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September 30, 2025 

 
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 2025-06 

 
RE: Cigarette Tax Increase on January 1, 2026; Act 95, Session Laws of Hawaii 2025 

 
This Announcement summarizes the cigarette tax increase in Act 95, Session Laws of 

Hawaii 2025 ("Act 95") and details the procedures for the tax stamp price increase, which 
includes: (1) taxpayers returning unused rolls of stamps for credit or (2) paying the difference in 
stamps affixed to existing inventory on December 31, 2025. 

 
On May 27, 2025, H.B. No. 441, H.D. 2, S.D. 2, C.D. 1 was signed into law by Governor 

Josh Green, M.D. and became Act 95. Pursuant to Act 95, on January 1, 2026, the cigarette tax 
will increase from 16 cents to 18 cents per cigarette or little cigar. 

 
This cigarette tax is collected by the Department of Taxation (DOTAX) when cigarette 

and tobacco wholesalers and dealers purchase cigarette tax stamps and affix the stamps on 
cigarette packs prior to distribution. The current cigarette tax stamps are light gray. New stamps 
will be issued in green to implement the increased tax rate.   
 

I. Impact on Consumers 
 
Consumers may see cigarette packs with green stamps and cigarette packs with light gray 

stamps. A retailer may continue to sell cigarette packs with the light gray stamps on or after 
January 1, 2026 under the circumstances discussed below. 

 
II. Impact on Retailers 

 
A retailer may continue to sell cigarette packs with the current light gray stamps if: (1) 

The cigarette pack with the light gray stamp was in the retailer's inventory as of January 1, 2026; 
or (2) The retailer received the cigarette pack with the light gray stamp from a licensed 
wholesaler or dealer on or after January 1, 2026.  

 
Act 95 does not require retailers who purchase cigarettes from licensed wholesalers or 

dealers to pass on and collect the additional tax to the consumer. If, however, a wholesaler or 
dealer passes on the additional tax to a retailer, the retailer may pass on the additional tax to the 
customer. 
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III. Impact on Wholesalers and Dealers 
 

Act 95 requires every wholesaler and dealer to pay a tax of 18 cents for each cigarette or 
little cigar sold, used, or possessed on or after January 1, 2026. Rolls of unused and purchased 
stamps may be returned to DOTAX with Form M-108 for credit towards purchase of new green 
stamps. The green stamps will be available for purchase from First Hawaiian Bank in December 
of 2025. The price of a roll of green stamps will be $54,702.00. 

 
For cigarette packs affixed with light gray stamps that are not returned, wholesalers and 

dealers must file Form M-107 (Rev. 2025), Cigarette Tax Stamps Floor Stock return. The 
purpose of Form M-107 is to collect the difference in price between the new green stamp and 
current light gray stamp for every unused or affixed stamp in the wholesaler's or dealer's ending 
inventory on December 31, 2025 ($3.60 per pack/$0.18 per cigarette versus $3.20 per pack/$0.16 
per cigarette). 

 
After Form M-107 has been filed and the difference in the tax has been paid, the light 

gray stamps may be used until depleted.  
 
The stamp fee imposed under section 245-26, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS)1, and the 

discount provided under section 245-22, HRS2, will be applicable to the difference in the tax 
reported on the floor stock return. All floor stock returns are subject to audit. 
 

DOTAX is revising the cigarette and tobacco tax forms to reflect the increase in the tax 
rate for sales, use, or possession of cigarettes on or after January 1, 2026. 

 
  

 
1 Section 245-26(a), HRS, provides:  
 

Stamps shall be sold at their denominated values, plus a stamp fee of 1.7 per cent of the 
denominated value of each stamp sold, composed of the aggregate of:  

(1)  .2 percent of the denominated value of the stamp to pay for the cost to 
the State of providing the stamps, with that amount to be deposited to the 
credit of the department of taxation's cigarette tax stamp administrative 
special fund; and  

(2)  1.5 percent of the denominated value of the stamp to pay for the cost of 
enforcing the stamp tax, with that amount to be deposited to the credit of 
the department of the attorney general’s tobacco enforcement special 
fund;  

provided that the department by rule may modify the stamp fee to reflect actual costs 
incurred by the State in providing the stamps. 

 
2 Section 245-22(e), HRS, allows stamps to be sold with a 0.4 percent discount to defray the cost of 
affixing the stamps incurred by vendors. DOTAX may adjust the discount by rule. 
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If you have any questions about this Announcement, please contact the Department of 

Taxation's Rules Office at (808) 587-1530, or via email at Tax.Rules.Office@hawaii.gov.   
 
 
 
 

GARY S. SUGANUMA 
Director of Taxation 
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