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July 14, 2009 
 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 2009-08 
 
RE:  Act 134, Session Laws of Hawaii 2009, Relating to Tax Administration. 
 
 On June 18, 2009, Governor Linda Lingle signed Senate Bill 972 SD2, HD1, CD1 into 
law as Act 134, the "Cash Economy Enforcement Act of 2009." 
 
 This Act provides the department with additional resources and tools to target high-risk, 
cash-based transactions to shore up confidence in Hawaii's tax system.  In this regard, this 
measure ensures that all sectors of Hawaii's economy, including those prone to substantial 
underreporting, are paying their fair share of taxes. 
 
 This Act focuses on the civil collection and enforcement nature of Hawaii's tax laws, by 
establishing the Special Enforcement Section, a group of tax officials charged with handling 
sensitive and high-risk civil tax cases as directed by the director.  This Act also provides various 
enforcement tools, including the authority to issue monetary fines and cease and desist citations.  
 
 This Special Enforcement Section will investigate reported or suspected violations of tax 
laws for civil enforcement purposes with a stated priority of investigating cash-based businesses.  
The personnel assigned to the Special Enforcement Section are not allowed to participate in any 
criminal investigations.  
 
 A cash-based business is defined as a person who operates a business, including for-profit 
or not-for-profit, where transactions in goods or services are exchanged substantially for cash 
and where the business is found to have met one or more of a number of factors, which include, 
substantially underreporting or misreporting the proper amount of tax liability on any tax return, 
failing to have a license to do business as required by law, having no fixed and permanent 
principal place of business, or not accepting checks or electronic payment devices for business 
transactions. 
 
 The Special Enforcement Section is authorized to inspect books, records, and premises, 
without notice, if a warrant or writ of entry is issued by a circuit court based upon probable 
cause, and may seize and levy any assets in the custody or control of the person. 
 
 The Special Enforcement Section may issue cease and desist citations to any person if 
there is cause to believe the person has violated, is violating, or is about to violate any provision 
of title 14 or administrative rule adopted thereunder, which may be appealed to the director and 
then the circuit court. 
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 The Special Enforcement Section may bring civil actions in the circuit court to enjoin any 
unlawful act under title 14 by a cash-based business. 
 
 This Act adds a number of new civil tax-related fines, applicable to both cash-based and 
noncash-based businesses: 
 

 A fine for failing to produce upon demand by the Special Enforcement Section any 
license or permit required under title 14.  The fine may not exceed $1,000 for cash-
based businesses, and may not exceed $500 for all other persons. 

 
 A fine for failing to produce any books or records upon demand of the Special 

Enforcement Section, if those books or records must be kept pursuant to a 
provision of title 14.  The fine may not exceed $2,000 for cash-based businesses, 
and may not exceed $1,000 for all other persons. 

 
 A fine for conducting more than ten taxable business transactions per day in cash 

and failing to provide a receipt or other record of the transaction when the means 
for issuing a receipt or recording the transaction are available.  The fine may not 
exceed $2,000 for cash-based businesses, and may not exceed $1,000 for all other 
persons. 

 
 A fine for conducting more than ten taxable business transactions per day in cash 

and failing to record the transaction in a cash register when the means for 
recording the transaction in the cash register are available.  The fine may not 
exceed $2,000 for cash-based businesses, and may not exceed $1,000 for all other 
persons.     

 
 A fine for selling, offering to sell, or otherwise conveying more than one price for 

any business to be transacted when the lower price is offered if the transaction is 
paid for in cash, unless there is a legitimate business purpose for the separate 
prices.  The fine may not exceed $3,000 for cash-based businesses, and may not 
exceed $2,000 for all other persons. 

 
 A fine for a person engaging in business in this state for possessing currency in the 

form of coin or note, where the possession is for tax avoidance purposes.  The 
burden of proof for establishing tax avoidance purposes is on the department.  The 
fine may not exceed $3,000 for cash-based businesses, and may not exceed $2,000 
for all other persons. 

 
 A fine for any person intentionally interfering with, hindering, obstructing, 

preventing, or impeding any investigator, auditor, collector, or other employee of 
the department from obtaining license information, books, records, articles, or item 
of business transacted, or other information or property rightfully entitled to the 
department.  The fine may not exceed $2,000.  A showing of good cause is an 
absolute defense to this fine. 
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 A fine for any person who receives gross income from business conducted in the 
state without first obtaining a license under chapter 237.  The fine may not exceed 
$2,000 for cash-based businesses, and may not exceed $500 for all other persons.  
The director may waive this fine upon a showing of good cause. 

 
 This Act also makes it a crime for any person to interfere, hinder, obstruct, prevent, or 
impede any investigator or employee of the department with violence or threat of violence.  
 
 This Act also adds a reporting requirement to the General Excise Tax Law (Chapter 237, 
HRS) for contractors on a federal construction project.  With respect to any construction project 
located in the State undertaken pursuant to a federal contract, all persons working on the contract 
who do not possess a valid general excise tax license at the time a federal contract is awarded 
must report to the department the estimated gross receipts from the construction project and any 
other information requested by the department on Form G-15, "Information Return for 
Unlicensed Contractors on Federal Construction Projects."  This form must be filed within thirty 
days of the contract being awarded.  Failure to report will result in a penalty of $1,000 per 
month, or fraction thereof, for each month that a failure to report exists, up to a maximum 
penalty of $6,000. 
 
 The provisions in this Act became effective upon approval, except that the citable 
offenses provided for in Section 2 of the Act became effective on July 1, 2009, and all the 
provisions will be repealed on June 30, 2014. 
 
 Additional information regarding the implementation of this Act will be made available 
as it is developed by the department.  For more information on Act 134, please contact the Rules 
Office at 808-587-1577.  
 
 
 
 
 
      KURT KAWAFUCHI 
      Director of Taxation   
 
 


