state 
income taxes you paid before 2021, you may have to 
report it as income on your Hawaii income tax return. 
You should receive federal Form 1099-G, or a similar 
statement, showing the amount of the refund.

Any part of a refund of state or local income taxes paid 
before 2021 that you were entitled to receive in 2021 but 
chose to apply to your 2021 estimated state income tax 
is considered to have been received in 2021.

If you received a refund of 2020 taxes and you de-
ducted state income taxes on line 21b of your 2020 Form 
N-11, fi gure the taxable portion of your refund using the 
State Tax Refund Worksheet on page 31. When complet-
ing the State Tax Refund Worksheet on page 31, enter an 
amount on line 2e only if the carryover of the residential 
construction and remodeling tax credit was claimed for 
construction or renovation costs for a residential unit that 
does not constitute business property.

Note: If you received income tax refunds from other 
states, include these amounts on line 1 of the State Tax 
Refund Worksheet on page 31.

If your refund included taxes from any previous year 
in which you itemized deductions, a similar calculation 
must be done for each previous year.

 If part of your refund was interest, you should include 
that part in your federal Form 1040 or Form 1040-SR as 
taxable interest income.

If your 2020 Hawaii AGI was over $166,800 ($83,400 
for married taxpayers fi ling separately), you may be 
able to report a smaller amount of your tax refund as 
income because your itemized deductions were re-
duced in 2020. To compute the proper amount, see the 
2017 federal Publication 525, “Taxable and Nontax-
able Income,” under Itemized deductions limited. In 
the computation, however, the Hawaii standard deduc-
tion amounts must be used, the amount of the refund 
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due to the Hawaii credits listed in the State Tax Refund 
Worksheet is subtracted, and the base amount for the 
limitation of itemized deductions remains at $166,800 
($83,400 for married taxpayers fi ling separately). If you 
use this calculation, enter the result on line 8 of the State 
Tax Refund Worksheet on page 31.

If your 2020 state and local income tax refund is more 
than your 2020 state and local income tax deduction mi-
nus the amount you could have deducted as your 2020 
state and local general sales taxes, see federal Publica-
tion 525, “Taxable and Nontaxable Income,” under 
Itemized Deduction Recoveries.

    Individual Housing Accounts
If you purchased a principal residence with an Indi-

vidual Housing Account (IHA), or you are notifi ed by 
an IHA trustee that you have received a taxable distribu-
tion, report the taxable amount on line a of the Hawaii 
Additions Worksheet on page 31.
• If you purchased residential property before Janu-

ary 1, 1990, with a distribution from an IHA, you 
must include in gross income in the year the proper-
ty is sold, conveyed, or transferred an amount equal 
to the amount of the distribution, unless an election 
was made to include one-tenth of the distribution in 
gross income each year for ten years. In addition, a 
penalty is added to your gross income. Attach Form 
N-103, Sale of Your Home, to fi gure the additional 
gross income. 

• If you purchased residential property after Decem-
ber 31, 1989, you must include in gross income 
one-tenth of the distribution each year for ten years. 
If you sell the property purchased with an IHA 
distribution before the end of the ten-year period, 
the remaining amount of the distribution not previ-
ously reported must be included in gross income in 
the year of sale. In addition, a penalty is added to 
your tax liability. Attach Form N-103, Sale of Your 
Home, to fi gure the additional tax liability.

• If you purchased residential property after Decem-
ber 31, 1996, with a distribution from an IHA estab-
lished prior to January 1, 1990, and you have made 
the election to do so, you must include in gross 
income in the year the property is sold, conveyed, 
or transferred an amount equal to the amount of the 
distribution. In addition, a penalty is added to your 
gross income. Attach Form N-103, Sale of Your 
Home, to fi gure the additional gross income.

• If you use an IHA distribution for any purpose other 
than to purchase a fi rst principal residence in Ha-
waii, or if you borrow against the IHA for such a 
purpose, the distribution (or the loan amount) is 
taxable, and a 10% penalty tax is imposed. The ad-
ditional tax is the same amount shown in Box 4 of 
Form N-2, Distribution from an Individual Housing 
Account, and must be included on line 27.

• If you establish an IHA and later marry a person 
owning residential property, the IHA will terminate 
and distribute all of the assets to you. In this case, 
you must include the total distribution in your gross 
income. No penalty tax is imposed, but the 10% is 
still withheld. Be sure to claim the withheld amount 
on line 37.

• If an individual establishes an IHA and then dies or 
becomes totally disabled, special rules apply. For 
more information, see sections 18-235-5.5(r) and 
(s), Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR).

Peace Corps Compensation
If you received compensation for working with the 

Peace Corps, include the amount of that compensation 
on line c of the Hawaii Additions Worksheet on page 31.

Depreciation and Gain Adjustments
Note: Hawaii did not adopt the federal provisions for 
bonus depreciation, increased IRC section 179 
deduction (Hawaii limit is $25,000), and inclusion of 
off -the-shelf computer software as property qualifying 
for the IRC section 179 deduction. If the bonus 
depreciation, increased IRC section 179 deduction, or 
IRC section 179 deduction for off -the-shelf computer 
software is claimed for federal tax purposes, you 
must: (a) complete a federal Form 4562 for Hawaii 
tax purposes, (b) attach the completed federal Form 
4562 to the Hawaii tax return, (c) make the necessary 
adjustments to the Hawaii tax return for the 
depreciation diff erence between federal and Hawaii 
on line d of the Hawaii Additions Worksheet on page 
31, and (d) attach to the Hawaii tax return any 
worksheet showing the computation of the 
adjustments. You must also keep records of the 
diff erences in the asset’s depreciable basis for federal 
and Hawaii tax purposes.

If you claimed the capital goods excise tax credit, ho-
tel construction and remodeling tax credit, technology 
infrastructure renovation tax credit, or drought mitigat-
ing water storage facility income tax credit, and did not 
include the amount of the credit as income in the year in 
which it is properly recognized under your method of 
accounting, then your adjusted basis in the assets was 
decreased by the amount of the credit claimed.
• If you are claiming a depreciation deduction for 

any such asset, multiply the depreciation percentage 
for this taxable year by the amount of the applicable 
income tax credit. Add the results for all of your 
assets for which the applicable income tax credit 
was claimed, and enter this amount on line d of the 
Hawaii Additions Worksheet on page 31.

• If you sold or otherwise disposed of any such as-
set, your gain or loss will be different from that 
reported on your federal return. The diff erence will 
be the amount of the applicable income tax credit 
that has not already been recovered through de-
preciation deductions. Enter this amount on line e 
of the Hawaii Additions Worksheet on page 31. In 
addition, you may need to fi le Form N-312, Recap-
ture of Capital Goods Excise Tax Credit; see Form 
N-312 for more information.

Temporary Employment Outside the 
U.S.

If, while you were a Hawaii resident, you worked out-
side the United States and you fi led federal Form 2555 
or 2555-EZ to exclude some of your earned income, you 
need to add back the amounts here because Hawaii does 
not have this exclusion. On line f of the Hawaii Addi-
tions Worksheet on page 31, enter:
• The amount on Form 2555-EZ, line 18; or
• The sum of Form 2555, line 43, and Form 2555, 

line 48.

Student Loan Interest Deduction
The student loan interest deduction may be diff erent 

from the amount claimed on your federal return since 
your Hawaii modifi ed adjusted gross income must be 
used in the computation instead of your federal modifi ed 
adjusted gross income, and Hawaii’s modifi ed adjusted 
gross income ranges for phasing out the deduction will 
not be adjusted for infl ation. Use the Student Loan Inter-

est Deduction Worksheet on page 34 to determine if an 
adjustment needs to be made here.

Employer-Provided Adoption 
Benefi ts

The taxable portion of your employer-provided adop-
tion benefi ts may be diff erent from the amount claimed 
on your federal return since your Hawaii modifi ed ad-
justed gross income must be used in the computation 
instead of your federal modifi ed adjusted gross income, 
and Hawaii’s exclusion amount and modifi ed adjusted 
gross income limit will not be adjusted for infl ation. Use 
the Adoption Benefi ts Worksheet on page 34 to deter-
mine if an adjustment needs to be made here.

Qualifi ed Tuition Program 
Distributions for Elementary and 
Secondary School Expenses

Hawaii conforms to the federal provision where distri-
butions from qualifi ed tuition programs are not taxable 
if used to pay for qualifi ed higher education expenses. 
However, Hawaii did not adopt the federal provision 
that elementary and secondary school expenses of up 
to $10,000 per year are qualifi ed expenses for qualifi ed 
tuition programs. Therefore, if a distribution was used 
to pay for elementary and secondary school expenses, 
include the taxable part of the distribution on line i of the 
Hawaii Additions Worksheet on page 31.

Owners of Certain Foreign 
Corporations

Certain foreign corporations are classifi ed as Con-
trolled Foreign Corporations (CFCs), Passive Foreign 
Investment Companies (PFICs), or Foreign Personal 
Holding Companies (FPHCs). Federal law requires that 
shareholders of these foreign companies recognize cer-
tain income earned by these companies before the com-
panies distribute dividends. Hawaii has no comparable 
provisions. If you own one or more of these corpora-
tions, you had to fi le federal Form 5471, or you sold 
stock in any of these kinds of companies, you may need 
to make an adjustment here.

Other Adjustments
Other adjustments to federal AGI include the 
following:
• Hawaii has not adopted the federal provisions relat-

ing to:

 – the deduction for capital costs incurred in com-
plying with environmental protection agency sul-
fur regulations under IRC section 179B, and

 – the exclusion from income of benefi ts under a 
dependent care assistance program that increases 
the amount of income that is treated as having 
been earned by a spouse who is either a full-time 
student or not able to care for himself or herself.

There may be other adjustments to federal AGI that 
are not discussed in these instructions. Such adjustments 
arise, for example, if a taxpayer makes an election for 
federal tax purposes (such as an IRC section 179 elec-
tion) but does not make the same election for Hawaii tax 
purposes. If you believe that an additional adjustment is 
needed to arrive at Hawaii adjusted gross income, enter 
the amount of the adjustment on line j of the Hawaii Ad-
ditions Worksheet on page 31, write “X” on the dotted 
line next to line 10, and attach an explanation to Form 
N-11 that includes the amount of the adjustment and 
how you calculated it.
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Line 11
Total Hawaii Additions to 
Federal AGI

Add the amounts on lines 8, 9, and 10. Enter the result 
on this line.

Line 12
Add lines 7 and 11. Enter the result on this line.

If line 12 is a negative number, shade the minus (-) in 
the box to the left of the amount boxes.

Hawaii Subtractions from 
Federal AGI
Line 13
 Pensions

Hawaii does not tax qualifying distributions from an 
employer-funded pension plan. If you received qualify-
ing distributions from an employer-funded profi t shar-
ing, defi ned contribution, or defi ned benefi t plan, or 
from a government retirement system (e.g., federal civil 
service, military pension, state or county retirement sys-
tem), enter the qualifying amount here.

Nontaxable Distributions
The following lines describe what qualifying distribu-

tions are. These qualifying distributions were included 
in your federal AGI and will be excluded on this line. 
For a distribution to qualify, it must be paid by a pension 
plan by reason of retirement, disability, or death. The 
pension plan does not have to be a “qualifi ed plan” as 
defi ned in IRC section 401.

 Employer-Funded Pension Plans
The following three types of distributions are not 

taxed by Hawaii and should be included on line 13:

(1) Pension or annuity distributions from a public (i.e., 
government) retirement system (e.g., federal civil ser-
vice annuity, military pension, state or county retirement 
system), unless voluntary contributions were made by 
an employee under an elective right. For more informa-
tion, see section 18-235-7-02, HAR.

(2) Distributions from a private employer pension 
plan received upon retirement (including early retire-
ment and disability retirement) if the employee did not 
contribute to the pension plan.

(3) Distributions from a pension plan at age 70-1/2 
that are made to comply with the federal mandatory 
payout rule do qualify as a retirement payment whether 
or not the employee is still working full time.

Distributions from a private employer pension plan 
received upon retirement are partially taxed by Hawaii 
if the employee contributed to the pension plan.

Rollover IRAs
A rollover IRA is treated as a continuation of the origi-

nal plan that provided the money that is rolled over. If 
distributions from the original plan would be character-
ized as a qualifi ed distribution, distributions out of the 
rollover IRA need not be reported as well.

Example - An individual received a lump sum dis-
tribution from an employer-funded profi t-sharing plan 
upon retirement. The individual did not contribute to 
the profi t-sharing plan. The entire lump sum distribu-
tion was rolled over to an IRA. In 2021, the individual 

rolled over $50,000 from the IRA to a Roth IRA. The 
entire amount rolled over to the Roth IRA represents the 
lump sum distribution received by the individual upon 
retirement and earnings thereon. Since the lump sum 
distribution that the individual received upon retirement 
qualifi es as a pension, the amount rolled over from the 
regular IRA to the Roth IRA also qualifi es as a pension. 
Therefore, the amount rolled over to the Roth IRA is 
exempt from Hawaii’s income tax.

Taxable Pensions and  Annuities
Note: Act 13, Session Laws of Hawaii 2020, adopts 
the federal provision that provides for special 
distribution options and rollover rules for retirement 
plans and IRAs and expands permissible loans from 
certain retirement plans.

Early Distributions
Early distributions from a pension plan that are subject 

to the 10% federal penalty tax do not qualify and are 
taxable.

Deferred Compensation Plans
Distributions from a deferred compensation plan may 

be partly or fully taxable. A deferred compensation plan 
includes any plan in which the employee has a choice of 
whether to contribute money into the plan or take that 
amount in cash or property. Examples include 401(k) 
plans, salary reduction Simplifi ed Employee Pension 
(SARSEP) plans, the Federal Thrift Savings Plan, and 
section 457 plans like the State of Hawaii Deferred 
Compensation Plan.

Annuity Plans
Retirement vehicles that you fund yourself, such as 

annuity plans and   Individual Retirement Accounts 
(IRAs) that are not funded through a Simplifi ed Em-
ployee Pension (SEP) plan, are considered to be your 
own investments. Distributions from these plans may be 
fully or partly taxable, depending on whether your IRAs 
include deductible or nondeductible contributions. See 
federal Publications 590-A and 590-B, and federal Form 
8606, for more details.

Rollover IRAs
A rollover IRA is treated as a continuation of the origi-

nal plan that provided the money that is rolled over. If 
distributions from the original plan would be character-
ized as taxable, distributions out of the rollover IRA 
would be taxable as well.

Example - An individual received a lump sum dis-
tribution from an employer-funded profi t-sharing plan 
upon separation from service before retirement. The 
individual did not contribute to the profi t-sharing plan. 
The entire lump sum distribution was rolled over to an 
IRA. In 2021, the individual rolled over $50,000 from 
the IRA to a Roth IRA. The entire amount rolled over 
to the Roth IRA represents the lump sum distribution 
received by the individual upon separation from service 
and earnings thereon. Since the lump sum distribution 
that the individual received upon separation from ser-
vice does not qualify as a pension (the distribution is not 
paid upon retirement, disability, or death), the amount 
rolled over from the regular IRA to the Roth IRA also 
does not qualify as a pension. Therefore, the amount 
rolled over to the Roth IRA is taxable for Hawaii’s in-
come tax.

Hybrid Plans
If you received a distribution from a plan that is partly 

pension and partly deferred compensation, such as a 
401(k) plan with a profi t sharing component or an em-

ployer matching program, a SEP plan with employer 
contributions as well as a salary reduction option, or a 
similar hybrid plan, attach Schedule J to fi gure the tax-
able amount.

 Lump-Sum Distributions
If you received a lump-sum distribution from a pen-

sion plan and you are electing to use the special ten-year 
averaging method, attach Schedule J and Form N-152, 
Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions, to fi gure the taxable 
amount.

Note: If your lump-sum distribution included capital 
gain amounts, you may be able to reduce your tax by 
including the capital gain amounts on Form N-152 
and electing the capital gains treatment. See Form 
N-152 Instructions for more information.

To compute the taxable portion of your annuity or 
pension, use Schedule J.

Caution: Certain transactions, such as loans against 
your interest in a qualifi ed plan, may be treated as 
taxable distributions.

For more information on the taxation of pensions, see 
sections 18-235-7-02 to 18-235-7-03, HAR, Tax Infor-
mation Release No. 90-4, “Taxability of Benefi t Pay-
ments from Pension Plan to Participants who Attain Age 
70-1/2 as Required by the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
Section 401(a)(9)(C),” and Tax Information Release No. 
96-5, “Taxation of Pensions Under the Hawaii Net In-
come Tax Law: Deferred Compensation Arrangements; 
Rollover IRAs; Sub-Accounts of Pension Plans; Social 
Security and Railroad Retirement Act Benefi ts; Limita-
tion on Deductions for Contributions to a Nonqualifi ed 
Plan.”

Line 14
Social Security Benefi ts

Hawaii does not tax Social Security or fi rst tier Rail-
road Retirement Act benefi ts. Enter the amount from 
federal Form 1040 or Form 1040-SR, line 6b.

Line 15
Military Reserve or Hawaii 
National Guard Duty Pay 
Exclusion

Hawaii does not tax the fi rst $7,152 received by each 
member of the reserve components of the army, navy, 
air force, marine corps, coast guard of the United States 
of America, and the Hawaii national guard, as compen-
sation for performance of duty as such. If you qualify, 
enter the smaller of:
• $7,152, or
• Your pay, as shown on Box 16 of the Form W-2 sent 

to you by your reserve component.

If you are married fi ling a joint return, and you and 
your spouse qualify, add the exclusions for both of you 
and enter the total on line 15.

Line 16
 Payments to an Individual 
Housing Account

You may be able to deduct from your gross income up 
to $5,000 paid in cash during the taxable year into a trust 
account which is established for saving for a down pay-
ment on your fi rst principal residence. A deduction not 
to exceed $10,000 shall be allowed for a married couple 
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fi ling a joint return. No deduction shall be allowed on 
any amounts distributed less than 365 days from the 
date on which a contribution is made to the account. 
Any deduction claimed for a previous taxable year for 
amounts distributed less than 365 days from the date on 
which a contribution was made shall be disallowed and 
the amount deducted shall be included in the previous 
taxable year’s gross income and the tax reassessed. The 
account is to encourage fi rst-time home buyers to save 
money for a down payment on a home.

The “fi rst principal residence” means a residential 
property purchased with the payment or distribution 
from the individual housing account which shall be 
owned and occupied as the only home by an individual 
who did not have any previous interest in, individually, 
or if the individual is married, whose spouse did not own 
any interest in a residential property inside or outside of 
Hawaii within the last 5 years prior to opening the IHA.

The amounts paid in cash allowable as a deduction for 
all taxable years are limited to $25,000, in the aggre-
gate, excluding interest earned or accrued. This limita-
tion also applies to married individuals having separate 
accounts; the sum of such separate accounts and the 
deduction shall not exceed $25,000 in the aggregate, 
excluding interest income earned or accrued.

For more information, see section 18-235-5.5, HAR.

Line 17
Exceptional Trees Deduction

You may deduct up to $3,000 per exceptional tree for 
qualifi ed expenditures you made during the taxable year 
to maintain the tree on your private property. The tree 
must be designated as an exceptional tree by the local 
county arborist advisory committee under chapter 58, 
Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS). Qualifi ed expenditures 
are those expenses you incurred to maintain the excep-
tional tree (excluding interest) that are deemed “reason-
ably necessary” by a certifi ed arborist. No deduction is 
allowed in more than one taxable year out of every three 
consecutive taxable years.

An affi  davit signed by a certifi ed arborist stating that 
the amount of expenditures are deemed reasonably nec-
essary must be attached to your tax return. The affi  davit 
also must include the following information: (1) type of 
tree, (2) location of tree, and (3) description and amount 
of expenditures made in 2021 to maintain the tree. The 
affi  davit must be notarized.

Line 18
Other Hawaii Subtractions 
From Federal AGI

This line is used to report other items that are 
taxed by the federal government but are not taxed by 
Hawaii, such as:
• Interest on federal obligations, including U.S. Sav-

ings Bonds.
• Differences in the taxable portion of the Hawaii 

tax refund.
• Interest earned on an Individual Housing Account.
• Compensation earned by patients with Hansen’s 

disease.
• Expenses not allowed on your federal return be-

cause they were connected with federal credits.
• Unearned income of children that you included in 

your federal return, if the children are fi ling Hawaii 
returns.

• Benefi ts from or premiums paid to legal services 
plans.

• Diff erences in the deduction for student loan inter-
est.

• Diff erences in the taxable portion of employer-pro-
vided adoption benefi ts.

• Certain income from a qualifi ed high technology 
business.

• Contributions to and interest earned by an individu-
al development account.

• Moving expenses.
• Qualifi ed bicycle commuting reimbursement.
• Undistributed income earned by certain foreign cor-

porations.
• Other adjustments.

These items are explained in more detail as follows.

 Interest on Federal Obligations, 
Including U.S. Savings Bonds

If you reported for federal purposes any interest re-
ceived on federal obligations, including Treasury bills 
and notes and U.S. Savings Bonds, enter the amount of 
that interest on line a of the Hawaii Subtractions Work-
sheet on page 31.

For more information about what kinds of obligations 
should be reported here, see Tax Information Release 
No. 84-1, “Taxability of Interest on U.S. Obligations.”

If you fi led federal Form 8815: If you redeemed U.S. 
Savings Bonds to pay for higher education tuition and 
fees and excluded some or all of the interest for federal 
purposes, subtract the amount from Form 8815, line 14, 
before entering it on line a. That amount was already 
excluded on your federal return.

Taxable Refund of State Income 
Taxes

 See the instructions for line 10, Taxable Refund of 
State Income Taxes, on page 11. In some cases, the 
worksheet may call for an adjustment to be made here.

Interest on an Individual Housing 
Account

If you have an Individual Housing Account, enter the 
interest earned by the account, as it appears on federal 
Form 1099-INT, on line c of the Hawaii Subtractions 
Worksheet on page 31.

Patients With Hansen’s Disease
Hawaii does not tax compensation by Hawaii or the 

U.S. to a patient aff ected with Hansen’s disease (also 
known as leprosy). Enter the amount of the qualifying 
compensation on line d of the Hawaii Subtractions 
Worksheet on page 31.

Expenses Disallowed Because 
They Were Connected with Federal 
Credits

If you are a business taxpayer; you claimed certain 
credits such as the work opportunity credit or the credit 
for qualifi ed clinical testing expenses; and some of your 
business expenses were disallowed because you took 
the credits (IRC section 280C), enter the amount of the 
disallowed expenses on line e of the Hawaii Subtrac-
tions Worksheet on page 31. Hawaii does not have those 
credits, and does allow the expense deductions.

Children Having Unearned Income
If you fi led federal Form 8814, Parents’ Election To 

Report Child’s Interest and Dividends, and you are not 

fi ling Form N-814 because your child will fi le a Hawaii 
tax return, enter the total amount from lines 9, 10, and 
12 of federal Form(s) 8814 on line f of the Hawaii Sub-
tractions Worksheet on page 31. Attach a copy of federal 
Form(s) 8814.

Legal Services Plans
If you received benefi ts from a qualifi ed group legal 

services plan or if your employer contributed to a group 
legal services plan, and you reported these benefi ts or 
contributions as taxable income on your federal re-
turn, check with your plan to see that it qualifi es under 
Hawaii standards. If it does, Hawaii will not tax these 
amounts. Enter the amount of federally taxable benefi ts 
or contributions on line g of the Hawaii Subtractions 
Worksheet on page 31.

Student Loan Interest Deduction
The student loan interest deduction may be diff erent 

from the amount claimed on your federal return since 
your Hawaii modifi ed adjusted gross income must be 
used in the computation instead of your federal modifi ed 
adjusted gross income, and Hawaii’s modifi ed adjusted 
gross income ranges for phasing out the deduction will 
not be adjusted for infl ation. Use the Student Loan Inter-
est Deduction Worksheet on page 34 to determine if an 
adjustment needs to be made here.

Employer-Provided Adoption 
Benefi ts

The taxable portion of your employer-provided adop-
tion benefi ts may be diff erent from the amount claimed 
on your federal return since your Hawaii modifi ed ad-
justed gross income must be used in the computation 
instead of your federal modifi ed adjusted gross income, 
and Hawaii’s exclusion amount and modifi ed adjusted 
gross income limit will not be adjusted for infl ation. Use 
the Adoption Benefi ts Worksheet on page 34 to deter-
mine if an adjustment needs to be made here.

Certain Income from a Qualifi ed 
High Technology Business
• Royalties and other income derived from patents, 

copyrights, and trade secrets. Amounts received 
by an individual or a qualifi ed high technology busi-
ness as royalties and other income derived from pat-
ents, copyrights, and trade secrets (1) owned by the 
individual or qualifi ed high technology business, 
and (2) developed and arising out of a qualified 
high technology business are excluded from gross 
income, adjusted gross income, and taxable income. 
If you reported these amounts for federal purposes, 
include that amount on line j of the Hawaii Subtrac-
tions Worksheet on page 31.

• Stock options income from qualifi ed high tech-
nology business. All income earned and proceeds 
derived from stock options or stock, including stock 
issued through the exercise of stock options or war-
rants, from a qualifi ed high technology business or 
from a holding company of a qualifi ed high technol-
ogy business by an employee, offi  cer, or director of 
the qualifi ed high technology business, or investor 
who qualifi ed for the high technology business in-
vestment tax credit is excluded from income taxes. 
If you reported these amounts for federal purposes, 
include that amount on line j of the Hawaii Subtrac-
tions Worksheet on page 31.

Individual Development Accounts
If you have an individual development account, enter 

the amount of contributions you made to the account, 
and the amount of interest earned by the account (as it 
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appears on federal Form 1099-INT) on line k of the Ha-
waii Subtractions Worksheet on page 31.

Moving Expenses
Hawaii did not adopt the federal provisions that sus-

pended (1) the deduction for moving expenses, and (2) 
the exclusion from gross income for qualifi ed moving 
expense reimbursements for tax years 2018 through 
2025. If you have moving expenses that were not de-
ducted on your federal return, enter the amount of the 
deduction on line l of the Hawaii Subtractions Work-
sheet on page 31. If you have qualifi ed moving expense 
reimbursements that were not excluded on your federal 
return, enter the amount of the exclusion on line l of the 
Hawaii Subtractions Worksheet on page 31. For more 
details, see Form N-139. Complete Form N-139 and at-
tach it to your return.

Note: If a resident taxpayer leaves the State of Hawaii 
for other than temporary or transitory purposes and is 
not domiciled in Hawaii, he or she ceases to be a 
resident; in such a case, as with a nonresident 
taxpayer, expenses incurred in moving to a new place 
of employment outside the State of Hawaii shall not be 
allowed.

Qualifi ed Bicycle Commuting 
Reimbursement

Hawaii did not adopt the federal provision that sus-
pended the exclusion from gross income and wages for 
qualifi ed bicycle commuting reimbursements for tax 
years 2018 through 2025. If you have qualifi ed bicycle 
commuting reimbursements that were not excluded on 
your federal return, enter the amount of the exclusion on 
line m of the Hawaii Subtractions Worksheet on page 
31.

Owners of Certain Foreign 
Corporations

If you own an interest in a CFC, PFIC, or FPHC, you 
had to fi le federal Form 5471, or you sold stock in any 
of these kinds of companies, see page 12 for further in-
formation. You may need to make an adjustment here.

Other Adjustments
Other adjustments to federal AGI include the 
following:
• Scholarship grants received by a student under the 

Nursing Scholars Program under section 304A-
3304(d), HRS, is not subject to Hawaii income tax.

• The amount of payment stipend waived by Depart-
ment of Education coaches and dispensed to the 
school for the benefit of the coach’s team under 
section 302A-633.6, HRS, is not subject to Hawaii 
income tax.

• The capital loss carryover for qualifi ed high tech-
nology businesses is 15 years.

There may be other adjustments to federal AGI that 
are not discussed in these instructions. Such adjustments 
arise, for example, if a taxpayer makes an election for 
Hawaii tax purposes (such as an IRC section 179 elec-
tion) but does not make the same election for federal tax 
purposes. If you believe you are entitled to an additional 
subtraction to arrive at Hawaii adjusted gross income, 
enter the amount of the adjustment on line n of the Ha-
waii Subtractions Worksheet on page 31, write “X” on 
the dotted line next to line 18, and attach an explanation 
to Form N-11 that includes the amount of the adjustment 
and how you calculated it.

Line 19
Total Hawaii Subtractions 
from Federal AGI

Add the amounts on lines 13 through 18. Enter the 
result on this line.

Line 20
Hawaii Adjusted Gross 
Income

Subtract line 19 from line 12. Enter the result on this 
line. If line 19 is larger than line 12, you may have a  net 
operating loss.

If the Hawaii AGI is a negative number, shade the mi-
nus (-) in the box to the left of the amount boxes.

Note: Net operating loss (NOL) carrybacks are eliminated 
(except for farming NOLs which are permitted a two-year 
carryback), and unused NOLs can be carried forward 
indefi nitely for NOLs arising in tax years ending after 
December 31, 2017. Also, the NOL deduction is limited to 
80% of taxable income for NOLs arising in tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2017.

Note: If you carry back the farming NOL and are due 
a refund from the carryback, you may use Form 
N-109, Application for Tentative Refund from 
Carryback of Net Operating Loss, to get a quick 
refund.

You may elect to carry the farming NOL forward 
instead of fi rst carrying it back to prior years. If you 
make this election, then you can use your farming 
NOL only in the carryforward period.

To make this election, attach a statement to your original 
return fi led by the due date (including extensions) for the 
farming NOL year. This statement must state that you are 
electing to waive the carryback period under section 235-
7(d), HRS, and IRC section 172(b)(1)(B)(iv).

If you fi led your original return on time but did not fi le 
the statement with it, you can make this election on an 
amended return fi led within 6 months of the original 
due date of the return, but not including any extension. 
Attach a statement to your amended return, and write 
“Filed pursuant to 26 C.F.R. 301.9100-2” at the top 
of the statement. Also include the statement noted 
above that you are waiving the carryback period.

Once you elect to waive the carryback period, it 
cannot be changed later. 

If you do not fi le this statement on time, the carryback 
period cannot be waived and you must fi rst carry the 
farming NOL back before carrying it forward.

Deductions and Taxable 
Income Computation
Note: If you can be claimed as a dependent on 
another person’s return, fi ll in the oval above line 
21. Complete the “Standard Deduction for 
Dependents” worksheet on page 20 and enter the 
appropriate amount on line 23 if you do not itemize 
your deductions.

Lines 21a to 21f
 Itemized Deductions

Taxpayers who itemize their deductions may deduct 
certain kinds of expenses from their adjusted gross in-
come.

Taxpayers who do not itemize their deductions may 
reduce their adjusted gross income by the amount of the 
standard deduction appropriate to their fi ling status. The 
amount of the standard deduction is determined on line 
23.

You will fall into one of the following three classes:
• You MUST itemize deductions,
• You choose to itemize, or
• You do not itemize.

The three classes are described as follows:

 You MUST Itemize Deductions
You must itemize deductions if:

• You are married, fi ling a separate return, and your 
spouse itemizes.

• You are making a return under IRC section 443(a)
(1) for a period of less than 12 months because of a 
change in your annual accounting period.

 You Choose to Itemize
You may choose to itemize your deductions if you are:

• Married and fi ling a joint return, or a qualifying 
widow(er), and your itemized deductions are more 
than $4,400.

• Married and fi ling a separate return, or Single, and 
your itemized deductions are more than $2,200.

• Head of Household, and your itemized deductions 
are more than $3,212.

• A dependent of another taxpayer and your itemized 
deductions are more than the greater of (1) $500 
or (2) your earned income up to the amount of the 
standard deduction for your fi ling status.

You Do Not Itemize
If your itemized deductions are less than the amount 

shown above for your fi ling status (or you choose not to 
itemize), go to line 23 and enter your standard deduction 
amount there (unless you MUST itemize as described 
earlier).

If you itemize, you can deduct part of your medical 
and dental expenses, and amounts you paid for certain 
taxes, interest, contributions, casualty and theft losses, 
and other miscellaneous expenses. These deductions are 
explained on the pages that follow.

If you do itemize, complete Worksheets A-1 through 
A-6 and enter the amounts on Form N-11, lines 21a to 
21f.

Line 21a
 Medical and Dental Expenses
Note: Act 89, Session Laws of Hawaii 2021, adopts the 
federal provision that allows all taxpayers to be subject to 
the 7.5% threshold for the itemized deduction for medical 
expenses, eff ective for taxable years beginning after 
December 31, 2020.

Complete Worksheet A-1 on page 32 to fi gure your 
deduction for medical and dental expenses.

Before you can fi gure your total deduction for medical 
and dental expenses, you must fi rst fi gure your adjusted 
gross income.

You can deduct only the part of your medical and den-
tal expenses that exceeds 7.5% of your Hawaii adjusted 
gross income.

On Worksheet A-1, line 1, include medical and dental 
bills you paid for:
• Yourself.
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• Your spouse.
• All dependents you claim on your return.
• Your child whom you do not claim as a dependent 

because of the rules explained on page 9 for Chil-
dren of divorced or separated parents.

• Any person you could have claimed as a dependent 
on your return except that person received $4,300 or 
more of gross income or fi led a joint return.

• Any person you could have claimed as a dependent 
except that you, or your spouse if fi ling jointly, can 
be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2021 
return.

Example—You provided over half of your mother’s 
support but cannot claim her as a dependent because she 
received $4,300 of wages during 2021. If part of your 
support was the payment of her medical bills, you can 
include that part in your medical expenses.

You should include all amounts you paid during 2021, 
but do not include amounts repaid to you, or paid to 
anyone else, by hospital, health or accident insurance, 
or by your employer, or paid through a medical savings 
account or health savings account.

Examples of Medical and 
Dental Payments You CAN 
Deduct

To the extent you were not reimbursed, you can de-
duct what you paid for:
• Insurance premiums for medical and dental care, 

including premiums for qualified long-term care 
contracts, subject to dollar limitations based on a 
person’s age. See the federal instructions to Form 
1040 for the dollar limits.

• Prescription medicines or insulin.
• Acupuncturists, chiropractors, dentists, eye doc-

tors, medical doctors, occupational therapists, os-
teopathic doctors, physical therapists, podiatrists, 
psychiatrists, psychoanalysts (medical care only), 
and psychologists.

• Medical examinations, X-ray and laboratory ser-
vices, insulin treatment, and whirlpool baths the 
doctor ordered.

• Diagnostic tests, such as a full-body scan, preg-
nancy test, or blood sugar test kit.

• Nursing help. If you paid someone to do both nurs-
ing and housework, you can deduct only the cost of 
nursing help.

• Hospital care (including meals and lodging), clinic 
costs, and lab fees.

• Qualifi ed long-term care services.
• The supplemental part of Medicare insurance 

(Medicare B).
• The premiums you pay for Medicare Part D insur-

ance.
• A program to stop smoking and for prescription 

medicines to alleviate nicotine withdrawal.
• A weight-loss program as treatment for a specifi c 

disease (including obesity) diagnosed by a doctor.
• Medical treatment at a center for drug or alcohol 

addiction.
• Medical aids such as eyeglasses, contact lenses, 

hearing aids, braces, crutches, wheelchairs, and 
guide dogs, including the cost of maintaining them.

• Surgery to improve defective vision, such as laser 
eye surgery or radial keratotomy.

• Lodging expenses (but not meals) while away from 
home to receive medical care in a hospital or a med-

ical care facility related to a hospital, provided there 
was no significant element of personal pleasure, 
recreation, or vacation in the travel. Don’t deduct 
more than $50 a night for each eligible person.

• Ambulance service and other travel costs to get 
medical care. If you used your own car, you can 
claim what you spent for gas and oil to go to and 
from the place you received the care; or you can 
claim 16 cents per mile. Add parking and tolls to the 
amount you claim under either method.

• Cost of breast pumps and supplies that assist lacta-
tion.

• Cosmetic surgery that was necessary to improve a 
deformity related to a congenital abnormality, an 
injury from an accident or trauma, or a disfi guring 
disease.

Examples of Medical and 
Dental Payments You 
CANNOT Deduct

You cannot deduct the following:
• The cost of diet food.
• Cosmetic surgery unless it was necessary to im-

prove a deformity related to a congenital abnor-
mality, an injury from an accident or trauma, or a 
disfi guring disease.
Note: If expenses for cosmetic surgery are NOT 
deductible as medical expenses, then amounts paid 
for insurance coverage for such expenses are NOT 
deductible. Furthermore, if an employer health plan 
reimburses you for such expenses, the reimburse-
ment must be included in your gross income.

• Life insurance or income protection policies.
• The Medicare tax on your wages and tips or the 

Medicare tax paid as part of the self-employment 
tax or household employment taxes.

• The basic cost of Medicare insurance (Medicare A).
Note: If you were 65 or over but not entitled to so-
cial security benefi ts, you may deduct premiums you 
voluntarily paid for Medicare A coverage.

• Nursing care for a healthy baby. (You may qualify 
for the credit for child and dependent care expenses; 
see Schedule X, Part II.)

• Illegal operations or drugs.
• Imported drugs not approved by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration (FDA). This includes foreign-
made versions of U.S.-approved drugs manufac-
tured without FDA approval.

• Nonprescription medicines, other than insulin (in-
cluding nicotine gum and certain nicotine patches).

• Travel your doctor told you to take for rest or a 
change.

• Funeral, burial, or cremation costs.

Line 21b
Taxes
Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018 (1) does not 
adopt the federal provision that limits the deduction for 
state and local taxes to $10,000 ($5,000 for a married 
taxpayer fi ling a separate return) for tax years 2018 
through 2025, but (2) does adopt the federal provision that 
foreign real property taxes cannot be deducted for tax 
years 2018 through 2025.

Note: If you claim a credit for income taxes paid to 
other states and countries, you cannot also claim 
those amounts as an itemized deduction for state and 

foreign income taxes paid to another state or foreign 
country.

Taxpayers can claim a deduction for state and local, 
and foreign, income, war profi ts, and excess profi ts tax-
es (or state and local general sales taxes if an election is 
made to deduct state and local general sales taxes instead 
of state and local income taxes) if their federal adjusted 
gross income is less than $100,000 and they are single 
or married fi ling separately; or less than $150,000 and 
they are a head of household; or less than $200,000 and 
they are married fi ling jointly or a qualifying widow(er).

Complete Worksheet A-2 on page 32 to fi gure your 
deduction for taxes.

 Taxes You CAN Deduct
Note: You can elect to deduct state and local general 
sales taxes instead of state and local income taxes. 
You cannot deduct both.

State and Local Income Taxes
If you will deduct state and local income taxes, check 

box a on line 5 of Worksheet A-2.

Include on this line:
• State and local income taxes withheld from your 

salary (as shown on your federal Form W-2) and 
withheld from your unemployment compensation 
(as shown on your federal Form 1099-G);

• State and local income taxes paid in 2021 for a prior 
year, such as taxes paid with your 2020 state or local 
income tax return;

• State and local estimated tax payments made during 
2021, including any part of a prior year refund that 
you chose to have credited to your 2021 state or lo-
cal income taxes; and

• The NET amount of taxes withheld from the sale of 
Hawaii real property interests.

If you are a federal employee receiving a Cost Of Liv-
ing Allowance (COLA), not all of your Hawaii income 
taxes are deductible for federal purposes. See IRS Rev-
enue Ruling 74-140, 1974-1 C.B. 50, for more informa-
tion. Enter on line 5a of Worksheet A-2 on page 32 the 
entire amount of state and local income taxes you paid 
in 2021, even if you reported a diff erent amount on fed-
eral Form 1040, Schedule A.

Do not reduce your deduction by any:
• State or local income tax refund or credit you expect 

to receive for 2021, or
• Refund of, or credit for, prior year state and local 

income taxes you actually received in 2021. Instead, 
see the instructions for Form N-11, line 10.

For more information about the treatment of taxes 
withheld from the sale of real property interests, see Tax 
Facts 2010-1, “Understanding HARPTA,” and Tax In-
formation Release No. 2017-01, “Withholding of State 
Income Taxes on the Disposition of Hawaii Real Prop-
erty.”

State and Local General Sales 
Taxes
Note: For purposes of the deduction for state and 
local general sales taxes, Hawaii’s general excise tax 
will qualify as a “sales tax.”

If you elect to deduct state and local general sales 
taxes, check box b on line 5 of Worksheet A-2. To fi gure 
your deduction, you can use either your actual expenses 
or the optional sales tax tables.

Actual Expenses. Generally, you can deduct the actu-
al state and local general sales taxes (including compen-
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sating use taxes) you paid in 2021 if the tax rate was the 
same as the general sales tax rate. However, sales taxes 
on food, clothing, medical supplies, and motor vehicles 
are deductible as a general sales tax even if the tax rate 
was less than the general sales tax rate. If you paid sales 
tax on a motor vehicle at a rate higher than the general 
sales tax rate, you can deduct only the amount of tax 
that you would have paid at the general sales tax rate on 
that vehicle. Motor vehicles include cars, motorcycles, 
motor homes, recreational vehicles, sport utility ve-
hicles, trucks, vans, and off -road vehicles. Also include 
any state and local general sales taxes paid for a leased 
motor vehicle. Do not include sales taxes paid on items 
used in your trade or business.

Note: You must keep your actual receipts showing 
general sales taxes paid to use this method.

Refund of general sales taxes. If you received a 
refund of state or local general sales taxes in 2021 for 
amounts paid in 2021, reduce your actual 2021 state and 
local general sales taxes by this amount. If you received 
a refund of state or local general sales taxes in 2021 for 
prior year purchases, do not reduce your 2021 state and 
local general sales taxes by this amount. But if you de-
ducted your actual state and local general sales taxes in 
the earlier year and the deduction reduced your tax, you 
may have to include the refund in income on line 10 
(if not already included on line 7). See Recoveries in 
federal Publication 525 for details.

Optional Sales Tax Tables. Instead of using your ac-
tual expenses, you can use the tables in the instructions 
for federal Schedule A (Form 1040 or 1040-SR) to fi g-
ure your state and local general sales tax deduction. You 
may also be able to add the state and local general sales 
taxes paid on certain specifi ed items.

To fi gure your state and local general sales tax de-
duction using the tables, see the instructions for federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040 or 1040-SR).

Real Estate Taxes
Note: You cannot deduct foreign taxes you paid on 
real estate for tax years 2018 through 2025.

Include taxes you paid on real estate you own that was 
not used for business.

If your mortgage payments include your real estate 
taxes, you can deduct only the amount the mortgage 
company actually paid to the taxing authority in 2021.

Personal Property Taxes
Include personal property taxes you paid, but only if 

the taxes were based on value alone and were imposed 
on a yearly basis.

Note: Hawaii does not have a personal property tax. 
However, you may include personal property taxes 
you paid to other states.

Other Taxes
If you had any deductible tax not listed on Worksheet 

A-2, lines 5, 6, or 7 (such as foreign  income taxes), write 
the amount on Worksheet A-2, line 8.

Taxes You CANNOT Deduct
• Federal income tax.
• Federal excise tax on personal property, transporta-

tion, telephone, and gasoline.
• Social security tax (FICA).
• Medicare tax.
• Federal unemployment tax (FUTA).
• Railroad retirement tax (RRTA).
• Customs duties.

• Federal estate and gift taxes.
• Certain state and local taxes, including:

a. Tax on gasoline.
b. Hawaii motor vehicle registration fees, including 

car inspection fees.
c. Assessments for sidewalks or other improvements 

to your property.
d. Tax you paid for someone else.
e. License fees. (marriage, driver’s, dog, hunting, 

auto, etc.)
f. Tax on liquor, beer, wine, cigarettes, and tobacco.
g. Inheritance tax.
h. Taxes paid for your business or profession. (These 

business taxes are deducted elsewhere.)

Line 21c
 Interest You Paid
Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, does not 
adopt the federal provisions that (1) suspends the 
deduction for interest paid on home equity loans, and 
(2) lowers the dollar limit on mortgages qualifying for 
the home mortgage interest deduction for tax years 
2018 through 2025.

Complete Worksheet A-3 on page 32 to fi gure your 
deduction for interest.

You should show on Worksheet A-3 interest on non-
business items only. Business-related interest is deduct-
ed elsewhere.

Except for certain mortgage interest, the amount of 
your personal interest expense (such as credit card inter-
est) is not allowed as an itemized deduction on Work-
sheet A-3.

Home Mortgage Interest
A home mortgage is any loan that is secured by your 

main home or second home. It includes fi rst and second 
mortgages, home equity loans, and refi nanced mort-
gages.

A home can be a house, condominium, cooperative, 
mobile home, boat, or similar property. It must provide 
basic living accommodations including sleeping space, 
toilet, and cooking facilities.

Limit on home mortgage interest. If you took out 
any mortgages after October 13, 1987, your deduction 
may be limited. Any additional amounts borrowed after 
October 13, 1987, on a line-of-credit mortgage you had 
on that date are treated as a mortgage taken out after 
October 13, 1987. If you refi nanced a mortgage you had 
on October 13, 1987, treat the new mortgage as taken 
out on or before October 13, 1987. But if you refi nanced 
for more than the balance of the old mortgage, treat the 
excess as a mortgage taken out after October 13, 1987.

See the 2017 federal Publication 936 to fi gure your de-
duction if either (1) or (2) next applies. If you had more 
than one home at the same time, the dollar amounts in 
(1) and (2) apply to the total mortgages on both homes.

1. You, or your spouse if fi ling jointly, took out any 
mortgages after October 13, 1987, and used the pro-
ceeds for purposes other than to buy, build, or improve 
your home, and all of these mortgages totaled over 
$100,000 at any time during 2021. The limit is $50,000 
if married fi ling separately. An example of this type of 
mortgage is a home equity loan used to pay off  credit 
card bills, buy a car, or pay tuition.

2. You, or your spouse if fi ling jointly, took out any 
mortgages after October 13, 1987, and used the pro-
ceeds to buy, build, or improve your home, and these 

mortgages plus any mortgages you took out on or be-
fore October 13, 1987, totaled over $1 million at any 
time during 2021. The limit is $500,000 if married fi ling 
separately.

Note: If the total amount of all mortgages is more 
than the fair market value of the home, additional 
limits apply. See the 2017 federal Publication 936.

Investment Interest
Investment interest is interest paid on money you bor-

rowed that is allocable to property held for investment. 
It does not include any interest allocable to a passive 
activity.

Note: Expenses and interest for royalties and other 
income derived from any patents, copyrights, and 
trade secrets by an individual or a qualifi ed high 
technology business are deductible.

Complete and attach Form N-158, Investment Interest 
Expense Deduction, to fi gure your deduction.

Exception. You do not have to fi le Form N-158 if 
ALL of the following apply:
• Your investment interest expense is not more than 

your investment income from interest and ordinary 
dividends.

• You have no other deductible investment expenses.
• You have no disallowed investment interest expense 

from 2020.

For more details, see federal Publication 550, Invest-
ment Income and Expenses.

Interest Expense You 
CANNOT Deduct

Do not include the interest you paid for—
• Personal interest (interest on car loans and fi nance 

charges on credit cards).
• Service charges.
• Annual fees for credit cards.
• Loan fees.
• Credit investigation fees.
• Interest to purchase or carry tax-exempt securities

Line 21d
 Gifts to Charity
Note: Act 89, Session Laws of Hawaii 2021, extends the 
federal provision that allows the election to increase the 
adjusted gross income limitation on qualifi ed cash 
contributions from 60% to 100%, eff ective for 
contributions made in the calendar year of 2021. Cash 
gifts to donor-advised funds and supporting organizations 
do not qualify for this special election. The 100% limit is 
reduced dollar-for-dollar by other itemized charitable 
deductions.

Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, adopts the 
federal provisions that increases the adjusted gross 
income limitation on cash contributions from 50% to 60%, 
eff ective for contributions made in tax years 2018 through 
2025.

Complete Worksheet A-4 on page 32 to fi gure your 
deduction for charitable contributions.

Contributions You CAN 
Deduct

You may deduct what you gave to organizations that 
are religious, charitable, educational, scientifi c, or liter-
ary in purpose. You may also deduct what you gave to 
organizations that work to prevent cruelty to children or 
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animals. An organization that tells you it is a “501(c)(3) 
organization” is telling you that it falls into this category.

Examples of these organizations are:
• Churches, mosques, synagogues, temples, etc.
• Boy Scouts, Boys and Girls Clubs of America, 

CARE, Girl Scouts, Goodwill Industries, Red 
Cross, Salvation Army, United Way, etc.

• Fraternal orders, if the gifts will be used for the 
purposes listed above.

• Veterans’ and certain cultural groups.
• Nonprofi t hospitals and medical research organiza-

tions.
• Most nonprofi t educational organizations, such as 

colleges, but only if your contribution is not a sub-
stitute for tuition or other enrollment fees.

• Federal, state, and local governments if the gifts are 
solely for public purposes.

Contributions can be in cash (including checks and 
money orders), property, or out-of-pocket expenses you 
paid to do volunteer work for the kinds of organizations 
described above. If you drove to and from the volun-
teer work, you can take 14 cents a mile or the actual 
cost of gas and oil. Add parking and tolls to the amount 
you claim under either method. But don’t deduct any 
amounts that were repaid to you.

Gifts from which you benefi t. If you made a gift and 
received a benefi t in return, such as food, entertainment, 
or merchandise, you may deduct only the amount that is 
more than the value of the benefi t. For example, if you 
paid $70 to a charitable organization to attend a fund-
raising dinner and the value of the dinner was $40, you 
may deduct only $30.

If you do not know whether you can deduct what you 
gave to an organization, check with that organization.

Gifts of $250 or More. You can deduct a gift of $250 
or more only if you have a statement from the charitable 
organization showing the following information:
• The amount of any money contributed and a de-

scription (but not value) of any property donated.
• Whether the organization did or did not give you 

any goods or services in return for your contribu-
tion. If you did receive any goods or services, a de-
scription and estimate of the value must be includ-
ed. If you received only intangible religious benefi ts 
(such as admission to a religious ceremony), the 
organization must state this, but it does not have to 
describe or value the benefi t.

In fi guring whether a gift is $250 or more, do not com-
bine separate donations. For example, if you gave your 
church $25 each week for a total of $1,300, treat each 
$25 payment as a separate gift. If you made donations 
through payroll deductions, treat each deduction from 
each paycheck as a separate gift. See federal Publication 
526 if you made a separate gift of $250 or more through 
payroll deduction.

Note: You must get the statement by the date you fi le 
your return or the due date (including extensions) for 
fi ling your return, whichever is earlier. Do not attach 
the statement to your return. Instead, keep it for your 
records.

Limit on the amount you can deduct. See federal 
Publication 526 to fi gure the amount of your deduction 
if any of the following applies:
• Your cash contributions, or contributions of ordi-

nary income property, are more than 30% of your 
Hawaii adjusted gross income.

• Your gifts of capital gain property are more than 
20% of your Hawaii adjusted gross income.

• You gave gifts of property that increased in value, or 
gave gifts of the use of property.

Contributions You CANNOT 
Deduct
• An amount paid to or for the benefi t of a college 

or university in exchange for the right to purchase 
tickets to an athletic event in the college or univer-
sity’s stadium.

• Travel expenses (including meals and lodging) 
while away from home performing donated servic-
es, unless there was no signifi cant element of per-
sonal pleasure, recreation, or vacation in the travel.

• Political contributions.
• Dues, fees, or bills paid to country clubs, lodges, 

fraternal orders, or similar groups.
• Cost of raffl  e, bingo, or lottery tickets.
• Value of your time or services.
• Value of blood given to a blood bank.
• The transfer of a future interest in tangible personal 

property (generally until the entire interest has been 
transferred).

• Gifts to:
a. Individuals and groups that are run for personal 

profi t.
b. Foreign organizations.
c. Organizations engaged in certain political activi-

ties that are of direct fi nancial interest to your trade 
or business.

d. Groups whose purpose is to lobby for changes in 
the law.

e. Civic leagues, social and sports clubs, labor 
unions, and chambers of commerce.

• Value of benefi ts received in connection with a con-
tribution to a charitable organization. 

• Cost of tuition.

Gifts by Cash or Check
On Worksheet A-4, line 15, enter the total contribu-

tions you made in cash or by check (including out-of-
pocket expenses).

Recordkeeping. For any contribution made in cash, 
regardless of the amount, you must maintain as a record 
of the contribution a bank record (such as a canceled 
check or credit card statement) or a written record from 
the charity. The written record must include the name of 
the charity, date, and amount of the contribution. If you 
made contributions through payroll deduction, see fed-
eral Publication 526 for information on the records you 
must keep. Do not attach the record to your tax return. 
Instead, keep it with your other tax records.

Other Than by Cash or Check
On Worksheet A-4, line 16, enter the total contribu-

tions you made other than by cash or check. If you gave 
used items, such as clothing or furniture, deduct their 
fair market value at the time you gave them. Fair market 
value is what a willing buyer would pay a willing seller 
when neither has to buy or sell and both are aware of the 
conditions of the sale. For more details on determining 
the value of donated property, see federal Publication 
561.

If the amount of your deduction is more than $500, 
you must complete and attach federal Form 8283. For 
this purpose, the “amount of your deduction” means 
your deduction before applying any income limits that 

could result in a carryover of contributions. If you de-
duct more than $500 for a contribution of a motor ve-
hicle, boat, or airplane, you must also attach a statement 
from the charitable organization to your return. If your 
total deduction is over $5,000 ($500 for certain contri-
butions of clothing and household items), you may also 
have to get appraisals of the values of the donated prop-
erty. See federal Form 8283 and its instructions for more 
information.

Contributions of clothing and household items. A 
deduction for these contributions will be allowed only if 
the items are in good used condition or better. However, 
this rule does not apply to a contribution of any single 
item for which a deduction of more than $500 is claimed 
and for which you include a qualifi ed appraisal and fed-
eral Form 8283 with your tax return.

Recordkeeping. If you gave property, you should 
keep a receipt or written statement from the organization 
you gave the property to, or a reliable written record, 
that shows the organization’s name and address, the date 
and location of the gift, and a description of the property. 
For each gift of property, you should also keep reliable 
written records that include:
• How you fi gured the property’s value at the time 

you gave it. If the value was determined by an ap-
praisal, keep a signed copy of the appraisal.

• The cost or other basis of the property if you must 
reduce it by any ordinary income or capital gain that 
would have resulted if the property had been sold at 
its fair market value.

• How you fi gured your deduction if you chose to 
reduce your deduction for gifts of capital gain prop-
erty.

• Any conditions attached to the gift.

Line 21e
 Casualty and Theft Losses
Note: For areas in which a major disaster was 
declared between January 1, 2020 and February 25, 
2021, Act 89, Session Laws of Hawaii 2021, adopts 
the provision of the Consolidated Appropriations Act 
of 2021 that waives the requirement that casualty 
losses from qualifi ed disasters must exceed 10% of 
adjusted gross income and exceed $500 to be 
deductible.

Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, does not 
adopt the federal provision that (1) limits the personal 
casualty loss deduction for property losses (not used 
in connection with a trade or business or transaction 
entered into for profi t) to apply only to losses incurred 
as a result of federally-declared disasters for losses 
arising in tax years 2018 through 2025, and (2) 
waives the requirement that casualty losses from 
qualifi ed disasters exceed 10% of adjusted gross 
income to be deductible, and that such losses must 
exceed $500.

Complete Worksheet A-5 on page 32 to fi gure your 
deduction for casualty and theft losses.

Use line 21e to report casualty or theft loss(es) of 
property that is not used in a trade or business, or for 
income-producing purposes. Complete the 2017 federal 
Form 4684, Casualties and Thefts, to fi gure your loss. 
Write the amount from the 2017 federal Form 4684, line 
16 on line 19 of Worksheet A-5 on page 32, fi ll in Work-
sheet A-5, and attach a copy of the 2017 federal Form 
4684 to Form N-11.
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Losses You CAN Deduct
You may be able to deduct part or all of each loss 

caused by theft, vandalism, fi re, storm, or similar 
causes; car, boat, and other accidents; and corrosive dry-
wall. You may also be able to deduct money you had in 
a fi nancial institution but lost because of the insolvency 
or bankruptcy of the institution.

If your property is covered by insurance, you must 
fi le a timely insurance claim for reimbursement of your 
loss. Otherwise, you cannot deduct the loss as a casualty 
or theft loss. However, the part of the loss that is not 
covered by insurance is still deductible. You can deduct 
personal casualty or theft losses only to the extent that:
a. The amount of EACH separate casualty or theft loss is 

more than $100, and
b. The total amount of ALL losses during the year (re-

duced by the $100 limit) is more than 10% of your 
adjusted gross income.

Corrosive drywall losses. If you paid for repairs to 
your personal residence or household appliances be-
cause of corrosive drywall, you may be able to deduct 
those amounts paid. See federal Publication 547 for de-
tails.

Use Worksheet A-6, line 25, to deduct the costs of 
proving that you had a property loss. Examples of these 
costs are appraisal fees and photographs used to estab-
lish the amount of your loss.

Losses You CANNOT Deduct
• Money or property misplaced or lost.
• Accidental breaking of articles such as glassware or 

china under normal conditions.
• Damage due to progressive deterioration (steady 

weakening of a building due to normal wind and 
weather conditions; termite or moth damage; dam-
age or destruction of trees, shrubs, or other plants by 
a fungus, disease, insects, worms, or similar pests).

Line 21f
 Miscellaneous Deductions
Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, does not 
adopt the federal provision that suspends all 
miscellaneous itemized deductions that are subject to 
the 2% fl oor for tax years 2018 through 2025.

Complete Worksheet A-6 on page 32 to fi gure your 
miscellaneous deductions.

In General
Most miscellaneous deductions cannot be deducted in 

full. You must subtract 2% of your adjusted gross in-
come from the total.

Generally, the 2% limit applies to job expenses you 
paid for which you were not reimbursed (line 23). The 
limit also applies to tax preparation fees (line 24) and 
certain expenses you paid to produce or collect taxable 
income or certain tax-exempt income (line 25).

The 2% limit does not apply to certain other miscel-
laneous expenses that you may deduct. These expenses 
can be deducted in full on line 30. Gambling losses 
(to the extent of winnings) and certain job expenses of 
handicapped employees can be deducted on line 30. See 
the 2017 federal Publication 529, Miscellaneous Deduc-
tions, for more information.

Expenses Subject to the 2% 
Limit
 Employee Business Expenses
Note: The 2021 standard mileage rate for business 
use of your vehicle is 56 cents a mile.

On Worksheet A-6, line 23, report job expenses you 
paid for which you were not reimbursed. Complete the 
2017 federal Form 2106 or 2106-EZ and attach it to 
Form N-11 if:
1. You claim any travel, transportation, meal, or enter-

tainment expenses for your job; or
2. Your employer paid you for any of your job expenses 

reportable on Worksheet A-6, line 23.
Examples of expenses to include on line 23 of 

Worksheet A-6 are:
• Travel, transportation, meal, or entertainment ex-

penses.
• Union dues.
• Safety equipment, small tools, and supplies you 

needed for your job.
• Uniforms required by your employer that are not 

suitable for ordinary wear.
• Protective clothing required in your work, such as 

hard hats, safety shoes, and glasses.
• Physical examinations required by your employer.
• Dues to professional organizations and chambers 

of commerce.
• Subscriptions to professional journals.
• Fees to employment agencies and other costs to 

look for a new job in your present occupation, even 
if you do not get a new job.

• Certain business use of part of your home, but only 
if you use that part regularly and exclusively for 
business purposes and for the convenience of your 
employer. For details, including limits that apply, 
see the 2017 federal Publication 587,  Business Use 
of Your Home.

•  Certain education expenses you paid that meet at 
least one of the following two tests.
1. The education is required by your employer or the 

law to keep your present salary, status, or job. The 
required education must serve a bona fi de business 
purpose of your employer.

2. The education maintains or improves skills needed 
in your present work.

Some education expenses are not deductible. See Ex-
penses You MAY NOT Deduct on this page.

Tax Preparation Fees
On Worksheet A-6, line 24, enter the fees you paid 

for preparation of your federal and Hawaii tax return, 
including fees paid for fi ling your return electronically.

Other Expenses
Note: Expenses and interest for royalties and other 
income derived from any patents, copyrights, and 
trade secrets by an individual or a qualifi ed high 
technology business are deductible.

On Worksheet A-6, line 25, enter the total amount you 
paid to produce or collect taxable income and certain 
tax-exempt income as stated in the above note, and man-
age or protect property held for earning income. But do 
not include any personal expenses. Attach a statement 
showing the type and amount of each expense to Form 
N-11. Examples of these expenses are:

• Safe deposit box rental.
• Certain legal and accounting fees.
• Clerical help and offi  ce rent.
• Custodial (e.g., trust account) fees.
• Your share of the investment expenses of a regu-

lated investment company.
• Certain losses on nonfederally insured deposits in 

an insolvent or bankrupt fi nancial institution. For 
details, including limits that apply, see the 2017 
federal Publication 529.

• Casualty and theft losses of property used in per-
forming services as an employee.

• Deduction for repayment of amounts under a claim 
of right. See Repayments in the 2017 federal Pub-
lication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income, for 
more information.

• Convenience fee charged by the card processor for 
paying your income tax (including estimated tax 
payments) by credit or debit card. The deduction is 
claimed for the year in which the fee was charged 
to your card.

Expenses NOT Subject to the 
2% Limit
Other Deductions

 List only the following expenses on Worksheet A-6, 
line 30:
• Gambling losses, but only to the extent of gambling 

winnings reported on federal Schedule 1 (Form 
1040 or 1040-SR), line 8.

 – Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, 
adopts the federal provision that defi nes losses 
from wagering transactions to include any other-
wise allowable deduction incurred in carrying on 
wagering transactions (e.g., traveling to and from 
a casino) for tax years 2018 through 2025.

• Casualty and theft losses of income-producing 
property.

• Hawaii estate and transfer tax.
• Amortizable bond premium on bonds acquired be-

fore October 23, 1986.
• Certain unrecovered investment in an annuity (IRC 

section 72(b)(3)). For details, see the 2017 federal 
Publication 575, Pension and Annuity Income.

• Impairment-related work expenses of a disabled 
person.

List the type and amount of each expense and attach 
a copy of the list to your return. Enter one total in the 
amount space for line 30. For more information on these 
expenses, see the 2017 federal Publication 529, Miscel-
laneous Deductions.

Note: Repayments under a claim of right over $3,000 
are subject to the 2% limitation for Hawaii income tax 
purposes.

Expenses You MAY NOT 
Deduct

Some expenses are not deductible at all. Examples 
are:
• Political contributions.
• Legal expenses for personal matters that do not pro-

duce taxable income.
• Lost or misplaced cash or property.



Page 20

• Expenses for meals during regular or extra work
hours.

• The cost of entertaining friends.
• Commuting expenses.
• Travel expenses for employment away from home

if that period of employment exceeds one year.
• Travel as a form of education.
• Expenses of attending a seminar, convention, or

similar meeting unless it is related to your employ-
ment.

• Club dues.
• Expenses of adopting a child.
• Fines and penalties.
• Expenses of producing tax-exempt income, except

for expenses for royalties and other income derived
from any patents, copyrights, and trade secrets by
an individual or a qualifi ed high technology busi-
ness.

• Education that:
1. Is needed to meet the minimum educational re-

quirements of your present trade or business, or
2. Is part of a program of study that will qualify you

for a new trade or business.

Line 22
Total Itemized Deductions
Dependents

If your parent (or someone else) can claim you as a 
dependent on his or her return (even if that person chose 
not to claim you), fi ll in the oval above line 21. If you are 
claiming the standard deduction, see Standard Deduc-
tion for Dependents on this page to fi gure your standard 
deduction.

Itemized Deductions
Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, does not 
adopt the federal provision that suspends the overall 
limitation on itemized deductions for tax years 2018 
through 2025.

Note: Taxpayers with Hawaii adjusted gross income 
above a certain amount will lose part of their itemized 
deductions.

Your state income tax will be less if the total of your 
itemized deductions is larger than the  standard deduc-
tion. To fi gure your itemized deductions, fi ll in lines 21a 
to 21f.

Add lines 21a through 21f, and enter the result on line 
22 if the amount on line 20 (Hawaii adjusted gross in-
come) is $166,800 or less ($83,400 if married fi ling 
separately).

You may not be able to deduct all of your itemized 
deductions if the amount on line 20 (Hawaii adjusted 
gross income) is more than $166,800 ($83,400 if mar-
ried fi ling separately).

Use the Total Itemized Deductions Worksheet on page 
32 to fi gure the amount you may deduct.

Line 23
Standard Deduction
Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, does not 
adopt the federal provision that increases the standard 
deduction amounts for tax years 2018 through 2025.

Note: Act 89, Session Laws of Hawaii 2021, adopts 
the federal provision that allows a reduction in taxable 
income for taxpayers who take the standard deduction 
and do not itemize their deductions on their return. 
The reduction reduces taxable income by up to $300 
($600 if married fi ling jointly) for cash contributions 
made in 2021 to qualifi ed organizations. A deduction 
cannot be taken for contributions to an organization 
described in IRC section 509(a)(3) or for the 
establishment of a new, or maintenance of an existing, 
donor advised fund. Also, contributions of noncash 
property and contributions carried forward from prior 
years don’t qualify for this deduction.

Taxpayers who do not itemize their deductions may 
reduce their adjusted gross income by the amount of 
the standard deduction appropriate to their fi ling sta-
tus.  The amount of the standard deduction for each fi l-
ing status is as follows:

Filing Status Standard Deduction
Single $2,200
Married fi ling jointly  4,400
Married fi ling separately 2,200
Head of Household  3,212
Qualifying Widow(er)  4,400

If you did not itemize your deductions and had quali-
fying charitable contributions, please complete the fol-
lowing worksheet:
A. Enter the Standard Deduction

for your fi ling status ....................... A.
B. Charitable contributions of

qualifi ed cash gifts to public 
charities ........................................... B.

C. Add lines A and B. Enter the
amount on N-11, line 23 ................. C.

Standard Deduction for Dependents. If you can be
claimed as a dependent by someone else and you do not 
itemize your deductions, your standard deduction is lim-
ited to the greater of $500 or your earned income (up to 
the full standard deduction for your fi ling status). The 
standard deduction for an individual who can be claimed 
as a dependent on the tax return of another taxpayer is 
computed as follows:
A. Enter your earned income

(defi ned below). If none, 
enter zero ........................................ A.

B. Minimum amount ........................... B. 500.00
C. Compare the amounts on

lines A and B above. Enter
the LARGER of the two 
amounts here ................................... C.

D. Maximum amount. Enter 
the full standard deduction for
your fi ling status, shown in 
the chart above, here ....................... D.

E. Compare the amounts on
lines C and D above. Enter
the SMALLER of the two 
amounts here ................................... E.

F. Charitable contributions of
qualifi ed cash gifts to public 
charities ........................................... F.

G. Add lines E and F.  Enter the 
amount on N-11, line 23 ................. G.

Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips, profes-
sional fees, and other compensation received for person-
al services you performed. It also includes any taxable 
scholarship or fellowship grant. Generally, your earned 
income is the total of the amounts you reported on fed-
eral Form 1040 or Form 1040-SR, line 1 (wages), federal 

Schedule 1 (Form 1040 or 1040-SR), lines 3 (business 
income) and 6 (farming income), minus the amount, if 
any, on federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040 or 1040-SR), line 
15 (deduction for self-employment tax).

Line 24
Line 20 minus line 22 or 23, whichever applies. This 

line MUST be fi lled in. If line 24 is a negative number, 
shade the minus (-) in the box to the left of the amount 
boxes.

Line 25
 Exemptions
Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, does not 
adopt the federal provision that suspends the 
deduction for personal exemptions for tax years 2018 
through 2025.

Caution: If you can be claimed as a dependent on 
another person’s tax return, you may not claim an 
exemption for yourself.

Regular Exemptions
Residents are allowed $1,144 for each exemption they 

can claim. Multiply $1,144 by the total number of ex-
emptions you claimed on line 6e.

 Blind, Deaf, or Totally Disabled 
— Defi nition, Certifi cation, and 
 Exemptions

Fill in the appropriate oval(s) on line 25 if you are 
blind, deaf or totally disabled and your impairment 
has been certifi ed. You must submit a completed Form 
N-172 prior to fi ling your return in order to claim this 
exemption. If you do not, the exemption will be disal-
lowed and your return processed without the disabil-
ity exemption(s) claimed.

“Blind” means a person whose central visual acuity 
does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting 
lenses, or whose visual acuity is greater than 20/200 but 
is accompanied by a limitation in the fi eld of vision such 
that the widest diameter of the visual fi eld subtends an 
angle no greater than 20 degrees.

 “Deaf” means a person whose average loss in the 
speech frequencies (500-2000 Hertz) in the better ear is 
82 decibels, A.S.A., or worse.

“Person totally disabled” means a person who is total-
ly and permanently disabled, either physically or men-
tally, which results in the person’s inability to engage 
in any substantial gainful business or occupation. It is 
presumed that a person whose earned income exceeds 
$30,000 for the taxable year is engaged in a substantial, 
gainful business or occupation.

The impairment of sight, deafness or disability shall 
be certifi ed on the basis of a written report on an exami-
nation performed by a qualifi ed ophthalmologist, quali-
fi ed optometrist or a qualifi ed otolaryngologist, licensed 
audiologist, or a qualifi ed physician, as the case may be, 
on Form N-172.

 A blind, deaf or totally disabled person who qualifi es, 
may be allowed a Disability Exemption of $7,000. The 
Disability Exemption is in lieu of the regular personal 
exemption of $1,144. The following maximum exemp-
tions are allowed:
One Individual (any fi ling status) — $7,000
Taxpayer and Spouse (non-disabled 

spouse under 65) — 8,144
Taxpayer and Spouse (non-disabled 
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spouse age 65 or over) — 9,288
Taxpayer and Spouse (both 

disabled) —   14,000
Note: If you claim this special exemption you will not 
be able to claim the additional exemptions for your 
children or other dependents, or for being 65 or older.

For more information, see Tax Information Release 
No. 89-3, “State Tax Benefi ts Available to Persons with 
Impaired Sight, Impaired Hearing, or Who are Totally 
Disabled.”

Also, see the administrative rules relating to substan-
tial gainful business or occupation (section 18-235-
1.14(d), HAR).

Line 26
Taxable Income

Line 24 minus line 25, but not less than zero.

Note: Act 27, Session Laws of Hawaii 2018, does not 
adopt the federal provision that allows a deduction for 
qualifi ed business income from a partnership, S 
corporation, or sole proprietorship for tax years 2018 
through 2025.

 Tax Computation
Line 27
Tax

To fi gure your tax, you will use one of the following 
methods. Read the conditions below to see which you 
should use, and fi ll in the appropriate oval on line 27 if 
you use the tax table, tax rate schedules, or alternative 
tax on capital gains. Fill in the oval for tax from the ap-
plicable forms if you use Form N-168 or Form N-615. 
Then, go to the Tax Computation Worksheet on page 32.

Tax Table
If your taxable income is less than $100,000, you 

MUST use the Tax Table at tax.hawaii.gov/forms/ to 
fi nd your tax. Be sure you use the correct column in the 
Tax Table. After you have found the correct tax, enter 
that amount.  There is an example at the beginning of 
the table to help you fi nd the correct tax.

Tax Rate Schedules
You must use the Tax Rate Schedules on page 36 to 
fi gure your tax if your taxable income is $100,000 or 
more.

Form N-168
An individual engaged in a farming or fi shing busi-

ness may elect to average their farming or fi shing in-
come over a three-year period. See Form N-168 for 
more information.

Form N-615
If a child under age 14 has unearned income of more 

than $1,000, use Form N-615,  Computation of Tax for 
Children Under Age 14 Who Have Unearned Income of 
More than $1,000, to see if any of the child’s unearned 
income is taxed at the parent’s rate and, if so, to fi gure 
the child’s tax. See Form N-615 for more information.

 Alternative Tax on Capital Gains
If you have a net capital gain, you may be able to 

reduce your tax using the Tax on Capital Gains Work-
sheet on page 33 if your taxable income is over $48,000 
($24,000 for Single, and Married Filing Separately; 

or $36,000 for Head of Household classifi cations). If 
your taxable income is $48,000 ($24,000 for Single, 
and Married Filing Separately; or $36,000 for Head of 
Household classifi cations) or under, do not use the Tax 
on Capital Gains Worksheet on page 33.

Some taxpayers will have Hawaii gain adjustments. 
Before fi lling in the worksheet, determine whether you 
have adjustments from the Hawaii Additions Worksheet 
on page 31, e (gain adjustment), or j (other adjust-
ments); from the Hawaii Subtractions Worksheet on 
page 31, j (certain income from a qualifi ed high technol-
ogy business), or n (other adjustments); or from Form 
N-152 (lump sum distribution from a pension plan). If 
you do, separate the adjustments into long-term gain 
adjustments for assets held for more than a year, and 
short-term adjustments for assets held for a year or less.

 Total Tax Liability
Use the Tax Computation Worksheet on page 32 to 
fi gure your total tax liability.

 Refundable Credits
IMPORTANT! If the amount of payments plus these 
credits is at least $1 more than your tax, the diff erence 
will be refunded to you. It is very important that you 
carefully read the following instructions for each of 
these credits to ensure that you properly claim all the 
credits to which you are entitled.

Line 28
  Refundable Food/Excise Tax 
Credit

If your federal adjusted gross income was less than 
$50,000 (less than $30,000 if your fi ling status is Sin-
gle), you may qualify for this credit.

For more information, see Form N-311, Refundable 
Food/Excise Tax Credit.

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are being claimed 
or eligible to be claimed as a dependent by any 
taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax purposes.

To claim this credit. Complete Form N-311 and at-
tach it to your return.

Deadline for claiming this credit. If you are a cal-
endar year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the credit, 
including amended claims, is December 31, 2022. If 
you are a fi scal year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the 
credit, including amended claims, is 12 months after the 
close of your taxable year. You cannot claim or amend 
the credit after the deadline.

Line 29
 Credit for Low-Income 
Household Renters

If you occupy and pay rent for real property within 
the State as your residence, your Hawaii adjusted gross 
income was less than $30,000, and the rent you paid 
during 2021 was more than $1,000, you may qualify for 
this credit. See the instructions for Schedule X, Part I, 
on page 27.

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are being claimed 
or eligible to be claimed as a dependent by any 
taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax purposes.

To claim this credit. Complete Schedule X, Part I, 
and attach it to your return.

Deadline for claiming this credit. If you are a cal-
endar year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the credit, 
including amended claims, is December 31, 2022. If 
you are a fi scal year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the 
credit, including amended claims, is 12 months after the 
close of your taxable year. You cannot claim or amend 
the credit after the deadline.

Line 30
  Credit for Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses

Certain payments made for child and dependent care 
(including payments made to the State of Hawaii A+ 
Program) may be claimed as a credit against your tax 
due. See the instructions for Schedule X, Part II, on page 
27.

Note: Do not claim this credit if you are being claimed 
or eligible to be claimed as a dependent by any 
taxpayer for federal or Hawaii income tax purposes.

To claim this credit. Complete Schedule X, Part II, 
and attach it to your return.

Line 31
Credit for Child Passenger 
Restraint System

Each taxpayer who fi les an individual income tax re-
turn for the taxable year may claim a tax credit for 2021 
for the purchase of one or more new child passenger 
restraint systems which comply with federal motor ve-
hicle safety standards.

Note: This credit is $25 per return regardless of the 
cost or the number of restraint systems purchased.

To claim this credit. Enter $25 in line 31, and attach a 
copy of the sales invoice, which states the type of child 
restraint system purchased, to your return.

Your claim for this credit may be rejected if the in-
voice is not attached, or if 1) or 2) applies but no state-
ment or explanation is attached.
1) If the invoice doesn’t have your name on it, you must 

attach a statement saying that you and nobody else 
is claiming the credit for the purchase described in 
the invoice.

2) If the invoice has somebody else’s name on it, you 
must attach an explanation.

Deadline for claiming this credit. If you are a cal-
endar year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the credit, 
including amended claims, is December 31, 2022. If 
you are a fi scal year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the 
credit, including amended claims, is 12 months after the 
close of your taxable year. You cannot claim or amend 
the credit after the deadline.

Line 32
Total Refundable Tax Credits 
from Schedule CR

If you are claiming any refundable tax credits, you 
must use Schedule CR, Schedule of Tax Credits, to sum-
marize the total refundable tax credits claimed. Com-
plete Part I of Schedule CR, and enter the amount from 
Schedule CR, line 8, on line 32. Attach Schedule CR 
directly behind Form N-11. See Instructions for Sched-
ule CR for more information.
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Other Credits
Pro Rata Share of Taxes Withheld 
and Paid by a Partnership or S 
Corporation on the Sale of Hawaii 
Real Property Interests

If the tax was withheld by a partnership or S corpora-
tion, and you are taxable on a pro rata share of the en-
tity’s gain on the sale, include ONLY the amount of your 
pro rata share of any net income taxes withheld and paid 
by the partnership or S corporation on Schedule CR, line 
7a, and attach a copy of the Schedule K-1 issued to you 
by the partnership, estate, trust, or S corporation.

Note: If the partnership or S corporation fi led a Form 
N-288C, Application for Tentative Refund of 
Withholding on Dispositions by Nonresident Persons 
of Hawaii Real Property Interests, you may not claim 
this credit for your share of the amount being refunded 
to the entity.

Credit From a Regulated Investment 
Company

A shareholder of a regulated investment company 
is allowed a credit for the tax paid to the State by the 
company on the amount of capital gains which by IRC 
section 852(b)(3)(D) is required to be included in the 
shareholder’s return. The regulated investment com-
pany will notify you of the undistributed capital gains 
amount and the tax paid, if any. If this credit applies to 
you, include the amount on Schedule CR, line 7b, and 
attach an explanation.

Line 34
Adjusted Tax Liability

Line 27 minus line 33. Enter the result on this line.

If line 34 is a negative number, shade the minus (-) in 
the box to the left of the amount boxes.

If you are using nonrefundable credits to off set your 
adjusted tax liability (line 34), the total of the nonre-
fundable credits used cannot be greater than your ad-
justed tax liability. If line 34 is zero or less, nonrefund-
able tax credits may not be used. Even if you are not 
able to use the nonrefundable tax credits, complete the 
forms for any tax credits you qualify for, and attach the 
forms to your Form N-11. If the forms are not attached, 
no claim for the tax credit has been made, and you will 
lose the carryover of your unused tax credits.

 Nonrefundable Credits
Line 35
Total Nonrefundable Tax 
Credits from Schedule CR
Note: If line 34 is zero or less, no tax credit may be 
used. Enter zero on line 35.

If you are claiming any nonrefundable tax credits, 
you must use Schedule CR, Schedule of Tax Credits, to 
summarize the total nonrefundable tax credits claimed. 
Complete Part II of Schedule CR, and enter the amount 
from Schedule CR, line 28, on line 35. Attach Sched-
ule CR directly behind Form N-11. See Instructions for 
Schedule CR for more information.

Line 36
Line 34 minus line 35. Enter the result on this line.

If line 36 is a negative number, shade the minus (-) in 
the box to the left of the amount boxes.

Tax Already Paid
Line 37
  Total Hawaii Income Tax 
Withheld

Add the Hawaii income tax withheld as shown on fed-
eral Form(s) W-2 and 1099-G (unemployment compen-
sation), State Form N-2, and any other forms that show 
Hawaii income tax withheld. Enter the total on this line. 
Attach a copy of federal Form(s) W-2 and 1099-G, and 
Form N-2 showing the withholding. If not attached, the 
withholding may be disallowed.

Note: If taxes were withheld on the sale of Hawaii real 
property, report this amount on line 38, “2021 
Estimated Tax Payments.”

Line 38
2021  Estimated Tax Payments

Enter on this line your estimated Hawaii income tax 
payments made on Form N-200V for 2021. Do not in-
clude your 2020 overpayment you requested to have ap-
plied to your 2021 estimated tax (this amount is to be 
reported on line 39).

Also include on this line the amount of taxes withheld 
on the sale of Hawaii real property computed as follows:
1. Amount of taxes withheld as shown 

on Form(s) N-288A, “Statement of 
Withholding on Dispositions by 
Nonresident Persons of Hawaii Real 
Property Interests” ..........................

2. Amount of refund you already applied for 
on Form(s) N-288C, “Application for 
Tentative Refund of Withholding on 
Dispositions by Nonresident Persons 
of Hawaii Real Property Interests” .....

3. Line 1 minus line 2. Include this 
amount on Form N-11, line 38. ......

Note: Attach a copy of the Form(s) N-288A showing 
the withholding.

If the tax was withheld for you through a partnership 
or S corporation, see the Instructions for Pro Rata Share 
of Taxes Withheld and Paid by a Partnership or S Cor-
poration on the Sale of Hawaii Real Property Interests 
on page 21.

If you made estimated tax payments on Forms N-
200V or had tax withheld on the sale of Hawaii real 
property on Form N-288A for yourself and your spouse 
under your social security number but are now fi ling 
separate returns, you can enter the total amount paid 
with Forms N-200V or Form N-288A on either of your 
separate returns or you and your spouse can divide the 
payments in any agreed amount. Use Form L-12, Re-
quest for Allocation of Tax Amounts for Individuals, to 
allocate the Forms N-200V or Form N-288A payments 
between you and your spouse. Also, enter the social se-
curity numbers of both spouses on the separate returns.

If you and your spouse each fi led separate Forms N-
200V or have separate Forms N-288A but are now fi ling 
a joint return, enter the total paid with both Forms N-
200V or Forms N-288A on your joint return.

Follow the above instructions even if your spouse died 
during the year.

Line 39
2020 Overpayment Applied to 
2021 Estimated Tax

Enter on this line any overpayment from your 2020 
return that you applied to your 2021 estimated tax.

Line 40
Amount Paid with Extension

If you made an extension payment with Form N-
200V, enter the amount you paid on this line.

If you made an extension payment for yourself and 
your spouse under your social security number on Form 
N-200V but are now fi ling separate returns, you can en-
ter the total amount paid with Form N-200V on either of 
your separate returns or you and your spouse can divide 
the payment in any agreed amount. Use Form L-12, Re-
quest for Allocation of Tax Amounts for Individuals, to 
allocate the Form N-200V payment between you and 
your spouse. Also, enter the social security numbers of 
both spouses on the separate returns.

If you and your spouse each fi led separate Forms N-
200V but are now fi ling a joint return, enter the total 
paid with both Forms N-200V on your joint return.

Line 41
Total Payments

Add lines 37 through 40. Enter the amount on this line.

Refund or  Balance Due
Line 42
Amount Overpaid

If line 41 is larger than line 36, and line 36 is zero or 
more, subtract line 36 from line 41 and show the diff er-
ence on line 42. This is the amount overpaid.

However, if line 36 is less than zero, complete the fol-
lowing worksheet:

1. Amount from line 36 (enter as 
 a positive number). .....................

2. Amount from line 41. .................
3. Add line 1 and line 2. .................
Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet on line 

42. This is the amount overpaid.

If you have an underpayment of estimated tax penalty 
on line 50, do not include the penalty amount on this 
line. Your overpayment will be reduced automatically 
by the amount of the penalty.

Line 43a
Contribution to the Hawaii 
Schools Repairs and 
Maintenance Fund

The Hawaii School-Level Minor Repairs and Main-
tenance Special Fund provides moneys for school-
level minor repairs and maintenance. If you have an 
overpayment of at least $2 ($4 if married and fi ling a 
joint return), you can choose to contribute to the Hawaii 
School-Level Minor Repairs and Maintenance Special 
Fund.
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Fill in the appropriate oval(s) if you want to contrib-
ute $2 to the Hawaii School-Level Minor Repairs and 
Maintenance Special Fund (or $4 if you are fi ling a joint 
return and your spouse also wants to contribute). No 
other amounts can be accepted. Your contribution will 
reduce your refund. Once made, the contribution cannot 
be revoked.

Line 43b
Contribution to the Hawaii 
Public Libraries Fund

The Hawaii Public Libraries Special Fund provides 
moneys to support the operations of the library system. 
If you have an overpayment of at least $5 ($10 if mar-
ried and fi ling a joint return), you can choose to contrib-
ute to the Hawaii Public Libraries Special Fund.

Fill in the appropriate oval(s) if you want to contribute 
$5 to the Hawaii Public Libraries Special Fund (or $10 
if you are fi ling a joint return and your spouse also wants 
to contribute). No other amounts can be accepted. Your 
contribution will reduce your refund. Once made, the 
contribution cannot be revoked.

Line 43c
Contribution to the Domestic 
and Sexual Violence / Child 
Abuse and Neglect Funds

The Hawaii Children’s Trust Fund provides moneys 
for the award of grants for primary and secondary pre-
vention activities to prevent child abuse and neglect. 
The Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Special 
Fund provides moneys for programs and grants or 
purchases of service that support or provide domestic 
violence and sexual assault intervention or prevention. 
The Spouse and Child Abuse Special Accounts provide 
moneys for staff  programs, and grants or purchases of 
service that support or provide spouse or child abuse in-
tervention or prevention. If you have an overpayment of 
at least $5 ($10 if married and fi ling a joint return), you 
can choose to contribute to these funds.

Fill in the appropriate oval(s) if you want to contribute 
$5 to the Hawaii Children’s Trust Fund, the Domestic 
Violence and Sexual Assault Special Fund, and the 
Spouse and Child Abuse Special Accounts (or $10 if 
you are fi ling a joint return and your spouse also wants 
to contribute). No other amounts can be accepted. Your 
contribution will reduce your refund. Once made, the 
contribution cannot be revoked.

Line 46
Applied to 2022 Estimated Tax
Caution: Unless otherwise requested, the Department 
will apply all joint payments to the fi rst claim on a tax 
return by any party to the joint payment. To request the 
allocation of joint payments to each of your and your 
spouse’s individual tax accounts, complete Form L-12, 
Request for Allocation of Tax Amounts for Individuals, 
and attach it to your 2021 individual tax return.

Enter the amount from line 45 that you want applied to 
your estimated tax for 2022.

If you have an underpayment of estimated tax penalty 
on line 50, do not include the penalty amount on this 
line. The amount applied to your 2022 estimated tax will 
be reduced automatically by the amount of the penalty.

If you and your spouse fi led a joint return for 2021 
but will fi le separate returns for 2022, you can request 

that the 2022 estimated tax be applied to either of your 
separate returns or you and your spouse can divide the 
estimated tax to be applied in any agreed amount. Use 
Form L-12, Request for Allocation of Tax Amounts for 
Individuals, to allocate the estimated tax to be applied 
between you and your spouse. Also, enter the social se-
curity numbers of both spouses on the separate returns.

Line 47a
Refund

Line 45 minus line 46. This is the amount that will be 
refunded to you.

If you have an underpayment of estimated tax penalty 
on line 50, do not include the penalty amount on this 
line. The amount of your refund will be reduced auto-
matically by the amount of the penalty.

Note: Fill in the oval under line 47a if the ultimate 
destination of your refund is to a foreign (non-U.S.) 
bank account. Do not complete lines 47b through 47d. 
Due to rules for international ACH transactions, the 
direct deposit of your refund into a foreign (non-U.S.) 
bank account will not be available. A check will be sent 
to you instead.

Note: If you are fi ling a Hawaii income tax return for 
the fi rst time, you will not be allowed to have your 
refund directly deposited into your checking or 
savings account. Do not complete lines 47b through 
47d. A check will be sent to you instead.

Note: If you are fi ling your return after the prescribed 
due date, the refund shown may be limited or 
disallowed due to the statute of limitations. In general, 
a claim for refund or credit for overpaid income taxes 
must be fi led within three years after the return is fi led 
for the taxable year, within three years of the due date 
for fi ling the return, or within two years from when the 
tax is paid, whichever is later. For purposes of 
determining whether a refund or credit is allowed, 
taxes paid on or before the due date of the return (e.g., 
taxes withheld from an employee’s pay, or estimated 
tax payments) are considered paid on the due date of 
the return, without considering an extension of time to 
fi le the return.

Lines 47b Through 47d
 Direct Deposit of Refund

Complete lines 47b through 47d if you want the De-
partment to directly deposit the amount shown on line 
47a into your checking or savings account at a bank or 
other fi nancial institution (such as a mutual fund, bro-
kerage fi rm, or credit union) instead of sending you a 
check.

Note: If the ultimate destination of your refund is to a 
foreign (non-U.S.) bank account, do not complete 
lines 47b through 47d. See the instructions for line 
47a.

Note: If you are fi ling a Hawaii income tax return for 
the fi rst time, do not complete lines 47b through 47d. 
See the instructions for line 47a.

Note: If you owe certain past-due debt, such as child 
support, and all or part of the overpayment on line 42 
is used (off set) to pay the past-due amount, you will 
not be allowed to have your refund directly deposited 
into your checking or savings account. A check will be 
sent to you instead.

Why Use Direct Deposit?
• You get your refund fast – even faster if you e-fi le!

• Payment is more secure – there is no check to get 
lost.

• More convenient. No trip to the bank to deposit 
your check.

• Saves tax dollars. A refund by direct deposit costs 
less than a check.

You can check with your fi nancial institution to make 
sure your deposit will be accepted and to get the cor-
rect routing and account numbers. The Department is 
not responsible for a lost refund if you enter the wrong 
account information.

If you fi le a joint return and fi ll in lines 47b through 
47d, you are appointing your spouse as an agent to re-
ceive the refund. This appointment cannot be changed 
later.

Some fi nancial institutions will not allow a joint re-
fund to be deposited into an individual account. If the 
direct deposit is rejected, a check will be sent instead. 
The Department is not responsible if a fi nancial institu-
tion rejects a direct deposit.

Routing Number
The routing number must be nine digits. The fi rst two 

digits must be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. Other-
wise, the direct deposit will be rejected and a check sent 
instead.

Your check may state that it is payable through a fi -
nancial institution diff erent from the one at which you 
have your checking account. If so, do not use the rout-
ing number on that check. Instead, contact your fi nan-
cial institution for the correct routing number to enter 
on line 47b.

Type of Account
On line 47c, fi ll in the applicable oval to indicate 

whether you want your refund deposited into your 
checking or savings account.

Account Number
Contact your fi nancial institution for the correct ac-

count number to enter on line 47d. The account number 
can be up to 17 characters (both numbers and letters). 
Omit spaces, hyphens, and special symbols. Enter the 
number from left to right and leave any unused boxes 
blank. Be sure not to include the check number.

Line 48
 Balance Due

If line 36 is larger than line 41, the diff erence is your 
balance due.

Note: If you include penalty and/or interest for the 
late fi ling of your return with your payment, identify 
and enter these amounts on a separate sheet of paper 
and attach to Form N-11. Do not include the penalty 
and/or interest amounts for the late fi ling of your 
return on this line. Also, if you have an underpayment 
of estimated tax penalty on line 50, do not include the 
penalty amount on this line.

Line 49
Payment Amount

Enter the amount of your payment, including any pen-
alty and interest. You can pay online at hitax.hawaii.gov 
or by check or money order payable to “Hawaii State 
Tax Collector.” Write your social security number, day-
time phone number, and “2021 Form N-11” on your 
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check or money order, and attach it to the front of Form 
N-11.

Note: Form N-200V is no longer required when 
making a payment with your return.

Note: If you cannot pay the full amount you owe, you 
can request to enter a payment agreement after you 
receive the billing notice. Please be aware that penalty 
and interest continue to accrue on the unpaid tax 
amount even though you have not received the billing 
notice. Payments will be accepted and applied to your 
tax liability; however, to ensure your payments are 
applied correctly, your check or money order must 
have: (1) your name clearly printed on the check as it 
is printed on the tax return (if fi ling a joint return, also 
print your spouse’s name), (2) your social security 
number (if fi ling a joint return, also write your 
spouse’s social security number), (3) your daytime 
phone number, and (4) the tax year and form number 
you fi led (e.g., 2021 N-11).

Line 50
Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax  Penalty

See the instructions for Penalties and Interest on page 
26 and Form N-210, Underpayment of Estimated Tax 
by Individuals, Estates, and Trusts, to see if you owe 
a penalty for the underpayment of estimated taxes. If 
you owe a penalty, enter the penalty amount on Form 
N-11, line 50. Do not include the penalty amount on 
lines 42, 46, 47a, or 48. If you have an overpayment, 
your overpayment (and the amount applied to your 2022 
estimated tax or the amount of your refund) will be re-
duced automatically by the amount of the penalty. If you 
have any taxes due, include the amount of the penalty 
on line 49.

Fill in the oval at line 50 if Form N-210 is attached.

Note: If you are a farmer or fi sherman, you may 
receive a penalty notice for underpaying estimated tax 
even though you fi led your return on time, attached 
Form N-210, and met the gross income from farming 
or fi shing requirement. If you receive a penalty notice 
and you think it is in error, write to the address on the 
notice and explain why you think the notice is in error. 
Include a computation showing that you met the gross 
income from farming or fi shing requirement. 

 Amended Returns
If you are fi ling an amended return, fi ll in the amend-

ed return oval at the top of Form N-11. Complete your 
amended return using corrected amounts through line 
50. Attach Schedule AMD, Explanation of Changes on
Amended Return, to the income tax return Form N-11. 
Also attach all forms and statements required to fi le a 
complete return. If you are claiming any tax credits, re-
member to attach the required forms, such as Schedule 
CR and Schedule X, even if you claimed the credits on 
the original return.

If you are fi ling an amended return due to a farming 
net operating loss carryback, also fi ll in the  NOL Car-
ryback oval and attach a copy of your original federal 
income tax return for the loss year.

If you are fi ling an amended return due to an IRS ad-
justment, also fi ll in the IRS Adjustment oval.

See page 26 of the instructions for more information.

Line 51
Amount Paid (Overpaid) on 
Original Return

Enter on line 51 the amount paid on your original 2021 
Form N-11, line 48 (plus the amount of estimated tax 
penalty on line 50, if any); or the amount overpaid on 
your original 2021 Form N-11, line 42 (less the amount 
of estimated tax penalty on line 50, if any). If the amount 
is an overpayment, shade the minus (-) in the box to the 
left of the amount boxes.

Attach Schedule AMD, Explanation of Changes on 
Amended Return. Also attach all forms and statements 
required to fi le a complete return. If you are claiming 
any tax credits, remember to attach the required forms, 
such as Schedule CR and Schedule X, even if you 
claimed the credits on the original return.

Line 52
 Balance Due (Refund) With 
Amended Return

If no amount was entered on line 51, enter on line 52 
the amount, if any, from line 47a (less the amount of 
estimated tax penalty on line 50, if any) or line 48 (plus 
the amount of estimated tax penalty on line 50, if any) 
of the amended return.

If there is an amount on line 51, complete one of the 
worksheets below. When completing the worksheet, en-
ter all amounts as positive numbers.

If there is an amount on line 51 and that amount is:
a. A payment and there is an amount on line 42, com-

plete the following worksheet:
1. Amount from line 42 (less 

the amount of estimated tax 
penalty on line 50, if any) ...........

2. Amount from line 51 ..................
3. Add line 1 and line 2 ...................
Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet on line 

52. This is the amount of your overpayment on your
amended return. Shade the minus (-) in the box to the
left of the amount boxes.
b. A payment and there is an amount on line 48, com-

plete the following worksheet:
1. Amount from line 48 (plus

the amount of estimated tax 
penalty on line 50, if any) ...........

2. Amount from line 51 ..................
3. Line 1 minus line 2 .....................
Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet on line 

52.

If the amount on line 1 of the worksheet is larger than 
the amount on line 2 of the worksheet, this is the amount 
you owe on your amended return.

If the amount on line 2 of the worksheet is larger than 
the amount on line 1 of the worksheet, this is the amount 
of your overpayment on your amended return. Shade the 
minus (-) in the box to the left of the amount boxes.
c. An overpayment and there is an amount on line 42,

complete the following worksheet:
1. Amount from line 42 (less 

the amount of estimated tax 
penalty on line 50, if any) ...........

2. Amount from line 51 ..................
3. Line 1 minus line 2 .....................

Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet on line 
52.

If the amount on line 1 of the worksheet is larger than 
the amount on line 2 of the worksheet, this is the amount 
of your overpayment on your amended return. Shade the 
minus (-) in the box to the left of the amount boxes.

If the amount on line 2 of the worksheet is larger than 
the amount on line 1 of the worksheet, this is the amount 
you owe on your amended return.
d. An overpayment and there is an amount on line 48,

complete the following worksheet:
1. Amount from line 48 (plus

the amount of estimated tax 
penalty on line 50, if any) ...........

2. Amount from line 51 ..................
3. Add line 1 and line 2 ...................
Enter the amount from line 3 of the worksheet on line 

52. This is the amount you owe on your amended return.

If you have an overpayment on your amended return,
you may contribute to the (1) Hawaii Schools Repairs and 
Maintenance Fund (line 43a) if line 43a on your original 
return was blank, (2) Hawaii Public Libraries Fund (line 
43b) if line 43b on your original return was blank, and/or 
(3) Domestic and Sexual Violence/Child Abuse and Ne-
glect Funds (line 43c) if line 43c on your original return
was blank.

Subtract the amount contributed to the above funds 
from the amount of overpayment available and enter the 
diff erence on line 52. Shade the minus (-) in the box to 
the left of the amount boxes. Be sure that the sum of the 
amounts entered on lines 43a, 43b, 43c, and 52 is not 
more than the overpayment available.

If you have an amount due on your amended return, 
send your payment to the Department by attaching your 
check or money order to the front of Form N-11. Write 
your social security number, daytime phone number, 
and “2021 Amended Form N-11” on your check or 
money order.

Attach Schedule AMD, Explanation of Changes on 
Amended Return. Also attach all forms and statements 
required to fi le a complete return. If you are claiming 
any tax credits, remember to attach the required forms, 
such as Schedule CR and Schedule X, even if you 
claimed the credits on the original return.

 Taxpayer Questionnaire
All taxpayers MUST complete lines 53, 54, and 

55.

Line 53
Schedule C

If you fi lled in Schedule C or Schedule C-EZ for fed-
eral Form 1040 (for taxpayers receiving income from 
operating a business or practicing a profession as a sole 
proprietorship), check “Yes.” If you checked “No,” go on 
to line 54.

Hawaii Gross Receipts
Enter your Hawaii gross receipts or sales, net of re-

turns and allowances. This will be the Hawaii amount 
from Schedule C, line 3; or Schedule C-EZ, line 1. If 
you do not have any Hawaii gross receipts or sales, enter 
zero (0).

If you fi led more than one Schedule C, enter the total 
of your Hawaii gross receipts.
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Main Business Activity and Product
Report the business activity that accounted for the 

most gross income included here. Also, enter the busi-
ness product or service. For example, business activity: 
wholesale, business product: groceries; or business ac-
tivity: retail, business product: hardware.

Hawaii Tax Identifi cation Number
If you are operating a business or practicing a profes-

sion as a sole proprietorship in Hawaii, enter your Ha-
waii Tax Identifi cation Number for this activity. If you 
are not operating a business or practicing a profession 
as a sole proprietorship in Hawaii, and do not have a 
Hawaii Tax Identifi cation Number for this activity, leave 
the boxes blank.

If more than one identifi cation number applies, enter 
the identifi cation number that accounted for the most 
gross income included here. On a separate sheet, list the 
other identifi cation number(s), along with the Hawaii 
gross receipts, main business activity, and main business 
product relating to that identifi cation number(s).

Line 54
  Rents on Schedule E

If you received rental income and reported it on 
Schedule E, federal Form 1040, check “Yes.” If you 
checked “No,” go on to line 55.

Hawaii Gross Receipts
Enter your Hawaii gross rents. In most cases, this will 

be the Hawaii amount from Schedule E, line 3. If you do 
not have any Hawaii gross rents, enter zero (0).

If you fi led more than one Schedule E, enter the total 
of your Hawaii gross rents.

Hawaii Tax Identifi cation Number
If you received rental income from property located 

in Hawaii, enter your Hawaii Tax Identifi cation Num-
ber for this activity, even if you wrote the same number 
down on line 53. If you did not receive rental income 
from property located in Hawaii, and do not have a Ha-
waii Tax Identifi cation Number for this activity, leave 
the boxes blank.

If more than one identifi cation number applies, enter 
the identifi cation number that accounted for the most 
gross rents included here. On a separate sheet, list the 
other identifi cation number(s), along with the Hawaii 
gross rents relating to that identifi cation number(s).

Line 55
 Schedule F

If you completed Schedule F for federal Form 1040 
(for those receiving farming income), check “Yes.” If 
you checked “No,” go to Step 7 on this page.

Hawaii Gross Receipts
Enter your Hawaii gross receipts or sales, net of re-

turns and allowances. This will be the Hawaii amount 
from Schedule F, line 9. If you do not have any Hawaii 
gross receipts or sales, enter zero (0).

Main Business Activity and Product
Report the business activity that accounted for the 

most gross income included here. Also, enter the busi-
ness product or service. For example, business activity: 
ranching, business product: cattle.

Hawaii Tax Identifi cation Number
If you are operating a farm in Hawaii, enter your Ha-

waii Tax Identifi cation Number for this activity, even if 
you wrote the same number down on line 53 or 54. If 
you are not operating a farm in Hawaii, and do not have 
a Hawaii Tax Identifi cation Number for this activity, 
leave the boxes blank.

If more than one identifi cation number applies, enter 
the identifi cation number that accounted for the most 
gross income included here. On a separate sheet, list the 
other identifi cation number(s), along with the Hawaii 
gross receipts, main business activity, and main business 
product relating to that identifi cation number(s).

Now continue with Step 7 
below.

 Step 7
Check your return to make 
sure it is correct.
Step 8
 Third Party Designee

If you want to authorize the Department to discuss 
the processing of your tax return with a person that you 
designate, enter the name of your third party designee, 
telephone number, and identifi cation number. You are 
authorizing the Department to call your third party des-
ignee to answer any questions that may arise during the 
processing of your tax return. This designation does not 
allow your third party designee to call the Department 
for information about the processing of your return or 
for other issues relating to your return.

Note: This designation is not a full power of attorney 
and does not replace Form N-848.

Step 9
 Hawaii Election Campaign Fund
(For Hawaii State and County Elections)

This Fund supports the Hawaii Campaign Spending 
Commission, a watchdog agency that works to ensure 
that all campaign donations and expenditures are made 
public and comply with campaign fi nance laws to pre-
vent corruption in politics. The Fund also supports the 
public fi nancing of political campaigns which makes 
qualifi ed candidates less dependent on private special 
interest donors to fund their campaigns.

If you have a tax liability of at least $3 ($6 if married 
and fi ling a joint return), you can choose to contribute 
to the Hawaii Election Campaign Fund. If you fi ll in the 
“Yes” oval, $3 will go to the Hawaii Election Campaign 
Fund. If you are fi ling a joint return, and your spouse 
wants $3 to go to the Fund, fi ll in the second “Yes” oval.

Filling in “Yes” will not increase your tax or reduce 
your refund.

Once made, the designation cannot be revoked for this 
taxable year.

See the Hawaii Campaign Spending Commission 
website at hawaii.gov/campaign or call 808-586-0285 
for more information.

Step 10
Sign and date your return.

Form N-11 is not considered a valid return unless you 
sign it. If you are unable to sign the return (due to dis-
ease or injury, etc.), you can appoint an agent to sign 
your return. A return signed by an agent must have a 
power of attorney attached that authorizes the agent to 
sign for you. You can use Form N-848, Power of At-
torney.

Be sure to date your return. If you have someone else 
prepare your return, you are still responsible for the cor-
rectness of the return.

Joint Return. Your spouse must also sign Form N-11 
if it is a joint return. If your spouse cannot sign because 
of disease or injury and tells you to sign, you can sign 
your spouse’s name in the proper space on the return fol-
lowed by the words “By (your name), Spouse.” Be sure 
to also sign in the space provided for your signature. 
Attach a dated statement, signed by you, to the return. 
The statement should include the form number of the 
return you are fi ling, the tax year, and the reason your 
spouse cannot sign, and that your spouse has agreed to 
your signing for him or her.

If you are the guardian of your spouse who is mentally 
incompetent, you can sign the return for your spouse as 
guardian.

If your spouse is unable to sign the return because he 
or she is serving in a combat zone, and you do not have 
a power of attorney or other statement, you can sign for 
your spouse. Attach a signed statement to your return 
that explains that your spouse is serving in a combat 
zone.

If your spouse cannot sign the joint return for any 
other reason, you can sign for your spouse only if you 
are given a valid power of attorney. Attach the power of 
attorney to your tax return.

If you are fi ling a joint return as the surviving spouse, 
see Death of Taxpayer on page 6.

Child’s Return. If your child cannot sign the return, 
sign your child’s name in the space provided. Then, add 
“By (your signature), parent for minor child.”

Occupation. Write your occupation in the space pro-
vided. If married and fi ling a joint return, also write your 
spouse’s occupation in the space provided.

Step 11
 Did you have someone else 
prepare your return?

If you fi ll in your own return, the Paid Preparer’s 
space should remain blank. If someone prepares your 
return and does not charge you, that person should not 
sign your return.

Generally, anyone who is paid to prepare your tax re-
turn must sign your return and fi ll in the other blanks in 
the Paid Preparer’s Information area of your return. The 
preparer may furnish his or her alternative identifying 
number for income tax return preparers (PTIN) instead 
of his or her social security number.

If you have questions about whether a preparer is re-
quired to sign your return, please contact our Taxpayer 
Services staff .

The preparer required to sign your return MUST com-
plete the required preparer information and:
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• Sign it in the space provided for the preparer’s sig-
nature.

• Give you a copy of your return in addition to the 
copy to be fi led with the Department.

Hawaii conforms to Internal Revenue Service Notice 
2004-54 which authorizes paid tax return preparers to 
sign tax returns by means other than by hand.

For more information, see Department of Taxation 
Announcement No. 2009-33, “Conformity to Internal 
Revenue Service Notice 2004-54, Relating to Alterna-
tive Methods of Signatures for Paid Tax Return Prepar-
ers.”

Step 12
 Attachments
Reminder: Federal Schedules C, E, and F are not 
required to be attached to Form N-11. However, keep 
these schedules with your records until the statute of 
limitations runs out for that return.

Attach a copy of your Form(s) HW-2 and N-2, or fed-
eral Form(s) W-2 and 1099-G (unemployment compen-
sation), to the front of Form N-11 in the area designated. 
To the back of your return attach, in the following order:
• Schedule CR.
• Any other schedules, in alphabetical order.
• Other Hawaii – series forms, in numerical order.
• Any other federal forms, in numerical order, used 

as a substitute for state forms (see Related Federal/
Hawaii Tax Forms on page 3).

• Any other required statements.

A return without the required forms and state-
ments is incomplete. You must fi le a complete return 
on time to avoid paying penalties and interest for late 
fi ling.

If you need more space on forms or schedules, at-
tach separate sheets and use the same arrangement as 
the printed forms. But show your totals on the printed 
forms. Please use sheets that are the same size as the 
forms and schedules. Be sure to put your name and so-
cial security number on these separate sheets.

If you owe tax, be sure to send your payment to the 
Department by attaching your check or money order to 
the front of Form N-11. 

 Reminders
Processing of Your Tax 
Return

In general, refunds due to you are issued within eight 
weeks from the date your return is fi led with the De-
partment. However, it may take additional time if you 
fi led your return close to the April 20 fi ling deadline, 
if errors were made in completing your return, or you 
moved and did not change your address with the De-
partment by completing Form ITPS-COA, Change of 
Address Form.

You may check your refund status through the Depart-
ment’s website. You may also call our Taxpayer Servic-
es Branch to obtain automated information about your 
individual income tax refunds 24 hours a day, 7 days a 
week. Automated refund information should be avail-
able four to six weeks after your return is fi led with the 
Department. See page 6 for the Department’s website 
address and telephone numbers.

Penalties and Interest
 Late Filing of Return. The penalty for failure to fi le a 

return on time is assessed on the tax due at a rate of 5% 
per month, or part of a month, up to a maximum of 25%.

 Extensions. If you are unable to fi le your Hawaii tax 
return by April 20, 2022, you are automatically granted 
a 6-month extension without the need to fi le anything 
with the Department unless an additional tax payment 
must be made. As long as the following conditions are 
met, you are deemed to have made an application for the 
6-month extension to fi le an income tax return on the 
prescribed due date:
1. On or before April 20, 2022, 100% of the properly 

estimated tax liability is paid;
2. The tax return is fi led on or before the expiration of 

the 6-month extension period;
3. The tax return is accompanied by full payment of any 

tax not already paid; and
4. A court has not ordered you to fi le the tax return on or 

before the prescribed due date.
Properly estimated tax liability means you made a 

bona fi de and reasonable attempt to locate and gather all 
of the necessary information to make a proper estimate 
of tax liability for the taxable year.

If you must make an additional payment of tax on 
or before April 20, 2022 in order to meet the condition 
requiring payment of 100% of the properly estimated 
tax liability, fi le Form N-200V with your payment. Fed-
eral Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of 
Time To File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, may 
not be used in lieu of Form N-200V.

 Interest. Interest at the rate of 2/3 of 1% per month 
or part of a month shall be assessed on unpaid taxes 
and penalties beginning with the fi rst calendar day af-
ter the date prescribed for payment, whether or not that 
fi rst calendar day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday.

  Failure to pay tax after fi ling timely returns. The 
penalty for failure to pay the tax after fi ling a timely 
return is 20% of the tax unpaid within 60 days of the 
prescribed due date.

 Underpayment of estimated taxes. You may be sub-
ject to a penalty for not paying enough estimated tax if 
the total of your withholding and timely estimated tax 
payments were less than the smaller of:
1. 60% of your 2021 tax, or
2. 100% of your 2020 tax. Your 2020 tax return must 

cover a 12-month period.
There are special rules for farmers and fi shermen.

For more information, see Form N-210, Underpay-
ment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates, and 
Trusts.

 Change of Address
If your mailing address has changed, you must no-

tify the Department of the change by completing Form 
ITPS-COA, Change of Address Form, or log in to 
your Hawaii Tax Online account at hitax.hawaii.gov. 
Failure to do so may prevent your address from being 
updated, any refund due to you from being delivered 
(the U.S. Postal Service is not permitted to forward your 
State refund check), and delay important notices or cor-
respondence to you regarding your return.

 How Long Should Records Be 
Kept?

Keep records of income, deductions, and credits 
shown on your tax return, as well as any worksheets you 

used, until the statute of limitations runs out for that re-
turn. Usually this is three years from the date the return 
was due or fi led, whichever is later. Also keep copies 
of your fi led tax returns and any federal Forms W-2 or 
1099 you received as part of your records. You should 
keep some records longer. For example, property re-
cords (including those on your home) should be kept as 
long as they are needed to fi gure the basis of the original 
or replacement property.

 Amended Return
If you fi le your income tax return and later become 

aware of any changes you must make to income, de-
ductions, or credits, you may fi le an amended return on 
Form N-11 to change the Form N-11 you already fi led. 
Use the Form N-11 for the year you are amending. 
(You cannot fi le a 2020 amended return on a 2021 Form 
N-11.) Fill in the amended return oval at the top of Form 
N-11, and fi ll in the return with all of the correct infor-
mation. Attach Schedule AMD, Explanation of Changes 
on Amended Return, to Form N-11. Also attach all 
forms and statements required to fi le a complete return. 
If you are claiming any tax credits, remember to attach 
the required forms, such as Schedule CR and Schedule 
X, even if you claimed the credits on the original return.

If you contributed to the Hawaii Schools Repairs and 
Maintenance Fund, Hawaii Public Libraries Fund, and/
or Domestic and Sexual Violence/Child Abuse and Ne-
glect Funds on your original return, your contribution(s) 
cannot be revoked, and you must make the same 
designation(s) on your amended return.

If you did not contribute to the Hawaii Schools Repairs 
and Maintenance Fund, Hawaii Public Libraries Fund, 
and/or Domestic and Sexual Violence / Child Abuse and 
Neglect Funds on your original return, you may contrib-
ute to these funds on an amended return fi led within twen-
ty months and ten days after the due date for the original 
return for such taxable year. Once made, the contribution 
cannot be revoked.

If you are fi ling an amended return due to a farming 
net operating loss carryback, also fi ll in the NOL Car-
ryback oval and attach a copy of your original federal 
income tax return for the loss year.

If you are fi ling an amended return due to an IRS 
adjustment, also fi ll in the IRS Adjustment oval. See 
Change in Federal Taxable Income, below.

See the instructions for Form N-11, lines 51 and 52.

For information on the statute of limitation periods 
within which you may fi le an amended return to claim 
a refund or credit of overpaid taxes, see the instructions 
for Form N-11, line 47a (Refund) on page 23.

You can get prior year forms from our website, by 
calling our Taxpayer Services Branch, and at any dis-
trict tax offi  ce. See page 6 for the Department’s website 
address and for the phone number to request the forms 
you need.

If your original return was fi led on an incorrect form, 
fi le an original return on the correct form.  For example, 
if you fi led an original return on Form N-11 and should 
have fi led Form N-15, fi le an original return on Form 
N-15.

 Change in Federal Taxable Income
In general, a change to your federal return, whether 

it is made by you (on federal Form 1040X) or by the 
Internal Revenue Service, must be reported to the State 
of Hawaii.
1) Section 235-101(b), HRS, requires a report (an 

amended return) to the Director of Taxation if the 
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amount of IRC taxable income is changed, corrected, 
adjusted or recomputed as stated in (3).

2) This report must be made:
a) Within 90 days after a change, correction, adjust-

ment or recomputation is fi nally determined.
b) Within 90 days after an amended federal return is 
fi led.

3) A report within the time set out in (2) is required if:
a) The amount of taxable income (including the fed-

eral earned income credit) as returned to the United 
States is changed, corrected, or adjusted by an offi  -
cer of the United States or other competent author-
ity.

b) A change in taxable income results from a rene-
gotiation of a contract with the United States or a 
subcontract thereunder.

c) A recomputation of the income tax imposed by the 
United States under the Internal Revenue Code re-
sults from any cause.

d) An amended income tax return is made to the 
United States.

4) The report referred to above shall be in the form of an 
amended Hawaii income tax return.

5) The statutory period for the assessment of any defi -
ciency or the determination of any refund attributable 
to the report shall not expire before the expiration of 
one year from the date the Department is notifi ed by 
the taxpayer or the Internal Revenue Service, which-
ever is earlier, of such a report in writing. Before the 
expiration of this one-year period, the Department 
and the taxpayer may agree in writing to the exten-
sion of this period. The period so agreed upon may be 
further extended by subsequent agreements in writing 
made before the expiration of the period previously 
agreed upon.

  Protective Claim
A protective refund claim is a claim fi led to protect a 

taxpayer’s right to a potential refund based on a contin-
gent event for a taxable period for which the statute of 
limitations is about to expire. A protective claim is usu-
ally based on contingencies such as pending litigation or 
an ongoing federal income tax audit or an audit in an-
other state. For more information see tax Facts 2021.2. 

Instructions for 
Schedule X —  Tax Credits
Note: Use Form N-311 to claim the refundable food/
excise tax credit.

Purpose
Use Schedule X to claim the credit for low-income 

household renters and the credit for child and dependent 
care expenses. You may qualify to claim these credits, 
and receive a refund, even if you have no taxable in-
come. If you claim any of the tax credits, both pages 
of Schedule X must be attached to your Form N-11.

Part I
 Credit for Low-Income 
Household Renters

Each resident taxpayer who occupies and pays rent for 
real property within the State as his or her residence and 
who fi les an individual income tax return for the taxable 
year, including those who have no income or no income 
taxable under chapter 235, HRS, may claim a tax credit 
of $50 per qualifi ed exemption, including the addition-
al exemption for taxpayers age 65 or over, provided the 
following four conditions are met:

• The taxpayer is not eligible to be claimed as a de-
pendent for federal or State income tax purposes by 
another taxpayer;

• The taxpayer has adjusted gross income of less than 
$30,000; and

• The taxpayer has paid more than $1,000 in rent dur-
ing the taxable year.

• The rented property is NOT exempt from real prop-
erty tax. Rent paid for property which is partially or 
fully exempt from real property tax will not qualify 
for the credit. For example, county or State low-
income housing projects, military housing, dormi-
tories in schools, residential real property owned 
by a nonprofi t organization, and homes in which 
the owner occupies a portion of the property, may 
have been granted real property tax exemptions by 
the county. If such exemptions, whether partial or 
full exemptions, have been granted, the rent paid 
for such properties will not qualify for the credit. 
To verify if real property tax exemptions have been 
granted on the rented property, please inquire with 
either the landlord, rental agent, or the Real Prop-
erty Tax Offi  ce in the county in which the property 
is located.
Note: Minor children receiving more than half of 
their support from the State Department of Hu-
man Services, Social Security benefi ts, and the like, 
which you can claim as dependents, are considered 
qualifi ed exemptions for purposes of claiming this 
credit.

A “residence” is defi ned as the dwelling place that 
constitutes the principal residence of the taxpayer or his 
or her immediate family in this State.

“Rent” means the amount paid in cash in any 
taxable year for the occupancy of a residence. Rent 
does not include:
• Charges for utilities, parking stalls, storage of 

goods, yard services, furniture, furnishings, and the 
like;

• Rental claimed as a deduction from gross income 
or adjusted gross income for income tax purposes;

• Ground rental paid for use of land only; and
• Rental allowances or rental subsidies received (i.e., 

housing allowance received from the armed forces 
or the Hawaii Housing Authority.).

Line 1
Adjusted Gross Income

If the adjusted gross income (Form N-11, line 20) 
shown on your return is $30,000 or more, stop here; 
you cannot take this credit.

Married fi ling separately. If you are married fi ling 
separately, you must add your spouse’s adjusted gross 
income to your own. If you are married fi ling separately 
and your spouse is a nonresident, you need to determine 
your spouse’s adjusted gross income from all sources, 
within and outside of Hawaii, and add that amount to 
your own adjusted gross income. If the total is $30,000 
or more, you cannot claim this credit.

Line 2
Resident for More Than Nine 
Months

If you are a resident who has not been physically pres-
ent in Hawaii for more than nine months in 2021, stop 
here; you cannot take this credit.

Line 3
Dependent of Another 
Taxpayer

If you can be claimed as a dependent on another per-
son’s return, whether or not that person claims you, 
stop here; you cannot take this credit.

Line 4
Your Addresses

List your most recent address. Fill in all of the re-
quired information. If you lived in more than one loca-
tion during 2021, attach a separate sheet listing the same 
information for the other locations.

Do not list any location that was partly or wholly ex-
empt from real property tax, such as:
• County or State low-income housing projects;
• Military housing;
• Dormitories in schools;
• Residential real property owned by a nonprofi t or-

ganization; or
• Homes in which the owner occupies a portion of 

the property.

Line 5
Rent You Paid

Enter the total amount of rent you paid during 2021 to 
all of the locations listed on line 4. If you are sharing or 
were sharing the rent with somebody else, list only your 
share of the rent here.

Line 6
Exclusions

Enter that portion of the amount on line 5 which:
• Is for ground rent, utilities, goods, or services;
• You claimed as a deduction anywhere on your tax 

return; or
• You were reimbursed, through a rental allowance or 

rental subsidy from any source.

Line 7
Line 5 minus line 6. If this amount is $1,000 or less, 

stop here; you cannot take this credit.

Line 8
Qualifi ed Exemptions

On line 8, enter the names of the qualifi ed exemp-
tions. Start with yourself. Enter your spouse’s name if 
you are married and fi ling a joint return or married and 
fi ling separately where your spouse is not fi ling a Ha-
waii return, had no income, and was not the dependent 
of someone else. Then list your dependents and enter the 
dependent’s relationship to you. Include minor children 
receiving more than half of their support from public 
agencies which you can claim as dependents. 

If married fi ling separately, only one spouse may 
claim the dependents.

Enter the number of qualifi ed persons on line 8.
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Line 12
Amount of the Credit

Line 11 times $50. Enter this amount on Form N-11, 
line 29.

Deadline for claiming this credit. If you are a cal-
endar year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the credit, 
including amended claims, is December 31, 2022. If 
you are a fi scal year taxpayer, the deadline to claim the 
credit, including amended claims, is 12 months after the 
close of your taxable year. You cannot claim or amend 
the credit after the deadline.

Part II
  Credit for Child and 
Dependent Care 
Expenses

If you maintain a household that included a child un-
der age 13 or a dependent or spouse incapable of self-
care, you may be allowed this credit for expenses you 
paid during the taxable year to care for your dependent 
so you could work.

Who May Claim the Credit
If you are a resident taxpayer who fi les an individual 

income tax return for a taxable year, you are not claimed 
or eligible to be claimed as a dependent on another tax-
payer’s federal or Hawaii income tax return, and you 
maintain a household which includes one or more quali-
fying persons (as defi ned on page 28), you may be al-
lowed a credit against your income tax. The credit rang-
es from 15% to 25% of employment-related expenses 
(up to certain limitations) PAID during the taxable year 
in order to enable you to work either full or part time for 
an employer or as a self-employed individual.

Maintaining a Household
You will be treated as maintaining a household for any 

period only if you furnish over half the cost of main-
taining the household for that period. If you are married 
during that time, you and your spouse must provide over 
half the maintenance cost for the period.

The expenses of maintaining a household include 
property taxes, mortgage interest, rent, utility charges, 
upkeep and repairs, property insurance, and food con-
sumed on the premises. They do not include the cost of 
clothing, education, medical treatment, vacations, life 
insurance, and transportation.

Qualifying Person
A qualifying person is any one of the following per-

sons:
a. Any person under age 13 whom you claim as a depen-

dent (but see Special Rule (3) on this page, Children 
of Divorced or Separated Parents).

b. Your disabled spouse who is mentally or physically 
unable to care for himself or herself.

c. Any disabled person who is mentally or physically 
unable to care for himself or herself and whom you 
claim as a dependent, or could claim as a dependent 
(as a qualifying relative) except that he or she had 
income of $4,300 or more.

Employment-related Expenses
Employment-related expenses are those paid for the 

following, but only if paid to enable you to be gainfully 
employed:

(1) Expenses for Household Services. Expenses will 
be considered for household services in your home if 
they are for the ordinary and usual services necessary 
for the operation of the home, and bear some relation-
ship to the qualifying person. For example, payment 
for services of a domestic maid or cook ordinarily will 
be considered expenses for household services if per-
formed at least partially for the benefi t of the qualifying 
person.

(2) Expenses for the Care of a Qualifying Person. Ex-
penses will be considered for the care of one or more 
qualifying persons if their main purpose was to assure 
that individual’s well-being and protection. You can in-
clude amounts paid for items other than the care of your 
child (such as food and schooling) only if the items are 
incidental to the care of the child and cannot be sepa-
rated from the total cost.

You may NOT include any amount paid for services 
outside your household at a camp where the qualifying 
person stays overnight.

Do not include services outside your household as 
employment-related expenses for your spouse or a 
dependent age 13 or older. However, services outside 
your household are employment-related expenses for a 
dependent who has not reached his or her 13th birthday 
or for an individual who regularly spends at least eight 
hours each day in your household.

You may include expenses incurred for qualifi ed de-
pendent care centers as employment-related expenses. 
The dependent care center must comply with all appli-
cable laws, rules, and regulations of Hawaii if the center 
is located within Hawaii. If the center is located outside 
Hawaii, the center must comply with all applicable 
laws, rules, and regulations of the state or country in 
which the center is located. Furthermore, these centers 
must provide care for more than six individuals (other 
than individuals who reside at the center), and must re-
ceive a fee, payment, or grant providing services for any 
of the individuals (regardless of whether such center is 
operated for profi t).

Note: Payments made to the State of Hawaii A+ 
Program qualify for the credit.

Medical Expenses
Some dependent care expenses may qualify as medical 
expenses. If you cannot use all the medical expenses 
to qualify for this credit because of the dollar limit or 
earned income limit (explained later), you can take the 
rest of these expenses as an itemized deduction for 
medical expenses. But if you deduct the medical 
expenses fi rst on Worksheet A-1, you cannot use any 
part of these expenses on Schedule X.

Special Rules
(1) Married Persons Filing Separately. Generally, 

married persons must fi le a joint return to claim the 
credit. If your fi ling status is married fi ling separately 
and all of the following apply, you are considered un-
married for purposes of claiming the credit for child and 
dependent care expenses.
• You lived apart from your spouse during the last 6 

months of 2021.
• Your home was the qualifying person’s main home 

for more than half of 2021.
• You paid more than half of the cost of keeping up 

that home for 2021.

(2) Marital Status. If you are legally separated from 
your spouse under a decree of divorce or separate main-
tenance, you are not considered married.

(3) Children of Divorced or Separated Parents. If you 
were divorced, legally separated, or lived apart from 
your spouse during the last six months of 2021, you may 
be able to claim the credit even if your child is not your 
dependent. Even if you cannot claim your child as a de-
pendent, he or she is treated as your qualifying person if:
• The child was under age 13 or was not physically 

or mentally able to care for himself or herself, and
• You were the child’s custodial parent. The custodial 

parent is the parent with whom the child lived for 
the greater number of nights in 2021. If the child 
was with each parent for an equal number of nights, 
the custodial parent is the parent with the higher 
adjusted gross income. For details and an excep-
tion for a parent who works at night, see federal 
Publication 501.

The noncustodial parent cannot treat the child as a 
qualifying person even if that parent is entitled to claim 
the child as a dependent under the special rules for a 
child of divorced or separated parents.

(4) Payments to a Related Individual. You can count 
work-related expenses you pay to relatives who are not 
your dependents, even if they live in your home. How-
ever, do not count any amounts you pay to:
1. A dependent for whom you (or your spouse if you are 

married) can claim an exemption, or
2. Your child who is under age 19 at the end of the year, 

even if he or she is not your dependent.

Married Persons Filing 
Separately Checkbox

If your fi ling status is married fi ling separately and 
you meet the requirements to claim the credit for child 
and dependent care expenses, complete the statement 
under Part II on Schedule X by checking the checkbox, 
confi rming you meet those requirements listed, earlier, 
under Married Persons Filing Separately.

Line 1
Care Providers

Complete columns (a) through (e) for each person or 
organization that provided the care. If you do not give 
the information asked for in each column, or if the in-
formation you give is not correct, your credit and, if ap-
plicable, the exclusion of employer-provided dependent 
care benefi ts may be disallowed.

You can use Form HW-16, Dependent Care Provid-
er’s Identifi cation and Certifi cation, to get the correct in-
formation from the care provider. (This form is available 
at our website, by calling our Taxpayer Services Branch, 
and at any district tax offi  ce.) If the provider does not 
comply with your request to certify the information, 
complete the entries you can, such as the provider’s 
name and address. Write “See attached” in the columns 
for which you do not have the provider’s certifi cation of 
information. Attach a statement that you requested the 
information from the care provider, but the provider did 
not comply with your request. You must keep records to 
show that you exercised due diligence in attempting to 
provide the required information. For more details, in-
cluding what is considered “due diligence,” see federal 
Publication 503.

Columns (a) and (b). Enter the care provider’s name 
and address. If you were covered by your employer’s 
dependent care plan and your employer furnished the 
care (either at your workplace or by hiring a care pro-
vider), enter your employer’s name in column (a), write 
“See W-2” in column (b), and leave columns (c) through 
(e) blank. But if your employer paid a third party (not 
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hired by your employer) on your behalf to provide the 
care, you must give information on the third party in col-
umns (a) through (e).

Column (c). If the care provider is an individual, en-
ter his or her social security number (SSN). If the indi-
vidual is an alien and was issued an individual taxpayer 
identifi cation number (ITIN) by the IRS, enter the ITIN. 
For other than an individual, enter provider’s federal 
employer identifi cation number (FEIN). If the provider 
is a tax-exempt organization, write “Tax-Exempt” in 
column (c).

Column (d). Enter the care provider’s Hawaii Tax I.D. 
Number. If the provider is a tax-exempt charitable orga-
nization (IRC section 501(c)(3)), enter “Tax-Exempt.”

 Column (e). Enter the total amount you actually 
paid during the taxable year to the care provider. Also 
include amounts your employer paid on your behalf to 
a third party. It does not matter when the expenses were 
incurred. Do not reduce this amount by any reimburse-
ment you received.

Line 2
Dependent Care Benefi ts

If you received dependent care benefi ts from an em-
ployer (you have a federal form W-2 that has an amount 
in Box 10), enter the amount shown in Box 10 of your 
W-2 form(s).

If you were self-employed or a partner, include 
amounts you received under a dependent care assistance 
program from your sole proprietorship or partnership.

Line 4
Amount Forfeited or Carried 
Over to 2022

If you participated in an employee plan in which the 
amount you contributed to an employer-paid dependent 
care benefi t plan was deducted from your income, and 
you did not receive the full benefi t from this plan, you 
may be entitled to deduct the amount forfeited on this 
line. See your employer for the forfeited amount you are 
allowed to deduct.

Also include on this line any amount you did not 
receive but are permitted by your employer to carry 
forward and use in the following year during a grace 
period.

Line 8
Your Earned Income

In general, earned income is wages, salaries, tips, and 
other employee compensation. It also includes net earn-
ings from self-employment. For more information, see 
the instructions to lines 23 and 24.

Line 9
Spouse’s Earned Income

If your fi ling status is Married Filing Jointly, enter 
your spouse’s earned income on this line.

If your fi ling status is Married Filing Separately, see 
Married Persons Filing Separately discussed earlier. 

If you are considered unmarried under that rule, enter 
your earned income (from line 8) on this line. If you 
are not considered unmarried under that rule, enter your 
spouse’s earned income on line 9.

If your spouse was a student or disabled in 2021, see If 
You or Your Spouse Was a Student or Disabled.

All other taxpayers should enter the amount on line 8.

Line 16
Taxable Benefi ts

The taxable portion of employer-paid dependent care 
benefi ts for federal income tax purposes is included in 
your federal AGI. If the taxable portion of employer-
paid dependent care benefi ts is the same for federal and 
Hawaii income tax purposes, no additional adjustment 
needs to be made. If the taxable portion of employer-
paid dependent care benefi ts is diff erent for federal and 
Hawaii income tax purposes, an adjustment needs to be 
made to arrive at Hawaii AGI.

Line 21
Qualifying Person(s)

Complete columns (a) through (d) for each qualifying 
person. If you have more than two qualifying persons, 
attach a statement to your return with the required in-
formation. Be sure to put your name and social security 
number on the statement. Also, write “See attached” on 
the dotted line next to line 22.

Column (a). Enter each qualifying person’s name.

Column (b). Enter the qualifying person’s relation-
ship to you.

Column (c). Enter the qualifying person’s social se-
curity number.

Column (d). Enter the qualifi ed expenses you in-
curred and paid in 2021 for the person listed in column 
(a). Do not include in column (d) qualifi ed expenses:
• You incurred in 2021 but did not pay until 2022. 

You may be able to use these expenses to increase 
your 2022 credit.

• You incurred in 2020 but did not pay until 2021. 
Instead, see the instructions for line 28 on this page.

• You prepaid in 2021 for care to be provided in 2022. 
These expenses may only be used to fi gure your 
2022 credit.

Lines 23 and 24
Earned Income Limit

The amount of your qualifi ed expenses cannot be 
more than your earned income or, if married fi ling a 
joint return, the smaller of your earned income or your 
spouse’s earned income.

In general, earned income is wages, salaries, tips, and 
other employee compensation. It also includes net earn-
ings from self-employment.

Unmarried taxpayers. If you are unmarried at the 
end of 2021 or are treated as being unmarried at the end 
of the year, enter your earned income on line 23.

Married Taxpayers. If you are married fi ling a joint 
return, fi gure each spouse’s earned income separately 

and disregard community property laws. Enter your 
earned income on line 23 and your spouse’s earned in-
come on line 24.

If You or Your Spouse Was a Student or Disabled. 
Your spouse’s earned income. Your spouse was a full-
time student if he or she was enrolled as a full-time stu-
dent at a school for some part of each of fi ve calendar 
months during 2021. The months need not be consecu-
tive. A school does not include an on-the-job training 
course, correspondence school, or a school off ering 
courses only through the Internet. Your spouse was dis-
abled if he or she was not physically or mentally capable 
of self-care. Figure your spouse’s earned income on a 
monthly basis.

For each month or part of a month your spouse was a 
student or was disabled, he or she is considered to have 
worked and earned income. His or her earned income 
for each month is considered to be at least $200 ($400 if 
more than one qualifying person was cared for in 2021). 
If your spouse also worked during that month, use the 
higher of $200 (or $400) or his or her actual earned in-
come for that month.

For any month that your spouse was not a student or 
disabled, use your spouse’s actual earned income if he 
or she worked during the month.

Your earned income. These rules for a spouse who 
was a student or disabled also apply to you if you were 
a student or disabled. For each month or part of a month 
you were a student or disabled, your earned income is 
considered to be at least $200 ($400 if more than one 
qualifying person was cared for in 2021). If you also 
worked during that month, enter the higher of $200 (or 
$400) or your actual earned income for that month.

Both spouses were students or disabled. If, in the 
same month, both you and your spouse were either stu-
dents or disabled, only one of you can be treated as hav-
ing earned income in that month under these rules.

Self-employment Income. You must reduce your 
earned income by any loss from self-employment. If 
you only have a loss from self-employment, or your loss 
is more than your other earned income, you cannot take 
the credit.

Line 28
Amount of the Credit

If you had qualifi ed expenses for 2020 that you did not 
pay until 2021, you may be able to increase the amount 
of credit you can take in 2021. To do this, multiply the 
2020 expenses you paid in 2021 by the applicable per-
centage from the table on line 27 that applies to your 
2020 adjusted gross income. Your 2020 expenses must 
be within the 2020 limits. Attach a computation show-
ing how you fi gured the increase. If you can take a credit 
for your 2020 expenses, write “PYE” and the amount 
of the credit on the dotted line next to line 28. Enter 
the total amount of the credit on line 28. Also enter this 
amount on Form N-11, line 30.
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Hawaii’s Missing & Endangered Children

Missing Child Center-Hawaii
Department of the Attorney General 
Phone:  (808) 586-1449   
Email:  hawaiimissingkids@hawaii.gov
Website: http://ag.hawaii.gov/cpja/mcch/

10/13/2021

MISSING SINCE September 29, 2015

If Seen, Please Call 911
 or National Center for Missing & Exploited Children

1-800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678)

MISSING SINCE September 12, 2021

If Seen, Please Call 911
 or National Center for Missing & Exploited Children

1-800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678)

    Isabella Kalua

AGE MISSING 6 yrs 
HGT  3 ft. 3 in.
WGT  46 lbs.
HAIR    Brown
EYES  Brown 
RACE  Caucasian & Indian
HPD     21-390960

 

MISSING FROM: Waimanalo, Hawaii
Isabella was last seen at her home in Waimanalo.  She is biracial

and was last seen wearing black leggings, a black hoodie, colorful socks
and Nike slides with pink soles. 

If Seen, Please Call 911
 or National Center for Missing & Exploited Children

1-800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678)

MISSING SINCE June 22, 1990

Therese Vanderheiden-Walsh

AGE MISSING  5 yrs 
HGT  3 ft.
WGT  45 lbs.
HAIR  Blonde
EYES  Hazel 
RACE  Caucasian
HPD       90-754011

Age Progressed
to Age 32

MISSING FROM: Kailua, Hawaii
She has pierced ears and moles on her back and 

shoulders. She was abducted by her 
non-custodial mother.   

Noah Montemayor
MISSING FROM: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii

Noah was last seen at his home in Hawaii Kai. 
Noah has deep dimples on both cheeks and 
a small beauty mark above his upper lip.

AGE MISSING 16 yrs 
HGT  5 ft. 9 in.
WGT  140 lbs.
HAIR    Brown, Short & Straight
EYES  Brown 
RACE  Caucasian & Filipino
HPD     15-389355

 
MISSING SINCE October 18, 1995 

AGE MISSING 15 yrs
HGT 5 ft. 1 in.
WGT 110 lbs.
HAIR   Ash Blonde/Wavy
EYES Blue/Green/Grey 
RACE Caucasian  
MPD    95-62173
NCIC   M182648360

 Age Progressed
to Age 32Noquisi-Ama Blossom

Nicknames: Quis or Daisia
MISSING FROM: Makawao, Hawaii                                                                                                    
Noquisi-Ama may have left Hawaii. She has a pierced nose,                            

If Seen, Please Call 911
 or National Center for Missing & Exploited Children

1-800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678)
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 Worksheets

Form N-11 – State Tax Refund Worksheet
1. Enter your State tax overpayment (line 42) from your

2020 Form N-11 return. Do not enter more than the 
amount of your state and local income taxes shown 
on your 2020 Itemized Deduction 
Worksheet A-2, line 5 .......................................................

2. Enter from your 2020 Form N-11 the following:
a. Refundable food/excise tax credit (line 28) .....................
b. Credit for low-income household renter (line 29) ............
c. Credit for child and dependent care expenses (line 30) ..
d. Credit for child passenger restraint system(s) (line 31) ...
e.  Carryover of the residential construction and remodeling 

tax credit (Sch. CR, line 16)  .................................................
3. Add lines 2a through 2e ...................................................
4. Line 1 minus line 3.  If zero or less, enter “0” here and on

line 8, skip lines 5-7; otherwise continue on to line 5 ......
5. Enter amount from your 2020 Form N-11, line 22 ...........
6. Enter the amount shown below for the fi ling status you 

claimed on your 2020 Form N-11 ....................................
Single or married fi ling separately— $2,200
Married fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er)— 4,400
Head of household— 3,212

7. Line 5 minus line 6.  Enter the result, 
but not less than zero.......................................................

8. Compare the amounts on lines 4 and 7 above and enter 
the SMALLER of the two amounts here ..........................

9. Enter the taxable part of your refund reported on your 2021
federal Schedule 1 (Form 1040 or 1040-SR), line 1.  If this 
amount is blank, enter zero here .....................................

10. If line 8 is LARGER than line 9, subtract line 9 from line 8. 
Enter the result here and on line b of the Hawaii 
Additions Worksheet  OR
If line 8 is SMALLER than line 9, subtract line 8 from 
line 9.  Enter the result here and on line b of the 
Hawaii Subtractions Worksheet  OR
If line 8 EQUALS line 9, enter zero and stop here ..........

Hawaii Additions Worksheet
a Taxable amount relating to Individual Housing Account ..
b Hawaii tax refund adjustment ..........................................
c Peace Corps compensation ............................................
d Depreciation adjustment ..................................................
e Gain adjustment ...............................................................
f Excluded income earned outside the U.S. ......................
g Student loan interest deduction .......................................
h Employer-provided adoption benefi ts ..............................
i Qualifi ed tuition program distributions for elementary 

and secondary school expenses .....................................
j  Other adjustments (attach separate explanation 

to Form N-11) ...................................................................
k Add lines a to j.  Enter here and on 

Form N-11, line 10 ........................................................... 

Hawaii Subtractions Worksheet
a Interest on federal obligations.  But subtract the amount 

from line 14 of federal Form 8815 ...................................
b Hawaii tax refund adjustment ..........................................
c Interest earned by an Individual Housing Account ..........
d Qualifying compensation to Hansen’s disease patient ....
e Expenses connected with federal credits ........................
f Child’s interest and dividend income on federal 

Form 8814 that is not reported on Form N-814 ..............
g Premiums on and benefi ts from prepaid legal services plans .....
h Student loan interest deduction .......................................
i Employer-provided adoption benefi ts ..............................
j Certain income from a qualifi ed high 

technology business ........................................................
k Individual development accounts ....................................
l Moving expenses .............................................................
m Qualifi ed bicycle commuting reimbursement ..................
n Other adjustments (attach separate 

explanation to Form N-11) ...............................................
o Add lines a to n.  Enter here and on Form N-11, line 18 .
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Worksheets (continued)

 Tax Computation Worksheet
 Enter the tax amount calculated from a or b.
a Tax Table, Tax Rate Schedule, or Tax on Capital Gains Worksheet ...
b Form N-168 or Form N-615 .............................................
c Enter any additional tax from Form N-2,  Distribution 

from an Individual Housing Account. ...............................
d Enter any additional tax from Form N-103, Sale of Your Home ........
e Enter any additional tax from Form N-152, Tax on 

Lump-Sum Distributions ..................................................
f Enter any additional tax from Form N-312,  Recapture 

of Capital Goods Excise Tax Credit .................................
g Enter any additional tax from Form N-338,  Tax Credit 

for Flood Victims ..............................................................
h Enter any additional tax from Form N-344,  Recapture of Important 

Agricultural Land Qualifi ed Agricultural Cost Tax Credit ..................
i Enter any additional tax from Form N-348,  Recapture 

of Capital Infrastructure Tax Credit ..................................
j Enter any additional tax from Form N-405, Tax on 

 Accumulation Distribution of Trusts .................................
k Enter any additional tax from Form N-586,  Recapture 

of Tax Credit for Low-Income Housing ............................
l Enter any additional tax from Form N-814,  Parent’s 

Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends ...........
m Add lines a or b, and c through l.  This is your total 

tax.  Enter the result here and on Form N-11, line 27 .....
Note: If you entered any amount in lines b through l, fi ll in the oval 
before  “. . . if tax . . . is included.” on Form N-11, line 27.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet
WORKSHEET A-1– Medical and Dental Expenses

1. Enter amount of medical and dental expenses (see 
page 15 of Instructions). ..................................................

2. Enter the amount from Form N-11,
 line 20 (Hawaii AGI). ...................................................

3. Multiply line 2 by 7.5% (.075). 
If zero or less, enter zero. .............................................

4. Line 1 minus line 3.  If zero or less, enter zero.  Enter 
the result here and on Form N-11, line 21a. ....................

WORKSHEET A-2 – Taxes You Paid
5. State and local (check only one box):
 a Income taxes, or  b General sales taxes ........
6. Real estate taxes. ............................................................
7. Personal property taxes. ..................................................
8. Other taxes.......................................................................
9. Add lines 5 through 8.  Enter the total here and on 

Form N-11, line 21b. ........................................................
WORKSHEET A-3 – Interest You Paid

10. Home mortgage interest and points reported to you on 
federal Form 1098............................................................

11. Home mortgage interest not reported to you on federal 
Form 1098. .......................................................................

12. Points not reported to you on federal Form 1098 (see 
instructions for federal Schedule A (Form 1040 or 1040-SR). ..........

13. Investment interest (attach Form N-158). ........................
14. Add lines 10 through 13.  Enter the total here and on 

Form N-11, line 21c. .........................................................
WORKSHEET A-4—Gifts to Charity

15. Enter amount of gifts by cash or check (if any gift of 
$250 or more, see page 18 of Instructions). ....................

16. Other than by cash or check (if any gift of $250 or more, 
see page 18 of Instructions) (attach federal Form 8283
if over $500). ....................................................................

17. Carryover from prior year. ................................................
18. Add lines 15 through 17.  Enter total here and on 

Form N-11, line 21d. ........................................................
WORKSHEET A-5—Casualties and Thefts

19. Total casualty and theft loss(es) from the 2017 federal 
Form 4684, line 16 (see instructions on page 18). ..........

20. Enter the amount from Form N-11, line 20 (Hawaii AGI). 
21. Multiply line 20 by 10% (.10). If zero or less, enter zero. 
22. Line 19 minus line 21.  If zero or less, enter zero. 

Enter the result here and on Form N-11, line 21e. ..........
WORKSHEET A-6—Miscellaneous Deductions

23. Unreimbursed employee business expenses—job travel, 
union dues, job education (attach the 2017 federal 
Form 2106 or Form 2106-EZ if required). ....................................

24. Tax preparation fees. .......................................................
25. Other expenses (investment, safe deposit box, etc.) (list 

type and amount, and attach the list to your return). .......
26. Add lines 23 to 25. ...........................................................
27. Enter the amount from Form N-11, 

line 20 (Hawaii AGI). .......................................................
28. Multiply line 27 by 2% (.02). If zero or less, enter zero. ..
29. Line 26 minus line 28.  If zero or less, enter zero. ...........
30. Other deductions not subject to 2% AGI limit (see in-

structions on page 19) (list type and amount, and attach
the list to your return). ......................................................

31. Add lines 29 and 30.  Enter total here and on 
Form N-11, line 21f. .........................................................

32. Total itemized deductions. Add lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 22, 
and 31. .............................................................................

Note: If your Hawaii adjusted gross income is above a certain amount, 
you may not be able to deduct all of your itemized deductions. See page 
20 of the Instructions.

Total Itemized Deductions Worksheet
1. Enter the amount from line 32 of the Itemized Deductions 

Worksheet. .......................................................................
2. Enter from the Itemized Deductions Worksheet the following:
 a. Medical and dental expenses (Worksheet A-1, line 4). 
 b. Investment interest (Worksheet A-3, line 13). .............
 c. Casualty and theft losses (Worksheet A-5, line 22).....
 d. Any gambling and casualty or theft losses included in 

    Worksheet A-6, line 30. ................................................
3. Add lines 2a through 2d. ..................................................
4. Is the amount on line 3 less than the amount on line 1?

No. Your deduction is not limited. Enter the amount from 
  line 1 of this worksheet on Form N-11, line 22. Do not 
  complete the rest of this worksheet. 
Yes. Line 1 minus line 3. ..................................................

5. Multiply line 4 by 80% (.80). .............................................
6. Enter the amount from Form N-11, line 20 (Hawaii AGI). 
7. Enter $166,800 ($83,400 if married fi ling separately). ....
8. Is the amount on line 7 less than the amount on line 6?

No. Your deduction is not limited. Enter the amount from 
  line 1 of this worksheet on Form N-11, line 22. Do not 
  complete the rest of this worksheet. 
Yes. Line 6 minus line 7. ..................................................

9. Multiply line 8 by 3% (.03). ...............................................
10. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 9. ................................
11. Total itemized deductions. Line 1 minus line 10. Enter the 

result here and on Form N-11, line 22. ............................
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Worksheets (continued)
 Tax on Capital Gains Worksheet

Note: If your taxable income is $48,000 ($24,000 for Single, and 
Married Filing Separately; or $36,000 for Head of Household 
classifi cations) or under, do not use this worksheet.
1. Enter your taxable income from Form N-11, line 26 ........
2. Enter your net long-term capital gain (federal Sch. D 

(Form 1040 or 1040-SR), line 15; or federal Form 
1040 or 1040-SR, line 7 if Sch. D is not required) ...........

3. Combine your Hawaii long-term adjustments, if any, 
and enter the total here 
(see page 21 of the Instructions) .....................................

4. Combine lines 2 and 3.  This is your Hawaii 
net long-term capital gain ................................................

5. Enter your net capital gain (federal Sch. D (Form 1040 
or 1040-SR), line 16; or federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, line 7 if Sch. D is not required) ........................

6. Combine your Hawaii short-term adjustments, if 
any, and enter the total here 
(see page 21 of the Instructions) ....................................

7. Combine lines 3, 5, and 6.  This is your Hawaii net 
capital gain .......................................................................

8. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 7 .................................
9. If you are fi ling Form N-158, enter the amount from

 line 4e of Form N-158 .....................................................
10. Line 8 minus line 9 (If this amount is zero or 

less, stop here; you cannot  use this worksheet 
to fi gure your tax.) .........................................................

11. Line 1 minus line 10 .........................................................
12. Enter the amount shown below for the 
fi ling status you claimed ...................................................
Single or Married fi ling separately— $24,000
Married fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er)— 48,000
Head of household— 36,000

13. Enter the greater of line 11 or line 12 ..............................
14. Line 1 minus line 13.  This is the amount of net capital 

gains eligible for alternative tax. ......................................
15. Compute the tax on the amount on line 13 using the 

Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules, whichever applies .....
16. Multiply line 14 by 7.25% (.0725) and enter the result ....
17. Line 15 plus line 16. .........................................................
18. Compute the tax on the amount on line 1 using the 

Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules, whichever applies .....
19. Enter the smaller of line 17 or line 18 here and on line a 

of the Tax Computation Worksheet  above. If line 17 is 
smaller, enter the amount from line 14 in the space 
provided beside Form N-11, line 27a ............................... 

Other State and Foreign 
Tax Credit Worksheet

Note: If you claim a credit for income taxes paid to other states 
and countries, you cannot also claim those amounts as an itemized 
deduction for state and foreign income taxes paid to another state or 
foreign country.
1. Enter taxable income from Form N-11, line 26 ................
2. Enter amount of long-term capital gain from the space 

provided beside Form N-11, line 27a ...............................
3. Enter the amount of your out-of-state income, 

including capital gains.  Do not include any income that 
is exempt in Hawaii such as employer-funded pensions 

4. Enter the amount of long-term capital gains from sources 
outside the State ..............................................................

5. Enter the amount of tax you paid to other States, except 
for tax paid on income that is exempt in Hawaii (attach a 
copy of the tax return(s) from the other state(s)) .............

6. Enter the amount of tax you paid to foreign countries or 
to U.S. possessions, except for tax paid on income that 
is exempt in Hawaii (attach a copy of federal Form(s) 1116, 
or federal Form(s) 1099-DIV or 1099-INT if federal Form(s) 
1116 is not required).........................................................

7. Enter the amount of the federal foreign tax credit you 
were allowed to take this year.  Do not include amounts 
carried over to other years, or amounts from prior years 
that were carried forward to this year ..............................

8. Line 6 minus line 7 ...........................................................
9. Line 5 plus line 8.  This is the total amount of out-of-state

tax eligible for the credit ...................................................
10. Line 1 minus line 3.  This is your Hawaii source income .
11. Line 2 minus line 4.  This is your Hawaii source long-term 

capital gain.  If line 4 exceeds line 2, enter zero here .....
12. Line 10 minus line 11.  This is your Hawaii 

ordinary income ...............................................................
13. Enter your tax amount from line a or line b of the Tax 

Computa tion Worksheet on page 32 ...............................
14. Figure the Hawaii tax on the amount on line 12.  Use the 

Tax Table or Tax Rate Schedules ....................................
15. Multiply the amount on line 11 by 7.25% (0.0725) ..........
16. Add lines 14 and 15 .........................................................
17. Line 13 minus line 16 .......................................................
18. Enter the smaller of line 9 or line 17. ..............................
19. Enter the amount from Form N-11, line 34 ......................
20. Enter the smaller of line 18 or line 19 here and on Schedule 

CR, line 9. Any excess cannot be carried forward .........
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Adoption Benefi ts Worksheet
Caution: See the federal instructions to Form 8839, Qualifi ed Adoption Expenses, before completing this worksheet.

    Child 1   Child 2

1. Maximum exclusion per child ..................................................................................................   $10,000   $10,000 
2. Did you receive employer-provided adoption benefi ts for a prior year for the same child? 

No. Enter -0-. 
Yes. See the federal instructions for the amount to enter. ......................................................     

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. .......................................................................................................     
4. Employer-provided adoption benefi ts you received in 2021. 

This amount should be shown in box 12 of your 2021 Form(s) W-2 with code T ...................     
5. Add the amounts on line 4 ................................................................................................................................................................   
6. Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4. But if the child was a child with special needs and 

the adoption became fi nal in 2021, enter the amount from line 3 ...........................................     
7. Enter your Hawaii modifi ed adjusted gross income*  .......................................................................................................................   
8. Is line 7 more than $150,000?

No. Skip lines 8 - 9 and enter -0- on line 10. 
Yes. Subtract $150,000 from line 7 ..................................................................................................................................................   

9. Divide line 8 by $40,000. Enter the result as a decimal (rounded to at least three places). Do not 
enter more than 1.000 ......................................................................................................................................................................   

10. Multiply each amount on line 6 by line 9..................................................................................     
11. Excluded benefi ts. Subtract line 10 from line 6 .....................................................................     
12. Add the amounts on line 11 ..............................................................................................................................................................   
13. Taxable benefi ts. Is line 12 more than line 5?

No. Subtract line 12 from line 5.
Yes. Subtract line 5 from line 12. Enter the result as a negative number. ........................................................................................   

14. Enter the taxable adoption benefi ts as reported on your 2021 federal return ..................................................................................   
15. If line 13 is LARGER than line 14, subtract line 14 from line 13. Enter the result here and on line

h of the Hawaii Additions Worksheet on page 31           OR
If line 13 is SMALLER than line 14, subtract line 13 from line 14. Enter the result here and on line 
i of the Hawaii Subtractions Worksheet on page 31 ........................................................................................................................   

*Hawaii modifi ed adjusted gross income is your Hawaii adjusted gross income before subtracting any deduction for student loan interest, plus the 
amount of employer-provided adoption benefi ts from the Adoption Benefi ts Worksheet, line 5.

Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet
1. Enter the total interest you paid in 2021 on qualifi ed student loans. Do not enter 

more than $2,500. ...................................................................................................................   
2. Enter your Hawaii modifi ed adjusted gross income** . ............................................................   
 Note: If line 2 is $65,000 or more if single, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) OR 

$130,000 or more if married fi ling jointly, you cannot take the deduction. Skip lines 3-6 and 
enter -0- on line 7.

3. Enter: $50,000 if single, head of household, or qualifying widow(er); 
$100,000 if married fi ling jointly. ..............................................................................................   

4. Is the amount on line 2 more than the amount on line 3?
No. Skip lines 4 and 5, enter -0- on line 6, and go to line 7.
Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 2. ..............................................................................................   

5. Divide line 4 by $15,000 ($30,000 if married fi ling jointly). Enter the result as a decimal 
(rounded to at least three places). If the result is 1.000 or more, enter 1.000. ........................   

6. Multiply line 1 by line 5. ...........................................................................................................   
7. Student loan interest deduction. Subtract line 6 from line 1. Enter the result here. ............   
8. Enter the student loan interest deduction as reported on your 2021 federal return. ...............   
9. If line 7 is LARGER than line 8, subtract line 8 from line 7. Enter the result here and on 

line h of the Hawaii Subtractions Worksheet on page 31           OR 
If line 7 is SMALLER than line 8, subtract line 7 from line 8. Enter the result here and 
on line g of the Hawaii Additions Worksheet on page 31. .......................................................   

**Hawaii modifi ed adjusted gross income is your Hawaii adjusted gross income before subtracting any deduction 
for student loan interest.

Worksheets (continued)
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2021
 TAX TABLES

Tax Table Must Be Used By Persons With Taxable 
Income Of Less Than $100,000

For a copy of the Tax Table, go to tax.hawaii.gov/forms/
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2021 Tax Rate Schedules
CAUTION __ If your taxable income is less than $100,000, you MUST use the Tax Table.

Schedule I
SINGLE TAXPAYERS AND MARRIED FILING SEPARATE RETURNS

If the amount on
Form N-11, Line 26 is: Your tax is:
Not over $2,400 .............................................. 1.40% of taxable income
Over $2,400 but not over $4,800 .................... $ 34 plus 3.20% over $2,400
Over $4,800 but not over $9,600 .................... $ 110 plus 5.50% over $4,800
Over $9,600 but not over $14,400 .................. $ 374 plus 6.40% over $9,600
Over $14,400 but not over $19,200 ................ $ 682 plus 6.80% over $14,400
Over $19,200 but not over $24,000 ................ $ 1,008 plus 7.20% over $19,200
Over $24,000 but not over $36,000 ................ $ 1,354 plus 7.60% over $24,000
Over $36,000 but not over $48,000 ................ $ 2,266 plus 7.90% over $36,000
Over $48,000 but not over $150,000 .............. $ 3,214 plus 8.25% over $48,000
Over $150,000 but not over $175,000 ............ $ 11,629 plus 9.00% over $150,000
Over $175,000 but not over $200,000 ............ $ 13,879 plus 10.00% over $175,000
Over $200,000 ................................................ $ 16,379 plus 11.00% over $200,000

Schedule II
MARRIED TAXPAYERS FILING JOINT RETURNS AND CERTAIN WIDOWS AND WIDOWERS

If the amount on
Form N-11, Line 26 is: Your tax is:
Not over $4,800 .............................................. 1.40% of taxable income
Over $4,800 but not over $9,600 .................... $ 67 plus 3.20% over $4,800
Over $9,600 but not over $19,200 .................. $ 221 plus 5.50% over $9,600
Over $19,200 but not over $28,800 ................ $ 749 plus 6.40% over $19,200
Over $28,800 but not over $38,400 ................ $ 1,363 plus 6.80% over $28,800
Over $38,400 but not over $48,000 ................ $ 2,016 plus 7.20% over $38,400
Over $48,000 but not over $72,000 ................ $ 2,707 plus 7.60% over $48,000
Over $72,000 but not over $96,000 ................ $ 4,531 plus 7.90% over $72,000
Over $96,000 but not over $300,000 .............. $ 6,427 plus 8.25% over $96,000
Over $300,000 but not over $350,000 ............ $ 23,257 plus 9.00% over $300,000
Over $350,000 but not over $400,000 ............ $ 27,757 plus 10.00% over $350,000
Over $400,000 ................................................ $ 32,757 plus 11.00% over $400,000

Schedule III
UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount on
Form N-11, Line 26 is: Your tax is:
Not over $3,600 .............................................. 1.40% of taxable income
Over $3,600 but not over $7,200 .................... $ 50 plus 3.20% over $3,600
Over $7,200 but not over $14,400 .................. $ 166 plus 5.50% over $7,200
Over $14,400 but not over $21,600 ................ $ 562 plus 6.40% over $14,400
Over $21,600 but not over $28,800 ................ $ 1,022 plus 6.80% over $21,600
Over $28,800 but not over $36,000 ................ $ 1,512 plus 7.20% over $28,800
Over $36,000 but not over $54,000 ................ $ 2,030 plus 7.60% over $36,000
Over $54,000 but not over $72,000 ................ $ 3,398 plus 7.90% over $54,000
Over $72,000 but not over $225,000 .............. $ 4,820 plus 8.25% over $72,000
Over $225,000 but not over $262,500 ............ $ 17,443 plus 9.00% over $225,000
Over $262,500 but not over $300,000 ............ $ 20,818 plus 10.00% over $262,500
Over $300,000 ................................................ $ 24,568 plus 11.00% over $300,000

Use this schedule if you 
fi lled in Filing Status Oval 
1 or 3 on Form N-11

Use this schedule if you 
fi lled in Filing Status Oval 
2 or 5 on Form N-11

Use this schedule if you 
fi lled in Filing Status Oval 
4 on Form N-11
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STATE OF HAWAII—DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
 HAWAII TAXPAYER BILL OF RIGHTS

MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR
This publication explains some of your most 
important rights as a taxpayer.
Hawaii taxpayers have many rights. Some are based 
on laws, and others are based on our commitment to 
administer Hawaii’s tax laws in a fair and equitable 
manner. The Hawaii Taxpayer Bill of Rights compiles 
these rights for your easy reference.
Taxpayer rights are at the heart of good tax 
administration — a pledge that the tax laws will 
be administered with fairness, uniformity, courtesy, 
and common sense. In our commitment to this 
pledge, we invite your suggestions for improving the 
services provided by the Department of Taxation.

HAWAII TAXPAYER BILL OF RIGHTS
I. Protection of Taxpayer Rights
Taxpayers are entitled to be informed about their rights 
and responsibilities and to be assured that their rights 
will be protected throughout their contact with the De-
partment of Taxation (Department).
II. Tax Information
Taxpayers have a right to tax information written in plain 
language.
Taxpayers have a right to examine their own tax records, 
audit fi les, and collection fi les.
Taxpayers have a right to request copies of their own tax 
returns and return information, if available, subject to 
copying fees.
Taxpayers have a right to obtain explanations regarding 
billings and assessments.
III. Professional and Courteous Service
Taxpayers have a right to prompt, courteous, and accu-
rate responses to all questions and requests for tax as-
sistance.
Taxpayers have a right to be assured that no civil service 
employee of the Department will be paid, promoted, or 
in any way rewarded based on the amount of assess-
ments made or taxes collected.
Taxpayers have a right to be free from harassment and 
inappropriate contact by Department personnel in mat-
ters relating to the collection of delinquent taxes and 
during the course of audits.
IV. Privacy and Confi dentiality
Taxpayers have a right to be assured that their dealings 
with the Department will be kept confi dential.
Taxpayers have a right to be assured that their tax re-
turns and tax return information will not be disclosed, 
except as provided by law.
V. Time Limitations
Taxpayers are entitled to seek a refund if they have 
overpaid their taxes. A claim for refund must be fi led 
within the applicable statute of limitations.
The Department may assess a taxpayer additional taxes 
if the assessment is made within the applicable statute 
of limitations. There is no time limit on the assessment of 
taxes in the case of a false or fraudulent return or failure 
to fi le a return.
Taxpayers may extend the period of limitations for the 
assessment or refund of taxes by signing a written 
agreement with the Department.
If the Department is notifi ed by the Internal Revenue 
Service or a taxpayer of any changes, corrections, or 
adjustments to the taxpayer’s Federal tax return, the 
statute of limitations is automatically extended.
VI. Audits and Assessments
Taxpayers have a right to a Proposed Notice of Assess-
ment except in the case of a jeopardy assessment. A 
Proposed Notice of Assessment is mailed to the taxpay-
er’s last known address and: (1) explains the basis for 
the assessment of taxes, penalties, and interest; (2) in-
forms taxpayers of their right to request clarifi cation or to 
object to the tax assessment within 30 days from the 
date the Proposed Notice of Assessment was mailed; 
and (3) informs taxpayers that the proposed tax assess-

ment will become fi nal after the expiration of 30 days 
from the mailing of the Proposed Notice of Assessment.
Taxpayers have a right to a Final Notice of Assessment, 
issued after the expiration of 30 days from the mailing of 
the Proposed Notice of Assessment, that provides the 
basis for the tax assessment, and informs the taxpayer 
of the procedures for appealing the assessment.
Taxpayers have a right to request a meeting with the 
auditor or collector, their supervisor, or senior manage-
ment to discuss a Proposed or Final Notice of Assess-
ment if they do not agree with the tax assessment.
Taxpayers have a right to request that the Department 
consider a closing agreement to reduce a Proposed or 
Final Notice of Assessment. Closing agreements are fi -
nal.
VII. Tax Appeals/Payment Under Protest
Taxpayers have a right to information regarding proce-
dures for appealing a tax assessment or a denial of a 
claim for refund.
Tax Appeals.  Taxpayers have a right to appeal an as-
sessment or a denial of a claim for refund to the board of 
review or to the tax appeal court. Taxpayers also have a 
right to appeal an assessment to our Administrative Ap-
peals Offi  ce. In order to appeal to the Administrative Ap-
peals Offi  ce, an appeal application must be fi led within 
20 days from the mailing date of the Proposed Notice of 
Assessment or within 30 days from the mailing date of 
the Final Notice of Assessment. The assessment does 
not need to be paid in order to appeal to the Administra-
tive Appeals Offi  ce.
If the appeal is fi led directly with the tax appeal court, a 
court-stamped copy of the notice of appeal must also be 
served on the Director of Taxation within 30 days from 
the date the Final Notice of Assessment was mailed by 
delivery to:
Civil Legal Complaints/Legal Process
Director of Taxation
Department of Taxation
830 Punchbowl Street, Room 221
Honolulu, HI 96813-5094
If the appeal is fi led with the board of review, the deci-
sion of the board may be appealed to the tax appeal 
court within 30 days after the fi ling of the board of review 
decision. A court-stamped copy of the notice of appeal 
must also be served on the Director of Taxation at the 
above address within 30 days after the fi ling of the board 
of review decision.
If the appeal is fi led with the tax appeal court, the deci-
sion of the tax appeal court may be appealed within 30 
days to the Intermediate Appellate Court.
The fi rst appeal to either the board of review or to the tax 
appeal court may be made without payment of the tax 
assessed. However, the assessed tax must be paid to-
gether with interest when the taxpayer appeals the deci-
sion by the board or the tax appeal court or the decision 
by the board in favor of the Department is not appealed. 
In addition, a taxpayer who prevails before the board of 
review does not have to pay the assessed tax prior to an 
appeal by the Department to the tax appeal court. Simi-
larly, a taxpayer who prevails before the board of review 
and the tax appeal court does not have to pay the as-
sessed tax prior to an appeal by the Department to the 
Intermediate Appellate Court.
The tax appeal court may allow an individual taxpayer to 
appeal an income tax assessment without prior payment 
of the tax where the total tax liability does not exceed 
$50,000 and the taxpayer shows that the payment of the 
tax would cause irreparable harm.
Payment Under Protest.  In lieu of fi ling an appeal or if 
an appeal is not fi led with the board of review, with the 
tax appeal court, or with the Administrative Appeals Of-
fi ce within 30 days from the date the Final Notice of As-
sessment was mailed, the taxpayer may pay the dis-
puted tax assessment under written protest and seek to 
recover the taxes by fi ling an action in tax appeal court 
within 30 days from the date of payment.
VIII.  Representation
Taxpayers have a right to represent themselves or have 
another person accompany or represent them (with 

proper written authorization) when dealing with the De-
partment on any tax matter, including audits, collections, 
and appeals.
IX. Taxpayer Advocate
Taxpayers have a right to seek the assistance of our 
Taxpayer Advocate to resolve any tax-related problem 
after all other means for resolving the problem have 
been exhausted, or if they feel that their rights as a tax-
payer have been abridged, except in the case of a crim-
inal tax investigation.
X. Installment Agreements, Waivers, and 

Compromises
Installment Agreements. Taxpayers have a right to re-
quest that the Department consider an installment pay-
ment agreement to allow taxpayers to pay their delin-
quent taxes over time. The Department will evaluate a 
request for an installment payment agreement based on 
the fi nancial condition of the taxpayer. Taxpayers will be 
notifi ed before collection action is taken on any out-
standing tax liability if the installment payment agree-
ment is in good standing. Interest will continue to accrue 
on the outstanding tax and penalty until paid in full. The 
Department may off set any outstanding tax liability with 
any credits due to the taxpayer from other taxes.
Waiver of Penalties and Interest. Taxpayers have a right 
to request that the Department waive penalties and in-
terest added to any tax if the taxpayer can show that 
failure to fi le a return or pay a tax on time was due to 
reasonable cause, i.e., not due to the taxpayer’s own 
carelessness, neglect, or wilful disregard of the law, but 
due to circumstances beyond the taxpayer’s control.
Compromise Off ers. Taxpayers have a right to request 
that the Department consider a compromise off er to re-
duce any tax claim arising under the tax laws adminis-
tered by the Department based on doubt as to liability or 
collectibility, subject to the Governor’s approval. If the 
tax liability excluding penalties and interest is $50,000 or 
less, the Director may approve the off er in compromise 
without the Governor’s approval after the off er in com-
promise has been posted on the Department’s website 
for fi ve calendar days.
Any off er in compromise submitted to the Department 
must be accompanied by 20% of the amount of the off er 
in cases of a lump-sum off er in compromise, or the fi rst 
proposed payment in the case of a periodic payment of-
fer in compromise. Individual taxpayers who meet the 
low-income certifi cation guidelines published by the In-
ternal Revenue Service for the period in which the off er 
in compromise has been submitted will not be required 
to submit a payment with an off er in compromise sub-
mission. In cases where an off er in compromise is re-
jected, the payment amount will be applied to the tax li-
ability of the taxpayer that was fi rst assessed.
XI. Collections
Taxpayers have a right to be informed in writing to the 
taxpayer’s last known address of possible collection ac-
tions that may be taken on delinquent taxes, including 
referral to a collection agency.
Taxpayers have a right to be notifi ed of any cost recov-
ery fee associated with any collection action.
Taxpayers have a right to have collection actions put on 
hold in the case of hardship or while discussing their situ-
ation with the collector, supervisor, or senior manage-
ment, understanding that interest continues to accrue.
Taxpayers have a right to a prompt release of a lien 
upon payment of a tax delinquency and all fi ling fees.
Taxpayers have a right to have an incorrect lien cor-
rected or released and to have a letter of clarifi cation 
sent to a credit reporting company.
Taxpayers have a right to have all other collection ac-
tions exhausted before a seizure of a taxpayer’s assets 
takes place, unless the Department determines that the 
interests of the State are in jeopardy.
Taxpayers have a right to have the following property 
exempt from levy: wearing apparel; school books; fuel; 
provisions; furniture; personal eff ects; books and tools 
of a trade, business, or profession; unemployment ben-
efi ts; and undelivered mail.

(This is a reproduction of the originally issued document) Revised October, 2019
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